Voluntary Vehicle Inspection – a Puspakom survey

puspakom-1

Puspakom is conducting a survey with regards to the proposed Voluntary Vehicle Inspection (VVI), and is looking for feedback on the scheme, which was mentioned during the announcement of the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) back in January.

Though still at the development stage, VVI is anticipated to be implemented in due time, and is aimed at improving road safety in Malaysia. It will apply to cars over the age of five years.

Inspection centres will not be limited to any one agency or company like Puspakom, but it wasn’t mentioned at the NAP as to how many companies will be appointed, nor were there any details about procedure needed for an agency’s certification.

There will be a cost to the inspection, of course, so incentives will probably be needed. Hence the survey by Puspakom to find out more about what would be a fair amount to pay for such a service as well as other matters relevant to the subject.

UPDATE: The survey is now closed.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Brilliant…another way to make money out from the poor…wonder what will happened if inspection center simply find fault to make extra money….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:06 pm

It’s voluntary…for now. So it doesn’t necessarily have to be done by everyone, especially those that can’t afford it but those that can’t afford a once in a year (for example) inspection can’t really afford the ownership expense of a car in the first place. Judging from the survey, they want to price is around RM30-RM50 per inspection…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Once this started is going to be yearly inspections and next thing is you have to pay to pass the line of inspections( if not you come next time no pass no road tax and no road tax no driving) how wonderful our government make their friend rich like DRB hicom

Trust me is another way to be rich and finding excuses to make people poorer. What they are try to say buy a new car or just park your car in the junk yard

• Puspakom - Corruption King on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:49 pm

I think it is better for Puspakom to come out with a survey entitled VCI (Voluntary Corruption Inspection)

Hopefully this VCI can clean up Puspakom which is so dirty, no other words can describe how corrupted and dirty it is. Puspakom is corrupted to the core and every fibre of its existence involves under the table money.

Please Puspakom, please clean up your organisation. Everything also, must need money in Puspakom. Last time I sold my car for RM2000, although pass Puspakom inspection, they guy ask for RM500 to make sure everything moves smoothly. If I don’t pay, guy said my car cannot get approval.

I already so poor, can only get RM2000 for my car, lagi, kena robbed. So, I end up only getting clean profit for my old car of only RM1500.

That is how dirty Puspakom is. Rob not only from the rich but even the poor. What can poor people do? Easier to co-operate and paying the duit kopi then go 10 times to get your car passed.

All the wise men who will come here and say I contributed to corruption, wait till you are in the situation. To idiots like KZM who will say complain to SPRM to cegah rasuah, well, SPRM does not even bother with Taib’s billions in Sarawak, do you think they will bother for RM500? Pakai hotak sikit KZM.

• why use runner service.. maybe kereta you already potong or tukar engine??

• GT3 (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Dude, I believe u know the difference between ‘voluntary’ and ‘compulsory’, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • hway de Cruz on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:44 am

they shud allow payment by kangkung… 3 bundles get free inspection lor…. five bundles u get a free car wash too. for 10 dundles u r entitled to a free oil change. kangkung ie available to picking along jalan cari makan 69/67, off jalan kena saman, mukim nasi pasir

• Totally agreed. My brother sent the truck for inspection. New truck with ABS. They purposely make it fail on the brake test. Came out & re-enter again for second time without any adjustments. Past on the first time.

• Samad Jain on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Adui….if thousand of ppl with multiple polis saman aren’t serious to have it settled themselves, do you think this VOLUNTARY inspection gonna work with the car onwers!??

• JustStartedWorking on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Actually, i think that this may be a good idea considering that there are many old vehicles on the road. Accident rates in Malaysia is quite bad too. But being Malaysian, maybe the government would need to waiver my road tax in exchange of this inspection in order for in to be really ‘voluntary’.

• pondan on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:39 pm

If it’s an honest move… I’m all out for it. But having to look a t at their lousy track record. Can’t deny the fact that it’s another money making scheme for cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • sick&tired on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Before embarking on anything, pls improve your service first. I tried calling puspakom pandan mewah and no one was picking up the phone. I had to go there personally to make an appointment.To make things worse, the guy inspecting my car made a mistake, he put my car color as black, when it was actually blue. Instead of rectifying immediately, I had to wait for the guy to come back from lunch. it was a Friday, so I had to wait for 2 hours! And I never even got an apology from them!

• Tiger on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Since when they started so caring about Malaysian drivers lives?.

• phuachukengkang on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:30 pm

If free can la. Puspokom tot very easy to arrange for a day off and have to queuing some more.

• mim (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Good idea actually. This will avoid ppl neglect their cars. I’ve seen many ppl still drive their cars eventhough
    -tires already worn down to the steel core
    -disc brakes worn down to the cooling fins
    -both headlamp not working
    -super thick white smoke out of exhaust

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Samad Jain on Jun 20, 2014 at 12:04 am

how la the brakes could possibly work when it is worn down to the fins??

Isnt what you have said highly exagerated?, almost unbelievable??

BTW, it is not steel core. Tyre has no core. I it hollow. The term should be “”steel belt””

• mason on Jun 20, 2014 at 12:02 pm

It is the attitude problem lah and puspakom cant cure lah…need to experienced some nearly deadly situation them only they will aware lah…puspakom to check tyre ,brake headlight?!seriously…haha

• Denaihati on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:34 pm

i thought after completed the survey will get free inspection…heee.

• v-power on Jun 20, 2014 at 11:11 am

If it’s called ‘voluntary’, then it should be free. Puspakom are encouraging car owners to go for the inspection on their own free will…but charge them for the ‘voluntary’ service…?

I think Puspakom should re-name it as ‘Puspakom Car Inspection Service’or something similar…so it’s clear that it’s a paid service…and not a free public service initiative from Puspakom…

The truth is, would anyone want to go for this voluntary inspection in the first place – most Malaysians would not want to relive the hassle of our infamous Puspakom inspection (tukar nama, engine conversion)…!

• _xXx_ on Jun 20, 2014 at 12:33 pm

No thanks, unless they provide door step free service and at my convenience…