Volvo XC60 T5 Facelift launched – Drive-E, RM289k

Volvo XC60 Facelift Drive-E- 1

Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) officially launched the Volvo XC60 Facelift this afternoon in Glenmarie. The refreshed SUV is available here in T5 form, powered by a new Drive-E engine. The Drive-E family, called VEA (Volvo Engine Architecture) in the development phase, was designed to complement Volvo’s SPA (Scalable Product Architecture) modular platform that will underpin the upcoming all-new XC90.

The 2.0 litre, four-cylinder turbocharged Drive-E produces 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,800 rpm. That’s more than the previous T5‘s 240 hp/320 Nm, but the SUV retains class-leading fuel consumption figures (for petrol engines, according to Volvo) of 6.7 litres per 100 km combined, and has improved CO2 emissions, now at 157 g/km.

Paired to an eight-speed automatic gearbox with paddle shifters, the XC60 T5 sprints from 0 to 100 km/h in 7.2 seconds, on to a top speed of 210 km/h. The Aisin-sourced auto ‘box replaces the old car’s six-speed dual-clutch PowerShift gearbox. Expect smoother progress.

Volvo XC60 Facelift Drive-E- 16

Unveiled globally in February 2013 and spotted at JPJ early this year, the XC60 Facelift sports a wider front grille that leaves no room for the pre-facelift’s slim auxiliary lamps on either side, and a new front bumper, featuring vertical LED DRLs, brings the vehicle into line with the S60 and V60 facelifts, both of which we have yet to get.

All the black body cladding is gone, although skid plates are still fitted. The twin tailpipes are no longer circular; they’re now integrated into, and flush with, the rear bumper. The cabin is largely unchanged, save for small touches like “slik metal” decor inlays.

The XC60’s extensive safety kit inlcudes City Safety, Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) with Close Vehicle Warning, Cross Traffic Alert and Whiplash Protection System. The enhanced City Safety now features auto braking at speeds of up to 50 km/h, from the previous 30 km/h. BLIS is now radar-based and can alert the driver to rapidly approaching vehicles up to 70 metres behind the Volvo.

Our T5 also comes with Corner Traction Control as standard. It’s a new torque vectoring system that works against understeer by braking individual inside wheels when you enter a corner, and sending torque to the outside wheels when you power out.

Priced at RM288,888 OTR without insurance, the locally-assembled XC60 T5 comes with Volvo’s 5+5+5 extended coverage plan, which includes warranty, scheduled free maintainance and Volvo on Call roadside assistance. At the launch, VCM MD Keith Schafer said that the XC60 T6, with more power and more safety, will be available from early 2015.

As usual for Volvo, there’s a range of options for the new XC60. Named like Ikea furniture, Sigrid, Candor, Olav, Vidar and Viking packages are available to spice up your SUV, priced from RM2,600 to RM25,155. Details in the brochure scans below. Also check out full specs and equipment at CarBase.my, and compare it against the pre-facelift car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• W204 C63 AMG on Jun 19, 2014 at 5:22 pm

this car does aged really really well, it certainly doesn’t look like it was first launched in 2007. yes, i know it’s a facelift, but then the silhouette is still very modern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Pinky on Jun 19, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Now you can throw your girlfriend into the boot when she start making noise for driving too fast, thanks to the huge boot!

• Geely XC60 - The Real name. on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:56 pm

This is nothing but a China car. Every part of the car is now Made in China. When Geely bought over Volvo, they promised that Volvo would fully remain Swedish made.

Tyical China company, they went back on their word. Now, every single part in the Volvo has Made in China written on it. Even the Windscreen panels have Made in China on it.

So, why pay RM300,000 for a car that is fully Made in China? You might as well buy a Cherry or a Geely.

Volvo fanboys will say I am talking rots but most Volvo buyers in the past bought Volvo because it was Tough and it was like a Tank. If those two elements are not there now, why spend RM300,000 on a car that is like a tin milo?
        It is RM300,000 you know, not RM50,000. No small money here.

You are safer buying a Proton or a Perodua because China companies CANNOT be trusted at all. Don’t know whether the airbags will open in an accident even. This is China quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 62
        • Dr Adnan on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Volvo in Europe is known as a cheap car. Volvo Malaysia is doing like what VGM is doing in Malaysia, try to promote their cars as luxury.

Volvo and VW are not luxury cars. In Europe they are common cars. Even the tong sampah carrier guy also use Volvo in Europe.

Malaysians are so stupid. Pay RM300k for a common car. Better you take the money, go buy a Pre Reg BMW 520i or Pre Reg Mercedes E250. Same price also. More gaya.

Tak habis habis VGM and Volvo Malaysia try to con Malaysians their cars are sama taraf as Bentley.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
          • alamu on Jun 30, 2014 at 11:10 am

Dr. Adnan
            I must say even tong sampah labourers in europe used a BMW and Mercedes .

What so luxury about a Mercedes and a BMW nowadays. They are also cheap cheap cars there but a typical sick and immature malaysian like says ada wow AND GAYA.

Only stupid malaysian people perception says BMW and Mercedes ada gaya. Too me a mercedes and a BMW are typical shit cars in the making even Europeans admit themselves too. Lots of reliability problem besides durability problems . What so big deal then and i just cannot understand.The styling of new mercedes and BMW ages very fast within 2 years with BMW looks ages faster.

Even mercedes and BMW also got make in china and south africa. People pay south africa mercedes and BMW is good quality but indeed shit quality , In this case better get China make if possible. Most products in the world are made in China like it or not and if you do not agree please stay in the antarctic then penguins can produce better products for you then .

Even USA is own by the chinese imaging the AMOUNT of american bonds in china hand now in trillions.

I do not see any pride in these cars especially a mercedes nowadays.

Buying a car nowadays is according to people liking and their requirements.

Unless you are paying for the car then make noise and if you are not paying for it .

Will you please shut up and spend your energy somewhere else more productive .

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:57 am

Most products are made in China. Do you think your Toyota parts are made in Japan?

As long as the QC is good, it’s fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • Kiera Chan on Apr 14, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Hi.. I think you have mistaken about the Volvo parts. Volvo parts are from Sweden. China company bought over Volvo from Ford, so basically it is own by China company, however the R&D and parts production are from Sweden. The production line and the parts production remains the same. China just fund the Volvo to continue its production. You should see the Euro NCAP crash test for volvo car. XC90 for example is being recognised as one of the most safest car in the world and we are comparing our technology with Tesla.I don’t know if you have seen those brand you have mention for their crash test. Volvo car have more safety features that actually work in reality. I don’t know what do you think about Volvo, most of the Volvo owner use the car for many years and even they have a collection of every model of the car. Volvo currently in the stage of premium cars. But we are now moving towards luxury car for our new coming model with totally different technology, more safety features, luxurious design such as S90 and V90. I don’t think it can be compared with Perodua, Chery, Proton.. Do you know that our geartronic system is similar to Porsche technology? Do you know who is the first inventor of the seatbelt which in every car has it right now? It’s Volvo.

• neutral on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:48 pm

the rear lights still look really good at night

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Vader (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Agreed that the car still look good, but I still prefer the previous design instead of this facelift model.

• Mazda CX5 Better buy on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:30 pm

What a waste of money. Better buy the Mazda CX5 at RM135k. Then you save RM170k which you can use to enjoy life.

As for safety, a volvo or a Mazda, both also same. Both also safe cars. No one is better than the other.

Lagipun, Volvo does not command prestige or status anymore. That goes to BMW, Mercedes, Bentley and Porsche. So, might as well save your money and buy a Mazda. At least Mazda CX5 hold its value so well. The 2012 CX5 still being sold for RM120k.

Buy a Volvo today, tomorrow want to sell your XC60, to get RM190,000 also you must be lucky. A drop of over RM100,000 in a few days. That is why they say Volvo for Life

What a waste of money to buy a China Made Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 51
        • Triton on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Did your brains leak out this morning CX5?

You must be a dimwit to say Volvo safety is same as Mazda safety. All the extra money you pay for the Volvo will allow you to walk a way from a terrible accident.

Malaysian Volvos are China owned and not China made, so hope you can be less stupid next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
          • China Low Quality on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Malaysian Volvo get parts from their HQ in China. It is a China car assembled in Malaysia to be more precise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
        • TobohlanMazda on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:29 am

obviously you cant afford a Volvo. So,diam diam, dont make malu yourself like Sam Loo

• alamu on Jun 30, 2014 at 11:28 am

Totally agree with you as I think the china low quality had no brains at all in logistics.

He can only lick the Japanese balls by saying Mazda safety is same and on par with volvo when the world most advance research centre for car is in sweden which is belong to Volvo.

Why not conducts a head on collision test between a mazda CX-5 and XC60 and see the results then .

Do you know that having sat in a Mazda CX 5 , i kind of felt the hollowness and fragility of the structure as compare to a Volvo ( solid)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • ABTguy (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:56 pm

After launched for so many years still cannot escape from “cold car” spell. Ya nice car but thanks, I mean no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
      • Brad Pitt on Jun 20, 2014 at 7:10 am

At least after 5 years you can still sell this car. Can you sell that ‘dead’ car VW after 3 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Muzaffar Md on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Volvo Malaysia is dying lah. Do you see any on the road at all? Hardly see any compared to before. Last time at least all the embassies pakai, now, because too costly to maintain, they ask Diplomat to pakai Camry.

Volvo Malaysia so desperate now. Going to meet the same fate as Fiat or Alfa in Malaysia. Once a great car but now, it is like Alfa Romeo. A good car but dying in Malaysian market.

Soon it will close shop for good. Anyway clever to Volvo Malaysia. Because of lack of money and inability to get models to show the car, Volvo got pregnant lady to promote the car. Pandai! Respect!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
    • ABTguy (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:56 pm

After launched for so many years still cannot escape from “cold car” spell. Ya nice car but thanks, I mean no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • ftruk on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:12 am

Outdated exterior and interior. They should change it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • Very clean design… nice

• ThePowerOfDream on Jun 19, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Good Deal?

• Yes, very good deal for urbanites. Cheapest premium Conti SUV you can buy now but be aware it is only a FWD.

• heybadigol on Jun 19, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Still looks great after a few years. Good job by Steve Mattin. Is this AWD or FWD?

• damm that digital gauge

• Mana itu ACC? on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Danny,

Note that ACC is missing in the facelifted Gen, In the carbase comparison, they are the same. Although I’m not sure what’s Active Cruise Control.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 11:16 pm

I would take Active cruise control to mean that the car will adjust the speed of the cruise to not ram into the car in front of you. It’ll match their speed. Not sure what happens once the car in front speeds up, though. I’ve never experienced it myself.

• sonyman on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:35 am

ACC works like this.

You set a target max speed, 110Km/h

If a car in front of you slows down to 90km/h, you slow down based on the front car speed.

If the car in front increase speed to 140km/h, you will accelerate to 110km/h only. as you have set max cruise speed to 110km/h,

But if the car infront comes to an entire full stop. the ACC will slow down to a full stop. And if there is a stop and go traffic, it will just follow the traffic, you do need to have any accelerator input. it practically drives itself.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 1:18 am

Thanks for the feedback. Active cruise control “mirrors” the speed of the vehicle in front

• seancorr on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Spec list looks awesome but no option for navigation and reverse camera?

• Samad Jain on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:31 pm

a tad expensive for this car. plenty of cars that looks better, drives better, and cheaper (bang for buck) to own compared to this volvo.

Google it up and see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • kangkong on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:55 pm

How you compare?? Similar specs…Q5, X3, QX50, Evoque….all 3++k. How you can find cheaper with same spec same safety?? You mean Sportage, CRV, CX5, Kuga, X-trail? Haha?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Looks are quite subjective. For example, I don’t think the CX-5 looks very good although there are plenty others who disagree with me. I think this Volvo looks great. It’s going for that understated elegance and that has been shown to age very well over time.

Have you driven it before? The facelift comes with a completely new drivetrain that Malaysians have not experienced before and by all the reviews, the Ford-era Volvo cars are good to drive.

Volvo markets itself as a premium brand. How can a premium car be cheap? Also, the list of safety features are pretty comprehensive and I think many of the non-premium SUV’s and crossovers don’t even come close.

Google it up and see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:24 pm

all the safety jargons aside…
    does it still means that i can drive the car hands free in traffic jams..? or it needs adaptive cruise control + city safety for it to work like the S60/v60 T5..

main rival would be the upcoming lexus NX200t

Both are left field luxury choices..

• brazbuz on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:32 pm

So the car previewed here is actually 287k + 25k worth accesories…hmmm….

• cheapo on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Interior look cheap and plasticky with light color, why not piano black?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • klata-klata on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:48 am

The blonde Swede image.
      Maybe Geely could come up with piano black options.

• Who is the French mime artist standing next to the CEO?

• TheDean on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Impressive figures. Is it reliable though.

• Brad Pitt on Jun 20, 2014 at 7:06 am

Got 5 year warranty and 5 year free service, OK What. BMW or Mercedes dare to offer the same?

• BeemerFreak on Jun 21, 2014 at 7:54 am

Volvos have always been reliable. The onyl thing that is not reliable is its resale value.

Besides which the improvement in the engine is massive. The old Ford 2.0L does 0-100 in 9 secs, this new Volvo developed one does 7.2, it is almost as fast as an Audi Q5, impressive.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Maybe a ckd be around 230k wd b perfect….
    Jus a side note,a bmw x5 pre reg is selling nt that much higher than 300k….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Brad Pitt on Jun 20, 2014 at 7:04 am

X5 pre-reg less than RM300k? Don’t be silly la friend, X5 new is more than RM500k!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:33 am

don’t think you are going to get the car above for 290k. its filled with extra options. kudos to volvo for offering customer options to higher spec their cars. however i feel after a few months of (inevitable) poor sales, the options might be given for free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • gaviny on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:11 am

wow looking forward to the s60 t6, it has the twin charged engine, super and turbo charger, with 5+5+5 should be much better than one German company

• is not S60T6 but XC60T6…S60T6 already launched here back on late 2012..

• sonyman on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:39 am

wait,.

later the new XC 90 launch, all of you will faint straight away.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:08 pm

No lah bro a car that make people faint cannot be crowned as one of the top safest car in the world leh….

• mmaker on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:46 am

no rear seat photo? wanna see how comfy this SUV for rear passengers

• is not S60T6 but instead are XC60T6 that coming soon,

• Jay Rarw on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:28 pm

is dat woman pregnant or simply fat?

• dat woman is synonymous to Volvo’s safety?