Chinese-built Volvo S60L to be exported to US – report

volvo-s60l-guangzhou-e

Volvo will be exporting the Chinese-built long-wheelbase version of its S60, the Volvo S60L, to the United States as part of a larger plan to turn the Middle Kingdom into an export hub.

Reuters reported that apart from the S60L, Volvo will also be exporting the XC90 (it is unclear whether this refers to the current model or the next generation unveiling later this year) to Russia, as well as other markets such as South East Asia. These plans are slated to be put in motion as early as late next year, and Volvo will eventually export as many as 10,000 S60Ls and a few thousand XC90s out of China each year.

Despite quality concerns over Chinese-made products, Volvo reportedly wanted to safeguard itself from any currency risks, with an executive saying, “The dollar and the yuan has the best relationship, a more stable relationship than the euro and the dollar.”

volvo-s60l-guangzhou-c

Volvo will be producing cars in China from two plants. One in Chengdu has been churning out S60Ls since late last year, while the other in Daqing is ramping up XC90 production. The two plants will be able to achieve full capacity of about 250,000 units a year by 2018.

The company is also on track to beat its own sales target for China this year by at least 13% as it opens more showrooms in the world’s biggest car market, with sales likely to soar by almost 50% from the year before to more than 90,000 cars. This is well above the 80,000-unit target and will make China Volvo’s biggest market, ahead of the United States.

xc90 2011

But certain quarters within Volvo are exercising caution, with the company’s global head of media relations David Ibison saying that despite the phenomenal growth in China (35% increase in sales year-on-year), selling 90,000 cars in 2014 could be “a step too far”. He added that the company is focusing to make sure “our growth is profitable and sustainable.”

Volvo has been owned by Chinese manufacturer Geely since 2010. Last year, the company sold 427,840 vehicles globally, an increase of 1.4% from the year before.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:26 pm

wel…the end is near.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • China Low Quality on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Malaysians are so conscious about quality. The end is really new for Volvo cause no Malaysian is gonna spend so much of money for “doubt”. It is not a China made iphone costing RM2000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Aliana on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Not just the S60L lah. All the models now 100% made in china. They CKD here but its 100% Made in China.
      Better buy Proton lah. Its Malaysian made with SIRIM quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • mango on Jun 20, 2014 at 9:10 pm

China has a very professional team, keep it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • tokmoh (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Just a few years ago, China made laughably dangerous cars not even worthy a Euro NCAP star.

Now they’re producing world’s safest cars. Volvo and Qoros. Dammit.

Quality concern just because it’s made in China? How prejudiced. Why don’t you go buy yourself a made in Germany VW with dry clutch DSG and come back and tell me much more pleasant quality and after sales service than Volvo. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • China Low Quality on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Might as well buy a Japanese car like Teana for RM150,000. People can tolerate being China made but being China made and selling for RM300k, that is a different story.

• Big Hippocrate! on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:32 pm

ha ha ha. So many Hippocrates here. Go see yourself. Why you never buy Akira aircon for your house? Insist it must be Panasonic or Hitachi.

Why handphone never buy Oppo? Or Xiaomi? Check your own pocket, see you are using Samsung or Xperia Sony.

LED TV at home why never use GC? Make so much of noise about how good China quality but go shopping here and there searching high and low for a Samsung LED.

Just like many Malaysians, all tok kok. Tok so much about how great China quality but sendiri don’t support China products.

Talk so much about how great China products, you got use Cherry car or not?

Why? Because you yourself got no confidence in China products. But come online and talk big about how great China products are and cars made in China are so great. Real Hippocrate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Obviously (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:53 am

I think tokmoh is quite undeserving of so much flak. There are a few things I want to clear up, though.

First, it’s spelled “hypocrite”.

Second, lots of people lined up to buy Xiaomi. Their launch in Malaysia was very warmly accepted.

Third, I actually would buy a Volvo car if I had the money (even if it is made in China) and if there were a service center in the town where I live. Honest. I happen to really like Volvo’s car designs and the philosophy behind what drives the company. I just can’t afford one now and there’s no service center where I live.

• Low Budget on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Admittedly many made in China products are not up to the mark but they do have some products of excellent quality. Your comment ‘Why never buy Xiaomi handphone is way of line! In fact Xiaomi is building up cult followers in China and slowly creeping into South East Asia, their problems is not quality but production line could not cope up with demand, Samsung and Iphone sales will be affected by Xiaomi in the near future. Anothe company from China to watch out is Huawei, they are now turning their attention to the smart phone production after ‘conquering’ the World Telecom industry by ‘storm’. Huawei is the biggest in the World in Telecom gear right now, the gringos have to create some silly excuse to block Huawei entry into theit country.

• tokmohsucky on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Only stupid people like you tell other people to buy clutch DSG, ptuih

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:53 am

I think you misunderstood his point but, oh well.

• tokmon on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Tokmoh you buy Vulvo lor then put the pics here. What use if you just talk talk talk talk talk only, at the end nothing!!!!!

• Same L0r on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Yea! China built Volvo is exporting over the pacific ocean to US and our “awesome” Preve/Suprima S can’t even cross Singapore-JB bridge.

And the fanboys continue to Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
    • Grow up on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Not a fanboy, but god damn your bashing is getting old. Pick up a new hobby Semlor! Go play badminton or something in your spare time, be productive instead. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • semeloer on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:34 pm

He is already productive, bashing proton during working hours and weekends. Wonder what his car is

• Low Budget on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Suprima S is tip top quality cars, same standard with the Japanese, the problem is they price it RM40K less than the Japanese cars giving the impression that Suprima is lousy because it is cheap.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 5:51 am

Very well surprised that no one tried to say that Volvo’s are now just crap cars made in China with lousy quality and might fall apart when hitting 120km/h on the highway.

Maybe the mods are hard at work. I hope that’s the case. ;)

Volvo has to adapt in order to survive in the automotive industry today, which is getting increasingly competitive. This is a good move for them IF and ONLY IF they can manage the quality control of their products. Not everything that is made in China are crap. The fact that many crap products are from China just hint at the hordes of manufacturers using China as their production base.

• China Low Quality on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Do you know why those days Fridge, Aircons, and Washing machine can last 20 years and now, at the most 3 years?

That is your China quality.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:47 am

Doesn’t change my point. What I said is not every China product is bad. That is true. Just ask Apple. I didn’t say the majority of China products are good. When buying stuff from China, you need to be extra careful.

• Kangkung on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:12 am

Actually china got quality products.
          I agree with u. Apple made in china, Quality still OK rite?

For others china made product, got ranking. just our importer want to make higher profit. import lower grade. make us think that MADE in china is bad product.

• China has always been labelled as imitation and cheap products king… From the moment china opened its door to the world, this country has been progressing in rapid pace. Those who think that china still build crap cars will are wrong and most likely have not been to china before.
    I admit that china likes to copy and paste design of other cars onto theirs.. Believe me, I was in shanghai and hangzhou last month. I was walking on the street when suddenly a Chinese car (didnt recognize the brand) with Altis (first generation) headlight and City’s tail lamp zoomed past me..
    Apart from that, China has come a long way! I seriously believed that there are a lot of companies out there which build good quality cars. Volvo is owned by Geely Group but don’t forget that Volvo cars are also built for export purpose. Without good quality, they will fail in the US market which is the second biggest car market in the world after China.
    Those who doubt China made product must know this “Apple iPhone is made in China”

• China Low Quality on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Most stupid thing I have ever heard. Volvo is few hundred thousand ringgit. Iphone is RM2000

Most people don’t care if iphone is Made in China. If Rosak they just buy a new one.

But the car is RM300,000. If faulty or airbags don’t deploy or battery explode what to do?

China produced crap products. And even until now they produce crap products. There is no such thing as OC by Volvo. If like that, Aston Martin wont be the laughing stock of the car industry after they accelerator pedals broke into two.

This basic thing also China cannot do properly, you think they can do sophisticated electronics and engine timing also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
      • Black Dog on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:09 pm

I think you’re still ‘katak di bawah tempurung’.

China has already built their own rockets and went to space. Right now, many big cities in China is far more advance than us. Their bullet train is second to none.

Go and have a look, don’t just sit in your kampong and goyang kaki.

• Sounds racist

• Baja Lapis Seng on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Another idiot coming out of the woodwork.

You think Volvo would let subpar workmanship going on under their nose that will besmirch their brand image?

In China, what you pay is what you get. Pay premium price, you get premium products.

Stop stereotyping about China’s quality because of your bad experience with cheap reproductive junk paid at peanut price.

• What junk? If you mean a car then dn’t get fooled by the price. It’s heavily taxed inc p1 and p2.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:56 am

Lol, he doesn’t mean a car.

• salescar on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:20 pm

If they can afford 300K car, they can afford expensive repair/service costs.

If you cannot afford 300K then the car is not for you.

• weidi G on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:56 am

Hey! Before you shoot your mouth off like a complete ignorant narrow minded moron do some research first. When did you hear a china made car has ever exploded?! You obviously is not aware cheap phones with cheap batteries have exploded (with any luck in your ear, you cheap pretentious f**k) during use.

• Hi Leo. I think this is the car u mention ant u saw in Shanghai

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/BYD_F3

• muixxium on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:12 am

Proton should assemble Lotus cars in Malaysia also…can cut cost a lot, i think.

• unforgiven on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:30 pm

The cost to assemble cars in Malaysia is not cheap, in fact it’s more expensive than Japan. It’s already been proven for Mitsubishi Lancer and Honda Jazz. Original Mitsubishi is way cheaper than Proton Inspira in Langkawi.

So we get low quality cars with high cost of assembly here.

• Ah Long on Jun 21, 2014 at 9:41 pm

FYI… Proton and Perodua cars in Langkawi and Labuan are not excise duty exempted, only 10% sales duty are exempted…

• vovlo on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:38 am

We usually wait and see before we comment it is lousy and fall apart. Have any china made volvo arrived in Malaysia yet?

• unforgiven on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:26 pm

A lot of imported US branded products, also made in China, with excellent quality too. I’m not sure if the QC will be done at China or will be exported back to US first for QC.

• Visitor on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Not really related to automobiles but close enough: One of my habit when boarding a scheduled flight is jot down the aircraft registration. Last year, I boarded an AirAsia’s Airbus A320 with a registration PK-AZA. Later, I was informed that the aircraft was made in China. Honestly, I didn’t notice any difference in quality with the ones made in Germany.

• boiarbs on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:29 pm

You believe it?

Hahhaahahahahhahahahahah haaha hhahhah haahahahahh

• Captain on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:44 pm

u know…it is very difficult to break the stigma..Once it has preoccupied in your brain that “China products are craps / unreliable/ etc), then pray hard that at one point in your life, your pre occupied brain cells are disintegrated,allowing new info to seep in…hence u will have more open,clear,concise judgement…This pre-occupied /stigma thing does apply to Korean cars in Malaysia too…:)

• Arancio Costa on Jun 22, 2014 at 12:28 am

RIP Volvo……..

• blanco on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Talks about how crappy China made products are, yet uses certain made product and drives around in a MY made car… Talk big only.

• Vincent Ang on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:49 pm

The US car market is probably the toughest car market in the world. One can only begin to contemplate selling cars there only and only when your car can meet the minimum quality to survive in the US. 25 years later and Proton has never stepped into the US market. Says a lot about Proton quality.

Those who think the Chinese make crappy products must understand that the Chinese manufacturing base produces goods for the entire world. I dare say no car in the world today do not have some of its part made in China. China can produce shit parts to those that go into rockets engines and satellites. Crappy Chinese products in Malaysia merely reflects the inability of Malaysians at the lower end of society to afford better goods.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:42 pm

practically all of our consumer products are china made nowadays.. there is a difference between china brand products, counterfeit products, and Made in China….

• Annoynimouse on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:42 am

Think about it. China make Volvo cars and they’ll also make the spare parts. Maybe (just maybe) we can get the parts cheaper than before.

• damonlee on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:10 am

come on… go check out other brands. BMW, Merc and Audi also have plant and build in china. r u telling me that china build german car are not good and not in par with thier german standard? wake up boy.

• Sandleir on Jun 24, 2014 at 1:39 pm

pro-china comments will be different if the title is “INDIA-built Volvo S60L to be exported to US”….

• I worked in Guangzhou for 5 years from 2008-2012. I think we are 50 years behind China in general speaking. Most Malaysians are too optimist about our development. Yet i think we can only compare our self to Cambodia in the near future. No stereotyping but my own perspective of view.