Daihatsu Copen is a customisable little kei roadster

Daihatsu-Copen-0052

Good news for kei car fans – this is the production version of the new Daihatsu Copen, first previewed as the Kopen concept at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show. Not much have been lost in the transition from concept to production car, but its cute kei car looks and open top aren’t the only trick in the Copen’s bag.

You see, the body panels on the new Copen’s D-Frame chassis can be replaced for the owner to customise it to his or her liking. A total of 11 parts of the car can be replaced – this includes the front hood, luggage area, front/rear bumpers, front/rear fenders, locker and fuel filler lid.

copen-frame-panel

This little gimmick is called “Dress-Formation”. So technically if you felt like it, you could switch from the ‘default’ modern look to a more first-gen Copen-esque retro-inspired look with round headlamps. We wonder how user-replaceable the panels really are though.

The new Copen measures 3,395 mm long, 1,475 mm wide and 1,280 mm tall. For rainy days, you have an electrically-controlled two-piece folding hardtop. Power is via a 660 cc turbocharged KF engine, producing 64 hp and 92 Nm of torque. There’s an optional LSD, and power is sent to the front wheels.

The Copen five-speed manual is priced at 1,819,800 yen (RM58k) while the Copen CVT is a little cheaper at 1,798,200 yen (RM57k). If Perodua rolled out something like this, would you be interested in buying one?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• brian on Jun 20, 2014 at 12:50 pm

If this could be a halo effect Perodua…i am sure there will be lots of buyers ….if the price is right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • azrai on Jun 20, 2014 at 2:25 pm

For the last 15 years, people already doing it. The model? Kancil. Convert into L2, L2S, L5, L512, Parco, Gino..Named it..you got it..

• Danny on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:53 am

if its not more than rm100k, i m sure many buyers will buy. however looking at the attractiveness of that car, sorry la, its sure gonna be more than rm100k.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 12:58 pm

I have a guilty love affection for the unique-to-Japan kei car culture. The cute and compact dimension couple with design that is quitesentilly Japanese (I.e weird) really appleases my senses. Cars like the Suzuki Hustler, Toyota Spade and the ever so cute Honda N-One.

This ticks all the box that personally makes kei-car great, compact? Check!, gundam/hello-kitty inspired design? Check! , unnescerily weird design features? This is I think the first car since the Beetle/2CV whose body penal can be swapped like jigsaw puzzle. Makes it almost the perfect car for novice driver. And given that it’s a below 1 tone roadster with LSD and manual gearbox, it could also double as a learning car for those who likes to have some fun in the streets.

It’s by all means almost the perfect kei-car…….almost, because what I truly one is a Suzuki Cappucino rivival. Kei car with an FR layout.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:25 pm

You forgot about the smart car.

Same design logic, small fuel efficient and pretty cheerful cars. The roadster is a fun car to drive, killed only by the lack of power and a very dimwitted gearbox.

And yes, changeable body panels.

• kaimeng88 on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:35 pm

It is sad that Malaysia do not sell Smart anymore, and with the price of 80k (fortwo) it’s not quite affordable for young people.. only for rich one as weekend car

• Kenneth on Jun 20, 2014 at 1:14 pm

At that prices, yes. Give me one of each.

• Black Dog on Jun 20, 2014 at 1:19 pm

that means without agreement, they don’t have annual increments?

• Black Dog on Jun 20, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Sorry, wrong place!

• Henry on Jun 20, 2014 at 1:42 pm

So nice and cute. Unfortunately, if this car do get here it will cost twice the amount of money.

• ThePolygon on Jun 20, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Yes please… i will be interested if perodua is rolling out this one. In fact I will place a booking right now!

• TWO DOORS easy to get a chick for one night stand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • droll on Jun 20, 2014 at 2:19 pm

I would buy it. :) The manual gearbox would be a bonus.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Just bring it. I want one. RM60K also no problem. Down payment money is ready.

• kobngok on Jun 20, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Either you have down payment or not noone gives a damn.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Eh bongok.. kalu ko yg xde duit.. ko pny pasal la.. ko tu kaya sgt ke? Cuba cerita sikit gaji ko?

Excuse me la.. lu kenal wa ke? Aku ada duit ke tak.. nenek ko yg bagi duit kat aku ke?

Eh..stakat cakap org xde duit sesiapa pon boleh cakapla.. asik tuka nama.. toksah selindung la motorbutt aka motorbart..

Pointnya aku nak P2 bw masuk Copen.. ko ade ape mslh? Cuba cerita sikit? Tak puas hati?

• arief on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:27 pm

yes, at the right price. this car is cute. Will buy one.

I wonder when Perodua will create an outfit to sell all those turbo chargers for their engines which is sold in japan.

• Perodua making new Copen? Perodua’s CEO surely pangkah this idea because so little money will go into his pocket due to low volume (could probably Toyota wont assemble Copen at Perodua). This pocket coupe maybe in a niche market in Bolehland. Some of us really want this car, but the majority probably dont care. I happen to know this car by car games. Rm60k is a good intro price here, but the fact is it will priced waay higher due to tax. Selagi perodua jual myvi, jangan berharap sangatlah rakyat Bolehland

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:18 pm

You are wrong. Start open your eyes wide2.. & see how many two seaters CRZ on the road.. there are alot of them. I think more than Suprima S on the road. There are lot of people there ve money & want a decent & reliable car just to go to work. Malaysia is a hot & wet country. If P2 rebadge sell below 65K.. this cute thing will sell like hot cakes. Trust me.

Im a confirm buyer.. I do lots of outside work. Need a cute car.

• copper on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Yea yea they must bring it in, oh wait, only one?

But then it’s you who sendiri syok here, dun have money but claim a confirm buyer

Ptuihhh

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Must be P1 butthurt. Suka hati aku lah..

Gaji aku bukan datuk lu yg bayar.. kalau datuk lu yg bayar bole lah cakap benda yg aku syok nak beli? Fhm? Bodoh. Mcm mana pulak ko tau aku ade duit ke tak?

Abah kau ke yg bagi duit kat aku?

Amek kau.. puihh. . Haramjada..

• fatchicken on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Very nice gift idea for gf/wifey, 70k also can! provided made in jepun 100%.

• teelim on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Shut up and take my money!
    (Manual please!)

• the price is a Myvi price. If it looks better with changeable body parts why not? Convertible bro. Approve!

• perodua please bring it to malaysia…please take my down payment tonight…please please

• Sub RM100k would be the logical price for this babe in Malaysia! If it does come to malaysia, i’ll get one. I was looking for the previous gen but it’s costing over RM100k for the recond car. ~.~

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:28 pm

kudos to daihatsu for making this. rebirth of japan car industry is exciting.

• carbonman on Jun 20, 2014 at 11:22 pm

ready to pay RM85k for this cute thang.. why not?
    definitely low FC… cute ride… weekend car… bring it on Perodua!!

• James on Jun 20, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Perodua 2door convertible anyone???

• A-killer on Jun 21, 2014 at 1:54 am

Anyone remembered the Naughtycar? That’s cbu and how much is it? Will the copen be cheaper than that? Perodua certainly wont rebadge it because of low sales volume.

• Good news for thieves and robbers!!!!….now you can disguise ur crime with this car…..!!!! XD

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 21, 2014 at 7:08 am

Would be a perfect car for a single guy like me!

• PERODUA!!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE CKD THIS CAR AND I’LL BE THE FIRST TO BUY THEM FROM YOU GUYS!!!!

• A-killer on Jun 22, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Dude, you can kneel in front of their office for whole week and the P2 brass wont ckd this. After the initial hundreds or thousand of ‘enthusiastic’ buyers (such as you) already bought the car, who else going to buy it?

• carbonman on Jun 22, 2014 at 6:25 pm

when wife using it.. put on round eyes module..
    when i’m using it, change to the modern look module..
    hope both the modules can be had in different colours. super cool right?!
    P2 please bring this in!!

• Gary Kan on Sep 09, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Definately will buy one.Reasonable priced car for a just retired man like me.I have been asking why Proton and Perodua did not come out a compact small reasonably priced below 70k sports car with a small cc is ok.I am very sure it will be a big hit …