Honda Mobilio RS range-topper launched in Indonesia

honda-mobilio-rs-10

Honda has launched a new top-of-the-line Honda Mobilio in Indonesia called the Honda Mobilio RS. The new variant is available with either a five-speed manual or a CVT automatic.

The new variant gets a revised front end which includes a new bumper, a new front grille, and new headlamps with integrated LED daytime running lights. Also fitted is a bodykit that includes a roof-mounted spoiler. The interior is now in black and has leather seats, a 6.1 inch touch screen display, a reverse camera and an uprated audio system.

The Mobilio is already a successful model in Indonesia, holding 22% of the market share in its segment with over 35,000 units sold this year since January. It’s a seven-seater MPV based on the Honda Brio, and is priced cheaper than the Honda Freed, their previous attempt at a cheap and cheerful MPV.

It is priced at 214 million Indonesian Rupiah (RM57.5k) for the CVT transmission, and 203.5 million Indonesian Rupiah (RM54.7k) for the five-speed manual transmission. Would you consider a Honda Mobilio RS as an alternative to the likes of the Perodua Alza or Toyota Avanza if you were looking for a budget MPV in Malaysia?

Live pix thanks to Autonetmagz.

Honda Mobilio at IIMS 2013

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kerol on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:30 pm

price quite okay. later come here, 90k minimum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0r on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:16 pm

People willing to pay RM90k for this rather than RM60k for the Exora! There are toooooo much hidden cost with Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
      • prack on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Pak Nujum hebat!!!

Hahahaha hahaha hahahaha hahahahahah

*sarcasm*

• OMG…will not sell at RM 57k in here. it could be around Avanza price. If cheaper and better spec than Avanza, it will sell like hot cake.

• oemar on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Mobilio definitely the answer to all malaysian families… hopefully with the same price as our indonesian counterpart, they’ll sell it like a nut…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • if being sold here plus with the same price tag that being mentioned above, i’m 1000% sure that exora and alza will die..hahaha..
    but then again, THIS IS BOLEHLAND!!!! Keep on dreaming bebehhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
  • Wow this car is pretty on the outside, but definitely ugly in the inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
  • MBF-P02 on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:59 pm

It looks like MyVi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
  • Kampung Boy on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
  • Aero Macai on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Honda Malaysia not allowed to price it here RM57K.

Nanti Proton merajuk, penasihat marah, MITI not approve, rakyat tak patriotik…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 7
  • Same L0r on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Bravo, now Malaysians have more choice for better quality car with RM60-70k.

In the future Exora = Taxi only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Ray (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Would be a great alternative to the usual Alza or Avanza. Notice how the Alza is quietly killing the Avanza sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • gutierrez on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:30 pm

this is sooo cool!! bring it malaysia!!! (eventhough im not the target customer)

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:34 pm

All good stuffs go to Indonesia. . India. . Thailand. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • victor tan (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:38 pm

It looks like a cheap car for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:40 pm

i was think to get an Alza as my second car. The Alza is not bad with its pricing, but the interior sound proofing is very bad, n feels cheap..Avanza, is overpriced…So YES, with price less than 60k, I ll take the Honda Mobilio, absolutely..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Newbie on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:42 pm

I doubt the price will be RM50k+ in Malaysia.. lol

• top end?
    why not VSC and more airbags?

• sambalbabi on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:31 pm

looks like exora man…..like seriously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • shawal on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Going nowhere fast…

• ismail on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Come to bolehland 57k car becomes 110k car

All thanks to Mahathir and his Proton!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Khairul on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:36 pm

dream on brother… I dont think the rp will be below 100k.. For sure above 100k…

• Maseratits on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:02 pm

I would take this car over the Avanza any day!

• nabill (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Ugly,cheap looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • ploduaplotongkoman on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Aiyaaa… NO MONEY GO BUY ALZA LAH.. NO TALKING TALKING HERE..Hehehe… ALL ALZA’s OWNER SYOK SENDIRI ONLY.. Again, NO MONEY GO BUY ALZA LAH… Hihihi… :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Denaihati on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:58 pm

if with RM57.5k, honda will get 10,000 pre-order in just few days….heeee

• yes.

1. Front Wheel Drive.
      2. 1.5L engine.

CKD it in Malaysia, Price it RM57k, like an Alza.

• Why our lovely bolehland always get the goodie last, we need to thank to our 47 %G policy

• Alexander Zaldostanov on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:08 am

i have to admit that the front bumper looks rather astounding! and it would look perfectly at home on the facelifted alza… =D

• Might consider this if the price is right

• indonesia, a country that has a debt with the world bank, full of rasuah, still they didnt put out gay tax on cars like we have here..*sigh..and, in many aspect, our country is way better than indo, but this government…..again..*sigh..

• arusha on Jun 21, 2014 at 1:34 am

Rs model will be launched in India

• A-killer on Jun 21, 2014 at 1:42 am

Bring this in, and kiss good bye to the already struggling Avanza. Although it is not a looker but put it side-by-side the Avanza and you can see how outdated the Toyota is.

• A-killer on Jun 21, 2014 at 1:43 am

Bring this in, and kiss good bye to the already struggling Avanza. Although it is not a looker but put it side-by-side the Avanza and you can see how outdated the Toyota is. And don’t even start on the specs comparison.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:45 am

The looks are quite nice, though they went a bit crazy perhaps on the front end. However the interior is really ugly. And I doubt it is as good as say an Exora.

• just sayin' on Jun 21, 2014 at 8:38 am

In Labuan or Langkawi you’ll buy this Mobilio, not Exora.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 8:54 am

Design macam avanza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Muhammad on Jun 21, 2014 at 6:22 pm

If proton and honda cooperation materialise, it would be very hot model to consider rebadged as proton. For now we can only hope that someday we’ll get a true value for money vehicles without seriously unrealistic taxes and duties.

• Grandeur on Jun 21, 2014 at 8:21 pm

SEriously, Honda designers all died? watch too much porn? Fugly. Next please

• if available in malaysia i would prefer it to Alza @ avanza , hope it will come soon . meet my requirement

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:47 am

I will be surprised if Honda actually brings this in.

I would be curious how they manage to “fit” (pun intended) this in.

This will be a cheaper car than the Jazz/Fit to be produced, but will cause a lot of in house cannibalism with the Jazz and City if priced much lower than either as it is the “bigger” car.

If anything, its going to be likely going to be something close if nor slightly more than the Jazz and City is going for….. and significantly lower than the Freed its meant to replace.

• ong chin aun on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:44 am

YES, NO DOUBT It is nice and looks great n stylist. But, didn’t mention the capacity ? 1.5 ? or below ? cos the price is very attractive. It will definitely not sell at these prices. below 60k . otherwise. proton n perdua will be in very hard to sell their vehicles.

• idham on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:16 am

Well, if we do a comparison with some existing car such as honda freed. in indonesia it is selling for Rp 256,500,000 or RM 70,497.15. Selling price (not OTR) for handa freed on malaysia is RM 96,595.50.

Now we can do some estimation that if in the near future honda mobilio rs is going to be in the malaysia market. Price in indonesia is Rp 203,500,000 or RM 55,930.49. From there we can conclude that the selling price in malaysia (still not OTR) will be plus/minus around RM 85,930.

• alan sws on Jul 26, 2014 at 11:22 pm

it wont be less than 60k no way at all!proton will shouting around… the price should be 85k above la