Hyundai Veloster – now with one variant, six airbags

DSC_7098

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors introduced an enhanced Hyundai Veloster at the opening of the brand’s first 3S centre in the East Coast recently. The coupe with the unique layout now comes with six airbags, up from the previous two. No price increase.

The range has also been trimmed to a sole variant – the Veloster 1.6 A/T Premium priced at RM132,915. The Veloster was launched here in November 2012 with three variants – the 1.6 M/T, 1.6 A/T and 1.6 A/T Premium, all powered by a 1.6 litre Gamma D-CVVT engine with 132 PS and 158 Nm.

The 1.6 A/T Premium comes with 18-inch alloys, LED projector headlamps, LED combination tail lamps, leather seats, Bluetooth, panoramic sunroof, auto AC, and reverse camera, among other things.

No sign of the Veloster Turbo yet, though. The hottest Veloster has been previewed at KLIMS13, spotted at JPJ and spied testing on local roads.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 2:20 pm

About time, considering the original one itself was a joke with its 2 airbags. I did drive it when it launched, it was meh, it looks fancy, but the driving experience was nothing short of disappointing, since the body is heavy and the 1.6 engine is too weak.

Waiting for the TurboGDi version, and where’s the 6 airbag Santa Fe. That will be a massive seller as it looks good, feels decent, and it comes with an insanely good diesel engine.

• Contender on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Hyundai Sante Fe with great diesal engine to be wrecked by our Euro2 shitty quality diesel after 2 years the already bad resale value would plunge further down the drain ….

• alonso on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Resale value is subjective. Of course when you wanted to trade in, the used car dealer will manipulate. Its Malaysia, still dominated by T&H so called ‘high RV’.

• alonso on Jun 20, 2014 at 9:48 pm

RV is very subjective. Especially in malaysia, used car dealer still playing the same sentiment on the so called ‘high rv’ of T&H.

• Same L0r on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:18 pm

6 airbags are quite good for safety during accident.
        But RV will still be sooo low. Better buy second hand. I will have trade-in unit soon.

• alonso on Jun 20, 2014 at 9:49 pm

HSDM should do the same for the santa fe.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:03 am

Kimchis have no RV, period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Wah, so good no price increase. T&H must follow, enough of 2 airbags.

• kzm fanboy on Jun 20, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Buy Proton Satria, ada offer RM3,000 hari raya. Tak beli nanti Proton marah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Same L0r on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Buy Satria RM3,000 discount. One week later enter garage need to spend RM6,000.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Wait, I thought the Veloster always came with six airbags?

Anyways, I think its a real shame that they took the manual away, the 1.6 on paper dosent seem the up to the task and auto isn’t going to help this problem, but it’s not like anyone bought with 3-pedal set up. But with the CRZ effectively gone away along with the hybrid tax incentive (I think, it’s still on sale at my local 3S), the funky Veloster is now the cheapest sporty-fun car around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Stupid_O on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:14 pm

There is the 208 GTi though if you want some three pedalled fun. It is slightly more expensive though at 140k+. It is a turbo though and reviews seem to be positive. Not too sure about long term reliability though. But I would think people would buy it for weekend fun and not as a day to day driver with the KL traffic. So should last a while without the wear and tear of daily abuse.

• fenzo on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Went to peugeot showroom last week for 208 gti, unfortunately no car, according to their sales people car will be available in august. Must be selling very good!

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Was looking at the Veloster page a few days ago. It only had 2 airbags. This is a good move for them, matching the way KIA is equipping their cars in terms of safety equipment since Malaysians are becoming more aware of automobile safety features.

Now…the Veloster just needs a turbo to be a proper sporty coupe.

• red-crz on Jun 21, 2014 at 1:22 am

WRONG! U forgot the sweet revving rm100k SSS. The best ‘cheap’ warm hatch next to crz in my opinion if not the best. My friend who owned a veloster regretted buying one. Fuel consumption & handling. not great, underpowered & overpriced for a hyundai…

• Obviously, it’s not selling well and therefore they are trying to throw in some features without price increase to clear off their stock

• Bob_B78 on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:25 pm

At Rm132k, price is rather steep for 1.6l car.
    The price smack right into premium C-segment Japanese cars.
    Can’t see any reason to buy this car over other C-segment cars, given that it only has 2 doors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • lonelyobserve (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:28 pm

There goes the more basic spec of Veloster and 6-speed manual transmission. Sales not good immediately chops the rest of the variants and tells customers take it or just go away.

• When the veloster first lauch, the salesman told me that it’s already fully booked and was selling like hot cake. I was sceptic all about this as it was a 3 door car. Why would someone want a 3 door car? Resale value is unknown. After 2 years later, saw a valoster on road like only 8 times. Joke car haha

• AVH (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:46 pm

I like the concept of having odd-number doors, it’s funky and weird. But less so on the Veloster thou. I always find the front looks like it’s been ripped from a D-segment or larger car and placed on a smaller bodied hatch. And the 1.6l in such a competitively large body kinda put me off towards a CRZ. But now the CRZ is effectively gone(I think) , leaves this rather the only choice for those desire a sporty-fun going hatch.

Oh other cars with odd-number that I like are the Kia Ray(BRING THEM IN Naza!!!) and Toyota spade, kei cars suit this concept better.

• Ray (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Surprisingly, this car can still sell in Malaysia, as unlike people from the West, many of us despise three door hatches (oops this one has an extra one to make it four). But anyway, the car still feels and drives like a Korean so I’ll still vote for the CRZ. BUT WAIT, my CRZ is gone now.
    *sigh…*

• Henry on Jun 20, 2014 at 6:03 pm

133k for a 1.6L Korean car is high but it is CBU.

• I find it hard to accept that the car has a 3rd door…. It’s just not “balance”

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:56 am

Its a very good idea, these 3 door’d cars.

Coupes need very long doors in order to allow people to get in and out of the back seats. This however is a problem when you are in tight parking spot, front doors wont open wide enough and impede ingress and egress.

The 3 door design means both doors can be made shorter hence it being able to open wider in tight spots.

The best executed is the pillar-less “4” door Rx8.

My old Eclipse and Camaro (both were 2+2) had very long and heavy doors, we used to joke that it would be easier to exit the vehicle through the sunroof. It would be close to impossible to get out parked, even with admittedly more generously sized parking bays in North America.

• spongewai on Jun 20, 2014 at 9:27 pm

considering to buy this unique 3-door Veloster

but work hard

• wajarays on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:25 pm

crz just an over rated car …. nothing to shout about… lousy handling setup and super cramp interior space… performance equal i think since mine is auto cvt gearbox … atleast veloster ngam2 can carry 4 adult inside …. CRZ ???? rear seat is mean for child …

• Henry on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:57 am

You should have gotten the CRZ 6MT, like me. When I bought the car I never expect that it could sit more than two person even though there are rear seats.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:31 pm

The factory setting of CRZ for handling is for normal driving. Even Japanese pro racers admitted themselves normal settings for CRZ slightly off when racing at circuits and needs to tune up the suspensions for better performance.

• Denaihati on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:09 am

should be attractive price of CKD, this veloster have style and not bad performance.

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 21, 2014 at 1:18 am

No way I am paying that much of money for this car!

• sepul on Jun 21, 2014 at 7:46 am

Personally, this is a more sensible decision on their part since being a niche model, it should have all the bells and whistle. A manual is welcomed, but if the spec is basic, who would want to buy. with a Korean badge some more.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:47 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Sama Lori on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:04 pm

I going to buy it….after 5 years, the price should be around 10% of this selling price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo (ciplak) on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:07 pm

As long as its not a poorton, it will have RV

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jun 21, 2014 at 7:00 pm

This kimchi will devalue by RM100k in a year.

Just have some patience if this happens to be your dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10