Audi A3 Sedan makes Malaysian debut in Bukit Kiara

Euromobil showed off the Audi A3 Sedan to moviegoers at Starlight Cinema in Bukit Kiara last night. The car makes its Malaysian debut in top-of-the-range 1.8 T quattro guise, though we spotted 1.4 T front-wheel drive models on a trailer on Friday as well.

Details are all but non-existent, but based on the car on display, we can draw a few conclusions. Our 1.8 T will come in Sport (non-S line) trim, with xenon headlights (the full-LED headlights will probably be offered as a cost option), front and rear parking sensors and 17-inch “Dynamic” split-spoke alloy wheels.

Inside, the 1.8 T will get full Milano leather upholstery, a three-spoke leather-wrapped steering wheel with paddle shifters, electrically-operated front seats, automatic lights and wipers, dual-zone automatic climate control, navigation, cruise control, a stop-start system and the Audi drive select system which adjusts throttle response and suspension set up.

Both variants will get turbocharged, direct-injected four-cylinder engines. The 1.4 litre engine produces 122 PS and 200 Nm of torque. There is a more powerful 140 PS version but we’re not getting that for now. The bigger 1.8 litre mill, on the other hand, churns out 180 PS from 5,100 to 6,200 rpm and the same 250 Nm from 1,250 to 5,000 rpm.

No matter which version you get, expect to change gears through a seven-speed S tronic dual clutch transmission. So equipped, the 1.4 T will get from 0-100 km/h in 9.3 seconds, while the all-wheel drive 1.8 T will do the same benchmark in 7.3 seconds. Top speed is 212 km/h for the 1.4 T and 241 km/h for the 1.8 T.

Pricing information at the time of writing has yet to be released, either, but the 1.4 T is expected to cost around RM180k, while the 1.8 T should be priced to compete with the RM235,888 Mercedes-Benz CLA 200. So, which one do you prefer – the slinky supermodel from Stuttgart, or the straighter-laced but more powerful entry from Ingolstadt?

Audi A3 1.4T spyshots at Glenmarie

Audi A3 Sedan at Shanghai 2013

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr on Jun 22, 2014 at 2:49 am

Spec list looks good for the 1.8 TFSI but will have to see what they will cut off from the spec list for the cheaper 1.4 TFSI…hopefully not much!

The A3 1.8 TFSI will be the better choice for me since it has Quattro comparing to the front wheeled CLA but its a win for the Mercedes in terms of peace of mind ownership. Audi at the moment does not have proper nationwide after sales support and I bet they will sell a lot of A3…hope their SC can keep up with the sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • A3 will b Audi msia best selling model.. its more practical than CLA n 1-series..

But it will hurt its sister brand VW considering Golf n Passat pricing is pretty close

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • shame_Loo on Jun 22, 2014 at 11:02 am

For 1.8T, if the price is too close to 230K +/-,I think 320i or A4 1.8 is a better option, for a buyer with family. Though B8 A4 is towards it’s end of production, but the ID & spec doesn’t loss out much. For youngster/single buyer, yes, A3, A class, CLA & Golf might be more attractive to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • The Passat is much bigger than a A3 and even bigger than a A4. So no real competition.

The A3 and Golf on the other hand are based on the same platform.

• Wheelbase Comparison:

Audi A3: 2637mm
      Civic 4airbags: 2670mm
      Sylphy 6airbags: 2700mm
      Corolla Altis 7airbags: 2700mm

That Audi A3
      Compact C-segment Front Wheel Drive car,
      pricing @ sky high price.
      A VW Jetta in disguised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 68
      • Why dont you compare Camry and Lexus
        or the wheel base of Mini and Vios?

Dont you understand the difference between Mass and Luxury Segment?

If wheelbase is used to gauge how worth the car is, better get a Van la..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 22
        • Lexus – Rear Wheel Drive.

Camry – Front Wheel drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
          • Toyota Hilux rear wheel drive, Luxury car heh..

• xiper (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 2:29 pm

are you saying Lexus ES is also rear wheel drive?

• Conti car exterior is big but interior is small

• theanswer on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:36 am

most of them because using rear wheel or all wheel. have to sacrifice rear space or big centre tunnel in order to fit more mechanical stuff.

• shame_Loo on Jun 22, 2014 at 11:03 am

Don’t just compare the wheelbase…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • Jules on Jun 22, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Not the same as the Jetta . Jetta has a longer wheelbase. A3 has the same MQB chassis as the Golf Mk 7. For the 1.4 looks like the same engine. Hmmm is the G/box the same? Haha

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Audi compare with Honda? Toyota? Nissan??? cannot lorr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • ‘Audi A3: 2637mm
        Civic 4airbags: 2670mm
        Sylphy 6airbags: 2700mm
        Corolla Altis 7airbags: 2700mm’

You ‘forgot’ to mention:

Audi A3: side seat mounted airbags, SIDEGUARD curtain 1st and 2nd row overhead airbags, airbag occupancy sensor

;)

• Jack Maverick on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:46 pm

I will hunt you down in my Mazda 6 2.5 and smoke you so bad that you’ll be picking dirt out of your teeth for weeks…

Lol.. joking bro.. but seriously.. M6 better worth your cash, wither fork out for a real Conti-mobile, or looks elsewhere..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
      • Enthu on Jun 22, 2014 at 9:09 pm

You don’t know how slow that Mazda 2.5 is, don’t you?

hunt? You would be lucky if after a few corners you can still see the taillights of the A3. The Mazda 2.5 would even struggle to keep up with the 1.4T A3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • You sounds like you owned the A3 and Mazda 2.5

• Jack Maverick on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Check the power figures bro, it’s evenly matched, it boils down to handling and the drivers balls..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Tech Crew on Jun 22, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Owning a car is not all about ‘smoking’ others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
      • xiper (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:43 am

stop linking your Mazda 6 with M6, you are nowhere near the M6 and cars are not just about smoking others.

• Did you just compare a BMW M6 to an Audi A3? It’s either you don’t know anything about cars and money or your parents are siblings.

• FWD race-wannabe wants to play. LOL…

• This A3 1.8TFSI is definitely gonna do better than CLA 200 in terms of performance and design for both would be rated about the same, for me.

It’s so sad that Audi didn’t set up a showroom or service centre in Kuantan! Otherwise would have choosen this A3 instead CLA 200!

• The interior looks a bit dull to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 22
    • You havent seen how cool the hidden lcd screen popping up from the dashboard.. tats quality interior..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
      • i thought it was dull too, but the screen just make me feel the other way round.

• audinoquality on Jun 22, 2014 at 3:58 pm

What quality? Hard panel plasticky? Android what version? Can be wifi hotspot? Map can update?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • better installation, better quality plastic, soft touch, leather steering, superb NVH, good ergonomics (simple and practical to operate).. these are attributes of VW group vehicle..

• xiper (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:46 am

wake up, this is not your Suprima S

• hmmm,i think a mk7 gti b a better value, within this specific budget..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 44
    • Top up abit more n u get a boot, a proper luxury car, better looking car, and a total different elevation in branding.. I think golf will suffer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • ivtec on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:00 pm

With this nutty price and saga alike interior i’d rather get Accordana next year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
        • Jap and Bolehland cars can never be comparable to Contis. Chassis of Asian cars are crap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • Proton plant makes HPF metal sheets for luxury car automakers around ASEAN. You cannot look down on Asian car chassis anymore. Which proton car uses HPF?

5 star Australasia NCAP Safety Rating, that should be something very good, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
          • fast5 on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Can’t agree more, m’sia dealer only care for maximum profit for end user…

• Once you experienced a breakdown during when you balik kampung then you will eat your words back.

• B737-800 on Jun 22, 2014 at 3:15 am

Of course the winner of the 2014 World Car of the Year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • torque on Jun 22, 2014 at 3:27 am

Hmmm…the 1.8 could give the CLA 200 a run for its money. Additional horses, much better praticality, quattro performance and a much shorter delivery timeline. However, it still all up to each individuals preferance…I mean the CLA is still a much handsome car and performance wise not that much world apart to Audi. One thing for sure, this will be the end of A4 1.8 sold in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Legoman on Jun 22, 2014 at 3:38 am

The interior without an Audi logo on the steering = Proton Saga interior.
    It’s just terrible man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 49
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:36 am

of course the audi for me….but ok ah…won’t be dsg problem like golf right? right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • policeman on Jun 22, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Dey, ada belajar Sejarah kah?

Dari tahun 1990 sampai 2014, semua gearbox VW/Audi ada problem.

Tamau gearbox problem? Pergi beli Inspira 1.8M, Vios 1.5M, Almera 1.5M. Gua gerenti lu gearbox tada problem sampai. Tada maintenance pun boleh tahan 20 tahun. Gua punya Toyota Corolla DX tahun 1980 sampai sekarang tada tukar minyak gearbox, topup saja. No problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • congrts on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Taniah….your pocket will have big holes.

• QChan on Jun 22, 2014 at 5:41 am

Wet or dry clutch ?

• Adam GSixth (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 5:53 am

Nice car! CBU unit, I think with 3-4 years warranty..

Range to compare:
    – BMW 320i / 320d
    – Mercedes CLA 200 / C200

Other consideration:
    – Lexus ES 250
    – Renault Megane RS 265
    – Peugeot RCZ
    – Volkwagen Passat / CC
    – Volvo S60

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
  • The interior is just so disappointing. No navigation screen ? Would opt for Mercedes cla or A250 here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
    • I bet you don’t even know the screen is tucked away neatly on the dashboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • The designers follow saga interior
      Shame on Audi, after many decades still dun have fresh ideas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • I wonder the Design Engineers at Audi have ever heard of your SAGA !!! lol

• theres a pop-up LED screen on top of the air-cond vent

• I can still tell my friend my dad’s 7 years old saga dashboard look like new A3 audi. Only different is the lcd monitor that my father can get cheap at kedai abang and stick it on.

SHAME AUDI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
        • I find very amusing that others around the world are getting so excited over the minimalist dashboard of the A3 while we diss it just based on pictures.

• opaixx on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:45 am

errr… wheee is d radio,gps, reverse camera screen…??? if it tuck inside the dashboard, i hope there a picture of it…

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:18 am

Hmm, I don’t know, this or the CLA200. I probably would end up with the Audi over the Mercedes, on the basis that it probably rides better (heard the CLA200 is rock hard) and has a more usable back seat.

Both come with DSGs and both are with turbo engines, the Quattro will be nice too though. Having said that, the Mercedes would probably hold its value and would be easier to maintain too. Where’s BMW and the 2 series sedan?

• Cabin design is very uninspiring, come on Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • policeman on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Ya. Aircon vents like from old express buses. Seat back pockets again like the ones in old buses. Steering wheel design also like old bus steering wheel – centre bulat. Light switch again like old bus, got a panel for all the switches.

Obviously the desihn of this car was inspired by an old 1980s express bus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Bimmer on Jun 22, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Idiot… Merc n bimmer also same… R they inspired by 80’s also?

• They copied proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • ABTguy (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:46 am

The 1.8 Quattro version will come with wet clutch DSG as all gearbox fitted with Quattro are the wet ones.

The 1.4 FWD version will be fitted with the dry clutch DSG, unfortunately. What makes the diff here is that Audi offers 4 full years warranty instead of the 2 yr warranty by VW, then 3 yr insurance.

So, for peace of mind, one can go for the 4 full year warranty, once it expires just pay up to buy another 2 yrs of insurance. After 6 yrs sell the car away anyhow most ppl don’t own a car for that long these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • ssssn on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Any proof? IMHO most people got > 5 years loan. Get prepared with tow truck number

• Rich people tokok also really different.

“most people don’t own a car for that long these days”… Really?

People living on a shoestring are buying 10 year old 2nd, 3rd, 4th hand cars and driving them for another 20 years. Not everybody is rich.

• Therealmaserati on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:55 am

Wow! How come the audi a3 interior looks so terrible?! Looks spartan and seriously reminded me of the interior of the Proton Saga .

And they are gonna price this at 235k for the 1.8 model? Ridiculous! The Merc is obviously the better buy.

This A3 looks like a higher class Jetta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • ikansepat on Jun 22, 2014 at 9:07 am

to be frankly…for $240k, i more prefer cla or a250.. it’s to much for 1.8cc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Steering design gauge speed display 90% the same as VW passat. VAG is CTRL C + CTRL V in these cars…Boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • qwerty on Jun 22, 2014 at 10:02 am

Not too sure if this is off topic but I would rather go for the hatchback version of both cars. They make a lot more sense.

The A-Class is around 30k less. Yes the CLA is sexy but extra 30k for a boot just doesn’t sound right to me. And the A3 just isn’t suitable to be made into a sedan.

• mr.know on Jun 22, 2014 at 10:38 am

front=lancer
    rear=forte

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • shawal on Jun 22, 2014 at 10:58 am

The car is not special, practical, cheap enough to warrant a purchase..

For 240 u can easily purchase a pre reg 328i
    2013 models of a4 with bang n olufsen speakers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Anti-Establishment on Jun 22, 2014 at 12:23 pm

And end up with a huge repair bill after Auto Bavaria/Euromobile rejects your car from being serviced at the official SC should any component gets broken…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Therealmaserati on Jun 22, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Highly doubt 240k u cn get prereg 328i.

Besides 328i is not that great either. I drove it and I hated it. A golf gti mk7 or a250 is still bang for bucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Neutral on Jun 22, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Some people dont like ‘second hand’ car.

• shawal on Jun 22, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Not 2nd hand, but old stock or showroom models
        Audi was doing massive sale on MY2013 A4s, they threw in d satnav n bang olufsen speakers which is a cost option 3K n 9k each… You cn checkout paultans archive

• I’ve been looking for a pre-reg 328i, only seems to be going for 255k+

If you see it at 240k pls post it here

• kentkl on Jun 22, 2014 at 11:46 am

hmm….y every1 seems to complain abt the interior?? or u guys didnt know tat there is a hidden screen at the center of the dashboard??

• lcd50inches on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Hidden screen? Wow that’s very futuristic and stylo

Nah, I also can do it in my car what, much bigger summore.

Hahahahahahahahahaha hahahaha hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • is this new Inspira?kihkih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Denaihati on Jun 22, 2014 at 12:45 pm

all feature looks nice for me except for dashboard. and really expensive for 1.4L engine.

• policeman on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:51 pm

“So, which one do you prefer – the slinky supermodel from Stuttgart, or the straighter-laced but more powerful entry from Ingolstadt?”

I’ll take the reliable 1.8M from Shah Alam.
    In fact, I already did.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Bmw do have a 3 series 316i with da 1.6turbo…price exactly between da a3 1.4 and da 1.8….its a bigger car too…bt probably less options

• Bataman on Jun 22, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Why does the headlights cpoy Lancer/Inspira?
    Can sue Audi for copyright infringement? :)

• pair it with a nice 18/19 inch rims. and make it lowered. nice!!!!!!!!!!

• Looks like next gen Proton Saga premium spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • foxtrot on Jun 22, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Most important question u tarts forget to ask is,
    since the engine is traversely mounted,

Is A3 sedan gearbox is the dreaded DQ200?
    Since both passat 1.8 and golf 1.4 mk7 are still using DQ200

• foxtrot on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:05 pm

hello:

Audi Australia recalls A3 (8V)
    https://www.recalls.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/1053853

• ‘Product description
      AUDI A1 (8X), A3 (8P), A3 (8V) & TT (8J) replacing gear oil recall’

New A3s should have the proper (non-synthetic) gearbox oil already.

• if the 1.8 is priced around 230k, it is totally overpriced. damn. our car prices r ridiculous.

• coolblack on Jun 22, 2014 at 6:22 pm

what segment is A3 and CLA?
    B? B+? or C?
    Whats the difference with A4?

• seancorr on Jun 22, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Its competing in the compact executive section but not sure on the segment its in.

The difference between the A3 and A4 is the size. I went to the Audi showroom today and took a look at the A3 and the rear is cramp…just like the CLA/A Class. This is no way a family car…a C class or 3 Series would be a better choice for space wise.

But I must say the size is small indeed which is easy for people to drive and park it.

Items which I’ve seen on the 1.4 model are:

– Driver side electric seat only
      – Half leather interior
      – Front seats lumbar support
      – No navigation (so I was told)
      – Spare tyre!!

The 1.8 model will have the full range of stuff that the writer mentioned above and it will be launched on the 28th of June so it seems and the price I got was RM170k without insurance for the 1.4 TFSI model.

• beemer on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:13 pm

This car is in its own segment la

Segment sucky, LOL

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 8:38 pm

the interior design is a total let down.. but most reviews said the interior quality is better than bmw, merc..

• Kiansom on Jun 22, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Bye bye A1 Malaysia!

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:33 am

It is another UNCLE’s car design. So plain and ordinary. Surprising for a Germany car since its competitors has evolved so much. I definately vote for Merc CLA

• Only issue with the CLA, for the price you pay @235k you should be getting the 2.0L found on the A250. Either that or offer a 2.0 version of the CLA at 20-30k more.

The back seats for the CLA is for kids too. I sat in the one at the mutiara damansara’s showroom and at 5 foot 7, my head touches the roof in the back seat.

• Can’t wait to get one for myself, proton A3… Come on proton, u n Audi also under dab hicom, pls come out proton A3 with price tag rm100k

• Overlander on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:11 am

WTF, is looks like a VW Jetta with a 4-rings snapped on..

• Jeffrey Chew on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Everything looks good except the location of Engine start button. Audi should shift it close to driver position for RHD model. Really looks awkward and the button can be accidentally press by front passenger especially children.

• Is this the cheapest audi car? :o

• if the waiting list for this is as long as the cla i would neither buy both.

• Observer from the distance on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Went for a sneak preview over the weekend. Car looks good and build quality is superb for that entry price. Would defo have a some jumping over from the jetta / japanese car buyers i reckon.
    What i don’t get is the pricing for 1.8 – with all the additional options + S Line Package price goes up to 260k++. That is pushing it. :) Why would you get an “entry” level car for the brand and spend 260k when you can go for 3series /C class that’s proper sedan sized? Just an observation.

• nighttrain on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:50 pm

too bad it’s gonna be detuned due to low fuel quality..

• opaixx on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:47 am

A4 = Jetta
    A3 = Polo Sedan =
    Proton Saga

• sambalbabi on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:29 pm

i have yet to hear about chronic gbox problem on an audi/vw, in borneo. probably most of audi/vw owners in semenanjung spent much time on the road with start & stop pace together with hot & humid environment.

kalau drive shaft and suspension problem, memang normal la in borneo….itu jalan raya lobang banyak sangat.

• Bataman on Jul 04, 2014 at 10:02 am

Thats one mutha fugly dashboard…And i thought Preve was bad. And this is a RM 180k car…
    And nobody complains the headlights looks like Inspira/Lancer?