Dr M: Some Malays resell APs, system has backfired

proton-suprima-s-tun-dr-mahathir-9

Everyone has an opinion on Malaysia’s Approved Permit (AP) system, but here’s one that carries some weight. It’s from the “father” of the controversial system himself, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. The ex-PM has finally conceded that the AP system introduced to help Malays rise in business has backfired, with some trading in the licences for a quick profit instead.

Dr M told Malay weekly Mingguan Malaysia in an interview that he stopped giving APs to those who did not use them to set up car dealerships after some Malays merely sold the APs off. The permits, which allow holders to import cars, fetch profits of up to RM8,000 per car.

“We want to help the Malays, but they don’t want to help themselves. We must review how far we can give these APs. It’s fine if people actually get into business. Like Naza, they succeeded. They’re big now because they got APs. If Malays really made full use of this opportunity, they’d be like Naza,” Dr Mahathir said in the interview published yesterday.

naza showroom

Naza was founded by the late Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin SM Amin in 1975. Then 21, he started importing used Japanese cars. Today, Naza is one of the biggest grey import dealers in the country, but the group has also expanded to be the official distributor of Peugeot, Kia, Citroen, Chevrolet, Ferrari, Maserati and Koenigsegg, along with a clutch of high-end motorcycle brands that include Ducati and Harley-Davidson. It also has a plant in Gurun, Kedah.

“Yes, we started in 1975 trading in imported cars. At the time, the AP system was needed to protect the cars from simply being dumped in the market. However, since then, we have brought in franchises, nurtured and grown them. Having an AP doesn’t mean you automatically make money. You have to grow the brand, create the platform, market it and value-add it,” Naza’s joint-group executive chairman Datuk Wira SM Faisal SM Nasimuddin had said in March. He had added then that the group is ready for a market without APs.

The conglomerate (Naza is also involved in property development and F&B) is a shining example of the kind of business the system sought to create, but there’s only one Naza. “The problem is, there are some Malays who just want to sell the APs to other people and get lots of money. They get it for free and they can sell it for RM8,000,” Tun added.

imports

The Malay Mail Online, which reproduced excerpts from the interview, described the AP system as an extension of the New Economic Policy (NEP), an affirmative action policy that was implemented in 1970 to deal with the income disparity between the Malays and the Chinese.

Approved Permits exist for many things, but for cars, two kinds of APs are in place – open APs for the import of used cars (can be of any marque, used by grey importers) and franchise APs, used by official importers (eg. Nasim for Peugeot, Tan Chong for Nissan) to bring in new CBU cars.

The 2009 NAP policy specified that open APs would be terminated by Dec 31, 2015, and franchised APs by Dec 31, 2020 – at the announcement of NAP 2014 in January, it was stated that the government would be appointing a company to do an in-depth study on the impact of the termination of Open APs on Bumiputera participation in the automotive industry.

Has the AP system met its objectives? Do you agree with Tun’s views?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jenglot on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:26 am

It’s not there to help Malays, it’s there to help cronies.The G just wanted to feed cronies but use Malays as an excuse, ptfff!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 237 Thumb down 16
    • Porsche and My Son. on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Mahathir is wrong. It is not some but 99% of all PEKEMA members who sell it. Government knows about this. They knew this 20 years ago and yet, until now, nothing is being done.

Treat this crime as if it is a rape. Tackle it today itself. Go and catch the crooks and abolish the system if it has failed. But 20 years, Government will do a drama with MAI. They will come out with reports and analysis and all the NAP nonsense. Every NAP, same thing goes on and on.

Mahathir is not sincere. He himself knew about this 20 years ago. But instead of treating this like a very big crime, he closed his eyes and not bother. Why? Very simple. One of his sons was a big AP receipient under the Porsche brand. So, why rock the boat?

The AP system is a big failure. It has caused 30 million people to suffer so much of pain just for 20 or 30 PEKEMA members to laugh to the bank. Local cars manufacturers like Honda, Mercedes and Toyota cannot get APs to bring is more cars to benefit from economies of scale because all the APs had to be given to the 20 or 30 PEKEMA crooks. If local car manufacturers can benefit from economies of scale and larger volumes of sales, they can lower the car prices. But they can’t. Because they are not getting enough APs. This has been the main complaint of Folger from Mercedes Benz. They want more APs but cannot. But thousands of free APs are given to the 20 or 30 PEKEMA members.

So, the 20 over Million Malays are actually suffering with high car repayments and loans because 20 Malaysias (PEKEMA crooks) want to goyang kaki and enjoy life.

If Chedet was sincere, even now, he will abolish the AP system tomorrow itself. We all know, Mahathir is the one running the country. Just like Lee Kuan Yew who retired and became Mentor Minister, we all know Mahathir is the real one running the country. So, please put a complete stop to the AP nonsense tomorrow itself. Don’t wait a single minute.

Don’t wait for the pondans at MAI to come up with analysis and reports. We know Madani and MAI are just lapdogs to the Government. They know the AP scandal is the biggest problem for the car industry but every NAP, the pondans at MAI keep silent and not mention anything about the AP problem.

So Chedet, what say you? Abolish all APs today itself. Now even better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 4
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Do you buy grey import or recond car?..PEKEMA used this open AP…official do not used open AP except if they sell recond car eg bmw n audi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 72
    • Same L0r on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:00 pm

The game rule is as simple as this:
      The crony has 50 AP. He sold 49 AP for others so that he can buy Porsche/Lambo with his 50th AP.

Damn he didn’t need to pay a sen for the AP and Porsche/Lambo. But Porsche/Lambo technician/enginner are needed now in Malaysia. People got job, ok what.

For a few to live rich, all Malaysian have to die poor.

For those who can’t afford an AP, they have to suffer the Proton’s ‘awesome’ build quality.

There is no way escaping it! No way!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:14 pm

U all buy ckd car…city, vios, almari, camry, myvi, etc all car made in boleh..do u guy this will effect price for local production model? I known n I’m sure we all know approve permit oni applicable for import item I meant most imported item car, sugar, rice, food, medicine, smartphone etc…if u think open n franchise AP is same..n don wan to suppork AP. don buy CBU model buy CKD model..most high seller car is CKD obviously no AP (vios, city, almari, jazz, swift, polo, bmw, mercedes, xv etc)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
      • Hong CK on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:02 pm

bro, what is Almari? Is it a Cupboard? Wardrobe?
        Cannot understand your sentences and English lah.
        What are you trying to say? My 3 year old girl can speak and convey better than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Jack Maverick on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:05 pm

I see what you’re getting at, despite the rather confusing sentences. You’re saying we should buy CKD cars and not CBU, thus reducing the demand of CBU cars and eventually putting them out of business. Novel idea, but not rational. Like asking everyone to buy Choki-Choki, so that Ferrero Rocher will go out of business. Or stocking up on Bata, hoping Hush Puppies dies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Obviously (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:01 pm

But the good thing is the car models that are being CKD’d are increasing and going higher up the class segments. We would have some Ferrero Rocher and Hush Puppies as CKD in the future if things continue going the way they are going.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:35 pm

No..I meant Open AP do not dictate price for most cars…Do you think vios ckd include AP in its price?

• lolwut on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Gomen supporter detected

• kami (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:30 am

start bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
    • Aero Macai on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Anak sendiri pun enjoy AP import Porsche last time….memang mudah lupa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
      • AP PEKEMA Pencuri on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:10 pm

AP is not RM8000 Dr. AP is about RM50,000 each. The AP system was born to help the Bumiputera penetrate the car sales industry but we see, AP PEKEMA members are not ONLY selling their APs buta buta BUT also modifying the odometer and shortchanging Malaysians.

Every single PEKEMA member brings in cars from UK and Japan, 99% of which are ex car rental cars, they have been trashed and trashed with high mileage. Then our PEKEMA thieves bring it down to Malaysia, quickly clock it down to 5000KM and lie to you and tell you it is a showroom car with very low mileage. This act is worse than selling APs!

Most of these cars brought in by PEKEMA members have clocked over 200,000 KM but when you buy it, it shows 5000KM or less.

You are the loser because when you buy a car that has truly clocked over 100,000KM, you will spend a bomb changing worn out parts. As for luxury cars like Porsche, Mercedes and BMW, you can be spending over RM100,000 just in changing worn out parts alone. Maybe even few hundred thousand ringgit when Ferrari or McLaren is concerned.

There is no way to tell that the car brought in is high mileage. Because the PEKEMA AP thieves send the car to car spas who do a great job washing and touching up the car to look ultra brand new. The also change brand new tyres.

9 out of 10 end user buyers of AP PEKEMA cars get a rude shock when they take their cars in to authorised delaerships to get their cars checked. Once they plug in their proprietory diagnostic machines, the cars show even 300,000 KM clocked on it. The buyer gets a rude shock because when he bought his Alphard or Porsche, the car shows it has clocked less than 10,000KM.

Ask most AP PEKEMA car buyers who have actually sent their cars in to authorised dealerships like Porsche Glenmarie or Mercedes Malaysia. All of them will verify one thing to you, they got a rude shock to see the mileage of their cars in the few hundred thousand region. And they felt so so so so cheated.

They get a further rude shock to find out their car was an ex rental car that has been trashed and trashed and trashed and when the local Malaysian buyer buys it, he thinks its showroom condition with less than 10,000KM done on it.

There is no avenue to check the true mileage before purchase because due to the UK’s Data Protection Act, even with the Car’s VIN (Vehicle Identification Number), the Malaysian buyer cannot verify the actual mileage before purchase. Only way is to buy the car from the PEKEMA member in Malaysia, then take the car in to the official dealership in Malaysia to check. By then, it is too late. You already bought the car.

Don’t underestimate this. A car that has done few hundred thousand KM has so much of parts to be replaced. You think buying that Alphard for RM200,000 is cheap. Wait till you spend another RM100,000 on parts replacement alone in 1 or 2 years time.

Those wanting to buy recon, try asking the seller where the warranty and service booklet is. The seller will lie through their teeth telling you it has no booklet eventhough the car is 2 years old and it has a 5 year warranty in Japan or UK. Surely if it is owned by an individual in the UK he would have kept his service booklet when he sold the car since it is under warranty. But not a single one of our AP PEKEMA thieves can give the service history and booklet to show the history of the car.

The AP PEKEMA thieves really make a huge profit. You see, in the UK, the price of a car is determined by the mileage and not by the year of make. Unlike Malaysia, the year of the make determines the price. So, for example, a 2010 Mercedes E250 with 20,000KM on it will cost far more expensive than a 2013 E250 with 200,000KM on it in the UK

Our PEKEMA thieves buy the high mileage cars for dirt cheap because in the UK the high mileage cars are sold super cheap. Eventhough the year of make is 2013 or 2014. Somemore, ex rental cars ares old even cheaper. Companies like Avis and Hertz dispose of their Porsches, Mercedes and BMWs for super low prices as they have clocked few hundred thousand KM on it.

Then the AP PEKEMA theieves bring the high mileage cars here in Malaysia, modify the odometer to say, below 10,000KM and sell it. You the buyer are so happy thinking you got a 2013 car with 10,000KM it. But in truth, you just bought a lemon that has 200,000KM on it.

Would you be happy buying a car that shows on the odometer 6000KM when in actual fact it has clocked over 100,000KM on it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 5
        • yes its partly true with odo tampering etc. it comes down to you as a smart customer, for uk cars all it takes it an email of the chassis no. to the uk dealers eg BMW uk etc and full service records will b provided

• No service history on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:20 pm

How true..when I was looking for a car last year, all the grey imported cars had no service history..while 90% of the used cars in the used cars dealerships were the same..To me when there is no service history, it means that the dealers are trying to hide something. So just walk away..We need to make buyers aware that the service booklet is very important so that we will not be conned anymore.

• Goosfraba on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:01 pm

I have no hate towards malays, but the words that he spoke has not only contributed to the racial hate towards each other and the stereotyping of the malay race. Saying that he’s giving free money to the malays and they’re not taking full advantage is rubbish. Please don’t complicate cronies and malays. The G has dispersed the people so much with the racial card and this article over here just shows how long this tactic has continued.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • Blaze on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:32 am

Yawnnnn…. Its an ‘open secret’ lah… Been going on for donkey years… Blatantly abused by everybody, good open secret is that someone by the name Ming Heng is a bumi…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
    • yeah jalan genting kelang all owned by ming heng semua jual ap tak mau niaga, yg melayu betul nak niaga habuk pun tarak.

• Carnut on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:38 am

What the AP system has done is transfer money from everyday normal Malaysians into the pockets of a small group of political elites. Not counting the interest paid on the extra cost of the AP added to our hire purchase.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 2
  • takNakP1 on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:40 am

needless to say more. AP is an unfortunate to all Malaysian on the street regardless of race. they have to sell their soul (willingly) to the bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • AVH (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:44 am

All I can say is, as with almost all of the Doctors, briliant plans, Great idea, horrible execution. Not to be racist, but he has failed to diffrenciate between ‘helping’ and ‘pampering’.

Anyhow, the commenst here’s gonna be good [Grabs Chair annd popcorns]
    . http://www.smogon.com/forums/attachments/this-is-gonna-be-good-gif.14807/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • mustafa on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:03 am

he conveniently forget to mention a company that bring in Porche….and is paultan.org trying to remind us about it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:46 am

Bringing in cars with AP and then selling the cars to public is still consider doing business though it still is controversial. TDM is referring to those who got the APs and then re-sell the AP while sleeping under the coconut tree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • ahmad on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:19 am

Helping the poor Malay or helping the cronies to become richer?

Well, not only car AP they have implemented. Bike and all the car & bike parts also go through the AP system (middle man getting rich) and cause more to buy parts from malaysia as compared to singopore.

All cronies can become rich by getting free money from the government(this call protection) from toll, car AP, contract, IPP at the poor rakyat expense.

They are helping the rich to made other poor especially the majority malay.

Hidup melayu sebab mamak from india is protecting you to get rich.

Only the bodoh still get con by the Mamak india.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
  • Fonzy on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:33 am

So the Father has profoundly acknowledged his mistake. Now the Children have to correct it by simply abolished this stupid AP system. Then restructure the vehicle taxation system.. furthermore, we have the GST coming in so why need excise duty on cars anymore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:15 pm

lol…currently boleh use 10% sales tax on car to be replace by gst 7%….
      both gst n excise duty is different

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
  • 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:36 am

With “Some”??? How about most?

Everyone knows what the AP system is for…which is why the government has no political will to abolish it.

Naza? Everyone can be successful if you stuff them with free money. That’s not a business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • the latest evolution of open AP had became laundry money business for the polarities especially from those BM cronies and political fund contribution..this is one of latest laundry $$$ business beside property development & share market…

• danedz on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:39 am

this is the topic that I’ ve been waiting since yesterday..not only AP issues but forecast for proton..

• Denaihati on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:44 am

who that Malay sell the AP.. i hope government will reveal it, know without good action is no meaning. this is not new problem.

• bapok on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:02 pm

AP = ANAK PONDAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:02 pm

I hope people dont confuse Open and Franchise AP…
    – Open AP is used by PEKEMA/grey importer.(RM10k/piece)
    – Franchise AP used by official distributor/maker. (free)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:38 pm

U guy don wan to admit that wat I say is true

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:53 am

They give so few AP to franchises that the franchise needs to buy open APs. So it does increase the price of cars.

• Sounds so racist.. Dr M just emphasis on helping Malays..
    So do not complaint other races that why didn’t support buatan Malaysia (Proton)
    As u never help us, why should we support for ur cheap Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • alldisc on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:50 pm

dr m also did helped samy vellu… and ling liong sik… ananda krishnan, and yeoh tiong lay with projects and subsidies.

they are super rich now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • those who thinks genting can stay on top of that hill without gvt help is a dumbass..

• kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:40 pm

All current bilionaire now have been helped by tdm in the past..

• Jejambu on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:08 pm

I disagree… the AP holders were selling it for up to RM30,000 per piece of paper…… I have enquired before…. RM30,000 for a piece of paper… pure profits…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Polo Saga on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:09 pm

The king of corniness. What to say.

• alexwong on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Stop issue AP = sorry no newcomer. only we can play the game.

• Dejagah on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:23 pm

The Dr mentioned Some Malays sold their APs for RM8000 only? I heard multiple sources quoting RM30-40k for that piece of paper.

Anyway, would the gov be transparent enough to reveal what are the main requirements for a Malay to be able to apply for APs?

If I am a Malay but not involved in politics or UMNO, would I be eligible to receive APs?

If a Malay who is involved in an opposition party, would he be eligible to receive APs?

If the AP system is there to help Malays, it should be open to all Malays, and not a selected group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • FYI, all parliament wakil rayak (included opposition party )also entitled for 1 open AP for them to buy 1 imported car for their own use, and from my knowledge most of them don’t use it instead sell it to one of opposition party leader that running an used imported cars business at Jalan Pudu, the AP selling price are rm10K.

• alldisc on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:53 pm

we now have 2 sides of opposition. which one? state one or federal one?

• reader on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:50 pm

“The 2009 NAP policy specified that open APs would be terminated by Dec 31, 2015, and franchised APs by Dec 31, 2010 – at the announcement of NAP 2014 in January”
    salah taip atau terlepas maksud ayat ni?

• he is sleeping ke? sell 8k per AP? they sell me chinese about 20 – 30k per AP

• mcliong on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:05 pm

hellowwwww….
      read again

“The permits, which allow holders to import cars, fetch profits of up to RM8,000 per car”

english failed!!!!

• letstorque on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Helping the malays?

Most PAS members also malay?
    Can they get Open APs?

Malay here mean something else.
    Chinese riding a malay horse also considered as malay.

• TIGABANGSA on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:48 pm

The qualification for AP is flawed in the first place. The gov should only issue APs to those who has already started to do car business with show room and has yard for used cars for sale first – at least in biz for 5 years, with good pay up capital and track records, These should be the prerequisite before one can apply for APs. At present the APs is for people who are close to UMNO. it is like MLM biz, one pass to another.

• mcliong on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Naza and Mutiara Motors they are very success…

• Mohd Hekal on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:09 pm

If a Malay who is poor and not very educated from a small kampung, not Umno member, not a friend of any YB, can he apply for AP?

Would MITI give him some AP to make money?

Coz gov says AP system is to help Malay. By right he should qualify for it. But I think it is not so easy. Otherwise all Malays already got AP.

• the driver on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Don’t look too far, if you go to the road near TPCA stadium there were lots of ‘experienced’ car sellers like Misbun Sidek (Jibun Motors)who were forced out when the government stopped giving APs to them and handed it over to Naza – now that’s fairness for you.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Got AP but sell car at taxed price.. no much difference. . Imagine la profit margin.. customers apa untung sini? Org xde AP.. kena byr cukai lg.. jual under spec kena fire lg.

Dpt AP juai keleta murah sikit ok jg.. puihh just scrap la AP lebih baik.. bayar la cukai mcm biasa..

If not bagi sy AP. Sy pon mau.. sy janji x jual.

• Has the AP system met its objectives? Do you agree with Tun’s views?
    ——————————

Mamak’s view is nothing new.

His statement is to protect his proton cronies from bankrupt.

He want the G to continue to help proton instead of given AP to those useless company.

Again after 30 years of subsidise to proton. Do you think Proton has make its objective where everyone need to buy a more expensive car just to protect the proton?

he is so worry about his proton cronies to be closed down like MAS and left no legacy for himself.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Lagi tua lagi sohai. This old fart is toking nonsense. He created AP for cronies.

• alldisc on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:07 pm

did tun M realise that naza automotive is not making much money now?

they are putting all focus now in property (read Naza TTDI)- the gold mine now. thanx to all the profit making from autombile business that made them so strong now. Naza chairman does not bother how much each of its subsidiaries is making money – be it chevrolet, or peugoet, or citroen. they are all there just to make its portfolio impressive. nothing more.

• I somewhat agreed with Dr. Mamak. I not his big fan but its true most Malays that acquired APs throw them onto the market and make profit from it. Except a handful of successful bumi car dealers. Most car importers are actually owned by chinese. I have a fren whose father is running used car business. He told us those bumi with AP wouldnt wanna work. Instead, they knew Chinese competency, so they offered the Chinese and let the Chinese run the businesses. The dumb thing is they oni earn 1st hand profit but the Chinese earning a continuous prosper. Not being a racist and comparing, but Malays.. oi.. wake up! u all are lucky as G helps u all. Buckle up and work hard. One day u will strive like Naza or moffaz. I personally know Moffaz and naza boss. Both a very humble and hardworking person. Not typical rempit or macai mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • old dog on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:59 pm

did non malay not malaysian? no contribution? non-malay business does not hire malay?

why cant we says Malaysian from the beginning infact.

this devide and conquer game has been going for years …

• Albert Lee on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:35 pm

The truth is the AP system has failed terribly,due to abuse.
    Dont talk about Naza and Mofaz.They have the connections and special specials.
    More than two third of bumis left behind.There are bumis who tried very hard but still left out cos it is not what you know but who you know.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:17 pm

That’s the sad case here, isn’t it? The system is rigged for the few. The system is also inherently flawed. Not trying to be racist and all but there were many reasons why there was a wealth gap in the beginning. In addition to starting resources, one also needs to consider skill, know-how and, most of all, mindset/attitude in doing business. Let’s leave connections out for a while, assuming a perfect world for the sake of argument against the AP system.

The AP system only boosts the resource factor for the Bumiputera. Without doing anything to boost the other factors to making a businessman successful, it is like letting an average Joe without training race in a rally. Even if you give them a superb car, without the right training, you can’t expect them to perform well because a rally isn’t easy. Business isn’t easy either. The more adventurous ones might get off to a good start but at the trickier parts of the course, they might crash and burn. Some might play it safe but playing it safe in business doesn’t get you very far. Some go for as easier way out and sell their driver status and vehicle to someone more qualified to make the cut.

And now let’s say that they gave the training. Knowing how to do business won’t guarantee business success. Mindset and attitude is just as important.

So rather than giving them a leg-up in the resource department, why not train them mentally and give them the fighting attitude instead? I don’t think that the Bumiputera, given the right attitude and know-how, would fail to compete against the Chinese. We’re all human beings, after all.

• Enthu on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:41 pm

“Some” Malays abuse the AP system? C’mon la…I can’t hold back showing my middle finger in front of the screen. It’s ALL Malays Dr M. And you started it all.

Non stop spoon feeding malays, and then complain they are lazy. What kind of BS is that?

• James T on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:54 pm

How not to be rich if you could have 1000 AP at a cost of 10k each… unless you are a dead man. Market price of AP is about 30K each. 1000 AP multiplied by 20k is 20mil. Do you want to do donkey job to import cars or sell the AP for 20mil.. May be outsource to someone to import 10 cars is good enough.. meanwhile think of next year how to get 1500 AP..! Mamatiew trying to make crony rich to support him.. but in the process makes Malay less capable of doing business.

• turbo_guy on Jun 23, 2014 at 6:11 pm

why only limited to ‘bumiputra’?
    I thought we are Malaysian ‘sekampung’…
    correct if I’m wrong.

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Dr M never failed in using racism in his speech. …Now is up to all Malay to believe is he is seriously helping Malay? Or just an excuse to make their friend rich… think think think!

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Dr M never failed in using racism in his speech. …Now is up to all Malay to believe is he is seriously helping Malay? Or just an excuse to make their friend rich… think think think!

• What is there to talk about on AP, if the government wish to demolish the system, they would have done so long time ago. The system is forever staying…

Meantime, they should really look into taxi permit, pity the old folks who drive taxi all his life still can not afford to get himself a taxi because not enough money to pay for a private permit. Talk about helping the needy malay, help these people first.

• joanne on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:14 am

yeahh….. they sell the AP`s to who? who make money more? they had helped a lot of recond car shops to get and sell their cars…. its like rasuah, who give who take? why give? why not report? the one who give are more disgusting than the one who received.. so cut the crap people.. the AP case is win win… Malay got AP and sell it to Chinese, and we bising about it… why? we make money what?

• tempe on Nov 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

middle class people!. talk to much politics, influenced by politics, comparing with other county are even better than malaysia, complaining and blaming, bla.bla.bla…

stop blaming other but blaming your self.

just Be Grateful people.