SPYSHOT: 2014 Honda Jazz on trailer in Malaysia

HONDA-JAZZ-BKT-JELUTONG-SPYSHOTS

It looks like the new 2014 Honda Jazz has landed on our shores – reader Rozaimi sighted this trailer near the Bukit Jelutong toll carrying two units of the B-segment hatch.

They’re completely covered up with a white cloth but we’re think no other hatchback of that shape and size would be sharing a trailer with a shipment of Honda City, agreed?

The Jazz’s Malaysian launch will happen some time this year, following the Thailand launch which saw multiple variants launched from RM55k. Listings on oto.my have suggested a few launch dates from July to September – a pretty wide spectrum, but dealers have been known to be wrong thanks to the principal giving out conservative dates to play it safe. We’re predicting a third quarter 2014 launch for this one.

The 2014 Honda Jazz’s drivetrain should be similar to our Honda City‘s, comprising a 120 PS/145 Nm 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder motor and a CVT automatic transmission. The Thailand spec car starts off with an S spec with a 5-speed manual transmission for the baseline RM55k price, and this goes up to RM59k for the entry level S CVT variant, rising to RM75k for the range-topping Jazz SV+ CVT.

Equipment highlights include a seven-inch touch-screen audio system with HDMI support, Siri Eyes Free Mode for iPhones (4S and above), touch-panel auto air-con, steering audio/phone controls and keyless entry/push start. On the safety front, top-spec cars get ABS, EBD, VSA, six airbags and a reverse camera. The Jazz will get the Ultra Seats feature that the previous generation was known for too, of course.

For Malaysia, oto.my classifieds listings have so far indicated an RM75k price, which is pretty much equal to the current locally assembled Honda Jazz 1.5 Petrol’s RM74,800 retail price. This leads us to believe the Honda Jazz will be launched right away as a CKD car, which makes sense given the massive investments that Honda Malaysia have been putting into their Alor Gajah plant.

A Honda Jazz Hybrid will probably come later, powered by a 110 PS/134 Nm 1.5 litre i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle engine paired to a 29.5 PS/160 Nm electric motor built into a seven-speed twin-clutch ‘box.

One key benefit of this new hybrid system over the previous generation Jazz Hybrid’s system is the fact that it can run in pure electric mode and automatically switches between EV Drive, Hybrid Drive and Engine Drive depending on driving conditions. Moving off from a stand still is done in EV mode.

We’ll come back to you with more information on the 2014 Honda Jazz as soon as we have it, so stay tuned. In the meanwhile, you can read more about the specs and prices of the current Honda Jazz at CarBase.my including owner reviews from existing Honda Jazz owners.

Thai-market Honda Jazz

JDM Honda Fit Hybrid at Honda’s new Yorii plant

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• HAHA!

Sorry Honda BS Malaysia.

With the quality of your cars, trust me, even if you have very good features, eventually people will stop buying ur BS cars because of ur BS quality.

Best Regards,
    New Honda City 2014 User

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 119
    • Victor on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Do you mind sharing your gripe with your new City?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Where is Najib's 30% Car Prices? on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:43 pm

1 Year have passed after the elections, where is Najib’s promise of reducing car prices? Car prices look like they are increasing.

This car is priced at US$15,000 in the US for a CBU unit with 8 airbags. That is the price after Honda US have made their profit and margin. Untung Bersih. So, Honda US might be getting the car far cheaper than this selling price.

Honda Malaysia will get this car far cheaper than USD$15,000 direct from their principal in Japan ie direct from Honda Japan. The price might be about US$10,000 or less. Their cost when it arrives Port Klang will be less than RM30,000.

When I bought my CX5 CBU, I checked the Kastam DiRaja Papers, the value Bermaz was buying my Mazda from Japan was was US$16,000. But I paid RM160,000 for it.

That is how cheap cars are when it comes direct from the Principal in Japan or Germany. If it is CKD, then the car becomes even cheaper!

So, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Najib promised voters that if they voted BN in the election last year, he promised he would reduce car prices by up to 30%. Where is this promise? This is just a basic promise. If basic promise also cannot honour, how about big promises?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 8
        • Kim Seng on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:11 pm

hello kawan, the US$15k is just RRP. I live in the US, you go around shopping can get diskaun. Pandai bargain la. The best price I got so far is US$11k.

My 3 months pay sudah bayar full la! I kerja kuli btw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
        • dest1ny on Jun 23, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Hah, thx to your BN vote you get increase in petrol and car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0r on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:39 pm

He probably from 2 types of drivers:
        1. Who never own a Honda before so just pretending like one and bash Honda.
        2. Who can’t continue the installment, end up have to sell the car but claim the car quality very bad, due to his face issues.

I am ok with any of them, as long as he is happy.

But asking people stop buying BS car… We think you should start closing down Proton first.

If you agree, please click the like icon below.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 23
        • Hi thick face show off ***,

the way u b*** shows that u are a person that loves to look down on ppl.

Why not u buy one urself and I hope that u will be the 80% of the unlucky one and not the 20% lucky ones that got a non defect City.

**** so much there as if u are so high and mighty..

HAHA! No wonder la Honda City for u is the “best car”

HAHAHA!!

Wish u the best in ur future Honda cars.. ohya let me narrow it now, HONDA CITY only. hope ur new car is free from defects (20%).

Thank you very much and pls enjoy ur stay on earth. Karma will strike u hard because u won’t be enjoying in heaven after ur life on earth is gone anyway.

HIDUP BS HONDA MALAYSIA!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
          • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:38 am

An example at its best of a butthurt-style super desperate attempt at scarring Honda’s image.

Don’t think it’s going well tho.

• Same L0r on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:44 pm

I like to look down on people, in fact it is none of your business.

We agree cars will have defects, it is a machine mass-production anywhere. However, I will appreciate the car maker who is willing to do more to take care of their customer. Like the recent recall due to defect in 2003 cars. 11 years old car, man! It show the auto maker responsibility.

You expect this from Proton? HAHAHA x 100000000000

I didn’t say Honda is the best car. But what is the best car for you? The best car should be:

1. Shitty build quality
            2. Defects so many even service centre would say “Biasalah, ini Proton mah!”
            3. Burnt so much money come out fuel starving engine with no power output.
            4. Make a lot of new car regardless of poor sales,and let the new cars parked under sun for years.
            5. Making loss then asking for more protection, more protection and more protection.
            6. To keep the company survive, all Malaysian need to pay so much more.
            7. People buy it because it is Cheap, not because it is good.

If this is the best car you mentioned. Your so called karma should strike hard on all those who is involved into this nationwide, 30 years hustle!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Mind to explain whats wrong with your City 2014?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • AVH (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Haha Honda Malaysia

With the quality and somewhat commendable performance of your cars and your features, not to mention my 3S manage to fix every foreseeable issue since. Looking forward for another model in my driveway

Best regards
      2011 Honda City E user

PS: typing this in the City in a parking lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
      • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Lol nice one AVH. Case closed.

• Wish you the best of luck for your next Honda then. Hope you have the same luck for your current City as well as your future Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • AVH (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:37 pm

And I do hope you have better luck with whatever brand you have. My City has trouble on two occation thou….ONe after a weeks vacation, discovered that my pet Dog chased a rat into the engine bay, the rat got a little to cosy and took some wires for its daily nutrition(traansmission wire to be exact and those are some thick wires), the other one was the battery drained to nothin since we decide to procrastinate the battery change as long as we can.

PS: The City is my dad’s, I take it as he prefers the height of my Mom’s Alza, who dosen’t like driving. My own car is a 2 decade old Proton Saga, with no tinting whatsoever so yea.

• Wisdom on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:57 pm

And please make sure your next hybrid can maintain the aircond even during auto-stop..
        Use electric aircond compressor for example…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Honda 2014 owner too on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:32 pm

so far, i had no issue with my car, no major/minor deflect…even the reported deflect discussed in honda club/forum were only cosmetic and can be fixed in SC. nothing major thus far.

• Ahfad on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Agreed with you,

My 2013 city e now already in serdang workshop due to brake failure. Now waiting for parts coming.

And it’s been a month!

• New honda city built quality sucks,look at the rear bumper fitting ,china made car quality,flimsy built after all ,do not attempt to close the front bonnet the usual way the bonnet construction is so thin and you will end denting the bonnet,what happened to the legendary honda built quality I miss my honda sv4.

• VW owner on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:07 pm

55k in thai.

bolehland?
    maybe around 70-80k.
    not gonna change much from current jazz price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Anti-Establishment on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:39 pm

I don’t think you can get the RM 55K version in Malaysia. That’s like the bare bones empty Jazz.

• I don’t expect 55k.. As long as below 80k for full spec, daddy will drive you home babeeeee……. Hohohohoh!!!

• honda honda on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:42 pm

65K onwards…

• Hopefully still RM37K in Labuan or Langkawi duty free price…

• xiper (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:16 pm

55k is the Jazz kosong with manual gearbox, I dont think there will be manual version in Malaysia.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:43 pm

That for manual n 2 airbag variant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • 6 air-bag ?? Safety features ??? The wind noise from door panel resolve ??

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Hellloooo… With all those EEV incentives as announced in the latest NAP 2014, RM75K is the best price that you can offer, Honda Malaysia?? Please don’t tell me that some invisible hands from MITI is interfering again. For a small B-segment car, RM60K is the fair price that Malaysians should pay for their hard earned income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • honest on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Kereta hybrid yg ditungu tunggu selama ini

• jinggo on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm

if pricing otr @ rm65k sure sell like hot cake … come on honda, u can do it..

• dumbfcuk on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Honda Malaysia please launch it asap! if can first delivery b4 September!!! need to get my daughter a car since she’s goin to university.. u know la how far is one faculty to another..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Follow Thai price RM55K here..?? Proton cakap jangan. Nanti Suprima zero sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • ron95 on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Kind to elaborate the BS cars from Honda instead of bashing without providing any proof.

I owned the 2014 city and this car beat the vios and almera hand down.

With 10,000 units sold for 1st month. you wont go wrong with City with the lower price tag (compared to previuos model and new vios) and increase the safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Yeap, its the best if u compared to the other two BS car = Vios and Almeria.

Haha! Just buy one urself and try it out! Hope u are one of the few VERY VERY LUCKY ONES that do not have any problem with ur car.

Wanna know whats my problem? Go get one urself and try it out! Rattling sounds non stop after sending back to SC for infinite times within 1 month, blaming everyone else in the world from tinting to leather except themselves for their problems..

Of that 10000 bookings within one month, i think about 90% will get a City with minor defects or some with major defects. Only about 10% may get a perfect City.

BS HONDA MALAYSIA BQ AND QC. BS.. For 3 generations now, i thought they will change. see see no changes at ALL! PLS TOYOTA AND NISSAN, PLS OFFER US A BETTER B-SEGMENT CAR SO THAT HONDA CAN KISS GOODBYE TO THEIR PROTON QUALITY CARS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Come on…
        It can’t be that bad? Can it?

Oh ya, you can’t find bios’s problem online until you go to tribetoyota.com.my

• samlok on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:40 pm

What do u expect these r all ckd

• Yes, Unfortunately this is the reality of CKD in M’sia. It contributes to higher rate of defects and lower quality materials used. Something that would stay on indefinitely.

• I believe you pay for what you got here. just go up a level to get continental car if you are not satisfied. i bet VW or Audi aren’t anywhere better than the car Honda offered. It’s the reality here. I drive a Honda Accord which has now became Perdana for government used Proton but it’s fine for me. Not to say excellent but it is FINE. You don’t like it then you switched. Keep accusing Honda BS ain’t gonna make any difference though. Sorry brah, it’s just my opinion.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Was walking about IPC and saw a Honda sales roadshow thingy. Decided to try my usual reporter style method to get information from the people.

Apperently the Jazz will be launching in July with a ‘starting price’ of below RM70k while top spec cars get about the same spec as the top spec city with ‘a few’ differences. I just hope things that are not in the city will be in the jazz like paddle-shift and reverse camera since it’s most likely confirm that rear seat ventilation is gone. The Jazz is said to target a different set of buyers….young and single. While the city is more or less family orientated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • vanhoe on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:39 pm

>below 70k
      Manual transmission perhaps?

• If they really aim the young and single (executive), yep they should and must put the paddle-shift…

• donadoni on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:13 pm

55k? if you think that way you can kiss the dream goodbye now.

• kami (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:38 pm

the ass remind me of suprima

• At least 60k

• Denaihati on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:59 pm

New Honda Jazz much pretty dan existing and the price maybe be same as existing.

• trololol on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:12 pm

honda jazz AMG, ops ! gearknob AMG

• How bout VEZEL?????????? ;(

• spongewai on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Ironhide: Prime, we’ve couldn’t save him

OP: Ohh, Jazz

• seancorr on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:37 pm

I thought by now you all should see the trend in Thai vs Malaysia price. For every Thai price you add RM20k then you will arrive at the Malaysian price which means RM75K-90k+ for the Jazz range with a few features missing in our car. The dealers point towards August launch and they are running the run out sale for the current Jazz hybrid.

• oh no…the backside looks just horrible..

• earthdreams on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Why no earth dreams tech :(

• Paul, care to ellaborate more on the Hybrid’s i-DCD tranny? Wet clutch or whatnot? Any reported problems on the transmission? Been eyeing this model since forever.

• what about vezel?
    i wan vezel…..

• HAHA!

BTW, THANK YOU VERY MUCH HONDA BS MALAYSIA FOR UR BS CARS FOR THE PAST 9 YEARS. FROM TWO PREVIOUS GEN ACCORD TO THE PREVIOUS GEN CIVIC AND NOW TO THE CURRENT GEN CITY, UR CAR HAS BEEN OF THE “HIGHEST QUALITY” EVER IN THE WORLD. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR HASTENING MY DECISION FOR MY NEXT CAR IN ABOUT 5 TO 7 YEARS TIME WHEN I DISCARD THE BS HONDAY CAR.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE “WONDERFUL TREATMENT AND QUALITY CARS” FOR THE PAST 9 YEARS AND COUNTING.

WISH U THE BEST OF LUCK IN MALAYSIA AND DO HOPE THAT THE TAX WILL CONTINUE IN MALAYSIA BECAUSE IF NOT, I DON’T THINK THAT UR CARS WILL BE SELLABLE IN MALAYSIA.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH HONDA BS MALAYSIA AND MAY GOD BLESS YOU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:36 am

will jazz rs come?

• Jazz user on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:32 am

I think the price will be more or less like the City selling now.
    I like Jazz, I own a 2006 model jazz, and is fuel save and quite engine, also spacious cabin compare to other B segment compact car. It is an ideal city car.
    Wish to upgrade to this one, as lot of upgrade on this model, 6airbags, VSA, are my most concerns, as I am a family guys :)
    Don’t mention push start, keyless entry, touch screen, touch panel aircon… This will be an extra advantage over other B Segment compact car.
    I am ready to change my car now, wish it could be launch as soon as possible. :)

• kenot on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:57 am

why Honda like bling rims design? accord and civic have a nice rim design rim..but not for city and this jazz.

• azhar on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:40 am

why the jazz hybrid not using CVT?..is dual clutch much more economical compare to CVT?

• Ex japanese car owner on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Japanese make has been ripping Malaysian of every penny by giving low grade vehicle BUT with good visual impact.

• wan j on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:04 pm

awat rupa huduh sgt

• Storm on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:01 pm

My City 2013, has the following problem :-

1) High Fuel Consumption.
    Full tank can only get 300km to 320km with 80% highway drive.

2) Aircond
    The temperature is not even. The rear passengers can only feel the aircond only if set to “3” but the front passenger will fell damn cold.

3)Knocking sound
    When engaged to “R” and then to “D”, there is a knocking sound. The best part is complain to SC and guess what they did? The SC proved to me all the City has this problem including the VTEC version. I don’t believe it until they tested it with my presence.

4) Moisture at the front window.
    When ever raining, both front windows have moisture hence blocking your view. It will reduce a bit if lower the aircond or adjust the aircond outlet. I thought only Proton has this special features “Moisture”.

• weird? on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:40 am

this so-called “Natural Disaster”

High fuel consumption, gravity issue.
      Air-cond not cold, weather issue.
      Knocking sound, dynamic principle issue.
      Moisture, weather issue again.

• Like i said Honda BS Malaysia is total BS..

Nvr ever support them anymore!

Lets hope Nissan or Toyota or any other car manufacturer produce better features car so that Honda BS Malaysia can go back Japan..

• atrix on Jun 25, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Wan Juling ,.. u sorang nampak huduh,…

• market Thai & M’sia still using L15A engine,same as current JAZZ….other market already using L15B with earth dream tech which is saving more fuel with higher HP. They should put the price tag <70k lorr unless we get the new earth dream engine…

• Roy Tan on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:00 pm

I heard that the current model of Honda Jazz will be Proton Savvy.. There will be again rebadging car from Honda to Proton..

• GK5 (Member) on Jun 26, 2014 at 4:23 pm

If it true, then no one will buy proton P2-30A…unless after rebadging, price still 74k.

• mr mapley on Jun 26, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Wow.. that would be a major bummer! ProJazz? Jazzton?

• Salesman Bash-ing Again on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:20 am

Wow keyboard warrior, your news faster than Paul Tan!

Why not saying more?
      City -> Preve = Pretty?
      Jazz -> Savvy = Jessie?
      Civic -> Suprima = Cinema?
      Accord -> Perdana = Anaconda?
      CRV -> Exora = Corolla?

• mr mapley on Jun 26, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Or probably called Jazzy?

• Raj Kumar on Jul 01, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Currently my family owns Honda Accord 2.0 (2008) and Honda Jazz Hybrid (2013). Both bought brand new and serviced at Honda. So far I have had issues with my Accord brakes when it was new and apart from that all is good. Jazz is very good without any issues for far. For the price I paid and also being a local model, I am impressed with the quality and after sales. I would buy another in the future.