Proton must find way to penetrate international market on par with South Korean, Japanese manufacturers

proton-suprima-s-tun-dr-mahathir-9

Proton will remain confined to the local market if the company continues to rely on government protection, according to deputy minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Hamim Samuri.

He said that the national car company must find a way to penetrate the international market on par with South Korean and Japanese car manufacturers, Bernama reports. He added that Malaysians should emulate the spirit of self-esteem and support for their local car industries as shown by the communities in those countries.

“They are unlike some of our citizens who belittle the quality of our national car, including exaggerating the issue of minor flaws (with the door windows),” he told reporters at an event over the weekend.

Proton Suprima S and Preve

Recently-appointed Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said last month that since the Malaysian car market is small, Proton will have to focus on a new strategy as well as exports in order to expand, and that the national car company was in talks with several Japanese carmakers regarding future collaborations.

“Proton’s performance can be improved and we will look closely at how we can continue to export our cars. We are going to look closely at the countries that we can export our cars (to) so that the production can be increased as we have a big production capacity which is not utilised,” the former PM said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Steve Kok on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Proton can do it.
    But we need the support of NAP for another 50 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 13
    • Proton - Money Sucking! on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:53 pm

This will never happen. Why? Very simple. It is Dr Mahathir the one that propogated the culture of Tongkat. Always looking for help. So, the rakyat already got used to it. Dr M is the one who made people lazy.

Look at Singapore. Both Malaysia and Singapore started same time. But Singapore got ZERO resources. Malaysia on the other hand is super rich with every mineral in town…gold, tin, copper, besi, palm oil, getah, coconut, oil and gas, and countless of others.

But see where we are and where Singapore is. It is all because of Mahathir and his Tongkat culture. People very used to getting government help and with no merit can achieve high positions and win contracts.

So, see where is Singapore and where is Malaysia now. One first world. The GDP per capita of Singapore is 2 or 3 highest in the world. Malaysia’s GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world. Singapore’s GDP per capita is 5x that of Malaysia. In literal terms, Singaporeans earn 5x more than Malaysians and their strong currency would mean their purchasing power is many times more than the ringgit.

Now to Korea. Proton started just slightly a few years after Hyundai. Not that long. At most, maybe 10 year gap. See where Hyundai is now. Hyundai is the 4th largest car maker by volume. They sold over 10 million cars last year alone globally.

Proton, despite being protected for 30 years and given free market for 30 years, still want the tongkat. Still cannot even make ends meet in the Malaysian market. Don’t even talk about International market. Malaysian market also like big failure despite being protected by the Government and Malaysians being forced to buy Protons.

Proton should just close down. It is a burden to the rakyat. It sucks so much of money from the government. Every year, few hundred million is given to Proton to survive and sustain and yet it cannot. Just close it down. The money saved can be used to build more schools and hospitals in every state in Malaysia. Each year, we can build at least 5 fully functional government schools and 5 fully functional government hospitals for the rakyat from the free money being saved from given to Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 536 Thumb down 49
      • mango on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:15 pm

ill give you 100x likes if is possible..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0r on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:56 pm

All who are protecting Proton, they are either:
          1. Hardcore Proton fanboys who never had (or couldn’t afford) non-proton car.
          2. Those who had Proton car but die hard want to protect it due to his own political agenda.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 238
        • Apek, let me tell u my story of buying proton..
          1996 — I felt proud of being a Wira 1.6A owner even though paying a sky high RM64K. Was thinking we M’sian should buy Proton and it would grow BIG one day but…

2001 — My wife bought a Wira 1.5A with RM54k bcos it was one of the cheapest 4 door sedan available during that time. Still thinking Proton would eventually grow BIG but…

2010 — My wife changed her Wira to Inspira 2.0 (RM91k) as it was a rebadge Lancer and should be better(we thought). Thinking proton would make a breakthrough this time but….

My wife & I spent more than RM200k (excluding bank interest) buying proton cars, but pls tell me where is Proton now??
          How much more money should I put in to this company to expect it to grow BIG !! Probably, Apek this is your turn to HELP Proton but not me…

2004 to 2011 — I owned a Altis, very happy with it.
          2012 till now — Driving a Ford, even more satisfy with it.
          My experience with Proton ? May be u should buy one and taste it yourself

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 5
        • Ray (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Dude, we Malaysians used to support Proton too. Remember the times where our roads are flocked by Wiras and Sagas? People were very supportive of the Saga despite being the first (experimental) model launched by Proton back in the 80s (well, partly because of its price tag). The Waja had pretty good public reception as well, and I still remember how it managed to awe us, being the first car designed by Proton in-house.

But now ask yourself, why are us turning away from Proton? The ownership experience itself tells everything. Horrible fuel consumption, poor build quality, major maintenance issues (not forgetting the power windows) and bad aftersales service. Making things worse, later Proton models aren’t doing any better in these aspects, and with the slightly expensive but reliable Japanese B-segments around, it’s not hard to understand why middle-class people tend to move away from Proton and book a Vios or a City.

Moving back to the Koreans. Their previous cars were horrible, remember machines like the Optima, Spectra and Elantra? They were all not that good either, but the Koreans did an impressive job in rectifying their weaknesses and progressed by leaps and bounds. That is precisely the reason why Koreans are still supporting their home-grown Hyundai and Kia to this very day.

Back to a logical question, if both the Saga and the Vios are priced similarly today, will you opt for the Proton?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 4
          • droll on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:45 am

I think the story goes deeper than just “support”. Market economics is brutal. people bought proton back then because it was the only option available. that has since changed with the influx of cheaper imported cars like the Koreans and Japanese brands.

this is about survival of the fittest and if proton does not change, it will die. Dr. M lamenting about how consumers look down on Proton’s quality is useless as it is bitter. lamenting about something will not change consumer sentiment. wake up and do something about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • droll on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:43 am

Korean brands have their own issues to contend with in korea. For example, see http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-05-14/bmws-cheaper-than-hyundais-on-tariffs-imperil-korean-maker-cars.html

their (Kia + Hyundai) combined market share is about 70% but they expect 2014 to slow down for them since more than half the vehicles they make are for overseas consumption, and there is pressure on the Korean won.

but they survive and they are run like a business – not like a GLC (you know what I mean).

• CinaApek on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:01 am

In 1995, I bought a Wira 1.5 for 54k, three years later compressors broke down, change a denso recond one and survive till 2008. My driver side power window fails 3 times a year, passenger side 2 times a year, I got fed up spending Rm 180 (in yr 2000)to workshop and bought the spare parts my self and start changing myself, in 6 months time, I changed 4 power windows of my own car (even the spareparts I bought was so crappy that it broke in few months) and one on my sister’s satria. My rear power windows near droke down, not because they are good, because I locked them so no one can use. My whole family has been strong supporter for Proton since 1985 when my old man bought the first generation SAGA, then my sister bought a satria, follow by wira, another satri from my brother then another saga hatchback from my sister. And yet Proton failed us all the time, 100% accurate, never miss once. I decided to trade my proton to get a 1995 toyota corolla and live happily eversince. My sister chose to keep her proton saga, because she has retired from working and she feels the saga is ok for her lifestyle since she only drive once a week.

• Ananz on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:46 am

In 2012 Proton and Perodua has a total of 59.9% market share with 330,257 units
          In 2013 Proton and Perodua has a market share of 58.1% with 334,824 units.

Malaysian support local brands with up to 60% or new cars bought from our local manufacturers so how can you say we don’t support local brands??

Can you please provide proof on how many % of the car sales in Korea and Japan are from local sales as compared to Msia.

• Facebook on Jun 24, 2014 at 2:48 pm

To Stupid Ah Pek,

Have u ever been to South Korea or Japan???
          Don’t bullshit here n there…u know how much a Hyundai i45/Kia K5 selling in South Korea? RM70,000 only…Honda Accord / Toyota Camry selling in Japan??? RM 70,000-80,000 only… RM70,000-80,000 what can u get??? Proton Preve??? Suprima??? or Inspira (rebadge lancer)??? Do you know how much does a fresh graduates earns in South Korea/Japan??? At least RM6k above…
          Proton is just a failure in all ways… People in Malaysia is being force to buy Poton with higher price… Proton are selling cheaper in other country, why is Proton selling its car in its native country more expensive??? Even selling at cheaper price in other country yet no people buy… now Proton wants locals to support??? Isn’t it stupid…only pathetic Proton diehard fans will defend them…
          Better to close it rather to disgrace the nation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • andrew on Oct 23, 2016 at 7:28 pm

it’s well over 70% in korea with hyundai and kia…
            even more than what proton and perodua are doing here in malaysia.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 192
        • apek.. lu bawa kereta apa and by the way did you contribute income tax to the country or not??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
          • Fred.Lam on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:30 am

Haters gonna hate. What is the point of talking to people that does not see the attempt of progress. Do also wrong. Don’t do also wrong. Apa lagi mau?

• Malaysia Boleh on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:32 am

We Malaysia boleh.

Imagine, there is no country in the world can vanish a commercial plane and yet, Malaysia boleh, we can do it. We have the technology and skill to do so. And we don’t need to answer anything for that cause this is our intelligence. Najib is still flying to China and lovely welcomed and free 2 panda back.

Until Mas, Proton have to lost billions per year, we still can sustain the company, why? Because Malaysia boleh, we are rich in crude oil, palm oil and timber. We are rich, so u can’t fire rich guy.

So if you think Proton don’t have the know how or technology, actually we don’t want to show off, nanti we monopolize the world car supply. Malaysia boleh.

Lastly, Malaysia boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Yap Pei Lee on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:18 pm

lol. how sure you are with your statement? burden to rakyat? proof please.so far what have you done towards the industry?

• Fred.Lam on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:36 am

No point talking bro. Talk talk talk also no use. Try to make something productive. Come up with idea or something. Makes sense?

• jenjenjen on Jun 29, 2014 at 4:11 pm

bro, the Korean automotive industry began 1955. Hyundai Motor Company set up shop in 1967, Kia Motors started in 1957. china produced cars since 1958, way-way earlier than Proton.

and the koreans protected their market just as if not more forcefully than we did/are. below is an excerpt from a study “Comparison of Automobile Industry Policy Between China and Korea”
        By Fu Baozong PH.D, Academy of Macroeconomic Research, National Development & Reform Commission , P.R.China

In Korea
        Tariff barrier:
        In 1962 ,” automobile industry protection law “, in the next 20 years, South Korea banned from import auto. Until 1986, car market began to conditionally to be open.
        1986 – 1995, import tariffs dropped from 60% to 8%.
        Non-tariff barriers:
        Such as the limitation of establishment of import car sales network; ban on TV and newspaper advertising; on the purchase of foreign advanced automotive customers special tax inspection; carry out ” buy Korean goods ” movement; loan limit; restrict importers from importing large quantities of foreign cars.

but dont get me wrong. i’m not so much of a Proton fanboy. i’m just stating the facts.

• salambangi on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Its ok to criticise but dont condemn. And please dont politicise too much. Tired of the RBA
      sympathisers cum congenital bashers about anything Proton . So boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 110
      • Wasn't_that_the_initial_vision? on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:10 am

This is ignorant at best.

Proton was born out of the ashes of political backing. And seems to now, lose it favor post Dr. M era and trying to regain favor by having Dr. M back.

You cannot talked about Proton without talking of the ills of the government. Unless tax payer are no longer paying for Proton, then you can expect zero political linkage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Wisdom on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Sometimes malaysian can be hypocrites;
      They complaint so much on the local car they bought, up to the spot welding point, but hide the issues they face with foreign brand, example toyota with leaking absorbers, honda with squeeky suspension, and they even accept the stranded VW..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 95
      • Punyalah tak puas hati at people that complaint about their spot welding. Simpan sampai sekarang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
        • iomasuck on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Punyalah proton bashers tak puas hati pasal power windows, dah ada lifetime warranty pun nak bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 33
          • It may sound strange to you Proton but most people need to work and annual leaves are used for holiday.

To Proton, spending annual leaves on car repairing is perfectly normal. Holiday is test drive at UK.

• Aniq_Affandi on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:38 am

Biasa la orang Malaysia. Pape pun nak complaint. Apa usaha kita nak make some change? Takde. tapi complaint memanjang.

• The only hypocrite are the ones who rides on mahathir’s c0ck.
        Proton only makes like 3 or 4 cars and yet they all hold their value like a used toilet paper. Also, EVERY SINGLE car breaks down eventually, but listing two of THE MOST reliable brands to support your argument is hilariously stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
      • Vader (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Nope, your statement incorrect.
        People complaint for Toyota, Honda and Vw as well, only you not aware!
        Let said VW, people did complaint it and eventually VW malaysia did respond to it in early March 2014.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
        • Obviously (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Difference is that Proton has never acknowledged its faults, as far as I know. That’s the big difference. VW’s CEO went out to meet the protesters and to assuage their concerns and come up with measures to satisfy them. As far as I know, Proton has never done such a thing to connect positively with angry customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
          • Fred.Lam on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:40 am

What would be your suggestion to lead your complaints towards the right authority?

• nighttrain on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Haven’t you been reading the comments on Jap cars especially B and C segments? You must have been living under a rock. Kena kondem like hell. Even the Koreans and Europeans kena, Chinese the worst kena kondem. UMW the worst distributor, didn’t you know? Local VW and their DSG denial issue kena teruk bro. Basically, these days, almost all brands kena, well except performance models. People are getting smarter broh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • fast5 on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Same goes proton can improve IF the inner management corruption can be stop.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 11
      • talk with data pls..otherwise u r rubbish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 92
        • Vader (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Apek, you are funny. Corruption where got docuemnt, data or record to refer to?
          But there is corruption survey report by transparency group, and the result I think no need to explain more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 7
        • fast5 on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Rubbish… see from a fact and history…. learn more b4 comment…
          Data is for showing (drama) to you air-head… Real data will be keep secretly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
          • tesla on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Then you want talk kok only, no proof no data nothing. Why should people believe you. Show us the proof idiot!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
        • turbo_guy on Jun 23, 2014 at 6:29 pm

You are rubbish too!

• Proton Basher on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:52 pm

Apek…Apek you really apek thinking and talking using your butt! I doubt you are Proton owner!

Yes, I am Proton basher! So why? Because the stupid idiot at the top never be a good leader. Just talk and eat and currupt but do nothing to improve.
          Am I qualified to bash? Yes, I drove Proton since 11 years ago till now. But not next 2 week. Go to hell Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • AntiSocial on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Proton will build a perfect car when other company already produce UFO.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 12
      • Fred.Lam on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:50 am

You are exactly the people that we are looking for to throw down people down the drain. Lack of respect and lack of trust. You are the perfect candidate. :)

• mr_em on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Hmmmmmmmm….. to Proton Chairman and the Deputy Minister of MITI, please tell us something new….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Exactly. “Proton must find ways to penetrate global market…” “proton must look closely ….” bla bla bla……whos doesnt know that?? Another around of talk c_o_c_k..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • I think the problem is the branding..proton brand nobody cares..what if proton brand replaced by lotus since they own lotus..to the hell with lotus sport car..lotus is going to die anyway..imagine lotus preve lotus ,saga bla bla..at least got name already..handling by lotus badge not enough..as far as proton is concerned they can put their brand in the history book..I prefer lotus brand survive than proton haha3..I am serious..if lotus board refuse then sell lotus..let it rot and die…

• I’d choose proton brand rather than coffin brand Toyota or dangerous sampan handling Japs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
        • Really Potong over the T & H…..get real. the reason people buy potong is because thats the only thing they can afford. Do u drive a proton now? Does the board of directors and their family members drive potong of Merc or BMW or Alphards.

Drive by after 10am every 2nd Friday of the month. See the cars parked at the proton HQ senior staff lots. Its idiot proff…..u wont miss it. they even post the title of the lot owners.

Then swing by JPJ and see the data posted in notice boards on deaths caused by vehicle accidents. see the percentage of foreign cars versus local cars.

• I was wondering the same thing too.. you are right, what stopping proton from using lotus brand?? both are dying a slow death anyway..

• Fren..do u tink lotus want spoit their brand by letting proton use their brand directly? Be mature la my fren..

• Bro Lotus has come to an end..stop dreaming..it will become another british airways or austin martin..why so cocky..it is proton that keeps lotus guys cocky and still wetdream in their so called dreamland..lotus is bleeding out proton..look how clever china man turn lenovo into now..from laptop to smartphone..ok la..if one day proton doing really bad they cannot afford to keep lotus I m sure a china billionaire will buy it and turn lotus into mass car producer..

• Reza Ismail on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Is that your specific method to bring up Proton. Whatver you just suggester, just in case if you didn’t realize, is totally counter productive.

• GDrogon on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:28 pm

proton joke of 2014

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Try la sell the car in Korea and Japan 1st……ada tolorrrrr ka mamak kutty……????

He just making it up so that he can get the contract to supply for his cronies….tak caya??? org dalam dah heboh dah since last month……the moment appointed Chairman, all the cronies received their LOA……penyangak 1st class……

• Reza Ismail on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Proton Bashers, Proton Bashers everywhere.

• Chow 1 on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Very simple. Just build a car that Everybody cannot resist. That’s all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • driver on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:58 am

Second this. Even thought it’s just one segment. Focus 1000% on saga (for instance), and make it super perfect. fix the brand perception first. when they get back the money, then reinvest on R&D and other segment.

What’s the point of having many segments but all are sub-standards?

• mindfaucet on Jun 24, 2014 at 2:42 pm

You sir, commenting using your brain. Deserved 1 like from me. BTW, Proton must accept critics then only can move forward. Anyway, I’ll support any improvement Proton planning to do in next few years.

• Reza Ismail on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Actually all they need to do is not to come up with multiple cars witht he same quality but to come up with one big bombshell that no one could resist. I guess at least.

• Black Dog on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:42 pm

‘New strategy to export’?

This has been going on since 2 decades ago but still no result. How many more new strategy/revamp/revitalise/re-study/etc they need?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Hahahaha… 25 years later only they realise this? What are they doing in the past 25 years? Shiok makan minum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
    • What are they doing in the past 25 years? Simple answer build babies to conquer Malaysia. lol. right?

• Chris (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Well to be fair, Hyundai and Kia pre-dates Proton over 20 years. They too start with heavy protection, no foreign car allowed unless it’s joint venture with local industries.

Local pressure forces Korean car makers to go overseas for more market. They begin with selling cheap but nasty cars, giving themselves a bad name. Then they do stuff like 100,000 miles/7 years warranty and improve reliability to one of the top.

Will proton do the same? Or do we need to wait 20 years for proton to be on the same level as Hyundai/Kia today?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Could not agree more. Hyundai/KIA started out pretty much protected by the G. Even much more protected compare to Proton ( no foreign car policy).

But P1 & P2 also should be thankful with the policies in Malaysia which help them to sell cars with non-national cars priced twice more.

This made them feel safe and less ambitious thinking that they have shares in the market. In my opinion they should by now, with the protections, at least be a product that local would go for.

Improvements I do see in local cars. I’m not asking for perfection, but at least give some confidence to the buyers out here. Issues such as power window should be rectified long2 ago. I drive a “Lagi Best” and to be honest pretty much happy except for the power window’s issue. Not even a year it start to rattle when I raise it up. Other than that am a happy owner.

I would like to see our national cars one day, voted as COTY. But they should first improve on the QC issues and a bit more refinement with their products.

• Actually Kia was founded in early 1990s…

• Chris (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:18 am

Huh? Correct me if I’m wrong but:

– KyeongSeong Precision Industry, later renamed KIA Industry, opened it’s door in 1962, assembling Mazda cars.
        – Asia Motor opens in 1965.
        – Hyundai Motor opens in 1968.
        – KIA Industry took over Asia Motor in 1976.
        – KIA Industry renamed to KIA Motors in 1990.
        – KIA Motors have money problem in 1997.
        – KIA Motors aquired by Hyundai Motor in 1998.

Unless you mean changing name to “Kia Motors” is the same as “founded”… they go waaaay back..

• ThePolygon on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:49 pm

I drove a local car for 10 years. After 10 years I still wanted to support the local car but ended up buying a foreign car. Come on Proton, we need more innovation! It’s the un-leveled playing field that is giving you a bad name. When people said Proton, people will always think of it as needing protection to survive… which simply translate to unsellable under normal circumstances. Show us you can survive in the open market! Suprima is a good start! Come up with variants that make us visit your showrooms once again!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • If Proton can emulate the quality and design of Korean or Japanese manufacturers, I will definitely support Proton. Until then, I will wait.

But wait, I wonder if the Deputy Minister owns any Proton cars in the household (other than official Proton car provided for the Minister’s use)?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • No, Dr M don’t own or drive any proton, he only drove the Black Porsche Cayenne running around his house at Mine’s as almost every month I saw him driving around.. with escort of black Volvo XC90. so what he know about proton car quality ? nothing !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • Reza Ismail on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:57 pm

True that. For starters all ministers and government executives need to be given a Proton instead of a freaking Merc or BMW. At least that way people can have confidence in them.

• improve proton service dealership quality as some of the service center or 3rd party authroised service center is really bad in their troubleshooting of real issue which causing unnecessary hassle of replacing the wrong items.
    Another important factor for competitiveness is the fuel efficiency, proton engine still need more hardwork from the R&D to improve it.

• Tokong on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:55 pm

This is a great vision. To fight, you need to stand on your own, check your own supply chain and get rid of all the flaw, nuts, worms, etc that slow you down. This is globalization business, Sushi and Kimchi is really serious about this business.

I believe Proton knows the problems but it is too complicated to be corrected. So have a great vision today and back to square one by tomorrow, continue to get protection for the next XX years.

I believe in proton we have such capability people, but when profit is involved, you can’t touch anything, all protected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • lalaman on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Yes, another round of proton bashing party! come over fast with your hammer, spanar, kayu pukul anjing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
  • Proton can do it if fuel subsidies only provided to proton car only. HAHA…..

• Datuk Hamim Samuri ada beli, drive kereta Proton kah tidak..?? Cakap mesti serupa bikin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Any idea to change the top management to non bumi? Or even hire Honda or Korean chairman with top money to restructure Proton? When it comes to business, other race seems to excel pretty well in many areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 19
    • tawil on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Do the other races are interested in joining as production operator? Nowadays majority of Malays are joining in this profession.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • kereta kompak on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:51 pm

On what basis is your arguments? Along business???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • policeman on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:41 pm

That’s the idea huh? Condemn, condemn, condemn but secretly they are envious. Just waiting for the opportunity to pounce and grab it all for themselves instead.

Jealousy and greed runs deep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Wasn't_that_the_initial_vision? on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:07 pm

What makes you think Proton could do it the 2nd time? Look where Hyundai and Kia is now.

The problem with Proton is systemic. When the entire corporate world is vying for people diversity (not for political reason mind you, but the efficacy and value of having different thought process from different culture and ethnicity) our government and government funded project is geared southward of diversity. Enriching a single ethnicity is a lofty goal, IF:
    a) That person you are trying to enrich share your common goal of improving Proton.
    b) Meet the exacting quality standard set by other globalized car maker. Not just “Jaguh Kampung” standard.
    c) Are not already rich in the 1st place (nudge nudge wink wink).

Until we run Proton like a corporate entity, I say stop wasting the Rakyat’s money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • Wasn't_that_the_initial_vision? on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:45 pm

I see that Proton management still think the quality issue is an issue of perception (or wrongful perception).

Well so much for improvement. Pssst…You do not need to improve if you do not see a problem. Continue with your course of action and spend the rakyat’s money aimlessly.

BTW, when I walk-in to a marque brand (start with A ends with i) owned by EON, I could immediately see the Proton plague at work there. Workers are woefully train, badly managed, has zero mindset for customer satisfaction. Yes it’s an issue of perception.

• Proton Basher on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:00 am

That’s the reason why all Proton in house designed car just like mat rempit car. Like the stupid Iswara aeroback saga, sold with the noisy mat rempit exhaust pipe. Exhaust gas leaking to the cabin from everywhere.

• how is the door window(power window) a minor flaw?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:47 pm

It’s a minor flaw as in it doesn’t leave you stranded in the middle of the night. The engine and transmission is reliable. It’ll get you home safely.

Can you say that about European cars? Transmission failures, sensor problems, these cars will fail on you at the worst of times. Stalls while you’re running away from a robber/rapist. Women beware, stay away from European cars.

Reliability:

1. Japanese
      2. Malaysian
      3. Korean
      4. European
      5. Indian
      6. Chinese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • oh yeah, then can u explain why malaysian car still doesn’t sell well? since malaysian car is so reliable, it should sell like a hot cake….i do think ur statement make the 7th place in the list…

• Heng Lee on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:21 am

The Japanese are just recalling 1.5 million cars because the airbag can explode right into your face. And Toyota is recalling another 1.5 million cars because the brakes don’t work properly. This is what you call ‘reliable’?

• Ray (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:16 am

Dude, recalling cars doesn’t imply that they are not reliable. It shows that the company cares for its consumers and that is what you call good aftersales service. It means that they are taking responsibilities on their mistakes and are doing their best to improve them. Has Proton ever recalled their Perdana for the shitty gearbox, or the Waja for it’s dripping aircon, or all their cars for a power window makeover? I’m afraid no, because Proton is ALWAYS right and never admit their mistakes, even if they receive frequent complaints on a same model. And in the end, you have to burn a hole in your pocket to fix those problems, which I’m afraid are pretty major ones. To sum up everything, you’re just a blind supporter trying to suggest that Toyota is less reliable than Proton. Amazing joke, come I clap for you.

• Heng Lee on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Selling cars with faulty brakes ‘shows that the company cares for its consumers’?

I see, Mr. Toyota salesman..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • Ray (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm

As far as English is concerned, what I mentioned was that the act of recalling shows that a corporate cares of its consumers. Manufacturing defects are present in all automakers, even premium names like BMW and Mercedes have recalled models to rectify problems. You can’t completely eliminate defects be it major or minor ones, but it is of utmost importance to admit them and take action immediately upon receiving complaints. Back to Proton, have they ever responded to customer complaints on manufacturing defects seriously? All I could remember was a Savvy recall for the wheel bearings a few years back. Are those the only manufacturing defects Proton has so far? I believe many current or previous owners (including me myself) would be very glad to share our delightful experiences with Proton.

On a side note, quoting Toyota doesn’t make me a salesman. Not that I’m a fan of them, neither do they produce the greatest cars, but when it comes to reliability, I’m pretty sure they are light years ahead from our dear old Proton.

• Malaysians exaggerating minor flaws?
    Iccccc…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Exaggerating minor flaws? When the flaws are so prevalent and common that so many Malaysians are complaining about, that is no exaggeration but statement of fact and reflection of quality of your cars.
      I think Proton may be the first manufacturer that, instead of listening to customers’ grouses, claims that their customers are exaggerating the flaws. A responsible car manufacturer should never ever do that.

• fcons on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Now already lifetime warranty lor for power windows

• Fred.Lam on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Frankly speaking, out of experience that is. My Wira maitenance costs me waaaayyyy less and I run to and fro work in my Wira. Low fuel cost bitchass !

• sparkoeng on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:13 pm

how to penetrate, tengok pun tak steam!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
  • hurmm…..quality, reliability, fuel consumption, design, price, and dont lie…improve on that, then i’ll buy one..i think..hahahaha

love the way proton cheat on malaysian preve’s first user about NCAP 5 stars thing, and i also pelik why malaysian bought it without knowing that the 5 stars were only for preve with 6 airbags…its just recently that they add 6 airbags..haih..

oh..”rear LED light guide on suprima that can only be found on luxury car”..quote from a proton ceo..yeah2, whatever..still, if at night, new picanto stop next to suprima, i’m pretty sure that my eyes will be on that picanto rear lamp…in other words, design wise, suprima rear lamp lost against a small car priced at RM50k..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • I doubt that…Unless the Chairman is serious about quality and reputation over $

But I support the idea anyway…Just hope that Proton will remain affordable

• Maseratits on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:21 pm

I believe Proton will be able to succeed and regain the rakyats support. But in order to do that, they will have to prove it to us that they are able to produce a car that is decent enough to rival the products of other makes.
    I’m sure someday Proton will make something which will banish of its brand image negativity once and for all :)

• Tanderketq on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:24 pm

thumbs up..

• Proton going international yep they did but fail
    Proton did get the

• takNakP1 on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:26 pm

by scarifying all Malaysian…
    at that time, everyone will be cycling… even a basic bicycle could cost 10k.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Abisla kene bash kawkaw..like there will no tonite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • techsmart on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:31 pm

I agree with the fact that citizens of countries like Korea and Japan are definitely patriotic and supportive of local brands. But they have something to stand for and to be proud of.

Unfortunately, Proton and Perodua never had any interest in making high quality cars but cheap cars with high margin for themselves. The citizens have already been supporting the local car market for years, you can see this from the number of units sold as compared to other cars, yet the cars that we get are still incomparable to of the Koreans.

Surely you don’t expect every single citizen only buy locally made goods. Even in patriotic countries like Japan and Korea, they STILL but imported cars.

Come up with something that really make us proud and worth our love.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • MycarMylife on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:33 pm

By time you can make a decent car pls include a wheel chair feature becos i will need it then old fart!

• Low Budget on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Just wonder what car this Datuk Hamim Samuri drives.
    For a start, all his family members should change their cars to Proton.
    It would be a real hypocrite if he whacks Malaysians for not supporting Proton if he does not own and drive one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • donadoni on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:36 pm

after all these years now only wanna find ah? almost 30years already what are you all doing? proton should foresee this long time ago. selling to domestic market can lah tipu tipu one. scrap proton the came up with a new one i think the better. because proton name got stain all over. basi d.

• Proton make crap but blame the customer for making a mountain out of a molehill?! That’s really the way to win over a public that has long list all the goodwill for a socalled national car that is now in private hands. Hasn’t Proton learned that no one owes it a living?

• Weefukyew on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Should have done it a quarter century ago. Proton became complacent due to the protection it enjoys all this while. It’s a no brainer that you have to get the volume to achieve economies of scale unless proton decides to become a nich player in the market. Unless that happens, Malaysians will have to bear the burden for another generation.

• Weefukyew on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Should have done it a quarter century ago. Proton became complacent due to the protection it enjoys all this while. It’s a no brainer that you have to get the volume to achieve economies of scale unless proton decides to become a nich player in the market. Unless that happens, Malaysians will have to bear the burden for another generation.

• Great, why not penetrate into our own Malaysian market first by offering hard to refuse good quality products? lol

• Pukimahathir on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Speaking about quality.. pfft.. stop cheating on the rakyat bunch of liars. Look at the number of protons that broke down and having so much problems ranging from power windows to light bulbs.. Preves that are less than one year olds was seen a few with one of the halogen lights of the headlamps had blown out! “WORLD-CLASS” Think before you speak! At par with japanese and south-korean manufacturers? Can you match their technology, quality and design?? Look at Volkswagen, its a budget car in europe, but so many people are driving them and in Malaysia, they market it as a mid-upper premium product before its rivals BMW, and Mercedes-Benz. Proton has a long way to go, if the government don’t reduce taxes and duit kopi, Proton will go no where! Wanna compete, play fair lah! Don’t play blackout la if they dare! Lower the tax and prices of imported cars! If Proton really has the capability, quality, design and performance, it’ll sell itself naturally and not with spending billions is appointing “Tun M”, as who knows? he may take 10% commision of each Proton sold. MR. 10%! o0o

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • Kevin Lim on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Unlike Japan or Korea, Malaysia government policies of segregating bumi and non-bumi policy; and all the non-sense about “pendatang”, you expect support for national car? Not to mention, our education not base upon merits, has ruin the standard and thus can’t create enough skilled workforce for such high technology and capital intensive industry. I’m sure you knew the answer and yet you are in denial….stop dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
    • salambangi on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Racist kevin Lim They want to sapu eveything. Dont help the poor . Dont help the disadvantage. Take everything. education, business, properties, distribution, retailing, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
    • salambangi on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Racist kevin Lim They want to sapu eveything. Dont help the poor . Dont help the disadvantage. Take everything. education, business, properties, distribution, retailing, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • policeman on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Because of “pendatang”, you’re not going to support national cars? Why stop there? You should really show them and make a strong statement.

You should stop supporting local vegetables, local meat, local fuel, local water, local air, local electricity. These are all controlled by the cronies. Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
      • Reza Ismail on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:22 pm

I don’t see the reason why you should be using racial slurs to counter this statements. Come on la. Kata Malaysian.

• Lols….

• Someone DD on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Sorry personally will not support Dr. M. Proton failed in China, even using “Lotus” name, which most car makers are earning quite a good money there, cant imagine how can they sell to other countries. BN has such bad image after the MH370 issue, i dont think Proton can really convince consumers for first impression. BN, you will pay for what you do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • shanmugam gnanapathy on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:24 pm

What PROTON has got to do with BN sir? Are u an opposition? hahaha.

• Someone DD on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Yes. I was planning to buy a Preve but after knowing Dr. M become president, i changed my mind….Sad that Preve such a good handling car…

• Md Nasir Ahmad on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I just bought a Proton Preve. It leaks in the rain, and the floor on the driver’s side gets wet. After sending to the Proton Service Centre for repair, it still leaks. What do you Proton has to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • iCare on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

“Please give us your contact details to inform our service centre bla bla bla bla”

• mim (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:17 pm

I have a Preve too but it never gave me headache (except for melting fan wire harness once). My nearest SC solved everything in one day and even gave me lift to home. If car left more then one day then they’ll give an FLX or Iswara to use.

You’re just unlucky to have a defect car and went into an incompetent SC. I have to say, buying a Proton (for now) is quite a gamble. Inconsistencies everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Aniq_Affandi on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:24 pm

7 years. Me and my wira. Other than the power window problem it’s been smooth. Maitenance people. If you let your car under the hot sun and let it hit the acid rain we have nowadays, Merc or BMW also same problem la bro.

• Proton products are actually quite good. Certainly in few aspects like handling and safety, Proton is much better compare with its competitors. Might be a little bit exaggerated but Proton is now could be said as a leading class in these two aspects. However, Proton is still lack of refinement and quality control which is a crucial parts that the mass seeking about. Besides, Proton need to change their marketing strategy. Please learn from other big player industry like BMW, Jaguar, Merc doing their advertisement. You need to change people’s perception. Good Luck Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • deaftek on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:59 pm

DRB and Proton Top Management, BN politicians and Cronies are in the state of denial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • That is the problem with Proton.. when we tell the truth about your quality, you claim we are exaggerating, how to improve when you refuse to listen???

Proton will NeVeR improve even give you another 100 years, because ppl inside refuse to change their attitude..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • rifos on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Who told you exaggerating? I can’t see any Proton reps here, only bashers who have back hearts and full of hidden agendas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Rayman Wong on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Minor flaw? A flaw is a flaw no need to talk much about it . U want Malaysians to support their expensive and low quality local car? At least give us some improvements at the basic features eg door & windows. We citizens of Malaysia have to pay more for their own local car whereas other countries’ pay far more less for a better quality Proton. Don’t talk about international market when our own citizens won’t support our own local car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • old dog on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:04 pm

take away the NAP, and if take away NAP, Proton also cannot sell in Malaysia, you think foreigner want to buy it?

this protect strategy is killing themselves.

• Captain Meow on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:40 pm

NAza and Great Wall Auto just got Malaysian govt grant to develop car… same with Mazda.. u should read more..

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Miti deputy ve spoken.. you can’t rely on protection forever P1.. read yourself P1 butthurt. . You all better keep your mouth shut. Let us do the bashing here.

Any P1 butthurt want to give stupid comments here be my guest. .

Boleh bash ramai2. ..toksah tegak benang yg basah la.. dok diam2.. tggu tapau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • shanmugam gnanapathy on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Who are you actually Motorhead???? your butt hurt? No ones butt hurts here. Are u paid to create the bashing session or what? Hire me plissh?

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Who am I?

Dey thambi.. Im like the rest of the proton bashers here..

& I don’t ve to be stupid enough to be one of your victims.

I just want non feasible company to tapau.. that’s it..

Motorhead is against motor industry regime NAP.

Auto freedom to all..

• sunshine+happiness 2 the world! on Jun 23, 2014 at 6:08 pm

motorhead.. mind sharing your awful experience with proton? seems like u have deep hatred towards them… like everytime there is a proton post.. u need to pinpoint those “butthurt p1 fanboys”.. not a stalker btw.
      i used to have a gen-2 back in 2004 and it served me quite well, i since have changed to hilux as KK roads are getting shitty.. but do tell me yr experience.. maybe it could release some of the hatred youve been keeping all this while? or if anything.. just do yoga or pray.. and your hatred is not good for your health lor. soo always smile! and just ignore proton articles if u feel like blowing up. cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Sigh.. malas la nak type lg.. I thought I ve written few times why..

Nanti ada pulak org berlagak nak jadi boss.. don’t hire me bla bla.. well you look again lah yourself. .

Pendek cerita if the company is feasible. . Bring more good to people. . Pay taxes.. pay bonuses. . Didn’t ask gov protection. . I ll support. . For instance. . I support Petronas..

Again la.. read carefully. . Even Miti ve spoken. . P1 cant depend in NAP forever.. its a fact.. that’s why gov sell it.. it’s not feasible. .

I believe P2 is ready for open market. As she distribute Daihatsu’s. . Toyota’s share is there too

It’s P1 left the cause of NAP. . No other.. & that’s it.. not only me.. all those who feel the same above.

Ps.. my family & relative own Protons.. im too lazy to type the problems. . Most of them are similar to what some of the people above wrote..

Again.. u baca sendirilah org pny complain. .

My time is expensive.

• motorbart on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Hey motorhead, let me give you back your fav quotes : Sukati aku la nak kata apa, smartphone aku bukan mak bapak ko pun yang belikan!

How about that?

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Ya..

Suka hatilaj pon aku nak komen apa..

Smartfon ni bukan memang nenek kau yg bagi..

Hahaha. . Puihh.. born to be my stalker.. good.. follow my butt… born to be my butt..

• Albert Lee on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:12 pm

“Exaggerating minor flaws”
    This teruk Deputy Minister does not know what he is talking.
    We are not condemning the power windows anymore,like the Wira of yesteryears.What irritates us ……the noisy campro engine,a gearbox that vibrates too much(according to Paultan himself driving the Suprima )poor built quality(Hafiz ‘s comments)…comparatively higher fuel consumption .
    You call these minor flaws.Either your English is rotten or you are living in constant denial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • kemosabe on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:15 pm

This is what happens when you have a government that does business with the citizens, instead of protecting them.
    Till that changes, please accept what’s is and what’s not.

• Captain Meow on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:39 pm

I bought an Exora last year.. high line – Bold.. To tell you the truth.. and absolute truth..

I love it.. i was a bit scared oso in the beginning.. but i was looking for a small MPV.. now my kids and i all use Exora everyday… so TV.. travel long journey very comfy… mazda 3.. keep at home..

yes.. a supporter now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Denaihati on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:51 pm

not so easy on par with South Korean, Japanese manufacturers. i read KIA history from Wikipedia for example, “start bicycle parts by hand 1944 – and has operated as one of the country’s Chaebols since then. In 1951 Kia began building complete bicycles. later built motorcycles (starting in 1957), trucks (1962) and cars (1974)….”. Before Malaysia merdeka… i mean they are so matured in the car manufacturing industry.

• jumbuck on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Proton build car for Kronies, not for rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Before Proton can improve, first they have to admit the mistakes they made (and there is a lot of them).

If they are repeatedly in denial about their issues and don’t admit what is wrong with them, how to fix it? Hence, all you hear is that they keep on blaming consumers.

You want to fix proton? actually quite simple.

1) competitive open tenders for all vendors. Get the best you can buy. No more crony gravy train. Open to non-bumi vendors. Start running Proton like a proper business.
    2) accept that you have been making garbage and then get the proper people to run it properly. Yes, that includes hiring foreign professionals and non-bumi heads. Get rid of Political Tongkats.
    3) Get rid of Tun Mamak.

If they can do this, they don’t need a tongkat. Get the basics right, and everything will fall in place. In business we often use the Pareto principle. In this case, fix 20% of your biggest issues, and the rest of the 80% will fix itself.

If 80% of your customers complain about faulty power windows, don’t spend 80% of your marketing budget on PR damage control. Go after the Vendors making crap hardware and change them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • QChan on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:28 pm

That’s right.

The window problem is a pretty prolonged affair. I trust every Malaysian know a couple of Proton car owners that has that “minor flaw.” Not to mention multiple rust spots on every body panel!

I drive a 21-year Ford and the power windows on all four doors have never failed to-date! Even the auto one-touch window on the driver side is still working.

However, recent examples from Proton appear to be better I must admit. But it has yet to pass the “passage of time” test!! We shall see……. :)

• youidiot on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:24 pm

haahahah hahahahahahahh ahahahahahahahah

• shanmugam gnanapathy on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Dey all Macha!!! Money sucking why are you so negative da? Just got divorced is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • kereta kompak on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Talking so bombastic, have u guys did scrutiny every clause in NAP? Every car manufacturers are also enjoying the benefits in NAP. Not only Proton. Blahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • It is funny to hear the Deputy Minister equaled the complaints on power mirror as “minor”. Come on..Proton is synonymous with problematic power window since the earlier days of Proton Saga. I bought Saga Megavalve brand new in 91 and the power window failed within a year..at that time it was installed by EON. And until now it is not just confined to power window..ask any earlier Waja owners about doors that can’t be opened from outside..

It is very simple..Proton owns Lotus…so instead of putting the badge “Ride and Handling by Lotus” on the car simply re badge Proton car to Lotus..and since Lotus is a well known and reputable car manufacturers this might work..think..Lotus Suprima S instead of Proton Suprima S..or Potus Preve..Lotus Exora..close to Lotus Evora already..but hey first fix the power window problem..Then you have a product that will rival the Korean in the international market..Proton could not even compete in the Middle East with these Koreans.

I can see the fellows in Top Gear drooling to test Lotus Exora..

• shanmugam gnanapathy on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Captain meow. Indeed, I was not a supporter nor hater previously but looking at all the negative comments which I don’t know what are they getting by posting all the negative comments about proton are so heartbreaking. All machas here, if you dont have better things to do, go and apply the CEO position and see what you can do about it. barking here doesnt go anywhre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Sure..wish can be the CEO of Potong and fix things. unfortunately dont have the connection, also not the right ethnicity and etc.

• truely malaysian on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Proton used to be making 200,000 car 10 years ago, their market shares started to dip after 2003 and by 2006 Perodua has over took Proton. Now, Proton is struggling with 120-130,000 cars per annum. Stop blaming the rakyat, the rakyat will choose what is better for themselves. A car or cars (as nowadays most household has more than 2 cars)are the most expensive investment (not like property in which the value doesn’t drops every year). Over 25 years, Proton cars were poor quality, ill-equipped and sold as cheaper car than competitors, but the selling price is still above world market price. Models were never improved and never carry forward (ya they retains the Saga name but there is nothing you can link to the original Saga). Some model came up to cannibalize their own model, some just to put up a fight against Perodua. Each model did not go through improvement and never develop loyal followers, don’t even bother to talk about to grow with the followers. Not so long ago, driving a Wira or Waja means you are there, an executive or above and Proton became arrogant and started to slack behind. In a few years time, Proton is not the favorite the C and losing the B segment too. By the time they came up with a new C- segment car to compete with another imaginary RM120k competitor, others are doing leap and bound, way ahead of Proton.

How can Proton compete in the world market if they already lost in their home turf?

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 24, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Guess why Proton sales dipped in 2003?

I had old protons before. They were good until 1997. After which, they have been producing garbage….at least till the recent Preve/Suprima.

My Wife’s 2001 Wira 1.5A AB was a basket case, just past 100K when we sold it in 2010 after we got fed up with it..was parked under the porch most of the time. Interior trim falling apart, interior fabrics that don’t last. Plastic trim that fades and cracks, squeaks and rattles all over the place, power window issues, gearbox replaced, stereo head unit failed, brakes that don’t work properly, Knocks like hell running RON95.

And this is a lightly used small town car.

The nightmare continues to the equally basket case Waja. How to continue to support proton?

• truely malaysian on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Hello friend, so sorry to hear about your Waja, your experience is the same with many other fellow Rakyat. Like I said, they already lost it in 2003, now they would like to try their last stroke of luck with Rakyat, to most of us, Proton had missed the boat.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:20 pm

You don’t say proton.

But u am abit of concern to the definition of international market. North Korea is an international market, Iraq and Syria is an international market…….and these are countries that proton has so far penetrated to(yes North Korea as well) . Do be specific on what country you tend to penetrate, I do suggest Canada or South America first, to warm the feeling before moving onto the heart of countries like US or Europe

.And as of on par with South Korean or Japan, Bold words, but sorry it’s something I can’t believe. Why on par with Japan and South Korea, it’s like a primary school kid saying he want to run faster than Usain Bolt, aim lower first proton, it took Toyota 60 years and the Korean 40 years to get where they are today( I do like to remind that proton is already 30). As if now proton dosent have the market perception to win the hearts of people in Malaysia, much less America and don’t get started on Europe. Emulate smaller less mass produced car like Skoda or Seat or Subaru or Suzuki or even the now deceased Saab, these are non-luxury manufecturers operating at a much smaller scale than the mammoth thy is Toyota and Hyundai-Kia.

But before all this, start with Malaysia. You any win even in a playing field shifted to your favor much less a blood thirsty balance one of Europe or North America.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Totally agree with your opinion. Don’t forget Proton also tried to penetrate the land down under with no effect. Like the current Preve and Suprima S not getting any Aussies to the showroom, Proton should consider doing well domestic before exporting so called ‘global cars’. How to get foreigners to have confidence in Proton when even the locals have bad perception of the brand?

• From Dr.M to top management to senior exec to junior exec to all the labours…..use any of Proton car for your daily use……..and one year later please comment sincerely about your product especially on reliability, quality, refinement and how many times you all go to SC to fix things……then you know what the mass market feel

• speedster on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Did my time in Proton for 5 years, worked on a few projects, tasted success and failures in equal measure. Proton is Malaysia in a microcosm. It is a Malaysian institution. Say what you may, you are really describing yourselves here.

Oh yeah about Tun M. He’s equally loved and despised in the company. Loved because he started it all. Hated because he was and is all concerned about bringing his useless cronies doing equally useless projects. Where’s Fraser Nash EV now? What happened to the money? What happened to the green tech department? All smokescreen only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • donadoni on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Dr. M just too malu to admit that his brainchild is just a worthless junk. whenever comment on proton always find this find that. 10 years later? nothing changed.

• hahaha on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:57 pm

how can proton succeed at international level if they cant even fix the “minor flaws” like power window failure huh?

• “on par with South Korean and Japanese car manufacturers”….Look who’s talking!!!
    Drink some bleach & think clearly my dear all cronies!!!!

• pondan on Jun 23, 2014 at 6:12 pm

compete with chinese car maker first lah before even thinking of korean not to mention japaneses.

still talking cxxk.

• noman on Jun 23, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Proton can penetrate the international market like hyundai or kia by producing good, value for money cars like the korean did. Listen and open to critics. Let the international journalist review your cars and listen to their critics. The korean gets bad review on each of their cars initally, but now, they are on par with other competitors.

• Hi Dr M, Proton sales is no 2 in the nation. So, what do you afraid of?

• sengmineng on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Why dont we just keep quite .we dont comment anything regarding proton in the furture.whenever theres new regarding proton.we just dont comment coz its a waste of time

• Proton Basher on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:10 am

Sebab ramai sangat orang dan pemilik potong tak puas hati nak lepas geram… including me.

• kereta kompak on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:36 am

I don’t think all the bashers here are using Proton cars anyway. they could be doing that because their own interests…Maybe Proton’s rivals, maybe someone with political interest…or with the feelings of vengeance…

Let’s watch the same comment arise from the basher while eating nasi lemak in front of the monitor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Aero (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Just sell the new Protons in countries that ‘look up’ to Malaysia FIRST. The developed markets in Europe can wait.

Almost all the countries in the Middle East have friendly relations with us. Some of them have big populations, like Iran, Egypt and Turkey. Proton should set up a CKD plant in one of these countries to benefit from tax exemptions. Proton has done it before in Iran. The Gen-2, Wira and Savvy were once assembled in Iran. So why not the Prevé, Suprima S and upcoming P2-30A too ?

Of course, all of these require a lot of investment. And for a company that has not seen solid profits for many years, I can understand why Proton hasn’t done it yet.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:26 pm

We are selling cars to North Lorea, Egypt, Syria(Saga BLM makes rather good remote-IED thou), Iraq ,Iran and Turkey(not much sure on the latter). But as far as I recalled the sales isn’t marvelous. The CKD plant for Proton in Iran stopped CKDin Protons due to “poor responds” and the plant that Proton used to CKD in Iran has since move on to other makes.Currently the only foreign CKD Proton runs is Youngman in China, not much stories I have heard from that. True it requires alot of investment…..something I believe Proton should have done years earlier.

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:29 pm

One thing that Dr M and P1 never fail us is….never failed get people negative remarks and make up our day … have fun…

• nighttrain on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:44 pm

G is hinting that they will stop supporting P1. It’s up to P1 to improve and up to the rakyat to support P1 rfom now on. For me, once they produce actual global quality cars, I support lah..

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Yep.. bingo.. it’s a hint.. the first hint.. sold to Drb.. now this. They can’t rely on protection forever. Gov still give face.. as I think gov still ve executive share inside. There must be a T&C before the handover. . To be more secure they appointed Tun M.. but I don’t think can help much.. it just business.

Just wait.. good stuffs will come..

International pressures…

• Albert lee on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:36 pm

My taxi driver friend took delivery of a Proton Persona before the botak SPAD chairman forced other taxi drivers to opt for the Exora.
    The first week itself,there was a sensor malfunction that only the bigger Proton branch workshops could fix.
    He found out later that his batch was from a reject batch meant for the Indonesian export market.Dont talk about exporting to Korea or Bangladesh or India.Even Indons reject Protong.

• samlok on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Proton increase ur car price pls! it is GDF CHEAP! c segment suprima s with Turbocharger is on par with BMW 1 series. Place it between 180K – 250K. Then everyone will admire and rush to buy it.

• Lolol on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Everyone knows your mum is a woman!…

Speaking of the obvious, gawd……

• So Sorry Proton on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Let us see. Who has Pagani Zonda? Who has a Porsche? Who drives or is driven in a Cheyene? Hmmm… Why don’t they sell those cars and drive Wira or Proton models since it is the best car in the world..hmmm

Why ask rakyat to buy Proton and support. When the children of those who started it don’t? hmmmm..it is easy to critize. But leaders should lead by example.

• Car_fan on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:02 am

Tun, don’t take our word for it. Just check the JD Power survey for faults per car.

• Proton Basher on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:06 am

Don’t talk! Do it with action to prove. Ask all your top management to change their personal car and drive it day in day out! Mamak gutty ask your sons to dumb their Bugatti and Porsche and drive Proton day in day out! You idiot yourself drive Proton day in day out then only talk! You go to eat your own shit!

• NaiveMalaysian on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:05 am

U must be kidding me… The MP said exaggerating minor issue? My first car when I started working was a Proton Waja. Despite how proud I am of Our Malaysian first built car (not those licensed stuffs)… U can imagine how I felt when my power windows wouldn’t roll up after the toll and being subjected to a downpour!!! Do u know I’m risking my life due to some incompetent crony supplier supplying Proton with all those faulty power window mechanism and u said we are exaggerating!!!!! And when I used my hard earned money to buy this national pride, can u imagine how I feel when the gal I wanted to date opened my passenger car door and the handle breaks!!!! :-S

I’m speechless but never exaggerating!

• Kiddo on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:06 am

U must be kidding me… The MP said exaggerating minor issue? My first car when I started working was a Proton Waja. Despite how proud I am of Our Malaysian first built car (not those licensed stuffs)… U can imagine how I felt when my power windows wouldn’t roll up after the toll and being subjected to a downpour!!! Do u know I’m risking my life due to some incompetent crony supplier supplying Proton with all those faulty power window mechanism and u said we are exaggerating!!!!! And when I used my hard earned money to buy this national pride, can u imagine how I feel when the gal I wanted to date opened my passenger car door and the handle breaks!!!! :-S I’m speechless but never exaggerating!

• Kiddo on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:09 am

Which car manufacturer will give u Live warranty on power window? U guess it! Our very own. And yes… Although working power window is a given thing when u buy a car… But it’s ok. We are a malaysian. Everything Boleh!

• tanderketq on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:18 am

Proton is trying their very best to improve but you can’t satisfy everybody ..dohhh…

• Find way? Dangerous statement. That includes selling it dirt cheap at the cost of forcing Malaysians to buy it more expensive than foreign brands currently & more expensive foreign brands.

• sipaigong on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:43 am

Between Proton and Perodua, they control about 70% of the car market. Does not this show Malaysian are supporting National Cars. Proton drop because Perodua did much better so don’t blame others if Proton don’t have the quality and models to match.

• Over promise, under deliver….. as usual.

• ECOCAR on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:12 am

STOP all the talking, lets the product speak for itself. FULLSTOP.

• along on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Just dont buy and boycott any new cars, until price came down….

When the buying stop, the killing can too…

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Fren.. im doing it now.. stick to my current cars..

But they said I ve no money. .

Hahaha. . Lawak..

• breeze on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:13 pm

They cheating and fooling Malaysian many years. Shame of nation. Burden of nation. Corruption everywhere in Malaysia. PutraJaya was built for dog shit in there. Never take responbility on the issue of MH370. They will pay for it. Proton just qualified for built wheelchair only not car.

• frank c on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Proton should enter the right market for a start… India ? Nissan is going in with Datsun. Why not our next gen Saga go in and take a dig at the market!!!
    Surely Proton will need to find a new market to build up volume and slowly find it’s way back in getting peoples confidence. going UK, Europe and Aussie while your quality level is not there only makes future marketing more difficult.
    In fact people still give much improved Hyundai a second guess compared to Japanese and German made cars, even though Korean have improved in quality..

• Proton will never grow with Dr M and his cronies. Enough said!!

• kawasai on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:05 pm

You dun have enough money, if got sure you dun talk kok barking here. Do you think anyone would kind enough to give you money?

Go and work harder la. Wasting time condemning proton during working hours is enough to show that most proton bashers are lazy, unproductive, incompetent and LOSERS!

• My Dear proton boot licker.
      Bashers like us can bash anyway,anytime we like.,
      Since bashing Proton in this blog is our national passtime.
      Who cares what Proton boot licker think anyway!!!!

• Steve Kok on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Close shop lah.
    This is an burden to rakyat and country.
    Useless company.

• Must find a way? Make better cars!!! Don’t just lobby your way into a market.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:55 pm

First overhaul the management then the lower ground staffs,Second learn from Lotus or Honda about engine refinement..Third basic cars like Saga,Persona should be competitive price from 30-42k the most with of course latest gadgets like rev cam/dvd etc..Stop buying punch gearbox that only limit to 215nm when Campro turbo is potential to have at least 225nm on tap..Hire european or Japanese Quality managers..Sack Dr Eppal cause he aint doin his job