Proton Saga third-gen to be ready next year – Mahathir

Proton_Saga_SV_0021

Newly-appointed Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has revealed that the next-generation Proton Saga will be unveiled in about a year’s time. According to a report by Berita Harian, the former prime minister said that the company is rushing to get the its new “Proton Saga 3” model out as soon as possible.

“To produce a new model usually takes about three years. However, I am trying to accelerate the process and we might be able to produce the Saga 3 in just over a year,” he told the publication.

Presumably based on the upcoming P2-30A Global Small Car, Proton’s new entry to the B-segment sedan market will apparently make great strides in terms of design and quality, and will portray Proton as a manufacturer of high-quality cars instead of focusing on getting the lowest price possible.

“I want to see Proton becoming a manufacturer of quality cars, rather than a company that builds cheap cars,” said Mahathir. “We want to produce a car that is very different than what we have now, with better quality. The current Saga has to be replaced.”

Proton_Perdana_Accord_ 003

Mahathir also spoke about the future of the new Proton Perdana, which will make its mass market debut next year. He said that while the car will be based on the eighth-generation Honda Accord like the government version currently in use, it will feature much greater differentiation, possibly even receiving revised engines (the government Perdana gets the Accord’s 2.0 and 2.4 litre engines).

“We may use the same Honda engines and drivetrain as a base, but we will retune the engines,” said Mahathir. “Proton will produce a Perdana that will be completely different from the Honda Accord, so much so that you will not be able to recognise them. The model currently used by the government is basically a rebadged model, and we will not be producing rebadged cars in the future.”

He added that in terms of the proposed strategic collaborations with foreign manufacturers, Proton is now looking at companies from other countries instead of just those from Japan, but has still not decided on which one. The national carmaker was previously reported to be working with Geely to expand its market in China, and might even build cars based on Geely’s designs.

What do you think the next Saga should be like? Should it stay a bargain sedan for low-income families, or should it chase new heights of design and quality in the segment, at the cost (quite literally in this case) of an increased price tag?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Veneno on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:18 am

good idea.. hopefully the ideas won’t be hangat2 taik ayam..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:54 am

If they produce top quality cars and sell it for the same price as the Japs or the Koreans, Malaysians still won’t bite it, unless Proton can achieve the sales figures of hundred of thousands overseas and start to win awards overseas, the ‘Jaguh Kampung’ award by local judges just won’t do.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 11
      • Close Proton Down on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Mahathir and Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton and Mahathir, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts.

That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is soled to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from Brothers for RM10. This also has not been sorted out. No point Proton itro new models when there are so many skeletons in its closet. Sort the skeletons out first, otherwise, Proton cannot make money and inferior parts will wear and tear fast compromising quality of Proton cars.

Now Mahathir is in Proton, he will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives. Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

In the meantime, we Malaysians will suffer another 30 years with very high cars prices and very high car loans. The government also makes sure their GLC and government banks also get a free ride from the rakyat. Because cars are so expensive, every single Malaysian is forced to take 9 year loans from the banks to buy a car. And most banks are GLC or Government owned. All get a free ride. Ever wondered why only Proton gets high interest rates compared to other car brands? Isn’t Proton conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat?

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Few months ago, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD

Because of Mahathir and Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 272 Thumb down 80
        • old dog on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:41 pm

one small part missing..Who is in charge of Miti? or ya, like father like son..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:28 am

List price in America doesn’t include any tax, since it depends on the state and even town how much you will have to pay.

Also you forgot AP, which is also very bad for Malaysians.

• driver on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:19 am

You did admit that Proton is a good concept, but the problem lies to the cronyism. Taking into account the PRESENT situation (you can’t change history, damage has been done), wouldn’t it better to maintain Proton, but fix the management. Get rid of gomen linked parties.. and yes, that includes DRB.

• antar on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:47 am

Work harder! easy to blame someone else for your own incompetency and failed live.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Mr nobody on Aug 08, 2015 at 9:17 pm

When Malaysian had a financial problem ,proton is the best car to buy , on that time … Toyota vios is quite expensive if you compare with proton with a same spec ……

• shame_Loo on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Just another piece of junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
      • Same L0r on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:14 pm

So many years ago, someone had the vision Proton will be among world best car maker. And Proton had to do sales carnival under coconut tree.

Some years ago, someone think 6 airbags can help to boost the sale of Preve/Suprima S. And most who can afford Preve/Suprima S actually go for Toyota.

A few years ago, Proton announce the hybrid will be ready in 2012. And Hari Raya 2014 is coming, no hybrid is seen. (But if you consider “poor build quality” and “close-to-zero resale value” as hybrid, you have a lot on the roads.)

Just now, Dr M announce the rebadged Accord will use Proton engine instead, and he think people will buy it.

From the past till now, so many empty talks.

It is the typical Proton lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok!

Do you feel syok now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 28
    • kzm fanboy on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:15 pm

If Proton GSC new Saga sedan can give fuel economy 30KM/Liter, I’ll walk from Shah Alam to Tg Malim wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 26
      • Vader (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Aiyoh, you set the target so high as 30km/liter, of course you dare to wear tiger-stripes.
        If you can change the 30km/liter to 15km/liter, then it will be more interesting!!!
        Hehehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0r on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Yea, their car fuel consumption can goes up to 30L/km (30 liters per km). The engineer should be wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam intead!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • base3 on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:16 pm

next year? GSC not even launch. i bet saga 3 will be based on GSC, just like saga blm/flx based on savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • driver on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:21 am

i reckon so, and nothing wrong to have it based on GCC provided that the quality is not compromised.

• Vader (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Potong may launched potong Emas, first global car by 2012.
      Potong may launched hybrid car end of 2014.
      Potong may launched full EV end of 2015.
      Potong may launched new saga next year.
      Potong may launched new perdana next year which even better than 8ty generation accord.

Everyone can talk!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 13
    • OMG…Talk easy, action susah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • AntiSocial on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:13 pm

I hope that “I am trying to accelerate…” statement is not mean taking shortcut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • kemal on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Isnt it obvious? That is exactly what they gonna do next. Taking shortcut. Eventually proton will suffer the same fate as Saab, copy here, copy there, then it went bankrup bcoz losing money at research.

• Bravo!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Aero Macai on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Maybe Dr Mahathir knew that Perodua Sedan car will coming soon next year, so must pressure Proton to make new Saga as soonest too!!!

Perodua Sedan vs new Saga….EPIC BATTLE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • Proton and Perodua at different league. Now Proton’s real rivals are Chinese brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • What the ..... on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:19 am

Why can’t Dr M just retire??

Look just admit that Proton is failing it’s mission so far in this 20 over years, so just do the entire nation a favour by SHUTTING IT DOWN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 65
    • mamamia on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:24 pm

change your mentality please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 64
    • Anti-Establishment on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:37 pm

The same can be said for Malaysian independence – after 57 years we’re still dependent on foreigners & foreign made items to get anywhere – not to mention not being progressive enough (Third World mentality much?)

Just do the entire world a favour by renouncing our independence and return to be a British colony once again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • driver on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:27 am

exactly my thought. we can’t change history. instead, admit the mistake, take responsibility and fix it. get rid of those cronies in proton vendors. give the right person to lead with full power and no interference.

• Rebadged Cars on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:20 am

“We will rebadge the new Honda City as the New Proton Saga but we will put some effort to differentiate the Saga from the City.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 20
    • fast5 on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:51 pm

And selling price same with current proton saga it will help build market share and proton standard… BUT with TunM in-charge it will never happen!!!
      He’s famous on talking BIG… end result (current 30 years old proton)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • ruffstuff on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:22 am

So, they resume the Saga R development back on track. I guess they heard that Perodua is really determined to release their first B segment sedan next year. Before this, the focus on Preve hybrid and Perdana R. I don’t think perdana will be release on next year like Tun M said.

• pakciks & makciks would be so proud of it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • kami (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:31 am

next saga take from gsc la..just put proper bonnet. i think proton need a new engine..campro cps/cfe just not good enough.

however..main issue is parts QUALITY. design wise,proton ok already..chassis good,safety features great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:41 pm

bonnet? what u mean proper bonnet – boot is it? pls improve ur knowledge. go find a dictionary and find out what bonnet actually is (or hood as american says it)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • theanswer on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:33 am

the perdana stuff is a good news. no rebadge but still keep the cost lower by using proven tech.

• guest on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:37 am

mahahir memg bodoh dn bahalul n tolol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 97
    • prove that u re not that stupid first

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • x-city on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:37 pm

But he is still better than you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
    • AntiSocial on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Actually he is very smart, he just always assume rakyat is stupid and give many insane comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • AVH (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:40 am

“To produce a new model usually takes about three years. However, I am trying to accelerate the process ”

Oh Bless the quality.
    But anything better than the leaking roof of the one I sat is a welcome improvement.

Its funny how he forgot to mention the less-important models what I call leakage models….The Persona and the Satria. There is no justified reason for them to be there. Yes the Satria serves as the hot hatch of the lot, but you’re stressing an already old powerplant and Chassis to its limit. We all always complain Toyota Vios uses old engine and chassis, The Satria (2006-now) is almost the same, and given that it has no significant facelift or redesign, makes it even older.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Pengguna Bijak on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Proton:
      “I hope people make the rational decision [when buying their cars], because safety for the family is most important, and that should never be compromised,”

Pengguna Bijak:
      Avoid Proton is always rational thing to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 36
    • alldisc on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:46 pm

dont forget the 1st gen saga held on for 20 years (1985 orion, magma, megavalve, iswara, lmss, 2008 lmst). the same goes to wira (1993-2007)… 14 yrs of showroom life.

• “Proton will produce a Perdana that will be completely different from the Honda Accord, so much so that you will not be able to recognise them’

u meant slap on some bodykit to differentiate? -.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
  • woot woot on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:40 am

hate to say this. but this fella got good vision for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Beng King on Jun 23, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Its always easy to have a vision of something. But when your finally vision materialized then you will be judged. Now its all talk only, but that has been the case for awhile now.

• driver on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:33 am

yeah.. but he has a soft heart towards “melayu” which sometimes not a good thing to that melayu themselves. please tun, if u read this, get rid of those underperfoming vendors even though they’re malays. go find others. only this can bring about the real quality to proton, as well as serving a good lesson to those malays.

• common sensor on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:48 am

1 year is possible only with 2 conditions; change of top hat only or rebadge. A full model change is impossible .. so which is more likely Sir?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:25 pm

used GCC platform la..GCC gonna launch this yr.. how hard to add “S” to hatch car.

• “I want to see Proton becoming a manufacturer of quality cars, rather than a company that builds cheap cars”
    In other words, i want to jack the price up to foreign car price, and still supply awful and disgusting interior, because thats how i can take more money from you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 21
  • a year? why take so long? the new proton perdana also take 1 month only wat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • passerby00 on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:51 am

good idea; cheap and cheerful should be the new GSC MINI version as well as P2. we shall see whether the Saga III is what is being promoted as. it’s time Proton get rid of Persona/Gen2 – they are >10 years old on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • taikucing on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:53 am

matkuti, sudah mati pucuk lgi boleh bikin apa lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
  • bukapintubayartol on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:53 am

Wait…. Does this mean until mahathir came along, proton hasn’t even started work on the next saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:29 pm

he say accelerate the process

• McLaren01 on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:46 pm

“To produce a new model usually takes about three years. However, I am trying to accelerate the process and we might be able to produce the Saga 3 in just over a year,”
        “next-generation Proton Saga will be unveiled in about a year’s time”

So with above statement, they may only start few months ago??? isn’t they suppose work on next plan after one product launch.. It’s show how slow they working and they expect to be world class company… dream on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • driver on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:37 am

how did you imply that they only started ‘few months ago’?

• McLaren01 on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:52 pm

He said ” will accelerate the process to 1 year and he also mention will have new model next Year. Either they started development or not even started. I used word “maybe” as I only assume.

• Low Budget on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:46 pm

So the grand old man is catalyst that speed up chemical reaction? Wow Proton only need grand daddy.

• mim (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:13 pm

If I’m not mistaken, work on third gen Saga already started since GSC/GCC platform complete la.. there is a powerpoint slide abt it somewhere in internet. For now RnD is focused more on GSC/GCC

Should not take long because it’s just a stretched GSC/GCC.. Just like BLM, it’s a stretched Savvy.

• Please sell the new Perdana below RM100k… Oppsss, i forgot that Proton won’t sell cheap car anymore. Are we expecting new Perdana costs as much as Camry? God bless us!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:49 pm

We are already receiving God’s blessing. Proton must pray very hard to get God’s blessing for expensive new models.

• Denaihati on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:10 pm

i think saga should remain as budget car, but much improvement in many aspects such fuel efficiency, sound proof. hope new impressive saga will be produce.

• Polo Saga on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Ya ya ya, use more tax payers’ monies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • mmaker on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:12 pm

People will happy to know that new saga will come out soon. But we were worried if the new saga has ‘more quality’ so it will be a bit more expensive. If proton getting more expensive it will drag other cars to up their prices too.

• Jeffrey Chew on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Shame on the Proton CEO, now should be hiding some where else… Although I have doubt on some policy of Tun Mahatir did on the past, I like his leadership style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Tkhengong on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:14 pm

In my opinion, the third generation will still be another couple of generations behind the Koreans in technology and design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • heybadigol on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Developing cars is a continous process. When you complete the current gen, the very next day you start working on the next gen. Judging by how carmakers have a new gen every 5 years, that means, the R&D for full model change is 5 years, not 3 years that Dr. M claims. And for Proton to target making a new car in just 1 year is a whole load of BS. Unless its rebadged, or using an existing platform with carried over engine/transmission. But even considering the shared platform, one year is still too short. Remember, you still need to do actual road tests, not just simulation in a lab using computers.

• common sensor on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:00 pm

You are absolutely right. Some manufacturer could actually do it in 3 years but skip most of the prototype stage migrating from physical confirmation to only through simulation.

• Vios comes to mind.

• iskhalifah on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:23 pm

No news on the release of facelifted Preve with new better-built interior & digital auto aircon, and perhaps revised transmission & CFE+???

With the existing interior fit-finish, plastics, the cheap-looking manual aircon, whining CVT & inefficient CFE, no way the Preve is going to sell globally.

• alldisc on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:11 pm

yes, lets seee whether proton has realised that a mid life facelift comes in between 2 to 2 and a half years.

meaning we should expect a preve facelift somtime late this year or first half of 2015.

• Ray (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Proton’s first misstep was launching the Prevé. I was actually quite excited when it first came out, labelled as a global model and all of us had pretty high expectations on it. However, poor engineering and build quality issues were still present as in previous Protons, the source of it’s poor sales figures. The Suprima didn’t do much help either.

Proton needs to do some serious homework to improve in all its weaknesses, and hence change public perceptions on the brand name. A new Saga could be a good starting point for them, as it’s sort of a People’s Car over here in Malaysia. Here’s my suggestion: how about ignoring the “protection policies” (I don’t know what it’s labelled as) and put foreign B segments in a similar price bracket as the Saga. This will create a fair competition for both Proton and local distributors (UMW, I’m looking at you) to throw in more value in their models for better sales figures. Proton will also then be stressed more to compete with it’s Japanese models and hence, do some serious homework to make similarly benchmarked models.

Plus point: I actually think that some of Dr M’s suggestions are good, I mean fairly speaking. It’s just that most of them are either totally impossible to run or poorly executed by the Proton team. Anyway, go for the best Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:14 pm

the preve is 2 yrs old now, but has yet to enter UK/european market – one of the most competitive market in the world.

what can be the excuse then? preve is proton global car, right?

• BravoToprotong on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Bravo!!!!!! When protong ups their prices, lower income pipul cannot afford cars at all. Then us rich pipul can drive around with less traffic jams, and laugh at those that cannot afford cars. I can’t wait!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Jules on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:34 pm

If serious, the company needs a reboot. Concentrate on the lower market with quality. Once strong… Then only go for higher end segment . If cannot … Continue rebadge on the higher segment . The name Proton is already gone to go for higher end market.

• Green on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Seeing the Awesome Design of PRoton GSC that leaked online since last week, Fantastic!

I think they can design World Class D-segment this time. With HOnda Engine at Low RM100k range. It can be succcessful.

PRovided they can Extend the use of the Honda Engine in Proton-D. I hope PRoton GSC/GCC come with Honda Brio’s engine.

being a Global small car, Fuel Consumption is utmost important.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:45 pm

As a curent owner,please provide a good quality rattler free interior,i dont mind shitty design or wat….
    Mechanically its robust actually bt atleast add abit if refinment…respectable fit n finish …and interior that will not rattle in 6mnths time…..ppl at this price range dont give a rat about handling trust me,u keep that in ur higher models,..
    N since im dreaming,get rid of da cvt….its horrible…..

• Asrul on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Where is Proton Saga Hybrid that the company promise this year??? Is all right I just get perodua then…

• NIEKO on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:34 pm

actually when Proton showed us the Electric Saga back in 2010.it was served as a Future planning by Proton,They only used The saga because at that time the saga was about 2 1/2 years old so the perfect candidate for a hybrid/Electric power plant ….
      FYI if iam not mistaken Proton does have a Hybrid car but its not the saga but The Exora (of all Cars)I do have some details but some are from Proton X RND colleague but now a seals executive at a proton Showroom ….anyway according to him the Proton Exora Hybrid features a 2.2liter Electric/Petrol power plant with 155hp(petrol engine)86hp(electric Engine) hum ok I know it sounds crazy but I have learned to always give proton the benefit of the doubt(PROTON’S RECENT SAFETY ALLOCADS)…..

Come to think of it I have seen a Exora that’s been covered up with a few steel panels, weird rims and it didn’t sound like an exora at all …..Uhhh very Mysterious

Wait a minute proton’s electric engine produces 85bhps wow ,hey I got it what if Proton just dump this engine in the next generation saga ,what do you guys think…….

• start-a-fight on Jun 23, 2014 at 12:58 pm

wonder why people tie the quality to time taken to develop a model?

wonder if other model that took 3 years to develop (foreign car maker) still have to do recall because of manufacturing flaws and never design flaw..

• Other model not sure. But 1 thing for sure is Proton still cannot get power windows right after 30 years development.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Refer to last paragraph, why not increased quality at lower price????????

• Proton Kangkung Recipe on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:37 pm

“To produce a new model usually takes about three years. However, I am trying to accelerate the process and we might be able to produce the Saga 3 in just over a year,” he told the publication.

Can you imagine, even with a full 3 years of R&D to produce a new car there are so much of quality & reliability issues and now they want to accelerate the new car to launch in over a year…..going to come out half-baked and even worst quality their new cars are going to be.

Stop acting dumb and progress properly and with the right skillsets of people needed to get the job done rightly !! The new saga is going to be a total kangkung job & the perdana re-badge, is going to be even worst off with so call proton re-tune Honda engines, they cannot even understand their own campro engine and they wanna re-tune Honda I-vtec engines …haha WHAT A JOKE…EPIC FAILURE AGAIN AND AGIAN !!! Senile old man has lost it and confirm driving protong to its grave which is a good thing for all of us !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • mim (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Don’t be an idiot la.. Development can be short because they could just slap a trunk onto GSC/GCC. Like what they did on Savvy chassis to become BLM.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:53 pm

I think Dr. Mamak only meant that with rebadging. I think his not to rebadge comment only applies to the badge itself. a “facelift and bodykit” might not be a rebadge to him. After all, new cars are unibody, with the body itself a intergral component in the cars safety performance.

You can’t just engineer a body and slap it on a “platform” like you can with a pickup.

If the collective might of something like Toyota and Honda (Mercedes takes even longer) to develop new models, it does not bode well for this Mamak to shortcut it.

Oh boy.

Maybe its his own syiok sendiry comment..and proton has no way to get it done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Jaybond on Jun 23, 2014 at 1:45 pm

You can call the next Saga as a world-class people’s car provided that :

1) It received major interior quality upgrade (improvement), one simple example, upgrade the plastic quality to the same level of at least the current new Honda City & Vios.
    2) It’s got more contemporary exterior & interior design/styling.Avoid too-conservative or weird design.Proton Styling can hire me if they want to as I have some superb design sketches/concepts that I can show them.
    3) It’s powertrain efficiency is improved.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Good can scrap the current Saga.. like you did to Waja, Tiara, Savvy etc.. padan muka proton fan. .

Ok.. kasi cepat2 Tun.. Saga skrg kasi scrap. Kasi bungkus. Saya sokong Tun.. haha

Tgk current Saga ada RV lg tak… berita dah keluar.. xde org nak kot…

• Protong Saga 3 build for 3 miles on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:26 pm

OH GOSH !!! WHAT A DISASTER for protong.
    In a year’s time, the will be coming out with the new saga 3 but I can bet the quality will be worst off, the rattling noise will be unstoppable, the power window will not open at all and the car will drink more fuel than the current model thanks to the brilliance of protong team re-working the campro engine, GST will be included for the car in hidden areas and the car price will rocket up and they will say its the best car they have come up with …Confirm sage 3 will run for 3 miles before going bust at the side of the road coz that’s what the old man has mention their next car will be in his earlier statements !!!

Even the name of the car is called Saga 3 already coz it’s only to run for 3 miles before you know what !!!….LOL

Kudos Old man for keeping to your words and RIP protong !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • with P1 resources and local market, how much it is afford to produce new model and how much this market can accept the volume. The vehicle / population almost 2 and the new vehicle registration almost reaching the peak…just wonder how long this can be last and Malaysian gives full support to them but yet there are still can’t make themselves global present…

• You want to sell expensive cars ka, you want to sell cheap cars at expensive price ka, go ahead. In fact you can sell whatever junk you want. No one giving a damn.
    Just don’t distort the market price of other brands.

• This is how typical day in Proton.
    1. Organise a meeting with HOD.
    2. Wait 1/2 hour for the HOD to arrive.
    3. Meeting accompanied with tea & coffee.
    4. Half way through the meeting before conclusion is achieved, the HOD will say “Sorry ar, I got another meeting. You all go ahead”.
    5. Wasted everybody’s time.

Sound familiar Proton?

• Shrawan on Jun 23, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I am from India, and I wish to see Dr. Mohamed, the architect of modern Malaysia that the world has come to enjoy for business and pleasure, turnaround Proton and make it a global car brand. Wish you all the best with the P2-30A and the new Saga!

• Protonist on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Don’t just talkock. Show your support by buying one of our great awesome car!! I am sure Dr M won’t let you down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • iCare on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Tata Nano sucks.

• Well done! Proton Saga facelift reborn again! The Saga in the beginning did not really get a brand new looks, just facelift and facelift and facelift.

• NIEKO on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:47 pm

I think what Tun M meant was that there will be a totally new Saga in the next 1 1/2 years ie maybe 1year and 4 mounths like the last second generation Saga

Hum the only car thet has received a hold lot more facelifts is the Perodua Myvi ie Myvi, myvi extreme , myvi s series and a myvi exclusively for all female buyers…….

Cheers Mate…..

• Pukimahathir on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Rebadging Honda Accords and retuning the engine? LOL! Using people’s old shoe to make your own car.. Perdana won’t use 2.0 or 2.4 already! It would be Accordana 1.6CFE turbo or the 2.0V6 old school engine that was used by previous Perdana. Good Marketing! Congrats Dr. M! -.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • kereta kompak on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:20 am

i’m so pity of u, he talked about future where u talked about the past. See where u are standing now?? Look around and see what is your achievement so far? I believe, you have NOTHING contribution to our country. So don’t be bad mouthing here!!

• NIEKO on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:52 pm

oh so you still think Proton only has 3 engines is it…..ha ha so you have already forgotten about the seven engine patents that were acquired by Proton from PETRONAS ……..

please mr pukimahathir learn more

• Albert Lee on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:26 pm

By the time this new generation Saga is launched,many banks would have withdrawn credit facilities or even big time Ah Long money lenders are after protong.Or they are on the verge of insolvency.
    Which company can afford to lose rm120 juta quarterly and not feel the desperation and pinch?
    Maybe for MMC,Protong is a rich man’s toy or they are just enjoying compulsory national service.

• Another episode of cursing Proton ..again..well done

• Aero (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:10 pm

It is quite clear with the recent leaked photos of the P2-30A that Proton is moving upmarket. It has leather seats, front parking sensors, DRLs and a whole host of safety equipment… all in a car which is smaller than a Vios. Even the current Prevé doesn’t get all of those, and it’s a much bigger car. The P2-30A is pretty much on the same level as the Kia Picanto or Hyundai i10… pseudo-luxury in terms of marketing. I have a strong feeling that the P2-30A will be well received, because price and price alone shouldn’t make or break any car. If the new Saga and P2-30A cost above RM50k (but below RM70k), I’m willing to accept the price hikes, provided that the whole package is worthwhile… meaning, the car should be well-designed, well-equipped, well-built and well-marketed. The Suprima S is the first Proton to attempt this formula, but unfortunately, at RM75k, many Malaysians would much rather buy a Almera, or baseline Vios or City. In reality, the Suprima is still an all round better car, any professional automotive journalist will agree. If only the Suprima was more refined and better built….. If Proton can somehow keep build quality high with the P2-30A by means of better quality materials and vendors, then it would be a much better car all around.

• In this market the reality is Proton can’t command a higher price due to its bad perception. Among banks it is a well known thing that Proton client profile are categorised as having more risk for being delinquent. As such, the interest rate is higher and the approval process is tighter. Higher car prices simply does not help Proton’s cause. The old saying is still true – there is no short cut to success.

• Jinyiwei on Jun 24, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Aiya.. y so many if.. if.. if..

Only if the cow comes home.. lagi better loh..

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 23, 2014 at 8:35 pm

New accord 138k… how much the rebadge Accord Perdana going to price? MYR 100k? Beside government. . How else will buy? Next thing Dr M can do is, ask Honda to increase their accord selling price to 150k!

• Perodua will be very happy when saw this news.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 23, 2014 at 9:28 pm

I still think the Accordana looks like an overgrown Saga from the front. Must be the grille.

Anyway, not sure if the Proton Saga going upmarket is such a good idea considering it’s Proton’s volume seller. If that becomes more expensive, more people might be unable to afford it and opt for Perodua cars, instead. So, if this goes upmarket, the GSC needs to undercut the MyVi while providing better (insert everything here) in order to win people’s hard-earned money and trust and become the new MyVi.

• Mosama on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:44 pm

No confidence with proton anymore. Just squeezeeeee people who entitle for BR1M.

• i eat roti eat maggie mee, save up more money to buy a small foreign car also wont buy a plotong… plotong will never have a chance to dig my pocket..

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:35 am

Wait. Few weeks ago he said maybe rebadge Chinese cars. Then maybe rebadge Japanese cars. And now no more rebadge. Why does he keep changing what he says? Is he trying to imitate Angela Merkel?

• kereta kompak on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:15 am

that’s we called “hiding secret strategy”… i think he should not sharing anything to public, but u know, reporters…

• Nieko on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:48 pm

FYI the saga is actually a rival to the Toyota Vios/Almera/City/Chevy Sonic sedan/Ford Fiesta sedan so I thick there’s no problem if Proton wants to add more tech on the saga03 but provided the price does not go beyond Rm 45K, if that is the price than proton has a winner …and to my dear proton STOP WORTING ABOUT the myvi the hell with that stupid car remember it is not sold in any country but Malaysia and Indonesia (Rebadged as Dihatsu Bonn)….

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:59 pm

i still respect Tun M.. at least hormat lah dia as an uncle, older than us.. to Proton, where is the GSC? mana? mana?

• guys, pls don’t b rude..

• semuut on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:23 pm

From top to bottom all just keyboard worrior type. no input at all , bet…big mouth normally dono how to change engine oil and used spanner correctly. Reality..

• semuut on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:23 pm

From top to bottom all just keyboard worrior type. no input at all , bet…big mouth normally dono how to change engine oil and used spanner correctly. Reality..

• Frankor on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:12 am

Good idea to have Saga 3rd generation but it will be nice if it use Campro engines with CPS rather than IAFM and it will be even better if it was fited with turbo/cfe.

• I want SAGA 3rd generation to be like Preve or Suprima’s quality.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Beside more power and torque pls include keyless start and 4 airbags at least for e base model.
    Im quite dissapointed with outputs for the VVT engines.107hp/150nm for a 1.6 engine?Even the Honda City and Jazz 1.5 produce 118hp/145nm