Honda Malaysia recalls 2001-2003 Stream, 2002-2003 Jazz, 2003 City and 2003 Accord over airbag fault

honda-city-2003

Honda Malaysia has announced a recall on four of its models as part of a larger global recall of 2,033,000 Honda vehicles worldwide over a passenger airbag defect. The local models involved are the 2001-2003 Honda Stream, 2002-2003 Honda Jazz, 2003 Honda City and 2003 Honda Accord.

The issue is related to an earlier worldwide recall done last year by a number of manufacturers (including Toyota and Nissan locally) and concerns the same improperly manufactured propellant fitted to the front passenger airbag inflator module supplied by Japanese automotive parts manufacturer Takata Corp. In an accident, the inflator could rupture, which may prevent the airbag from deploying properly or pose a fire risk.

Honda Malaysia said in a brief statement that to date, there have been no accidents related to the recalled models in Malaysia. The exact number of units affected were not disclosed, but the company said it will be contacting the owners of the affected vehicles individually.

Honda is not the only manufacturer to have been affected by Takata’s faulty airbag inflator modules – Toyota, BMW, Chrysler, Ford, Nissan and Mazda are also recalling cars globally. To date, we have not received official statements from the local arms of the manufacturers involved, but will update you when we do.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• still waiting for proton to recall the proton perdana v6 gearbox failures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • and also the savvy amt gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • You wait long long lah…

• Anti-Establishment on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:53 pm

My friend’s still waiting for Honda to recall their faulty CVT on this generation City.

He’s changed the gearbox and yet even the new box failed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
        • WoW! Can’t beleive ur friend’s luck is worst than mine! I feel your friend bro.

Like i said Honda BS Malaysia is total BS! Lets all wait for Toyota and Nissan to come out their new and better features car so that Honda BS Malaysia can go bankrupt and their sales go back to their old City numbers..

Overrated total BS Honda Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
          • Same L0r on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:08 pm

One thing I agree with you finally is:
            Toyota still a better choice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • gearbox problems? hahahaa…… same like DSG?! whahahahaa…… Toyota is still the best no gearbox problem!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • my 2003 City sell off already loh.

• niterunner99 on Jun 24, 2014 at 1:48 pm

At least they’re willing to admit the fault & doing recalls for cars that are more than 10yrs old.
    I respect that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • Honda BS on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Is there any different, the previous owner that have accident and also cause by this issue, they wont know also. If they know now, how to claim now.
      How dare Honda Malaysia said no accident is due to this problem !
      Bullshit them!

• It’s easy to blame the car manufacturer but the fault actually lies with defective units from Takata Corp which is one of the biggest airbag supplier worldwide. Its going to affect many other car manufacturers not only Honda.
      It’s good that Honda, Nissan and Toyota has decided to do a recall. I think even GM was affected by airbag issues few months ago.

• FROZEN on Jun 24, 2014 at 1:54 pm

waa i didnt receive any call from honda!! how come? should i go to the s.c.? owner of Nov 2003 jazz here..

• mine is city 2003. i just call honda SC sri utama, sri rampai and he said there is no official announcement yet. and i have to wait for the their call. but….. i am the 2nd owner? how?

• gult79 on Jun 24, 2014 at 1:57 pm

What the hell???

• Izhar on Jun 24, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Safety first!

• HAHA!

BS HONDA MALAYSIA!

THANKS FOR GIVING ME ALL THE USELESS QUALITY CARS!

NO WONDER THE PREVIOUS GEN VIOS AND ALMERIA OUT SOLD U..

BS QUALITY CITY BS BS BS!! HOPE VIOS AND ALMERIA COMES OUT WITH BETTER FEATURES TO TEACH U HONDA CKD BS TO BE GOOD.

FURTHERMORE, PLS FIRE ALL UR SC SALES AND SERVICE WORKERS..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 46
    • slk3879 on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Instead of bashing non stop, why don’t you just share with us here what is wrong with your car?

You keep bashing like this then all readers will think that there is something wrong with you rather than the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • Go and check back previous comment, i already stated a few of my problems..

Pls open your eye not like that AVH Honda Fan d** b***ing nonstop supporting his dad’s Honda shop..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
        • Same L0r on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Most probably he didn’t even have a Honda before. It is so easy to pretend like angry owner.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Double standard comment

• I don’t have?

LoL.. Don’t be childish pls b****** I have 3 diff. gens and 3 diff. models of BS Honda and all are having a BS BQ..

The reason I m raging is because I don’t want to get a Honda but forced too because of its features and hoping its BQ and QC improve. (wanted to get Toyota or Nissan but their cars have BS features).

See see after getting the new City, Freaking BS BQ and QC plenty of problems useless BS Honda Malaysia..

No wonder la the old Vios kick ur sales.. And don’t need to say other brand.. Even the new slphy and Altis beat ur BS Civic. Teana demolished ur BS Accord..

Hidup Honda BS Malaysia. Hidup BS Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Acrix on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:57 am

If you hate Honda cars so much why did you buy 3 different Honda cars???
            Rattling dashboard = BS car?? Then my friend you are in for a big surprise if you buy other makes, i tell you its gonna be the same whether Vios or Almera as its the norm nowadays for most CKD cars. I suggest you use Bus 11 to travel instead, no rattling dashboard, saves fuel, saves money, lose weight and get healthier. Cheers

• kzm batu api on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:02 am

kzm, diam lah. Kalau tak ada apa positive nak cakap, baik diam sahaja lah.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Wow What did I do?

Just because I have said I have a reliable Honda and testifying my point of view now I become an A-class criminal in your eyes.

Dude the only problem you testify for your Honda is “Hidup BS Honda”and “useless quality”. Seriously ,Its like saying I hate this car because, I dont like it….ask why, Because I JUST dont like it. Proceeding to summon up the power of your Caps Lock to substitute the lack of intellect you have to argue.

• vanhoe on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:27 pm

What is all this butthurt mad comments about?

• the BS BQ and QC of Honda BS Malaysia.

First day – Paint problem – DO NOT EVER POLISH UR HONDA CARS AS THE PAINT ARE OF BS QUALITY AND VERY THIN LAYER SO MAXMIMIZE PROFIT..

MANY MORE TO COME….

TOO MANY UNTIL I LAZY TO SAY ANYTHING REGARDING BS HONDA MALAYSIA..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • To a certain degree i agree with your statement regarding the paint quality of Honda cars especially CKD models here. My family had a 2011 Honda Accord that had its paint peeling or fade after 4-5 months. Sent in to detail the car and identified the paint job was not even, many Honda owners have complaint about the PDI by Honda. Ironically, i also have a 2014 Kia Rio with excellent paint.

• Same L0r on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Honda is manufactured under whose production line?

You know I know everyone know.

You won’t have this issue if you get a Toyota car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • LIKE I SAID I M A GENUINE HONDA OWNER NOT LIKE THOSE BA***** SAYING I DON’T OWN A HONDA.

3 GENS OF DIFFERENT MODELS RANGING FROM CITY TO ACCORD IS ENOUGH FOR ME.

BQ AND QC HAVE NO BLOODY IMPROVEMENT AT ALL AFTER 10 YEARS.

HIDUP BS HONDA MALAYSIA. NO WONDER LA THE PREVIOUS VIOS DEMOLISHED UR CITY. THE CURRENT CITY JUST WAIT FOR NEW ALMERIA OR A FACELIFT VIOS, GUARENTEE UR SALES DROP BACK TO THE GROUND.

HIDUP HONDA BS MALAYSIA!

• Same L0r on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:20 am

You want good quality and cheap? Get a Perodua dude! Mind you the VW has DSG and aftersales service problem too.

Almera and Teana? haha… I admit they are reliable, looked good. But in terms of comfort, fuel saving, RV etc. Toyota still better. There are reasons why Toyota is the top seller in the world. I am not worry of Nissan at all.

In fact fierce competition benefit the consumer!

The worst/disgusting thing is “protection”.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Oh so your problem basicaally is that your Honda isn’t shiny enough?

Many more to come?….why wait, we have all day.

• d*** people are really d*** , don’t understand simple English of paint problem? did I mention anything about shining?

The BS Honda SC waxed and polished my car before handing over to me, and when I came and check, one small part of the paint got “eaten” off d. Went to check with “sifu” of Honda paint they said no hope need repaint because the original paint is very thin. BS Honda Malaysia total BS. took me about 1 week plus only they settle for me. What total BS Honda Malaysia BQ and QC. BS Honda MAlaysia.

d*** ppl are really d***. Pls continue ur Honda Car sales and stop b****** here, better go sell more of ur BS cars now before its too late..

• AVH (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:51 pm

-_-

cool story bro.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Y u guys get annoyed when people complaining like that…I see u guys oso same when bashing n complaining bout p1 like there is no world cup tonite…

• kzm batu api on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:05 am

Friend, don’t have anything intelligent to say, better you keep quiet.

• Anti-Establishment on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:05 am

Same goes to you. Pot calling the kettle black.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:32 pm

I think the Haze has gotten into this one. Either that or desperate rival-brand salesman unable to achieve quota.

Anyways the airbags issue is due to faulty manufecturing from the company Takata, and affected cars includes oh….almost Every Japanese car, along with BMW. Takata is one of the 3 largest airbags manufecturer along with Swedish based Autoliv(most European cars) and American TRW(Most American cars)….The recall is said to go even bigger because the number of brands affected is much more that that.

Which makes me curious, what brands of airbag does Perodua uses since it is part of Toyota…..or what brand does Proton use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • MyviKiller on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Proton uses Autoliv, so you are safe.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:22 am

Nope i’am not, the Proton I have does not have Airbags. The cars I have with airbags is an Alza and a previous Gundam City.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Calm down and stop typing in all caps. The voice in my head that I use to read stuff is shouting as I read through your comments and it’s quite irritating.

How many Honda’s have you owned?

Previous gen Vios and Almera outsold the City because they have variants much cheaper than the entry-level City (Vios J; the Almera top spec cheaper than City top spec). And also some people don’t like how Honda has people servicing their cars every 5000km.

Please be more rational, rather than just attacking AVH out of the blue.

• how about those who bought the car from 2nd dealer????

• yes, me too. i directly call the SC regarding on this issue. but he ask me to look on their website…emmmmm

• Muhd Dinesh Gopinathan Kunjukrishnan on Jun 24, 2014 at 2:36 pm

aiyoo yo, how like this one? lah. Honda got no standard lah dei

• tishaban on Jun 24, 2014 at 2:53 pm

For those criticizing Honda Malaysia please get a clue go read up about this airbag issue in the news, heck even in this particular paultan article. The problem is with a subcontractor Takata and affects multiple car manufacturers.

Shows how little reading comprehension paultan readers actually have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Hi Honda fanboy?

YOU must be one of the few lucky ones to get a non defect unit..

Happy for u but pls dun b*** at others suffering. Thanks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • victor tan (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Hi Honda hater,

Please be educated and read the article properly.
        Not only Honda is being affected by Takata’s defect.
        Maybe you English comprehension is poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0r on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Yea, his powderful England is so poweerful that capital letters, star, and sentences like
          “YOU must be one of the few lucky ones” are polluting the forum.

I thought these kind of bashes are over after pilihanraya.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Just accept his/her bashing…u guy oso same when bashing p1….what the diff?

• victor tan (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:05 am

LOL, are you the real KZM or not?

Btw, I’m no way near or same league with this basher.

• Atas Kosong on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:04 pm

kzm please don’t talk rubbish. Every post you either talk racism or rubbish

• tishaban on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:44 pm

haha, since your reading comprehension is obviously very limited and you decide to resort to name calling, let me list it out in bullet points. If you still don’t understand then that’s ok.

1. Takata makes airbag components. These components are used by Honda, Toyota, Nissan etc. in their respective cars.

2. Takata components are faulty.

3. Honda is the first local company to issue recalls to replace faulty components. Toyota and Nissan have so far been quiet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • eVaz88 on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Hi Honda Fanboy. I think u MISSED out this statement, “The issue is related to an earlier worldwide recall done last year by a number of manufacturers (including Toyota and Nissan locally)”. After more than 1 year only HONDA recall. Don’t it trouble u?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Name calling? P1 or kzm or govt hater/basher the best…u know what those hater/basher call me rite…

• kzm batu api on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:03 am

Still saying stupid things kzm? If got nothing beneficial to say, keep quiet. Dont make a fool of yourself.

• medic on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:01 am

Every car got some kinda defect lar.If you don’t like,don’t buy lor.Do detail what probelms you had..i’m sure Honda M’sia will retify it.No need to act so childish with colours here & there.In short,don’t make an ass of yourself.

• Heng Lee on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:44 pm

So if the Honda airbag explodes right into your face, you think ‘No problem, it’s not Honda’s mistake, it’s a subcontractor problem’? :D

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:21 pm

There’s something wrong with this argument. The airbags would fail to deploy and the ruptured propellant charge *could* be a fire risk. So far, as far as we know, there are no incidents where this has happened but let’s say that it did. What would the driver do?

The driver would, of course, blame Honda for making crap quality cars. But is that really the case? With full knowledge of what’s contributed to the hypothetical fire, the blame technically falls on Takata for making a potentially hazardous product. The blame will also partly fall on Honda as well because it is their final product and they have the responsibility to recall their products to change out the faulty part and if a fire results from this and they know of it, then they have failed to issue preventive recalls.

However, none of this has happened yet and this is all purely speculation. I have heard, though, of Honda car airbags failing to deploy. Those cases may have been related to this issue.

• Anti-Establishment on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:06 am

That doesn’t stop people from bashing Proton’s power window issue when the issue is with the motor which was made by a vendor.

So double standards.

• Akura on Jun 24, 2014 at 3:57 pm

I will won’t buy Proton. Honda any given day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • Usha-Usha on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Aiiyooo.. From 2001 ka… Now 2014 llooo.. If, human aaa, now already Form 1 loo..

• How about the CVT gearbox for this City model. Keeping quiet n denial…

• QChan on Jun 24, 2014 at 4:15 pm

All recalls are from between 2001-2003 – that means the cars are more than 10 years old.

I was made to understand that car airbags has stipulated expiry dates and should or need to be replaced every 7 years. If they are replaced at the 7-year interval, then those (old/faulty) airbags should have been replaced with newer ones already, right ?

However, I doubt any car owners would have replaced their airbags at the recommended 7-year interval point.

• as i know the earlier cvt gb problem is pretty much solve. is made known that is honda malaysia’s fault of using aft in the early generation cvt city and jazz…dont think the city have anymore problem after that. a few friend of mine using city no problem. all running fine. only 1 owns a 2004 unit, spoil just outside the 3years period, but still it got replace by honda sc…

so, my family owns 2 unit city with cvt…1 cbu unit and 1 ckd unit. both running fine with the cbu unit is about 190k km on odo…

so,to basher’s, you can always bash…go ahead…i doubt u even own…is always KEYBOARD WARRIORS…TYPICAL MALAYSIAN ATTITUDE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Haha.. typically BS people.. Ppl that are totally fed up only will be this desperate.. U don’t see me posting such thing in previous Honda post up till now because I have had enough of BS Honda Malaysia.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Toyota pay you millions per year to promote them ah?To name a few ive also owned a Thai made Toyotas..apartfrom Japanese engine the body,interior,exterior are just suck to the core as well..I involved in a side swap accident with my Altis 1.8 with a Persona and my door is totally wreck and got injured as a result although its a minor one..The Proton receive only slight dent beside visible scratches..So my conclusion before you Toyolta salesman condemm others make sure youre driving a real Japanese made Toyota not those Thais nor Indon ones..Stop bullcrap everyone already knew how bored you are

• Masmerah on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Have 3 honda. Accord 1984, accord2005 n insight2013.So far so good. Is my accord84 affected?

• Denaihati on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:09 pm

still do recall after more than 10 years old car, very good practice, congratulation honda and i think car owner also get the benefit even though some already goes to 3rd/4rd owner.

• Captain Meow on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:02 am

i used to own the Jazz CBU.. i love it.. too bad had to let it go coz too SMMMAAALLL for my growing family..

• TheDean on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:42 am

I previously had the 2004 Stream and sold it because at one time I was rear-ended so hard while stationary that my Stream hit a 4×4 infront. Again the impact was so great that my glove compartment fell apart and my glasses flew off. Airbag? Not even one deployed.

• IrizX on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:37 am

The fact you are still alive shows the accident wasn’t hard enough, hence airbags didn’t deploy to save you some money.
      It’s all part of the plan.

• My City model 2007 has got fly wheel problem more than a year ago. Can anybody tell me whether the defective fly wheel will increase fuel consumption bcos eversince that the consumption has been about 11km per litre or about RM0.19 per km.