Jeep returns to Malaysia, to be distributed by EON

Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk Oz 01

DRB-Hicom has announced that its subsidiary company Edaran Otomobil Nasional (EON) has been appointed by Chrysler as the exclusive Jeep distributor in Malaysia.

In a brief press release, DRB-Hicom said that sales are set to begin in October, with four models making their way into EON showrooms. The spearhead models will be the fourth-gen Grand Cherokee (which sits on a platform derived from the third-gen W166 Mercedes-Benz M-Class), the KL Cherokee, Wrangler and Compass.

No mention about the incoming variants for each of the types – the brand has plenty, from Longitude, Trailhawk and Sport for the KL Cherokee, and the Laredo, Overland and Limited for the WK2 Grand Cherokee, for example. It was however mentioned that EON would establish a 3S (sales, service and spare parts) Jeep centre in Glenmarie by the start of sales operations.

It has been more than a decade and a half since the brand was last seen here. What do you think of the funky new Jeeps – the 2014 Cherokee and Compass look particularly bold. Do you think the current crop of Jeep models will do well here?

Jeep Cherokee RHD (KL)

Jeep Compass RHD

Jeep Grand Cherokee RHD (WK2)

Jeep Wrangler RHD (JK)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• spongewai on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:34 pm

welcome back, Jeep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • Competition Act 2010 on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:39 am

Govt, MITI should stop car dealership monopoly by few group as it’s against Competition Act 2010.

Why should DRB group control dealership from Audi to VW?? Naza control Kia, French brands? Sime control Hyundai, premium brands? Etc Etc Etc.

Clearly MITI is at mocking MyCC initiative to promote healthy competition in business!

The best solution is for principal carmaker to become the sole distributor and appoint capable local dealers that is fully committed in serving quality service to car buyers. Why should principal carmaker must kowtow to DRB, Naza, Sime darby etc. first then allow to sell cars here?

By bypassing those middleman, imagine the ‘hidden cost’ can be saved and principal carmaker able to lower the price even more to car buyers to get more sales!

Stupidest and craziest automotive policy in the world by Bolehland!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 73
      • Death on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:23 am

Ticks, ticks everywhere. That’s why Malaysia need so many groups to.

• start-a-fight on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:27 am

clearly u don’t understand competition act…

and clearly, u don’t know how much it cost to get franchise dealership up and running..

and clearly, u don’t know much about automotive history in malaysia..

and lastly, why u no mention tan chong in your list?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 39
        • War D No Supiah on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:10 pm

..and don’t forget Boon Siew too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
          • pondan on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Stupid, drb already forcefully makan honda from boon siew.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • pondan on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:18 pm

U r talking as if u know a lot. If that’s the case why still having all the cronies APs around? Clearly it’s all about self interests.

• Illogical id|ots on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:30 am

You say “clearly you don’t know” so many times, yet you don’t actually explain any of those points. Clearly you don’t have any facts to fall on

• Ainon on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:29 am

In the first place do all the principal car makers want to come and incur the costs and take up all the risks of setting up shop in a low volume country like your Bolehland? Many will be saying take boleh lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:14 am

Obviously ,those Foreign OEMs are more interested in working with the established (big names and with proven track record) local distributors, instead of directly setting up the local distribution companies of their own which of course more hassles for them for small market like Malaysia. Common sense..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • BAPAK KO on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:13 am

so many many many many many other businesses that monopolized by chinese here in our country.. since merdeka.. can get rid of these too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:37 am

u know wat is Competition Act 2010 rite? thing that u said above seem very wrong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Please update ur list with toyota, honda and not to forget nissan, ur comment is so bias la apek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Cool Malay on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Competition Act 2010

seriously u talk crap!!!
        watch your leg muncha!!

• Cheung on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Range Rover Evoque’s competitor ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • me (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Great!

• jibby jeep on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:00 pm

jibby should buy this jeep.
      It’s a jibby jeep kinda things.
      haha…

• PROTONEDAR on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:55 pm

I thought EON has already been consolidated under PROTON EDAR…

• kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:59 am

not all part of EON..this EON distribute assemble TD2000 car n Euromobil major shareholder

• Petrol on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Oh no, high fc and high co2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Warm welcome ..why not? It added colours to our motoring world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:54 pm

One of the very rare cool brands….its legendary in name…..prices wd probably make us puke bt who cares,seeling a wrangler on our roads is jus cool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • kenapa xbawak masuk ram??

• nabill (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:54 pm

One of the very rare cool brands….its legendary in name…..prices wd probably make us puke bt who cares,seeing a wrangler on our roads is jus cool

• Amir_8707 on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:58 pm

The all-new Jeep Cherokee looks solid. The rear looks like the new Kia Sportage.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:59 pm

The butt look like kia sportage

• holofanboi on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Welp, a legendary name returns. But IF I were filthy rich id most likely still go for range rover over this…it feels too…’normal’.

• Tiger on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Dunt understand why they kip bringing in these brands which sell in vely vely low numbers but seriuoaly overpriced, unless they made lots tons of profits ..if sel really low they will throw price big discounts spoiling
    T the resale value of early buyers and end up like Chevy brand in Bolehland

• renegade on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:31 pm

bring this cute compact jeep renegade plsssss

• DoryFishEverywhere on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:33 pm

As a car enthusiast, I am really glad to see such brands coming into Malaysia. I have to admit I am pretty bored seeing Toyotas flooding the local market. The reintroduction of the Jeep brand will somehow breath some fresh air into our automotive landscape.

Would love to see more foreign brands come into Malaysia eg Seat, Lancia, Chrysler sedans and Saabs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Lancia brand sadly is as good as dead, unless Fiat is willing to invest in this brand. On the other hand , Saab as a car maker, miraculously is still alive, even after the much publicized bankruptcy saga. It currently operates under the banner of the Chinese owned National Electric Vehicle Sweden, currently building the petrol & electric powered Saab 9-3 Aero (the previous gen body design)specifically for Swedish & Chinese market.They are allowed to use the Saab name, under licensing by Saab AB.Maybe if they could sell enough volume, they could develop a whole new Saab model.

• the Grand Cherokee is nice

• Now that’s what I’m talking about…. Do bring in the Diesel engines though…. And I’m wondering what the prices for the Wrangler Rubicon 5dr price would be??

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:44 am

Jeep is not a bad brand, I have sat in the Grand Cherokee. It does not feel as nice as a Volvo/Audi/Range Rover SUV, but its not bad. The Grand Cherokee looks pretty nice too.

• D.I.Y on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:17 am

Great! dream car… but why EON?

• Josh Ling on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:33 am

it’s time to bring some real americans to the road….never mind the chevys.

• shawal on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:31 am

Theres nuthin wrong with making left field choices, you could end up with the best car you could ever need..

But, research the maintenance costs thoroughly , if you can afford to be an early adopter then go ahead

Some of the models might still uses old platforms and engines, when you spend alot of money, you’d want the car to be all-new and thoroughly engineered

• shawal on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:43 am

Jeep compass is not safe 2 star euro ncap old platform, going to be replaced by an all new model
    , cherokee being the safest 5 star euro ncap same platform as alfa romeo giuletta,

Grand cherokee is recently updated, won numerous awards when first introduced back in 2011

• Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:26 am

After this, DRB-Hicom should also explore the possibility to bring in the Dodge marque (which is part of the Chrysler Group) to Malaysia – specifically referring to the Dodge Challenger & Charger muscle cars!

• Anti-Establishment on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:03 am

I rather they bring Fiat in instead – tootling around in a Fiat 500 would be cool, don’t you think?

• Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:12 pm

I think Fiat (including Alfa) is currently evaluating who will be their latest distributors for this region, but considering their lack of new product line-up it could be some time before finalizing their decision whether it makes a bussiness case, unless Fiat & Alfa will be distributed under one roof..

• Rokuth on Jun 26, 2014 at 7:39 pm

You do know that Fiat owns Jeep, don’t you?

• Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Plus the Dodge Viper of course, for the super rich.

• heybadigol on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:16 am

Grand Cherokee, yeah!! EON distribute, but the million dollar question is, who will maintain these cars? :)

• heybadigol on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:17 am

How come nobody wants to bring in Cadillac? I would so love to see the latest ATS & CTS here.

• Fizbiscuit on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:27 am

I used to drive the old Jeep Wrangler YJ model when it was brought in by MBF. Great car to have on and off the road but the fuel consumption and road tax was a killer. Sold it off as the family was growing up and it was not exactly an everyday family car. Would do well if the price is right… hopefully!

• najibest on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:33 am

Looking at the current engine choices, except for the Compass which actually has a 2.0L petrol, it’s either going to be big petrol engines >2.4L or diesels, 2.0-3.0L….hopefully it would be those diesels…

• Kami nak Dodge Viper dan barang2 Mopar, natang!

• tan sari on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:55 am

why not bring back Opel?? he new models look so much better now. Singapore have them already.

• Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Because currently no one knows whether anybody is interested to bring back Opel to Malaysia. Unless Opel Asia Pacific has started talking to the established distributors (mainly the big boys) in Malaysia.Opel current models still looks nice, and quality-wise almost in the same league as VW, but they are starting to feel a bit dated already and due for replacement..

• najibest on Jun 25, 2014 at 6:16 pm

don’t think Opel would be back here…as it would not fall in line with GM’s strategy of using Chevrolet as their “global” brand….

the even pulled out of Australia after less than a year there due to poor sales and stick with Holden as the sole GM brand…

Singapore is a bit of a niche market so that’s a different story…

• Wau very nice famous 4×4 reach boleh land.
    But satisafaction of service under EON still remain questionable…..

• Denaihati on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:58 am

hope wrangler will come here too, i think most modern design are not suitable for hardcore off-road.

• i remember the cherokee 4.0L High Output model… nostalgic. Welcome Back Jeep. Man vs Wild.

• Jawabandar on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Expect skyrocketing maintenance cost.

• W204 C63 AMG on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Great to see Jeep coming back. Does that mean Fiat is coming soon too?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:52 pm

kl cherokee? kuala lumpur version?

• Cherokee owner on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:48 pm

As a previous owner i can tell you… Cherokee is like plotong in USA… Only rednecks drive this dud…

• Kavitha Kusbhoovati on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:42 pm

I like jeep. I like wrangle just like the chewing gum. I hope my bf sell his myvi and buy wrangla. good car. last time I go holiday I sit in one. so nice. now I can buy.

• Annaeh on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Some people like Competition Act 2010 just want to politicize everything by trying to link EON’s appointment as distributor of Jeep as some sort of government crony patronage. Does he/she not know that this is different from, say, YTL getting direct contracts from the government without any bidding. DRB probably applied to Chrysler and got the distributorship because it is a large company already established in the business. Heck, for some reason MBF got the Jeep distributorship before.

Paultan.org is one of the few blogs where I find the writers/contributors write objective and interesting articles and reports. I also find most of the followers are just interested about cars and the industry and do not bring up politics in their comments. If the likes of Competition Act 2010 wants to indulge in political rants then go to Malaysiakini, FreeMalaysiaToday, etc. or any of the blogs affiliated to the political parties. There’s plenty of them around.

In the meantime I prefer paultan.org to remain as what it is; a blog where people passionate about cars come together and talk about, well, cars basically. Of course once in awhile we do knock Sam Loo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • BoringOnly on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Please, stick to car blog, dont bring all other bullshixt things here.

• AH Cim on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:44 pm

walio jeep oh. can tapau all other cars here lorrrr. 200k one . must start saving.

• Jais Ibrahim on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:45 pm

syukur dah ada jeep kat Malaysia. nanti boleh la bawak family ke pd naik jeep. sedap tu

• Will they rebadge as Jibby…?

• Colin on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Whoopee! Jeeps in Malaysia. Hope they supply spares for older Jeeps. TJ Wrangler owner.

• Sundaram on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:33 pm

jeep is for keeps. for now and forever like toothpaste and colgate

• BORING

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Aero (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Nice to have Jeep back and all, but the one American car company which I’d love to see here most is Tesla. :( With our (retarded) NAP seemingly favouring electric cars, and Malaysia clearly being the ASEAN leader in alternative energy car sales, I think it would be better to have Tesla here instead of Jeep.

• Pelangi on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:13 am

The brand is cool. There has been a lot of improvement to the brand especially Grand Cherokee model. Has been the suv of the year in the USA since 2012 and in Australia in 2013. I owned for 3 years in the USA for 2011 model and more than a year now for 2014 model in Australia. The latest model is even better with all the gadgets you require in a car like keyless entry, push start button, etc. i call it very intelligent car. You own it only to know what i mean. It has sport mode fitted with it which really ” sound” and perform like sport car. Paddle shifter is really cool to go wîth sport mode. However in malaysia the price is really overated. Cannot believe the price is much dearer than Range Rover Evoque..

• tiffany outlet on Jan 15, 2015 at 3:00 am

the author: Jiang Cong 2009-12-05 08:55:40 Tags: military training a 1200 word essay login e ForumTwo.
    tiffany outlet http://www.robertatajani.it/

• Reza Khani on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:30 pm

we are still using my grand father Jeep in Iran which is nearly 50 years old !! I owned 3 jeeps in Malaysia now I am very happy to see jeep back to Malaysia ! By the way I say Jeep I mean Jeep !! There is only one Jeep ……

• Reza Khani on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:37 pm

we are still using my grand father Jeep in Iran which is nearly 50 years old !! I owned 3 jeeps in Malaysia now I am very happy to see jeep back to Malaysia ! There is only one Jeep ……