Proton Design Competition 2014 – calling budding designers to come up with a Proton City Car for 2020

proton design contest 2014

Calling all budding Malaysian designers. Here’s your chance to show off your talents, courtesy of Proton Design Contest 2014. Aimed at youths aged between 13-25 years, the contest carries the theme “#PROTONCITYCAR2020” – paultan.org is the exclusive online motoring partner for the event.

The contest, which runs from today, June 24 to August 11, 2014, challenges participants to propose their creative vision of a future concept based on the given theme, using their favorite drawing tool – whether digital or pencil and paper.

Attractive prizes worth RM58,000 in total – ranging from cash rewards to a MacBook Air/Pro (complete with design software) plus cash for the top three finalists – are on the cards. The winner will also receive the Chairman’s Award, which is made up of a trophy and an internship at Proton’s R&D Creative Design Centre. The winning design is set to be built into a quarter-scale model and displayed at the Proton Gallery.

Proton Design Comp Logo Finale

The automaker says it’s reaching out to local youths through the contest to raise awareness about the evolving reality of the automotive industry – “#PROTONCITYCAR2020″ is a creative platform aimed at motivating Malaysian youths towards the automobile segment and presenting their ideas on how future cars will shape up.

Here are the details on how you can enter the competition. The contest is divided into two categories – Category 1, for individuals within the ages of 13-17 and Category 2, for individuals within the ages of 18-25. Group entries are not allowed, and only Malaysians with a valid Malaysian identity card can take part.

All participants are required to design rendering sketches of an exterior outlook of the car on an A3-sized paper, inclusive of 3/4 front view, side view and rear view perspectives. For Category 2 participants, they are also required to design the interior outlook of the car.

proton-citycar2020-categories

For the entry to qualify, participants must also provide a Design Brief in an A4 size paper containing the title of the design, the design concept, unique selling proposition of the car and the proposed engine system (e.g. petrol, diesel, hybrid, electric, etc.).

Participants can submit a maximum of three (3) designs, either via mail or online. The entry form for the competition will be available online and at selected Proton outlets nationwide. For more information about the contest, visit Proton’s Facebook page for contest details. You can download the entry form from there.

This is great opportunity for Malaysian youths to be part of something that could define their future and possibly that of the local automobile industry. Time to start drawing!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• myrujukan on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:31 pm

this is good, I want join too but the age limited, sigh.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
    • bangle on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:45 am

Asking kids for car design? Satu lagi kegagalan Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 84
      • Same L0r on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:11 am

Proton can proudly present

“New Saga 2020, designed in Sekolah Kebangsaan, for human”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
        • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Proton should do contest for all departments.
          1) Design
          2) Manufacturing
          3) Marketing
          4) Sales.

Then no need to have staff. Can be lean. Just get the rakyat to do contest and then can design, manufacture, market and sales for free.

As for sales, can get school kids to do like Walkathon, siapa jual paling banyak Proton, boleh dapat baucer buku sebagai hadiah.

That is Proton for you. All their employees are lazy to the core and probably sleep in the office.

Need external people to do their work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
          • Mr TruthFact on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Alooo my fren..Don’t say like that lah. U kutuk2 say that all proton employees malas. Kesian meh…I believe their management and also Tun have their strategy how to win back Malaysian heart. Why they don’t used any expertise inside? alooo kawan, i’m sure when they used internal i.e. from manufacturing side then u will start complaining “Patutlah tak cantik, org kilang buat not the engineer” …i also don’t want a car with a bad design lorr.

Hopefully with the Gen-Y design will give PROTON idea what we as Malaysian need..

i’ve read all the comments below, some want to joint this competition. PROTON should take this opportunity to read what Malaysia need now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • noname on Jun 26, 2014 at 1:39 am

khas untuk bro bangle… idea bdak2 bleh jd idea yg bagus ap.. cer tgok ni..
          https://www.behance.net/gallery/TRANSFORMATION-Peugeot-design-contest-for-children/9979323

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Reza Ismail on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:58 pm

There you go. The prove of the efficiency. Bukan nak cover Proton tapi program ni dah terbukti ada gunanya. Apa lagi alasan anda nak bash?

• Black Dog on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Why limit the age to 25? WTF a 13 year old kid knows about car design? No wonder all Protons look like toy cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
        • Fred.Lam on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Let me tell you what kids have that you don’t. CREATIVITY. They have the capability to think beyond logic. They can create something literally “out of this world”. Don’t you ever insult kids. I will devour you !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • event honda also got competition like this, they are not asking pupil for design car for them, they just want to see what they see car in future and their creativity.. dulu mak hantar skolah skjc ponteng, kau pergi cyber cafe.. dah bodoh menyusahkan orang…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
      • kereta kompak on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Do u know that the kids brain more creative than adults? u guys old people the hands also not very soft to draw and imagination are very limited still seek for the chance to enter this competition. whahaaa.

Good initiative Proton we need young designer and young capabilities.!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • Had the same thought…

• rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:29 pm

If you know how to manage company don’t be busy here concentrate on you company if you don’t have one. You are not qualified to comment like that.

• Fred.Lam on Jun 30, 2014 at 9:53 pm

True that bro. I do not understand what about this topic specifically makes people angry. Do something also angry. Dont do also angry. Swt la

• mysterio on Jul 06, 2014 at 11:43 am

competition category 1 tu utk memupuk minat golongan masa depan mengenai industri automotif bknnya nk pilih design kanak2 utk dijadikan model akn dtg utk proton.retiiiii????? nk bash pun jgn tunjuk thp bengap tu

• aryan on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:49 pm

ini bukan satu kegagalan..tapi ini satu langkah menuju kejayaan..

• aizat on Aug 23, 2014 at 4:15 pm

igt org tua je ke reti design kereta?

• Design Team Wasting Money on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:00 am

This clearly proves one thing, Proton in-house designers are so stupid, they need the rakyat to come with designs for the new car.

Then, why pay the in-house designers? What are they for? Why pay for their expensive business class trips all over the world to see various car designs?

This is how Proton waste money. They spend so much of money sending their design clowns to visit other car brands to get ideas but now, we need to do contest to get the rakyat to design.

To send just one member overseas takes berpuluh puluh thousand because of Business Class flights, 5 Star hotel and daily allowance. As with any GLC, not one man will go, they will go one gang. Expect the bill to run in the hudreds of thousands or even millions to send the in-house design team for training and transfer of knowledge from other car brands.

But now, all that go to drain. They get the rakyat to do designs. This is one example how Proton waste money. But no worries. Its not their money. Its our taxpayers money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 67
      • Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Shallow thinking. This competition is just a way for Proton to reach out to the younger generations/automotive nuts out there. Even other OEMs (such as Peugeout) also hold this kind of competition. It has nothing to do wasting money or anything. And since when Proton execs. naik Bussiness Class & 5-star hotels when on bussiness trips? Director Level tu bole caya la. Proton’s in-house designers have been doing their job very well. It’s just that maybe the end-product design did’nt exactly the turned out well due to the ill-advised previous top management decision driven by the bean counters. But expect the latest top management will support better products in near future. Proton CEO Datuk Harith himself has a background in Industrial/Automotive Arts & Design, that’s why he strongly advocates this competition. It’s just a shame it is not open to Proton staff or peoples above 25 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 16
        • alldisc on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:45 pm

i agree with all the points said, except for one – proton designers did a good job but not excellent.

the design maybe good looking in initial stage but upon launch other car makers had all moved ahead. cars like preve will definitely look good 6 yrs ago but not it does look outdated.

proton need to design cars that are ahead of time during sketching stage and this is a good practise to gather ideas. we may never know what the hidden talents have up their sleeve.

• truely malaysian on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:49 pm

hi Friend, they can advance money before the lawatan sambil belajar, ask you die or not!

• keep bashin' on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:55 pm

bash bash bash (ironically me).. when proton came out with rebatch cars you chop them tiru, no idea. they came out with indigenous in house design you complaint not beautiful. now they open up design contest you say waste money… let say 20 people in the design department, that would cost at least 80K each annually X 20 people .. wouldnt it be cheap to just get a design for 58K.. the in house designer will then refine any technicality issue of the design…
        mathematic maaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:25 pm

This is NOT stupid la DTWM..Its a part of awareness and talent search to seek who can be the next our national car designer..Take the +ve part, dump your -ve one..Rakyat will realize how difficult to design and make a perfect car..

• rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Think you are more stupid to say that as who are you lol ?

• Reader on Jul 06, 2014 at 9:03 am

Baca you punya komen pun sudah tau you tak tau guna otak punya orang.. Baru keluar dari hutan ke..? Orang asli baca you punya komen pun boleh ketawa guling-guling tau..

• kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:16 pm

by insulting this competition…u guy oso insulting paultan.org since they are exclusive online partner..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
      • Hyundai aka Junk on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm

So by insulting KZM also equal to insulting Tranformer & Autobot ??
        Common stop mocking those loser Political motived NGO nicompoop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • VoidDance on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Stop commenting on Paultan then. You have nothing better then see the negatives of every single little thing about Proton even for an event like this when other manufacturer clearly have done it long time ago as stated by KZM.

Come on la. If you do the same in Japan or Korea where they encourage innovation and creative ideas, I’m sure you’ll be rolled over by their Hondas and Kias…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:47 pm

What is really in your brain kzm? If one criticise the competition, they are insulting paul tan?

Are you really that daft? Seriously?

Please, go and take some Gingko Biloba, I hear it stimulates blood in the brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm) on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Trust me, he is that dumb! Racist dude.

• Fred.Lam on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:05 pm

What is the problem with you people? If someone states something that is right in their persepective, argue intellectually la. Put out statements,facts or figures. Not attack them personally. Sigh.

• Nujum Coconut on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:53 pm

“Proton Director of Design: Mr. Theophilus Chin”

That’s how Proton can save its ass off from bad design and bankruptcy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Vader (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:02 pm

The design competition is good but the rule to limit the age from 13-25 is stupid.
      Not insult the youngster, but honestly, what do you expect a great car design from a 13 years old boy/girl who even don’t have the bike license.
      If the design look great and practical, why need to limit the designer age? I believe most of the great car designer are older than 25 years old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Agree..some youngsters’ concept sketches might not look that mature, but perhaps some of their ideas will be taken.

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:33 pm

That’s why Vader take it the positive way. PROTON is trying to cultivate younger Rakyat to love them because PROTON are really serious in doing improvement and R&D for the sake of better car quality. Indeed this is what foreign car maker been doing, they allow teenagers to give idea and their imagination for next gen car..Stop bashing let support ;)

• Ask Tun to Draw on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Ask Tun to draw lah. Pay him few millions per annum as Chairman for what? Just advice alone? Get him to draw.

Give him some A4 drawing block, ask him to do some sketches. I heard he is very good at drawing and sketches.

Then no need to pay gaji to him. Reward him with MacBook Air and iPad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:33 pm

as You don’t know management please stay away from commenting. Any MBA you have ? if not go get one.

• Bataman on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Jangan persoal hak-hak Mahathir!!!

• AVH (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:32 pm

I am still eligable for the Category 2 entrants. Hmmm, may just sketch up some design since I am drawing almost 3/4 of the time.

For those who are interested, here is a helpful YouTube video channels dedicated to professional level car design sketch on paper.
    [http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCebhBYcDu0gOc4PflwaU80w]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • AVH (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Reading the comments, I really just facepalm myself.

I know many people are pissed off at what Proton is doing, I am too, but honestly a humble and simple design competition wont suck all of your souls away. This is a really is a bizaar part of Malaysian online mentality, pure uncontrollable hetred, blood lust.

Just because a company is starting a competition to see who can design a car suddenly everyone thinks that the company dosen’t or is incapable of designing a good car. Peugeout had this competition before HACK, Ferrari and Lamborghini had this competition before (thou more professionally laid out than this).

Its even more pethatic to think that people who only knows how to criticize design bcuz it is the easiest form of unchallenged criticism, still continue to criticize this competition, an open source to tap into untap mind of potential Malaysian designers.

This reminds me the B*llsh*t comments during Lee Chong Weis wedding. Instead of thanking him and making our country proud, standing against international heavyweights, we critisize him with words like ‘he can win bcuz of BN’ or ‘BN is giving him money’……Sigh, I almost gave up hope on the people of this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • To all Proton bashers who kutuk design tak lawa and things like that, now this is your chance to see if you can come up with a better design yourself! Designers, launch your AutoCAD! :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 15
    • Malaysians always said Proton copy others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • Same L0r on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Proton has its unique design, especially with its engine:
        1. Loud
        2. Fuel hunger
        3. Power Less
        4. Poor build quality
        5. All new cars are parked under sun for months waiting for sell off. (So are you getting ‘new’ car??)
        6. Super long self QC checklist on new car, developed by owners themselves.
        7. No recall (which means no problem??)

Proton is unique.

But I rather it copy others. I will more than excited if it can rebadge C class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 62
        • paulman on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:03 am

WELL SAID !!! ALL THUMBS UP FOR YOU!! BTW, this contest is sick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
        • Proton Quality Reputation on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:55 am

Very well said Same LOr. Same LOr is the only one commentator in this blog that has guts to speak the truth.

I wanted to buy a Preve but after reading all the complaints and bad quality of Proton in the last 3 Proton postings, I decided to buy a 2nd hand Elantra for myself.

One person can be wrong. Two people can also be wrong. Three people may also be wrong. But if over 10 over people complain about their low quality Proton and stinking service, then something smells really wrong with Proton.

I am off buying a good Korean or if I can one day, after saving, a Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0r on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:57 pm

There is no point bashing Proton. I might be wrong, but I am just sharing the fact. There are way too many too many Proton victims in Malaysia. I was one of them. So could we just shut up and see others burnt their hard earn money and join the Proton victim community? I couldn’t

Hope you enjoy your kimchi car. But Japanese car always have better RV.

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:08 pm

What u can well said with Same Lor? There nothing to be proud of with Same Lor..He/She is just bunch of rakyat who suppose to rid from Msia..No loyalty to this nation at all!

• Same L0r on Jun 26, 2014 at 4:25 pm

I don’t get pay and I don’t have personal interest to complain on Proton.

But the cronies always use “patriotism” as disguise to get people buy Proton. So they can afford something nice like McLaren P1.

Tell me how many Protons you have to sell so that you can get your C clas?

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Same Lor…
          It’s u again keep bashing PROTON..
          Ah Beng ask u, how much they paid u? U still havnt answer my question..PROTON organize a design competition u also bash..If you really good

• Same L0r on Jun 26, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Does Proton making profit? No

If not making profit, how can Proton keep on survive? Use tax payer money lar.

Proton waste tax payer money and we should keep quiet???

Tomorrow I use your money eat Bat Kut Teh you simply diam diam ha!

• kereta kompak on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:15 pm

talk is cheap…

• rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:36 pm

From where you learn this America, Japan or China. Develop nation don’t do like this sorry.

• You think ppl work for u ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Kutuk Proton design tak lawa, then when given the chance, kutuk some more saying stuff like why should we do the work for you la, bla bla bla … bashers will forever be bashers. nothing can satisfy them until doomsday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Yeahh…. so we can kutuk their crap design after.. if only they dare to design.. or maybe they can’t even draw a 1990 saga design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Vader (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:35 am

Using AutoCAD software to design a car?
      Are you kidding? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • AVH (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Autocad is a 3D software and yes it can be used to design cars but usually during the parlimentary stage of a car design process (Before buiding the Prototype). Right now they just asking for a simple design and Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator is just enough for the job……I still prefer pen and paper, thou Computer software extands the capability.

• GDrogon on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:20 pm

im a graphic designer,but too old to anticipate, properly i hand over my creation to my nephew 13 year old to enter the competition.^^ hahaha

• azlan schreyer on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:45 pm

No need to join lah…Theopilus Chin gerenti menang punya design. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
    • rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Why this Chin so weak ? Who always claim to be very clever, got in mathematics and English. Why become employee if so good in entrepreneurship/business. Go sell car Tyre or spare part at least rather than begging money from Proton.

• Albert lee on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:51 pm

No harm giving our budding Malaysians a chance to win cash by designing a eye catching car for protong.
    Maybe ,this is Tun’s idea.
    My questions are 1.Are you going to fit the outdated,noisy and ancient Campro engine into the new car? 2.What about the gearbox?Source from Punch powertrain again?
    Nowadays,besides the exterior car buyers want to know the technical specs of the interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
  • what? cannot trust your own designer ha?

tbh, i do believe that proton’s designer is good by looking at their concept cars…but the main problem is the one at the top..

its like, designer(lower level) send to those at the upper level a piece of paper showcasing their concept cars, this level will erase this part of the car, that level erase that design and so on to cut down the cost, thats what they said..and in the end, we got a regular design car…zzzz..then come out complaint of malaysian didnt appreciate proton bla bla bla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 49
    • celicazz on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:31 pm

so, you are saying the Ferrari, Lambo, Audi and etc have no talent becoz they also employs this kind of public sourced designing exercise?

wow… you such a basher…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • This kind of practise has been in Auto Industries very long time ago & If I not mistaken it pioneer by Japanese youth..

• driver on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:50 am

while I have a feeling that the second and third paragraphs of your comments might be the case, but what’s with the first paragraph?

sense of ownership, that’s what they’re trying to do. whether or not it succeed is a different story.

• Wahidin Mahmudi (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:37 am

nama pun future talent bro.. and this maybe the way PROTON appreciate ideas from young generation.. Bangga seyh design dari future generation. wonder what they can design for our malaysia technology in future.. but please bro, you dont kill their imagination and creativity.. let them flourish.

or else the might end up like you or us..
      that’s what Im afraid off.

• Maseratits on Jun 24, 2014 at 5:59 pm

So I guess we can confirm that Proton will be launching a city car by the year 2020 eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • mr1031 on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:18 pm

no point designing the exterior if interior proton refuses to change to quality material and still with weak QC..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
  • Murderer on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:19 pm

What a joke! Keep on saying want to bring up image but does this competition do any good to Proton? Maybe the youth. SO, it means by 2020 Proton would still be the same standard n the old hag won’t fulfill his dreams because he might not be around anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
  • Same L0r on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:25 pm

1. Proton should focus on fuel economy, engine output, spare quality, not bloody car outlook.
    2. It is only 2014 now, why you are bothering 2020 model? You so sure you won’t close shop before 2020?
    3. RM58k of price, better spend it on your internal staff, conduct a third party audit on your spare part quality, hire external technical consultant redesign your engine (even some minor part).

Proton making loss, new car parked under sun for so long, sales figure not disclosed, yet want to burn money asking the teen to design a car for 6 years from now.

You really have no better way to burn your money/resource?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • 1.This is exterior design comp not engine/transmision
      2.Because it’ll stay here for good
      3.That’s prolly too puny.

To burn money? No wonder proton basher cannot differentiate betw investment and not

• shanmugam gnanapathy on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Same Lor!! Please sign up to this competition..please please we will support you.hehe. and we will see how you do it. you ve been a judge to P1 for quite sometimes, and let Malaysian judge you with your design..Looking into what you say, you must be so great, I think the automotive mahaguru no one can beat!! Please we Malaysian are so eager to see what will be your product! Come on man! Man up! Take this challenge up!! i’ ll be your kipas susah mati one!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0r on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:31 am

There is no use to have good outlook but lousy build quality, engine, transmission.

As usual, it is typical Proton style – “wanna looked good, but doesn’t matter it is good inside or not”.

Wanna see live examples? Looked at the mod Proton on the road where it looked like lancer, impreza, evo etc.

Proton’s problem is they never focus on the important things. People want GOOD and CHEAP car, yet they burn money asking teenage to design it.

I rather spend this RM58k as scholarship for a good automotive student in university. A fuel saving and good power output engine is much much better than a good outlook.

I don’t fancy on outlook. A car is still a car no matter how good it looked.

A awesome looking Proton is still a Proton after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Answers for Silly Same Lor:
      1. PROTON is improving the engine in terms fc and reliability. Others car makers i.e VW 1.4 TSI been complaining with their poor quality and unrealiable. More serious one, you should bash them more.
      2. It’s good PROTON would like to move step forward six years ahead to develop a new car. It’s good right, not a bad initiative! Other car maker will be trailing behind after this.
      3. Their complaint and quality are improving from years to years. I bet they hav better strategy rather than u keep blindly blaming PROTON staff.

U seems like knowing PROTON staff so much? R u an x-proton? Reveal yourself, dont b such a corward Same Lor..

• Same L0r on Jun 26, 2014 at 4:47 pm

1. VW didn’t ask for protection, they didn’t spend tax payer money. No car is perfect car. But Malaysian should not subsidize the cronies building shitty car to con back Malaysian with limited budget.

2.Proton can’t even deliver the GSC, hybrid in 2014. No need talk 6 years from now. Normal talkock is cheap, RM58k talkock is bloody expensive.

3. 1980, they are improving. 1990 they still improving, 2000 they are still improving, 2014 they still improving. But their engine get lousier (compared to mitsubishi engine), their build quality is the same. Their customer getting less and less. So what they are improving? Improving the lifestyle “Cakap Sendiri, Syok Sendiri” only.

I am a Proton victim like most of the Malaysian. And i can’t tahan Proton burning our tax money, build shitty car con back Malaysian, while the cronies buy Porsche, Mercedes, Lambo.

• rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Why not Toyota focus on producing good quality with low price if they are so good why bashing Proton. This is unhealthy mentality. Why not bash you father or mother or your children or your house. If what you do to help it good but if it just to destroy that sad so sad.

• Steve Jobs on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:31 pm

gonna start design !

• Facebook on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Wow…save cost on designer…
    Still yet Proton claim to be worldclass car manufacturer???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • Why “NO” one bash “PEUGEOT” when they do the same thing here last year…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Ah Beng King on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:40 pm

I rmb proton had a competition like this a few years back but instead of drawing it was in physical form. It was a complete fail

Just look at this piece of JUNK:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-EPFja0SLtMU/Tz3AUreRAmI/AAAAAAAARmE/Ui7MXaI2-Xs/s1600/1-2.jpeg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • mim (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:20 pm

That was internal competition between their designer/engineer la.. The challenge was to use existing parts from their models and make something different. It was just for fun.

• truely malaysian on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:54 pm

G for G-spot

• rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:50 pm

How about your life it look like complete fail, please improve your income and do not waste your time saying something bad. Because in you so many bad thing why not tell everybody in the net.

• stefan ho on Jun 24, 2014 at 6:52 pm

really? get a german designer. quick simple and make more sense. i think we still got a lot to learn from the world’s best

• justsomerandomdude on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:08 pm

This… why only malaysians?? This is the difference between other countries and malaysia… every year peugeot holds a similar competition but open to everyone in the world… see the spectacular/radical designs presented… localizing this to only malaysians isn’t so good IMO

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:33 pm

This won’t save cost on any designer. You think they can just use any of these designs right off the bat? This seems more like an idea gathering move. Designers are still needed to refine the design to fit their design language. Still, the 2020 part of the name is sooo a Dr. M influence.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Why aren’t they extending the age limit to 35? At least I can join. 30+ Adults also got creativity what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:47 pm

In my recent memory I have not seen any manufacturer asked the public to design its cars for them. I guess the Proton designers memang tak boleh pakai anymore.

But the design is not only the only problem Proton has! Their after sales people do not care less of their customers complaints, its reliability and QC are also in dire need of help!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • what? on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:55 pm

I guess you don’t read that much haven’t you.. hahaha..

• kzm (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Ever heard of this –
      – Peugeot Concours Design Contest
      – GM Interactive Design Competition
      – Volkswagen Design Contest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Gumbo on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:48 pm

this is such a waste of time… No manner how awesome the design is the inner of the car still piece of crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • niterunner99 on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Why hv age limit? Why not open to all?
    Now is the time to show case talents! Hope they get many designs & fresh ideas!

• kzm (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Old people cannot pakai anymore..no fresh idea n come out with ugly design..better invest in youngling than old fart…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Yahya on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:14 am

that is a stupid answer kzm. It is like all your stupid comments the past few years here. You got nothing to say please shut up. Bodoh betul. Have respect for the elders. Kurang Ajar. Your parents never taught you to respect elders? Never told you not to call them old fart?

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:49 pm

kzm, is this how you really think? Few months ago, it was always racist comments from you, now, you are after the old people in Malaysia?

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Dun worry there are now in the process of monitoring,accessing and will decide who will stay and go especially in the service dept,Some of the svc ctr will close down to cut cost.Starting next year there will be a new much refined Campro to begin with though i cant reveal how many cubic capacity the engine is..Exora replacement,Saga replacement,Perdana replacement using own design..

• driver on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:01 am

for now, my only wish is lower FC, or hybrid. please listen.

• Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:49 pm

We don’t want any refined Campro. We just DON’T WANT ANY CAMPRO.

Please throw it away already!

• carjacker on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Opportunity for our kids to put Proton designers to shame!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • mim (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Aiya still many ppl dun understand the point of this competition..

Age was limited to below 25 (a.k.a uni student) because the winner will actually get internship with Proton design and RnD.. They need design input from the youth perspective, and also manpower.

This is a good move. Can find talented guy quickly. If not, how long Proton’s gonna wait for new young designers to step in? Not everybody has degree in Industrial/Automotive Design…and not all of them has talent to match their degree certificate…

• Mr TruthFact on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Warh..this is good lorr ^_^ Proton want to give chance to all Malaysian to try design future car especially for Gen-Y. No need to kutuk2 lahh..if you are not eligible coz of the age then ask your sister or brother maaa..i also hv good experience with my car when my power window problem. Their We Care very helpful..& i just know that Proton hv lifetime warranty for power window. U just need to do routine service with them..when i see their work then i know they really want to change…thank God coz i always go to Proton Service Centre :)

• Bataman on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:18 pm

I drive Proton too….but the lifetime warranty…do you really want to service at Proton SC for 10 years??

One power window switch don’t cost much…Service 10 years at Proton compare to service outside…how much??

Do the math wei.

• Since they have age limit, let some punk get them some rotten Lego design as champions

• chef poodah on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:08 pm

ohh..it’s a great opportunity for youth who hv talent to show their ideas in designing cars…perhaps can be recognized and acknowledge someday..

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:35 pm

err.. what happened to.. err.. Proton’s designers?

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Heads up to Theo!

• HAHAHA on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:18 pm

and all end up like this…..
    bitch please….
    http://paultan.org/2010/01/10/proton-employees-show-off-creative-concepts-at-its-2010-family-day-celebration/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Andas on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:48 am

just a photo and u have created 1001 story.. good eh?! this is for parade in proton’s familly day.. they build it from parts which was taken from p1 cars.. with limited budget around 3k to 5k.. and limited time around 3 to 4 weeks.. and they build it during out of office hour.. can u imagine? day time working in assembly line.. free time after work, they use it to design the car.. not so fantastic in term of design, but this is just show their best effort with so many constrain..

• wiralama on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:19 pm

I hope Theophilus Chin qualified to enter this competition…

• Aiya…overage already….

• Denaihati on Jun 24, 2014 at 10:54 pm

25 years old it is not youth anymore….heee. very-very attractive price. good luck to all participant.

• Yap Pei Lee on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Come on guys. dont be so close minded. Having this competition, is the right way to know what people nowadays prefer for the car design. Since you guys so good in giving comment for their design, now its your time to proof you can do better design than them.hahahaha . stop complaining,proof yourself!hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • shanmugam gnanapathy on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Good initiative to encourage Malaysian to come up with creative ideas, who knows that the design will be the new design that can make us all Malaysians proud!! Or what?? Or Same Lor will start a bashing session to the new design?haha. All the rubbish critics are making Malaysians not moving forward but backward. The Malaysians who are so enthusiastic in criticizing other’s initiatives are again pathetic and coward. talk but no walk. I am curious, are they paid to to such a thing? Because it is clear that they are trying to instigate people not to buy our local product. Whoever haters or lovers. Let us support our local brand, be it P1 or P2. I am a proud Malaysian and proud to support our local product!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Proton Quality Reputation on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:00 am

tambi, firstly you are not indian. You sound 100% a sybertrooper assigned to write good things on Proton. So obvious.

• Captain Meow on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:21 pm

you people ah… contest salah.. tak contest salah.. turun harga salah , tak turun harga salah.. i think you all have so much negativity about people.. go out and actually meet people.. if you think proton designer teruk.. u masuk lah contest tu.. since everybody is so interested with Proton…

btw.. Honda and MAzda recall millions of airbags.. i have yet to receive any email or calls from mazda.. die.. why dont want to bash honda and mazda.. i dont bash mazda and honda because i used to have Jazz.. love it.. now i have mazda.. don’t really like anymore.. but what to do.. but i never regret buying my exora..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • sohaipoton on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:29 am

sohai, proton keep quiet when defect was found in car. If not where got money for their pocket. Sales already poor and if happen something like this for them, sure straight bankcrap, and then will ask gome for our taxpayer money again…sohai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • roxas on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:32 pm

lol.. they no idea to design dy, so nd to curi some idea from different ppl. thn later proton designer will combine them into 1

• awan nano on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:01 am

City car;
    1. Turbodiesel engine
    2. Automatic tranny
    3. Kei car style (bontot kontot, senang maneuver n parking.
    4. High profile tyres (to smoothen ride over cratered city roads.
    5. Long wheel travel (also for smoother ride). After that suruh Lotus tune itu handling kasi mantap.

• paulman on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:09 am

Plus Rubberized Steel Body…

• truely malaysian on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:20 pm

a pick-up truck is the best choice of city car for our poor quality road, not to forget about who-knows-when flood in KL, only short fall is parking, but then you will get use to it.

• techsmart on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:07 am

Wawasan 2020 all over again. I remember back in primary school we were asked to draw our 2020 vision. It’s not going to happen…..

• buat design contest, last2 itu design di tong sampahkan..production keluar design level macam preve..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:19 am

Partly agree bro…Preve’s biggest design flaw is the rear lamp..aku design lg cantik kot..heheh..

• Jaybond on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:32 am

34 years of age boleh masuk ka? I’m interested la.

• myfuad on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:29 am

why not open to all ages..

• Qaseharjuna on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:05 am

Love to see all Malaysian are supporting their local company. Believe this competition is one way of it..Those haters pls stop blaming the designer anymore ya.

• Hebat Proton on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:13 am

Those who condemn the PROTON styling ought to be ashamed of themselves. Have they have any idea who is behind all the PROTON styling? they are very talented, enthusiastic and passionate group of people, these people breathe & live cars. Bustami graduated from Scuola Politecnica di Design, MK Fitri, Lobb, Zhafruddin, Siew CK, Halim are all very talented people. Work with the team for a day and you’ll appreciate the amount of effort, creativity and passion put into styling the cars. This competition is most probably a campaign to find their successor so that future proton cars will be the next trendsetter.
    Then again, talk is cheap, submit your sketches then judge for yourself before criticising PROTON design.

• Proton Quality Reputation on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:58 am

If the design team is so good, why is sales so bad now?

2) Why are so many people complaining about the quality?

3) Why does most parts of Proton fail?

4) Why is Proton asking the government for so much of money yearly?

If they are so talented, there won’t be so much of complaints?

• Proton quality on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:59 pm

2) How many is so many?
        3) What are the parts that failed, list them
        Most failed probably due to void of warranty as the vehicles are sent to unauthorised workshops.
        All authorised PROTON Edar service centre are updated with the latest service bulletin that rectifies any issue detected before the customer realise it.

4) money in what way, if incentives then they deserve it for locally designed and manufactured cars.

If you open up a car company, locally design & built in Malaysia, won’t you want to enjoy the same incentive?

Sales so bad so it’s the Styling fault? have you ever pay a visit? learn the design process? and appreciate the complexity that comes in manufacturing a car? don’t you realise not 100% of the original idea went as final production, is this their fault too?

The parts fail are supplied by OEM vendor not PROTON which by right have gone through tough homologation procedure, to comply both the local Vehicle Type Approval requirement by JPJ and the international UNECE Regulation, all the testing extensively done by PROTON the only capable so far in Malaysia, yet final quality issue is still PROTON’s fault not the vendors?

Protest to the vendors. Contribute by joining this contest today to prove your creativeness.

• rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:59 pm

I have BMW and proton it seem more endurance than BMW. If you really have experience of driving car you know the quality of Proton. If you only look at bad thing that a propaganda to destroy Proton and the country that why Singapore (design by the west) have a very strict law for people like you or china resort to communist to make sure all of you listen.

• im not trying to bash but if these people put some serious tought on design, why cant they blardy design the back part properly? refer preve, suprima, savvy, etc. The new proton gsc doesn’t impresses me very much, but i reserve that tought when the product launches

• Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:46 pm

If so damn good, why come up with ugly shitz like Preve and Suprima?
      The front still not too bad, the rears are total rubbish, not to mention the interiors. I would like to submit my sketches, but my age disqualified me, thanks to Proton idiotic age-ist policy.

• sohaipoton on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:26 am

Just participate and win the prize. But don’t expect the design to be come out on 2020. Because by then proton already “tutup kedai”….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • I recon most of you are getting carried away, its just a PR exercise as Proton is also using this competition as to get malaysian confident by listening to rakyat.I’m being neutral.

• toyol on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:36 am

sembang lebih…org open utk korang design sendiri kutuk lak..nampak sgt la yg cakap lebih tu tin kosng..ntah2 naik kancil je

• I was a little confused when I read the tittle of the competition: Proton City Car. It sounded like Proton is intended to build a city to manufacture cars (which is already its current situation). After second thought I realized that proton is designing a car for urban usage. I think a more appropriate title for the competition would be Proton Urban-concept Car Designing Competition 2014.

• voiddance on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Oh man, there are so many stupid commentor in Paultan nowadays.

• Just A Nobody on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Been eyeing for such opportunity, lucky me I’m still eligible.
    Though years have I quit sketching, and on a verge of giving up my childhood dreams of designing automobile, I will give my best to submit atleast an entry. Winning an internship will definitely be a great break through, since didn’t really have the chance going for tertiary education due to financial problem, so yeah. Thank you very much Proton and Tun M *I’m pretty sure this is your idea, 2020 is so synonymous with your name sir* :)

• “Win internship with Proton”

This is the part I like.

• truely malaysian on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Why so difficult (please read out in very sarcastic way), just ask our beloved TM to design the new car for 2020, he has to approve it at the end f the day anyway.

• v-power on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:22 pm

I’ve been doodling & drawing cars on paper for as long as I can recall…it’s just a passion I have for cars since a very early age. It took me years of practice and perfecting my strokes and techniques, before the creations that I came up with would at the very least…be worthy of a piece of crumpled sketch you would normally find scattered about on the floor in a professional car designer’s studio…

Sadly, car designing didn’t materialise as a vocation during my uni days due to parental decisions(and I’ve been regretting it ever since), but I still continue to car doodle even now just to pass the time here and then…

So my question to Proton is – WHY? How do you justify organising such a technically-demanding design competition to someone as young as 13…?

Well then Proton, don’t expect an Ian Cullum or Peter Shreyer masterpiece on paper. Most of the young uns’ creations would probably be your ‘stickman’ equivalent, a Gaban-inspired space-type four-wheeler, or even a fascinating Piccaso-esque creation…which is not all bad actually, since we can never have enough of good fine art prodigies…

But…what you won’t get is a design…that is worthy of the next Proton global car or whatnot. And most of those who can produce such creations are in the prime bracket of between 30 & 40yrs of age (yours truly included)…

Oh well, it’s Proton…so why do I care so much how they’re running things now…? The damage has already been done…in 1985.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Why referring to the past please move forward and grow up. If I look at you may be 40 years ago you can’t speak or so poor or somewhere in the world. But today you behaving like trying to damage Proton. Why hate Proton so much, you are so bad last time but thing improving day by day but Toyota still can’t make the paint last forever why don’t you complain or the design so ugly after 10 years say some thing about Toyota like what we did 30 years ago.

• Rotary Wannabe on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Mazda also do that but by profesional la…”Styling was developed via design competitions in Mazda tradition among its design studios in Japan, the US, and Europe. The lead designer was Ikuo Maeda, the son of Matasaburo Maeda (the lead designer on the original Mazda RX-7).[4] The project obtained official approval from management, and eventually the RX-8 concept car (design/engineering model) was produced and shown in 2001, closer resembling the production version. A near-production “reference exhibit” RX-8 was shown shortly thereafter at the 2001 Tokyo Motor Show, pending final approval for production. Production RX-8 closely resembles this vehicle save for minor trim details, and “job 1″ began in February 2003 at Mazda’s Hiroshima plant in Japan.”

• Proton’s R&D Creative Design Centre? Is there such center at all? :D well good luck to all the participants!

• Whynot on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Finally they are now listening to my advice. This is a good start from Proton as Malaysian are not a dumb and stupid lot. There are plenty of talented artists and brains living in Malaysia by lacks opportunity because of bias policies. To be fair to all competitors. Please shows us the best 30 designs selected in the finalist to let the whole of Malaysian votes for the best. Don’t play tricks or cheating please! I believes there will be at least more than a hundred brilliant designs that would stand out in the competition!

• Roozbeh Saadati on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:54 pm

where is the online address that we can send our design to?
    we should email our design to what address?

• oh about that…. U can submit the design by filling up the online form at http://citycar2020.proton.com and upload the design by scan in PDF format not larger than 25MB or u just can mail to
      #PROTONCITYCAR2020
      PO BOX 7162
      PEJABAT POS BESAR SHAH ALAM
      40704 SHAH ALAM

• amirul on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:48 am

Cakap banyak x guna .. Buat x pun..

• haiya.. banyak betul alasan proton quality bagitau.. tolong lah terima kritikan org mengenai proton, sbb tu lh jualan proton merudum,, still syok sendiri, org x kesah berapa berbakat designer korang, org nk tengok kereta yg keluar setanding dgan pengeluar lain.. kalau byk alasan sangat, x payah buat kereta lh,

• rogaz on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:10 pm

This business like used car outlet. They sell low quality car with so many problem whatever car in the market. Tell everybody about this practice let every body know what they do. How they cheat people. Oh please.

• bit too late

• ramadhan on Jun 26, 2014 at 10:46 am

YES, bualan ramadhan dah dekat sangat. Selamat beribadah.

• syazwan on Jun 28, 2014 at 3:50 pm

It should contain a conceptual design, chosen final design, analysis of body structure (simple structural surfaces), body flow simulation..so we can evaluate our car on its performance..

• Eh, come on people, what’s with the comment insulting kids and young people, they doing this not because their designer is incapable, yes I do agree with stuff like Proton is very limited in most design like Inspira or the new Perdana where they had to copy, but that doesn’t mean they’re totally incapable. The point of having this competition is to seek for capable young people that society did not realize that they actually exist. Instead of being left out, Proton open this competition so that people can participate and who knows? boom! suddenly a fresh and original design instead of another Honda or Mitsubishi based design. Think positive people, it gives young people more opportunity, probably more chance of getting a job in this field in the future. Stop saying stuff like kids don’t know anything about car design. You’re judging people like a kid yourself.

• Foong on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Well, age limit really turn me off, why not category 3 for age 26 till 50, cause these category mostly drive all the time on the road, they been facing the jam all the time,what i meant here since jam only can be look around cars or next driver or even else… of course….effort to purchase based on exterior who attract ….. please allow 3 category participant it… thanks….

• Bataman on Jul 04, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Why is there an age limit? They only intend the cars for Genearion Ah Beng?

Without doubt, will be another failed car with failed design.

The best car Proton ever did was the Inspira…because it’s a rebadge! If they have brains, instead of wasting time on another failed design with failed call, just rebadge the Honda City and called it Proton City. Immediate winrar at RM70k for top V spec!

• Should do the contest for kids as the future PM..

• Kugan on Jul 06, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Go and learn from Hyundai…period….noob heads

• Redsestren on Jul 06, 2014 at 5:00 pm

even i am fully qualified……i still wont participate. Damn lame of Proton, and waste of my time and effort.

Sorry proton.

• eh guys, I got a question here. Y the form writes category 2 need to summit 3/4 front view, 3/4 rear view and rear view perspectives while Anthony wrote need to summit 3/4 front view, side view and rear view perspectives? Which is correct 1? Or the meaning just the same that I mixed it up?

• I cant believe this is what the readers think of the competition. First and foremost its only an awareness campaign to motivate teens and graduates. They even offer internship to the best designers. Wtf has this got to do with future/current protons cars or even the management of the company? It has nothing to do with Protons next cars u dumbasses, just a harmless competition to perk enthusiasm for the industry or give some poor but talented kids the chance to show their stuff to the automaker.

Seriously ashamed to read such negative remarks on a harmless competition. For all we know those with great skills n creativity c this as an oppurtunity to win a mac to accompany them through uni or even use this as a portfolio when they wish to participate in the ihdustry. Is that also wrong?

This is so sad. Really really sad

• Diesel_Is_Better!! on Jul 12, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Why proton still wanna come out with a city car? they already have Saga, Persona, and Preve. Just come out something different to capture the buyer. For eg, come out a SUV with 7 seater and sell it below rm60k, i bliv it will sell like a hot cake. Where is the Suv concept based on Exora? There is almost no competitor for SUV below rm60k and only livina xgear and rush in the sub-100k segment! See how good was the response when Haval hints to introduce their Suv for below rm50k Please Proton, sell something that people want, not what you want!

• Bataman on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Proton City can fight with Honda City mah. If all failed, just rebadge Honda City become Proton City. Winrar.