Local Toyota models unaffected by latest airbag recall

2002-toyota-camry

More news related to the latest airbag recall involving vehicles affected by Japanese auto parts manufacturer Takata Corp’s faulty airbag inflator modules, an issue that first surfaced last year and involved Toyota, Honda, Nissan and Mazda recalling around 3.4 million vehicles worldwide.

UMW Toyota has confirmed that local Toyota models are not affected by the current global recall exercise. According to a report by The Sun, UMW Toyota has said it has received confirmation from Toyota Motor Corp that none of the automaker’s vehicles sold locally are involved in the latest recall announcement.

In April last year, UMW Toyota issued a safety recall on approximately 18,700 units of the Toyota Camry and Toyota Corolla Altis manufactured from year 2000 to 2003 to address the issue of an improperly manufactured passenger side front airbag inflator. In an accident, the inflator could rupture and prevent the airbag from deploying properly.

Yesterday, Honda Malaysia announced a recall on four of its models as part of a larger global recall of 2,033,000 Honda vehicles worldwide over the same issue, concerning the front passenger airbag. Local models involved are the 2001-2003 Honda Stream, 2002-2003 Honda Jazz, 2003 Honda City and 2003 Honda Accord.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 12:58 pm

tentu no recall la…pasal dalam kereta airbag pun tak ada…hanya 2 airbag pun consider luxury sudah …kan UMW?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 3
    • carazy on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Mighty UMW!!! sure escape major worldwide T recall.. thats why many ppl still buy their cars, even shitty spec vehicle compared to the recalled cars (in the whole world).. good jobbb UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:58 pm

UMW ni kerajaan punya. majoriti share owned by permodalan nasional berhad (PNB)

govt doesnt care the no. of airbags in the car. just doesnt bother.

and the actual fact is toyota can sell vios as cheap as persona/myvi SE. but proton will close shop as an effect. perodua also may close shop. govt will never allow that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • dugongx on Jun 26, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Exactly…no airbags in toyotas here how to fail?

• Same L0r on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Good build quality
    Comfort
    Long-term follow up on car quality (even for 11 years old car)
    Good RV
    Fuel Saving

Now you know why Toyota is so popular in Malaysia and worldwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 88
    • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:45 pm

How to trust UMW? We are talking about a company who consciously took out VSC just to untung lebih at the expense of the lives of Malaysian.

First it was the Camry. All over the world, the Camry came with 8 airbags and VSC. But in Malaysia, UMW made sure we got only 2 airbags and no VSC. In their mind, they don’t care if you die or not, janji can untung lebih. Then when sales were so bad because everybody boycott, they introduced VSC into the Camry. But still made sure only 2 airbags given to Malaysians.

So, how to trust a company who takes our lives for granted? Can you be 100% sure that our CKD cars are not affected?

If someone has lied and lied and lied and lied to you for so long saying VSC and more airbags are not necessary for safety, how to believe what UMW says?

When one considers human life as insignificant, they can do anything. I mean anything.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0r on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:40 pm

All over the world, only Malaysia has a blood sucker called “Proton”.

Because of Proton, people have to pay soooo much more for Toyota.

Proton didn’t have any VSC and airbags as well, thus Malaysian didn’t request it. And to save cost, Toyota low end model has no VSC. Even Perodua don’t have VSC. Hyundai Kia less than RM100k also no VSC, so what you complain about?

People buy Toyota not because it has VSC and 8 airbags. UMW Malaysia never use these for marketing also. People buy UMW because it is comfort, reliable, and good RV.

People buy Proton not because Preve/Suprima S has VSC also. They buy Proton because it is cheap. When Proton get expensive, no one interested. Thus why Preve/Suprima S sales so bad.

You wanna complain Toyota cheat you? I dare you go close down the leech company Proton first. Put a fair, open, no bias platform for Toyota to compete, then Toyota will offer more on lower price.

You think Toyota so afraid to give VSC, 8 airbags, HUD, this and that? You dare to close down Proton, remove NAP, vanish AP, we dare to sell 86 below RM100k. Camry at RM90k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 56
        • GrayImports on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:57 pm

What i see here is an idiotic ass hole TOYOTA Sales Advisor trying to say that HIS toyota selling an over priced car compromising people’s lives is ok as long as it’s comfortable and if you want safety then pay more money. Why not we compare their HIDEOUS looking Vios vs the Honda CITY . Top spec (TRD) to top spec (V) Honda have 6 airbags, VSA, 5star safety rating (based on previous gen). Idiotic VIOS have 2 airbags, no VSC, 4star safety rating (also based on previous gen).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0r on Jun 26, 2014 at 4:20 pm

The typical Toyota basher can only bash on
            1. Outlook
            2. Airbags
            3. VSC
            4. Nothing else.
            5. Nothing else LAR!

No car is perfect, so does Toyota. Good car not cheap, cheap car not good. You want a balance between it? That’s why people look for Toyota. Of course some also look for Honda, Nissan etc. Free trade world, NO PROTECTION NEEDED!

Yes, Honda City top spec has everything, but it doesn’t have comfort and build quality like Toyota. You can go for it, no one stop you.

The basher who is addicted to words like “asshole”, “idiot”, normally Proton drivers who can’t even get themselves close to foreign car. I understand your pain with Proton. We all do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
          • Vader (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 8:15 am

This same l0r is same person of shame loo? So this is same person by different ID as shame loo, same lot, masukroti, shameshowmejialat.. What else..
            But you have the point, umw poor on:
            1. Outdated engine
            2. Outdated gearbox
            3. Minimization of safety features like vac, air bags …
            4. Outlook of the car
            5. Overprice
            Besides these, others should be ok gua!!!

• Same L0r on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:34 am

Outdated doesn’t mean it is bad. Your eyeball and your butt are thousands year old design, and it can last for 100 years if you take care of yourself.

Outdated or not, doesn’t matter, as long as it is RELIABLE.

Good looking or not, is very subjective also. You don’t like? never mind. Waiting period still long!

Lastly, VSC, airbags, you can get these in Altis and Camry. Ohh.. you never knew these models are available, do you? so you think Toyota = Vios only?

Because you can’t afford Altis/Camry, so you never bother to learn more?

This is the typical consequence of Proton- The owner can’t never get upgrade on their next car, because the RV so bad.

• MazdaTheAwakening on Jun 26, 2014 at 10:13 am

No doubt Toyota will provide 8 airbags, HUD, VSC and lots of safety features but then I don’t think UMW will.

• Rambo Ramsey on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:34 pm

hoi stupid. Ford can provide all that at lower price. Kia too. All proton fault again? Even VW provide safety more than stupid vios.

• Same L0r on Jun 26, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Which VW model is same price as Vios?

You show your stupidity when you call people stupid.

Tell me which Kia, Ford models has such features and space, yet same price range as Vios?

Toyota Altis, Camry, Prius, 86, even little Prius C has VSC and multiple airbags. You blind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • dugongx on Jun 27, 2014 at 10:17 pm

None…..since they are all cheaper and much higher spec compared to the equivalent rip of junk from toyota.

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:04 pm

All over the world, Altis got VSC. Malaysian Altis, got no VSC. Only high end RM139k model got VSC.

That is why, you cannot see many Altis on the road. People know UMW have low regard for the lives of Malaysians. Their attitude is this, “die die lah”

If you had VSC in your car, chances of you being dead or vegetable is minimised tremendously.

In US, Altis only US$15,000. Come with 8 airbags and got VSC.

Try to see how many new model Altis on the road. But you see Elantra quite a lot. This is because for RM80,000, it comes with VSC. RM80k vs RM139k.

Elantra is RM60k cheaper and comes better specced with VSC.

Hard to trust UMW lah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0r on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:51 pm

When you buy low end Toyota, you know it doesn’t have VSC! It is clearly stated in the brochure! So where did UMW cheat you?

Same as when you buy C class, you know it has VSC but it cost RM200k++! It is clearly stated in the brochure. Do you think Mercedes con you?

People don’t buy car because it has VSC. It is good to have options. Just like people don’t buy a house because it has more doors.

Safety feature, is something you will meet once or twice in lifetime. I do admit it is critical during accident. But build quality and comfort, is something you deal with every sec you are in the car. That’s why people so keen on buying Toyota.

Further more, people don’t buy Toyota high end because it has VSC. So what is your problem?

If you can’t afford Toyota high end but you need a VSC desperately, go for Preve/Suprima S pls, or your Elantra. You will know what you get compared to Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
        • dugongx on Jun 26, 2014 at 9:28 pm

The way I see it only ah bengs and pasar aunties which are uneducated buy toyotas fr UMW these days. Same Lor can continue to cheat them. Karma will bite you one day.

• trollolo on Jun 28, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Why same lor so b***hurt with proton? Did your vios got accident with preve and ended you being hospitalized because your car lack of safety features while the preve driver escaped unscathed?… lol…

• Same Lor 2 on Jul 04, 2014 at 11:35 am

Do you know why M’sian cry foul with so little safety features in a car? Because all of them are bad and lousy drivers who do not know the rules of driving. Really! Put all of them in a driving test in a foreign country example in UK, AU or NZ they all will fail miserably!!!
          In NZ most cars came with standard safety features similar to M’sian cars BUT accident rate is at it’s low. Why? Because they care, the respect the law, they follow rules and regulations, they follow speed limits, etc….. As for M’sians they don’t do all the above.

• Heng Lee on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Worldwide? Your talking about Toyota’s 4 percent market share in Europe? :D

• kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Abisla kena bash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Every post also you like to say “abisla kena bash”

You like people to fight is it? You like disharmony is it?

Why don’t you give some constructive criticisms?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:38 pm

I want to dispute this “Why don’t you give some constructive criticisms?”…can u reflect on to urself..even u can’t give constructive comment but ask other to do so..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Tell me if this constructive comment writen by u on 26/5/2014 at 4:14 pm

“Proton makes toilet cars.”

• kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 6:01 pm

even ur username is not very constructive.. u insulting me just bcoz I gave my opinion n u cannot accept..this is freedom of free speech/writing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • DonkeyKong on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:14 pm

LOL your butthurt and taking things personally is so funny. Are you a teenager who takes everything on the Internet seriously?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Then tell me y that people get annoyed when I get a bit rasis n use out off-place word people start condeming me..y they take it seriously?

• Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm) on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Are you stupid or something? Racism is not proper. It should not be tolerated at all. If you think it is proper, you must be so dumb. You are the sort that condone the atuk rogol the cucu and yet you boleh maaf maafkan.

• Don’t critize people racism especially in this country, certain race is meant to have more benefit, regardless the individual is rich or poor.

Stop imagine you are living in the states.

• BOYRACER on Jun 25, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Wow!UMW Toyota is simply the best auto maker in Malaysia.Worldwide ordering recall but in Malaysia no recall.
    Next time buy Toyota from Malaysia.Don’t buy from other countries.Always recall.
    *sarcasm mode*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • MycarMylife on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Ha ha , Umw never featured Airbags in their MDM ( Malaysia Domestic types at all , smart move

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • DonkeyKong on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm

As usual, none of the UMW models are ever affected by any global recall. Anyone with half a brain can figure out what’s going on while anyone with less than half a brain will keep on buying Toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Steve Jobs on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:25 pm

“Local Toyota models unaffected by latest airbag recall”

Airbag pun tara.mau recall apa.

hahahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • Bill Gates on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:50 pm

thank God I chose Lexus instead of Toyota

I won’t be seeing you so soon Stevie

• Jayden Koo on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Toyota buyers in Malaysia don’t have to worry at all. As long as your car is supplied by UMW Toyota, they will be zero defect, perfect built, have a peace of mind … :D

• mycar on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Bull shit. I am using an altis and met accident almost major back and fron at 60km/hour, the airbag doesnot inflate at all. Now i doubt that Toyota airbags is just good for nothing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • DonkeyKong on Jun 25, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Next time you should double check to see if they even put in any airbags at all. Maybe UMW just put airbags etc on spec sheet but didn’t install those stuff to cut cost for the sake of their directors getting a few million ringgit bonus

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 2:59 pm

The day when UMW will actually recall, that is the day hell will freeze over.

They can’t be bothered anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • albag on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Toyota itself means safety.. The logo will protect the drivers and passengers even crashed at the speed of 100 kmh. UMW smart.. Removing those unnecessary extra features.. While other countries doing recalls we just relax..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:37 pm

I wonder who is the airbag supplier for toyota. Do they dare to reveal?

• Storm on Jun 25, 2014 at 3:43 pm

When ever there is recall, for sure Malaysia is not affected. Not just car, food (Milk powder) also same.

Malaysia always not affected.

• sokdeo on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:52 pm

dont say like that lahhh.. when cadbury UK have no vavi, cadbury malaysia got vavi inside one… but the n sekejap only lah, suddenly back to no vavi. just like haze, yesterday got, today clear maaaaa…

y worry… when i was in school, malaysia population was 19 millions… today 29 millions.. last time no airbag, today also no airbag what…. seeee, no airbag still can fcuk at night tomorrow baby comeout what!!!?

• kereta kompak on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Toyota/ UMW story not like goreng pisang news to Paultanians. They want Proton News!! No matter how bad the other car is, they don’t bother.

p/s: Can’t wait GSC to be launched.

• ini umw air ada, itu bag saja tadaa..

• What makes Local assembled Toyota & Honda so special??? I think we have been fooled by all these car company by taking advantage of our tidak apa culture.

• hmmmm…so far almost every worldwide recalls never affect Malaysian market. We must have the best sourced products…

• Tiger on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:10 pm

At least Toyota, GM, HONDA, recall “minor flaws” on their models, unlike some who think “tingkaptakbolehnaik” is just a small matter…do u know tat a ” minor flaw” can lead to fatal incidents…imagine u need to open the auto tingkap during emergency to escape…even opening the door to pay tol due to tingkaptakbolehnaik can lead to dangerous momentary distraction

• When everytime there is worldwide recall exercise by Toyota, surely they said Malaysia market not affected. Weird. How low they value fellow Malaysian life…

• dugongx on Jun 26, 2014 at 9:32 pm

lower than maggots according to UMW

• Yar Lor 2 on Jul 04, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Think deeper a little.
      IF an accident happens and lives are taken away due to the faulty airbags then you know what will happened to UMW and TOYOTA? They will pay until their pants drop!!!
      They have made a public announcement that the airbag problem does not affect the M’sian produced cars and if shit happens you know what to do la.

• Proton?
    17 years power window problem still no recall. Becos don’t know how to solved this design fault.
    Saga brakes problem – 5 year old problem , no recall.
    Campro engine leak engine oil and overheating, no recall.
    Preve and exora engine cannot stop even key pulled out no recall.
    Preve and exora engine stalled while driving, no recall.

• audi A3 on Jun 29, 2014 at 12:20 am

pity sam poor ! ups.. umw @ toyota so stingy…even the new altis 2.0G didnt put LED daylight!LOL! the cost i think juz RM20 bothside only… the chepest thing cant give, air bag, etc, lg lahhh….ppttuuiiii!…:p

• Same Lor 2 on Jul 04, 2014 at 11:41 am

To all the TOyota bashers out there….you guys are really idiots do you know.
    Toyota is a damn good carmaker and have been producing and supplying great cars globally.
    It is just unfortunate that UMW screws things up in M’sia. SO if you want to bash it is not TOyota but UMW. If you know what I mean…common sense la! if you guys have any.

• Rusmah on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Toyota, shame on u!
    2014 post such little car affected.
    Now, there are lots of affected car not receive letter!!