Toyota Fuel Cell Sedan unveiled – production version to go on sale in Japan in 2015, priced at US$69k

Toyota_FCV_03

Toyota has unveiled the production version of its hydrogen fuel cell sedan, which was first shown as the FCV Concept at last year’s Tokyo Motor Show. Only the exterior has been revealed for now, and shows a shape that has largely been retained from the Tokyo preview.

The general flow of the exterior remains, with some minor changes to the front grille design – the side diamond/honeycomb-shaped layout has been replaced by a more conventional look, and there are fewer slats to the centre unit.

At the back, a levelling splitter finds its way on, and the production car features a regular-looking fuel filler flap cutout. The wheel design, meanwhile, has been carried over.

The automaker hasn’t divulged the technical specs of the FCS, but based on the concept states that the car will have an operating range of around 700 km (on a JC08 cycle measurement), which is 200 km more than that bandied for the FCV Concept.

Toyota_FCV_04

Based on the concept, the FCS should also retain its four-seater layout. The study measures 4.87 metres long, which is 45 mm longer than a Camry, and has a 2,780 mm-long wheelbase. Refueling time is claimed to be as low as three minutes, about the same time it takes to tank up a regular petrol-powered vehicle.

In Tokyo, the FCV Concept was showcased with a powertrain made up of a proprietary small, lightweight 3 kW/l fuel cell stack and two 70mPa high-pressure hydrogen tanks located beneath the specially-designed body.

The current fuel cell stack, with a power output of around 100 kW, offers twice as much power output density as the earlier stack in use on the FCHC-adv concept. The FC system is also equipped with a high-efficiency boost converter.

Toyota says the Fuel Cell Sedan will be launched in Japan next year, before April, priced at approximately seven million yen (US$69k, or RM222k), following which it will be introduced in the US and selected European markets in the summer of 2015.

Toyota Fuel Cell Sedan (FCS)

Toyota FCV Concept

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Welcome to a new era of green technology. But i am guessing we Malaysians will need to wait at least 10-15 years for this tech to come in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Buy Proton Preve hybrid, coming soon next year according to Proton goons.

Tak beli nanti tuan penasihat marah-marah rakyat lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm) on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:48 pm

You trust Proton with Hybrid? the company got no money lah. Virtually bankrupt. When do come out with the hybrid, they would not have the money to test the safety of the battery and would roll out production substandard due to lack of money.

Proton Hybrid will sure to explode. But of course you got your kampung dudes like kzm who will be first in line to buy it to support the dying company.

• Same L0r on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Maybe 20-40 years, maybe never.

Government won’t allow the technical gap between Toyota and Proton to be widened larger and larger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Green on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:44 pm

highlights: Refuelling Time = 3minutes.

This is just as fast as petrol filling.

• azrai on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Perodua Eliana, minus those hydrogen engine. It will be fitted with Avanza/Alza 1.5 engine. By the way, it’s fugly. Really fugly..

• OMG…look great from the front…but the rear look a bit cacat loh…puih…

• this is the future..better than electric car. TQ Toyota

• opaixx on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:54 pm

errr.. FCV is still an electric car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • taboogen on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:19 pm

thats show where malaysian metality is. tried to say something smart but actually its a duxb axx comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Obviously (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:00 pm

He’s not that much off the mark. A fuel-cell vehicle is essentially an electric motor driven car with a hydrogen fuel-cell supplying the electricity instead of a battery.

It’s not like they burn the hydrogen in an internal combustion engine.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Lol..fuel cell car oso electric car..instead using battery they use chemical reaction to produce electricity..suppose u said better than “battery” electric car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Heng Lee on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Thank you Toyota?

Audi:

2004 – Audi A2H2-hybrid vehicle
      2009 – Audi Q5-FCEV[2]

BMW:

2002 – BMW 750hl
      2010 – BMW 1 Series Fuel-cell hybrid electric[3]

Chrysler:

2000 – Jeep Commander II-hybrid vehicle-Commercial
      2001 – Chrysler Natrium-hybrid vehicle
      2003 – Jeep Treo-Fuel cell

Daimler:

1994 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 1
      1996 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 2
      1997 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 3
      1999 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 4
      2000 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 5
      2002 – Mercedes-Benz F-Cell based on the Mercedes-Benz A-Class
      2005 – Mercedes-Benz F600 Hygenius
      2009 – Mercedes-Benz F-CELL Roadster
      2009 – Mercedes-Benz F-Cell based on the Mercedes-Benz B-Class[4]

Fiat:

2001 – Fiat Seicento Elettra H2 Fuel Cell-hybrid vehicle
      2003 – Fiat Seicento Hydrogen-hybrid vehicle
      2005 – Fiat Panda Hydrogen-Fuel cell
      2008 – Fiat Phyllis-Fuel cell
      2008 – Fiat Panda-Fiat Panda HyTRAN[5]
      Ford:

2000 – Ford Focus FCV-Fuel cell. Note however that Ford Motor Company has dropped its plans to develop hydrogen cars, stating that “The next major step in Ford’s plan is to increase over time the volume of electrified vehicles”.[6]
      2006 – F-250 Super Chief a Tri-Flex engine concept pickup.

General Motors:

1966 – GM Electrovan-Fuel cell
      2001 – HydroGen3-Fuel cell
      2002 – GM HyWire-Fuel cell
      2005 – GM Sequel-hybrid vehicle
      2006 – Chevrolet Equinox Fuel Cell[7]
      2007 – HydroGen4[7]

Honda:

2002 – Honda FCX – hybrid vehicle
      2007 – Honda FCX Clarity – Hydrogen Fuel cell – Production model

Hyundai:

2001 – Hyundai Santa Fe FCEV-Fuel cell
      2010 – Hyundai Tucson-ix35 FCEV-Fuel cell[8]

Lotus Engineering:

2010 – Black Cab-Fuel cell[9]

Kia:

2009 – Kia Borrego FCEV-Fuel cell[10]
      Peugeot:

2004 – Peugeot Quark
      2006 – Peugeot 207 Epure
      2008 – H2Origin-Fuel cell
      Volkswagen:

2000 – VW Bora Hy-motion-Fuel cell
      2002 – VW Bora Hy-power-Fuel cell
      2004 – VW Touran Hy-motion-Fuel cell
      2007 – VW space up! blue

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fuel_cell_vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • I hate copy and paste on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:49 pm

I was so impressed by your reply, right until when u revealed its actually cut & paste from Wiki.

Bravo, Heng Lee. You sure do hate Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
        • Obliviate on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:18 am

Well at least he had a point,rather than just takling nosence without the true facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • kington on Jun 26, 2014 at 9:26 am

But did mamy of these models made it to production?

• anonymous on Jun 25, 2014 at 8:12 pm

u know wiki is not a reliable source right?

• qwerty on Jun 26, 2014 at 9:28 am

It is true that Toyota did not invent the tech, just like how they did not invent the hybrid tech. But, they are the one who mass-produce the hybrid tech and make it reachable by the public. With the introduction of their FCV, fuel cell will be a common thing.

Credits have to be given to whom who deserves the credit.

• Heng Lee on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:41 am

And where to get the hydrogen from? In Malaysia you even won’t get EURO5 Diesel everywhere?

• W204 C63 AMG on Jun 26, 2014 at 6:58 pm

stupidest reply ever. this is a mass production car, those that you listed aren’t, they are concepts.

• Heng Lee on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:39 am

2007 – Honda FCX Clarity – Hydrogen Fuel cell – Production model

You know what a ‘production model’ is, Mr. Toyota salesman?

• so ugly, can’t they design it nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • triplew on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:19 pm

haha i tot it’s Prever from the rear photo

• shake z on Jun 26, 2014 at 11:05 pm

well, it’s function over form. Toyota just ‘reserve’ the better design for the other models…

• Can this car sell?

For US market, top up another 11grand you will get Dodge Viper.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:50 pm

even without the technology, the looks of this car is while not pretty….pretty striking to be honest

• Denaihati on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:51 pm

should be extremely interesting. waiting for recond car if any.

• grayimports on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:19 pm

And…. you’ll have an extreamly hard time finding a place to refuel . We don’t and mostprobably won’t have a hydrogen refueling station anytime soon.

• Mat Rocco on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:54 pm

I have never seen any car uglier than this!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • LeYuv on Jun 25, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Technology achievements apart, it looks absolutely hideous.. I honestly can’t think of any of Toyota’s new cars being particularly pretty since the Supra (I might have missed a couple but you catch my drift). Also, Lexus doesn’t count as Toyota.. Also, GT86 isn’t exactly that pretty.

• very innovative green tech n good FC. But can improve a bit on d design? although i know msia hav to wait many yrs b4 they import it

• Vios’s future relative

• taboogen on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:21 pm

want this car available.. then have to ensure hydrogen is available cheap lah.. only factory producing i think is MOX. a but then people will say crony company since they the only one producing the gas.

• Susukotak on Jun 26, 2014 at 6:15 am

As far as I know. Another company is Gas Pantai Timur. MOX = linde.

• Bryan on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Is this look even necessary ? Did their management say that because its a hybrid/fuel cell car, it has to look abnormal so we can sell less of it?

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Talk about being late to the game.

Honda’s FCX Clarity has been running for what now? 7 years?

• AVH (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 6:10 pm

It could’ve look so much better if would have some bigger wheels…..MUCH bigger wheels. As my Shitty 10 minute render here demonstrate my point of view.
    http://imgur.com/jeGQ5KN
    As of now, it looks like a C-segment sedan fitted with A-segment wheels.

Anyhow, USD$69k is still a huge price, it is more than a E550 in the US of A and about the same as the equally brilliant Tesla Model S. All for a car thou technically at the cutting edge of technology, no more powerful than a 2.0l Honda Civic. Add to the fact unlike Tesla’s Model S or any other electric car for that matter, it still needs a fueling station and Hydrogen fueling station isn’t the cheapest to built and as of now there is only 10 stations in Northern America. Than there is Hydrogen themselve. FCV are powered by compress Hydrogen and making them requires more energy and that energy would come from electric power station that are Nuclear, gas or coal powered, bringing back to weather is this truly enviromentally friendly or not.

True electric cars also suffers the same critisicm, that the ‘clean’ electric energy coming in isn’t technically clean. But Hydrogen goes the extra length by converting electric to compressing Hydrogen to liquid hydrogen which than has to be delivered by dirty Diesel lorries to the fuel station, and extra more hassle than electric coming straight from the Power Station. But! FCV don’t have Bettries, and betteries by majority comes from the rare-earth plants and processing plants, mostly in China. And given how we dislike the Lynas project I’am sure we dont . and when the time comes to dispose of those batteries (they do have shelf live), it would be a massive enviromental problem. These things are not a problem for FCV cars and therefore, during their manufecturing to the disposing, they are much cleaner than pure-EV cars. And when Trucks becomes FCV and Hydrogen station becomes more abundant, Hydrogens are the way.

Fuel cells are more compact package and their power to weight ratio(power produced to system weight) makes them much better choice than electric vehicles. Also contrary to believes, it takes much more to make Hydrogen tanks go Kaboom. In any sense I still believe Hydrogen cars to be the way forward. Also the fact their easier to distribute during a natural disaster means that the Japanese are planning to use their Hydrogen cars as mini power station.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Dats a sad n confused rear end

• T should really consider getting new designers for their cars

• Joker on Jun 25, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Hmm… it’s ugly..
    I prefer Tesla Model S more!!!

• the tech is great but the design… err..

• hence on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Yuckk!! Hediousss!!

• fugly on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:11 pm

only one word … FUGLY

• fatchicken on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:02 pm

This hydro car is simply beautiful !!!!! I want a pink metallic version !!

• TheDean on Jun 25, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Two words: Aaah Gleee.

• simon on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:38 am

This design really demonstrates how ugly a car can become.

• DrCooper on Jun 26, 2014 at 6:49 am

Design alone does not appeal me to buy it

• wow this is an ugly car!

• Peter on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:25 pm

What’ll happen if an accident appeared?

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 26, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Don’t know what the big grille for? Air traps? Air drag?

• innovative on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:01 am

Another retarded design by Toyota. Too exaggerate. Wonder what were they thinking when designing a care…..