BMW Malaysia teases M3 and M4, duo launching soon

BMW Malaysia has teased two M models on its Facebook page, and the shadowy duo has to be the new BMW M3 Sedan and M4 Coupe. The sexy M sisters were first seen in December last year, before they were presented to the world’s media in May.

In this generation, the hallowed M3 name is only for the sedan, with the coupe taking on the new M4 badge. This follows the introduction of the 4 Series name for the F30 sedan‘s coupe sister. Also a tradition-breaking first is the use of a turbocharged engine in an M3 (and M4), completing the M division’s all-turbo range next to the M5, M6, X5 M and X6 M.

The move from a naturally-aspirated 4.0 V8 to a 3.0 litre turbo straight-six brings gains in both performance and efficiency. Power is up from 420 hp to 431 hp, while max torque sees a significant hike from 400 Nm to 550 Nm, now available across a wider rev band – 1,800 to 5,390 rpm. Redline is 7,600 rpm, very high for a turbo engine. Efficiency (12.0 km/l) and emissions (194 g/km) are 25% better than before.

P90149345-highRes

Zero to 100 km/h takes just 4.1 seconds in both the M3 and M4 (with the M DCT’s Launch Control; six-speed manual is 0.2 second slower), and top speed is limited to 250 km/h. Tick the M Driver’s Package option, and you get access to 280 km/h.

The M3 and M4 will be launching very soon – in the meantime, read our global launch report as well as view a mega gallery of the duo. You’ll want to see the gallery even if you don’t fancy the new car – it features past M cars from the E30, E36, E46 and E92 generations. ///Marvellous!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• niterunner99 on Jun 26, 2014 at 10:03 am

No need teasers for this car lah…

• Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm) on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Why would someone buy a trash that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.

All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival have upped their warranty to 4 years.

Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.

That is why if you buy BMW, make sure you are a multimillionaire. If you are just a high earner earning RM20,000 a month, please don’t bother with BMW even if you can afford the repayments. You will be paying through your nose for parts.

Remember, unless you are a multi millionaire, please be careful when buying a BMW in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
      • Sohai, Im earning RM15k a month but I am driving a 5 series. Been driving for 3 years now and its all fine and serving me well. Since when u are someone’s financial planner? Plain bullshit of what u were typing. There are alot of high income earner in Malaysia and u dont need to be multi millionairre. Multi-millionaire are goina go for RR la. Even my auntie working as top insurance agent is driving RR Ghost now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • 15K? 5 series? how??? u are not married? married with no kids spouse also earning 15k pm? stay at parent’s house? live in sungai petani? how??

your post made me feel so bad with my financial planning

again, 15k 5 series, how?? its not e34 right?

• Gosh.. Daft guy. Yes im single and not married. Living by my own at kajang. Own a SME business. And yes, 5 series f10 m-sport. What more u need me to clarify. I have frens 28-29 yo with gf living aline but driving Audi S5. Indeed there are alot of young exec nowadays. Try to mix with them instead if spending ur free time at mamak. Then u will noe how these youngsters strive.

• shame_Loo on Jun 27, 2014 at 9:33 am

15K earning to drive 5 Series, then you must be sohai! E28, E34 or E39 probably.

• sohaijo on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Sohai, Im earning RM25k a month but I am driving a kia picanto. Been driving for 2 years now and its all fine and serving me well. Since when u are someone’s financial planner? Plain bullshit of what u were typing. There are a lot of high income earner in Malaysia and u dont need to be multi millionairre. Multi-millionaire are going go for BMW M3 and M4 la. Even my auntie working as top insurance agent is driving proton saga now.

• Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm) on Jun 27, 2014 at 9:26 pm

A sorhai Kia owner dreaming he is earning rm25k….LMFAO

• Please la. Ur action of duplicating my comment and mock me shows where ur mentality level. Long way to go dude. Enjoy ur journey.

• sohaijo on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Believe it or, I am really earning almost double what that Jo getting and i am really happy to own a kia. But I am pretty sure that a zoo head can’t earn more than 5k per month, go feed your monkeys….lol.

• sohaijo on Jun 28, 2014 at 1:29 pm

sohai jo, lim pek never think that a person earning 15k is so called high income earner…..how much loan u get for your bmw, 99%? sohai…

• Monyet the merc salesman, are you not tire saying the same thing over and over again for the pass donkey years.

• No idea why but I still prefer the older gen bmw. The 8 series is really beautiful. Modern bmw is like MEH

• BLUR SOTONG on Jun 26, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Agree with u .ED
      BMW 8 series are so novelty . Unlike the common and ubiquitous M cars now .
      BMW M cars no more like Patek . They wanted to sell cars like Rolex , Prestige and hot selling

• BMW Malaysia pricing issues always disappoint, and same goes for these M badge I believe. Yawnnnn

• heybadigol on Jun 26, 2014 at 11:48 am

The M5 was a bit of a letdown compared to M5s of old (too cushy for an M car & lacking in the sound department), though its still frigging fast. The M3/M4 should correct this, though that sound part might still be missing sadly.

And thanks for the pix!! Love that yellow E36 M3 coupe.

• spongewai on Jun 26, 2014 at 2:11 pm

TEASING ALSO NEED MONEY SPEND LA

• hahaha….. this will smoke all the Golf GTI, R, preve, suprima s, hondas and toyotas on the road! No more gearbox problem at all. lol.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 26, 2014 at 4:02 pm

ibought mine…beribu ribu tahniah

• underskinned on Jun 26, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Sisters?

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:11 am

Any machine with which a man might form an attachment, be it a ship or a car or even a bicycle, it is usually referred to as a female. Why you ask? Good question.

• ilike m4 on Jun 26, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Hahah…..just place a booking for the M4. Not bad right. Wait, sorry, wrong car, i booked GWM Haval M4, not this M4….LOL

• Nice!!! Cant wait for it to be launched. But pricing wise thou, should be north of RM720K. But for those who can afford, by all means, go for it!!

• Annoynimouse on Jun 26, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Since its a 3 litre, road tax in Malaysia should be even lower than the old E46 M3 (3.2 litre), let alone the V8s… unless taxing is no longer based on displacement, correct me if I’m wrong.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 26, 2014 at 10:40 pm

The 3s have grown up. The current 1M coupe, or perhaps the M2 when/if it comes will offer what the old M3s used to do.