Jaguar F-Type Project 7 – fastest production Jag ever

Jaguar F-Type Project 7-10

The Jaguar F-Type Project 7 will make its debut at the 2014 Goodwood Festival of Speed. The first performance Jag from Jaguar Land Rover’s Special Operations team, the Project 7 will be produced in a limited-edition run of up to 250 units.

Previewed as a concept last summer, the roadster pays tribute to one of the most famous and iconic racing Jaguars: the three-time Le Mans winning D-type, which is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year. The ‘7’ in the name pays homage to Jaguar’s seven outright Le Mans wins.

The fastest and most powerful production Jaguar ever built is motivated by Coventry’s 5.0 litre supercharged V8, now in 575 PS/680 Nm form (25 PS over the F-Type R Coupe). That’s enough for the all-aluminium-bodied car (1,585 kg) to do 0-100 km/h in 3.9 seconds. Top speed is electronically limited to 300 km/h.

Jaguar F-Type Project 7-01

Power is sent to the rear wheels through an eight-speed auto and second-gen Electronic Active Differential. Carbon Ceramic Matrix brakes (398 mm front and 380 mm rear discs, six- and four-piston monobloc calipers), available as an option on the F-Type R Coupe, are standard here.

Also included is Torque Vectoring by Braking which, working in conjunction with the diff, enables “extremely precise handling”. Bespoke carbon-fibre aero aids and a unique suspension set-up also contribute to the cause. Jaguar says that this car generates 177% more downforce than an F-Type Convertible at 300 km/h.

The windscreen length is reduced by 114 mm, reducing overall height by 30.5 mm, with new side windows to match the profile. A specially designed “Bimini roof” clips on to the convertible header rail, and can be folded and stowed in the boot, which offers 196 litres of space. If you’re wondering, the Project 7 is fully road-legal.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mozilla Chrome on Jun 26, 2014 at 11:16 am

Jag dedicated for Nik Aziz?

• heybadigol on Jun 26, 2014 at 11:39 am

Looks cool. But kinda heavy (almost 1.6 tonnes) for an all aluminium car with sporting intentions. Needs to be lighter.

• powderful on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Great looks but pricing’s way left field. There’s the Porsche tandem of BoxsterS/CaymanS to contend with in the market. Performance and residuals wise, the porker twins have the cats whupped. Nonetheless, good to see these cars on Malaysian roads.

• What the fark are you babbling about? Did you just steal some words from some auto magazine, string them together and attempt to sound smart?

Cayman S especially, is in a different class of vehicle. Boxster S 0-100 is only 5s.

This is also a tribute, limited-run model. Of course the price will be higher. Do you even know the price without Googling, since it’s not even mentioned here? And there are many supercars even more expensive. Who the hell cross-shops a limited edition run, skunkworks car with the little Porsches?

• powderful on Jun 26, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Wah…marah nampak??? Apa lu ingat gua punye English kalau cakap banyak bagus mesti mari or copy/paste from magazine ka??? I can speak ‘rempit’ and I can speak ‘Stiff Upper Lips if and when I choose and/or the situation warrants.

Jaguars and Porsches are class rivals in the small coupe/vert stakes. The F-Type Vs Boxster and Cayman Vs F-Type Coupe. The XK/R and previous XJ goes head to head with the 911. Or baby Aston.

I’m not in love with Porsches. I am more inclined towards the eye-talian camp. But credit’s gotta be given to them for making ‘affordable’ sportscars.

0-100 ‘only’ 5secs for 981 ??? Itu saja lu ingat ka??? Tsk tsk…. Jaguar Fanboi……

• Joe Radzif on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Bang,

bagi karangan dalam English tahap Queen Elizabeth satu utk dia…

• You just went full retard. F type Coupe is competing the base 911, you just compared a 550hp and a 275hp car.
      Also, XJ VS 911? WHAT??????! ARE YOU MAD?