2014 F80 BMW M3 Sedan and F82 BMW M4 Coupe introduced in Malaysia – RM739k and RM749k

BMW 01

After teasing them yesterday, BMW Malaysia has introduced the 2014 F80 BMW M3 Sedan and F82 M4 Coupe in the country – the cars were officially unveiled at a closed customer event in Sepang earlier today. There’s no press launch, so we’ll have to make do with just these few exterior photos of the duo.

Revealed globally last December, the sedan and coupe break tradition of having both wearing the same M3 badge, as seen in the previous E90 and E92 versions of the type. Also moving away from tradition is the use of a turbocharged engine, replacing the normally-aspirated route of yore.

Visually, the cars showcase BMW M design features such as the distinctive M double-bar kidney grill, M Double-spoke style wheels, heavily bolstered wheelarches and the characteristic dual-exhaust system, with their four tailpipes.

There’s that unmistakable power dome on the bonnet, and the M gills have been re-designed, now featuring Air Breathers exit slots that team up with the Air Curtain intakes positioned within the front bumper to improve aerodynamics.

BMW 11

Elsewhere, a black, unpainted CFRP roof is standard fitment on the car, and at the back, the M3 Sedan gets a Gurney spoiler lip and the M4 Coupe, an integrated rear spoiler lip, as well as a diffuser in the rear apron.

Inside, you get the usual mix of carbon-fibre trim and leather-upholstered sports seats, with plenty of M-badged extras (door sills, driver’s footrest, gear lever, etc.) to remind you what you’re in. The traditional BMW M circular instrument panel with white graphics and M leather steering wheel with three-colour contrast stitching are all here too.

The front seats are of the M sports variety, and have a one-piece shell back panel derived from bucket seats used in motor racing. They’re lighter than their predecessors, and feature illuminated BMW M logos on the seat backrests.

Speaking of lighter, the cars themselves are too, down 80 kg from the previous generation – the local M3 Sedan and M4 Coupe tip the scales at 1,635 kg and 1,612 kg respectively.

Drivetrain-wise, the cars share the same 3.0 litre straight-six M TwinPower Turbo engine called the S55, which replaces the naturally-aspirated 4.0 litre V8 motor seen in the previous generation. Power is up from 420 hp to 431 hp at 5,390 to 7,000 rpm.

That’s not a lot, but maximum twist has gone up significantly, from 400 Nm in the old car to 550 Nm now. The torque is also available across a wider rev band too (1,800-5,390 rpm), and the motor revs up to 7,600 rpm, high for a turbocharged engine.

Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 4.1 seconds in both the M3 Sedan and M4 Coupe, this with the seven-speed M DCT ‘box. The six-speed manual transmission variant, which doesn’t go on sale here, is 0.2 seconds slower. Top speed, meanwhile, is electronically-limited to 250 km/h.

Aside from the standard fit Active M Differential, M Dynamic Mode and the newly-developed M Servotronic electromechanical steering system, the Malaysian models feature standard M compound brakes, but come with Adaptive M suspension fitted.

BMW M3 M4 4

Baseline wheels are 18-inch units, but the local cars come with 19-inch double-spoke M light alloys (and mixed-sized tyres) as standard fitment, with a silver finish found on the M3 wheels, and black for the M4.

Three exterior colours are available for the M3 Sedan – there’s Alpine White and Sakhir Orange, which comes with a Leather Merino Black interior scheme. The hero shade is Yas Marina Blue, which gets the option of Leather Merino Silverstone for interior upholstery.

As for the M4, Alpine White and Sakhir Orange again feature alongside Mineral Grey and the striking Austin Yellow for exterior colours, with Leather Merino Black and Leather Merino Sakhir Orange being the interior schemes available.

The BMW M3 Sedan is priced at RM738,800, while the M4 Coupe goes for RM748,800, both on-the-road without insurance, with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive (BS+RI).

michelin-200MICHELIN Pilot Sport Cup 2 gives you 50% more laps and faster lap times thanks to technologies from Endurance Competition. Experience it on your BMW M3 (tyre size 255/35R19 in front and 275/35R19 on rear).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bayang Putih on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:04 pm

The price are slightly higher than previous M3.
    I will wait for the LCI though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • _xXx_ on Jun 28, 2014 at 11:31 am

mesia car prices are now in multiple of 100k….so let’s say gd bye to poverty, ppl are rich now, yay!

• Goosfraba on Jun 29, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Wah! I can buy!!!! in my dreams. Haih. 73,800 I can buy la. Next best decision is to sell house and live in the car.

• Too expensive for an ordinary and common looking car..

• Bayang Putih on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:40 am

These are high performance car yo…
        Unless you “track” the car, it isn’t a need to get it.
        There are many car choices out there. Buy it according your need and capability.
        Desire come later.

• Datuk Gatal on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Kroni’s favourite car as gift to secret girlfriends GRO gundik concubines…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • holofanboi on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Not these sort of car thats for sure.

Mercedes SLK, e92 coupe yes. I often see women driving them.

• fuuuu 738k!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • I get a mixed feeling when i see these fabulous cars
    Exited for new sport car (of course) and facepalm just to think about my bank book

• Datuk on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:28 pm

finally this monster are on sale in bolehland! but the warranty…myb rich people, bimmer enthusiast didnt care about the warranty, this car is a part of motorsport history. rather than buy from grey importer which is no warranty at all, rm738k and rm748k quite logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Mtiga on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Pale hotak rm750K! Can buy 3 M3 e92!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • hazamiey on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Pale hotak apanya? E92 M3 Coupe from official BMW dealers last time also 700k++ lah. Do some homework before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
      • Mtiga on Jun 28, 2014 at 1:33 pm

M3 dulu rm688k jeww..n its a 4.0L V8..nie 3.0 6 cylinder rm750k??? Pale hotak laa!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • khairulx19a on Jun 28, 2014 at 9:40 pm

bukan pasal enjin sebab dia mahal, teknologi yang digunakan buat harga dia mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Mtiga on Jun 30, 2014 at 3:27 pm

ouh baru saye faham…harga kereta kat Malaya MAHAL sebab teknologi…

• hey retard on Jun 29, 2014 at 2:26 pm

yeah, rm688k. Can buy 3 eh?

• ChrisLai75 on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Expensive

• protonsucks on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Wah the price only cronies can buy, slap on with G1M and 1M4U plates! not forgetting the UMNO badge at the front so JPJ wont stop these cars when tint ultra dark

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
  • Porsche a Better Deal on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Waste of money. The BMW Motorsport series is a failure in Malaysia. You want real sports car, with that kind of money, you can get a 2013 Porsche Carrera S (991). And that only cost RM650,000 with just few hundred km done. And you still got some spare cash.

You want to save more? You can get a 2007 Porsche Carrera S for RM250,000.

As you know, Porsche quality, whether its new or 7 years old, is 100X times better than BMW.

At the end of the day, Porsche gives better handling, better status and can pull any chic in town. BMWs are so common, you cannot pull any chic in town. Even bapuks also won’t fall for the car.

If you still insist in buying the BMW M3 Sedan or M4 coupe, just wait one year. You can buy this car for half the price. BMWs are famous for having their 1st year drop so much, most owners cry when they want to sell their car. Be patient. Just wait. In 365 days time, this car will be RM350k to RM400k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 29
    • anakjambi on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:55 pm

what r u whining about dude….people who can afford to buy this car dont need to wait one year to buy. they can get it tomorrow. only people like u will salivate looking at it and waiting for price reduction. forget it man..you cannot simply afford this..fullstop…go play with your preve or myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
    • Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm) on Jun 27, 2014 at 9:32 pm

But porsche equal to VW, TAK NAK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
      • Otak Udang on Jun 28, 2014 at 8:55 am

I don’t agree… because if you buy Porsche you look like driving a TURTLE shell with 4 wheels … and suffering from midlife crisis.

• Otak Udang on Jun 28, 2014 at 8:51 am

People with Shallow head with shallow pocket should refrain from making sexist and chauvinistic statements.

• so true…my 5series value drop so much at the end, i crash it into ditch & claim total loss…better value than selling it …

• No doubt these two are fabulous cars to drive but unfortunately in Malaysia they have such unreasonably hefty price tags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • venven81 on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:13 am

OMFG! the cars do look yummy and very potent but the price tag of over RM700k? well only loyal bimmer enthusiasts with easy-come money will splurge on it as most ppl who bought this kinda machines would go for recond unit.

• LeYuv on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:00 pm

DAYUMNNNN… Nice car…

DAYUMNNNN… Nice price…

• nabill (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

U buy a car like the m3/m4 without going on track days, its a waste….

• Ah Beng Car on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Now, 2007 Ferrari F430, selling for RM450,000. Still so hot. Pass by only, everybody stares. Nobody does not stare.

This BMW nobody stares. Most Ah bengs have done up their 316i and put the M badge on it. Every Ah Beng’s BMW look like a M car.

Nobody can beat a Ferrari. And I can have RM300.000 savings to service the Ferrari for the next 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
    • RetroCars on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:12 pm

A true car enthusiast does not drive a car to please others nor show off so that everyone else stare. There is always a car that suits every other person’s taste and preference. BMW and Ferrari are both excellent brands which engineer great cars. If you can afford them, just take a pick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • beemersuvk on Jun 29, 2014 at 10:18 am

Ferrari is sport car. THis beemer is pathetic car, noone wants to see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • DSG sucks on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Lovely

• BurnMyWallet on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:22 pm

so expensive.how to own one?

• BurnMyWallet on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:23 pm

so expensive.how to own one? sigh

• People must be crazy to spend $700k on this m3 & m4. I will put my bet on a Nissan GTR if i have that amount of money! More thrill and excitement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Aventador on Jun 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm

GTR is only a Nissan. Badge carries no class. Besides, its nowhere near as luxurious on the road. In fact, the GTR’s suspension is more suited on the track.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • cendol (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:41 pm

At this price, a RM393k CLA 45 AMG seems cheaper to buy and it will turn heads wherever it goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
  • Jon Snow (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Same body, same engine, same xxx…same xxx…
    Wait…door different, yeah! We shall call it different name!
    Potong follow BMW or BMW follow Potong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Vincent on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Wow! 3 & 4 series with a Big Engine! Nice!

• LOL 739K.

• I don’t know why BMW Malaysia like to waste their APs on these low volume cars. Nobody buys it. Even the M5, I think they had zero sales. Car lovers after the RM400,000 level just go for Porsche, Lamborghini or Ferrari or even McLaren.

Can BMW Malaysia please do some market research please. The Motorsports on the road are all recon units. Why does BMW Malaysia waste their APs on such cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • holofanboi on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Oh trust me even if it generated 0 sales in the past it’s bound to have a profound effect on the entire lineup.

Theres this marketing term for these sort of advertising. Something about using the over the top variant of a product to elevate the status of its lesser variant.

Dont confuse it with halo car btw.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Nah I want holo car…..thinking of itasha-ing it.

Anyways, go to an exotic car events, any of them and you’ll be surprise how many legit M5 F10 there are with authorize BMW stickers. While id say I prefer a Cayman or 911 CS over an M3/4, the M5 just has that flavor that it’s inique to it. It’s still an effective discreet performer.

Maybe he’s just mistaking all the M5 for M bodykit 5 series.

• U sure? I got information they are at selling 2-3 per month. BMW is a huge conglomarate. Those without any market share they wont simply bring in. N trust me, there are a handful of Malaysian which layman call stupid are willing to pay such hefty price for their toy.Besides, whether its hefty its all depending on the level of income. To low income earner, definitely they are goina think ppl who buy this car are all cronies or owning illegal businesses. Because their level is just not there yet.

• alibaba on Jun 27, 2014 at 5:17 pm

apasal kreta malaisia mayak murah punya, sya pun mau ambek projek umno kaukau punya

• Josh Ling on Jun 27, 2014 at 6:25 pm

that sakhir orange m4 is super hot!!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Holy shit. 700k for a m3 and m4? I rather save half the money with 2 sec slower

• malardev (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 8:00 pm

I attended the launch today. Went on the M4 taxi ride around Sepang. For a forced induction car, no turbo lag, and its very flickable. Weight savings has done wonders to the new M!

• Boleh! on Jun 27, 2014 at 9:50 pm

M3 vs M4 only RM10k different?
    Why 328i vs 428i is RM80k different?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • blackbox on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:07 pm

CBU AND CKD LAH

• Lagi Boleh! on Jun 28, 2014 at 9:28 am

The CBU 328i was sold at RM309,800 when launched in Malaysia…
        so what about this CKD vs CBU crap?

• WhiteBox on Jun 28, 2014 at 9:36 am

you think if BMW CKD 428i here in bolehland, the price will be only RM10k different from 328i….?

• dis car will b 280k in 4 years, kiss 500k goodbye..great car but not worth the price, if u convert it to usd thats a brand new 458 price..gilaa

• trololol on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:46 pm

if one can purchase this car means he doesn’t care about resale value, duh ~ obviously…like totally.

he is fcuking rich, he doesn’t care, change car anytime. you see ? what i’m trying to say was if one could afford this kind of car obviously he is rich. we don’t need to tell them about resale value cause they do not even care.

• dis car will b 280k in 4 years, kiss 500k goodbye..great car but not worth the price, if u convert it to usd thats a brand new 458 price..gilaa

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 1:23 am

Basically a house on wheels with that price

• TheDean on Jun 28, 2014 at 1:32 am

I prefer the 2-door 3 series, and the 4-door 4 series.

• Saswadimata_Dasuki on Jun 28, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Generally, 99.9% of the readers are not excited to see such launches.

One look at the price tag and you would know these cars are beyond the reach of the majority of Malaysians.

Unless you are one of the few who are able to secure some lucrative projects from the govn, you wouldn’t waste much time thinking of such cars.

• Saswadimata_Dasuki on Jun 28, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Malaysian average income = Rm30k per year, that would take approximately 25 yrs to afford such cars.

• the british got the cars in June as well. http://www.automotorblog.com/bmw-m3-sedan-m4-coupe-arriving-uk-prices/

BMW is surprising everyone here in bolehland… 1 series was a year late.

• Apasamy on Jun 29, 2014 at 5:59 am

Honestly if i were to buy an m3 i would like to spec it in any way i like and not get limited by bmw

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:37 am

As expected, no sale for manual variant over here, damn.

• trololol on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:39 pm

7xxk still using that handbrake ? comm’on man !

• jackchaivc on Jul 04, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Should I stick with my BMX Z5 quad turbo or get the brand new BMX M3?

• BMWmotorsport on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:45 pm

These cars are good, but they missed the point of what an M-car is. They seem to lost their motive. A proper M-car, like the E30 M3, was built as a homologation for the touring car championship. The aim is to make the car focused, sharp and tidy, like a race car for the road. Now, as I am concern, it’s all about drifting and burning tyres unnecessarily which you can never do on the road. When the ori-M3 was launched, it was meant to be driven and enjoyed even on the road. The sense of purity and driving sensation is gone..

• LexusG on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:38 pm

This price allows me to buy 3 units of it in US and still have leftovers. Malaysia boleh

• LexusG on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:40 pm

This price allows me to buy 3 units of it and still have leftovers. Malaysia boleh!!