International Engine of the Year 2014 – Ford wins again

ford-fiesta-mc-05

The Ford 1.0 litre EcoBoost has been named as the International Engine of the Year 2014, making it three wins in a row for the mill. The 2012 and 2013 overall winner – which equips the Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost in Malaysia – finished 70 points clear of its closest competitor, Ferrari’s 4.5 litre V8, in the 16th edition of the awards.

The little EcoBoost also retained its title in the Sub-1 litre category, finishing with 505 points to the 261 points bagged by the second-placed finisher, BMWs 647cc two-cylinder electric-gasoline range-extender used in the BMW i3.

Volkswagen’s 1.4 TSI Twincharger took top spot in the 1.0 to 1.4 litre class award, while in the 1.4 to 1.8 litre category the gong went to BMW/PSA’s familiar 1.6 litre turbo. The Mercedes-AMG M133 2.0 litre turbo – seen in the likes of the A 45 AMG and CLA 45 AMG – took the honours in the 1.8 to 2.0 litre category, while Audi’s 2.5 litre five-cylinder turbo finished first in the 2.0 to 2.5 litre class.

Fahrveranstaltung CLA 45 AMG Edition 1

As for the 2.5 to 3.0 litre category, the judges picked the BMW 3.0 litre Twin-Power turbo six-cylinder, and McLaren’s 3.8 litre V8 finished top of the 3.0 to 4.0 litre heap. The Ferrari 4.5 litre power unit didn’t finish empty-handed, bagging two titles with wins in the above 4.0 litre and Performance Engine sub-categories.

The Green Engine title, meanwhile, went to Tesla’s full-electric powertrain, and the M133 Merc-AMG lump managed to make it two awards in this edition by securing the honours in the New Engine sub-category.

Continuing a five-year trend, engines with small displacements again proved to be very popular, further highlighting the downsizing phenomenon sweeping the industry. A total of 82 jury members from 34 countries took part in this year’s voting.

The 2014 International Engine of the Year results:

1. Ford 1.0 litre EcoBoost – 351 points
2. Ferrari 4.5 litre V8 – 281 points
3. Volkswagen 1.4 litre TSI Twincharger – 254 points
4. Mercedes-AMG 2.0 litre turbo – 252 points
5. Tesla full-electric powertrain – 225 points
6. BMW 3.0 litre twin-power turbo – 223 points
7. BMW/PSA 1.6 turbo – 181 points
8. McLaren 3.8 litre V8 – 154 points
9. Audi 2.5 litre five-cylinder turbo – 79 points

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• RUGAL on Jun 27, 2014 at 10:41 am

So, where is ‘tried and trusted’ VVT-i engine?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 12
    • Reliability is not part of the Criteria here.

Ford Ecoboost is the most problematic engine in fact.
      U can do research on American Consumer Review 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 56
      • Vader (Member) on Jun 29, 2014 at 2:51 pm

International engine is based on fuel economy, noise, smoothness, performance and driveability.
        If someone’s engine not get the awards, mean other engines are better than you.
        If someone feel that award where the reliability is not consider with high weight factor and not fair, then don’t participate, just simple like that, but not bull shxt here and theirs is the best..
        If someone participate in World Cup, one match already judge u r win or not, then the country who loss the match said the World Cup is not fair since it not compare how consistent (reliable) the team is? The loser always find an excuse..

• it’s not the engine but its gearbox.. overall.. ford is a great car.
        the problem in malaysia is SD failed to stock their parts reasonably and improve their after sale like what Bermaz have done with Mazda.

• prott on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:53 pm

you see, world engine of the year never talks about reliability or cost of ownership.

their main criteria are power, flexibility and innovation.

the VW engine has tons of ownership issues with leaks, turbo-exploding and oil consumption.

the 1.0 ecoBoost engine has overheating issues and poor economy.

The japanese engines are always conservative. but thats because they are cautious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 37
      • Simon T on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:56 pm

But Japanese engines are awful to drive, if you are buying a car to drive from point A to point B only without bothering about performance, drivability or feel, then Japanese engines are fine.

If you want to experience the joy if driving and the passion that goes with it especially in the performance aspect and the overall sound and feel of actually driving ‘a car’ , the. You MUST drive a European car – any Western European car for that matter.

However, this does not apply to pure Eastern European cars such as Lada and Dacia’s. The exception to the rule is Skoda, which is better to drive than just about any Japanese car in the world today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 14
        • Prott on Jun 27, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Try the Gs350, better than the f10 BMW

Jeremy Clarkson voted the LFA as the best car he’s driven. Wait, that’s a lexus.

The car prices in Malaysia is very high hence reliability must count more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • Wisdom on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:35 am

The newer Japanese engine is much more refine, quiet n responsive. We’re not talking about insulated-quietness. The engine itself very quiet, efficient, responsive.

Asked around those driven eg. Honda earth-dream engine (Accord), and newer Toyota Valvematic engine (new Wish).
            The whole drivetrain is smooth, responsive, and spontaneous. On-paper, yes seems nothing special about these engine, until u drive one.

Compare that with the comparatively rough and juddery power delivery eg new Focus, VW lineup (Jetta & below), Peug 308-408-X08, you’ll agree that this international engine of the year award lacks details on how finesse the engine to consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Prott on Jun 27, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Try the Gs350, better than the f10 BMW

Jeremy Clarkson voted the LFA as the best car he’s driven. Wait, that’s a lexus.

The car prices in Malaysia is very high hence reliability must count more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
          • Who is Jeremy Clarkson? Did he try the car for 5 years?

If no, then those claim is mosly BS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Walter on Jun 28, 2014 at 6:30 am

Owning a Skoda for 7 years now ( 6spd man 2.0 Tdi Octavia Wagon ) I can verify that. Zero problems. Brilliant sharp steering and handling, the reliability of an Anvil and economy of a Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Manual? Good luck in Malaysia bad traffic jam.

It sucks your fuel, it hurts your foot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
      • Ghana on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Clever people buy cars for long term economy and reliability. Both VW DSG and this Ecoboost is paired to dual clutch gearboxes. In the long run, whatever fuel savings you make, you pay more for repair charges, breakdowns and tow truck.

Most Malaysians are not interested in silly awards. Most Malaysians want reliability and economy. No matter how rich one maybe, they have no time to wait in the hot sun for the tow truck to come.

That is why, it is best to stay away from Ford and VW in Malaysia. You can have all the awards in the world but nobody is going to care for the awards when you are in Karak highway 2am stuck with the pontianak looking at you in the dark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 48
        • Rickleann on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:28 am

Because most Malaysian like you are stupid – Ghana!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 31
        • david lee on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:31 am

The only pontianak is Toyota salesmen like you, along with tow truck drivers (also ex-Toyota salesmen)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
        • H Saab on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:38 am

Ghana – Dei Macha, your theory wrong la macha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • I just wonder if you ever own or drive Ford or VW..

• han jian on Jun 28, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Who is the idiot who says Malaysians are staying away from VW and Ford? They are the two best selling European cars in Malaysia now, driven by doctors, engineers lawyers and other professionals unlike Japanese and Korean cars driven by everyone else including Ah Beng’s, pork seller, nasi lemak seller, tosai seller and wet market trader. So don’t talk rubbish that people don’t buy VW and Ford. Educated people who don’t waste their time reading blogs do buy them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
        • jenny fur on Jun 30, 2014 at 9:55 am

I just cancelled all my klinik morning appointment coz my vw gear stuck in the jam..damn! luckily the ambulance not a vw..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • DSG King on Jun 30, 2014 at 5:29 pm

educated people read blogs. So many complaints on VW Malaysia page on DSG. Once you read on how many people complain their DSG losak and 3 months wait you will get scared.

• Heng Lee on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:35 am

And how about exploding airbags, brake failures and cars that overturn in curves?

Would make me more scared… ;)

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 01, 2014 at 2:29 am

I agree. Magma 12v 4g13 is the best engine in the world. Already running 800k km and last for 25 years. VVTi can eat my smoke…ptuii!!

• Same L0r on Jun 27, 2014 at 1:45 pm

The new range of engines are not yet in production. They will be on the list soon.

You are right about Toyota – Reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • Yeah yeah reliable tin milo coffin, if want good safety you have to pay 130K

• so reliable that they have to wait for 2-3 yrs facelift from their first model to give more airbags, and other safety features.

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Toyota used to win sub 1.0 category. 1kr-fe. 2007 til 2010. The engine will be use on new perodua model.

• Toyota Sucks on Jun 28, 2014 at 7:38 pm

The VVT-I is just a monicker. The truth is .. the engine sucks big time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • World biggest engine producer, Honda, not in the list?
    Wat about other Asian brands..?
    Something to think about..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • slk3879 on Jun 27, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Asian engines are there, just not good enough to claim the top spots in each of the sub-categories.

• Lemer on Jun 27, 2014 at 10:45 am

Where are Sushi brands? Overall Engines technology are dominated by doner kebab followed by burger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • slk3879 on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Not in the No.1 spots. Go to each of the sub categories, you can see Mazda at the No.3 / 4 place.

Note that this is for ICE only, some manufacturer like the T & H had opted Hybrid as the way forward, so not much efforts from these car makers in improving the ICE

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:06 am

wow…no asian…any new vision, dr. M?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • fast5 on Jun 27, 2014 at 6:56 pm

DrM say “yes but of course must pay with higher price”
      For him everything price must go up up up!!!
      RIP “future no sales up protong”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Just wondering, where are the japs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Jaybond on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Seems like the award is highly biased towards the European makers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Jaybond on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Seems like the award is highly biased towards the European makers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Petrolhead RON95 on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:07 am

1.4 twin charger also “crack” engine of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Worst Engine 2014 – Proton Campro ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 55
    • pondan on Jun 27, 2014 at 6:35 pm

campro CFE vibrate all the judges out from the review panel…

better to re-market as dildo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • If you want t compare junky 1krfe or 1nzfe with CFE, forget it. They are in different league and CFE is much more powerful.

Before you rant about FC who cares about milo tin Vios, you cannot buy back your soul with money, can you?

• pondan on Jun 29, 2014 at 10:57 am

Who say that cfe is not powerful? All I say is the bloody cfe is so vibratingly exciting and better rebrand as dildo.

Can’t you read English and stop hallucination by sniffing all the BN br1m induced glue.

• spongewai on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:14 am

killing-spree or hat-trick goal for Ford engine

congratz

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:33 am

Where is macampro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
  • well…i guess skyactive engine doesn’t cut out the be the best just yet.

• slk3879 on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Mazda Skyactiv claims No.5 spot for the 1.8l to 2.0l category, No.4 spot for the 2.0l to 2.5l category

• slk3879 on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:10 pm

and No.5 under the 1.4l to 1.8l category.

But seems like the Mazda is the lonely jap in this award.

• Because Proton - No Ecoboost! on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:37 am

If the EcoBoost is so good, why our Gomen never allow to come to Malaysia in all the Ford models? The 1.0 Ecoboost banyak jimat minyak.

Also 1.0, tax will be cheaper. Focus can be sold for about RM80k. Oh I forgot, it might affect Proton market.

So, again another example how Proton is hindering good engines into Malaysia and also helping Malaysians jimat minyak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 50
    • dont bash someone if u didnt know the real fact..dont embarrass yourself..no ecoboost in bolehland? really? haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • Ghana on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:57 pm

bro, it is as good as not having one when the Fiesta Ecoboost is close to RM100,000.

What people mean it is not across the board and also if available, it is not affordable to most people.

Ecoboost in Europe is so cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • kzm (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 3:26 am

Cheap? u go UK ford try build ford fiesta equip with 1.0 ecoboost(the 100PS variant)…i do try to make it as cheap as possible but oni get £13,445(RM73k) without added any extra feature..if i added extra feature eg spare tyre, satnav, alloy wheel, parking sensor, folding door mirror n active stop it get to £14,970 (about RM81k)…not that cheap either

• If like that better buy Preve. Much bigger, sucky traffic jams dun give big adv in FC for small turbo engine

• slk3879 on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:20 pm

You can find ecoboost in the fiesta and kuga here

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:46 am

Where are the Japanese engines? The Mazda Skyactive is not in the list. Tesla should be given the top noble honors for releasing their patented technology to its rivals.

I wonder whether these engines can really last long in our hot tropical climate, seeing so many unreliable VW TSI cases reported. It should be named as ‘European Engine of the Year’, not International.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

International Except Asia Engine Of The Year.

• jenny fur on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:00 am

some said asian engines r as good as asian football…well, any comment?

• H Saab on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:36 am

Hello brother VW TSI engine is reliable la. Its the DSG gearbox from Ford and VW, which is not yet reliable. But normal la, new technology always got hiccups. Last time even auto trans got so many problems, still today everyone uses it. Chill la bro, DSG is here to stay. Its the technology of the future. By then auto trans will no longer be used by any car company.

• Petrol engine still the best engine compared to diesel engine….
    Turbo petrol still run smoother than turbo diesel….

I know alot of people here love to compare petrol engine to turbo diesel engine(they say it’s modern diesel engine…laugh die me) without knowing they are comparing apple to orange…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
    • Chris (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Exactly, a lot of people don’t know they’re comparing apple to orange, and it seems like you’re an apple lover but don’t even know what an orange is. Does it hurt when you shoot your own foot?

Petrol smoothness yes, but as far as thermal efficiency petrol still has a looooong way to catch up, not even with a petrol-electric hybrid.

I wonder why there’s no mass produced diesel hybrid, or maybe I’m just not aware of it…

• stupid well on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Hmm…wait a minute…the winner of Le Mans 2014 is…err…Audi…using….turbodiesel…oh Audi won 5 years in a row on TDI….crap…why not turbo petrol??? Damn you Audi *sarcasm*

• Faizal on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Congrats to Ford.. 1.0L Ecoboost Engine won over a Ferrari 4.6L V8 engine.. I wish one day Campro CFE Engine also will be listed… :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Campro? on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Mana Campro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • pontiac on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:28 pm

mazda skyactiv should won number 1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • rocky balboa on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:28 pm

tested the fiesta 1.0t. Indeed the 1 liter turbocharged unit is very impressive. More powerful and yet much frugal than any 1.6 NA engine.

• serre on Jun 28, 2014 at 10:56 am

Laggy? I want immediate boost for pickup in city driving like CFE.

• heybadigol on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Congrats to Ford. Kinda surprised that Tesla only managed 5th place. Would’ve put that first. Have you seen how seamless the Tesla Model S power/torque delivery is on youtube? Just amazing, and so quiet.

• Damien on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Looks like turbo engine is the trend to move forward. Japanese no where to be seen.

• najib on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Proton? Japanese and korean are also not in the list. good job Ford.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Campro engine is usable but its aint refined..almost same like kimchi engines only Kimchi offer great design and gadgets..The ecoboost 1.0 3 cylinders wins cause they save the owners a lot on road tax and fuel just like they use a 1.5 engine..Suprisingly there is no Jap engines like Toyota and Honda..bias

• Ford, Volkswagen, BMW, Merz, Audi all make great engines but its the transmission that is the problem especially Ford, Volkswagen and Audi that is using Dual-Clutch Transmissions

• this engine has a down side and that is when you push it actually drinks as much fuel as the 1.5, which i don’t know, kinda spoils the point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • panjang on Jun 27, 2014 at 1:45 pm

the jap vtec and vvti has nothing special compared to what the competitor invention.
    its been around for ages with the same tech unlike the ecoboost.

• s.mong on Jun 27, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Cant see our Proton Campro engine among the top 10. No wonder we are juara kampong all the time…..

• Albert Lee on Jun 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Campro engine has received the award as the “Worst performing ,noisy,vibrating,classless,recalcitrant engine ” of the 21st century.It is heading for “AGE OF EXTINCTION”.
      Sayonara Protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • justwannasay on Jun 27, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Dont say the Jap’s….the real mind bogling question here is..where’s the mighty Toyota Engine that Most Malaysian said that most reliable,best FC and “Best Tech” are not on the list n not even the winner?!! Ngehehe

• Skyactiv fans, the engine was in the top 5 of the 1.8L – 2.0L category.

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/results.php?id=16

The only non-German engine on that list.

• More Skyactiv entries in different categories

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/results.php?id=14
    http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/results.php?id=18

Seems like that is the only Asian / Japanese engine that made the shortlist for this year.

• survey on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:25 pm

NA engine VS turbo which one easy maintain?
    which one maintainance cost higher?
    which one more problem?

• EcoBooster on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:27 pm

I guess Ford won the title again since the engine was relative affordable for a lot of market compared to powertrain unit from BMW or Tesla. For instances, 1.0L Ecoboost with 5-speed manual, Zetec trim at roughly £13,445 at ford.co.uk, that’s like RM73.5K only, of course that’s before the taxes are imposed.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 3:35 am

more like £13870 base price before added extra feature

• Bataman on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Yeah..winner …but Fiesta Ecobosst 1.0cc FC still couldn’t beat a 3-cylinder ancient MIVEC Mirage rated in the US.

And a best engine award paired with a problematic dry clutch gearbox….no, thanks.

• This is International engine of the year 2014.

To be remind, it’s not
    International reliable engine of the year 2014.

• heybadigol on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Yeah quite true. This award is for innovation, not reliability. Next year, it should be tough fight between the hybrid engines in the Porsche 918 & LaFerrari.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Euro are known for their innovative and daring design compared to Jap mass production and reliability..Some drivers just need the uniqueness and diff from all thats all..but some ppl really dun understand the concept and usage of each individual car..Wanna bread n butter with less headache go for Japs..Wanna power with quality go for Continentals wanna more gadgets and nice design go for Koreans..And some drivers simply dont care about fuel consumption..they wanna be diff thats all

• Sammy Valley on Jun 27, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah Proton!

Eh sorry, no Campro engine there! :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • nabill (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Where is the La Ferrari,spyder 918,mclaren p1 ?????
    Sometimes a good engine is spoiled by an inconsistent gearbox n vice versa,how do thy vote anyway for this thing??
    The gearbox has such a big role to play when it comes to engine performace and efficiencies….
    Im honestly not surprised thr r no japanese engines,the european do take over when it comes to innovation….

• kzm (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 3:37 am

well that go for car of the year award..the event all bout engine

• Engine Good, Gearbox Problems = hopeless and problem.

• Heng Lee on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:42 am

Engine reliable, brakes don’t work = hopeless and problem.

• Albert Lee on Jun 27, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Friends,you can have all the awards but in today’s world,what counts is profits….profits…profits.
    Look at Protong,diehards of the Campro engine will say…ada gaya,syiok,canggih,luarbiasa,kao kao.etc.but where is protong heading?Downhill all the way.
    Look at Toyota,I dont recall reading them collecting this and that award but look at their record profits…
    Malaysians ,dont be fooled.The syiok sendiri culture needs to be banned totally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Yeah yeah people safety is not their concern, only profit is important

prrffftttttt

• Why everybody still not accept the results. As we all knew, since when the award is fair?

• no japs.. no koreans.. this is totally bias towards mat salleh only.. tipu semua ni..

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:34 pm

u guys talk about campro? with the current mgmt, current people running it.. 100 years also cannot compete.. so Proton, ada berani?

• every body are right, nothing is perfect.if u want reliable engine but less power,u want powerful engine then pay more for maintenance.

• peyno on Jun 27, 2014 at 8:50 pm

nowadays.. ppl dont talk about reliable la.. car is designed for only 3-5year cycle..

• samlok on Jun 27, 2014 at 11:49 pm

meh, so so only, lousy suzuki engine better than it

• peyno on Jun 28, 2014 at 5:42 am

btw, what happened to vvti TIMiNg CHAIn engine???? only can con kampung ppl boleh land malaysia???
    prrrfthhhh

• notoproton on Jun 28, 2014 at 11:21 am

VW 1.4TSI, what a load of rubbish. Go SC see VWs waiting for engine parts to arrive, piston crack, GB issues. Top off with the rubbish service.

These awards are a scam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • TIrol on Jun 30, 2014 at 5:06 pm

If you say an award that has judges from Japan, France, Germany, Italy, UK, USA, Ausralia and others a scam – then you dont know anything about engines.

• why toyota and honda are not in the list, and why there are some bashers say shit things about VVT and VTEC:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/picturegalleries/9816454/Engine-reliability-the-top-10-brands.html?frame=2457914

• dccct on Jun 28, 2014 at 8:05 pm

I dun care bout Japs cars. Nowadays people go for turbo engine.

• jaybond on Jun 28, 2014 at 10:28 pm

HIGHLY BIASED AWARD.

• Engine reliability – top 10 brands according to Warranty Direct

1. Honda (failure rate: 1 in 344)

2. Toyota (failure rate: 1 in 171)

3. Mercedes-Benz (failure rate: 1 in 119)

4. Volvo (failure rate: 1 in 111)

5. Jaguar (failure rate: 1 in 103)

6. Lexus (failure rate: 1 in 101)

7. Fiat (failure rate: 1 in 85)

8. Ford (failure rate: 1 in 80)

9. Nissan (failure rate: 1 in 76)

10. Land Rover (failure rate: 1 in 72)

Engine reliability – bottom 10 brands according to Warranty Direct

1. MG Rover (failure rate: 1 in 13)

2. Audi (failure rate: 1 in 27)

3. Mini (failure rate: 1 in 40)

4. Saab (failure rate: 1 in 40)

5. Vauxhall (failure rate: 1 in 41)

6. Peugeot (failure rate: 1 in 44)

7. BMW (failure rate: 1 in 45)

8. Renault (failure rate: 1 in 46)

9. Volkswagen (failure rate: 1 in 52)

10. Mitsubishi (failure rate: 1 in 59)

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 29, 2014 at 9:53 am

Volvo no.4, not bad for a “Chinese” car.

Meanwhile, according to some paultanians, Germans are more reliable, so it must be true… Save for Mercedes, I am mightily impressed how far “better” they are compared to that “Chinese” junk, woooow very well done indeed :)))

• It’s not applicable to Asean countries. Different place different quality.

• fatchicken on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:07 am

Hence, euro brand we shd only trust which brand?? MarSiDis !

• Heng Lee on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:46 am

Lexus worse than Volvo from China and Jaguar from India?

• from the list i would say ford is fairly reliable, innovative, powerful engine and top-end safety level.. so.. it’s in between.. in terms of reliability, powerful engine, fuel-saving, good-handling, etc.

but sadly.. Sime Darby still has a long way to make this brand a preferred brand in Malaysia due to their after sale issue..

• Mr TruthFact on Jun 30, 2014 at 9:38 am

Haiya…Ford win again & again. Are you serious? what a joke/ shame la…have u ever read here?
    http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2013/05/16/ford-ecoboost-engine-problems/2168865/
    Some owners of that 3.5-liter V-6 EcoBoost engine, also used in some Lincolns and Ford cars and SUVs, have sued Ford because the engine doesn’t run right.

Another report:

Based on February, Consumer Reports (USA) found that many of today’s turbocharged engines fail to live up to their advertised promises of better fuel economy and strong performance. Ford’s Fusion with 1.6-liter EcoBoost became the chief bad example, being “among the worst” in real-world mileage among midsize sedans, including some powered by conventional, non-turbo, larger-displacement, four-cylinder engines.

hello…plz lah. read the newspaper first.

• fatchicken on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:03 am

u should not trust the newspaper too much, let me tell u the truth bro, in actual fact, it’s alot worse than reported. Just imagine..

• Samurai G on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:04 am

Is it true?

So on what purpose do we have International engine? Because of vote? Not the reliability?

No wonder Korean & Japanese maker are not in the listing.

So don’t talk about engine Proton. The Old Toyota also can’t beat them?

• tanderketq on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:59 am

Well said Mr Truth Fact..

• 7 out 9 on the list are direct injection, clearly the judging panel believe Direct Injection is the most efficient for IC engines. Until the japanese and your proton enigineers know how to design one. Can you all just chill? Engine of the year judging criteria only on engine, nothing to do with gearbox.

• paulman on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:36 am

without gearbox to judge the engine? hmm…

• Of course need gearbox to drive the car to feel it before judging, what happens is judging results and criteria has no direct relation to the type of gearbox that manufacturer choose or matching ratio use for the engines, hence the verdict on engines were merely on the engine behaviour itself (check their scoring details). If gearbox is part of the judging criteria, says 50%, that would mean all DCT paired engine would be up there, since they are the most efficient around no?

To sum it up, a good engine can always match with a better gearbox but a good gearbox cant push the limit or refine the character of a mediocre engine.

Cheers