Peugeot 208 GTi 30th Anniversary – 208 hp, 300 Nm

Peugeot-208_GTi_30th_Anniversary_Edition_01

Peugeot has unveiled the 208 GTi 30th Anniversary Edition at the 2014 Goodwood Festival of Speed. More than just a cosmetic special edition, the 30th Anniversary is powered by a new Euro 6 1.6 litre THP petrol engine with 208 hp and 300 Nm. That’s eight horses and 25 Nm more than the standard hot hatch.

Zero to 100 km/h is done in 6.5 seconds, three tenths faster. The improved acceleration is matched by uprated brakes – 323 mm diameter and 28 mm thick discs up front with Brembo fixed four-piston calipers.

Mated to a good ol’ six-speed manual, power goes through a Torsen limited slip differential to the front wheels, like in the RCZ R. The ESP and traction control have been recalibrated to be less intrusive and to “set free the vehicle’s traction and allow the LSD to operate”.

The 30th also gets specific suspension (lowered by 10 mm) and steering settings. The track is wider by 22 mm at the front and 16 mm at the rear, to boot. The 18-inch wheels are wrapped with Michelin Pilot Super Sport 205/40 tyres.

Peugeot-208_GTi_30th_Anniversary_Edition_02

Looks wise, chrome trim have been replaced by matte black bits. At the front, the dark treatment is applied to the grille surround, foglamp bezels and door mirror shells. From the side, you’ll find matte black side skirts and wheel arch extensions. The window weather strip, which finishes with a signature paying homage to the famous 205 GTi, is also finished in the same hue, while the quarter panel bears a “208 GTi 30th” logo.

You would have noticed the unique red and black two-tone, two-material treatment. The front is finished in textured black, contrasting with the new lacquered red at the rear. The two colours are divided by a sharp oblique straight-cut line, as first seen on the Onyx Supercar Concept.

Sales start in November 2014, but the Euro 6 engine has little chance of reaching our shores. Launched here in October 2013, the standard Peugeot 208 GTi is priced at RM139,888. Read our review of the hot hatch.

Peugeot 208 GTi in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Manual! Wowwww! very good car! can smoke all the Preve and Suprima S on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Why only Preve / SS?
      Why not GTI? Butthurt level is very high here.

• Alfasuxs on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Keep the car, I’ll take the models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Alifzz on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:00 pm

This is what Proton should do instead of giving ‘facelook’ only for R3 edition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • just me on Jun 28, 2014 at 11:03 am

Did u guys read the star paper. Terrorist in syria use proton blm as car bomb. Be proud of it, at least it is terrorist choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • bisakeris (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:21 pm

u percaya mca’s newspaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Vader (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 4:41 pm

No doubt that terrorist using BLM as a bomb car.
          I think those terrorist is not mean to select certain brand of the car, maybe the BLM is cheapest car they have in their market.
          Is not fair to claim terrorist having relationship with proton for the time being.

• IdealTech on Jun 29, 2014 at 7:29 am

Hope ur car will be the next target, then u’ll be proud to die in one :)

• just me on Jun 29, 2014 at 11:10 am

Your butt hurt because you e driving proton BLM it is? No one in the right mind wish some die like you do. Be careful your curse may turn to yourself and family!

• tanderketq on Jul 01, 2014 at 8:25 am

Heloo..y la want to blame Proton because the terrorist use BLM as a car bomb..if the terrorist use perodua are u gonna blame them too..

• Hukaka on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:22 pm

First,I never saw any peugeot GTi on the road.
    Normal 208 three or five door also can see but not GTi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • kobealex on Jun 28, 2014 at 2:04 am

I’ve seen a 208GTi with a chick driving in a traffic jam heading towards mid valley though.

• The standard 208 GTi is already very tempting, now this is even more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • chinoy on Jun 27, 2014 at 7:37 pm

first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Nice!

• 208, 208hp, so expect the 508 to get 508 HORSEPOWWERRR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • 208GTI on Jun 27, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Will we be able to see this in Malaysia?

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 27, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Red rear quarters? Reminds me of a certain primate. I don’t think this is such a hot idea…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Enthu on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:46 am

So many GTi wannabe haiz…..

First Ford with the Focus….
    Now Peugeot wants to follow VW in marketing “XX Editions” as well?

Come up with something new at least…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
    • U dont know much about cars do you. Peugeot has been gtis sonce the 80s in fact alot of automotive journalist awarded the 205 gti as the best hothatchof all time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Enthu on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:49 am

What’s with the mixture of paint anyway? It looked like the car got into a crash and the owner didn’t had the cash to fix it. *sweat*

Now they are pushing the Prince PSA 1.6 engine to such numbers? I hope reliability+safety is in their minds when they increased the boost and tune it up this time, again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • intermilan on Jun 28, 2014 at 1:33 pm

270bhp version also have..

so no issue having it to produce 208bhp.. sap sap soi saja..

Maybe you dunno about the 270bhp version.. google rcz-r.

• sunway on Jun 29, 2014 at 9:53 am

Can go to stage 2 also. This is factory fitted turbo and got warranty not ah beng one

• nabill (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 2:24 am

That is a sick paintjob,u cant miss it even frm orbit! Awesome!

• intermilan on Jun 28, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Nice proper upgrades, but waiting for the 208gti-r… will peugeot make them?

• cendol (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Its 2 conjoined GTI, 1 black, 1 red, both involved in car accident. The engineers connected black front portion to red back portion, like kereta potong.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jun 28, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Output figures another issue,real world performance and engine reliability and refinement another thing..My friend Golf 1.4TSI 140hp/220nm had a hard time wanna smoke a standard Honda Civic EK 1.6…

• Josh Ling on Jun 29, 2014 at 8:52 pm

i bet we are gonna see something like this on Malaysian roads really soon…..i mean the car with the same look, not really the exact car.

• Chee Boon on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Wow… nice HP, manual gearbox… and fabulous colour!