SPIED: Citroen DS3 Racing in Malaysia – 207hp!

citroen-ds3r-0004

A faster, more hardcore version of the Citroen DS3 was sighted at JPJ Putrajaya a few days ago by our JPJ spyman Anol Alias. This variant is called the Citroen DS3 Racing, powered by a 207 horsepower 1.6 litre turbo four-cylinder engine, driving the front wheels via a six-speed manual gearbox.

Thanks to all that firepower, the DS3 Racing hits 100km/h in 6.5 seconds. Only two colour schemes are available – this black one with orange accents on the roof and wheels, or a white and grey version. There’s alsoreal carbon fibre on the front splitter, grille, wheel arches and rear diffuser, as well as in the interior.

Compared to a regular DS3, the suspension is stiffened and lowered by 15mm and the track widened by 30mm. Brakes are bigger of course, to get more stop matching the more potent go. Last we heard, Citroen intends to limit the DS3 Racing to 2,400 units, so it might be available in limited numbers here as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rocky balboa on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Brother of 208 gti?

• Datuk on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:25 pm

old stock i guess, already in market since 2011 actually. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_eLViH7_YI

• kemal on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:27 pm

is that brembo brakes?

• elson on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:42 pm

plasti dip + carbon sticker = DS3 racing series

• THLAM on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:49 pm

how much of this car??

• effing problems on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:05 pm

this is awesome!!! Im really annoyed that other automakers are making cars that we can drool.. but how come perodua n proton cant make anything that is even as awesome as this Citroën?

• Tumbi on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Golf gti crying hard…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • zeek (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Wait I thought this is limited to 2400 units worldwide & all of them are sold.

• zeek (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Honestly I’d take this over a Mini any day

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:17 pm

My GOD!!!! is gorgeous & thumbs up for Naza, u guys at Naza deserve to be Sole importer of French cars!!! Keep it up. To VW, manual being sold here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Renault is imported by Tan Chong.

• bringmanualcars! on Jul 01, 2014 at 8:47 am

yes shame on VW, MERC and BMW

many choices for a manual but none is up for sale !!

• Awesome! love this!

• tombyron on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:26 pm

why so fugly??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Joker on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:51 pm

nice car… the 208 GTi anniversary edition have 208 hp. this with 207 hp.. performance wise shouldn’t be far but DS3 Racing looks better… and that orange rims!!

• heybadigol on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Its Fasting month, so kenot be saying not nice things. So, I’d say this is a sporty looking car. Those orange rims are extreme, but fits in with the look. But those DS3 decals are a bit big and showy. So, hope they give option to owner to have the car with our without those decals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • SexyBoy on Jun 30, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Ppl like u are the reason why our religion is often mistakened! Fasting month or not, you should NOT say ‘not nice things’ always.

I understand u’re ONLY referring to the car. But friend, when you put ‘Its Fasting month’, u’ll get mistakened even if you don’t mean more than what you think you’re saying.

Anyways, selamat berbuka puasa SOON!!! ;););)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:55 pm

I doubt this is the FL version? I saw a few of the FL version with the soft folding roof in EU and it looks gorgeous with its roof folded.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Folding roof is probably an option, and those cars you’ve seen had their owner tick the box (after all you’re already spending a lot on the car versus the regular version, might as well top up a bit to make it even more awesome).

• peter on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Nice car. But this version is trying to hard.

• kctan on Jun 30, 2014 at 3:03 pm

this is what i WANTED!!!!

and it is MANUAL!!!!!

• SamKL on Jun 30, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Wow…sports car segment getting more excited….

• blackbox on Jun 30, 2014 at 3:37 pm

140k to 150k can consider other than that too expensive liao.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 3:22 pm

will probably be much more expensive compared to 208gti but not sure by what margin.

• Just For Fun ;) on Jun 30, 2014 at 4:44 pm

*presses on the accelerator a little bit*

“Eh where did the Proton Suprima S went?”
    *Looks at rear mirror* “ohhhh…..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Not exactly a competitor. B segment hot hatch vs C segment regular car. Different purpose, waaay different price tag. I wouldn’t be surprised if you could buy 3 Suprima for one DS3 Racing.

• Should be this on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Ahem, this costs so much more than the Suprima not really fair comparo. The rivals for this should be Mini Cooper S, Golf GTi and 208 GTi.

*Pressing the gas pedal to the max*

“What?! The Golf GTi still there? Oh sh*t, he’s really pushing it!

*The Golf GTi gets on the outer lane and pulls ahead*

“How come he beat me? I have no problem smoking Suprimas, Myvis and Sagas before. Why?”

• quicky on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:14 am

Even suprima cannot afford, want to talk about ds3, ptuih

• At last my dream car is here!!’ Should rock the socks of those gtis out there..please price it right Naza!

• citreon +peugeot on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:08 pm

nice car , but i will buy 208 gti , beacause 208 gti is cheaper than this car.

• peter on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:31 pm

I bought a 208GTi….but cancelled the order (they sneakily tried to sell me a roadshow unit). No apologies provided either besides “you want another unit, you wait” attitude.

You don’t get this kind of service from Citroen.

• Jlun Tang on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:18 pm

it is lifestyle, bold and young looking but abit of too funky.
    208 GTI anyday.

• ugly decals, not subtle enough, should be all black and then smoke the 5ers, 320s, Polo GTi and Golfs on the highay