Subsidised fuel should be dyed to be tagged – PDAM

diesel-pix-wm

The Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) has suggested that the government begin dyeing subsidised fuel to enable it to be more easily identified. That way, enforcement agencies would only have to look at the colour of the fuel to tell if it is being taken across borders.

PDAM deputy president Datuk Zulkifli Mokti recommended that the government take this measure in addition to other measures that have to be introduced from August 1 this year, including requiring all tanker trucks to be painted blue with the words “Minyak Subsidi” on the tanks.

Another change in the way subsidies are being controlled is the diesel quota system, which is now set at the station level instead of being set at the fuel company level. Stations will be required to submit monthly reports of how much RON95 and diesel they sell, and they can request for extra allocations if they need it.

Hopefully this will reduce the “maaf, kuota habis” signs at the stations at the end of the month. I personally faced this quite often before I disposed of my diesel-powered SUV. It makes refuelling even more of an issue, adding on top of the existing issue of finding the right kind of diesel nozzle size to fit the vehicle.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dye for Ministers on Jun 30, 2014 at 11:37 am

The Ministers and Government servants should have their hands dyed so that whenever they take corruption, people will know. This is a good idea.
    Can save tens of billions per annum

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 7
    • policeman on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:44 pm

What if they wear long sleeves and gloves? A little troublesome to tell them to remove their gloves…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • flat_tire on Jun 30, 2014 at 7:08 pm

just dye their faces then..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • Curi Curi Malaysia on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:22 am

I won’t be surprised the contract to dye the oil nationwide will be given to the Mokti family. Lets wait and see.

• Bersuhabat Suhabat on Jun 30, 2014 at 4:50 pm

The PDAM talk big. They are the biggest thieves. So many consumers can confirm that we have seen the stations happily even today filling up Singapore cars and even tankers coming in. Lets face it Datuk, don’t cry and pretend to be innocent. The PDAM, and even maybe you, are big culprits.
      Don’t blame the people who steal. It is like a drug addict. Don’t blame the drug addict. Blame the drug lord and drug seller.
      In this case, we all know, the most stations “BERSUHABAT” with the people who steal either small time or big time. I have seen with my own eyes tankers with foreign plates coming in and our local stations happily filling up for them.
      So Datuk, please don’t lie. Jangan tipu. Sort your own skeletons and then ask the government to waste money and dye the petrol. Infact, better for our current government to revoke ALL petrol station licences because all of us can attest that we have seen petrol stations happily selling to foreign vehicles. Sama sama bersuhabat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Mari Untung Lebih Lebih! on Jun 30, 2014 at 5:44 pm

The Petrol station owners are the biggest crooks. They are the biggest pengkhianat negara. Traitor to the nation. Just because they want to max their sales, they do anything including selling their own country.

Email me, I can give you pictures of so many Singapore cars who fill up in Malaysia Ron 95. Like AP, give lesen to berniaga, but cheat the country and cheat your own bangsa.

Give free subsidi to Singapore just because you want to untung more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • Lesen Stesen Minyak on Jun 30, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Don’t worry. Nothing will be done. Go see carefully. Most station minyak is owned by relative of menteri menteri. Dig deeper and you can see, its the kakak ipar, anak angkat, anak saudara, cucu, bro in law, sis in law of the current menteri.

Because petrol station, just do nothing can make a cool Rm50k per month. Go dig deeper and see who hold most licences.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • prove it la bro. jangan main cakap saja. prove it here lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • PDAM Business on Jun 30, 2014 at 11:39 am

PDAM also must answer why all stations and licences for stations are now for bumi. Why ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 39
    • policeman on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:46 pm

why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 68
      • Peter on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:54 pm

B’cse bumi (by %) still use most of the taxes non bumi paid. To be fair, you & your gov can give all licenses to only grp of ppl you like but don tax, don depends, don use any resources on those who you’re not willing to share wealth with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Vader (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Because nowadays, meaning of the “tongkat” had been twisted to be “hak keistimewaan”.
        Because the Indon can ask Malaysian Chinese and Indian back to China and India.
        Because the nation resource, petroleum and petronas are only for Malay.
        Because the minority need to be helping the majority.
        Because the Malay who support the real one Malaysia is not appreciate his own race.
        Because u can get charge is u say a world celaka.
        Because the

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
      • Still need help?

• start-a-fight on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:10 pm

sure o not ALL?

• the driver on Jun 30, 2014 at 11:44 am

Where does the vice president get his idea to dye the fuel? It is not effective at all. Kerosine is dyed blue to reduce the smuggling but no one takes note of it. Smugglers are way smarter than falling for a tactic of dyes, trust me. Even better would be to ‘tag’ the fuel using transponders, that is a high tech way to reduce smuggling but is easily detected using a remote detector from far away – costs money but in bulk is cheap but the loss in national income makes it worthwhile
    Best of all, just remove subsidies altogether :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • support on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:26 pm

yes. that’s the best way. remove the subsidies altogether just like during paklah’s time. back then we see 2 years of subsidies removal and prices is still lower than current.

remove fuel subsidies, send the savings to removal of vehicle excise duty and removal of tertiary education fees.

current estimation pegs the fuel subsidies at RM25 billion+ a year. why not remove the subsidies altogether since it’s only a difference of 50-60 sen. lower income people already have BR1M, and they don’t use much fuel anyway for their motorbikes. rich people with BMW/merc/luxury cars can’t pay for cheap RON95 anymore. and we’ll stop fuel smuggling since there’s no more reason to smuggle.

removal of excise duty will bring car prices down. and removal of university fees will bring more people to uni. don’t have to remove fees to all uni, just make the top research uni and apex uni free to enter. that will drive kids to excel and get free education.

and those that argue cheaper car will drive more people to buy a car, and cause more jam; i have to disagree.
      cheaper car, expensive fuel will force people to use public transport, drive/ride more sensibly to save fuel, and car pool. cheaper car would allow people to afford better car to ferry their family in. and force the same people to drive smaller, more efficient car to work or ride to work.

just because a myvi is cheaper with no excise duty, don’t think people already with 1 myvi would want to buy 3 more myvis because it’s now cheaper with no excise duty.
      just because i own a crappy kancil, don’t mean i’m gonna buy 5 more crappy kancils just because it’s now cheaper with no excise duty.

i’m all for removal of fuel subsidies. it’s just the most logical and realistic way to go forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • W204 C63 AMG on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Nah, it has nothing to do with smugglers being smart. Money talks.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 11:46 am

I want black kaler dye to match my black kaler car.
    My friend wants pink kaler dye to match her pink kaler Limited Limited Edition Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • slk3879 on Jun 30, 2014 at 11:46 am

When the officers in the enforcement agencies are involved in the smuggling business as reported, is dyeing the fuel going to solve the problem?

Or just another business opportunity created for the cronies to reap more money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • bingo on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:21 pm

bingo! while you are at it. help the government catch them. provide solid evidence or point them in the right direction. right?. you care right?

• Ah Beng King on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Better late then never. But i lament the fact that they took so long to come up with a solution, after losing billions to smuggling.

But honestly painting the truck blue with those words are not really going to do much…

Dying the fuel sounds like a good idea, but again i hope it does not cause any problems to the engine. Next thing you know my engine turn green colour…

• Please read between the lines, painting the truck blue and marking it is to tell our rakyat that govt is Subsiding the fuel. And blue is the colour of *ahem* political party. Propaganda?

Anyway, dyeing it seems to be practical. Govt dont have to pay for it (I hope).

• Anti CO2 on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:15 pm

So many suggestions, xtra procedures, xtra works and investment… Just float the fuel price and return the money back to the rakyat by cancelling the car excise duty, better road and free highways. Pls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:56 pm

oh nak pakai highway lepas tu nak free eh?

look at your words “return the money back to the rakyat” implying that the government owes you something. It is your responsibility to pay taxes. It’s not as if the amount you pay can be enough to resurface a 100 meter road. stop being greedy.

Try doing something for the government and the country instead of thinking about personal gains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 78
      • I’m sorry… Do something for country… Yes… Because it is my country… But do something for gov… Hell no… We elected them to take care of our country… It’s their responsibility…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Lane Tamer on Jun 30, 2014 at 2:39 pm

People in the UK also pay their taxes, but the highways and hospitals are free for the people. How about that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Last sentence please kindly pin on BN facebook page…tq.

• Hadi75 on Jun 30, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Every rakyat is paying taxes either directly or indirectly….
        You should also tell our leaders that…..

• Anti CO2 on Jun 30, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Wouldn’t you expect some form of return if the government float the fuel price and safe billions of RM? Call me greedy or selfish or what ever, I just wish to squeeze more value out of every single HARD EARN ringgit from my pocket, which by the way is weakening.

• ynnad on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:18 pm

At least along LDP, running out of diesel seems to happen only to a few brands of petrol station. Shell is the worst. Almost every time, Petron will still have diesel whenever the other stations are out of quota.

I am guessing your diesel SUV is a Santa Fe. I have the same and never had the issue of pump nozzle sizing before (all over the country).

• Black Dog on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Shell is the worst because it finishes it’s quota faster due to it’s popularity. Lots of people hate to fill at Petronas because of it’s racist policy of not giving contracts to non-bumi. It’s a national oil company, for god sake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 29
  • Blondie on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Those korup officers, fuel smugglers also their hair must be dyed….so from far rakyat know who are the traitors…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • joeyoung on Jun 30, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Wow. Meaning the Petrol station are clean as whistle to all this unsubsidised petrol hoo-haa.
    Go to petrol station around JB and even Tuas area. See who is pumping RON95, sometimes even the attendant is pumping the petrol while the kiasu ppl are hiding inside the counter pretending to be innocent. Dont believe me, email and i can send pictures over. Just need hard enforcement to control this. 1st offence, 5000 fine towards the petrol station, 2nd offence, double fine and 1 million. See if they dare to let kiasu ppl pump RON95. Dont need an MBA to figure this out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Blaze on Jun 30, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Wait a minute, i thought they already spent gizzilion bucks in nano technology tagging??

• Just bring in high grade fuel like Euro 5, remove all subsidies, reduce car price then life goes on. No need dye for fuel, no need to worry about smuggling, no need confusing NAP and no need MAI…

• cendol (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 4:42 pm

The Best solution is to abolish fuel subsidy altogether and let free market dictates fuel price. Any manipulation to fuel prices will only lead to abuse and corruption. It is a known fact.

• Skeptic on Jun 30, 2014 at 5:20 pm

If jet engines can disappear from an Air Force base, how can we ensure that oil tankers won’t disappear from the country?

• Soon malaysian will understand whether one is better:

Proton with subsidized fuel
    or
    Conti with non-subsidized fuel

• cendol (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:25 pm

In some(many) people’s view, we need to keep Potong alive so 30000 Potong employees can survive at the expense of 26million population

• sengmineng on Jun 30, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Malaysia nothing to said.hear all this g ppl everyday talk cock better spent time see more AV

• panjang on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:17 pm

The law is there but there are no enforcement.When something surface, some minor action will be taken with major highlight.Typical behaviour of jaguh kampung.
    Same goes when something like this came out,everyone make noise here and there.After a week when new thread are out,topic will be left out as if it never surfaced.Again,typical behaviour of jaguh kampung
    I am a malaysian,so are u guys.is there something better that we can do?
    have u guys heard of a website dedicated to potholes in Russia and its effect?
    Why cant we have it for these type of thing.
    one other thing,the gov does not entirely runs the nation and eating the people’s money.We are leaving out one big entity which do the same to us.

• Hundredtozero on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:32 pm

You all talking cock only here. Not relating to the subject matter!

• To avoid corruption, all gov agency ppl use new system, even police, enforcement ppl. Js like what army pratice now. every 2 -4 year must relocate or transfer to other state duty. When who get promo also hv to transfer to other state duty.

• Susukotak on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:45 am

When thinker use prawn brain to think. See the root causing it. Not how to detect it.

• Lemer on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:14 am

Just remove the subsidy. Fuel in Malaysia is so cheap, 1/2 – 1/3 price of what Thai, Indons, Vietnamese pay.

• Subsidized Solution! on Jul 01, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Gment can implement a system at all the petrol station near border that can read MyKad, License , or credit card to check if they are local or not, if local, allow maximum of rm200 for each fueling every one hour. This will at least minimized foreigner to fuel up with subsidized fuel.

• Subsidized Solution! on Jul 01, 2014 at 1:41 pm

I think to remove subsidize fuel is not the best option now, since our public transportation is still inconvenience, and the domino effect of the removal will be too great to handle currently. Yet, we still unsure if once subsidized removed, will the extra revenue will put to good use? So is better to improve the current situation first. Personally, I dont agreed of cheaper car price because it flood the road more, eventhough now car price is high, we still see cars selling like hot cakes..!!Frankly, i hope the gment can increase the roadtax and stop giving full loan for car purchase, max it at 80% and limit installment to 7years.Sorry if i offend any1, just my opinion.

• _xXx_ on Jul 01, 2014 at 3:17 pm

dye it gold kaler so that I can mix it with my kencing

• niterunner99 on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:41 pm

I would like to see how the checking officers check for the dyed fuel in each car at customs…the Q will b damn long!

• Orang Minyak on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:15 am

The number is BIG – RM 7billion – that’s approximately 30% of the subsidized fuel budget. In my opinion we need to change the system as can’t change behavior. InsaAllah, our efforts to setup a transparent closed system in distributing fuel to the Rakyat will be approved – please pray for the best.
    Note: Using MyKad and the solutions by the 7 companies currently is not optimum as all are under some ministers’ control.