2014 Honda Jazz now open for booking in Malaysia, three spec levels available – 1.5 S, 1.5 E and 1.5 V

malaysia-honda-jazz-open-for-booking

Honda Malaysia has announced that the new third-generation Honda Jazz is now available for booking in Malaysia, and an official launch will be happening by the end of this month. The car was spied late last month on a transporter near Bukit Jelutong.

UPDATE: The new Honda Jazz is now launched in Malaysia, read our launch report.

The 2014 Honda Jazz will be available in three variants – 1.5 S, 1.5 E and 1.5 V, in that order in terms of equipment level and expected pricing. This is pretty interesting as it means Honda Malaysia now treats the Jazz as a mass-market model just like the Honda City, which also has a variety of equipment levels.

And rightfully so, ever since the previous-generation Jazz was launched as a CKD model with a lower price tag, sales leaped from only 650 units a year on average for the CBU model up to 6,770 units in less than a year for the CKD model. These numbers don’t even include the CKD Hybrid model.

Powering the new Honda Jazz is a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine producing 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm. This engine drives the front wheels via a new Honda Earth Dreams CVT gearbox – essentially the same engine and gearbox combo as in the new Honda City.

The Jazz will continue the interior versatility of the previous-generation models thanks to its Ultra Seats with rear seat reclining. Though we don’t know the full equipment levels of each spec level yet, Honda Malaysia have announced that at least the top spec variant will have six airbags, VSA stability control, Emergency Start Stop signal and Hill Stop Assist (HSA).

Bookings made between now and July 15 will be in the running to win a trip to the Maldives, and Honda Malaysia has also arranged for 2.53% financing. You’ll be able to catch it at a preview roadshow moving about town starting from today. Find out where the Jazz will be here.

Thai-market Honda Jazz

JDM Honda Fit Hybrid at Honda’s new Yorii plant

GALLERY: Malaysian-spec white 2014 Honda Jazz preview

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 111
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:26 am

Yup. Ah Beng like new proton compact car..The design is better than this and provided with world class safety feature ncap 5 star..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 20
      • Vader (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 3:39 pm

potong committed will launch it in the second quarter of 2014, right?
        Where is it now?

• Honda best car on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Yes,go ahead and stay with your Proton junk.Nobody is going to bother Proton junk anymore.
          All hail 2014 Honda Jazz!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 29
          • Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:04 pm

The problem with Proton owner is: It is so difficult for them to upgrade to other cars! Why?

The Proton they bought required so much money on repair and maintenance, so it will slash their saving.

When they are about to sell off the Proton, they found they can go nowhere because their Proton RV is sooo bad, next to none.

With less saving and poor RV, they can only stick with Proton as second car (most of them escaped to Perodua).

Proton use attractive car outlook (with recent design contest) to get their victim into the vicious cycle. This trick seems not long working as good as they thought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
      • kzm family on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:19 am

Kami mesti berwaspada beli kereta ini. Mesti meniliti dengan terpencil bahawa tak ada elemen Yahudi dalam kereta ini walaupun kereta ini Jepun.

Kalau ada elemen Yahudi, kereta ini tidak halal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 73
        • Jeffrey Ng on Jul 03, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Sila berikan contoh apakah elemen-elemen Yahudi yang berkemungkinan dijumpai di sesebuah kenderaan?

• Bro if like that all not halal la bro. so better stay in jungle and away from all these Yahudi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • gsuresh on Jul 06, 2014 at 4:16 pm

bodoh!! otak kat panatat

• Elenor on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:29 am

Sila beri contoh elemen yahudi.

• Zionist on Jul 14, 2014 at 12:11 pm

sila boikot FB jika tak nak berkait dgn elemen yahudi. Tolong deletekan account Facebook anda sekarang juga =)

• Bataman on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Bangang…Intel got lots of technology came from Israel…Even Microsoft XBOX also come from Israel..

Why you use computer?? Haram wei.

• lee pan on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:31 am

Sound interesting if come with right price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • Aiden Pearce on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:36 am

Booking without knowing the price is like having a blind date… Malaysian Boleh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
  • kzm (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:37 am

hoo..still many buy CKD car..i tot people hate it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
    • What to do.. we are forced to buy them.

i thought Made in MAlaysia things are good.. see see they are worst then things that are Made in India.

Hidup Hidup!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • JeremyNg on Jul 01, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Buy CKD car good leh , at least those blood sucker AP dont earn a single cents from us LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • are u du** or retar*** or others?

CKD car is still taxed dude..

No wonder Malaysia cannot improve, 80% of reta***

Just like Honda BS Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
        • kamarul on Jul 01, 2014 at 1:06 pm

CKD no import duty and sales tax but once it is assembled only sales tax of 10% to be incurred.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • so who is the retard here ?

• Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:10 pm

All car are taxed. So don’t pretend you are wise unless you are on foot or bus/LRT passenger everyday.

Why the tax has caused Malaysian cars so expensive?

Because of some people keep on shouting “Hidup Hidup” to the 30 years old junk class car maker.

• Yup..you are 1000% correct and you are included in 80% of retarded malaysian..huhu

• kzm brother on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:15 pm

kzm tak mintak special bumiputera diskaun for the Honda Jazz? Mintak lah, mana tau, mungkin boleh dapat diskaun macam rumah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
  • Thai motorcar, expensive fuel but cheap car. But lots of job opportunity from many car manufacture.

Malaysia, moderate fuel price, but expensive car. So should we suggest gov to abolish fuel subsidy, and give us cheap cars? Then we don’t have to headache on the smuggle fuel, and come up all stupid ideas on how to abolish smuggle fuel. The subsidy fuel is just RM0.7/litter, not too much provided we pay less for the car on initial stage.

Or study from Singapore, let the people know the real car price and let us know the extra tax amount, so we can know how much fund is used for public transport infrastructure etc.

Love Malaysia, love peace.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 7
    • Indigo on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:30 am

I was talking to one Thai friend the other day and she laughed at me and said why Malaysian hire purchase can go up to 9 years? Well, in Bolehland, there’s nothing much you can do as the taxes are so much to collect from cars so the G will increase the fuel price while maintaining car price. Good job..good job… Back in Thailand their fuel is already Euro 4 long time ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • donno on Jan 14, 2016 at 10:04 am

Malaysia don’t want us Malaysian knows so much. easier to “sembelih”. If we know so much on how to calculate, we became like singapore. as we malaysia is “Demokrasi Terpimpin” mcm China. ;)

• kcng (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:48 am

ugliest car i ever see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 64
    • Vios king on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Preve is one of the ugliest car I ever seen.No wonder so many new City,new Vios and Almera on the road.Nobody is going to bother that Preve junk anymore.
      RIP Proton Preve!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
      • Vios king on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Smart people will never have Preve in their mind.
        They only consider Vios,City or Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
        • catfishdugong on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:16 pm

City or preve I can consider, but fugly catfish Vios and dugong Almera, nooooo waaayyyyyy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Sam Loo Ori on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:14 pm

RIP perutdua lagi best extreme @ RM63k.

Beli ori bukan celup macam p2…kakakakaka

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:50 am

Still waiting for news of 6 speed manual honda fit (jazz) rs and jazz hybrid to come to malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Chee Boon on Jul 01, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Yeah, same here, having a vtec engine without a proper manual gearbox, its like missing something overall.

And yeah i am a manual driving freak. Now driving a golf, but still using “manual mode” instead of “D” mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Green on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:54 am

Would it be an EEV now?

• Ray (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:56 am

Am I the only one who thinks that the rear lights/reflectors that extend up to the windscreen look weird? And the rear bumper…

It still looks very desirable, to me at least, unlike the current one which is a bit too feminine to my liking. And with those specs and the estimated price posted on Paultan previously, I’m seriously thinking of getting one to replace my 2nd car.

• turbo_guy on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:58 am

When will the 130Hp version arrive in Malaysia?

• As usual Honda Malaysia being forced to put Jazz price must be higher than Suprima….

MITI close one eye on ‘open competition’….must protect Protonggg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:17 am

Of course..Ah Beng agree if govt increase the price. Japan and Korea been doing the same thing to protect our national car industry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • tanderketq on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:36 am

Yessss arrr..confirm arr…who in MITI said must protect Proton..ehh u don’t simply said ahh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Junk Preve and Suprima on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Hahaha hard to see Suprima junk on the road.Nobody want that junk.
      Smart people only get Vios,City or Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • LBP700 on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Are you high? There are many preve on road. Almera and City are lesser. Vios is the least

• das auto on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Vios is same type of junk like preve…..only its a high price junk. So its worse than preve actually.

• Steiner on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:02 am

No LED headlamp is so disappointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • heybadigol on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:08 am

Wonder how will Honda Malaysia market this? It can’t be sold to the same target market as the City, or else both cars will be squabbling for sales from the same demographic. So, the Jazz may be marketed as a more sporty fun to drive car, whereas the City is the family hauler. Maybe thats why the City has no paddle shifters, so that it will appear in the Jazz instead? Just a guess, but highly probable in order to further differentiate the 2 cars. Won’t be long before Paultan gets more details on the specs.

• Samuel Tong on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:15 am

Seriously you need paddle shift for CVT transmission? No point to have that since you won’t feel the uummmm like the previous City with the 5 speed torque converter.

• Aku Nak Beli!! on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:14 am

deyyy.. please enclose the price laaa..

• Maciam ada sikit suprimak mia DNA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • xoxoxo on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:21 am

Maciam ada sikit suprimak mia DNA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Hondadudida on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:33 am

They recycled the same tail-lamp from Honda Civic… o.o

• Denaihati on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:58 am

i think, the price would be almost same as existing generation Jazz. more interesting is top spec variant will have six airbags.

• Lexfu on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:59 am

GWM is launching M4 with price starting from RM4X,XXX (http://www.gwm.my/M4CompactSUV/m4/)

Although both are totally different segment car, I suspect Honda see market grab coming up soon, faster launch their Jazz. If that is the case then it’s a good sign. About time they ‘lower’ their car price. And see if this will incite our local auto makers to do better to compete.

• HAHAHA!

Everything the same as City so do expect the same BS Quality and BS QC..

Just wait and see and suffer the might of the BQ of Honda BS Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • trolol on Jul 01, 2014 at 12:14 pm

dude! never go full retard online! get a freakin life!!!! cant believe salesmen would go through this extent just to kill the competitor? how’s the vios sales? good? no? such a retard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Yes du** dude?

I am not any sales person.

Just go get one urself and see the BS BQ and QC of HONDA BS MAlaysia.

Just to add on, just only detected last night, sounds coming from dashboard dunoo from engine, aircon or wat..

really du** f*** Honda BS MAlaysia..

REGRETTED like F*** getting HONDA BS MALAYSIA..

PLS OTHER CAR MAKERS, IMPROVE UR FEATURES AND LET HONDA BS MALAYSIA GO BANKRUPT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
        • Junk Preve and Suprima on Jul 01, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Just a desperate Preve or Suprima owner,freaking jealous to see new City flooding the road more and more.
          “haha” bro,be normal a bit,the way u talk here is like u never own a Honda and talk BS in Paultan forum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Why compare orange to apple? City / jazz has to push pedal hard to get the same speed with Preve / SS, LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Bataman on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:35 pm

I got one just last week. Love it. Top notch. Just like the reviews, it beats everything else in it’s class.

Sounds from engine? Of course engine got sound. Which car engine no sound??? LOL.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:14 am

Will this be Thai CBU and sold along the current CKD for now?

• death (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:16 am

When the fit hybrid will come? i wanna see the new hybrid, earth dream technology. =3=

• What’s wrong with Honda. Their CRV and now Jazz borrowed from Volvo. ALL their City borrowed from BMW 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Lemer on Jul 01, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Outside design the back and side curve and line seems following Suprima, however Suprima is better looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Maseratits on Jul 01, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Eh? Correct me if I’m wrong but I thought the Jazz originally had a dual clutch transmission?

• Paul Tan on Jul 01, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Dual clutch is for the Jazz Hybrid.

Honda Jazz 1.5 Petrol uses “G-Design Shift” CVT.

• Kangkung on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Hi Paul, when honda malaysia launch the hybrid variant? Japan FIT dual clutch problem solved?

• RM74000 to 87000

• same pricing as HOnda city.
      get City, better.

Jazz is not so comfy.
      better handling but harder suspension.

• Bataman on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Did you test drive the car? I have tested the previous gen Jaxx many times. Suspension is actually much softer than City. City is known for it’s harder suspension, but latest gen has tone down a bit.

• Mat Global on Jul 01, 2014 at 1:55 pm

I ve booked the car earlier. This will serve my family well and compliment my other car Preve cfe . O/s trips I will take Preve and run about car esp. to the family – Jazz will perform.

• Pengguna Bijak on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:17 pm

If you’re really smart, sell your Preve to buy Honda City okay!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Mat Global on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:58 pm

That is the most stupid to swap Prefe cfe with H.City.
        I say Jazz is meant for city and short distance driving only.
        The City sb compared with Saga flx.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • azrai on Jul 01, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Either Proton or Honda, Syed Mokhtar win it all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Kangkung on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:41 pm

so, cronies eat meat, we eat kangkung.

• I am pro you diam (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 7:55 am

he only has 34% shares in honda malaysia.

• azrai on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:03 am

So you have the other 66%?

• I am pro you diam (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 6:30 pm

go and check yourself la who has that. nuub.

• Kangkung on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:16 am

Honda got government “Special” incentive….Therefore, they set up new production line before new NAP implemented.
        They (HOnda Malaysia, Syed,etc kangkung member) already well prepare for new NAP. Thats why honda is the first benefited and first Hybrid CKD maker!

• New Jazz only available for petrol model? When hybrid model will come?

• Albert Lee on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:38 pm

DRB slashed the price of Suprima by RM8K(Today’s advert)cos of sluggish sales in proton.
    DRB wont be selling this Honda cheap.Whatever it has lost in Protong,it shall try to recover as much as possible in Honda.
    Perhaps,those who booked blindly without being told of the pricing,are preparing for a pricing ranging from Rm80K to 98K,bearing in mind its City is selling well.

• Mat Global on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Simple logic will tell you the price of Jazz will be similar to that of Honda City. The price you quote is unthinkable for 1.5 mass product ckd car.
      Of all you know, it could be cheaper also.

• I am pro you diam (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 7:53 am

you talked like a pro. but full of bull.s.h.i.t

when the car is launched, come back here and read your own comment again then you will realise what a fool you are.

• myvitec on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Alamak like myvi rear bumper la

• Sam Boo on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:08 pm

The yellow Jazz looks alike cheapo Myvi…Honda pls dun intro this color to bolehland.. it downgrades your Jazz

• GK5 (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:22 am

no paddle shift?no auto cruise?no reverse camera?really???

• Honda Lover on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Wow. This new Honda Jazz is so beautiful. I can’t wait to see the specs of this beauty car.

• animous on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Saya pengguna Jazz Hybrid CBU edisi sebelum yang ditunjukkan di atas.
    1) Suspension agak keras banding persona n saga flx
    2) Stereng superb. ringan utk parking, tapi bila bawa laju kita rasa kawalan tepat.
    3) Tak power sgt. ada paddle shift tapi saya selalu guna untuk turunkan gear bila memotong
    4) CVT gear agak mengecewakan. susah nak pickup compare persona
    5)saya suka maintainance murah. minyak fully syntethic 0-20w hanya RM100, oil filter RM15.

• I’d rather buy the Volkswagen Polo

• uslhwzero on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:01 am

Better buy peogot 208, VW polo or fiesta @price 80k-90k. All this car give more value in term of HANDLING! for eg fiesta : practicality is SUPERB! Ur key is always in ur jeans pocket ( start engine, open trunk, unlock car), interior facility( ford sync@ voice, incoming call,outgoing call,usb, phone, hug-seat, superclight steering when slowbut eghting twhen go faster.

• uslhwzero on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:08 am

Fiesta cont : HANDLING : its one of the most stable in HIGHSPEED &CORNERING, no doubt! If drvg on highway speed 140-160km, feel very safety and relax, the steering is heavy and its make confidents & relaxing. The rim come wth 16 inch in standard. If changing the lane not feel like “terbang”/ goyang!

• uslhwzero on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:25 am

Fiesta cont: DESIGN: in B segment the car tht come wth nice design is fiesta ,208, forte. The others is Sh** especially almera! Fiesta is one of the most favorite if refer to car reviewer at UK. In malaysia, most of commentor dont like but im sure if the commentor hv good background in fashion and music lover they will hv good feedback also! =) they donno anything about fashion and design tht why they dont good in judging the desing! Im sure 100% .about this!!!

• uslhwzero on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:40 am

Fiesta Cont: DISADVANTAGE: TRUNK is small compre to honda vios and almera. The BACKSEAT is tight , not comfort if hv 3 rear passenger. AFtersales services is not good the other car but moderate lh! Price 86k Is among the highest cmpare to japanese car! If this not NOT AN ISSUE, u can buy FIESTA, if not , minded like typical mlysia,very sceptic about space & rear seat passenger, just buy japanese car! Because tht type of people is not for tfun driving carclike fiesta!!chill ya!