DRIVEN: 2014 Honda Jazz – a quick preview in Hua Hin

The Honda Jazz has only been part of the last 13 years of Honda’s long and illustrious history, but already it’s become a staple of the company’s product range as well as an important contributor to the company’s bottom line. Worldwide sales of the little runabout have already passed the four-million-unit mark.

Look closely at the past two generations of the Jazz and it’s not hard to see why, with friendly good looks, solid reliability, great manoeuvrability around town and, of course, that ridiculously practical and versatile cabin. Like it or not, critics and consumers alike have rated the Jazz highly over the years despite the appearance of fresher, more dynamic competition.

UPDATE: The new Honda Jazz is now launched in Malaysia, read our launch report.

But this year, there’s a new Honda Jazz – which you can now go and book – with an aggressive, angular new look both inside and out that seems to signify a big change for the B-segment hatch. Has the house that Soichiro built messed too much with a winning formula? We trek to Hua Hin to find out.

First shown in July last year, the third-generation Honda Jazz features the company’s latest design language, dubbed “Exciting H Design.” At the front, there’s a single broad “Solid Wing Face” graphic, with the Honda badge sitting prominently on a gloss black bar. Narrow headlights replace the large units that have come to characterise Jazzes of yore, while the large downturned air intakes give this car a mean look.

Like the Honda City, the Jazz features a character line running along the side, but unlike on the City, it rises sharply before levelling off. At the rear, the line dips and follows the curvature of the rear bumper, neatly flanking the tail lights.

The Volvo-esque tail light graphic sweeps upwards into the rear windscreen, although the upper parts are purely cosmetic and do not light up. These are connected visually by a large chrome bar on top of the rear number plate recess. Cutouts on the rear bumper mirror the air intakes at the front.

Overall, it’s a handsome, sporty design that will almost certainly fit the tastes of the car’s intended market, but this writer does somewhat miss the simple, good-natured design of the past two generations.

Inside is where its familial ties with the City are most apparent, with a similarly bluff dashboard design. As with its B-segment sedan sibling, top-of-the-range models get a large soft touch plastic panel ahead of the front passenger, complete with faux stitching.

One change from the City is the side mirror controls, which have been moved from under the driver’s side air-conditioning vent to the door, freeing up space under that vent for a cup holder that comes in handy for cooling your drinks.

SONY DSC

Thankfully retained from past models is the standout rear Ultra Seats, which enable all sorts of interior permutations. In addition to the standard fold-flat rear backrest to fit large items, the seat squabs can also be lifted up, handy for carrying tall items such as furniture and potted plants. The front seats can be reclined flat for lazing around or for accommodating longer items like surfboards.

This goes hand-in-hand with the increased dimensions – length has been stretched 55 mm to 3,955 mm, while the wheelbase has been extended 30 mm to 2,530. The latter is some 70 mm down on the City but still gives the Jazz impressive legroom. But it’s the extra boot space that impresses, growing from 337 litres to 363 litres.

Now, let’s talk about local specifications. Honda Malaysia has confirmed that the new Jazz will be available locally in three variants – a 1.5 S, 1.5 E and a top-spec 1.5 V – with equipment levels that should match their City counterparts.

This possibly means a bargain-basement S variant designed to chase a low headline price (steel wheels with covers, manual air-con controls, single-DIN audio head unit), a mid-spec E that keeps feature parity with the outgoing petrol Jazz (stability control, alloy wheels, integrated radio) and a fully-equipped V (six airbags, 16-inch alloys, seven-inch touchscreen radio, automatic climate control).

Against the yellow top-spec Thai model in the pictures, our Jazz 1.5 V will lose out on paddle shifters for the CVT, navigation and a rear-view camera. If the white model currently on a roadshow is any indication, we will also not get the RS bodykit, the large rear spoiler, cruise control and the ECON mode which softens throttle response for better fuel economy.

More bad news for fans who like the yellow of the test car shown here, I’m afraid – that hue will not be making it to our shores either, at least not initially. This was explained to be due to a lack of paint tanks at the Pegoh plant, which mean that locally-assembled Hondas have to share colours which each other. Fret not, though, because another colour unique to the Jazz was promised for the local market, although we don’t know yet exactly which shade it will be.

SONY DSC

After a generation experimenting with a five-speed automatic gearbox, the Jazz, like the City, returns to a CVT for the third generation. The Earth Dreams unit is claimed to have a quicker response, better efficiency and a wider range, and now features a torque converter for smoother, more natural acceleration off-the-line.

The new transmission is mated to the same 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder as before, but has been tweaked for better fuel economy. The headline figures are unchanged though – 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm at 4,600 rpm. The latter is made 200 rpm lower down than before, so that’s nice.

We were offered to sample the new Jazz in Hua Hin, and through the long straights that dominated the test route, the tiny hatch easily kept pace with the cut and thrust of Thai traffic. The engine felt freer, more sprightly than the City, slinging the car well past legal limits without much fuss thanks to the lower weight.

The renewed exuberance is pared to a CVT that is more than up for the task. Step off and low-speed drivability is at last a match for conventional automatics in smoothness, and the transmission is quick to respond to sharp jabs of the throttle.

Even with the usual CVT inclination of making the engine loiter close to the redline under hard acceleration, the engine remains quieter than the competition. Wind noise is remarkably low considering the high speeds we attained throughout most of the drive, but tyre noise could be quieter. We suspect that a different tyre specification could go a long way towards rectifying this.

Unfortunately, the test route only covered long stretches of highway, with only a few U-turns to break up the high-speed blasts, so there really was not much that could be gleaned about the new Jazz’s handling. Even so, the steering did feel slightly more responsive than the City’s, and body control seemed more tied down. One trade off is the ride, which felt a touch firmer that the City.

On first impressions, the new Honda Jazz does look like a much different beast from what has come before. But dig deeper and you’ll discover that the new car actually improves on much of the strengths of the past two generations (including the incredible space and versatility), while bringing some added zest to the mix.

And if Honda Malaysia’s recent aggressive pricing strategy is any indication (expect the new Jazz to be priced similarly to the City, if not slightly lower), the new car is poised to become a potentially irresistible package to many Malaysian households. On this occasion, more than ever, the third-generation Honda Jazz appears to have more than enough substance to back it up.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wise guy on Jul 01, 2014 at 7:05 pm

why waste money buy new car? better save ur money or invest in amanah saham etc for your kids education, retirement etc. trust me that future cost ofbliving will be very high as we are becoming developed country and high income citizen. unless u want to work hard until 60-65 years old

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 212 Thumb down 102
    • policeman on Jul 01, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Why save money? What if you die next week? Car crash, cancer, chopped by robber? Someone else will benefit from your investment.

Why not live for now? Buy a new car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 213 Thumb down 119
      • kzm family on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:13 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 201
        • SWAT YAHUDI on Jul 02, 2014 at 10:10 am

COMPUTER YG U GUNA PUN YAHUDI PUNYA LA…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:58 am

Jewish are involved in all modern electronic equipment development.

So please stop using any electronic devices (including radio, calculator) and get your life back to newspaper and hearsay at pasar.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
          • semuatakboleh on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:22 pm

it’s a sarcasm la abang. #facepalm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
        • Bongong on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:03 am

Hahha.. Mouse yg lu main-main tu pun yahudi punya lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Bernard on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Why is that many of the car features are present in Thailand and elsewhere but not for us in Malaysia!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Tongsan on Jul 05, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Racist..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • who is sam? harry the greatest! on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:23 pm

@policeman – i reckon you must be a loner still single and not wanted with a brain of a rat who doesnt know anything about life. Yes, only people like this can make such statement about not saving money, no need to invest, etc….. you are not just a loner but a pathetic ones. Go spend all you money in cars and see how far you will go. Period.

• I think you are out of topic, please talk about all this in other forum, we talk about cars here

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 13
    • Because in order to “invest” you need to get something called “A job” and when you have “A job” you need to get from your home to work, and although a bicycle may be fine, im afraid its not very comfortable to paddle 10km to your work on a bicycle. Which is why many humans choose to spend their “money” on these strange automated four wheeled transportation devices, also known as “cars”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 25
      • normal_user on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:08 pm

I think he refers to “new import car” which is obviously overpriced & tho twice the price of proton/perodua doesnt mean its twice better (B-segment apple to apple of course).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Well said

• protonsucks on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:21 pm

first there is a sam loo toyota salesman , now got amanah saham salesman

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 30
      • Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Toyota salesman or amanah saham salesman, they are all “jobs”. Nothing wrong with it. Don’t act like you don’t need a job and you don’t need money to survive.

We work hard with our job to get better life/car, what’s wrong?

But you are damn right on your nickname – protonsucks !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Vader (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:20 pm

He mean both of you please do not advertise your job related thing in this automobile forum / blog.
          We never say someone job is wrong!!!

• Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 5:25 pm

I never ask anyone to join my team. Neither I call ppl stupid, retard, idiot etc…

Toyota Vios indeed lack of VSC, 6 airbags, but most ppl buy Toyota because it is reliable.

Preve/Suprima S may look good on specs, but the sales not good. The build quality still in doubt by the public.

These are all facts, no need emotional cursing or swearing.

Fact based, no hardcore fanboys bashing.

I do agree Mercedes Benz is good built quality (sometimes better) comparable to Toyota.

There is no perfect car. It is always balancing the need and affordability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • kettaVreakdoWnn on Jul 03, 2014 at 7:21 pm

terasa ke bang..??

• Seriously on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Why waste your time on the internet looking at new cars? Better use your time properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 25
      • wise guy on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:42 am

1st of all im not salesman. im just giving sincere advice especially to my beloved malay frens. hence this is the appropriate forum. what i meant dont simply buy expensive new car (i think almost everybody here agree that car in malaysia is so expensive as >80% of comments on new car launched in malaysia is “so overpriced”, “low spec” etc). so why buy one if u can just maintain your current car? except for 1st time buyer or car that already beyond repair/maintenance. spend those money for sumtin that can really benefit your family. spend money wisely my dear frens

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 12
        • AVH (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Malay or Malaysian? I almost felt racially insulted for a moment.

Anyways, cars are to many extand a requirement for modern living. I have no idea where you are living that is rural enough to not have a car yet modern enough to be fluent in both the English language and the Internet. In any case, it’s not just ‘maintained’ your current car, a modern car typical life spend is about 3-5 years and by than, even something as reliable as a Toyota start showing problems depending in how you drive and maintained the thing. Given the condition of roads in Malaysia, I would not be surprise if by than the car will show signs of aging.

Than there’s the sake of requirements. That trusty little A-segment hatch you started out as a fresh grads or bachelor won’t be enough when your family starts growing unless you intent on living single for the rest of your life. When the family starts growing, naturally you want to progress to bigger and more spacious car to suit your family needs. Than of course there’s technology, newer cars progress are in any case safer and more effient to run and of course easier to drive than your older cars, trust me on this, I alternate between a 90s Saga and 3rd gen City daily. Newer cars are by all means muchore hassle free and easier on the wallet than old cars as far as maintenance it’s concern. There’s also the typical old car problem of overheating, fuel pump breaking down and so on which most modern car seems to overcome. And if you have a family, far safer.

Than finally there’s image. 2nd to clothing, cars are the best way to portray oneself in the social hierarchy. When you are involve in buisness and expect whatever agreement and contract to go through, you must by all means charm your buisness partner in all ways and cars is one of the way. Your multi-million contract isn’t going to look good if you turn up to a golf- meeting in a Proton or a Honda. My neighbors is a businessman, he has a BMW as well as an old proton Waja and the Waja is the car he frequently uses but when he is up to the occasion, dressing smart, he takes the BMW.

In any case, if you’re suggesting we skip investing in new cars and continue maintaining our olds, you’ve greatly underestimated the social and modern world we live in. Newer cars by any means are assets, old cars are a liability to done extand, a Japanese term called ‘tsunderes’ are best describes old car, it runs when it wants and breaks down when it wants. It’s not as reliable nor safe nor as efficient as newer cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 52
          • normal_user on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Nice car doesnt equally translate to ‘success’ image. During my banking days, i’ve met a corporate customer who drove an S class while my bosses and I ride in my saga despite they drive beemer & honda.

Most Malaysians like to relate cars with success, which is inaccurate. In fact, those who drive protons and peroduas may b richer coz the savings were used to buy real estate & investment, which provides capital gain & passive income over the years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • heben on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Later some people come in and say those are brokenbosses. They will.close shop soon. Can know through what cars they are using

• why save all your money? if everyone save everything and dont spend, the economy cant move. when economy cant move, economy will shrink.. when economy collapse, ppl will lose their job.. by that time, you dont have money for you to save, and your amanah saham price will fall..

you need consumerism to propel the economy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 30
      • normal_user on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:37 pm

The exorbitant tax actually cause people to take loan just to pay the huge taxes. Even dealers wont make enough margin when prices are so artificial like whathappened here as they cant achieve economies of scale. So they take quite huge sums of profit. A camry priced at 150k. Real cost rm70k, umw profiting rm20k, rm60k duties & tax. Imagine how much bank & dealer profits when consumers borrow money to pay tax & high margin.

Trust me.. it wont help the economy. Only favors the G, banks & dealers. Try google for an article by Hans from live life drive: Mystery behind high car prices Malaysia.

• takamanah on Jul 02, 2014 at 5:24 am

Uncle, u sure to leave all your hard earned money there… did you know our gov have taken substantial money frm these investors in last few elections… The same goes to your EPF account…

No doubt cost of living is getting higher… but still can manage if you choose to spend wisely…

Back on topic, I personally like the new Jazz over the upcoming above 100k Yaris, which load with 2 airbags, dinasour gearbox and no VSC. If honda position the top spec below 90k is consider reasonable priced.

Let’s see what gov going to implement in Sept to so call reduce fuel subsidy which may boost up the compact car sales, esp the B segment.

Those not so rich who own a super thirsty pickup truck over 3.0 might think twice if the fuel card quota is implemented…

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:20 am

Because it’s not your nenek’s money.

They become poorer or richer. . Not you problem also.. let them.

• motorbart on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:36 pm

I agree. Not wiyh your comments but you are unproductive wasting time worker

back to your commemt, it,s damgerous mentality, if you someone ragut a a woman you just stand there because she ia not your nenek, right?

Riiiiiigggggjjhhhtttt piuuihh

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:45 am

Bodoh.. org nak beli kereta mrk pny pasal la.. what with the ragut comparison? Are you retarded? Tahi byk sgt tu… pi cuci sikit..

Bahlol..

• Same L0r on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:00 pm

I don’t see you are anywhere more productive than he is. It also make me unproductive, because spending extra time to understand your English.
          You learn from the World Cup England team? lol

• azrai on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:36 am

Why waste your time and energy writing a comment in PT then??

• i am wondering if we are becoming high income citizen.. why we will still need to work hard until 60 – 65 years old if we buy a car?

• wise guy on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:01 pm

high income is to cater for high cost of living when we become developed country, it is common anywhere. i didnt saydont buy car at all, but buy whenreally necessary. and car is not the only economic source for our nation. pls read my point carefully with open mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • wise g, You are poor and hopeless… if i was your son i need to wear the mask when you take me to school!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • seancorr on Jul 01, 2014 at 7:13 pm

So Honda Malaysia is gonna sell the top spec at RM90k+ with NO cruse control, paddle shifters, bodykit, reverse camera, navigation and even the ECO button is missing?

Wow and I thought Honda Malaysia was on a roll…guess their magic stops here with the Jazz. Boo!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 13
    • AVH (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Price isn’t revealed yet
      And the lowest spec Jazz(steel rims and such) is said to cost at RM65k. And the City of equivelent spec is priced at RM75k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Jul 01, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Boo you!
      Do you really use cruise control? Paddle shifters are really useful? Reverse camera is needed for a tiny car like this? ECO button??? really? ECO button is needed? huh? ECO???

Be a man!
      Control the cruise with your foot. Change gears on a manual transmission. Look at your rear view mirror. When petrol runs low, fill in more petrol. ECO???

What else do you want from Honda? A sensor to sense when your PMS is kicking in? A vibrating seat? A magic mirror to tell you you’re beautiful even though you’re an old bag?

Damn morons and their expectations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 139
      • jazzfan on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Paddle shifters are good thing lor, can tapau those inspilala, preve, beemer and merc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
      • Klangboy on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Do you have to be so rude? No wonder lah people with mentality like you is the reason why overpriced mobile coffins like the Vios can sell so well in our market.
        I personally don’t really see use the paddle shifters nor the ECO button. But this lack of cruise control is kind of unacceptable. Honda should at least make it an option like an add on if customers want it.
        Cruise control makes highway trips so much more easier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
        • rUDEbOI on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:53 am

You consider that rude? Get off the interwebs la, if you can’t handle the heat. Go browse some k-pop site where the boys look ‘fabulous’ and everyone likes purple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
          • truman6 on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:04 pm

LOL! i gotta agree 100% with the purple color….LOL

• normal_user on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Relax brader. Jangan gelabah sgt…

• ya, you must be the one own a vios-the first generation one.
        still as good as the third generation.
        memang berbaloi.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 7:51 am

I like this car very much, however, your points make no sense too.
        As you say, be a man.
        Run or cycling using your foot but not rely on other transportation.
        Control the speed and torque by using your muscle and stamina but not engine & gearbox.
        It should be more “Man”, right? lol

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:02 pm

to policeman: why are u still using (changing)your smartphone? Be a man, go use the old button-phone, no need internet, no need music player, whatsapp..etc…Just use sms….
        why r u so frustrated? why “boo boo boo..” ? trying to be a monkey? BE A MAN, talk nicely…
        And why a man must only drive MANual? Gay man also like manual, becoz they like to play with the “stick”…Do u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • AVH (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 7:24 pm

With the shortcoming in specs, I do hope the price is lower than the City V(Highest predictable is RM82k). Overall, I havn’t driven the new City yet with CVT, But I have previously had bad experience with CVT, cars like the Sylphy(previous gen) and more recently the Suprima S. It feels like the gearbox is witholding the power from the engine(more in the case of the Suprima), preventing it from giving you a predictable power delivery to the wheels. This makes throttle correction almost impossible and thats something I do like in NA cars espacially on uneven surfaces. Not that many here will know what I am blabbering about, CVT is perfectly fine for those who get from A to B in a civilised manner. The shorter wheelbase also meant that parking and slight driving nippiness from the City.

So about the things that do concearn the potential buyers. Looks wise, its more presentable than the City, the smaller headlights and sharp side profile is an improvement over the previous car and the City, it still looks rather cheeky in my eyes. But do commit Harakiri please, whoever in Honda thought that the rear reflectors was a nice touch to the car. On the Interior, I do like how spaceage the top spec City feels, even thou those touch penals are a PITA to operate. And before a certain someone comes and complains about the lack of Rolls Royce quality in the City, the City does have a better texture quality than most B-segments bar probably the Polo and (oh I am so gonna get hunted down for this)Vios.

Overall, its a nice B-segment hatch and prove a compeling alternative over the Kia Rio and Polo 1.6. BUT…….the Jazz Hybrid is said to be launched in the coming months, and that thou will be the highest spec(thus highest price), gets a 2-motor hybrid with 7-speed DCT, Hmmmm, reliability or drivability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
    • policeman on Jul 01, 2014 at 8:22 pm

TLDR!

Drivers of automatic transmission cars and maturbaters have something similar. Their right limbs are stronger than the left.

A man drives manual! That’s why it is called MANual. Not autopussy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 67
      • Person on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Okay okay we get it, we get it. You very very man lah. I’ll have whatever the f**k you’re smoking on lol

• rEALmAN on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:55 am

I’m a real man too! I row my own gears and use Old Spice!

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:29 pm

policeman, u sound like a gay man…lol

• wasnt on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Uneven surfaces you mean when climbing hill?

• AVH (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:29 am

Roads around Sunway Subang and Rawang
        ….their atrocious. And with the MRT project, practically every roads that shoulders it.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Agree. While I do agree some CVTs are completely atrocious, some are actually not half as bad. Took the Cerato, Preve CFE and the A4 1.8TFSI Multitronic for a test-drive today back to back. While the Cerato’s 6 speed auto felt so much nicer than whatever Proton put, which was absolutely rubbish (droning, and limiting the engine), the A4’s CVT was shockingly good. Today was the first time I drove a CVT myself, previously, I have only been driven in a Sylphy taxi, but the A4 left me impressed with what a CVT can do if it is done right. In normal D mode, it was like a CVT, but because of the 1.8TFSI EA888 lump in front, the thing was rather graceful and effortless. In S mode, it felt just like an automatic, just without the jerks in the shifts, and not as fast as say the ZF8HP which is my current benchmark. But still not many automatics shift like the ZF’s box, so I cut some slack. However the key is that the Audi was turbocharged too, and that was probably why it never needed to run at a higher RPM to generate torque.

While I am pretty excited to see the new Jazz Hybrid, I would be a bit worried about the iDCD box, having said that, they should be quite reliable though, I mean DCTs are not really that bad, even VW’s DQ200 (the newer ones) don’t judder and lurch about in traffic, and the other DL series were actually relatively OK. Then again, we also have Ford’s absolutely dumb PowerShit transmission, in fact if not for that, I would wholly recommend the Focus or Fiesta to anyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
      • Drivetrain Belgium on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Hi there jeremy clarkson wannabe. U said that ford powershift is dumb & punch cvt used by proton is rubbish. Please send us your resume so that we can replace our test engineers with your vast car ranting & reviewing talent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • normal_user on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Proton cvt is dumb & ford dct is sh*t? Well said mr.jeremy clarkson.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 10:58 am

Have you tried both models?

I was in the market for a C segment car for myself, so I have been going to see many new models before I plonk my money down. Since I had a budget of about 200k I wanted to also see if I could get something for about 130-150k instead so that I could save up for something nicer.

What I see is that a lot of you all are so worried that the mighty Proton gets bashed. Sorry t burst your bubble, but while on paper a Preve is nice with a little turbo and all, the refinement was absolutely rubbish. And same goes for that CVT. What I am trying to say is, CVT if done right can be really nice, when done wrong can be a nightmare. And I would love to hear where all the power was from the CFE engine, cause one thing is for sure, it was rather gutless and heavy.

Let’s not forget, that the actual price of a Preve and a Golf/Jetta is similar before taxes. Whatever extra I pay for a Golf/Jetta is going to tax, not development or engineering. Considering that, I would compare the Jetta/Golf with the Preve, cause after all if not for our G, we would have it at the same price.

The Ford’s DCT was a disappointment, as after having the last gen Focus for some time, I was quite tempted to place cash on the new one straightaway since I really liked my older one. However it was a good thing I drove the new one as it was rather unresponsive and confused. Again, to make sure it was not just that car that was busted, I checked out another Focus and had the same thing.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:40 am

Wow why the dislike, guess all Proton praiser and DCT haters sort of happened to stumble on this page today…..or just Honda haters from car Memes.

Anyways, I do get what some people are going with the omission of the paddle-shifters in CVT, as for the one I tested in Proton’s finest, the Suprima S, its horrendous. took waaaay to long to shift to the gear I want but that feeling comes from it being unnatural gera-less. Its less of a downshift but more of a whine down of a jet engine, theres almost no feel. And the Suprima was driven in normal housing roads so I didnt get to push it, but the gearbox responds makes the car feel heavy and lethargic, it feels almost like a bus in its power delivery. The power is there but getting it to the wheels takes time and responds its lackluster.

Its my general liking for insta-responds that makes me shy away from CVT, the linear power delivery of an NA engine with manual is the kinda powertrain for me. But CVT being smooth and still able to do its job, its not generally a bad thing, I believe more people will like CVT than those who hates it. Its also a damn sight more comfortable than any Auto or maybe even DCT(not sure, only DCT I’ve sat is a Fiesta, and I never went beyond 40kph).

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:38 am

I’m a fan of the CVT as I hate the jerk of gear shifting with a passion. When driving manuals, I try to shift in such a way that I don’t feel the jerk and when I do feel it, I can become quite annoyed.

If a CVT is done right, it doesn’t have to feel ponderous when you step on it. I believe the problem is that most companies who employ CVTs err too much on the fuel economy side of things and map a really laid back shift pattern which upshifts at every chance it gets so it feels rather slow. We all know that if you upshift too early in a manual you will feel that the car feels lethargic. I believe that’s what happened with Proton’s CVT in their effort to make their very inefficient engine slightly less inefficient. A CVT’s response is governed mostly by the mapping of the shift pattern. And maybe also how the engine reacts to the shifting.

• sensc on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:07 am

Compare Audi with Preve? That’s suck. Very different engine output. And the price? Duh.

While cerato needs 4800rpm to reach max 194nm torque, preve already has 205nm FLAT at early 2000 – 4000rpm. And you tested with how many people inside? If you are alone or two forget it. It won’t have much different. Try it with 5 people inside and Preve will shine.

At the end of the day, who cares about Cerato when you can save 30K for fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • rEALmAN on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:00 am

lol @ sensc the protong-lover that thinks protong engines ‘save 30K fuel’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • sudonano (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:03 am

Why not, after all go and see the video on the Preve launch, Proton said they used Audi for their benchmark. Not joking.

The point is this, while the Preve has 205Nm flat from 2000 to 4000 rpm, it cannot pull cause of the horrid CVT. If it was with a manual it should have been fine.

Both were tested with 3 medium sized people, with the air con on. Even with that, the Preve felt very heavy and lumpy. Though I cannot deny the part that the Preve does handle well.

As for fuel consumption, you are joking that the Proton can save 30k on fuel. Judging by how hard it had to work, it appeared to me that it would most likely burn more fuel.

• sensc on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Tried exora turbo. No lagging at lower speed, once i pushed the pedal it moved fast. The whining sound sometimes dissapeared at lower rpm. At higher rpm no whining sound heard. Pushed to 140kmh no sound at all. I’m impressed with the engine and transmission.

About preve well maybe it’s a pre-production car. It must be much better if the ecu get flashed to get quicker response.

30k is way much if FC difference is only 1 or 2 km/l. Because at the end of much, you can only save a hundred or two. But 30k? Duh

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:48 pm

I believe (personal opinion) the problem probably isn’t that the transmission is lousy but how the transmission is employed. Perhaps it’d be wise for Proton to use some sort of (gasp) adaptive shift control so that the shift pattern can adapt itself to the driver’s needs. Needs smart programming, however, and I think Proton might not have the experience to pull off a good CVT yet, seeing as how they’re still new to this form of transmission.

Also, if they do use a more aggressive shift pattern, the already frequently complained against fuel consumption of the Campro CFE equipped cars might get even worse. At least the driver will be happy driving it, I guess?

• normal_user on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:23 pm

AVH.. majority of potential buyers are not spirited drivers nor concern abt throttle response. Smooth delivery & refinement are the attractions, contrary to what journalists wanted. Read Car and Driver review of the Jazz. US journos criticized the jazz & versa for their lack of power response (+ cvt drone) but it didntstop pple from buying them.

• rEALmAN on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:02 am

You da man. Now go and spend RM80K on a POS protong with poor throttle response and whiny cvt, and don’t come crying back here when you have an impromptu protong picnic at the side of the road. heh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Good move.. Cant wait to see how Honda kill the money-minded UMW motor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Nice suprima + myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • smokey on Jul 01, 2014 at 8:13 pm

the 2 red stripes above the tail lamps and on the rear windscreen are ugly like crap

• WooGoo on Jul 01, 2014 at 8:17 pm

“our Jazz 1.5 V will lose out on paddle shifters for the CVT, navigation and a rear-view camera.”

Really? Our spec with navigation and rear-view camera??

• Ray (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:34 pm

I don’t see how the omission of paddle shifters is bad. With a CVT around, paddle shifters are just useless. I don’t really mind the ECON mode or cruise control being dropped out either, the latter is hardly used anyway as I won’t use it for long highway trips either.

So, to sum things up, this would be a perfect option for me to replace my current second car. Was hoping for projector headlamps though, and the first thing I’ll do when I get this car is to blacken out those tall reflectors at the tail lamps.

Side note: a manual option is good, great when you have the urge to unleash the inner spirit of yours but trust me, you’ll spend most of the time being pissed off stepping on the clutch in a traffic congestion. Not that I don’t like manuals, though, just an experience of mine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Motorhead (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:23 pm

The grille look mess up.. should be simpler. .

• Zzzzzz on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:37 pm

Hope the V spec can get rs bodykit , and the white model currently on the roadshow is the e spec , so e spec can get full safety feature and v spec can get more aggresive look and safety

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 01, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Boycott Honda for giving Malaysians crap. What so great about the Thais that they get the top spec and can’t give the same to us? Had enough with Japanese car makers for selling their cars here like Air Asia. So insulting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Wished the ECOn stayed and the cruise control. I think prices will be lower then city.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:04 am

Nice. Looks like Honda really wants to beat Toyota. That’s good.

On a side note though: Will PT review or at least preview not so mainstream cars? What about the Fluence and C4 Grand Picasso, for example?

• Denaihati on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:17 am

New Jazz exterior much better compare to existing. equipped with big spare tyre (maybe equivalent diameter to main tyre ) i think no worry for long distance traveling.
    Good news for responsive CVT, hope reliability too.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:36 am

Jus curious,does the cvt have a separate ATF cooler?? Otherwise cant trust the reliability…

• heybadigol on Jul 02, 2014 at 5:58 am

Judging by the Thai specs, does look like its lost the rear ac vents of the City. But then, it does have a shorter wheelbase, so the rear seats are closer to the front. So rear passengers can still get nice cooling from the front vents.

Overall, its a nice car for its intended purpose. Handling wise, am not expecting much, though it may still be an improvement over the City. Honda has for the past few years not been the best handlers in the class anymore, except for the CRZ.

I dont care much for yellow coloured cars, unless if its on a Porsche or Ferrari. But red has been missing for a long time in Honda Malaysia’s colour option. The 8th gen Civic had the Harbanero Red, but it wasnt a good tone, and was eventually discontinued.

• nicholas on Jul 02, 2014 at 7:45 am

WHY IS IT STILL USING THE OLD SOHC ENGINE??

SUPPOSE LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEW 15X (Earth Dreams 1.5-liter direct injection DOHC i-VTEC engine)

SAD :(((((

• Enthu on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:08 am

The City is already considerably stiffer compared to the competition, and now the Jazz is EVEN stiffer? A family car that a family won’t enjoy.

• Why all these guys arguing about saving money? Just buy if you want to buylah. Save money save money end of the day also cannot buy a good car for what. You only live once just enjoylah. No one knows when our lives will end. Simple as that!

Anyway this is a very good car! Proven over the years!

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Yep.. Unfortunately a few smart axx here think it’s their money. .

Lawaklah beruq beruq nih..

Some of them told me what to do also..

• Tony Montana on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:55 pm

My wife’s Audi A1 is better than this new Honda Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 9:19 am

My maid’s Lamborghini is better than this Audi A1. lol

• Luke Skywalker on Jul 29, 2014 at 6:50 pm

My dog’s Bugatti is better than this Lamborghini. LoL

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Hmm might buy for my spouse

• Anti-Establishment on Jul 03, 2014 at 5:50 am

I have my doubts over Honda’s CVT – a friend had the displeasure of having TWO CVT units failed on his 2004 City years ago.

Sold it for not much money.

• breeze on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:29 pm

My 2003 IDSI CT already clocked 245k km , it stil running fine. Just regular care 20k km CVTF fluid change that will be no problem at all.Untill now no major failure, except the air-con compressor changed one time.

• totti on Jul 03, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Why compared to 10 years old CVT?

Do you think Honda is so stupid to made the same mistake?

I owned the DSI during year 2003 and still prefer the CVT tinny despite having the gear box issue.

CVT is smooth, better pick up and economical to use.

• noelchong on Jul 04, 2014 at 6:43 pm

i like the outer design of this Jazz alot.

Just sad no manual variant and ofcos..tq to NAP for much higher price with lower spec compare with TH.

• Why are we “Malaysians” getting the stupid-ugly-gearconsole? While the Thai is getting the brand new high tech console?

Just don’t understand why are we paying so much more but getting less instead? Frustrated.

• Paul, Jazz engine stated compression ratio is 10.3:1 and minimum RON92. From web its says engine with compression ratio of 10.1:1 requires gasoline of RON92 to RON100. It does not give any information on RON number vs efficiency which will be of useful information. It would be great if Paul get for us information from HONDA on Jazz’s petrol RON vs milage. I am wondering how far it will be from the below:

A) RON91 gives 15.0km/l
    B) RON95 gives 16.5km/l
    C) RON97 gives 17.0km/l.

happy motoring to all!.
    regards

a) RON91 gives 13.5km/l at 100km/hr.
    b) RON95 gives 15.0km/l at 100km/hr.
    c) RON97 gives 15.5km/l at 100km/hr.