Great Wall Haval M4 teased – priced from ‘RM4x,xxx’

haval m4

The Great Wall Haval M4 continues being teased on the Great Wall Malaysia website, and the company has listed down a brief spec sheet of the compact SUV.

As previously reported, the M4 – which measures in at 3,961 mm long, 1,728 mm wide and 1,617 mm tall, with a 2,383 mm-long wheelbase – will be sold here in two transmission variant forms both powered by a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre VVT MPI four-pot offering 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm at 4,200 rpm.

For certain, the five-speed manual will be in two-wheel drive guise, though it remains to be seen if the six-speed automatic will be in four-wheel drive as suggested earlier. As it goes, the manual is set to be the low-spec version, and the auto the high-spec one.

great-wall-m4-specs
Click to enlarge.

Aside from that, the little new info revealed states the M4 will be equipped with disc brakes for all four wheels and be shod with 16-inch wheels with 205/60 profile tyres. The M4 is assembled locally at the GWM plant in Gurun, Kedah.

The pricing hasn’t been revealed, but the teaser continues on in the same vein as that touted when first highlighted in January when a left-hand drive example first appeared in the Green Oranges showroom – the M4 should be priced under RM50k, with a ‘RM4x,xxx’ tag suggested by the teaser; this should be for the manual version.

Oh, and if you’re keen to win a free M4, there’s an upcoming competition giving you the chance to do so. Scheduled to take place next month, the challenge will involve squatting while putting a hand on the M4 for the longest possible time, and the last person standing will be rewarded with the SUV. If this sounds like the thing for you, then get more details through the GWM website.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• VTECunicornFART on Jul 02, 2014 at 10:53 am

Euro IV? But our petrol is lower than that? Correct me if I’m wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • Sammy Valley on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:04 am

Beribu-ribu tahniah Great Wall china!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • if i really have 40k to spend..
        honestly i still wont be buying this..
        face it, brand image is still important..and reliability?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 66
        • Gargantia on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Ok I notice u’re talking about proton models…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0r on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:53 am

40k to pay for sub-standard built car in order to satisfy some’s ego – Malaysian R&D their car entirely.

or

40k to get a working SUV?

Your call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
        • Sam Looser on Jul 02, 2014 at 10:51 pm

40k ok mar. Puny viva elite used to cost 40k+ too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • I know 2 poor brands P1 and P2 when i was born… this brand is poor but affordable so everything will be ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • fatchicken on Jul 03, 2014 at 9:59 am

when was the last time u ‘enjoy’ our Public Transport? this 40k is well spent to avoid the hassles of PT.

• mohsin on Jul 03, 2014 at 5:03 pm

suspect not expected price RM49,999.99

• theanswer on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:27 am

those emission standard use for overseas market. the engine must comply with emission control standard.

• Joker on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:30 am

This means the engine is euro IV compliant….
      exterior looks cool but the interior @@..
      still sub rm50k is very tempting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:51 am

you just need to change your oil filter more frequent, say once every 1000km?

Or you can pump euro V at Johor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:59 am

It mean this gar emission level reach Euro 4 standard.
      Furthermore, it is a gasoline engine and our RON95 petrol should be OK for it.

• taboogen on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:02 pm

emission standard not fuel standard..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • The Euro 4 is for emission standard lah, not fuel requirements. If i say u bodoh later u marah …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 4
    • normal_user on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Nothing to be proud of euro4. Preve cfe is euro5 compliant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
      • Vader (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Haha.. are you trying to find a way to praise the potong since no one said very proud for the Euro4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
  • harga yang menarik…
    kualitinya tak tau ler bagaimana kan :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • gonggok on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:03 am

Nice price. I guess this makes it a lie that MITI for people to raise their price to protect proton. Nah…no controls…its just the Japanese distributors want to make MORE money that’s all. But now the Chinese carmakers want in on the action and are willing to play the price game.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • Finetuner on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:13 am

the beat gonna to beat off national make
    but again, i doubt its gonna be a quality product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • stupidchinaman on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:24 am

Why can’t haval find some own identity code for this car M is already well known for BMW performance brand…

the M4 also copy Audi sports color idea… hey… chinaman why u like to copy other idea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 33
  • ThePolygon on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:28 am

Affordable Kembara replacement… hmmm… lets see how it drives. But for Rm4x,xxx can’t expect much I guess…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • This is Energy Efficient Vehicle. 16.7km/L.
    CKD EEV, that’s why it’s cheaper than usual.

Jazz CKD non EEV? Interesting.

• ryanit (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:45 am

Is this 2014 model?
    news.bitauto.com/guochandiezhao/20140510/0806428085.html

• ryanit (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:46 am

Is this 2014 model? It doesn’t look like to…
    news.bitauto.com/guochandiezhao/20140510/0806428085.html

• kcng (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:47 am

Another Naza Sutera in the making

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • who need bmw new M4 at rm800k when you can get this M4 below rm50k ? haHahA!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
  • Winners on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:48 am

At below RM50k for a 1.5-litre with VVT, PROTON and PERODUA are going to eat grass. But then, applicable only to those that will trust Chinese quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • I heard from some of my Chinese friend from China said, Great Wall is the 2nd biggest private car manufacturer in China, quality is good… I think can trust can try it, well my friend that bought the Great Wall pickup has no complaint about it. I would rather try this than try other Proton’s car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 17
    • theanswer on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:57 pm

chinese quality? that would be too general. definitely some of u guys here never heard Qoros 3. highest score in euro ncap.
      btw, not sure about its reliability, but this car got positive review from our local journo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • ryanit (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:49 am

The yellow ones are the 2014 model in the link page while the white ones are the old ones as adv by Great Wall Malaysia website

• Henry on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:59 am

This car will have mass market appeal. Buy the 2WD for fuel efficiency.

• Lane tamer on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:02 pm

I bet the company is using recycled aluminium cans for making this vehicle. Once involved in an accident, the people inside will becoming vegetables…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 78
    • kamal on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Wow! Human turn into vegetable? Black magic ka? Bukan more appropriate u put it mince meat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • kah kah kah. Oh my english! Kena balik study lagi nie.

• pondan on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:02 pm

lane doggy,

how you know if other premium cars are not using recycled aluminium cans?

I don’t need to bet cause, you are a born looser.

• Sound like… in 70s malaysian laughed of toyota made from milo tin.

• scanner tan on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:04 pm

where can i get tis car?? N hw about the service centre???

• kington on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:05 pm

The interior and engine plumbing is undeniably a Toyota. Certainly looks more appealing than the Rush.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Hasan on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Why nobody pointed out THIS IS A VERY OUTDATED TOYOTA IST FROM YEAR 2001??????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 39
  • Hondasalesman on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Reliability, security and safety are the main concern now.

• jinyiwei on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Reliability : If can do 10-laps (harsh driving) going up & down to Genting continously, should be OK.

Security : Probably not car-theft favorite model

Safety : Still better as compare sitting on motorbike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • kctan on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:38 pm

cant compare to bike to 4x,xxx car ,

what better than a bike is 2nd hand wira , satria or iswara only

• FreakOBoost on Jul 03, 2014 at 9:37 am

No matter what car u are driving, u try yourself to go 10-laps of harsh driving going up & down Genting CONTINUOUSLY and report back is your car and yourself still in good shape or not???

• kzm (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:48 pm

no price

• iluvsamloo on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:29 pm

4X,XXXK!? I will buy one and if it is stuck in the workshop for parts, I’ll just buy another one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • klata-klata on Jul 02, 2014 at 9:27 pm

That is about the price that you’re expected to pay if your BMW or VW gearbox croaks.

• isuzuki on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Any long term user feedback on the Wingle 5?
    Reliability, maintnenace cost?
    TQVM.

• Tombakemas on Jul 02, 2014 at 5:06 pm

I’m owner of wingle 5 for 2 years already. So far its OK no problem at all. 1 tank easily can get 800+ to 900KM. If easy driving can reach about 1000KM. I use it for angkat barang pengantin, so no complain. engine a bit low but put some ‘magic box’, power is good. until now only facing problem on hose for turbo. others that that all in good condition. oh ya if no load at the back… a bit bumpy compare to others new pickup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Black Dog on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Fantastic! Finally a real replacement for the Kembara

• bismah on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:15 pm

nice car. can get this on rent from instantcarslution.com

• Piput on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:22 pm

price around RM49,888

• Lemer on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Power at 105 hp and Torque only 138 Nm for SUV? I think this car will be underpowered!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • abahko on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:28 pm

im doubt this below 50k suv has four wheel drive capability?

• HafizJoe Dorifuto nama kawe on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Beli kereta ni tak de masalah…sebab guna enjin Toyota…sama enjin dengan Vios,Alza,Rush,Avanza…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • superdriver on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:07 pm

RM40 K ++, walau close to my kia picanto man! Its dirt cheap. The only question is if safety and quality is good. If like that local brands can kiss goodbye.

40K for a MPV/SUV or whatever you call it, die oso can never expect this in Malaysia. Very good value for money but if its safe why not. :)

• mmaker on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:07 pm

buy this m4 if you cant afford to buy bmw m4

• Nicholas on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Looking at the price;

China is good at copy technology.
    so they do not need much R&D cost.
    China is a country that take parts that others have spend so much on R&D and plug all together to make one new product.

the engine “VVT” sounds like SUZUKI engine to me. ^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • infinity on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:16 pm

A great start. But it takes time for consumer to accept cars from China (although locally assembled). From what I see in the photo above, the interior material seems a bit low quality (shiny). I could be wrong though. However, I believe that in 5-10 years, they will be on par with Kia/Hyundai if not Toyota/Honda.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:20 pm

My Uncle Great Wall pick up has been in and out of the svc ctr for 3x in less than 2 months buyinh this brand..Although may cost less than a Jap,Korean or even local cars but the hassle is there..failed fuel pumps,condemm ecu replace but a week later condemm again,malfunction here and there..wahkao.Rather buy the old Chery V5 with old Mitsubishi engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • xflow (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:42 pm

if this car is price at rm40k++, make you wonder all the japs can lower the price of their eev cars if they want to do it (in the future maybe)..

• So murah…… 1/2 price than toyota rush…… this is M4 much exactly same toyota DNA just manufacture in our proud Malaysia. Let support local products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • budak bangi on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:49 pm

aiyaa…even this M4 badge is closely resembling the Audi S and RS badges.

China, progressing via imitating..

• panjang on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Great starting price…
    However,being malaysian most of us will avoid this china brand and live with current brand despite having to fork out more monthly commitment.

China has progress a lot compared to us in auto manufacturing.

Reliable?
    Well its improving by years compared to the older make and model.i am seeing more and more of their pick up nowadays.they are abuse from the outside appearance but still going.

The quality is still quite shabby though.

• gaviny on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Guys this is the same car that one minister went to do a demo drive and flipped this on it’s roof, was even reported in the news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Denaihati on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Attractive price with not bad design. become cheaper 4×4 in our country.

• The quality can trust ar?

• shawal on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:03 pm

When the Koreans wanted to gain more trust from new customers, theyve introduced 7 year warranty cuz they have faith in their product and gain market share, which in turn fuels r&d and more…

If great wall is serious about ripping… I mean gain market share…

They should introduce comprehensive warranties…

Or give out few long term test models to our fellow journalists

• ai like on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:08 pm

wow! ai like the car launching.. better that in my country national car..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_acEmkUUDs

• Such a big car, 1.5? will it be new thirsty version of china “Kembara”, hp only 78 torque 138? if this dahaga, I will not consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • 78 are Kw la.. hp are 105 !! read carefully

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 9:01 am

It’s not really that big. About the size of the SX4.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 03, 2014 at 2:43 pm

its very light. only 1100kg. the older 1.5 should be enough to get it going. Which can explain the good fuel economy.

Incidentally, I did drop by GWM Showroom today to take a closer look at the M4 but they didn’t have the unit there anymore, but they will be soft launching it soon.

• adamjohannes on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:23 pm

2383mm wheelbase??? even saga longer…cramped maybe

• normal_user on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Yup. Wheelbase is so short.. Nowadays B segment cars already have 2550-2600mm wheelbase.. the same as bigger C-segment old Alfas, Waja & Altis.

• skyjuice on Jul 02, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Is this the car that turned up side down during test drive by one of the minister if I’m not mistaken at the factory in gurun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • mastermind on Jul 02, 2014 at 6:01 pm

rubbish…. just to no taste person….
    n budget lover….plus car import lover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • 40,000 please.. not 49,999

• How about the cars spare part? Is it widely available and will it cost much money?

• khinzirhalal on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:55 pm

no one even mention about crash test?? Compact suv below 50k and made from china, enough said. No thanks.

• Nieko on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:02 am

Fyi They are not only bringing in M4 ass mention buy their website The M4SUV will be launched in June and than the H6SUV will Launch in September this year

Well I am beginning to like this Carmaker as Remember they are trying to make the M4Suv sell for as low as Rm 45.xxx because they are allegeable for the new NAP ie EEV tex hens the ultra low price ..so if the M4 is Rm45k than what price would the VoleexC30(a Saga sized Sedan)go for????…..

Hum Interesting….

• Nieko on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:13 am

Ups did I say june I meant July….hum well while were add it I just Browsed the the GWM website had a look at the H6 SUV and also The H8Suv…well let me tell ya The the H6 is one Gorgeous SUV while the H8 looks really Intimidating and Large I think it about the same size as the BMW X5……

• xem6861 on Jul 03, 2014 at 3:32 am

underpower still. Another fate like Toyota Rush.

• underpower, so what? at least i pay 50% of the price of that toyota rush…

• whistleblower on Jul 03, 2014 at 8:17 am

here fc claim is 6L/100km
    other website..
    http://histomobile.com/m5/l2/great-wall-motors-haval-m4/1938403131.htm
    the fc is 9.4L/100km..
    nice… lie to our government agency and get the incentive…

• Lie? no need to lie, just some under table XXXXX will do…u know, I know and everybody know…malaysia bodoh!, oops…Malaysia Boleh!!! apa pun boleh…

• When it launch? they say mid June now already July only teaser come out? fast man.
    Some said made of milo tin? come on man, Malaysian been driving in milo tins for the past 30years….

• William Gandelen on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:48 am

Never trust whatever the chinaman comments. They never really drive a good handling n comfort car before. Better way is test drive t unit urself to justify. I m sure u will soon find out what I meant.

• Lol Sadness on Jul 05, 2014 at 12:30 pm

When a person asks you what car you have u tell them ‘i have a M4 :) ‘ lol boy would they be dissapointed when they see it XD

• reckonder on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:01 am

at least this suv can redah banjir kilat … compared to std car,.. i mean not deep one.., For shorter driver , normally lady can have better view in front..

• Any1 stay/work in China before?
    Audi just like proton on Malaysian road..
    How can this car enter Europe? Any1?