Proton Design Competition 2014 – the past concepts

Hello, budding designers! By now, we’re sure you’re hard at work on your Proton Design Competition 2014 entries and your vision of a Proton city car for 2020. While you guys are doing that, here’s a look at some of the concept cars Proton has done before.

UPDATE: The Proton Design Competition 2014 closing date has been extended by a week, from August 11 to August 18.

Visitors to the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS) in 2010 will surely remember Proton’s Pahlawan concept cars, and in particular the Proton Tuah. Presaging the Proton Preve, the Tuah showcased many of the design features that eventually featured on the C-segment sedan.

These included the broad “Proton Wings” grille, swept-back projector headlights with integrated LED daytime running lights, prominent bulging wheel arches and a rising character line echoed by a light line at the bottom.

A surprise at the same show was the Proton Lekiu concept, which reimagined the Proton Exora as a crossover of sorts. While the front end looks much the same as the Exora’s save for new headlights and front air intake configuration, the rear was shortened and featured a completely new design with tall L-shaped LED tail lights. Grey protective cladding went around the car, giving it a more macho look.

Of course, no recount of Proton’s concepts would be enough without the Proton EMAS city car, arguably the company’s most famous concept and the closest in format to the competition’s design brief. Designed by ItalDesign Giugiaro and showcased at the 2010 Geneva Motor Show, the car featured a reinterpretation of Proton’s corporate look, the “Proton Wings” grille flanked by narrow slit headlights.

The side profile was dominated by a steeply-diving belt line, which surely gave the EMAS good frontal visibility and an airy interior feel. This is followed by a similarly steep character line, while a kink in the C-pillar added some pizzazz to the design. The large rear windscreen integrated the tail lights, which made the EMAS look classier and more sophisticated.

Think you can do better? Then enter the Proton Design Competition 2014 with your vision of a Proton City Car for 2020. Stand a chance win prizes worth a total of RM58,000 including cash rewards, MacBooks, an internship at Proton’s R&D Creative Design Centre and even getting your design immortalised as a quarter-scale model displayed at the Proton Gallery.

Visit Proton’s Facebook page for contest details, terms and conditions. And if you are interested, better hurry – submissions close August 11, 2014!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• If only Preve followed “exactly” as how Tuah was designed…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 3
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 10:38 am

The Tuah rear light design is good but the peeve is ugly.
      The Lekir is good but the Exora is ugly, especially the interior design that really outdated and plain.
      The EMAS so far is the best nice looking car, but don’t know why the new GSC not follow the same design concept at ALL.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:56 am

Typical Proton style: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

What is the point if the car looked like a Ferrari but the QC so bad?

That’s the typical Proton mentality: They don’t bother to be really good, they just want to looked good.

Outlook is never Proton problem, why bother burn so much money on this? The build quality is the bloody thing you should be concerned of.

Spend more time on your engine, gearbox, power window, build quality, spare part QC!

Good outlook won’t save your poor sales, and it never will in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 49
        • Car-Fans on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Same L0r – Betul Betul !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
          • Kumaraguru on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:56 am

Same L0r is damn right. He always comment without bias.It is hard in an environment full of bashing.Well done Same Lor.Keep it up!

• fast5 on Jul 02, 2014 at 7:09 pm

No matter the how good is the design.
          IF the price is out of range(over price) it still won’t benefit the RAKYAT…
          RAKYAT is smart !! we still going to ignore protong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Kamacako on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:36 pm

kamon…easy to talk maa…of coz la anything that is overprice is not good & benefit the rakyat…if rakyat is smart, then buy la car yg dorg mampu…sendiri pikir la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
          • driver on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:41 am

Ignoring won’t make any good. Change the top, then perhaps it’ll be different.

• phuwekkk on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Most people bought the exora not for the design but more on practicality to ferry his/her whole family to anywhere. I personally think Exora is the best affordable MPV available now. It’s engine power is more than enough to move this people carrier. Peace.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
        • Enough power? Don’t syok sendiri la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 78
          • Yes..we are sure becoz we own 1. CFE engine really good and different from normal campro. now, im am sure u talk based on your friend said…try first and u will know how different it is

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
          • Kamacako on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:39 pm

i bet u x penah try bwk Exora BOLD niih….ketinggalan zaman btol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • Yang bawak Exora tu bodoh. Yang beli tu bangang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
          • kamacako on Jul 04, 2014 at 4:57 pm

hmmm…based on ur comment dh bole agak dah tahap IQ setakat mane….pity u

• It will selling fast..

• kereta kompak on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:00 pm

I would like to give some comment on the design… While everybody’s always talk about it. Sketching on the design doesn’t mean you have to come out with the same design in the paper. A lot of things should be consider when you produce the actual car. For example on the compatibility of the car with the perspective of Aerodynamic – Coefficient of Drag. The design have to very compact and lighter in order to meets the low fuel consumption and etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Black Dog on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:14 pm

That’s what separate good designers and great designers!

• kereta kompak on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Nope, your argument is invalid. Why i said so? Designer remains as designer. Designer does not aerodynamic expertise. When it comes to Coefficient of Drag (CD) u need a lot of calculation and testing. While designer just needs to sketching, drawing. So if the first design doesn’t meet the CD % requirement. obviously it needs to change the design.

p/s: Try to look at the hatchback Honda Brio, the rear bumper design does not seem to be fit/ awkward… Maybe they were trying to get the best design according to the best CD perhaps.

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jul 03, 2014 at 6:03 am

The project manager for these cars had run to P2 and now promoted to be the COO….

Kah kah kah……P1 only got sh** he left…..

• Agree. Talk about design, the rear look of the tuah concept car much better. It can be the identity rear design for proton. Might change the sales of preve.. hope proton consider to come up with new upgrading preve design with tuah rear look.. just my 2 cents opinion.

• elson on Jul 02, 2014 at 10:26 am

i wan better QC+performance not “design”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:20 pm

People want “cheap and reliable” cars. That’s simple.

Who care about outlook?

No matter how good your outlook is, the new Proton owner will just mod it into evo, impreza, mazda3 alike. No point spending on all these design.

Toyota’s study may show Malaysians don’t care much on VSC.

Proton’s study show Malaysians don’t care much on anything except the outlook.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
      • Proton study? Under the leadership of a medical doctor? hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
        • iomamcmbodo on Jul 03, 2014 at 10:05 pm

oh? if u become the leader, how sure u can make a study? study mathematics darjah 5 pun tak lepas. stupid fuck.

• Dah kalah tu kalah la. Tak payah nak mencarut.

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:00 pm

nak kalah what for? u should SEE yourself that ur acting stupid in front of the whole world.

Quite an entertainment for us, actually.

• Low Budget on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Is this the reason why Proton took 20 years of study to solve the power windows and door handles cracking into powder problem?

• Samurai G on Jul 02, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Is it? are you sure about that..maybe your study not enough to cover what people want lor..now consumer also smart when spending their money. They want car affordable for what their spent. They want reliable car, safety, good (in & out) design and other features mehh..

Yes, i also proud with my Proton car. Even ada bunyi-bunyi sikit but it doesn’t matter..as long u continue follow the service schedule.My friend just change his Honda City to Suprima S (after 2 years) …Why? all because of PROTON give you more for what you have paid. Please lah…try it first. Go to showroom. Don’t speak without knowing the truth mehhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • Who is your friend? We would like to shake hand with him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • iomamcmbodo on Jul 03, 2014 at 10:02 pm

ioma please stop talking cock. as far we are concerned, you’re just a stupid face fuck in here.

• That’s your concern only. As far as Malaysians as concern, most don’t buy Proton. That’s why the sales sucks.

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Only you having that kind of LOW mentality thinking. thats why every comment that u made in this thread sound so DESPERATE to convince people otherwise.

pegi balik la bro, buang masa je jd keyboard warrior yg takde otak ni.

• Same l0r on Jul 05, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Can’t afford to continue the installment and wanna get a better car (suprima s????????) are two completely different stories, ok?

LOL

• neverthesam3 on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:35 pm

can’t afford to continue the installment and getting a better car are still related la, bro.

if some1 cannot afford, he looks for alternative..and so happen suprima s not only cheaper..but proved to be better than honda city.

before laughing, think first n try read my explanation.

• Budak... on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:27 am

Pls improve built quality…..baru pakai 3 bulan sudah ada tikus dalam kereta….RM92k maaaa…..pls proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • Kimchi>Sushi on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:28 pm

ur car masuk tikus and u complaint car built quality ? u serious ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0r on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:51 pm

The rat get into the car when your car was parked under the sun at warehouse for 6 months (or longer)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:20 pm

I think the tikus he refer is the rattling sound

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • budaksukamain on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:19 pm

aiyoo…u suka main dgn GF dlm kereta setiap minggu. of course la ade bunyi tikus sana sini.

• budakjahat on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:36 pm

aiyo. u gemok & besar sgt. of course la ada bunyi tikus. even u naik porsche cayenne pun boleh ade bunyi if gemok sgt.

try lose up weight pls.

• Yeah, I’m busying on that. keep on design.
    Hopefully If They make my design out won’t be a crap….
    11th of August????
    Then I have a lot to do then.

• kazai on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:33 am

I like preve’s rear more. Tuah rear is like old rx7, kinda outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Fairozee Hashim on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:49 am

These concept car looks nothing like what a concept car really should look like. Their look are outdated and not that exciting at all. Only the SMALL GSC looks current and modern. But then again, that was not designed by Proton Team. Sigh…..

• Fairozee Hashim on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:50 am

But the sketch of sedan really look nice. If only that was Preve final design….

• Fairozee Hashim on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Wow… if you look at the pencil sketch sedan, it was dated back in April 2009. If only that was the real Preve. That really a nice looking car… sama cantik dengan Mazda 3/6 punya design direction.

• MAI GAWD! lucky i didn’t buy the latest honda accord,looks almost the same.

• Nelson on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:15 pm

is it me or does that “Proton Exora” Looks just like Grand Livina ?

• Don’t spoil other brand by associating it with Proton la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • iomamcmbodo on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:04 pm

dont be a spoiled kid, budak. father mother teach u to become good boy, not hamsap.

• Don carleone on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Don’t associate proton cars design with ugly Nissan.

• Same l0r on Jul 05, 2014 at 12:26 pm

If Proton exterior so nice, the owners no need mod it to looked impreza, lancer, evo, skyline alike we saw on roads everyday.

Simple logic! Wake up!

• notsam3atall on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:21 pm

hey stupid. let me tell u one thing.

malaysia is full of ‘undeveloped’ people where they LOVE to make their cars more JINJANG, BESI BURUK by installing 3rd party kits EVEN they are NOT SUITABLE for them.

The result? More ugly than original. meaning malaysian modded motorists are usually have BAD taste in modifying.

• mahmood on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:58 pm

They have tonnes of conceptual design at proton. In the end, it’s just a matter of decision from the manufacturing side if it’s a go or no go due to expensive cost or lack of expertise in the toolings & mouldings. I wonder why other car manufacturer could produce such a sleek and complex design while maintaining cheap price (before tax) compared to proton who produce mostly simple and boxed up designs at an expensive price. Probably too much kronism between proton and their vendors. They should know what consumers are expecting before coming up with a new model. But then, to me suprima is a good improvement but dissapointed with the pricing as it should have been cheaper.

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 03, 2014 at 10:32 pm

i dunno how CHEAP u want further. because i dont see many complaints when South Koreans & Japanese want to support their national cars..

..and let me tell you this: the local manufacturers still sell at what-you-call-expensive price and YET they support with high patriotic with the hope the country’s manufacturers can become successful worldwide.

And can u see where they now? SUCCESSFUL. because why? Full support from the people.

Of course, the people can complaint whatever they NEED to complain to the manufacturers so that the manufacturers can improve themselves when they penetrate other countries.

• You expect to be treated like japanese? Like korean? Are you as good as the japanese? How good do you expect from a company that serves karipap & kuih koci in a meeting?

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:07 pm

aiyo, since when i talk to u ioma? u ibarat anjing kurap tepi jln, just shooh shooh and go.

even company serve chicken chop in meeting kerja still terok, what for bising2?

u ioma pls dont be too stupid. if positive things, u dont want to follow. if negative bising mcm anak haram.

grow up pls.

• Same l0r on Jul 05, 2014 at 12:30 pm

You supporting the nation or the cronies? Time to use your brain and think!

If one day all Malaysians stop buying Proton, will Malaysia economy in trouble?

I am sure the cronies will be in trouble with their S class or Mclaren, Lamborghini etc.

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:27 pm

excuse me sir? im not supporting blindly. i also have many complaints to proton of their ‘certain’ weaknesses and hoping for improvement. its normal.

but to reject COMPLETELY like super anti-die-hard proton fella is seriously stupid, immature and never grown up.

the idea is simple. WANT a competitive national car? SUPPORT FULLY like Japanese/Koreans do until they reason out ALL their weaknesses.

If not, we can all close proton n embrace fully imported cars. but by doing that, you’re putting the country more jeopardy as many cash outflow of the country.

Semangat patriotic la sikit. I respect other nations can do that, but our own people memang suka cakap konek 24 hours. pity us.

• notthesame on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:43 pm

hey look. i also have complaint on proton of their qualities, but doesnt mean I REJECT COMPLETELY like ioma did? we need to support the nations like what japanese/koreans/germans did with their cars.

people will not stop buying proton, because there r lots of people still have the patriotic spirit of supporting the carmaker.

yang bising2 like ioma konek, is a VIRUS trying to get cheap votes to convince people that proton r bad.

its not that bad. it just need to keep improving. and Preve/Suprima S generation? they look/feel/run better now.

• Denaihati on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:49 pm

I Hope Proton Design Competition 2014 will come out with better design concept and the impotant thing is able/possible to manufacture.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 02, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Just produce variants of cars and engine which more refined thats all..
    1.4:Gsc,Saga
    1.6:Preve,new sedan
    1.8:Exora,Suprima
    2.0:Perdana and new Suv

1.4 Turbo for Saga with at least 120hp/200nm
    1.6 Turbo for Preve with at least 150hp/230nm
    1.8 Turbo for Exora with at least 180hp/280nm
    2.0 Turbo for Suprima R3 at least 240hp/320nm and for long wheelbase Perdana limousine..

• once a proton ownee on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Using what engine bro? Think proton has all kind of engine?

• Suprisingly proton emas design is the new bmw i3….. look closely the rear lamp design, the steering…..

• Car-Fans on Jul 02, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Proton – We jst need this : 1) Improve your car quality 2) With better reliable engine 3) Good FC 4) Last longer parts 5) Lower your car price 6) Lower your car interest rate 7) Listen your customer complaint 8) Improve your Service Center (Customer Service during warranty claim/service) 9) Don’t Talk Only but End Up nothing improve. TQ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Tiger on Jul 02, 2014 at 8:22 pm

If im the boss, the first decision i made is to sack the bunch of management or marketing people who came up wit ANOTER Contest…last time produce Preve Game Show” now this, StOp wasting time and resources on these rubbish, and START improving the EXISTING models instead…dah lah sales down, palying the fool somemore wit endless games and contests

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 03, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Tiger..the reason why they made this contest is to create opportunities to young designers out there to come up with fresh new designs. probably its not enough to rely on the inhouse designers (maybe they ran out of brain juices).

Infact many well known manufacturers such as Ferrari, even make this kind of contest as they need fresh new ideas.

So, this contest is crucial.

• Ran out of brain juice? Do they have any? Hahaha

• orangminyakenjin on Jul 04, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Ioma..whats your problem ahh with proton..do you have bad experience with ur Proton car? If you are so bengang with Proton no needla to kutuk kutuk..give la positve feedback so that they can improve..haiya..buat dosa la u ni..

• Me? The whole country except proton staff (& their imaginary friends & relatives)have problem with proton. Distorting auto price. Wants protection & yet producing rubbish.

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:09 pm

ioma, nobody have problem with proton except u, yourself n your keturunan.

distoring price? bullshit. i think u want to buy proton at price of karipap?

grow up kid. we dont need immature comments here. bunyi mcm keyboard warrior 24 jam. quit job wei.

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:11 pm

do u even have brain, for starters? HAHAHA. Lg stupid, and dont pusing the topic.

once a pig always a pig.

• jason on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:35 am

proton should control its internal operations for quality control of its current vehicles and improve on all these vehicle, although they have gone through a bad branding in malaysia, but i still see hope in this company if they decide to joint venture with car considerations or get some investment from government to push these car in the market. however again quality control and reliability compared to its competitors of its respective range of price.
    in addition being a previous satria neo CPS owner, i still like how the car chassis handles corner in expectation of the driver’s confidence during exits, however due to its quality and consumption again, i wont buy a proton until they fix it…

• common sensor on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:38 am

As far as I remember, Proton come up with many concept cars BUT it stop as concept cars …. so, what’s the motive of this design competition?

• Brand murahan tapi ada hati nak jual mahal-mahal.

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 03, 2014 at 10:10 pm

aiyo..u punya rumah buruk org gila pun tanak pun ade hati mau jual. lagi mau bising ini celaka.

check itu konek dulu before posting. difficult to handle people using konek to think.

• No wonder proton is not going anywhere with ppl like you. Their junk not selling then blame it on other ppl.

• Same l0r on Jul 05, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Yea, these people need the most – perlindungan.

• iomamcmbodo on Jul 05, 2014 at 3:59 pm

The problem is, u brother..is whatever ppl make u still blame like nobody business. Do u think proton and whole world could care less about your stupid whining is it?

Try to be smart. As far as all humans (n aliens) r concerned, ur not pretty smart in commenting.

• zainal abidin on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Good concept designs Proton. And build quality and quality wise should be as good as the designs. If not? Blame Proton or blame the vendors?

• urzu3 on Jul 12, 2014 at 7:20 pm

make a Preve/Suprima S facelifeted just like the Tuah front design… i’ll say the car is nice……….