Ford EcoSport coming to Malaysia soon – teaser and registration of interest on Ford Malaysia site

ford-ecosport-teaser-malaysia

It looks like Ford Malaysia distributor Sime Darby Auto Connexion (SDAC) will be launching the Ford EcoSport in Malaysia soon, as it has put up a teaser slide as well as a registration of interest form on its website. Previously, it was reported that the EcoSport would be coming to Malaysia in the second half of the year – it’s July now so we’re officially in the second half.

The Ford EcoSport will come in with a 1.5 litre Ti-VCT engine mated to a six-speed dual clutch transmission first – the same mechanical bits found in a Fiesta 1.5 Ti-VCT. The 1.5 litre Ti-VCT engine does 110 PS at 6,300 rpm and 142 Nm at 4,400 rpm in the EcoSport – a little less horsepower but a little more torque compared to the tuning of the engine in the Fiesta. The 1.0 litre turbo EcoBoost engine will eventually come later. We test drove the 1.5 litre model in Thailand – read our review here.

Being a B-segment SUV, it should come in at a premium over the typical B-segment hatchback price. SDAC gave an estimated pricing of RM98k to RM108k when the Ford EcoSport was previewed at last year’s KLIMS13 show. The EcoSport does have one competitor in Malaysia – the Peugeot 2008, which is priced at RM120k. Honda Malaysia may also bring in the Honda Vezel later.

Interested? You can sign up here: Ford EcoSport registration of interest.

GALLERY: Ford EcoSport test driven in Thailand

Learn more: ,

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 03, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Nice little car.

But I can’t wrap my head around the idea the Haval M4 is less than 1/2 the price……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • ThePolygon on Jul 04, 2014 at 11:04 am

Yup… Heval M4 is 1/2 the price and somehow a bit better looking than this one? Hmmm… personal taste I guess. I guess we have to test drive both to feel, touch and see if either is worth it. Small SUVs should be cheap, cheerful and reliable for everyday use.

• Pls Ford Malaysia,

Continue with your good work in bringing in more and better model compared to the bullshit Japanese models especially Honda BS Malaysia.

Let Honda BS Malaysia go bankrupt because of their arrogant and BS BQ and QC..

May GOD bless the good ones and not those that cheats..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 37
    • policeman on Jul 03, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Look at what you did. You just asked GOD to bless Proton and Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Nice.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 6:28 pm

If at all, I would say this is probably the worst Ford in recent times considering the price. If they do bring this in at 100k and still have the Focus at 110k, it would be a no brainer to get the Focus. The interior in this is horrifying, absolutely rubbish quality for the price, based on what I saw in the models I sat in, in an Australian dealer. The so called leather seats feel more like PVC and the overall fit and finish is nothing like the Thai made Fiesta.

However, considering that the ones we would get would come from the Thai plant, we might have better build. Nevertheless, the lack of interior space for the price is a bit disappointing, and the Peugeot 2008 does look much nicer, just not the AT4 gearbox in the Pug. The Vezel would be a nice option though. But I’d not pay anything more than 90k for this, since it is essentially a jacked up Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • still don’t quite get that interior design (fiesta’s interior)

• Sorchai (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Great Wall M4 is also considered a B-segment SUV, no?

• Both Haval M4 and Ecosport are 2WD SUV.

M4 is EEV, 16.7km/L. very fuel saving.
      M4 also has higher ground clearance compared to Ecosport.

http://www.gwm-global.com/uploaden/2014/0108/6880887d4634ecc8.pdf

• IdealTech on Jul 03, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Pug 2008 ? gosh Bolehland must be hazy these days

• Coolken on Jul 03, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Saw this in bangkok, does not look good at all.. Funny proportions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • lowprofile (Member) on Jul 04, 2014 at 8:42 am

saw this in china and yes, i agree with you about the funny proportions. quite ungainly.

• albag on Jul 03, 2014 at 8:16 pm

that shape… very weird… not another almera

• Cinapek on Jul 03, 2014 at 8:17 pm

HAVAL M4 TERBAEK! Half the price, twice the value. ;)

• haval 4 better to buy fordeo car..

• even though i wouldnt get a 2008 myself, at least that car comes with padded dash, touch screen and a glass roof and good looks to “slightly” justify its price. This has…none of those.

• Head Hunter on Jul 03, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Huekkk.. I feel like throwing up! Who designed this eyesore anyway? Seriously, I just can’t get myself caught dead in it, it is that ugly!

• At rm120k, better get the mitsubishi ASX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Car_fan on Jul 04, 2014 at 2:02 am

I think the Ford designers fell asleep on this assignment. Reminds me of the Kembara…

• EnergyAnalyst on Jul 04, 2014 at 7:17 am

good, no more comments on wheel at the back ….comments are maturing…

• aliff on Jul 04, 2014 at 8:33 am

Bring in the Ford Fiesta ST..PLZ!!

• slk3879 on Jul 04, 2014 at 8:45 am

Hope the Haval M4 would makes other car makers to seriously think about the pricing strategy when they market their B segment SUV here.

RM120K for Pug 2008 has proven to be a disaster. any buyers would turn their head away if this ford is price anywhere near to 110K. I just don’t think these cars should price 15% more than the hatch that they are based on.

Hope Honda would learn the lesson when bringing in the Vezel.

• I was told by Ford that they will be bringing in the Fiesta 1.6 Ecoboost in september as well.

• Abah Ko on Jul 04, 2014 at 5:41 pm

exterior design is ugly.. buruks.. proton design better car (exterior)..

• khinzirhalal on Jul 05, 2014 at 12:59 am

Surprise me people still compare this to Haval M4. Try put both car to crash test and see what the outcome.

• Ford Malaysia – Pls do it right from beginning – Fiesta sales also hanging due to your pricing (for 1.5 and 1.0 model)/

Hope U learn from your past mistake and wish to see your EcoSport below RM90K else another Bye Bye Car …

Cheers