Singapore to raise Vehicle Entry Permit fee on Aug 1

singapore-coe

Beginning August 1, it’ll cost you a fair bit more to drive into Singapore. The country’s Land Transport Authority (LTA) has announced through a statement that it is revising the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) and the Goods Vehicle Permit (GVP) fee.

The VEP fee for foreign-registered cars entering Singapore will be revised from S$20 (RM51.50) to S$35 (RM90) per day, while the GVP fee for foreign-registered goods vehicles will be revised from S$10 (RM25.70) to S$40 (RM103) per calendar month, starting from August 1.

The VEP fee increase only applies to foreign-registered cars and will not affect buses or taxis, and the fee for foreign-registered motorcycles will remain the same, at S$4 per day, the LTA statement added.

As before, the VEP-chargeable hours will remain unchanged, from 2 am to 5 pm on weekdays, while VEP-free hours continue to be between 5 pm and 2 am on weekdays. Saturday, Sunday and public holidays remain VEP-free days.

singapore autopass

The LTA said that owners of foreign-registered goods vehicles can continue to purchase the GVP at the current fee of S$10 for the month of July, but any GVP with a validity period beyond July 2014 will be charged at S$40 per calendar month.

The price hike follows on the country’s recent ruling that all in-use diesel powered vehicles entering Singapore would be required to meet its new permissible levels of smoke opacity. The ruling came into effect Jan 1 this year, but a six-month grace period was given. Enforcement began on July 1.

The adjustment, made by Singapore’s National Environment Agency (NEA), lowered the permissible level of black smoke emitted from a vehicle from a previous 50 HSU (Hartridge Smoke Units) to 40 HSU.

On our Euro 2 diesel, Malaysian diesel-powered vehicles would fail the requirement, and it was recently announced that the government had allowed the sale of Euro 5 diesel in selected locations in Johor to keep the wheels turning on commercial vehicles heading in and out of the republic.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Janji Dicapati on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:21 am

Ok, they raise entry fee for Malaysia vehicle.

Government should impose entrance fee atleast RM90/entry for Singapore car that come here for cheap subsidy fuel.

Now that’s only fair.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 11
    • Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:36 am

Totally agree.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 7
      • salambangi on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Who nowadays wants to go to Singapork? Let them come in with no restrictions. We should encourage more tourists to come to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
        • Kangkung on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:15 pm

If social security is not good. even free entrance, nobody dare to come.

• Same L0r on Jul 03, 2014 at 2:26 pm

And the fees the Singaporean cars speed like no body business on Malaysian road?

And the bomba fee when their car caught in fire in Malaysia?

Malaysian government, these fees you should charge more, instead of thinking how to squeeze the already-poor Malaysian.

Rakyat didahulukan? I think you miss out a word there:

Duit Rakyat Didahulukan!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
        • dugongx on Jul 04, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Or cukai rakyat didahulukan!

I agree…pls impose RM100 per singaporean car per day.

• Wisdom on Jul 03, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Whoaaa clam down..
        On what reason the price increase? I see nothing change at Tambak and Tuas…
        Making easy money ehhh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • should be done few years ago..impose payment to singapoorian entering malaysia coz they r using subsidise fuel …justifair

• jamal on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:51 am

raise it next year i think. so that they will not think its a revenge thing. huhu. but raise to rm100.. senang kira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:21 pm

RM90? Should go up to RM200 since they earn sing dollor!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Nothing is fair bro. Singapore live small house few hundred thousand. If landed few mil. If only we can buy the same price of property as Malaysian. We work whole live not enough, Malaysian work in singapore, go back malaysia retire leh

• _xXx_ on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:54 pm

SG govt welcomes ur idea with open arms. The more the better (RM200 apmcm?). You are helping them to curb their currency outflow problem. See? SG is always win no matter what you do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
  • langit hitam on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:35 am

I really hope that Malaysian Government will do the same to North and South boarder-hood.

Charge them RM50/ day
    No Diesel or Petrol Subsidy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
  • prott on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:46 am

good for Singapore.

They dont need Malaysians clogging up their roads.

Malaysians seem to adore Singapore. Thats just sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 61
    • Black Dog on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:07 pm

You can’t blame them. They’re just a tiny nation. So much easier to take public transport there. And their environmental concern is certainly much higher than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • Who needs who? Pls get the fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Wolpe on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Sad you say? They adore them for good reasons, and if things are fine in JB/KL they wouldn’t even bother to wake up at 4am daily to cross the border.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Nope. Though I’m a Johorean but i dont think i adore S’pore much, at least myself.
      Anyhow, 80% out of my ex classmates are either working or married in the country, some even have been converted to S’porean.
      Why? I think our gormen can give a better answer to u.
      Somemore S$1=RM2.58 is truly very tempting. Friend.. Sad?? as a Johorean we feel it much more than u….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • hunakadoo (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 6:50 pm

yeap , my 80% ex classmate also over there =(

• Mostly everyone think for themselves (plus their love ones) only.
          What is best for one may not be best for all the rest. But hopefully is best for big majority.
          What we want better money and better future.
          Who gets more/most benefits in the end. Your? Me? Businesses? Government? Corruption???
          Time will tell.

• Gonzales on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Malaysian authority should imposed the same thing to the foreign vehicle…for those Singaporean, they have no option but need to enter Malaysia to test their car..where got long stretch of highway in that island? :) One more thing, pls, please ask those irresponsible Sporean driver to pay our summon ( speed trap especially) in their currency…asking them to pay RM150 for a speed demon who terrorize our highway, is really an absurd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Oh well.. Idk what else to say..perhaps… “i still love my country?” *smile in pain

• Weekdays anytime come into Johor – charge RM150

Weekend anytime come into Johor – charge RM250

Any public holidays RM400

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • _xXx_ on Jul 03, 2014 at 3:22 pm

haha, u think there’re free gold bars all over the MY roads waiting for them to pick up or wat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Bear in mind that any Malaysian cars still eligible for 10 days free entry to Singapore and weekend.
    It won’t affect most of them coming to visit Singapore.
    And the reasons to revise the VEP fee is due to rise of COE price to balance up depreciation cost of driving Singapore cars.
    Paultan should mention clearly these in the post!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • totti on Jul 03, 2014 at 3:31 pm

@VN
      Tell me this.
      Malaysia control COE price? Why went up? Heard of this, always claimed bumper harvest but no reduction.
      Can Singaporean / SPR drive Malaysian Plate car? No, only those non-SPR can.
      Logic here. If VEP increase, would that means non-SPR will flock to buy COE+SG car? Then would COE price increase again? So VEP increase again?
      Heard of Lam Pah, Pak Lan?

• So? Your neighbor’s matter is also your matter? Is this what you trying to imply?

• how much we charge for them for entering our country? … need to be fair

• Daniel on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:39 pm

entry to Malaysia RM100 for Singapore vehicle won’t be consider much for them since the people who owns cars are consider rich. (exclude lorries & vans)

• No need to react. Just impost RM200 per foreign vehicles entering our land. Ada hati ke?

• komarad on Jul 04, 2014 at 10:16 am

it’s not ada hati but ada branikah gomen??

• dugongx on Jul 04, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Takde brani la. gomen only brani bully own rakyat with GST etc…. Look at our high grade fuel being exported out while rakyat gets the lowest grade fuel here.

• tawil on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:59 pm

I’m waiting this news to be published in Paultan..

• Denaihati on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:00 pm

strongly agree with idea, s’porean car also need to pay entering Malaysia.

• Singaporean on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Singapore citizen on MRT, walking all the way, public transport, driving low emission car, where Malaysia worker mostly driving car, and on motorcycle clogging the road with pollution.

So the entry fees is fair enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
  • Guan Yin Maa on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:21 pm

If we impose high entry fee for them, johor economy will drop at least 20%. You should come and see how sg ppl spend their money in malaysia every weekend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Carlover on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Apa Malaysia Government boleh buat??? Iskandar area target Singaporean investor and new housing area also target Singaporean or Malaysian who work in Singapore. Gov want to impose high entry fees like Singapore? No way la. Malaysia Gov talk and dream big but no action. Many important issue such as high inflation, lost control country debt, unlimited uncontrolled Gov spending, criminal rate, lost direction of economic, low income rakyat and etc that need to solve urgently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • niterunner99 on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Myself being a Singaporean…doesn’t agree to the raise.
    I was hoping it should be reduced to a lower level.
    Most of the folks coming over are in SG to work, and this is a big cut into their mthly pay. Their companies are not paying for them!
    Be honest, both countries need each other one way or the other…why make things so difficult.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • From the first day your country’s “Mabuk Tan” coming up with the idea of erp, there already no return route.

• ss427 on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:41 pm

As a sporean, I fell ashamed and totally disgusted by our gov and their never ending quest to demand more $$ from us Sinkies and now, Malaysians as well.

Seriously my frens, the MAIN reason for our LTA to raise fees is NOT to so called control the influx of Malaysian vehicles in SG. That’s just the smoke screen hoping to fool you guys.

Their main purpose is to make u guys feel the pain of owning a 4 wheel vehicle in SG.

See the report from Channelnewsasia.

SINGAPORE: Starting Aug 1, the Vehicle Entry Permit fee for foreign-registered cars entering Singapore will be raised from S$20 to S$35 per day, while the Goods Vehicle Permit fee for foreign-registered goods vehicles will be raised from S$10 to S$40 per calendar month, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on Tuesday (July 1).

The Vehicle Entry Permit fee increase only applies to foreign-registered cars and will not affect buses or taxis, the LTA said, adding that the fee for foreign-registered motorcycles will remain unchanged at S$4 per day.

Foreign-registered cars entering Singapore will have to pay the permit fee from 2am to 5pm on weekdays – except during Singapore’s June and December school holidays, when the chargeable hours will be 2am to 12pm on weekdays.

As per current regulations, no permits for foreign-registered cars and motorcycles are required on Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore public holidays. In addition, each foreign-registered car and motorcycle can enter Singapore for a maximum of 10 days per calendar year without having to pay the permit fees.

Owners of foreign-registered goods vehicles can continue to purchase the Goods Vehicle Permit at the current fee of S$10 for July. However, permits with a validity period beyond July will be charged at S$40 per calendar month, the LTA said.

The transport agency said in a statement on Tuesday that the fee increase is part of its periodic review to ensure that “the cost of owning and using a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore is commensurate with that of owning and using a Singapore-registered vehicle”.

– CNA/cy

——————————-

Our gov is so wonderful eh? Fancy asking foreigners to pay some forms of our COE…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • scaled on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Want Malaysia to increase charges for Singapore cars?

Never gonna happen.

Cos the cronies need spending power of Singaporeans in Malaysia, sad truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • zamim on Jul 03, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Would malaysian government do it? Most probably the ministry needs to set up a commission to study first, then, decide that it would discourage Singaporeans from coming to Malaysia so maintain status quo

• And the commission (their family and extended) will stay in Singapore for 2 weeks to do a preliminary study. The study involves staying at 5 start hotel, wine and dine and visits to Santhosa, Universal studio etc.

After that trip the 2nd commission goes in to to verify the facts and figures of the previous commission.

all this at the expense of tax payers money.

In the end the Gov settles for a % from SG (into their own pockets) and make a statement that its tourism and we shouldn’t tourist flow into our country

-The End-

• totti on Jul 03, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I am one the one affected by hike. From SGD20 to SGD35 just to go to work. If Singapore Govt want to be strict, they should also enforce the 3/4 full tank rule and don’t let SG plate come in pump cheap petrol. Malaysia Govt should start to charge entry to balance things out.

• ss427 on Jul 03, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Bro, you do notice Sillypore customs no longer check our cars fuel gauges? The guard post is there, and there are indeed policemen sitting there… but they’re there to idle the time away until another Mas Selemat escaped Sillypore by just walking pass the customs… LOL

• JB needs Singapore money. Malaysia Gov has no balls to take such strong steps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Pls, we don’t need our neighbour’s money, Johor don’t need Iskandar this big fat white elephant as well. Get your fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • niltrams on Jul 04, 2014 at 3:24 am

OK bro… Open a business in Johor first, get your facts right too, then comment again.

• Good governance..

• All I can say is this to PM lee. Kaninei chow chee bye.

• ss427 on Jul 03, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Anyway my bolehland friends, this is just one of the many nonsense our elite scholars can come up with when they join the workforce.

They are completely out of touch with reality!! They were all brought up thinking they own the universe, and no one else can be better than them. Well this is the result lor…

Even if there’s a massive backlash against their simply impossible policies, these elite scholars will still try to force their policies to work instead of retracting their decisions.

They cannot loose face.

Their childish and comical rule to put a cap to engine hp to 130 in order to qualify the so called ‘cheaper’ Cat A COE backfired big time almost immediately it was introduced.

These super clever elites actually didn’t know that 130hp can be faked, detuned, under-declared even by official importers just to squeeze into Cat A. And instead of keeping luxury makes out of this so called ‘poor man’s’ COE cat like what these clever Elites claimed, these lux makes importers immediately brought in Euro 5 compliant diesel models that makes less than 130hp but with tons of torque o/p. And many dealers offer customers a EEPROM upgrade to restore the hp beyond 130hp after delivery of their cars. No other mods required.

So right now, you can still see Mercedes Benz A, B, GLA class in poor man’s Cat A COE… Not only these Elite didn’t solve any problems, they created biz opportunities for aftermarket tuners and more cases of cheating.. haha…

And our gov loves these scholars and elites… cos this gov is made up of such people in general!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • linvail on Jul 03, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Kastam and Imigresen should make a ruling that all goods from Malaysia for delivery to Spore
    (1)should only be unloaded at Malaysian side of the causeway
    (2)the Sporean customer must make their own arrangement to pick up the goods using Spore registered vehicle
    (3) Kastam & Imegresen charged RM5 per Spore registered vehicle is good enough oredi
    (4) Goods not picked up after 24 hours will be lelong at pasar malam in JB

Good idea eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • totti on Jul 03, 2014 at 4:44 pm

@linvail
      Got to give it to you. This is the BEST proposal yet.

• safty on Jul 03, 2014 at 4:44 pm

I live in Sillypore. I can tell you that as soon as the news broke many people got worried that all the stuff we import in will just get more expensive. Only the govt wins. The ordinary citizens will suffer higher prices again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • ss427 on Jul 04, 2014 at 7:58 am

Well it surely will isn’t it? There is no reason why these Malaysian transport companies needs to absorb the steep increase.

Moreover, the increase in fee is 101% SG gov fault, why would the trucking companies absorb the huge difference?

What do these elite scholars know anyway? They all living in their ivory towers, to them they live in their own eco systems, separated from the majority of sinkies.

All their friends and acquaintance belong to the same level. So is there a problem for Sinkies? Not that they can see.

Sharp increase in Malaysian veg, fruits and meat $$? No problem, my pay is so damn high that any increase won’t be felt. Moreover, I eat produces from USA, Australia and Europe mah… No problem at all….

• sgdude (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Dont fight la… I employ more malaysian here… I pay them good la… Malaysian are better than those prc or expats… 70% of us spent our cash in Malaysia la.. Dont argue la…

• sit (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Singapore already given a 10 times free entry for all the foreigner vehicle from Monday to Friday.
    Actually this will be affect the person who working in Singapore and driving everyday. Due to the heavy traffic jam at checkpoint everyday and their are trying to control the vehicle in Singapore thats why they increase the entry permit fee. I still remember last time is $30, than reduce to $20.
    That is bad idea for charge Singapore car, is bad for tourism.

• totti on Jul 04, 2014 at 3:55 pm

@sit
      If you meant the Singapore tourist who hopped over on weekend to buy milk powder, cigarettes and subsidised pump petrol as loss to Malaysia. LOL?
      Sorry to say this but the high class Singaporean only go Orchard Rd shopping, not JB. So you should the meaning.

• sgdude (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 9:25 pm

To singaporeans dont worry ur cameron highland vegetable is still priced the same.., i will absorb the increament for at least 1 year… After that the price will go up…

• PAP=DAP=Good governance
    This is a good news for both Singaporean & Malaysian. Now everybody must pay higher and thats is good governance! Lets adore the Singapore until we die!