Kia Cerato 1.6 KX – new base model available, RM90k

SONY DSC

Naza Kia has quietly introduced the Kia Cerato 1.6 KX, a new base trim for the sharply-designed C-segment sedan. The KX retains high equipment levels while dropping the price a full RM10,000 over the regular 1.6 model to RM89,888 on the road with insurance, but a fair few compromises have been made in the process.

Those compromises aren’t very noticeable when you look outside – the only changes to the exterior over the regular Cerato 1.6 are the removal of the chrome window strip and LED combination tail lights, the latter replaced by conventional bulb items.

Inside, the changes are a little more apparent. The dual-zone automatic climate control has been replaced by a manual single-zone unit, auto-levelling headlights have been replaced by manual controls and you can say goodbye to the aluminium pedals, electric seats with memory, gear shift paddles, auto-dimming rear-view mirror, leather-wrapped steering wheel and soft touch upper door trims.

What you do still get are keyless entry, push-button start, auto headlights, cruise control, rear air-con vents, Flex Steer adjustable weight for the steering, front and rear parking sensors and a reverse camera. The KX also receives a new eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system with navigation, a feature the rest of the range should also be getting (the grey regular Cerato 1.6 you see in some of these pictures had it too).

SONY DSC

Mechanicals remain unchanged from the regular 1.6, so the 130 PS/157 Nm Gamma 1.6 litre D-CVVT four-cylinder and six-speed automatic gearbox are retained.

Most affected by the bargain price tag, however, is the safety equipment. The KX loses curtain and side airbags, dropping the airbag count from six to just two, while traction and stability control have also been taken out. You do still get ABS with EBD and Brake Assist and ISOFIX child seat anchor points.

The KX is available in the same five colours as the rest of the Cerato range, and also comes with a five-year unlimited-mileage warranty. Those who book and register their KX will receive a free petrol card worth RM1,000.

So, do you think the changes in equipment are fair considering the drop in price? Give us your opinions in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: Regular Kia Cerato 1.6

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jar jar on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:44 pm

They should not have taken out stability control. Even the Picanto has stability control. Every single Kia on sale has stability control except this one now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 233 Thumb down 5
    • gutierrez on Jul 05, 2014 at 9:42 pm

this is wat I call bullsh!t. our lives are too cheap for nazakia.. go home naza, you’re drunk!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 28
      • THe rock on Jul 06, 2014 at 9:56 am

then 1.8 altis also drunk lor…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 5
        • kangkung on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:35 am

Yes!UMW Toyota Kangkung all the time. NO VSC, 2 air bags!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
          • Wisdom on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:54 am

The value taken out were more than RM10K.
            This car should be priced merely 60-70K

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 5
        • The Truth About Naza on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:21 am

This is typical crony company. Don’t forget Naza, your very existence is because of the free AP’s you are getting. And it is because of the free APs that 30 million people suffer with high car prices and some slogging with 2 or 3 jobs per day just to make car repayments and make ends meet.

Don’t forget Naza, the free APs are like free money to you. Each AP is worth about RM50,000. Naza gets few thousand APs. That alone runs to few billions. All this free APs is actually money from LHDN and our tax payers money.

So, in return for taking free billions per annum, what does Naza do? They sacrifice safety features because they want to untung more at the expense of people’s lives. The life of a Malaysian is nothing to Naza. It is worthless. It is like a semut being stepped over for Naza.

Don’t forget Naza, you all exist because 30 million people suffer because of you. Just for a few people in Naza to goyang kaki and have a fancy life. If not for the AP system, car prices would be cheaper in Malaysia.

Naza, its time to stop cheating the public. Your cars are so cheap. The Sorento is about USD$20,000 (RM60,000) but you all sell it for RM180,000. The Kia Optima K5 is only USD21,000 but you guys sell it for RM160,000.

Don’t you think its time to stop cheating the public to repay for all the free money you guys get from our tax payers coffers?

We Malaysians are paying for that Ferrari and Maserati used by your big bosses you know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 244 Thumb down 24
          • Those unlike are working for NAZA !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • Antar on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Don’t blame others for your miserable and failed living lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
          • Joe Avx on Aug 02, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Nice comment, tho there is still some salt to contend,

All that about Aps are true, it is mere crony voucher.
            Cars are sold at higher prices not because of APs rather because of Proton and its Founding Father.

Kia prices are reasonable already, they have to compete within the proton prices.
            If not, Just buy a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • The Truth About Naza on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:23 am

This is typical crony company. Don’t forget Naza, your very existence is because of the free AP’s you are getting. And it is because of the free APs that 30 million people suffer with high car prices and some slogging with 2 or 3 jobs per day just to make car repayments and make ends meet.

Don’t forget Naza, the free APs are like free money to you. Each AP is worth about RM50,000. Naza gets few thousand APs. That alone runs to few billions. All this free APs is actually money from LHDN and our tax payers money.

So, in return for taking free billions per annum, what does Naza do? They sacrifice safety features because they want to untung more at the expense of people’s lives. The life of a Malaysian is nothing to Naza. It is worthless. It is like a semut being stepped over for Naza.

Don’t forget Naza, you all exist because 30 million people suffer because of you. Just for a few people in Naza to goyang kaki and have a fancy life. If not for the AP system, car prices would be cheaper in Malaysia.

Naza, its time to stop cheating the public. Your cars are so cheap. The Sorento is about USD$20,000 (RM60,000) but you all sell it for RM180,000. The Kia Optima K5 is only USD21,000 but you guys sell it for RM160,000.

Don’t you think its time to stop cheating the public to repay for all the free money you guys get from our tax payers coffers?

We Malaysians are paying for that Ferrari and Maserati used by your big bosses you know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 19
    • RUGAL on Jul 06, 2014 at 12:45 am

Yeah..even the base line Preve has 6 airbags and ESC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 9
      • mah cai on Jul 07, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Nobody buys Preve now except govt fleet cars for ministry, police ronda, army.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 30
      • turbo_guy on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Kimchi car vs Kangkung car. Both have their owned selling points. Hahaha…

• Hyundai-Kia La Junk on Jul 06, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Should be call Cerato KanaXsai, Naza kia tries to compete against Inokom Elantra 1.6 base model, what a loser cut down all the safety features, this spec probably only qualified for 1-2 stars NCAP at most, low specs for Korean Car Fan Fools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 14
    • policeman on Jul 06, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Instead of relying on electronics to save you from your horrible driving skills, why not just improve your driving?

You know the cause of all these cars losing control? Automatic Transmission!

When driving a manual, you can slow down by shifting to a lower gear without the needs to apply brakes. Too many morons with autos keep slamming the brakes, especially at bends, and they end up losing control.

Automatic transmission is the biggest curse on the automotive industry, next to hybrids, and allowing women to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 166
      • DonkeyKong on Jul 06, 2014 at 11:38 pm

You must be one of those idiots who weave in and out of traffic and can’t wait to die on the streets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
      • jazzer on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:47 am

Habis la new Jazz with paddle shifters tapao your fake Lancer gaogao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • laughdieme on Oct 13, 2014 at 11:15 pm

OMG did u failed your driving license?? Tell me what will happen when entering the bend in high speed and shift down instead of apply brake as u said? I doubted u never drive a manual before aren’t u? Go home and retake your driving license please…

• Guys,

Honda City low end no ESP.
      Toyota Altis Low End no ESP

Now its Kia turn..

In this competitive industry, NAZA really need to cut edges to win.

So its your choice game now.. If you got money, then can buy safety… all this dirty tactics learned from toyota and honda…. hmmm next gonna be who?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
      • Bataman on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:40 pm

You forgot Honda city low end no ESP and it also cost RM 7xk only. This is 90k. Not to mention, no Resale Value, underpowered engine in oversized C-Segment car, legarthic response, fuel suckling.

While the City has proven Resale value, faster engine response, better performance, stingy on fuel and a rear legroom even Camry lose (according to Honda lah). All this only RM7xK.

At RM90k City V-Spec…it’s pure slaughthering the Cerato KX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
        • jacques on Jul 29, 2014 at 6:59 pm

What? U are comparing a C-Segment car to a D-Segment car? Are you alright?

Between, this Cerato 1.6 Gamma D-CVVT engine is not underpower. It produces 130hp, 10hp more than those in Honda City.

I have test driven both, have you?

• OMG…totally not worth it…moving backward…puihhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…less 10K yet so many features missing…damn u try to con ppl here…puihhhhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • No traction and stability ctrl?

Why oh whhhhhyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
  • Edward on Jul 05, 2014 at 4:59 pm

No traction control? What a disappointment from Naza Kia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • Chris (Member) on Jul 06, 2014 at 9:30 am

Actually it’s not that bad for traction control but no stability control? :(

It has cruise control. Imagine a driver cruising down highway with both feet away from any pedals. Suddenly some jerk cut him off and emergency brake. Even with ABS but if caught offguard, it’s possible for him to lose control of the car.

I’d rather see stability control in exchange for cruise control and the navigation. If not mistaken, according to Wikipedia, stability control system cost around 100USD to implement on top of the ABS system. Not that much right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • Edward on Jul 06, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Yeah I meant stability control as well. Thanks for noticing.

• Personally for me, I can’t accept when they compromise on safety where they took away the ESC and 6 airbags to 2. You can take away the keyless entry, reverse camera or other fancy features but not the safety features. However, if you were to compare this with the almighty God car TRD Vios, this would be a better choice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 239 Thumb down 4
  • Kalun on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:02 pm

This or the Honda City V spec.
    You will get more out from Honda City V spec but if you want looks, go for this.

Honda city V spec has 6 airbag, touchscreen infotainment, auto climate control and a large interior and large boot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 32
    • Honda city body panel so thin!! JUST LIKE VIVA. wat ashame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 25
      • Bataman on Jul 20, 2014 at 6:30 pm

The body panel is light, but doesn’t mean the structure is weak. It boils down to the material used. You must be from the 70’s if you still have that idea thicker is better.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:03 pm

they better retain the safety equipment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
  • stupid car for stupid buyers, poor quality with a wannabe looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 118
  • it’s a Roundly designed, not sharply.
    no 6 airbags, no Stability Control.
    CKD model?

Coming New Rival: Mazda 3 1.5Skyactiv EEV.
    Mazda3 EEV 15km/L RM8x,xxx.

it’s coming in no more than 5 months.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 7
    • sedex on Jul 05, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Welcome underpowered car!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
    • Jimmy on Jul 06, 2014 at 11:10 am

Najib can create healthy competition to bring down car prices by 30%. If a C-class is only RM180k, then Camry & Accord prices have to go down. If Mazda 3 with 6 airbags + ESP EEV is only RM81k, then the prices of the rest have to go down too.

You can try, using reasonable cars, not Suzuki or Korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • odi862 (Member) on Jul 06, 2014 at 11:25 am

EEV having only 15km/l??? Not so impressive figure.
      Other J Brands already achieved this long long time ago.

• owhh really? tell me which model.. make sure your model not hyrid, otherwise u didnt understand wat is EEV

• Kia Cerato 1.6 only can do 11km/L.

• Haseyo on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Cool, Cerato Kosong Safety with LCD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • coolshob (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:13 pm

A great car for a great value.. But the ESP should have been retained in the car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Chris (Member) on Jul 06, 2014 at 9:36 am

To be fair, unless you’re a badge snob, this car just killed the polo sedan, which also has nothing inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Better take full spec city than this..or the sx version..not worth it removing the safety spec..shud remove other thing rather than safety..thats my opinion anyway..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • forte basic used to be rm70k plus..while this car is nowhere near that..although with better spec,this car should be priced at rm80k the most..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • phuachukengkang on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Tah apa2 tah….. should de price drop but maintained de spec. This is not Xpected rather than Xceptional.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • thgh (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:35 pm

The saving is too small imo, only rm10k difference but a day and night in terms of feature. this model should be less than rm85k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • That kind of reminded me of the CBU vs CKD Jazz Hybrid. 95k for CBU and 89.9k for CKD. In the end when sales was bad, Honda decided to give the CKD Jazz Hybrid another 10k discount to attract buyers. Is highly likely that this also may happen in time;) But honestly speaking, they shouldn’t have taken so much safety features out:|

• Denaihati on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:40 pm

i think, much less important feature resulting less attractive overall.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:51 pm

What an absolute joke. At one point, I said Kia was the only manufacturer making non luxurious cars with 6 airbags, ESP and ABS as standard. Looks like I will take that back. Very disappointed with them. Take out the satnav, the cruise control, the large rims (use 16″ instead) and even if needed, drop the KESSY system. But they made a very bad move to dump out ESP and the balance 4 airbags. Would be difficult to recommend it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:34 pm

I concur. Satnav, touchscreen infotainment systems and reverse cameras can be retrofitted by owners anyway and there’s really nothing wrong with smaller diameter rims. Nowadays even the smart keyless entry systems can be retrofitted but airbags and ESP are not so easily added on by the aftermarket – in a safe and trustworthy manner, at least.

Quite shocked that they would throw one of the strongest selling points of their brand out the window. Perhaps they thought that most Malaysians still don’t care about their own safety on the road?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
    • huehuehue on Jul 06, 2014 at 8:25 am

Totally agree with you.. they should have taken out all the unesseasry gizmos instead of tge safety such as the lcd infotainment reverse cam, smartkey and whatnot.. kia malaysia is starting to be the typical bolehland car company lah now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • smokey on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:52 pm

interesting but was hoping a cheaper price…the 1.6 full spec now is having a few thousands discount, and after deducting the discount, the price difference compared with KX is too small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Toyota follower? on Jul 05, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Lol
    Ppl moving forward this idiot is moving backwards in terms of safety
    Typical local company who cares about profit rather than the safety of Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Chyan on Jul 05, 2014 at 6:07 pm

It’s funny but I like the arrangement of the conventional rear lights better although, the LED ones are a lot cooler looking when lighted up.

To think that they removed the 6-airbag arrangement instead of others is a bit disappointing. If they’d retain the airbag count and downsize the rims, included a more conventional headunit, would fare better. But then 10k is a lot. Airbags are costly items aren’t they?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 6:07 pm

im fine with everything else…but only 10k less for a car with less safety features….no way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • semipolo on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Beribu-ribu tania, you will get the car next week, opppps you cannot afford it, sorry.

Haahhhhhaaahhhhaaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • Albert lee on Jul 05, 2014 at 6:13 pm

The original pricing of 97-115K for a 1.6litre Korean car is simply too high.
    Now ,we have Toyota Altis 1.8 and Nissan Sylphy 1.8 in the 100k plus price range.
    By adjusting to around 89k plus,Naza is trying to compete with the higher spec models of the City and Vios.
    Why,the downgrade in specs to compete?Simply,the Cerato sales have been extremely sluggish and the cars can be seen parked in its yards,awaiting orders.Also,its sister companies are also selling competing marques.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • leebod on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Talk much pun tarak guna
      You can’t afford it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:37 pm

It doesn’t make sense to introduce a new variant just because there are existing cars sitting in the yards. They’re not gonna just rip out the ESC system and the airbags and modify some other stuff out of and on their existing cars, are they?

• Cerato Owner on Jul 07, 2014 at 12:39 pm

You better compared all competitors low spec variant with this Kx (C-Segment). and you will know which manufacturer appreciate customers with the more specifications. even Elantra 1.6 low spec and 1.6 high spec are price higher than this Kx but with less features. but still a lot of customer buying the Elantra 1.6 also. that’s compared Korean with Korean. If you compared with Japanese. confirm you become more angry as Japanese priced their car more expensive than Korean with much more less features. the advantage of Japanese are just their car have good reliability and drivebility and good history. but who on earth want to pay a lot just for this three reason?which is you can only feel but cannot see. so if you cant afford, dun just become a keyboard warrior here.nowadays, all manufacturer already improved their technologies. but in Malaysia, only some manufacturer offered their new technologies, but than, the others still keep fooling all customers while selling their car more expensive just because of their brand name. than if you preferred the brand name, why not you just buy the brand name. dun buy a car. educated people will buy a car which give a lot advantage to them. not because a brand name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:42 am

Have you tried trading in the KIA?

News for you. You can’t coz no used car dealer will accept. Be smarter, buy Hyundai instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • Cerato Owner on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:59 pm

come on bro,

you always talk about RV. if you cannot afford to buy car. then go away. we only buy a car not the RV.

• Price drop not substantial enough in relation to equipment deletion. This is a 75-80K spec. Cannot accept deletion of stability/traction control. That’s just being nasty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • lololol on Jul 05, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Should take away other features like rear aircon or even navigation and reverse parking…instead of Traction Control!!!

• qwerty on Jul 05, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Should I still wait for my Honda City?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 21
  • demio121 on Jul 05, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Cerato don’t come auto levelling headlight. Despite what you see in the ads, the real car dont have that. Ask any owner and they can tell you Naza cover their backside with “small print diclaimer”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Cerato Owner on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:36 pm

hello bro, every company also have a “small print disclaimer” lorr..not only automotive.

• Aero (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 6:47 pm

I must say everything was fine and well… right until I read the part on safety equipment. Really ? Just TWO airbags and no ESC ? WTF lah Naza-Kia… this is not 2004, it’s 2014 ! Almost every new car launched here for the last couple of years have been coming with ESC and four airbags if not six. You guys just axed one of the Cerato’s strongest unique selling propositions.

But nonetheless, it’s still a pretty good offer at RM90k… it could even be a strong alternative to the popular B-segment Japanese cars. But give us ESC at least !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:27 pm

It’s only a real alternative to the 90k Vios TRD. It’s no alternative to a 90k City.

• antar on Jul 06, 2014 at 1:01 am

This is C segment sedan, Why compare it with B segment Japanese brands? Look how japanese brands rip off Malaysian by selling their over priced toyota, honda, mazda, nissan here. 89k for C SEGMENT for foreign brand is very goood deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 06, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Because car prices here necessitate comparing cars by price points. This car finds itself in the 90k price point, so it shall be compared to cars of similar price. There happens to be a good contender against this C-segment car from the B-segment in the form of the Honda City which is advertised as having as much interior room as the D-segment Toyota Camry while still having all the important safety features, a good sound system and toys such as touch screen climate control and head unit. Heck, if you want to compare this with the Kia Rio, I would say the top spec Rio is a better deal than this Cerato.

Automobile safety awareness among paultan.org readers at least are improving. Kia won’t get much praise for this move around this joint and hopefully not from most Malaysians as well. It isn’t such a good deal when there’s so much sacrifice from the safety features aspect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Fully agree with Obviously. Top spec City has most of the toys of this KX but with much better safety features.
          In terms of car dimensions the KX is bigger than City but interior wise the City will not lose out.
          If you compare previous gen Altis, it has 2600mm wheelbase which is the same as the new City. Its hard to judge a car just based on its segment nowadays as the new B segments have the same space of previous C segments if not more.
          In terms of value, equipment, safety and space the City is still better than this Cerato KX.
          However if compare with Vios, then this KX is a good bargain.

• Prakash on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Long live Korean car!!! Proton always cheat customers.

Hail to KIA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 63
    • Why dragged in proton here? Now preve comes standard with 6 airbags across the range lor, you call it CHEAT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • perle on Jul 05, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Wait..
      Toyota Vios 2 airbags + ABS = ok
      Proton Suprima 6 airbags + ESC + ABS = Cheat ????

Nice logic you’ve got there lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:38 pm

…why is Proton suddenly mentioned?

• Alahai on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Tak laku lah tuuuuuu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Fahmi on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Removal of airbags and ESP is a bad move, Kia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Pretty good bargain for a C-segment. Perhaps it will recruit some new followers from the Vios / City camps. The classic question of all KIA’s will remain though – will the resale value hold.

IMO that’s no longer an issue as long as the mechanicals of the KIAs are sound. The way things are going, I dare say we’ll soon see Vios and City resale values plummeting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
    • Klangboy on Jul 05, 2014 at 9:53 pm

I know a few friends and relatives who own Fortes, Sportages and Optimas. All of them so far no complaints. Either it’s too soon to tell or Kia really has stepped up their game. Hopefully it’s the latter, I certainly want to see Kia taken seriously by their Japanese rivals!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • buyer on Jul 05, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Hello Kia SA, do you give any discount for Hari Raya? If yes, how much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • it still comes with the hideous faux carbon fiber trim

• While I understand that Naza has to take some of the more expensive options out in order to reduce the price, I still can’t get myself to agree on taking out 4 airbags and stability control. This is our lives that we are talking about! Don’t be like Toyota ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Definitely will steal some sales of B Segment market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • SoupKitchen on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Should have kept the safety features, or at least 4 airbags, and the traction and stability control.

If compromise required, take out keyless entry, push-button start, cruise control.

Safety features especially the traction and stability control would have been more useful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • old dog on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Drop RM10K, and cut all airbag etc? our life is cheap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Analyzer on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Good move by Kia to penetrate the sub-90k region. But I rather they remove the flex-steer option than the paddle shifters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Jules on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Cheaper but not worth it. Cheaper for 10k but you lose out a lot of stuff. If still manage to get the higher spec, better to get it.

• Jules on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Cheaper but not worth it. Reduced by 10k but lose too much items and importance ones also. If can stretch budget for the higher spec… Better go for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • change car on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:51 pm

I would rather pay extra bit monthly installment to get the 1.6 sx.

airbags and traction control are already worth more than 10k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • woot woot on Jul 05, 2014 at 7:59 pm

One of the most value-for-money C-segment sedans available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 42
  • Triplew on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:01 pm

This makes it a competitive alternative to vios and city, at least it’s a one level up class choice for the similar price, and definitely a better deal than the overpriced Elantra 1.6, but not sure power of the if 1.6 engine will be acceptable for this body or not, perhaps a test drive review from Paultan can enlighten us? Haha

• Kia shit on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Coffin car and no rv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:45 am

Wrong, when the car has no RV, it means that it still can be traded in.

KIA cars cannot even be traded in

• Kia shit on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Cerato KX 90k??
    no thanks very much.Buy new City better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 22
  • Maseratits on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Clearly the RM90k price tag is to fight against the top trim Vios TRD, both of which have almost same amount of safety and kit.

• NoName on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Sad to hear the airbag count drop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Less safe, rather pay 10k more.

• should be priced RM79k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:36 pm

On a 9yr loan….its not a million ringgit diff monthly berween this spec n da higher spec 1.6…bt its wat we call a “attractive sticker price”
    Wen ppl end up in a kia showroom I think majority wil take da higher spec….
    Maybe kia saw how da altis 1.8 can getaway with barebone specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • You should count how many new altis is on road now.
      It’s a T big joke.

• Xerox on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:43 pm

The drop in price comes with a serious specs reduction. Yet the government will use this to proof the reduction of car price as promised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • bisakeris (Member) on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:59 pm

not worth the money.. preve is a better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • THerealmaserati on Jul 05, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Absoultely rubbish car. Test drove this car and its so freaking underpowered!!

Even a Waja 1.6 had more OOMMMPh than this! And they think they can compete with Honda City by reducing the price?

Hello friend, price is just a figure. Its the driving experience that counts. And the city drives so much better and the cabin feels 100x better than this Cerato.

The Cerato feels cheap and the steering feel is absolutely rubbish! Yes Rubbish with a capital R.

Just look at the sales figures of the Cerato and you would know its not doing good at all! This Cerato is an absolute piece of junk and only silly and easily conned people will be fooled into thinking they are getting a C-segment car for the price of a B-segment car , when in fact the B-segment car (City) performs miles better than the C-segment (Cerato).

When I say miles better, its in all departments, the driving pleasure, the interior quality ,fit and finish, resale value and of course brand image.

So yes, pls choose wisely and don’t be fooled by KIA or Hyundai. Both produce rubbish cars but yet price them as though they are on par with Japanese cars! Ridiculous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 63
    • are u a honda salesman? you sound like one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • therealmaserati on Jul 06, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Can u come up with a better line? That honda toyota salesman line is utterly boring. Yawnnnnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
        • bro, try adding 300kgs onto City and see whether will it be underpowered? do come up with a better comparison la..

• really?..i thought vios & city are much more rubbish than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Cerato Owner on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:53 am

bro, your comments looks like you more prefer a brand name rather than a car. then, go buy a brand name lor. dun buy a car. who’s on earth going to pay more just for the brand name?things than cannot be seen. r u crazy?most of educated people only buy a car that give them more advantage. only stupid people like you cannot afford to buy even a viva,than just become a keyboard warrior here, will pay more just becoz of the brand name. aiyoo. typical keyboard warrior.

• 2cent on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:43 am

I have both the new Honda city and the cerato 1.6. The only thing I feel that the city is better at is the acceleration. The NVH, fc is all so alien to what they claim. I only get 12km/l and that is if i drive with eco on. The door for the city is like super thin and the driver space is so small. The cabin noise is, well.. disappointing.
      In terms of comfort and drive experience, the kimchi cerato does it so much better. Well just my 2 cent since I do own both of them.

• Try driving without the Eco mode on. You can control the throttle better as Eco mode tends to rev to 2.5-3.0k RPM at low speeds. Manually control your throttle to cut the RPM down to 2.0k RPM as you can still accelerate all the way to 120km/h at that RPM.
        I used to get 12.5km/l with Eco mode in pure city driving being stuck in 40km of jam daily. Now i can get around 13-14km/l without the Eco mode on. Just need to do proper throttle control. As for highway cruising at 110, can reach 18-19km/l using cruise control.

• ceratolover on Jun 25, 2015 at 12:09 pm

See! Let the experience people talk. Not the viva owner just only empty can being a keyboard warrior. Well said : empty can make the noise sound! No money no talk!

• kelvin on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Very low spec for such sky high price still not worth the money for a Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • mobilo on Jul 05, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Naza should retains all safety features in KX model as per K3 model. Removal of HID headlamp, fog light, electric seats with memory, gear shift paddles, auto-dimming rear-view mirror, soft touch upper door trims, chrome window trims, replacement from LED to bulb type tail light, rear aircond vents, rims downsize, manual aircond control will be acceptable for the price offered.

• sambalbabi on Jul 05, 2014 at 11:30 pm

dropped out electronic stability is a no-no, but traction control, seems ok.

I don’t see any need of traction control for a puny 156nm torque front wheel drive car.

• so many things taken out, but not much price drop.. specifications now become lesser than a cheaper local car

• Dropping safety ftrs is bad move kia. At 90k, Will go for City with 6 airbgs, better Fc n bigger boot. Trd.? Hell no!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Elmer on Jul 06, 2014 at 1:48 am

Some deceptive people before this blamed Proton why foreign brands car are expensive. Now we see foreign brand car are selling at 89K and it is C segment and making profit. Now we know who are the greedy here. Just look how overpriced those C-segment sushi brands like Mazda, Nissan, Toyota and Honda and some stupid still buying them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • LOL

Haram jadah naza-kia

Aku bukak mudah tengok full spec kia cerato siap dapat discount 10k. Total OTR price 93k.

Baik amek fullspec with discount. Beza 3k apa lah sangat dgn safety features yg lengkap.

Turunkan jela rege tu bang. Korean cars oso like korean artis. Good looks outside,but sissy performance inside. Kurus cekeding. Takde power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Even the 2.0 also suffer rattling noise even its still new.I bet this sheet is still the same. Oil leak some more.. Buy 90k car and have to suffer bad production quality, car looks good also no point leh if troublesome. City is still a better buy even its B seg.The space already feel like C segment la..

IF want to buy wait next-next year end la sure massive discount cos stock piling at backyard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • ramadan on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:04 am

Have u read carbase.my owners review? City also got rattles here n there. And so does other CKD models assembled here. But, I know u r gonna hate this, I dont see vios n altis owners faced this problem for their Thai CBU cars.

• K3users on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:52 am

I m owner of 2.0 K3 since last year, what you mentioned above –rattling noise, oil leak never happen at all. I m fully satistified and happy owner of my car.
      Hey… one thing I really enjoy till now, people still turn heads on my car including those BMW, Audi owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • TheDean on Jul 06, 2014 at 5:42 am

That’s a fair bit amount of equipment, for just 10k? Says a lot about the prices of the extras and perhaps, their quality.

• Dear KIA, please trim down the cerato to a tin kosong car without alloy wheels. I am still unable to afford this. Please trim it down to 50k. I only need 1seat for the driver. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • this base model should not release because A-segment picanto already have 6airbags , stability control but this c-segment no have 6airbags and stability control

• This is ridiculous. You can get sx with 7k discount and it is 3k more than this only. This cerato can only steal sales from the City high spec if they come with ESC and 6 airbags.

• agreed, bad move by nazakia…..dont buy this only 2 airbag & no stability control version and teach nazakia a lesson. At this price, a high spec honda city wt all the airbags & stability control is more worth…

• nobrand on Jul 06, 2014 at 1:02 pm

No. This is business. They give costumers various choice . If you’ve much money buy the high specced. If you are rich then buy Mercedes .

• i don’t know what you guys are complaining about. This is a low spec C segment car. City , Vios and Perodua cars also have low spec right ? City low spec also have 2 airbags and no VSA. Perodua low spec cars only have 2 airbags and no ABS (even worse). So no one complain why City low spec has no stability ctrl and only comes in steel wheels ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • mould on Jul 06, 2014 at 5:08 pm

City is in B segment. Compare it with same segment like preve all variants get 6 airbags. Why not Kia, the name been said to be much better than proton but now gives peolle shiatty safery specs?

• More further deduction, another RM15,000 after this get RM74,888
    16″ inch tyre to 15″ inch
    Sport rim to Steel rim
    Front & Rear Bumper with no paint
    No rear air cond zone
    No sight mirror signal light
    No digital meter indicator
    Only driver seat air bag like pickup truck.

hahahaha……..it will sell like hot cake

• for me it is an underpowered car power to weight ratio…removing the 6 air bag leave to 2 will still be acceptable but not the traction and esc because those 2 will save your life when emergency comes.

I prefer the 1.6 engine on the kia rio and the 2.0 engine on cerato but drop the price around 100k

• Better wait for mazda 3 ckd

• Kyjel on Jul 06, 2014 at 11:05 am

This actually shows how Malaysians think when cars are involved for purchases. Ive heard so many times and by so many people, when they talk about getting a new car or bragging about theirs, only LCD, sat nav, push start button and electric seats are mentioned, because by having those, apparently, you are driving amongst the germans top marque. Safety is not in their priorities list because you cant see safety. Things can be seen and used are more important to Malaysians.

• 정남 on Jul 06, 2014 at 11:57 am

The price reduction is very attractive.

But the fact that this model does not retain the same safety features as its upper variant siblings is quite the deterrent.

The buyer would have to be completely clueless as to what difference the absence of those safety features would make. And sure, some might argue that you simply need to drive safer. Well, you’ll have to ask yourself whether or not others will drive just as safely as you do.

• fizzz on Jul 06, 2014 at 11:58 am

bring back kia forte

• kangkong on Jul 06, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I like the way of Nissan approach recently. Both Sylphy and Teana offer same safety equipment across all variants. The difference in price are for the fancy equipment. Never compromise on safety for a car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • nazaria on Jul 06, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Maybe this kx will also give 10k discount… the official price is just to satisfy the old man…

• ADRIAN on Jul 06, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Again. The main causes is the taxation by government

We would probably get a Camry with 90k if our car tax really reduce by 30%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 06, 2014 at 3:05 pm

If you are hard up for a kimchi, get the Hyundai.

At least you can get the car traded in. KIA, no one in town will allow you to trade in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • lemer on Jul 06, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Wow, …the C-Segment from sushi land like Mazda 3, Altis, Civic and Sylphy are really over priced and making a lot of profit compare against C-segment kimchi land just priced at 89K and still making profit. The sushi car sales here deceptively will blame on NAP or tax to protect Proton, LOL.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 06, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Thank God, Janji Sudah Ditepati,
    Car prices have come down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Car-Fans on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:51 pm

cendol – U ni betul kar ? Car prices drop ? This more to cheating case -is more to drop features !!!!

• zguyzz on Jul 06, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Everyone’s opinions differ, but I would rather sacrifice push start, alloy rims, manual adjust aircond, and the cosmetic stuff of the car. I think if Naza put 4 airbags and keep the ESC whilst removing the stuff I mentioned, it wouldn’t be that bad.

• techsmart on Jul 06, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Remove a couple more safety features and soon you will really be KIA (Killed in Action)

• nobrand on Jul 06, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Wow! Korean car topic always get lot of attentions from paultan followers. Look like korean car getting more popular now. Anyway I think we should thanks korean. They forced T and H to be more generous to malaysian.

• dugongx on Jul 06, 2014 at 10:01 pm

only logical if the price was dropped a full 20k. Since that is ALOT of equipment omitted. Though its still better in every way than a vios TRD.

• not in every way.

Resale Value + Customer Service + Reliability.
      3 main thing loses.

If Cerato is better than City or Vios in anyway.
      Might as well u say the Great Wall Haval H6 RM8x,xxx Full Safety EEV SUV is the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • sutheshkumar on Jul 06, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Just to note, that 8 inch infotainment system is offered since early of the 2014. Nothing new.

I rather give up things like cruise control, reverse cam over the safety pack here. But then again, I wont be surprised if this sells well too.

• azrai on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:58 am

Take out the sport rims and you get a RM85k Cerato. So now, the Cerato not a ‘seratus’ Forte anymore, it ‘s 90’s k Forte now.

• nobrand on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:15 am

Think it yourself, kia gives highest spec cerato for about RM118k and T and H give the lowest spec civic and altis with that amount of money. For RM90k T and H can only give us B segment cars. Come on korean, put more pressure to other carmakers. As long as it good for rakyat I will support you 100%.

• Don’t blame Naza, Toyota or Honda.. This is Malaysia Auto industries find to compete with Potong. Blame our beloved govn that not making those features such as auto light, ESP, four airbag as a standard accessories.

• Guest on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:23 am

All the talking about cutting down safety equipments but i still can’t see any one buying this car. All talk but no action. Please refrain yourself from all the useless comments. NATO.

• Kia Cerato very eat fuel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • thinkwisely on Jul 07, 2014 at 1:16 pm

eat fuel? pls study more before u post. since u at here, kind search for driven review. typical noob, which always assume or “heard from friend”

• I can see alot of nonsense comments here. Think carefully, price reduced to rm10k n few missing features also want to complain.. Come on la, u wan good n superb features, u pay more. This is malaysian mentality, expect price like kancil, but features like toyota camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Stupid Ppl Around Me on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:45 am

Very true indeed.

U have no idea how much negative feedbacks I got previously when I commented about the comments ppl made on the lack of airbags in a rumoured upcoming new Perodua model.

I agree with you 100%. Better still to put it as : expect price like Kancil but features like a Volvo.

• thinkwisely on Jul 07, 2014 at 1:13 pm

for those who blame, if u hav the cash, u can go for full spec, if u dun hav, blame urself either than others.
      human have different mindset, some may think this spec is enough for them.
      for this, is good they hav a higher spec as an option, better than some model which u cant even opt for better spec.

• ThePolygon on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:48 am

Actually this Cerato has been a rare sight in federal highway. Seems like not selling as good as how Forte used to be.

• pok mang on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:10 pm

coz forte owner didn’t finished their loan yet…that’s why this cerato become very rare on our road

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:00 pm

A really bad bad bad move by Naza Kia. Their have already lost their unique selling proposition (UPS), into the drain.

• civicEK on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:49 pm

dey kia, at least remain the traction control laaaa phuui!

• gomathi kashudevi on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:52 pm

I like cerato. I saw In one movie prasanth diring it. so nice and stylish. I want to buy. any agent here

• mantotot on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:50 pm

I owned kia forte alredy 2 years no problem c segment cars compare with city and vious its far and not fair . Japanese t n h sucked malaysian money . Small car with big price only in bolihland malaysia.

• Let’s make this simple. If Cerato K3 is nasi ayam special with price tag of rm6.00 n Cerato KX is nasi ayam biasa with price tag of rm5.00, y alot of people in comment section here still complain about the “nasi ayam biasa” lacks of this n that, no exta “ayam” n “telur”. Think rationaly la wei, dh turun rm10k pun mau bising2 ka??

• passingby on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Yeah, traction control. How many of you really use it on your driving? In the situation of traction control activated, this mean – all, or some of your tyres going out of tractions. Unless you are some car guys with advance driving skill, if not, NO, none of you knows how to control a car in traction losing conditions. none of you. Drive slower, safer, this help saving your life. Not until the traction control comes and help you, thats mean you over your limit, which you doesnt have the ball to even knows how to control, your car.

• r0nn13 on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:24 am

You don’t need those hardly use “safety features” if you drive carefully and defensively. I wouldn’t want to use the 6 airbags as I wouldn’t want to be in an freaking bad accident

• Its been mentioned time and again by Paul Tan and many others that no matter how defensive or safe you drive, accidents can happen anywhere, anytime. So its better to drive safely PLUS have features like ESP and more airbags.
      All it takes is a puddle of water, a patch of sand or a small slick of oil to make you lose traction which may result in a spin out. Tell me, how many of you have had training to recover your car from a spin out?
      What about another situation, you are driving along the road at speed limits, the speeding car behind you loses control and hits your car resulting in your car to go into a spin heading towards a road barrier at 80km/h with your wife and children in the car. What do you think will happen in that situation if your car did not have ESP and curtain airbags?
      Accidents can happen anywhere, anytime and not necessarily because of your own actions but others.
      Safety features are there for a reason and forsaking it because of ignorance is really foolish. Bravado and being macho saying you have good/safe driving skills without having to rely of safety features is absolutely folly. Is it worth putting the lives of your family, children, grandchildren at risk? Do not take safety for granted and end up regretting it for life.
      Kia and Proton were the first to provide 6 airbags and ESP as standard for their cars across the range. This resulted in Honda and Nissan providing 6 airbags and ESP for their new range of cars so its a big let down that Kia has decided to skimp on safety features for this new KX variant.

• I just don’t understand some idiot out there. if do comparing you must use apple to apple.
    cerato is C-segment car,so don’t use B-segment car to compare.

try take low spec of Civic,altis and compare with Cerato.then you will See the picture?!!

• some sales rep are offering around RM4k for the the current 1.6 K3, making it around RM95k+ only. With a difference of just RM5k+, I think the current 1.6 is a worthy buy compared to this KX spec. Its worth spending that few thousand extra for safety… and additional spec. just my 2 cents

• SorentoOwner on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Be realistics. Our market is full of choices. Look at your budget, then buy the car that you can afford.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:48 am

Your Sorento cannot even be traded in.

You gotta look at Total cost of Ownership instead

• Audi4Ever on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I love my Audi A4. Don’t buy this junk. Buy Audi A4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • passingby on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Losing traction or car spinning causing by 3rd party in high speed, still, only traction control doesn’t save you, you need steering work and very calm mind and experience. Other then that, cars still go to grass, long kang or either wall, depends on luck. Yeah driving slow doesnt 100% prevent you from accident free but the changes to recover or avoiding accident, is far more efficient. Recovering a car from slow speed lost control is far more easy. Just dont speeding dear driver, thank you.

• breeze on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:16 pm

VSC is use for in case when your car loss control it will minimize car spin and assite you go back to track you want. If your car dont have it thats means you will be no chance at all to escape the accident.

• drCooper on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Removing the stability control is a big mistake ! If forte have it and still retain around same price why can’t cerato ?

• RakyatMalaysia7 on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:25 am

Why are people comparing c segment car with b segment cars again?im confused..if comparing c with a c,whole different story is it?

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:47 am

Hello, D-Segment kimchi owners also compare their rotten cabbages with B-Segment sushi.

THis is how threatened kimchi owners car owners are. At least, Hyundai owners can trade their cars in. Good luck to kIA owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • bewildered malaysian on Jul 15, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Only Malaysians would buy a car that skims on safety equipments. So you save Rm10k for removal of safety features. Are our lives, and those of loved ones so low-value? 10k???

• Hope those idiots at nazakia sales and marketing department read all these comments and make the game changes..

• Cerato Owner on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:10 pm

if you cannot afford to buy a KIA, then dont called other people idiots bro. is not good as we are 1 Malaysia. so just go buy a perodua VIVA. i think that is a better choice for people like you.

• PJ K3 Owner on Jul 29, 2014 at 1:37 am

I got my Cerato K3 since March 2014. So far so good, no problems. Average fuel consumption 14 km/l (daily driving thru KL jam + several long distance drives to Singapore). I feel good driving a beauty compared to the horrendous new Toyota Vios/Altis/Camry. I am a safe driver, and I feel more secure with the 6 airbags and vehicle stabilization.
    I don’t give a cahoot about not many Cerato’s seen on the road. I intend to maintain & drive my Cerato for a very long time, hence I don’t care about resale values. I get 3 years free service too, that’s quite substantial money saved.
    It’s up to the individual to choose…

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 21, 2014 at 1:53 am

It’s the Kia Cerato Toyota edition.