Citroen Grand C4 Picasso price revealed – RM189,888

Citroen_Grand_C4_Picasso_Malaysia_002

Last month, the order books were opened for the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso, with indicative pricing for the seven-seater MPV being RM195k. Citroen Malaysia has now confirmed the vehicle’s nett selling price – the sole 2.0 Blue HDi variant is priced at RM189,888 on-the-road, with insurance.

To recap, the particular GC4P is powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel, offering 148 hp at 4,000 rpm and 370 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. No ETG/EGS automated manual mill for this one – it wears a regular six-speed automatic transmission. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 10.2 seconds and a 207 km/h top speed.

Available equipment includes keyless entry and start, a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system located below an enormous 12-inch digital instrument cluster, navigation, 360-degree surround view system, reverse camera, dual-zone automatic climate control in front and air vents for the second (pillar-mounted dual-zone blower control) and third rows (roof-mounted single-zone blower control).

The GC4P also features a panoramic roof, an electrically-powered tailgate, an automatic parking system and 18-inch wheels wrapped with 225/45R18 Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres, among others things Four exterior shades are available for the Grand C4 Picasso, these being Noir Onyx (black), Blanc Banquise (white), Blue Teles and Rouge Babylone (red).

Full specs here: Citroen Grand C4 Picasso on CarBase.my

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Contender on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Great looking mid size MPV with good specs but ridiculous pricing at 189k …… well people will say compared Ford S-Max but take a look at their sales figures. Damn more so diesel unless you stay in JB where you get Euro4 diesel …. or else Euro2 diesel will screw the engine up real fast and resale value is bad for Citreon … double whammy here diesel + Citreon bad resale value. Better think twice before buying …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • Same L0r on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Innova a much better choice, and much cheaper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 94
      • Vader (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:29 pm

U mean the 10 years old “van”, using outdated engine match with 4 speed gearbox, front-disc-rear-drum brakes, and high petrol consumption monster?
        Ok, you can call it as “proven” and “tested” Toyota car in bolehland!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:38 am

Your lung and butt are thousands years design, can it can last for 100 year if you take good care of it. So what wrong with old design?

Which one will sell better? Innova or this one? Sales figure will tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • lookman on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:56 am

Alphard price laagi ridiculous RM300k vellfire, recond..this one price is so-so. Summore can compete estima price 200k+++ only recond.

• mohsin on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:55 pm

seat yg belakang sekali tu mcm nipis je! hahaha
      Exora is better! Angry? related to Proton again?
      why Sam Lor can mention Innova, I can’t mention Exora

• spacecopgaban on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Non-Grand (5 seater) variant not coming here?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 13, 2014 at 5:03 am

Malaysians who buy MPV usually seem to want 7 seats. I don’t see too much of a point in bringing in the 5 seater. Maybe if the 7 seater sells well…?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:02 pm

So it is CBU? Could it be CKDd under EEV scheme?

The price makes sense in terms of where competitors are and how good/how speced out it is, but it is also really high. Customers willing to spend this much won’t want a new car.

• Best looking MPV ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:10 pm

It is actually a very nice MPV, a good option for those also looking at the Sharan. If you are a highway driver and drive long distances a lot, it should be OK I think, There are a number of 508 GTs running about on our roads, and if I am not mistaken, even Driven has one in diesel too. Have not heard of any horror stories yet.

As for Citroen, I would say we can’t judge the resale yet since the brand has just been launched, but with Peugeot’s presence it seems that the French are not too bad. Thing is, after you test drive a French car, you can’t go German, cause for some reason, these French know how to make really nice cars. I have been poisoned by the other French brand, Renault with their Clio RS200 EDC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • sudonano (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:16 pm

(looking at the Sharan in terms of pricing not the space, and don’t need the last row often as the Sharan is a bit bigger than this, or the SMax in terms of size and price)

• nabill (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Looks very futuristic…like a concept in few yrs time…this design is gonna age very well….
    And whoever mentions innova let’s prosecute him publicly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • he is just a kid on Jul 07, 2014 at 6:00 pm

he is just a kid, forgive him instead of prosecuting an under-aged.

for someone who compare a rear leaf sprung ladder chassis vehicle to a Grand C4 is someone probably had not receive his/her driving license.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Undertroll on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Same lor is under-aged AND under-educated. Of course, don’t say this to his face or he will start blabbering about the education system.

Even after you finished educating him, he will still flash a toothy smile and say toyota is better. If there is only one thing good about trolls, it’s they got damn hard head.

• I SUPPORT PROTON EXORA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
  • Maseratits on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Looks really pretty and futuristic in pictures. I wonder how it looks like in person! Roadshow soon, please?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:16 am

Looks great in person. I’m in Spain, and these things sell really well. You see them all the time, even though the car was launched not long ago.

• Maseratits on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Judging from the specs listen on carbase.my, looks like the C4GP is quite packed with kit and features. Plus the diesel engine’s torque, ooh la la!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Still, it’s too expensive. The price is sort of justified, but too high. People will buy other cars instead.

Also, the lack of HID is a big turn off. I just checked, the C4 Grand Picasso IS available with HID (a RM 4.3k option…). I’m not so surprised it comes with the sun roof though, it’s just around 2k. Still it would be nicer without sun roof but with HID.

I wonder if this car comes with the JBL sound system (around 2k), as that also comes with 2 layer side windows (like the front screen) that are tinted darker and I guess improves NVH. The lane assistant (comes with automatic headlights) seems to be missing too, another 2k option. So specs don’t seem to be that great…

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Oh btw., double layered glass is also safer. Try to smash a front windscreen. It’s really hard to break in. Having that for the side windows would be a big advantage, IMHO. These glass panels are also used for houses to protect them from robbery. No need for security tint. (Basically it’s one layer of glass, then security tint, then another layer of glass).

• wise guy on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:28 pm

better buy exora or innova, cheaper and easy to maintain. most important thing can ferry us to destination. and the extra money, save or invest for kids education, retirement plan etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 27
    • Anti Bashers on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Then you should just ignore this thread as this ain’t for your budget

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
      • wise guy on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:31 pm

It’s not about bashing, within budget or not etc. It’s all about spending money wisely, family first, having enough saving etc. Pls dont get me wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • lowprofile (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:37 am

there are perhaps 2 types, maybe more of people here. those who spend within their means and those who don’t. simply put, if one wants to buy this citroen, the person by right should make enough to as you have put it, spend the balance on family, save for retirement and kids future. if the car eats into their saving plan then they would belong to the group who spends beyond their means.

but in this case, if they have enough, maybe more than enough, what’s wrong in spending a little for more a bit more luxury and also to ferry the family in greater safety and comfort? they may consider spending more on their safety and comfort a wise thing to do if they have the means.

your point makes sense but is perhaps not entirely within context.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:21 am

What use is a retirement plan when you have died in a car crash? What use is your kids education when they are crippled in a car crash?

The Innova does a poor job of protecting you in a car crash, and it’s more likely to crash. The Exora is a better choice, but the C4 GP easily beats them both and is less likely to crash in the first place. If you can relatively comfortably afford a car like this, which protects you well and lets you travel in comfort, why not? If you have to eat plain bread every day just to “afford” the car, that’s a bad idea.

That being said a Peugeot 5008 or VW Touran will do a just as good job at protecting your family, and both are significantly cheaper.

Expensive cars are not necessarily only expensive, they can have advantages that make it worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • wise guy on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:46 pm

its not bout bashing or within budget or not. its all bout spending money wisely, family first, and make sure enuf saving for future. pls dont get me wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • start-a-fight on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:40 am

u shud stay in financial blog rather than automotive blog..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Obviously (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:40 pm

There’s a certain something about the design, both inside and out, that seems to captivate me. I am especially impressed by the driver’s interfaces, from the steering wheel with all of its buttons to the unique gear selection lever, the window controls and even the remote key is all designed in such a way that makes the car so characterful. So much pizzazz, so much…je ne sais quio, so Citroën.

The case for this car seems to be as much for its design as its equipment offerings…but that could be just me.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:50 pm

One glaring oversight is:

http://paultan.org/2014/06/13/citroen-grand-c4-picasso-orders-open-rm195k-est/citroen_grand_c4_picasso_malaysia_047/

Is that an operation roller for heated seats? Why does it even have that?

• Its for massage function (rear seat only)

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:29 am

That’s probably a heated seat, yes. Usually some options are bundled together, if you want one of the options, you’ll have to get all. They don’t have to be related, I’ve seen the weirdest combinations, especially with German manufacturers. In this case I’d guess that the massage function only comes with a heating feature. Naza wanted that one feature, so heated it is.

• roxas on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:08 pm

cool, very futuristic , if im rich , will buy this any over toyota

• Denaihati on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:18 pm

very nice seat, not just aesthetic, looks very comfortable and extra feature, compartment etc. only the price RM189,888 need to think twice.

• How long the warranty? Last sunday. The salesperson told me that the warranty only 3 years instead of 5 like others Citroen model in malaysia

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:52 pm

From what I heard, someone else has been told by a SA that they are working on extending it to 5 years too. They really should…

• ZZ Work on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:11 am

For that price I rather go for Nissan Serena or Mazda Biante. Besides resell value for Citroen, just wonder spare part supply and skill service centre any issue?

• grand picasso…what a ‘grand’ pricing

• _xXx_ on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:56 am

wow is that a landmine under the car?

• I think my citroen evasion is more fun than this grand picasso

• summicron on Sep 01, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Wish it have sliding doors.

• sliding door is nice but costly…cost for estima hydraulic sliding system about 8k if kaput…conti one i think cost much higher