Lotus achieves best quarter in 3 years, sales up 31%

Lotus Exige LF1-06

Group Lotus has announced a 31% rise in global sales for its first financial quarter of 2014. From April 1 to June 30, the Proton-owned sports car manufacturer sold 505 units compared to 386 units in the same term last year. The tally represents Lotus’ best first financial quarter for three years, and best June results in four years with sales of 192 units.

Key markets that showed the highest increase in sales were France, Germany, Switzerland and Japan. The improved performance is attributed to increased demand for all three models in the Lotus range – Evora, Exige and Elise.

Lotus’ Q1 figures are reflective of the company’s plans to further expand its global dealer network with new dealerships expected in the coming months.

Lotus’ new CEO Jean-Marc Gales said: “This is excellent news for Group Lotus and our parent companies Proton and DRB-Hicom. This latest performance is indicative of Lotus’ commitment to ensuring more drivers have the opportunity to own one of the best sports cars in the world.”

Green shoots of recovery or false dawn – what do you think?

Lotus Exige LF1

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wisdom on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:53 am

Good product. Good marketing. Should spell sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Ada Aku Kesah on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:04 am

For all I care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
      • Gaya Attitude on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:29 am

Lotus sucked Proton’s money like crazy. That is why Proton is doing so badly and got no money. That is why they are begging government to give them 2 billion.

Lotus from day 1 was bad news. But our typical kampung mentality, they wanted to show gaya and wanted to own something to show off to the world.

Proton lost billions because they just wanted to put the badge “Engineered by Lotus” in all their low quality Proton cars to show gaya.

The truth is, all Proton cars have ZERO technical knowledge nor transfer of technology from Lotus. Malaysia learnt everything from Mitsubishi how to build cars and its failed Campro engines.

So Lotus just sucked up all our money. Billions were used to buy Lotus and sustain it until Proton has gone to unofficial bankruptcy.

This is so Kampung mentality. Have big house, have 2 Mercedes and 2 BMW’s in porch but got zero in the wallet and zero in the bank and go around waiting for towkays to buy food for you and give you handouts.

Stand up on your feet and stop needing the Tongkat.

Stand up on your feet and stop living gaya and showing off. Live within your means and dont show off. If something is not producing fruit, be humble to acknowledge it and sell it off. You won’t lose face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 44
      • ScuderiaVincero on Jul 07, 2014 at 1:33 pm

You obviously care enough to comment :)

• AVH (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:00 am

Basically , no increase in market outside the ‘enthusiast’ zone. Lotus is the last of the purebred sports car manufecturer(sports car with limited electronic gimmickry) and it’s either they stay to course and face ever dwindling sales in the face of more tech-savvy buyers…..or get a serious revamp. Thou not in the same league as what a certain Bahar guy suggested but at least mirror something like what Aston Martin, Lamborghini and Bentley has pulled off. Each of the mentioned company made one product (DB9, Gallardo and Continental range) that significantly boost sales by making their brand more accessible to a larger majority and I can’t think of one car in the lotus lineup that can do that and no normt even the evora.

Start something like what Bahar suggested, an Élan, something with a better built, better equipped and more accessible. The Elise is too hardcore and the Evora, too no where(neither hardcore nor luxurious, compare it with a Cayman and you’ll know what I mean). At this rate, lotus will deteriorated til something like caterham or Morgan, a specialty car. And with proton controlling the funds, it’s hard to see a likable future for lotus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • Toyota should’ve taken over lotus, with toyota money and lotus engineering, toyota doesn’t need to step in or show lotus how its done to make profit, lotus CAN make amazing cars.

• haters on Jul 07, 2014 at 12:45 pm

i juz hate u .. dont know why..
      maybe it is the same reason ur hates towards proton..

• AVH (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Honestly ,thanks for this criticism!

Always I see some dislike on my post and I always wondered why…..I know someone isn’t please or I’ve pissed someone out, but I still ever so curious to know why. The thing I hate most is not the dislike but the dislike and not knowing why and this sis a huge relieve.

As for hating proton, it’s not just pure hate but it’s the fact I’ve given up hope. Having owned two with one(the oldest) still in the driveway, it’s not the fact that I hate but I’ve supported and cheered only to see it falters and splatters, for coming out with dissapointment. It’s almost like a feeling of betrayal(yes I do like protons, I was coming up drawings of drawings of them at the back of my exercise book during my lower education years). And lotus have a huge legacy and heritage and ever since proton owned them, they’ve just keep coming with updated and variants of Elise since 1998(and you thought tr Vios is old), as a fellow national, seeing failures is like seeing betrayal. I’ve never had a sense proton did their best much like other brands. It’s a very constructive feeling of betrayal and that’s how I felt

How about you sir? Do you happen to have a proton that have carved up almost all of your childhood memories, the ride, the happy and the sad shared in a proton and seeing those hopes and dreams as a fellow Motörhead crushed with the realization if the dissapointment they they are now doing? I have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • haters on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:52 pm

what..? cannot take some dislike..?
          i honestly gave 1 dislike on ur comment..the rest of it u need to figure it urself..
          whats up with the same old statement to back up ur pure hate towards proton..? no eveidence..?? everyone can say they had own this..own that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Obviously (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Wow. You just called him out on the internets. Objectively speaking, he took your dislike and criticism quite well. If you do read objectively, you’d see that AVH’s statements are not constructed on a blind hatred of Proton. Heck, I don’t think you can even call it hatred. Pure hatred would be the likes of Same l0r or Motorhead and they seem to have had some bad experience with the brand. Mostly AVH speaks using his knowledge history of the car industry as well as his own experience and most of his opinions are well-informed. Not everyone likes the past but it simply cannot be denied.

Honestly, which ordinary Malaysian wouldn’t want to see Proton succeed? If they do succeed, then we can be quite proud of them as a national achievement and have cheaper quality cars. However, all the measures drummed up to shelter Proton didn’t see them soaring to success. Only the Satria GTi is ever spoken of in fully positive light. The rest are tarnished with things like “bad quality control” or “bad fuel efficiency” or “cheap plastics” or “rattles, rattles everywhere” or “ugly”. I honestly think some of these things are exaggerated but the complaints are prevalent enough to raise a concern.

I neither support nor do I hate Proton. I do support a more logical and tolerant community. Why do you hate people whose opinions are different from your own? Respect their opinions and experiences (whether they’re genuine of not) and move on. Take everything on the internet with a grain of salt. Or two.

Good night.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:39 pm

This is just sad, after honestly thanking a person for giving me critisicm and giving my reason on my rather negative thoughts on Proton, I still get get to be flamed saying pure hate towards proton..? no eveidence..?? Of course its the same old statement! I think I should say something like “I refuse to buy Proton because their staff came into my house and manslaughter my family” or “The Proton I was driving suddenly goes Kaboom because it hit a butterfly”…. only until than you would belive my hate?

Everyone can say they own this and own that but what pethatic firewall you have that thinking owning a Saga and Wira is a figment of fantasy since almost every Malaysian either owns them and Drive them , this is no Mercedes or Ferrari and so on, Protons are F***** accesable car…..Personally, which onw will you believe? saying I own a Saga or own a Lamborghini.

You can hate me, that just make me human, after if you are so thick skull to not believe an honest no flaming comment and continue to flame it, I believe the heat or haze as gotten into you.

• Joe Radzif on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:21 am

Bro AVH,

Dia tak paham English sangat kot…
            hihihi…

• Haters will be haters and most of the time they are just trolls. Most likely his english is not up to par and can’t understand you AVH.
            AVH gave constructive feedback and criticisms which is well placed while haters gave brainless comments

• Jaybond on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:07 am

Lotus badly needs a new model and to succeed worldwide, it needs to be in line with what most major sportscars makers are now offering – handling, style, quality, creature comforts, practicality and a bit of technical wizadry in one package. How long can Lotus survive by continuing with the numerous iteration of the ageing models? Sooner or later they need to come out with a model, and it better be soon..

• kcng (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:51 am

The philosophy of Lotus isn’t about technology or luxury, it’s about simplicity, lightweight, handling and performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Panda on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:40 am

500 over cars sold should just cover all the workforce salary excl the CEO. Oh, with regards to the philosophy, all other brands have that so called ‘stripped’ edition – stripped down all the luxury, add lightness and powweer- there you have it. So you got all market covered! By the way, can Lotus do vice-versa (eg. on Evora, then upped the price 2X) and changes mind of 911, 458, Huracan or 12C customers?

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Cars have changed much since Lotus formulated their philosophy. In their day, the focus of cars were largely on performance. In that environment, Lotus made a name for itself. These days the focus is more of a mix of technology and environmental impact mitigation. The successful companies that still focus on performance or driving pleasure in their cars do not neglect either of the two. If Lotus doesn’t make some changes to their focus, they’re going to be left behind. Their rivals can offer good handling (though maybe not quite as good) and performance as well while still bundling in some tech and comfort. Other than superb handling, what else can Lotus boast about?

• Are you sure lotus was one of the best sport car in the world?

• mamatwhyla on Jul 07, 2014 at 12:54 pm

ok good. it also reflect expenditure and cost increase. so profit after tax berapa?

• Black Dog on Jul 07, 2014 at 1:02 pm

I’m sure with so much money invested in producing the Evora, they should expect some increase. But when they can recoup their investment is another matter.

If after launching a new product and there’s no increase in sales, then better tapao earlier.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 1:58 pm

The current line up is ageing rapidly. Where’s the Esprit, the so-called Lambo Aventador & Ferrari 458 contender? And the Elan too.. Remember those six Paris show concept cars?

• its in the news on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Oh… You didn’t know those Paris show sexy and futuristic lotus models is scrapped with the dismissal of bahar? I do feel those models can bring lotus back to the game but whoever scrapped bahar’s idea is just pure ignorant. It can be true if you say he overspend or for whatever reason lotus dismissed bahar but for god sake keep the idea. He can’t sue you for copyright since the idea came when he was still in service.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Well,thy do say everyone should experience lotus handling and steering b4 thy die…!
    Jus curious,more sales doesn’t actually mean profits r up 31% as well…I hope thy have the margins too…

• Albert Lee on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Why no mention of NETT PROFITS ?
    Incremental sales without profits is misleading and is a “Syiok Sendiri” syndrome.
    MAS has increased sales before MH 370 went missing,but it is near bankruptcy today.

• ProtonLotus on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:07 am

selling only 500 cars in 6 months is nothing to shout about dude ! Lotus should just bite the bullet, eat the humble pie move the HQ to KL make a Lotus Proton car that the ppl can afford and wants, not some high performance tin can for the rich which pretty obvious they are failing to sell to.

• Mamatwhyla on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:23 pm

They can sell 10000 cars, but loss -1bil pound. Instead sell 10 cars make +1mil pound. Which u prefer for a good and sustainable biz.

• lotus esprit 1984 was/still is one of the most beautiful cars in the world.

• fsfsfs on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:31 am

Lotus should plan some ‘family’ orientated sports car and sell them to China, like what Porche does with sport SUV and 4-doors sedan.