Proton Persona Executive – new trim level unveiled with higher spec, from RM49,938

PERSONA_EXEC

The Proton Persona Executive has officially been unveiled, a new trim level that slots above the base Super Value (SV) model and brings back most of the features that were removed from the lineup when the previous higher-end variants were discontinued. A stay of execution for the ageing Gen.2-based sedan, perhaps?

The exterior sees the return of a bodykit, rear lip spoiler, door visors, body colour door handles and front fog lights. New kit additions include seven-spoke 15-inch alloy wheels in a “Kaizer Silver” finish and a chrome finish for the decorative wings on the grille and boot lid.

The interior, on the other hand, has been reinstated with leather upholstery, height adjustment for the driver’s seat and audio controls on the steering wheel. Door mirror adjustment appears to remain manual and the rear seat backs fixed, but strangely you do get a Yes 4G mobile hotspot.

persona 7

Mechanically, the Executive is identical to the SV, so the 1.6 litre Campro IAFM four-cylinder engine that produces 110 hp at 6,500 rpm and 148 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, the choice of a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic gearbox, four-wheel disc brakes and four-wheel independent suspension (MacPherson struts at the front, multi-links at the back) remain unchanged.

Also unchanged is the safety equipment – dual front airbags, front seat belt pre-tensioners and ABS with EBD are retained.

The Proton Persona Executive, now open for booking nationwide, is priced at RM49,938 (metallic RM50,388) for the manual and RM52,938 (metallic RM53,388) for the auto. Included with the car is a a two-year, 50,000-km manufacturer’s warranty. A new Elegant Brown shade joins the existing colour palette that includes Tranquility Black, Fire Red, Genetic Silver, Solid White, Bronze Garnet and Chiffon Green.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YES? Another crony punya project?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 91
    • Same L0r on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Proton fanboys, where are the VSC and 6 airbags you are so proud of? Where is your 5 star safety car?

If Proton mid range car doesn’t have VSC and 6 airbags, then don’t complain on Toyota cheaper car Vios.

Don’t act like Proton is the world safest car just because only 2 models – Preve & Suprima S have VSC and 6 airbags.

Of course you will argue our Vios is more expensive than Preve/Suprima S. This is not our fault, go ask Mr G on it.

There is a wonderful Proton thing called “perlindungan”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 139
      • Motorhead (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Now.. they selling coffins? Sell cheap2? Now where the macai?

When they sell coffins.. it’s ok.. boleh.. bagus..

Damn hypocrites…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 53
        • Wisdom on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:45 am

This is another good option for a fresh grad who dont want to spend too much on car (rm500) monthly installment.
          Yes, our children getting flashy. 3 months at work and going for Vios, City, Almera, with RM800++ installment. That RM300 different is crucial for a person starting a life.
          Safety equipment comparable to those brands.
          Driving experience much better than the listed Japanese B sedan. That rear multilink really a joy to drive compared to those torsion beam. Much much better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:42 am

Fresh grad mostly go for Myvi/Viva. Cheaper and more reliable.

Proton comes with unforeseen repair and maintenance cost. Even the government goes broke with their Perdana maintenance.

Multilink maybe more comfortable, also much more expensive to fix. And you know how good is Proton suspension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
          • carazy on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:27 am

U tell me where Myvi cheaper?? and when u hv children, your boot is not enough for luggage. Time for sedan, even worse you hv to buy a new car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Savvy88 on Jul 08, 2014 at 6:13 am

At least, Proton is cheaper than Vios and so on..with comparable safety features. Plus these 2 models is older model. newer mpdel from Proton will get better safety features.

Vios? launched last year but safety features not more than the car launched 7 years ago.

Vios is more expensive than other imported cars with comparable specs. Yes, all of you were taxed, but how much the profit you gain will determine the final price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Apple to apple, orange to orange.

Sage to Vios (B segment), Preve to Altis (C segment).

Don’t bluff on the safety of Preve/Suprima S, they are no safer than Altis.

Exterior, interior, safety, comfort, handling, RV, FC, status, EVERYTHING… Proton are all beaten to the ground.

The key point is… How many are buying Preve/Suprima S? How many are buying Saga? So you don’t bluff of Proton’s safety while majority customer goes for the low end also-milo-tin Saga/Persona.

Don’t Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok!

There is no wrong Toyota making profit. Product good response good, profit great, staff good salary and bonus everyone happy.

No begging for money or the shitty “Perlindungan” required.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
          • NIEKO on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Well Same L0r
            the proton preve will always be better than your stupid Altis and you useless Camry
            FYI in Australia your Camry came as the worst performing car in terms of safety from a car brand like Toyota ie it did get 5 star but still a lower ratting compared with the Proton Preve and Honda Civic and its not even your C segment car but a D segment aren’t Toyota ashamed of themselves ie they got beaten by Kia, Honda and even the Useless Proton as you mentioned by you …

So the morel of the story is The Proton preve is not only better than the T.Altis but also your wonderful @ Ugly CAMRY don’t belive me lookup at Australasian EnCap result……you will Shit pants ha ha. Sorry For being Rude but its the truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • abuya1234567890 on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Basher. Come forward. Your food is ready

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 35
    • Blurrpppp…. dah kenyang dah ni. Sudah berapa banyak versi versi Protong nak serve ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0r on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:04 pm

For Proton, no bash needed.

Everything on fact.

Poor sales – fact
      Poor build quality – fact
      Noisy and powerless engine – fact
      Fuel hunger (leaking?) engine – fact
      Close to zero RV – fact
      Decade-old model – fact
      Yet waste money on design contest for teen – fact
      Long checklist upon getting new car, developed by owners group – also fact

No personal emotion and rude words required.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 52
      • iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Have experienced owning a Persona >5 years.
        leaking engine? nope. engine is reliable.
        fuel hunger? FC is close to my wife’s almera.

Anything else, u can refer to my review at carbase.my. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 16
        • NoMood2Work on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:50 am

Have experience owning a Wira < 10 years
          Radiator – Changed
          Water pump – changed
          brake pump – changed
          engine mounting – changed
          front suspension – changed
          air cond radiator – changed
          air cond compressor – changed
          air cond cooler – changed
          accelerator wire to engine – changed
          clutch – changed
          engine to dashboard speedometer wire – changed X 5 times (all ori done at Proton SC)
          dashboard – changed
          rear trunk never accident, but still leaking.
          rear brake still jam

Only thing never changed is the Mitsubishi engine.

How come your Proton so good? Why quality so big difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • Desperado on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Kesian Proton…so many old stocks still unsold…

What’s next, bring back Savvy full specs RM20K?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 39
    • Obama (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Don’t understand why they keep recycling their model? This model is from Gen-2 which is already 10 years old model.

• Car-Fans on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Huh! Jangan lar cam tu … Savvy pun nak re-appear into current market – don’t pls don’t … like that .. we bring back Tiara lor !

• Yusriaffandi on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Better PROTONG make a re-branding to a TOP MANAGERIAL ATTITUDES! ” MAU UNTONG BOLEH MA, TAPI JANGAN TIPU RAKYAT’

• bujingyun on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Just that…*sighhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
  • Hohoho on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:27 pm

What’s the purpose of re-introducing old car with new variant? It’s almost 10 years old (as they’re booted Gen-2)..

=.=”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 16
    • Obama (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:00 am

May be this is the vision of new Proton chairman.

• alldisc on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:56 am

proton could have at least change the face to proton wings look (from the preve/suprima) – something that proton was proud off for abt 2 yrs. then the persona would not feel so old.

and also, why no CPS until now??

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:32 am

Hohohoho so sick. He had problem with rounding numbers. He doesn’t even know when Persona launch? When arr? It launch on 2007 until today reaching nearly 7 years. What’s the problem if 7 years? BMW, Mercedes, Ford also have old model and facelift 7 years model..

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:33 am

Hohohoho so sick. He had problem with rounding numbers. He doesn’t even know when Persona launch? When arr? It launch on 2007 until today reaching nearly 7 years. What’s the problem if 7 years? BMW, Mercedes, Ford also have old model and facelift 7 years model..Even Tan Chong until today sell poorly design Latio until today!! Go read a lot of automotive books and blog before you comment.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Well…that was unexpected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • ROTFLOL on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Well fools like you lah keep on supporting Proton.

Now served you morons right. Piss kencing yourself on the foot.

Ha ha ha ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 66
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 6:34 pm

I don’t support Proton. I support critical thinking and fact-based argument. Unlike your argument which is totally a personal attack. But it’s ok.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
        • Tong Kosong on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:02 pm

CRITICAL THINKING??

Reason why I choose MYVI vs Persona..

MYVI is ROOMY..PERSONA/GEN 2- DOOR TRIM & DASHBOARD is too THICK made PERSONA interior is SEMPIT Macam Adenan Sempit..

No need phucking ARROGANT SKETCHER –DESIGINER like this..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9dajUycyus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYomZ6kjMzE

PROTON Please replace him..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
          • passing by on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:37 pm

sempit? hahahaha! u are so funny! first person i saw complaining thick door trim n dash board n even made it a reason for u to buy a car. Please la persona door trim n dashboard is not that thick. Just admit u wan myvi n not a proton. lol no point bashing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Abah Ko on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:58 pm

wtf is wrong with u rotflol???

• sick&tired on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:28 pm

how long is proton going to continue giving us sub par quality products!? enough already la, this design has been with us for 10 years already. ROI already got back, so why still using the same design!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 23
  • Matchy on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Seriously, just let it die already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 13
    • fast5 on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Thanks to Tun DrM proton ‘long lasting chairman/adviser’ lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
    • Tula.
      I ingat Persona High Spec VSC + 6 airbags.

dissapointed.

• Hadi Hakim on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:32 pm

I have bought the Proton Persona Elegance standard equipped with rear brake drums, fabric upholstery,no bodykit what so ever,priced at RM51k. Now proton come up with this Persona Executive,fully equipped..im just out of words. What else to say. I feel so cheated.I paid more with lesser spec,even without the safety features of ABS+EBD. Just couldn’t understand why Proton didn’t do this in the first place.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 10
    • Matchy on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Probably because the gov haven’t promise cheaper car that time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • exactly, proton people are indirectly giving more reason not to buy a proton car!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • 4G 63T DSM on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:14 pm

While I understand your pain, it isn’t rare for car manufacturers to drop price or add free options at the tail end of the model life to help aid stock clearance.

You think this bad….wait till you see what sort of discounts you can get with a year end luxury marque. The discounts can be as much as a whole new Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • DarkSider on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Yesss, feel the hate flow thru you. Come to the dark side you must.

but honestly, I feel your pain. It’s bad enuff if Honda/Mitsu do it, but protong??? Desparate actions of desparate folks, who feel the end is near.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • kcng (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Please learn about the word of depreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • lammmm on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Same here, just bought the persona elegance standard auto about nearly a year, so far the car is okay. Feeling cheated when the persona sv was came out, now after seeing this post, really disappoint to proton already. Proton really shouldn’t do the business in this way. In conclusion, buy a proton for one time already cukup la, despite some of the proton is very excellent for its value like persona and preve which famous for stability in high speed. But proton never put their customer in the first priority, so who cares about these features !!! tidur tahu la proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Vens Yeoh (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Bro, this happen due to amortization. it means all of the investment in developing the model (R&D cost, manufacturing cost, capital, etc) has already return back to Proton… simply said, its already balik modal. Once they get back what u invest, they can reduce the pricing… it happens to other product as well… Maybe Persona is a reliable model and there are still demand from people, Persona is still in market… I’ve been using Persona since 2009 and I am happy with it… no problem at all… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Kalau sudah balik modal, sell it half price RM25K lah.

Much better give it free. Charity sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
        • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:00 am

Yeah..understand the word balik modal. What Vens Yeoh mentioned is that the initial investment, tooling cost, testing cost and etc was return back BUT NOT the raw material to make the car. How PROTON to make profit if giv u free car? Ah Beng felt pity when read -ve comment because they talk like they dont even study at tertiary level. Now feeling lucky because hav master in automotive engineering..hehe..

• Rocky on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:47 am

me too feels cheated by proton coz just 8months only bought persona elegance but now come out with persona executive with full equipt and similar price ….really upset

• crank on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:34 pm

2 year 50000 km warranty only. Hahaha. Sounds like stock clearance sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0r on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:57 pm

The cars have already been parked at the warehouse under sun’s UV test for 3 years? That’s why you have 2 year warranty left.

Wait, then you are buying a *new* 2011 Persona? Congrats!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Lol so now Proton can join BMW in the list of manufacturers who offer 2 years warranty. Why? Coz their cars don’t last long…

• cendol (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:35 pm

New variant of an ancient car again? Raya edition?
    Then Thaipusam edition, Then Christmas edition.
    Give us new Model please, and skip the Suprima-SSSSSS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 17
    • Albert Lee on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Bradder Cendol, ” Age of Extinction ” variant/edition.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 2:37 pm

As a first car jus to go around point A to B…it does the job….it’s affordable …it’s kinda easy to lambast protons bt this one is jus an honest car,n the r tons of thm on da road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Errr… no button controlled side mirror, no foldable seat, but RM6000 more, and a 4G? perhaps I do not need it.

• alamak proton .. facelift sudah… mcm toyota vios.. still selling like hot cake..

• They should change the design abit la!

asyik2 tukar sikit sana sini, improve on the engine la dey!

zzzz

• Proton should reduce the catalog size and retain only Preve, Suprima, Exora & Saga (at least until GSC comes in) as a start. By doing this, third party part *supplier* count can also be reduced.

• who comes up with this genius ideas? This would definitely jeopardize the market value for Proton Persona. Now its almost impossible to trade in your Persona!!

• aku beli persona medium line dekat 58k, takde discbrake belakang, takde ABS EBD, takde leatherseats. apa punya marketing strategy la proton ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • 35K! CONFIRM SELL LIKE HOT CAKES

• albag on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Hahaha proton.. Always pandai jual kreta kreta lama.. Atau rebadge..

• roxas on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:07 pm

while the saga Sv is selling well, i dont see any new persona Sv on the road.. and a new spec here?

• Zashh on Jul 25, 2014 at 8:49 am

After they get SV.. ggo to workshop.. remove SV emblem at the back

• pondan on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:13 pm

R&D at work… hmm……… tada…. new body kit + a few equipment. “KPI for a new proton model” checked!!

• tok ketua jimbit on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:19 pm

This is world class vision by Tun…Congratulation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:34 pm

TDM said World Class by next year, meanwhile this year is the ‘lelong kereta lama’ year.

• arsengal on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:22 pm

WE WANT THE 6SPEED MT CFE PREVE AT LEAST, NOT THIS ONE!

• theanswer on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:31 pm

fixed rear seat? nowadays consumer looking for something that can served as multipurpose..folding seat is a must!

• Aero (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Hi Jonathan, I’m a bit disappointed that no mention of the new Kaizer Silver 15-inch alloy rims were made in the article. Also, the front and rear grilles have chromed bits now, a first for the Persona Elegance. But I’m unsure about whether the Persona Executive gets the Elegant Brown paint colour or not, as the Proton website is terribly un-user friendly.

But in any case, thanks for posting this article all the same ! :]

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Apologies, there was some confusion regarding the car’s specification. The article has been amended and a new picture that shows the new wheels has been added.

• Aero (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Awesome ! Thanks man. :]

This is a good show of ethics ! …. Which is why among all the automotive media sites, I strongly believe that paultan.org is still the best !

• Seen in showroom in Kuantan saturday.No rear headrest and proton marketing strategy is bad.Love to change variant and discontinue.from H,M,B-line change to SV.no like Toyota.G and E is 10 yaer for Vios still remain even 3 generation.Thats why I love Toyota.Proton just like add and delete equirement in the model.Thats why no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Jason Lim on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:01 pm

How many time they want to add new variants for an aging car? c’mon la suprima S not a success. only preve OK a bit

• along on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:28 pm

ringringring lelong lelong lelong……..

• Mr TruthFact on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Alooo my frens..Proton Persona is among the best selling car for PROTON u know. I do believe this is the reasons why the demand still high for Proton Persona. Like it or not Proton Persona is much much better than MyVi lor..With 1.6 litre, full of safety features, good design & more space for your bag lor.. Have you ever tried Persona especially for long journey? You will amazed with their performance.

That’s why Proton still introduce their Persona mehhh. Because people still want it.With less than RM50k,you will get Persona Executive (M). Cheap price and full of spec..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
    • Mr Truthfact, most car manufacturers have life cycle for a car. 3 years for a facelift, and 5 years for a new model. In an industry wherr 99% of carmakers follow this cycle, what does that make PROTON? It makes their cars look very long in the tooth.
      Sure, plenty of Persona on the road. That does not make the car good. It just makes the car a volume seller. If they were good, they’d be hotcakes in UK and Australia where they are sold. Mind you, the rebadged Lancers did win several awards in the UK back in the late 80s.
      Where is PROTON today? Two of their cars, with one available to the public, are actually not theirs, namely the Accord and Inspira. The Accord they have is the previous generation, so that’s like 8 years old.
      Most of us would like to see a successful PROTON, but one that fails again and again, while costing the government money, is bad for us. One that keeps being protected but never coming out stronger is expensive for us (in terms of keeping it running AND impacting price of other cars).
      PROTON needs direction to stand alone. The whole concept is flawed when you consider our TIV is 500k. No carmaker would survive even if they owned 100% of a market that small. But to go global, you need quality. To have quality, you need real vendors, not Tier 3 vendors that can’t spell quality, let alone provide it.
      So its a vicious cycle. Unless it gets proper direction, either through a merger or more intensive (and expensive R&D), most of us don’t see PROTON going anywhere but south.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • So do you prefer reworked body + same platform with same/higher price than same body&platform with discounted price?

• athlon on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:31 pm

U r totally wrong dude… mostly only japanese or korean cars practising 5 years life cycle n completely change the models… bmw, merc n audi still stick with 4 + 3 = 7 years at least concept… study before condeming… maybe u never drive a conti before… cannot blame u also

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:13 am

NAP never own a PROTON before that’s why he likes to condemn. Not all car manufacturer can change new model earliest by 5 years. Even BMW, Merce and Ford takes longer than 7 years! The new Suzuki Swift 2013 for instance still using the same platform and almost similar design like 2nd gen designed in 2004.Huhh..

• Ah Beng is clearly is not a follower paultan or PROTON posts here. Most people will know what NAP stands for, even the (former) PROTON management did.
          After a fallen fuel tank (PROTON Cares (1994)), a pool for a foot well (Perdana V6 2005) and various issues with Wira (2002), you could say I have “experience”. LOL.
          Again, as I said, some car manufacturers have longer than 5, not all. As I stated as well, we would all be happy if PROTON were to succeed as it brings Malaysia fame and wealth. My issue is strategic business direction. Repeating myself here: you won’t get anywhere with an industry TIV (you understand aa, what TIV is? Total Industry Volume) of 500,000. You need to go global. To do that, you need R&D. They’re getting there, to be fair. The Preve apparently is their best car (let down by poor quality interior) and critics say they can challenge. But the local scene is a huge hill for them. I do hope they will be a success. Until then, its Never A Proton (NAP) for me.

• Matzukerbeg on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Suitable for balik kampung during festive season.

• nobrand on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:32 pm

This a bad move from proton. Protons new management has lost their chance to gain Malaysians confidence toward proton. They are no better than past management. I wonder if they have proper plan for proton.

• fast5 on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Under new chairman Tun DrM this’s what u get… coming savy executive?? Satria??
    Proton lover pls go buy now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • justwaitnsee on Jul 07, 2014 at 4:44 pm

if u look in their web site oso include preve exec auto cvt where they remove the curtain airbags,auto headlamp and top tether for child seats and put body kit instead. hahaha..people at the back seats also need airbags la…esp. the children for side impact…plz la proton..bodykit can find elsewhere la…

• Chow 1 on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Still selling this ???

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Isn’t it time to send this to the ruins, I mean its already coming to 10 years (the Gen 2 which came with this body style).

They really are quite dated and for about 10k more, you get the significantly safer Preve…

• Germany_vs_Brazil on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Lousy car!

Lousy brand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • theanswer on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:31 pm

whatever it is..this one is an attempt to clear stock. after this just focus on preve to replace persona for good.

• dckw81 on Jul 07, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Anybody noticed they have degraded the SV specs to make way for this?

• LUSIAO on Jul 07, 2014 at 6:23 pm

The Saga Aeroback sales concept soldiers on..sigh..they can stretch the same chassis up to 10 yrs & just change the specs

• Steve Jobs on Jul 07, 2014 at 6:41 pm

i like the persona except no matter what u do to improve Campro FC…. render useless.

• pondan on Jul 07, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Later will come out proton persona tembak brek. Copy merc gaya (sahaja).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Steve Jobs on Jul 07, 2014 at 6:49 pm

priced at RM49,938 (metallic RM50,388) for the manual and RM52,938 (metallic RM53,388) for the auto.

Persona SV
    RM44,938 solid, RM45,388 metallic

2010-2012
    Base Line (M) RM46,499
    Base Line (A) RM49,499
    Medium Line (M) RM52,999
    Medium Line (A) RM55,999
    High Line (A) RM59,499

2007-2009
    Proton Persona 1.6AT SE Metallic – RM59,800
    Proton Persona 1.6AT H-Line Metallic – RM55,800
    Proton Persona 1.6AT M-Line Metallic – RM52,800
    Proton Persona 1.6MT M-Line Metallic – RM49,800
    Proton Persona 1.6AT B-Line Metallic – RM48,449
    Proton Persona 1.6AT B-Line Solid – RM47,999
    Proton Persona 1.6MT B-Line Metallic – RM45,449
    Proton Persona 1.6MT B-Line Solid – RM44,999

owhh mai.

• Make more sense to buy Alza 5 seater:

1. Persona = 2 years warranty/50,000km
      can only buy with max 5 years loan -> Result = not affordable.

2. Alza = 3 years warranty/100,000km
      with free 3 years service.
      can buy with 9 years loan, more spacious, more fuel saving, more reliability, more affordable monthly payment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:58 am

MUYA alza makan minyak la..People got complaint..especially when town driving..

• Trap:

1. 2 years warrant reason:: Stock Clearance. Dont want handle it anymore in future.

2. High Spec but not full safety features:
    reason:: no more RnD on this car, It’s another stock clearance tactic.

Well, 2 years warranty for a Proton.
    I think Great Wall M4 EEV is a better choice. 50% more fuel efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:30 pm

50% more fuel efficient without any test drives conducted? The truth is that Persona FC is not as bad as u think. Look at owners submitted figures at fuelly.com.

• Great Wall M4 have better fuel consumption than u imagine.

Persona 1.6 City style only 9-10km/L.

• tehsarbat on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:09 pm

BOOOOORIIIIIG!!!!!

• cendol (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Soon there will be another carnival by the roadside or beside that coconut tree selling Cheap Potong with promotion

• woi ini kereta buruk lagi mau jual ka?? dah berapa tahun keluar dah….

• Albert Lee on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:31 pm

You know why the Saga and persona variants introduced today?
    Simple.The GSC has been delayed..and delayed.
    So ,to keep diehards happy,introduce other variants lor.
    Protong is employing psychologists now instead of engineers ,to play mind games with the motoring public.What a crying shame,Protong.

• Abah Ko on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:05 pm

hope this is the last batch of persona..

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:15 pm

My Altis 2010 1.8 G Dual Dvvt cost the same price when i bought it with the present Altis 2.0 G. I guess it is just the way the market reacts to push for sales. It also makes sense by the comment earlier on the cost of R & D that is already covered hence selling price could be lower.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:34 pm

I’ve thought the SV was the final release for the Persona before being stopped production and retired gracefully. It doesn’t make sense for Proton to have 3 different C-segment models at the same time. Instead, put focus on reducing the costs & increasing build quality for the upcoming Preve facelift which should due by next year(CFE+??).

The Persona’s interior space have now been outclassed by some B-segment rivals, and it’s quite no longer relevant by todays’ standard (despite its brilliantly set-up independent suspension).

• pondan on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:34 am

Mamak thinking proton is like pagani zonda… can keep facelift till gazillian variances. But zonda keep improving on specs and performance. Proton… body kit only. Gaya saje.. performance tarak.

• Must be mahathir’s idea of world class automobile lol

• Krasher on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:10 am

The handbrake level is getting a hard-on!

• bukapintubayartol on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:31 am

Should Proton replace the 4AT on the Persona with the CVT from Saga 1.6SE?

• AkuKenal on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:21 am

Tak sepatutnya Proton re-introduce old Persona ni sekali lagi dengan tukar tampal aksesori.. memalukan ini je kerja DRB after taken over Proton?

Better kasi Khazanah balik laa.. then take back DSZ.. DRB failed to develop better MODENAS motorcycles for 10 years.. then how they could save better for Proton.. cilaka DRB!

p/s Tun M, to admit he the person who let Proton born yes good.. and sadly he also the one who destroy Proton!! see how many models failed when he was PM, let many political cronies supplied parts for Proton. Then what he could do more now after no more power as a ruler?

One more think that we should know that Tun M so much hates Dato Syed Zainal former Proton CEO. Taktau apa sbb, wpun DSZ CEO terbaik berbanding the rest of all CEOs before.. so, tunggu how Tun M will again destroy Proton.. :)

• shabalala (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 4:01 am

complain, complain and complain, chill ah. i owned a persona SE myself, 2009 model. 5 years and it still running good, no problem at all for me. as for engine noise, i can bear with it. oh and if you guys wanna say this is my first car, it is not. i owned a 2001 honda crv and a peugeot 208 yet i drive this car more often.

• peroton on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:52 am

Tak pandai jaga market la proton ni… sebetulnya kena facelift dan maintain harga… cuba tengok myvi, dah lama jual pon masih laku.. tengok toyota innova… kalau proton teruskan strategi macam ni nnt lingkup..org xnk beli sbb resale value proton cars jatuh menjunam..

• Car-Fans on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:04 pm

peroton – Kan dah mula few years back … soon Proton car value even worst then Korean car lor ! Just wait and see … Kalau Proton masih degil dengan cara diapa handle Proton !!!

• neemfa on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:34 am

Eh, Persona still around?
    becoming the next Saga?

• common sensor on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:36 am

This lady is too old to make-up. Please provide Malaysian with fresh new products. A typical lifetime of a model is 5 years; anything beyond that is antique Sir.

• Proton will stay like this forever. If they wanna move forward they need to sack all the useless cronies in proton and get those who are capable of running the automobile business. Dr M cannot take proton forward, his old fashion thinking doesn’t work at this modern world. Once in awhile proton will POP up shit like this to sale to the rakyat. The corruption they make for themselves can actually pay PETER SCHREYER salary. Im sorry PROTON stop sucking your own countryman!!

• Car-Fans on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Old Man in … Old Stock Re-Appear … Cheers :)

• AkuTakKenal on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Proton bad luck coming back..>> TUN M creationism minded.. disaster.. some insider people said DRB is preparing for his Son Sapura Kenchana to take over Proton next step.. like what they did in early 2000, re-make up super OLD SAGA into SAGA LMST!! Cheating customer with exhaust fumes leaked aircond.. they built up multi-cronies of Mahathir become Proton vendors, proton quality dropped like hell.

Stupid Mahaleel-Mahathir super crony brought total damage at Proton.. they proud to launch SAWI white wheel rim at that time.. Proton sale dropped like hell.. After Tun M forced to stepped down then Proton healed by new CEO then Proton likely to be a little healthy.

But now.. the time come again.. how an old man Tun M put a shame statement- Proton want to become xpensive car maker.. puihhhh.. 24hours just think about money..money.. he didn’t know how struggled automotive industrial, how the close rival put their effort much on refreshing the car design, specs rather than barely talk about MONEY..

pity Proton!!

• Lepas ni apa pulak? I guess Exora Executive Limittes Special SV edition bla bla bla bla bla….alamak!! sama je

• drove this car in KK as rental, must say the worse car I hv driven. the saga was better and so is the myVi

• Carlover on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:20 pm

What are doing Proton…How many variants you need to come out… Just focus develop nice better car and engine… Cant sell well in Malaysia already and now want to play play old model… Really still dreaming after so many years… I dont put hope already because there dont have hope from Proton anymore… Waiting rescue from Gov Malaysia only…

• Tiger on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Brilliant R&D department, received hundreds of millions of funds every year, and result this year so far, those ” scientist”
    1) discovered” new paint variant and design (whole car same color)
    2) came up with ” executive” name for latest model ( after cracking their heads using high speed supercomputers)
    3) organized ” design contest”
    4)organized Fun wit Preve TV Gameshow

• embun on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:51 am

Can exchange with my 2010 persona exec?
    only 1 airbag and no ebd esc though..
    more expensive than the auto variant

• hermin on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Hurm I bought persona B Line for the same price 2 years ago.. and now it come with 4 disc break abs some more with body kit cheating proton always want maximum profit shame on you proton

• first car iswara aeroback and now persona sv fire red colour. tq proton because u have, im still can proud and joy with malaysian products. i see many singapore people use proton.

• Vivegan on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:56 pm

I think that Proton is totally out.Toyota is the top because of their style and aerodynamic design,price is higher but very good quality and many good models they introduced such as Corolla Altis,Vios,Camry and many other.I was mention just now about proton because my father owned a proton wira 1.5 GLI MANUAL SEDAN in 1998 VERSION,it’s really a lousy and terrible car,disadvantages are lot compare to advantages.So i hope all new car buyers must think very well before buying a new car.My suggestion will be Honda,Toyota,Lexus,Ford,Mercedes Benz,BMW,Mini and athers,but not proton and perodua

• Dylan Ch'ng on Apr 18, 2016 at 12:52 am

Well, according to Proton website, this model is no longer available.