Proton Saga Executive enhanced – new trim, Bluetooth

Proton-Saga-Executive

Proton has officially announced an enhanced Proton Saga Executive, along with the Persona Executive we showed you earlier today. The Saga Executive sits between the base Saga SV and the range-topping Saga 1.6 SE variants.

The list of enhancements include “special edition monotone body kits” (the SE’s bodykit is in contrasting grey); satin black trim for the centre panel, air-con vents and inner door handle; as well as “metallic warm grey” garnish for the front fog lamps. Also included are “smokey-coloured” rear lights and leather seats. The audio player now has Bluetooth functions.

saga-prices

The new Saga Exec and Persona Exec are now open for booking nationwide, although display units for Sabah and Sarawak will only be available from July 17. Six colours are available, and they are Tranquility Black, Fire Red, Genetic Silver, Blue Rock, Solid White and Elegant Brown.

Priced at RM41,924 for the manual and RM44,524 for the CVT, the 1.3 litre, 94 hp/120 Nm Saga Executive comes with a three-year or 60,000 km warranty. Proton is also throwing in three years of free service.

Proton Saga SV, launched in June 2013

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• malaysian00 on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Heh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:34 pm

like it or not…saga is the cheapest b-segment car in ASEAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 33
      • Indonesia
        Datsun Go+ MPV RM24k starting price.
        Honda Mobilio MPV RM44k starting price.
        Toyota Etios RM38k starting price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
        • kzm (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:39 am

out of that which has power windows, radio, speaker, aircond, 2 airbags, central lock, n reverse sensor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
          • @kzm

Bear in mind that those 3 cars (Datsun, Mobilio and Etios) are foreign cars in Indonesia. Of course it will lack the features at such low prices.

Proton Saga is born in Malaysia. Yet it has such high price in its own home ground. The price in the UK for a Proton is lower than that in Malaysia?

How is that even possible?

• Dato Jack. on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:44 pm

dude.. if u dont hv chance to travel and witness the truth by your self, there’s other way to get the real fact… try to visit their people website and read how hard is life over there..

MYR30k is equal IDR 100,000,000 ( rough figure)…

for fresh grad they earn is around IDR 2,000,000 per month.. some states higher by IDR 500,000..

u know how much cost you for a basic lunch (rice, fish, vege, ice tea) easily IDR20,000.. same goes for dinner.. IDR 40,000 x 30days = IDR 1,200,000… which is more than 60% of their salary..

so if you think IDR 100,000,000 (MYR30K) is small money for them.. than think twice..

own car for Indonesian is consider luxury item not a needed item..

Malaysian?

think twice dude..

• Indonesia
        Datsun Go+ MPV RM24k starting price.
        Honda Mobilio MPV RM44k starting price.
        Toyota Etios RM38k starting price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Same l0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:12 am

Didn’t you hear that “Good Thing Doesn’t Come Cheap”?

So what happened if it is dirt cheap, say the cheapest b segment in ASEAN?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Protong Coffin on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:36 am

The cheapest coffin in ASEAN !!! You got that spot on !

Protong are coffin makers ..30 years & sill building innovative coffins !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 48
        • kamacako on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:50 pm

hmmm..pity u…still cant compare btw car & coffin…go and readlah pls..

• And also the cheapest in quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
      • Luckily Toyota not offering Vios 1.3Litre version for ASEAN market…kalau tidak bungkus lah Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
        • Gabriel Marquez on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:28 am

I dont like Vios.. ugly car that.. in my eyes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:20 pm

In some eyes, Megan Fox is ugly too.

Everyone has the right the choose.

But don’t force people to buy by lift up other cars’ price with so called “perlindungan”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • kzm (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:45 am

vios twin yaris has 1.2L engine price from Baht 469k(rm47K)

• bujingyun on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:06 pm

ok..this one we can thumbs up!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 17
    • Same l0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:23 am

The cronies new S 400L or Lambo are depending on you. Please show your “patriotism” now with this great chance.

For a few to live rich all Malaysian have to die poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
      • bujingyun on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:03 am

at least i showed my patriotism towards my country where i live in..not like you,show the ‘patriotism’ towards a brand..where the heck is your sense of humanity

• Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Your countrymen don’t get any benefit from your so called “patriotism”. Proton still making junks, high tax still there, AP still there.

Proton owners spend a lot extra on repair & maintenance. Non Proton owners spend a lot extra getting a foreign cars.

You just help to con more financially restricted Malaysian with your RV close-to-nothing junk.

My humanity is… we should have better future. Cars get cheaper, better, more environmental friendly, problem free and EVERYONE HAPPY!

• bujingyun on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:33 pm

your purpose by buying the toyota brand just for the RV??such a pity man..be a loyal dog to the brand..if we have a lot of people like you,our country will not move on in term of economy..bashing,bashing and bashing..such a low IQ mentality u had..why we dont follow korean??they support their kia and hyundai..why dont we do the same thing??

• Wow, deal of the century!

Apa tunggu lagi macai macai, go buy it! Tak beli nanti Proton marah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
      • Apo yg Mampu on Jan 24, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Xpew,yg mampu 2,Boie r yg Lbh Bagus,yg xbrkmmpuan nih.. FLX un da O.K kowt.. laie un Product Negara sndr,Semoga Proton Mampu Bersaing dgn Rekaan Luar Negara t..

• Boogeymark on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:44 pm

For this kind of spec especially made & assembled in Malaysia, the most justifiable price for it would be RM20k max. How it could fetch up to RM40k+ is really beyond me…. Proton please, haiz

• syntium5000 on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:12 pm

the Myvi SE 1.3 competitor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
  • Obviously (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Hmh. This was unexpected too. The earth must be shaking down over at Proton headquarters with TDM’s weight. Honestly this looks much better (more uniformed) than the 1.6 SE’s two-tone body kit. They’re asking for an 8k premium over the SV spec for only the body kit, alloy rims and a bluetooth radio? Can’t say that’s such a good deal. Still no ESP and 6 airbags. At least it has ABS+EBD.

I wonder if they’ll upgrade the kit list for the 1.6 SE next.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Matchy on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:22 pm

+leather seat

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 6:47 am

Ah yes, thank you. I was wondering what else I missed. Seems to render the 1.6 SE’s case irrelevant unless you want a bigger engine, doesn’t it?

• Tong Kosong on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:04 pm

CRITICAL THINKING??

Reason why I choose MYVI vs Persona..

MYVI is ROOMY..PERSONA/GEN 2- DOOR TRIM & DASHBOARD is too THICK made PERSONA interior is SEMPIT Macam Adenan Sempit..

No need phucking ARROGANT SKETCHER –DESIGINER like this..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9dajUycyus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYomZ6kjMzE

PROTON Please replace him..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 62
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 6:49 am

Yah, critical thinking. Don’t know why you brought your comment from the Persona page here but that’s critical thinking for you. You weighed your need for space against what is lacking in the Persona and made your choice on the MyVi. Good for you~

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:35 am

Hey empty bin! How bout the rear trunk?? Did compare Myvi vs Persona? How much score Myvi got for Aseancap? PROTON don’t need you to replace him. But Malaysia should change you as rakyat. U no loyal no need to be Malaysian anymore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • Dajjal on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:37 am

Lu cakap bagus sikit.

Malaysia itu bapak awak punya kah?

Hope you die in accident 18-wheel trailer kena lenyek macam sosej.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
          • Tong Savvy on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Jagoh2 protong boleh Selamat Bawak SAVVY..Gorilla baling dari atas bangunan ..Kereta tak Pecah..Bangunan hancor..

Finally Myvi VS Savvy, Savvy is the REAL LOOSER..DESINGN SUCK!!!!

Accept your mistake PROTON & learn & don’t be STUPID ARROGANT bay saying
            Beli MYVi pengkhianat negara, beli. The truth Savvy merugikan diri sendiri..(PROTON MENGKHIANAT PENGGUNA). Proton people oso condemn Savvy & use Myvi.

“Oh terlupa bawang tertinggal di Singapore (5 minit bole sampai)”-Iklan di Radio ERA 2005- WTF stupid fact!!

• Calvin Lee on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:55 am

Only designer can criticize designer. they know how to design car from sketch, ideas, concept and everything on it..

Dear Azlan Othman, you have my hats off.

• Wahhh… So groundbreaking!!!

• Shamelorrrr on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:54 pm

The difference because timing belt. Use your intelligence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • 3yrs back i bought the Saga BLM SE. Not later than 6 months then Saga FL, then another 6 months Saga FLX & later on Saga FLX SE 1.6L. Why Proton can launch the so call facelift version in such a short terms? Can’t plan well before launch any model?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
    • Waklu on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Welcome to proton produck. Shitty bang3x.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Same l0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:39 am

Relax, calm down.

They would not had been called Proton if they plan well and do thing right.

Before you get your new car, it has already been “UV” tested under the sun for months at warehouse.

After you get your car, you realised you pay much more but get less on proton’s own sv, facelift, premium, carnival sales.

Meanwhile you need to spend extra time and money dealing with your Proton “sukahati” break down.

When you really fed up with your Proton, you found up it worth close-to-nothing in second hand market.

Then you die die stick with new Proton, suffer the cycle again, or get a foreign cars if lucky enough.

Now you understand why Perodua is selling so well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • soon or later they will come out Proton Saga R3…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • At least now they are doing what others had done… Like Perodua Myvi Ezi developed into Myvi SE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • no eyes see

• Absolute Rider on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Again sorry, you are spending too much time, money and man power and other variants. Where is your Suprima S manual?

Where is your facelift Preve and Suprima S? Please Proton , please redesign your Preve and Suprima S interior with good ICE + Navigation system. Suprima S exterior too. Head lamps is time to get a new design. Xenon please. and many others…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • ..and where is your facelift Exora…?.YOU ARE TOO SLOW PROTON…I THINK FROM HEAD TO TOE YOU NEED TO REPLACE ALL YOUR PERFORMANCE ZERO STAFF…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • Same l0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:44 am

Poor sale, no facelift.

Have you ever seen facelift for Proton juara, tiara?

They can’t even clear the stock. Please help and show your “patriotism”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:44 am

This is the problem when Malaysia hav rakyat like Absolute Rider. He keep asking bout this and there but I bet he did not even own a PROTON cars. He didnt even aware that every design require investment cost and amortization which require time for compensation. I wonder if he know that Preve and Suprima design as C-segment to benchmark Civic and Golf which extremely expensive. If PROTON design all the above like you request, would you buy the car? I dont think so because you only HOW TO BASH PEOPLE’S WORK and so ungrateful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
      • fast5 on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:25 am

Nonsense!! What u mean is that proton force RAKYAT no choice but to choose proton…
        IF U DARE FIGHT FAIR AND SQUARE AH BENG!!! You bola kecut designer!!!

• Absolute Rider on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:31 am

This is the problem when people like you, like to wasting money and time plus wasting the man power for unnecessary purposes.

Am I asking too much? No, I want Proton to improve before it’s too late. You lose your bet. Before I old enough to get my driving license, my dad owned first gen saga. I manage to drive few years, then Iswara and own waja too. DON’T BET!!! Only like to talk bet! Wasting money and wasting time. That’s the problem of people like you.

• Same L0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:59 am

As usual, Proton supporters have the EGO problem.

They often link “buy Proton” = “patriotism”. No Proton? No loyalty to Malaysia!

Then I have one question: How come the Proton cronies all drive Mercedes, Lambo, Lexus, BMW, Porsche?

When they link the so called “national pride” to Proton, things become complicated. Malaysians are forced to buy junk. People paying ridiculously extra money for non proton because of the magical thing called “perlindungan”.

People buy Proton because it is CHEAP, not because it is good. So wake up!

I am not proud of Malaysian making their own car, instead I am shameful to see generations of Malaysians contribute to Proton and it still come out with junks.

Who are not Proton victim? You tell me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Myvi: 3 years/100,000km
    Saga: 3 years/60,000km
    Persona: 2 years/50,000km.

Nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
    • Hurm, the new myvi only provide warranty for 3 years/60,000km. Are u sure your number is correct?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:49 am

Hahahahaha..MUYA just know to BASH PROTON but now give wrong data..Malu laaa…Where r u hiding MUYA? MUYA?? Come here join the blog..MUYAHAHAHAHA..

• protonsucks on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:57 pm

executive ??? dont simply abuse executive la, i even saw a janitor driving a honda city today. totally dont suit the name executive at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 42
    • Executive janitor on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:41 pm

What’s wrong if a janitor can afford to drive a honda, or even a bmw for that matter? Maybe he inherited family heirloom or struck the jackpot. I don’t see the connection to the use of the ‘Executive’ moniker.

You want to know what’s abuse and misleading? Sticking ‘Extreme’ and ‘Advanced’ to an essentially bread-and-butter models and charging outrageous prices for them. The sad (or good, depending on who you ask) thing is, the drivers of those extreme and advanced vehicles think their cars really deserves those badges.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • hemos on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:52 pm

So what it’s just variant. If TRD got turbo kah? Or only ah beng bodykit?

Haih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Honda City…Proton Saga…What’s the difference? They’re both entry level B-Segment sedans.

A janitor can be an executive as well.

• Same l0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:19 am

Luckily I didn’t get the Perdana executive.

The problem with Proton’s executive is your wallet often get executed.

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:00 am

Hehe..this guy dont even mentioned honda city what year. Halo brother, honda city type Z ka? EFI 1997 ka? U r so pathetic? What’s wrong if Saga use the term Executive for B-segment as it along with B-segment new City, new Vios, Sonic, Almera. I wonder if this guy know that Saga got 3 star NCAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • sham-xturbo on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:32 am

Uuii….my family got both 2013 saga flx and 1999 (I think) city type Z.
        Honestly, the city type z still a better car to drive/daily runabout use.
        Albeit it has aged (not very gracefully too)

• Captain Meow on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:34 am

Wow… that is presumptuous isnt it? so u see people’s self worth by their car? if god had wanted it.. you could be a janitor

• mizan on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:04 pm

IMHO, the design of Proton Saga BLM is more beautiful than FL and FLX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • zzzzzzzzzzzz on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Here comes another piece of trash. By adding some simple tweaks to the Saga and called it ‘enhanced’. It looks the same to me. That is one ugly car right there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 46
    • Looks the same? Maybe because it’s an enhanced Saga, not a totally redesigned one.
      You have every rights to say it’s ugly because hey, freedom of speech right? But wouldn’t it be better if you can share with everyone here which B-segment cars that you think looks good.

• better accessories, but topup 8k will not be a good attraction..

• shawal on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Worse fuel consumption than a toyota vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Myvi killer. Well done proton, luckily the mathatir becomes the chairman. It will be the best seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
  • Matchy on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Proton must be very obsessed with this smokey thing… every time they got facelift, the number 1 changes is the “smokey” lights! >_>

• nabill (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Makes sence since these a big gap between da 1.6se and da 1.3sv….does this mean that the 1.3 cvt executive is no more? It did come with and too

• apaapasajalah on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:34 pm

i think ultimately mindset decides where our national automotive industry heads to

• Pls, why there is always no basic model in terms of trims but with ABS. I dont want your crappy tint that bubbles and those overpriced cable jumper and first aid kit.

• Mozilla Chrome on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Just for bodykit, “smokey-coloured” rear lights and audio player with Bluetooth functions we need to fork out almost 10k? So this is Dr M plan of not producing cheap car. Thanks for your “valuable” vision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Low Budget on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Going the P2 way! Just apply some cosmetic changes and then hoping an ugly duckling to become beatiful swan.
    They should trim down the production rather than adding more triming to the car.

• Albert Lee on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:10 pm

I sent my Saga SV for service lately.Mechanic said he could not do anything about the high fuel consumption and noisy campro engine.Take it and anda balik lah attitude.
    Instead of improving the engine and doing more soundproofing,Protong is doing cosmetic surgery again.
    I think they have nothing much to launch now except variants,R3,design competitions for school dropoutsetc.
    Like our national airline MAS,Protong is entering the “Age of Extinction” very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • Anti-Toyota on Jul 07, 2014 at 9:12 pm

I am an executive and i drive Altis 1.8 G Dual Cvvt. Some people use the word excutive so likely. Perhaps, Executive just means nothing nowadays with the vision of so-called high income nation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Piece of Junk to celebrate the return of crap as CEO.Legit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • I realized when many post negative remarks about Proton, they get a lot of thumbs down. I bet more than half of those giving thumbs down don’t even own, much less drive, a Proton.

Back to Saga. I drive a 6 year old BLM. And this piece of junk has class-leading rate of malfunction of plastic parts. I had to replace all 4 door handles, glove compartment handle and the stupid trim above the license plate. If you see enough Sagas you will know I’m not making these up. It’s inconvenient and annoying. The worse part is that twice the engine died in the middle of driving. It just died. And until today Proton technicians cannot give me a straight root cause to the problem.

I swear never to buy another Proton in my life. To those who really want to buy a Proton, I say good luck to you. You will need a lot of luck owning one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 27
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:06 am

Normally for people like MZ already drive 6 years old car mostly already involved in a lot of accident or modified the car then got problem blame PROTON. Where do you service your car? He must be sending to cheap ah pek workshop. Cost cutting ka bro? You must use genuine parts to get good performance and service..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • And where did you come to that conclusion? From your flawed logic or low intellectual capacity? Maybe from both.

You are just making up “theories” as you go along to paint a fake bad image of Proton owners who say honest, negative things about the company.

Pitiful.

• Fredo on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:33 am

tipu deiiiii….. i for one drive protong maaaa… stil i thumb u down maaa…..ahahhaaaa.

dude, i told u many time to get rid of it lah…wasting ur time ler….this is not for u…at least not anymore….u deserves better dude!

• Low Budget on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:34 am

Your problems with Proton are not unusual at all.
      In fact, it will be extremely unusual if Proton owners do not need to replace plastic trimmings and parts within the first two years of taken delivery.
      Wait-lah for next year, TDM promised they will come out with a World Class Quality Proton.

• Captain Meow on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:41 am

mine is alright though… maybe luck.. who knows..

• sham-xturbo on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:43 am

I think most ppl dont “want” to buy a proton.
      But consider the price entry point for wat u get (on paper at least), buying proton actually makes.
      So obviously the “perlindungan patriotic” is working well. Unfortunately, its those with tough lives that are affected the most.

I myself cannot understand ppls mentality “must buy brand new car, proton pun proton ajela” when there are so many quality used cars out there with the same price point. The argument of buying a new car means no maintenance or issues doesnt hold much water these days anymore especially proton n maybe perodua.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:05 pm

When Dr. M take over Proton = Barang Naik (BN)

Dr.M boleh. Proton boleh, Malaysia boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • DonMe on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Hmmmm…. Older car owners are always left out on these 3 years free service thingy.

• dashboard looks plain like Audi A3 no?

• Run out of idea on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Proton must have really run out of idea to come out with this bull s**t to boost the sales…

• Maseratits on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:24 pm

PROTON, UNVEIL YOUR ALL NEW GSC PLEASE! I CANT WAIT ANYMORE

• iluvproton on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Amat memalukan. Lebih baik tutup kedai sajelah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:18 am

PROTON is our national pride..Toyota/Honda and Hyundai/Kia also got problem in their early involvement in automotive but they have protected govt and loyal citizen. Malaysia should tutup you and u should be so shameful..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • nandakumar on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:16 am

after 30 years still doing rubbish cars and you want me to be proud of that? National pride? My national pride is having incompetent leaders who can hardly speak proper English but have their kids in one of the finest schools in UK.
        RAKYAT is suppressed with crappie cars which they enjoy with luxury of life.to all who love and support proton & Mahathir…a total disaster in automotive industry.

• Gargantia on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:00 pm

National pride of robbing yr hard earn money and pay more for cronies.
        Brain waste Ah BENG… Same like protong, a 30 years old child that never grow up!!!

• Same L0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:48 pm

It is typical Proton lifestyle I had mention soooooo many times: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

You proud of Proton? go ask people around you.

How can Malaysian be proud of a brand they want to avoid (willing to pay much on execise duty, import tax etc)?

• zzzzzzzzzzzz on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Who the hell is this? What national pride? I think the world should just destroy you forever and after. Please look clearly, after 30 years, what does Proton achieve? What have they done that make Malaysians proud?

• pondan on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:39 pm

hahahaha…

bila mamak jadi chairman… macam macam menu kedai mamak ada.

ada model biasa,
    ada model double,
    ada model double special,
    ada model double special tambah cheese,
    ada model double special tambah cheese dan telur,

apa apa pun ada… tapi , at least, burger yang jual dekat 7-11 taste nyer best..

from proton, sentiasa buat bunyi saje. plan holiday pun di proton service center.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:14 am

Pondan, this mamak that you talking about is the Malaysia saviour during our national economy crisis. Be grateful with what we have today. PROTON is now launching a new variant what the matter with you talking bout mamak..next time if you want to get on time service, plan it wisely don’t last minute call..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • pondan on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:57 am

that’s what you see. what you don’t see is how much the country take on as debt just to make sure that it goes the way he wanted.

think big, look further and see the big picture.

• pondan on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:25 pm

btw, i plan my service well but need to take leave to keep on fixing broken things is unnecessary and it’s a waste of time. Unless, you are very happy to spend your annual leave in proton service center

• Captain Meow on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:46 am

That’s racist isnt it?

• pondan on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Nope. it’s not racist. In fact, mamak is one of the best people that have offered the unique culture that we have all cherish and fond memories since colleague days.

but not a specific mamak that screwed malaysian upside down and get into gigantic debt by cronyism with specific interest within the connected friends and families.

those connected friends and families are from all races and there’s nothing discriminating about it. I am for one to stand for right against wrong and you can call me racist or discriminating against “wrong doing”.

• lim ah bao on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:20 pm

That’s racism. Don’t simply point out a person race. Its more obvious when u’re angry and showing dissatisfaction towards that person. It clearly shows that u are a racist.

• pondan on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:05 pm

if what i meant is racist then i would apologize for that.

however, i would point to this specific malaysian that screwed the malaysia economy. My stand on injustice to malaysian still stays

• Denaihati on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:53 pm

extra on safety feature, equipped with ABS with EBD, Seatbelts with pre-tensioner, Passenger airbag with seatbelt pretensioner, also with 185 / 60R14 – Alloy wheel, and with many others accessory it should be worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Samad Jain on Jul 07, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Proton made the word “Executive” cheap.
    Even “Limited Edition” is nothing special these day from Proton.

Nice try proton, but sorry. Consumers arent that stupid getting conned by Proton anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • orangminyakenjin on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:34 am

Soo…are you saying those who buy Proton cars are stupid..cammonla..

• jacksonljs on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:40 pm

How’s about the word “Elite Exclusive Edition” on a junk car with door thickness that are more or less equal to my 1 middle finger thickness (even my middle finger can broke the door easily with little force required)

• What is so executive about it? Proton just make the word “executive” sounds cheap

• ADUIH on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:53 am

last time say profit margin ard rm500 per car, now can give free service?? sell lower than cost price kah… speechless

• Where is the side-air bags, ESC and Traction Control that may be included in this update? I would rather pay extra for passive safety equipments rather than Bluetooth or leather trim in my opinion.

• Forgot to add, Proton in Australia is throwing back 3 years unlimited kilometers warranty and 3 year road-side assistance for all S16 (Saga in Malaysia) and comes with standard Passenger Side Air-bag, Traction Control and Electronic Stability Control (ESC) for all S16 models sold in Australia. Just saying….

http://www.proton.com.au/index.php/our-cars/s16-flx/specs-features/

• AkuKenal on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:40 am

BODOH punye DRB 10x enhanced model eksekutif konon tp tgk lah interior.. mcm JAMBAN! dashboard dull cheap plastic mcm tu ke eksekutif?? door trim?? seat??? CILAKAK DRB.. brand lain buat facelift tukar interior/exterior bg fresh sket, price tag naik pun ok.. penyamun pun DRB!!

• nobrand on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:47 am

First, recycle Tun Dr. Mahathir and now recycle car. Good luck proton.

• hate protong on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:58 am

Price like sh*t..quality like sh*t..they don hv respect to hard earning ppl

• Woi Proton, don’t keep fixing the same car over and over again. Do something a bit more creative…bring out new models! Show what you can do. By the time you waste time fixing the same model again and again, other auto makers are miles ahead and leaves you far behind and very very difficult to catch up!

• krizc on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:31 am

encik… car designer memang dah design baikkkk punye.. tapi kilang takbole produce.. konon design cannot comply lah, costly lah, susah mau bikin lah, mau kasi kilang kroni lah…. so how??
      back to square one haha..

• krizc on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:37 am

actually our local producer of parts (mostly spare parts) cannot comply the design produce by proton design team. Cronies, politics, low machine tech and wanna ‘tamak’-eat as many as you can is the root cause. Tq.

• Absolute Rider on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:39 am

I think Proton designers and all related personnel really have to learn from Hyundai and Kia as their recent models really changed a lot compared to previous generations, of course the current Hyundai and Kia models not actually designed by Korean.
    Designs, features, technologies and safety feature really a big jump for Hyundai and Kia. Improvements can be found in every models and generations. About safety, Proton shouldn’t stick to their current offer. Improvements mean more safety equipment to be offered and more Hot Press Foaming (HPF) steel has to be used. Some car manufacturers already increase HPF more than 50% in the car structure to make the car lighter but stronger. Proton Preve and Suprima S only have 12 areas using HPF and yet the cars are getting heavier.
    After the launched of Suprima S, I really disappointed with Proton as they took too long time to come out half-baked Suprima S as most of the parts are from Preve. Those so called bad quality interior from Preve still carried into Suprima S although Proton chairman insists Suprima S as a totally brand new model for the new hatchback C segment. Designers designed something which is not functional such as rear bumper with no functional diffuser and rear light guide which is so thin, makes it just a feature than functionality. Technical side choosing bad product such as 7” screen ICE with navigation which comes with poor display quality, very old Android OS and with some bugs. The sound systems with 4 speakers and 2 twitter not as good as company like Clarion can offer or at least get higher end products. Smart Info Display (SID) still using red backlit lights really can be very ignorant as it can be confused as warning lights and the warning lights can sometimes to be ignored by drives as it thought it is just a normal lights. All this have to be changed soon! No more carry it to facelift Preve and Suprima S. Does Proton know about blue or black backlit colour? The center console light colour for ESP, front passenger airbag etc. too. Proton can use green if it is on, yellow or red if it is off mode!
    Interior quality and fit and finish are the biggest problem in Proton cars even until today. For example, the gap between the A pillar panel and the top part of dashboard. Gaps between front side door and dashboard and there is no smooth connections between each panel such as silver part of the side door not in line with the one on the dashboard. There is no silver part for rear door panel. The fit and finish center console also pretty bad and the feel of the button when being press. The gear shift just like not fix properly.
    Proton, please learn from Japanese including Korean’s Hyundai and Kia, at least.

• Absolute Rider on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:41 am

This is something I can think off:

Global Standard: Proton says global. Push Start / Stop button and keyless entry. The one can be found in Preve and Suprima S are not standard. The front parking sensors for Suprima S also have to be manually operated as other manufacturers offer cars which are automatically operated at certain speed. Everything has to be more convenient to driver not give more operations to the driver. If the driver want to park or out from the tide parallel parking lot, then the driver have to press on and off the front parking sensor for few times? Come on! Sorry to say. Why make it so different?
    Engine Development: Well, it needs a huge amount of money, man power and time. However, Proton is too slow on this. Still remember about 10 years ago when Proton launched Campro and fit it in Gen2, they talked about the flexibilities of Campro which can be easily manufacture to bigger engines’ capacity, valve deactivation and few others technologies but until today; none of this can be seen. When can we see introduction of aluminium built engines?
    R&D: Please don’t spend too much time and man power on unnecessary variants of each model. Do your R&D more on potential models for the market. Minimize platform, maximize models and segments. Including cutting down the weight of the car by using more Hot Press Foaming (HPF) steel on car structure makes it lighter but stronger. Some car manufacturers already use more than 50% HPF on their car structure, using more reinforce aluminium panels on some body parts even the suspensions systems and many others.
    CAD, CAM etc.: Stylists, designers and all related personnel have to be good and creative using such software so that each item, part and panel can be styled, designed as accurate as possible. This is very important during designing to produce tooling, stamping parts and mould. Accuracy plays very important role as it will affects the end products quality and finishes. Do Proton and the vendors ever care about this? If the first mould output not accurate or with defects, do they redesign or recreate the mould with more accurate one? Look at Preve and Suprima interior fit and finish. Gaps not consistent which can be found all over place including center console and gaps between the front door panel and the dashboard, those small silver trim on door and dashboard not inline and many others. There are no consistencies in between.
    Choosing & Using Good Quality & Right Materials: It will affect the final look and feel for the car itself. Using nice and quality chrome finishes in some interior parts, better soft touch plastics, good buttons feel when being pressed, fabrics, leathers, etc.
    Stamping Parts / Mould: Accuracy is very important. Create smooth and accurate parts for better quality, trim, fit & finish such as interior panels. Small and consistent gaps between each join and inline from panel to panel can be produced.
    Others: Smart Info Display (SID) still using red backlit light really can be confusing and unpleasant as it can be confused as warning lights and the warning lights can sometimes to be ignored by drivers as they thought it is just a normal light. All this have to be changed soon! No more carry it to facelift Preve and Suprima S (manual?). Does Proton know about blue or black backlit colour? The center console light colour for ESP, front passenger airbag etc. too. Proton can use green if it is on, yellow or red if it is off mode!
    Upgrading Facilities: Upgrading factory equipment for every sector / department from beginning until the finishes in car manufacturing has to be done when necessary. Most car manufacturers even have small and simple item to measure gaps between panels after the body panels being put together just to make sure it is consistent. Full test track on car in real life also have to be upgraded to meet higher standard for better driving dynamics.
    Lastly, think a little bit bigger and execute well. In Suprima S, you (Proton) think big. However the Blaupunkt 7” touch screen Android ICE navigation system really a poor performer. Poor display quality, slow and old OS with bugs, poor audio output from 4 speakers and 2 twitters.

• sambalbabi on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:56 am

sometimes i felt there are too many politician wannabe commenting here.

technically, the 1.6 litre model with manual tranny in this chassis….a potential pocket rocket?

• May be I have been a lucky Proton driver? 10 years driving a Proton Waja … Clock 267,000 km.. with a single breakdown… Every now and then, a single crank will fire the engine… 1 minute later ready to be revved up to 6000 rpm…. Till today only been dooing normal service.. oil change at every 10,000 km using semi synthetics oil… Engine still tip top.. no leak.. can put yr pisang goreng there with worrying of getting dirty… 8 times tyre changes… DIY all maintenance and service….. I would say… Overall very satisfactory… Ride and handling better than any normal japanese .. korean or continental cars….. And can still easily tapau any city, civic, vios, altis, camry, …. Etc .. down hill winding road of genting highland… Apa lagi ku mahu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Motorhead (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:55 am

No VSC? No 6 airbags? Coffins? Cheap milo tin?

Where those monkeys brag on safety issues?

• saya pakai saga blm 1st model 2008 sampai skg masih ok tak pnh ada major problem.tiap2 bulan dr kl blk kg di jhr.rasa berbaloi jgk la pkai kete ni.

• mmaker on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:55 am

Proton got that bluetooth idea after VW put an enhanced bluetooth connectivity in latest Passat :P

• Let’s give big applause to Proton!
    this is really great deal, spend small amout of money get so much luxury items.
    For sure Proton is better quality with reasonalble price in Malaysia market!
    i’m a Saga FLX driver, i dare to say Saga FLX has no issue like above some anti Proton say(they just bullshit!) If don’t own a Proton Car how can you just comment Proton quality? and price?
    the conclusion is who bullshit is the gang of anti-Proton, please stop to give bullshit comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • I have two Neo CPS. One Auto One Manual.

BOTH are POS. I bet your Saga will be POS too soon.

<2 years problem sana sini. Leaking from head gasket. Gbox jerking. Audio control not working. Plastic bit noisy. Gearbox bising. Enjin bising. FC kaw-kaw tinggi.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Saga must be your first & only car.. so you ve no idea.. & think your car is a wonder car..

Hahaha. ..

All know Saga or Neo FC.. next time ask la fren.. I know this long time ago.. FC 200-350 only.. full tank..get 400km is almost impossible.

I don’t ve to be that stupid to own a Proton. ..

Hahaha. . Never.

Done 600++km with Vios. . 500km with Myvi. (Smaller tank). Thx to jap milo tin.

• CeoDF on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:54 pm

If I am your boss I’d be so dissapointed to see you using office hours here.

Oh and you are so gullible with that FC, which is only 2.5L cars can do, very fuel thirsty but of course it’s not milo tin nor meant for unproductive lazy man like you.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Another monkey trying to tell me what to do.. productive stuff bla bla…

What if I tell you.. I AM THE BOSS?

Work harder macai.. at this stage I don’t ve to work shit out like you.

• phuwekkk on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Proton saga BLM FC 250-350km? fuyooo.. you must be a very expert driver because for you to got that kind of FC surely need to pedal to the metal all the time. or it is just because you are as fat as a p*g. I used to owned a BLM first generation back in 2008-2013 and that car served me well. From Kuala Ketil to Pengkalan Chepa and back only cost me 60 ringgit. Go google yourself what the distance i’ve travelled with it. I’m pretty sure it surpassed your 200-350 km range. stop make a fools out of urself kid.

• Low Budget on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Most Proton bashers are indeed owners of Proton cars before and suffered some unpleasant experience including me, I have owned 3 Proton cars simultaneously and all 3 cars suffered poorly built ‘sickness’. I have since ditched P1 and go for P2 and end up happier.
      Admittedly in the past few years, Proton is trying hard to improve their products and this has shown in the form of less problems now a days, but over all Proton is still mediocre at best.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Good for you low budget. . P2 Never give me headache. . Now enjoying my money. . Hobbies.. houses.. women..

Hahaha. .

• areos on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:43 am

I think its fair and good deal. I myself own Myvi SE – pick up is good, feel float on hiway, petrol consumption not so safe, handling is typical toyota which is not tat good compared to Proton. But wat i irk most is the rattling sound in the dashboard (like orchestra)..just after 3 months.

• keroes on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:59 pm

yeah, old myvi always like that. i bet new myvi quality has been improved a lot.

• frenzy on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:03 am

DOES ANYONE NOTICE THOSE RIMS – THEY LOOK PHOTOSHOPPED

• mmaker on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:18 am

Door handle mudah reput dan tercabut!

• zzzzzzzzzzzz on Jul 08, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Proton should really improve its design. If it keeps on using the same old design language, nothing good will happen.

• Improve??!!!! Dream on …this word has disappeared long time ago in previous millennium.

• Carlover on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:20 pm

What are doing Proton…How many variants you need to come out… Just focus develop nice better car and engine… Cant sell well in Malaysia already and now want to play play old model… Really still dreaming after so many years… I dont put hope already because there dont have hope from Proton anymore… Waiting rescue from Gov Malaysia only…

• unknown on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:51 pm

there are some acc & parts that proton forget to put on the persona,DVD with navigation,bluetooth hands-free,reverse camera,smoked rear light&even DRL(day running light)….kalau tmbah semua tu….tu bru kita panggil executive….not with this junk&old looking acc….very old schoolah!!!

• Tiger on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:43 pm

The oter day near the Muzium Negara road, me saw a motorcycle grazed a Potong Saga taxi fender front right side, and wtf, the whole front bumper DROPPED onto the road…it was really ridiculous too bad traffic moving cant snap a pic

• Editor Please upload the Saga FLX Executive Enhance photo, your picture is Saga FLX SV the interior and exterior is big difference from the real Saga FLX Executive Enhance, i went to Proton Showroom yesterday it is really impressive and value for money. 3 years warranty, 3 years free service(including parts and labour), CVT 6 Speeds,ABS + EBD, 2 AirBags, Full bodykit, leather site, 185/60/14″ sports Rims, Audio system support bluetooth, Ipod and steering remote control only cost RM44xxx

• jenny fur on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:42 am

One question, the super long gear level designed for women driver? looks yummy…