Proton Design Competition 2014 – a design guide

More updates on the Proton Design Competition 2014 – the automaker has come up with a set of pointers for contestants based on the guiding principles that the judging panel will be looking out for. The intention is of course to help contestants make their submissions notable.

UPDATE: The Proton Design Competition 2014 closing date has been extended by a week, from August 11 to August 18.

1. Originality
This can be closely linked to creativity. We would like to see designs with originality, standing out from the rest of the submissions. The designs you produce should be new and fresh but at the same time creative, as it is the ultimate criteria in the development of products. Most importantly, they must be able to establish Proton’s lasting image and able to sway a buying decision in Proton’s favour.

2. Innovation
In this context, it focuses on the ability to show insights into good design, and to innovate from both existing concepts and ideas or to come up with completely new thoughts. This can be related to any element of a vehicle, from powertrain to exterior and interior design.

For this competition, we are looking at fresh ideas that can capture the imagination. These should put things in a different perspective and deliver out-of-the-box solutions that are of the benefit to users.

3. Aesthetics
In the context of this competition, it refers to the elements of proportion, surface, stance and detail. Car design relies upon the perfection of those four elements to fulfil the harmony that is not only beautiful, but also engaging, to the consumer.

Therefore for this competition we are looking for an aesthetically pleasing design that will attract people to want, own and talk about. It shouldn’t just be about form and function, but also generate a positive emotional connection.

4. Presentation
Presenting an idea is just as, if not more, important than the idea itself. As such, please make sure that the designs you submit follow the criteria that we have stated in the rules and regulations. As much as possible, ensure that the overall view is clear, clean and eye catching using any artistic medium. Most importantly, impress us with the creativity in your design.

The Proton Design Competition 2014 is a challenge to budding designers to come up with a vision of a Proton City Car for 2020. The contest is divided into two categories – Category 1, for individuals within the ages of 13-17 and Category 2, for individuals within the ages of 18-25. Group entries are not allowed, and only Malaysians with a valid Malaysian identity card can take part.

All participants are required to submit an exterior outlook of their designs on an A3-sized paper, inclusive of 3/4 front view, side view and rear view perspectives. The renderings can be made in any colour. Category 2 participants, remember you are also required to design the interior outlook of the car.

Our man Jonathan Lee had a go at it, and the rendering above is his Proton City Car for 2020. Think you can do better? Enter now and stand a chance to win prizes worth a total of RM58,000 including cash rewards, MacBooks, an internship at Proton’s R&D Creative Design Centre and even getting your design immortalised as a quarter-scale model displayed at the Proton Gallery.

Visit Proton’s Facebook page for contest details, terms and conditions. Be quick about it – submissions close August 11, 2014!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rifle on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:16 am

I’ll try my best.. ^_<

• Same L0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Here got design competition. Back there got “facelift” on 10 years old model Persona (Gen 2 to be precise).

So contradict, so sarcastic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
      • meaningless on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:10 pm

your post is meaningless, criticize for the sake of criticizing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0r on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:57 am

RM58k wasted for nothing and you think meaningless?

If teen design is acceptable, the Proton designers are either brain dead or simply makan gaji kosong.

If teen design is not acceptable, don’t bother waste money.

RM58k better spent as scholarship for excellent automobile student in university.

Proton doesn’t need good outlook, it need good engine and gearbox.

• Samurai G on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:25 am

Aiyaa..U have no idea other than complaining for anything Same Lor. How ‘short’ your mentality. Proton want to search young designer. Fresh idea..Don’t say u don’t want your son get internship at Proton’s R&D Creative Design Centre? I think u are the one whose sending for him la…

• Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:56 am

You don’t attract young designer like that, it is like searching future Messi in KLCC car park.

Proton R&D Creative Design Centre? Pui… See what junks they have created? 10 years old Gen 2 model still on sales, company still beg for “perlindungan”, are the R&D actually working? My milo tin bought from Giant has less sounds than their cars.

I will feel ashamed even if my son get HOD there.

Lastly, good car is good car, junk car is junk car. Sales figures tell. No need long or short mentality, everything on fact.

You wanna see short mentality? Those “patriotism so buy Proton” are the classic one!

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Hey Same Lor..U like to complaint and condemn PROTON rite? It is a chance for you to join and show your B@||$. Prove it you not a PONDAN!! Huhu

• Same L0r on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:52 am

Pondan or not, it is none of your business. You are no one for me like i will give a shit on you.

But from your comment, it show that Proton is a pondan car for a typical pondan people like you.

You know what pondan like to do the most? They like to look into the mirror and get amazed themselves how pretty they are.

Isn’t this similar to Proton/your lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

Go on continue syok yourself, go on…

• bisakeris (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:37 pm

meaningless comment from Same L0r. LOL.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:45 am

nice design Jonathan Lee..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Eeeee, is that the new Proton Savvy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • Joe Radzif on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Best of Luck to the participants

• Ho lEE sheet…That’s an ugly one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • aiyo, Jonathan just trying to be humble and not to show too much of the design (to sway designers’ mind). Don’t take the design too seriously!

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:42 pm

U want me to read the ad for you ka ED? Or you dunno how to read? That pic is just an ad not the prize winner design, dumbhead la ED..

• Samad Jain on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:13 pm

plenty of better design in the internet. All free and looks better than proton. Just Google for car design in the internet until vomit…

• Simon on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:00 pm

There are many talented designers over 25 years of age and are interested to participate. Fresh ideas not necessary come from younger designers. They should give more chance to more Malaysian designers. Just saying.

• Dont waste ppl time la after what you have dont to name the mpv contest.
    Also what happened to the italdesign work? Bukannya pakai pun. Membazir adalah.