Puspakom offering free vehicle inspection for Raya

puspakom-cermin-gelap

In conjunction with the upcoming Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations, Puspakom is offering free voluntary vehicle inspections nationwide for private vehicles from July 9-26.

The free inspection includes Identification Check, Emission Test, Side-Slip Test, Above & Undercarriage Check, Brake Test, Suspension Test and Tinted Glass Test. You are advised to make an appointment before your visit. Operation hours are as follows:

puspakom-schedule

“Nothing is more important than arriving safely at your destination with your loved ones, especially during this Hari Raya celebration. Vehicle inspection helps to ensure vehicle safety and roadworthiness,” said Mohammed Shukor Ismail, Puspakom’s CEO.

For further enquiries or info about the free voluntary vehicle inspection programme, call Puspakom’s toll free line at 1-800-88-6927 or visit www.puspakom.com.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• morocanz on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • After raya kasi free also lah…Kroni company sudah lama kaya raya, bikin charity sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • Puspakom Kotor Kotor Kotor on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:14 pm

The best gift Puspakom can give this Raya is to clean up their organisation. It is corrupted to the core and is so so so so dirty.

Now, anybody wants to buy or sell a car have to go through an agent who charges us from RM500 to RM1000 for his part. We have no choice because there is no way any of us can go to Puspakom to do anything there. Everything is money money money. They make is so difficult to do anything there uless you are willing to give duit kopi.

So this Raya, I hope the Minister reading this can either abolish Puspakom or just clean up their act. Already people selling cars have to pay all sorts of fees to JPJ and all that, now, we must lose out another RM500 to RM1000 “agents” fees. This is getting to much.

It is so risky giving one person the business of running puspakom as it is risky giving one person complete control of beras in Malaysia. Beras is a staple food for people, it cannot be controlled by one individual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
        • Blue Eye Boy on Jul 08, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Do you know PUSPAKOM inspections including transfer of ownership fees range is from RM50-90? Obviously you haven’t go to PUSPAKOM for inspection. All you know is to blame people. They even have this Premier Services where mobile vans and trailers come to your place for inspection at additional service charge.

PUSPAKOM now is not PUSPAKOM 20 years back. They have this specific KPIs to comply with and are really stringent.

What’s your basis “corrupted to the core”? Why don’t report to the authorities i.e. SPRM and JPJ if you have evidence and experienced it.

On the monopoly, PUSPAKOM was last time in year 1994 privatised under JPJ, and are subjected to submit to Government’s many stringent requirements other the concession. I somewhat agree on your comment, and have no further comment on that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
          • Albert Lee on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:55 pm

MR Blue Eye Boy,I think u must be a horrible crony.
            Corruption is real.Puspakom Kotor Kotor is not telling fairy tales,to make people syiok sendiri.
            A taxi driver friend commented that if you want your taxi to lulus cepat,duit kopi is rm80.If not,those guys will produce a long list of defects,u tak lulus and then return for another inspection.
            Are these fairy tales?Are u living in the “Age of Extinction”?Remember,few months ago,the touts are “controlling “inspection at Puspakom until reporters have to go undercover to expose those idiots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
          • imnotsuperman on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:18 pm

seems like you are the puspakom staff. not buying your comment here. Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • Yong ZH on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:57 am

So so so obvious this is a Puspakom employee. Worried that his money might stop if authorities come down hard on them.

Ask anyone is Malaysia lah, everyone agree on one thing, Puspakom is another word for Rasuah. If you want to say rasuah one day, just say Puspakom.

For eg, “Jangan ambil Puspakom. berbuat demikian adalah salah”

or

“Orang itu bagi Puspakom kepada saya, tetapi saya menolaknya”

or

“Mengambil Puspakom adalah haram, pulangkan Puspakom sekiranya anda mengambilnya”

You can use and interchange the words because Puspakom and Rasuah has the same meaning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
          • Tze Tzang 88 on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:31 am

Albert Lim, I am not defending nor condemning PUSPAKOM. This is a good thing they do, but I see most of comments here centred at condemning PUSPAKOM. The taxi driver you mentioned should be reporting the corrupt practice he experienced to the SPRM. For him to return the “duit kopi” favour to one of PUSPAKOM guys as alleged, made him no better than those culprits.

• Tze Tzang 88 on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:35 am

Yong ZH, you experienced it please come forward and report. Don’t just keep it to yourself.

• shawal on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:15 pm

You can come for free…
    But if we catch you….
    Lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • Same L0r on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Priority should be given to the needed one, like Proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
  • kcng (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:31 pm

cheap publicity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • abuya1234567890 on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Is not cheap when you want to inspect. Have you ever went there? Anyway… no need to answer because haters always hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Manjaman on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Asking us to enter the lions’ den? No thanks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • Anonymous on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:12 pm

This is the problem with us Malaysians, if you have evidence, come forward and report to the authorities, don’t blindly accuse something that is without basis and evidence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • imnotsuperman on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Have u been there abuya? have you seen the queue? have u been in the queue? did you know about their horrible booking system they implemented? have you?

NO THANKS!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • Albert Lee on Jul 08, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Free?
    There is a catch.
    What if after inspection,the guy tells you need to rectify/change 5-10 mechanical parts.
    Then,to save time,he will refer you to his “list of workshops” and come back later for “easier” inspection and subsequent “lulus”.
    Nothing is ever free in this fallen world.
    Remember,at one time the touts are working hand in hand with those guys,causing long queues until reporters have to go under cover to uncover the scam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • From what I know, unlike mandatory inspection, this free inspection won’t pass or fail the car owners, it is just a check on the vehicle. once you get the results, it is at your discretion to fix the part where it indicates defects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • WanBoy on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Albert Lee, people give for free you condemn, nothing is right in your dictionary. My views, I think this is part of their initiatives (PUSPAKOM) in raising public awareness on the importance of vehicle inspection, in line with the Government’s announcement in the recent NAP on Voluntary Vehicle Inspection.

• Anonymous on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Good for the public. Some might tend to be too ignorant to care. Anyhow, good efforts from PUSPAKOM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Redline on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:59 pm

After you failed your tinted glass test, as soon as you drive out of Puspakom, JPJ will be waiting outside to catch you! Haha…good luck…

On a serious note, if your car is tinted legally (or borderline legal), it might be useful to have a Puspakom certificate in your car as proof that your tinted are in fact legal. It can be your “insurance” during roadblocks….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • WanBoy on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Echoed Kezy’s comment “this free inspection won’t pass or fail the car owners, it is just a check on the vehicle. once you get the results, it is at your discretion to fix the part where it indicates defects.”

• Denaihati on Jul 08, 2014 at 4:43 pm

i believe shouldn’t take longer time for this checking.
    thank to puspakom for this good practice and hope have periodically checking such as 2~3 per year.

• _xXx_ on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:43 pm

no thx. I tengok muka2 korang aku rase takut laa. Xtau kenape…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Whoisyourdaddy on Jul 08, 2014 at 6:27 pm

The Government should have made this mandatory long ago! Malaysia and Indonesia is the only countries in ASEAN, yet to make this mandatory!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Samad Jain on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:10 pm

thanks, but no thanks….knowing the shady business of Puspakom.

I better send my car to the trusty uncle workshop under cherry tree. At least he is honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16