VIDEO: BMW M4 drifting on the Ultimate Racetrack

Drift videos are surefire hits with car enthusiasts. Not all of us have the ability or opportunity to go sideways and hold it there, but watching RWD machines smoke their rear tyres is always a pleasure. A rear-driven sports car and track rental may cost a bomb, but dreams are free!

It may no longer have the badge people dream of (that’s M3, now sedan only), but the new BMW M4 Coupe looks great and can still swing its widened hips around with ease. Not surprising when it has 431 hp and 550 Nm from a 3.0 litre straight-six M TwinPower Turbo engine, a big jump from the old V8‘s 420 hp/400 Nm.

The M4 races and drifts around what is called the “Ultimate Racetrack” in this short video. We’re not going to give it away, but the way the Austin Yellow F82 lives dangerously on the edge reminded yours truly of the days when we covered Formula Drift events. The closer the better, but an inch too far and you’re screwed!

Want one? The M4 was launched here last month for RM748,800, RM10k more than the F80 M3 Sedan.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• burong on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:41 am

Wif the price tag, it deserve the ship.

• Denaihati on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:05 am

330 km/h speedometer max speed, sure can reach 300 km/h.
    fantastic video and i hope video was recorded at real aircraft super carrier.

• Fredo on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:30 am

too bad it is electronically restricted to 250km/h, kena tapau with 328i and/ or 335i it will…hihii..

• you can pay a premium to unlock the top speed iirc

• malaysian00 on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Zzzzzz
        You’re not gonna buy it anyway.

• GT3 (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 4:02 am

Kena tapau with 328i or 335i? You think only top speed will define car’s performance? Wait till they see a corner, with mid-acceleration and vehicle’s dynamic, M cars would always win over the normal BMW variants.

• Fredo on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:28 am

fuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhhhh….
    CF roof, i like!

• this clip is just insane.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:32 am

The island on the aircraft carrier (the building where they control the ship as well as the deck activities) shows the number ’74’. The lack of ski-jump up front means it’s either French, Brazil or American origin, but the island is placed rear left of the ship which narrows it to just American origin. American aircraft carrier uses identification symbol CVN(CV-aircraft carrier N-for Nuclear powered, since all American carriers are nuke engined)…….so google search CVN-74 and bingo ‘Nimitz class super carrier USS John C Stannis. Now Look for USS JCS current deployment reveals it’s still in Puget Sounds Naval shipyard in Washington for a scheduled 14-months maintenance.

In other words, to pop your bubble, all this are actually done in CGI. The detail of the ship is very well covered so my guess it’s that the people who make this film actually filmed the ship while in dry-dock and added on the tracks and car on it. Because The US government isn’t going to let just anyone remodeling a one of their ten US$12 million,largest-in-the-world, super carriers and remove it for at least a months worth of operational readiness, even if it’s BMW.

So there, satisfy my 15minute boredom waiting for my friend. Food advert thou.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:45 am

Food advert ?
      I meant good advert

• Nighthawk on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Good detective work.
      Agree that it’s likely just a CGI work.
      BTW, she costs USD4.5 billion to build and multi-million dollars to operate.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:53 am

Oh sorry, was supposed to be six Billion USD. The final Nimitz is quoted at USD 6Billion while the newer Gerald R Ford class is quoted at a whooping USD 12Billion!

• GT3 (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 4:00 am

Correction: American, French and even Russian carrier have their ‘island’ on the right-hand-side of the ship.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:16 am

All Aircraft Carriers have their island on the right hand side of the ship since HMS Argus, the first flat-top aircraft carrier, Lexington and Hosho, the latter of which have islands. The only exception to this is the Japanese WW2 Carrier Akagi and Hiryu.

Today, American, French and Brazil have aircraft carrier that uses CATOBAR design, Catapult Assisted Take Off & Assisted Recovery(CATOBAR). the meant that all French, Brazilian(ex-french) and American warships do not have ski-jump up front as they all use steam-catapult(The latest Gerald R Ford uses electro-magnets). Look at the Russian Admiral Kuznetsov or British Queen Elizabeth, and you’ll see distinctive ramps up front to allow aircraft to ‘Jump’ off the ramp. Russian, Chinese and Indian ships uses Short-Take-Off-But-Assisted-Recovery(STOBAR) configuration, while UK, Italy, Spain and Thailand uses Short-Take-Off & Vertica Landing(STOVL)configuration. STOBAR and STOVL uses ramps with difference between STOBAR uses arresting wires to stop the plane during landing while STOVL uses VTOL planes to land(light harriers and F35B)

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 11:33 am

The ending part… So close. That gave me the chills alright.

• meng meng on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:26 pm

bukan kereta hebat…
    Driver yang hebat…

• Lorat on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Some will argue,
      Good driver with bad car will drive into the sea.

• anakjambi on Jul 08, 2014 at 5:59 pm

dont believe everything you see in the internet. another BMW bullshit…if they are so daring as shown in this moview…then give malaysian buyers the 5 years warranty lah….got balls or not???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • flier on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:29 pm

This isn’t a RELIABILITY advert but a PERFORMANCE advert. But yeah, 2 years warranty sucks.

• malaysian00 on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:49 pm

You oso sama lah.
      Talk cock.

Face the fact.
      You’re not gonna buy it anyway.

• excited on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:06 pm

I got to say wow, this is one of the videos that i actually make me OMG OMG it’s at the edge.

• Haha pure cgi.well ni carriers does look or be converted such way.but ya m4 is a better car but this makes me laugh as predictable as the false video.do the real as mini did in putrajaya.