Oil companies asking for Euro 4 postponement – MITI

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test-003

Besides the frequently postponed abolishment of the AP system, there’s another issue that Malaysians have heard about for some time now, but remains unresolved – the upgrade to Euro 4 fuel. It’s status quo for now though, as the government has still not decided on the date of conversion, Bernama reports.

International Trade and Industry Minister, Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said the government has been engaging with various oil companies in the last two or three years, and has made a decision, but could not implement it as the costs involved are “quite exorbitant” for the oil companies.

“According to the oil companies, it’s going to cost them a lot of money to upgrade their system, factories and plants. They were asking for a postponement, so we are now still talking to them as part of the team led by Pemandu (Performance Management Delivery Unit),” he said.

exhaust-smoke-a1

Mustapa said that the automotive sector is quite keen for the government to adopt the Euro 4 standard, although we believe that “quite keen” is an understatement on the minister’s part.

“This is urgent because many countries have moved to Euro 4 and some are already planning for Euro 5, we are way behind. If I was in the auto sector, I would be worried that there is no certainty as to when Euro 4 is going to be used in the country,” the head of MITI said, understandingly.

Malaysia is now on Euro 2 petrol and diesel, rungs below Thailand and Singapore, but unlike our neighbours, our fuel is subsidised by the government. Like the AP issue however, it’s not a straightforward situation for the administrators. “What the government is doing now is to balance the interests of the auto industry and the interests of the oil refiners,” Mustapa said.

DSC_3488

We were told by Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI) last month that Petronas is still some time away from delivering Euro 4 fuel – its Pengerang Integrated Petroleum Complex is set to deliver higher grade diesel and petrol to Malaysians, but that won’t come online until sometime in 2017. Shell, meanwhile, hasn’t revealed its transition plans as yet.

Euro 5-grade diesel will actually be available in Malaysia in the coming few weeks, but it will only be in selected parts of Johor. The move is due to necessity, specifically for lorries that have to make the daily trip in and out of Singapore. The republic had plans to ban Malaysian vehicles with excessive smoke levels from entering the island. Full story here.

In any case, Euro 4 fuel is integral in the new Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV) incentives policy outlined in NAP 2014, and the last news about that was that studies were being done on it before a timeframe for deployment was announced. So, how long more?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ali baba on Jul 09, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Wow, another surprise of the century again!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
    • Anti CO2 on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:10 pm

as though euro 4 fuel has just emerge few years ago!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0r on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Environment friendliness, children’s better future, zero crime rate, energy efficient market, high income country all BULLSHIT.

After all, it is only about the money, and cronies pockets.

For a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

And yet those brain dead supporters keeping asking us to be patriotic – buying Proton, feed the cronies’ S400L, Lambo, Porsche etc.

Are you feeling proud now?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 6
        • Government Fail its Rakyat on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:38 am

This is wrong. Who is the boss? the Government of Malaysia or 3 or 4 Oil companies? Who is calling the shots?
          The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.
          In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air.
          Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Becaus eof the dirty petrol and diesel, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.
          Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air? That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer but are more bothered about the 3 or 4 oil companies, companies of which are already reaping hundreds of billions per annum each.
          Who says the oil companies cannot afford it? Each oil company makes no less than RM100 billion per annum. This is not reported. They should be upgrading their oil.
          So again I ask, who is the boss? The oil companies or the Government? It looks like the oil companies are boss in Malaysia. The Government is has no balls. All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments.
          In Malaysia, because the Government of Malaysia dips into the pockets of Petronas and takes its money as and when it needs it on the quiet, the Government of Malaysia has lost its voice and control over the oil companies and cannot “instruct” it to comply to give cleaner fuel. In other words, the Government of Malaysia has been “bought” by these oil companies.
          So the Government of Malaysia cares for just 3 or 4 oil companies and throws shit to the 30 million Malaysians living here. Cleaner fuel was available more than 10 years ago in other countries. Does it take more than 10 years to upgrade your plants? Now oil companies are asking more time? Another 10 years?
          The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposed peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel kills more people per annum than any war will.
          It is even worse when not only we don’t get clean fuel, but in the capital city, we cannot even get clean and uninterrupted water as well as our women cannot even walk safely in the streets without feeling fear of snatch and rape. But our Government has time for big projects like Iskandar etc but not bothered about the cleanliness of the air, water and public safety.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 3
          • Redline on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:39 am

Well said. Somebody should email this posting to the MITI Minister and cc to PM.

• the driver on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:31 am

Afraid to say the explanation about oil companies making $xxx per annum will not hold water. If you had a business, what right does any government have to ask you as the business owner to absorb the cost of re-tooling your factory? Wake up! Its about money and it might you are a shareholder yourself and you would disagree to fork out millions to retool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
          • Agree with you, other people loose more than these oil companies, govt should be stricter and buck up on this issue.

• Zimbabwe Government on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Basic neccesaties like clean water also the gomen cannot give us Malaysians. And in 6 more years, it is 2020. How to achieve 2020 Developed status when basic neccesities also cannot give?

Water dirty, fuel dirty, air dirty. Sounds like Congo or Zimbabwe.

• mahu ke tak mahu on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:16 pm

As the saying goes…. hendak seribu daya, tak hendak seribu dalih… Gomen has shown how prompt they can be when it comes to matters that benefit vested interests… like approving the MRT project… but when it comes to matters that benefit rakyat… you get years after years of excuses followed by studies which justify more excuses…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
    • xiper (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:59 pm

there is no surprise, this is expected…postpone and postpone again and again….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Sunriver on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:23 am

The question of the matter is simple, why are other countries’ policy makers are able to push oil producers to go for Euro 4? European and American labours are expensive, and yet it can be done.

Seriously our policy makers are a bunch of jokers.

Peace.

• Jimmy on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Another BS.
      And, who are the bosses of all these oil companies? They are from DAP, oh yea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • Maseratits on Jul 09, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Ridiculous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • The Truth about Oil Companies on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:53 am

The fact MAI and the government could introduce clean Euro 5 diesel itself in Johor proves one thing, we could have done this long ago, but MAI and the government did not bother to do so because they could not care a damn about the well being of Malaysians. They rather see Malaysians suffer with high fuel bills and clog up their engines with dirty petrol and diesel.

Madani and MAI are frauds created by the government to confuse people and delay the process of giving us cleaner fuel and cheaper cars. Every NAP, Madani will come up with complicated formulas to confuse people. But what people want is very simple. It is

1) Cleaner diesel and petrol
      2) Cheaper cars

The above two, Madani and MAI try to brush under the carpet. As for fuel, they want Malaysians to suffer. They want us to use more petrol and suffer. The fact that Malaysia had the technology and ability to introduce clean Euro 5 diesel itself shows that Madani, MAI and the Government was very happy to see the rakyat choke with hazardous and dangerous smoke and fumes with our dirty Euro 2 diesel for the past 10 years.

So many people in KL for instance, wait at bus stops but are smoked by dirty Metrobusses and they choke and choke on a daily basis. Most of us, befor e buying our cars have experienced this. The ministers, in their heavily escorted cars see this but just close an eye. They sit in their fancy cars with police escorts and see the Metrobus emitting thick black smoke suffocating the public. They don’t care. Why? Because the bus companies, the Metrobusses are all owned indirectly by the Ministers. So are most of the stage, intercity busses and lorries that emit thick black smoke.

But Government don’t care. Let the rakyat suffer. Let the pakcik and makcik choke and die. We don’t care. That is their attitude.

Then there is the fact that government never encouraged diesel cars like Europe. You see, diesel cars give you double the mileage. So if you are spending RM1000 per month now for say 2000KM per month, if you had a diesel car, you will only spend RM500 per month for the same 2000KM. The governments in Europe knew this long ago. They cared for the rakyat. So, they made sure diesel was promoted to ease the burden of the rakyat.

Malaysia never encouraged diesel cars. Infact if you used a diesel car, government made sure not only you suffered with dirty fuel injectors and damage your engines, you were also laughed at by people becaus eof the loud sound the Euro 2 dirty diesel caused.

The Government of Malaysia has not been fair to the rakyat of Malaysia. The fact that they can introduce clean Euro 5 diesel just to please the Singapore authorities show one thing, they had the ability and technology to bring in clean diesel long ago and never did. It takes a Singapore to teach Malaysia to have morals, values and fuel to keep the rakyat healthy.

As for the price of clean Euro 5 diesel and petrol, the government has to stop its lies and bullshit. Everybody in the oil industry globally confirms one thing. Malaysia has the “sweetest” crude oil in the world. What this means is this, we produce the highest quality oil in the world. The best of the best. But the rakyat don’t see this. This is exported for other people in the world to use. Then Malaysia reimports low grade and low quality oil at a very cheap price for the rakyat to use. Dirty oil.

The question is this. Isnt the beautiful sweet high grade quality oil Malaysia produces belong to the rakyat of Malaysia? Why sell it of at a higher price to other countries? The oil belongs to the rakyat of Malaysia. It should be given to the people of Malaysia first. Why import dirty and filthy oil and give the rakyat of Malaysia? Why are Malaysians treated like dogs and be given the bones when other people are given the nice flesh to eat?

Another issue is subsidy. There is no such thing of subsidy. MAI, Madani and the Government of Malaysia has been lying to Malaysians the past 20 years about subsidy. You see, what you produce, you cannot subsidise. If the government does not sell our high grade oil overseas and give it to Malaysians to use, what is there to subsidise?

This story has been going around a long time to fool the people of Malaysia, especially, the kampung people that petrol need to be subsidised. We don’t need to subsidise any petrol or fuel because Malaysia produces ample oil not only for its rakyat but also for export. So, if you produce your own oil, what is there to subsidise?

If you grow vegetables in your garden to eat, you cannot go around telling people that your vegetables are subsidised. You are growing it. You are producing it. You don’t have to buy it at all from an external source. The same with oil. We produce it. We should be using it first. This is how the Sultan of Brunei thinks. That is why he gives his rakyat very cheap fuel. Then the balance, he exports it at global prices. For him, rakyat comes first. he gives the rakyat clean and cheap oil because he cares.

Our government, terbalik. Rakyat comes last. And our oil resources are far more than Brunei. Few years ago, in the global media, Petronas struck the largest oil reserve and land in the world. Global media confirmed it was the largest oil reserve in the entire world. Then the next day, our government covered it up as mere speculation. So, in actual fact, Malaysia’s petrol company Petronas has unlimited reserves of oil for the next 30 or 40 years. Can we Malaysians please have the priority to get this fuel first for the rakyat?

And can Oil companies and the Government of Malaysia stop lying to the rakyat and public?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
      • Yes, please reduce import duty and export duty for motor vehicles. We are willing to pay higher income tax and GST at higher to replace the lost revenue.

Yes, introduce Euro 4 fuel. We the user want that fuel whatever the cost that we have to bear. We are willing to forgo fuel subsidy even.

Erk, fuel subsidy a myth because we are oil producer? You may have a point because the original intention of selling our high grade oil oversea and buy a slightly lesser quality oil for our own usage is to get extra cash for us to build schools, hospitals, road and other govt services. If we are now using the extra cash to give out subsidies, why should we take the extra effort of exporting the stuff in the first place?

No offense, just food for thought.

• Oil for the masses on Jul 09, 2014 at 5:37 pm

What’s the hold up again? It’s like these oil companies never even bother to anything at all for the past few years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Because PETRONAS!
      Petronas supplies all fuel to all the “oil companies” (except BHP, according to Paultan’s last report)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Pinning it all on Petronas is too far a stretch. There’s nothing stopping the rest from bringing in their own fuel and they should have their own refineries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:20 pm

No..petronas control 2, 1 control by petronas/philip66, 2 shell(1 close already), 1 petron n 1 TIPCO…this bcoz of people reject Pengerang Integrated Petroleum Complex in Johor..reason environmental catastrophe said by u know who..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • marcus on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:08 pm

no la… Esso & Shell refinery in Port Dickson. Petronas refinery in Melaka. All being kedekut to spend RM 1 billion++ each to upgrade their refinery facilities. If government makes it mandatory, do u think they won’t follow? Never care for environment. Idiot government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
        • nobrand on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:16 am

Government will not makes is mandatory. Our beloved leaders want petronas to spend money financing project given to cronies rather than upgrade refinery facilities.

• turbo_guy on Jul 09, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Come on, we need a cleaner diesel to run our car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Mr. G on Jul 09, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Too much excuse with all the marketing strategies from the oil and gas companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • Frecking ridiculous…!!!!! Liars liars everywhere up down in the current govt. really pass time to vote them out. I foresee a day when there will be no “new” engine avb for sales to malaysia. Because all international brands car will produce cars with tech above euro4/5 and above. Proton will then be the only cars left for us. Ok,maybe Sam loo’s umw de tune Toyota

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • DonkeyKong on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Do you honestly think Pakatan Rakyat is going to make any changes if they take over the Federal government? You must be a fool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 128
      • DonkeyKing on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:58 pm

At least we know the current government won’t. And won’t for many many elections. With many many reasons….it’s a lost cause.

So with Pakatan at least there’s hope. Which incidentally is Obama’s campaign slogan. And just who won?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 12
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Obama is a bad example. He is not much more than Bush with a brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
          • DonkeyKing on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Well, we are not asking more much are we. And it doesn’t really take much.

We are only asking for someone with a conscience and that usually comes with brain.

• Donkey, it is not about who is going to make the change, rather it is about showing that the rakyat still have influence or control in what the government does.

At the current moment, they can flip flop as much as they not care, that shows how powerless the people is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • DonkeyKong on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Oh? And how has Pakatan improved the conditions in the states that they are governing? Two times a Pakatan voter, never again for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
          • Like I said, it is not about who makes the change, it is about you! You, or we the people, have the power to strip the ruling governor if they are incompetent.

Please stand in a neutral point if you want to argue. It’s fine with me that you vote for BN or whoever else in the next voting. You have the freedom to do so.

• Gertg on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:44 am

And BN is serving you well? Or making things even worse?

The idea is to keep both a balance of power. So there is check and balance.

Penang is doing very well.

• doctorproc on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:22 am

Wow you’re an idiot, you do realize that state governments hardly have much power right? And anyway, I think Penang has improved by miles. DAP and PKR do a decent job, but PAS is pretty useless I must admit.

• Bakerie on Jul 09, 2014 at 5:43 pm

MITI should balance the interest of the rakyat too. We are the hardest hit among them. Doh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • To petronas, u have the money to sponsor Mercedes F1 team but no money to upgrade your factories and system ? Come on, put your countrymen in first place not foreigner….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 2
    • BN OUT! on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Aiya, at least the government showing consistency!

Like u said, we sponsor F1 team but cannot upgrade system. Same la! Why Proton so lousy still?

We have “Angkasa”wan but we cannot be world-class car maker. Ok la don’t talk about car. Our RMAF still using Nuri helicopters. OMG much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • letstorque on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:40 pm

RMAF already start using EC725.
        All SAR standby using EC725.

Update your fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • fast5 on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Yes Tun DrM and families play with F1 team.
      RAKYAT work like cow just to survive in this country.
      Those who praise him? that this and keep support him…

• Upgrading the refinery is one thing. But the main reason why they refuse upgrade is because that they cant no longer buy the cheap low quality sour crude oil that they are using now. Euro 4 and 5 require low sulfur sweet crude which is more expensive. Ironically, msia sells our locally extracted sweet crude to overseas and import middle east sour crude for domestic consumption. That is how they make billions and all those fat bonuses.

• Anonymous on Jul 09, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Some ppl here imagine to have a better fuel with the same price … masak la government mau sponsor subsidi …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
    • Tan ku ku! on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Memang dungu ingat subsidi sponsor Oleh govn selama-lama nia. Bodoh hang, soon the govnm will give us euro 2 fuel dgn harga euro 4 bila subsidi potong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Better fuel, more expensive, lower fuel consumption. In the end it will work out just fine.

• so its not right to compare fuel price with other country. not apple to apple. its not right that gov compare price of our lousy fuel with others euro4/5..why we have cheap fuel in malaysia? bcoz of our fuel is lousy outdated not bcoz of subsidize.

• Whitefox on Jul 09, 2014 at 5:54 pm

The reason is not accept able

• Steve Kok on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:13 pm

This also cannot, that also cannot.
    Gaji buta minister.
    Better resign lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • This bloody government is just paying lip service to the people. Whole life talk but zero action. By the time they study something and actually implement it, the euro 4 or 5 will be obsolete. Thanks to singapore they were pressured to bring euro 5 diesel to jb. Tired of listening to rubbish from these ministers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
  • Very soon M’sia will bcum third world country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • What are you talking? We are 4th world already…3rd world already running on Euro 4.

I don’t understand why is the government giving in to the oil companies? These oil companies make their cut…regardless of the fuel price they earn their cut from the subsidies the government pays them..so whats the issue?

I feel they are just pushing their luck…an the idiots in office are just going along with it…or probably on the take!

My plan is to leave this country…the hell with this!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
      • phuachukengkang on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Go ahead la HAHA, leave this country! Leave all your girlfriends, your house and your car to me. Don’t talk only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 47
        • It’s all because of idiots like you….I am leaving….sorry you’re not worth my prized possessions.

• 1Malaysia on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Kluarlah u pendatang haram. Tanah ni tanah Melayu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • 1Malaysia…aku memang Melayu mcm kau dong!

• BN OUT! on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Very soon? Already la, brother.

Look at driving attitudes, look at service quality at public departments, look at road conditions, look at how our ministers talk bad about each other in Dewan Rakyat, look at how ppl make matters out of religion, ……………………………………

Fate accepted. Any way back in the future? I hope so

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Wee Fuk Yew on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:24 pm

This politician is working on the premise that a sucker is born every second so that he can fool some of the voters some if not all of the time. Just let the oilcos suffer from loss of market share when bhp introduces euro4 grade diesel nationwide. When that happens, I bet you whatever has been said today by this politician won’t hold water.

• zamim on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:28 pm

The government always consider the rich corporations first, and this time the oil companies. These oil companies are making huge profit and yet not willing yo sacrifice for the environment and the rakyats. The government has no guts and leadership to ensure the rakyats benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:30 pm

I thought leaders are appointed to direct… Not to just ‘talk2’ ‘pandu2’ only……

The companies have to bear the cost…they are making alot of money….

If they are not moving towards those transitions then they are saving alot of money, the question is for who and for what???

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Tourist: Hello may I know where is KLCC?
    Malaysian: baa boo…. Gugu gagaga
    Tourist: pardon me, but I couldn’t understand
    Malaysian: huhu….. Gagaga…..
    Tourist: ?????

We, Malaysian are still in our “Stone Age” while other semi-develop countries already implement better policies for their nation.
    Other countries hv EURO 4, tax based on carbon g/kg, non-AP system, Damn Clear Government Policy, reduce blueprint, tax exemption, etc…….
    At the same time, ours still stuck with EURO 2M (what the hell M stand for) still no one knows. Tax based on cc so how many carbon produce (is fine) Malaysian suck it to their lives, NAP (manufactures still reluctant to invest), AP (yesterday just announce KENOT be abolish) so for genuine investors (pls F*** Off) from our countries!

Well…..well after commenting the above, some will blast back: Kalau tak suka KELUAR dari Malaysia!!!!!
    Anyway Salak sejahtera to anyone, either u like it or not. This is free blog, thumbs up or down, doesn’t matters. TQ

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:18 pm

If I recall correctly, the M stands for Malaysia. The grade isn’t exactly Euro2 standard either. They’re planning to implement Euro4M when it does eventually come about and this Euro4M will not be as clean as the actual Euro4. Go figure!

• alldisc on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:23 pm

You Dont know what is euro 2m? Clearly then… U r one keyboard warriors. Here, let me help. Our fuel qualities are not at euro 1 but also not even at euro 2. Just somewhere in between. Sum thing like 1.5.

The issue lies in petronas. Actually we shed not jv problems to change to euro 4 or 5 if all it takes is just changes to the current refinery plant or whatever it is. The problem is it can’t. Petronas has to build up completely new facilities that’s going to cost a lot of money.

So when the key player in Malaysia is reluctant to change, same goes to the rest. Except BHP. Which imports from Singapore. I had start the change from last week. Let’s use bhp!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Thanks for the feedback, but actually I know what is EURO2M hehehe but just blast it out…… our G or Oil companies are making us look so stupid to others. 90% of the world is using EURO 2,3,4,5 but didn’t put EURO 3T (Thailand) EURO 5S(Singapore), etc…….

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:33 am

Hokay. Good for you. Let’s boycott all other fuel except BHP. Let’s show our consumer’s powerrr!!! Sooner or later the pressure will be on them.

• KillBox1Alpha on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:39 pm

This is what happens when you leave the standards stagnant for 18 years….and now expecting oil companies to go Euro 4..offcourse it will take significant investment..this should be done gradually when Euro 3 wad introduced…bloody stupid management this is!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Only in Malaysia.

• LatukBandar on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Europe will be rolling out Euro 6 this September, 2014.

and we’re still at Euro 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • fast5 on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Thanks to “Father of AP” Tun DrM and his families… billionaier?? trillionaier??
      And Rakyat die poor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • pondan on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Hahaha… looking at the way this nation goes, we may rollback to euro 1.5 or 1 or euro 0.

Only in Malaysia

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Screw these companies. Force them to introduce EURO 6 by next year. They have had enough profits by now.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:24 pm

At least that way they don’t have to upgrade again in a few years. Better invest properly once.

• sharon on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:31 pm

That’s Malaysian Style. Every time implement something delay and postpone. If not, asking to postpone this and that.

This is serious! Our planet, our future generations! Now, we want cleaner environment.

SAY “NO!!!” to delay and postpone! Go to Euro 5 straight away instead Euro 4 diesel and petrol.

• If everyone starts switching to BHP which is already EURO 4 since they import from Singapore, I’m sure that would pressure other companies to switch.

Right now, they don’t feel pressured.

• Only Malaysian Govt would bow down to provider.. Others Country/Nation provider had to bow down to respective Govt… Malaysian Govt don’t have a ball, only know to “TALK COCK” everyday, every hours, every minutes & every second….

• sharon on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Government didn’t push hard enough. That’s why oil companies also action say cost a lot to upgrade system.

Same thing goes to tinted glass. What is your final approved percentage?

Same things goes to Proton problem. Same thing goes to many things!

Make decision fast and accurate, implement it. No delay, no postpone!How to archive Vision 2020, if ever time talk talk but no action and so slow!

• Reffai on Jul 09, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Malaysia would get Euro 4 or 5 petrol as soon as singapore start banning cars running on Euro 2 petrols. As simple as that

• tkhengong on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:06 pm

My take is the higher production costs for Euro 4 will eat into the profit margins of the petrol station operators and guess who constituted the majority of these operators – the Umnoputras. Hence, I believe it is not due to the petroleum companies holding back but resistance from these operators. This is similar to the APs issue.

• Samad Jain on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Why I am not a bit surpised of the news?

Knowing how the BN govt operate…..all talk but zero action.

The ministries get paid every month by tax payers money, but gets nothing done. Makan gaji buta…

• Then let bhp upgrade it’s fuel first to euro 4 since it imports all it’s stock. When ppl all flock there the other companies would be forced to follow suit in the interest of preserving profits hehe

• The longer we wait the more difficult to convert to euro4. Just like this stupid AP policy. The gov have the power to set green policy and imposed deadline for oil companies to convert it. Not that oil company is not making money. I guess is that the gov will get less money bcoz oil companies expenditure or cronies don’t make enough money. Fact is gov rely on Petronus feeding too. Miti or Mai are useless and not progressive. The gov is not doing the right thing and the easiest answer is too expensive to this, not possible, economy impact is high, rakyat will suffer….. It is the same excuse over and over again….. Donkey gov!!!

• sulphure dioxide on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:31 pm

I am sorry to say, developed countries are going Euro 6. How can Malaysia be a developed country when the infrastructure is so outdated and in total mess?

• ae101 on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:37 pm

BN machai really no hope already. I don’t think oil companies are the stopper here.

• Bila kerajaan lemah ni la jadinya….lemah dr segi polisi…otak……..menteri ni elok berhenti je la kalau semua benda tak boleh

• Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Campro engine cannot use Euro-4 fuel.

That’s why. :D

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:58 pm

We have waited long enough. Many of us can’t buy imported variants as they are not brought in since they can’t run on our rubbish fuels, like the Golf GTD, TDI or even the 330d and all…

They all deserve one knock on the head for all this mess.

• D_LCS on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Read this article. Dated Sept 11 2009.
    http://www.thestar.com.my/story.aspx/?file=%2F2009%2F9%2F11%2Ffocus%2F4675168&sec=focus
    Know the background of the story then only start commenting.
    U complain so much no positive outcome oso no use. Either practice your vote deligently or shut the hack up and smell the Euro 2M diesel exhaust. Hahaha.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:44 pm

tak boleh tahniah ini

• Albert Lee on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:52 pm

In Malaysia Boleh Land,we have parasitic and cancerous behaviors like” perlindungan”, “syiok sendiri” ,”kami akan memantau”, how do expect Euro 5 so soon?

• Arnold on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Sometimes it’s better to be ignorant than to know you’re being ripped off by ones who should care you most.

• erwinkarim on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:38 pm

oil companies don’t want to implement EURO4/6 because it’d cost money. period

it’s a different case in europe because oil companies are forced to implement EURO 6 continent wide and there’s also political will to implement EURO 6.

solution? put fuel at market price and ask the consume to take care of the environment…

• cikgu bijak on Jul 09, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Hahaha ill tell u all a secret.

Money is a scam.
    Debt is a hoax.
    Democracy doesnt exist.
    Government is a corporation.

• GST will cause living cost sky-rocket, rakyat suffer — no problem

EURO4 will cause few companies’ lose money due to system upgrade — cronies earn less — a Big No

how fxxked up my country has become because of the so-called leaders….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Boleh! on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Tomorrow headline at Paultan again!!!!

One of the SEA country Government is trying to fight high crime rate, so they are trying to talk to criminal bosses, according to mafia bosses ” reducing criminal act is going to cost them a lot of money, so we are asking the government to postpone the crime fighting policy”
    Then… XXX minister said” so again we are now still talking to them as part of the team led by Pemantu (Performance Management Tak buat apa-apa Unit”

Wow… surprise!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • nothingbutLIES on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:42 pm

they need the fund for buying more voters in the next election…so, here’s the reason.

oh yeah…wasn’t BR1M so greatly accepted?…
    Giving is easier than Thinking solutions…that is your gov.

• Pirate on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:53 am

Automotive AP difficult to abolish, cronies-warloads lobbying incessantly….
    Euro4 cannot implement, postponed umpteen times at the request of oil companies…
    GST on schedule, effective April 2015! Go figure my fellow Bolehlanders.

• sharon on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:40 am

By the year 2017, most countries will be using Euro 5 even on the way moving Euro 6 grade. Malaysia only Euro 4. Far away again!!!

• common sensor on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:52 am

Its a waste of rakyat money having policy maker developed such policy but not being implemented .. BS of the greatest scale it is.

• It’s about the money money money…

• shifter on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:29 am

Rakyat complains, gomen don’t care. Oil refiners complain, gomen says ok we postpone. All countries enforces these things and those that feel it’s too expensive to follow can leave the country. No?

• Oil companies asking or only Petron & BHP asking?

• speechless on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:14 am

after so long, all these oil companies have not even bothered to do anything. Business is like that, if you don’t force them why would they want to pay more.
    This is so typical but when GST, no issue, immediate implement, good for everything

• The S Class on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:23 am

Dear Fellow Readers,

What was less mentioned anywhere is that if EURO 4 is implemented, the cost of petrol will increase too (how much only government knows). Because of that the one who have been subsidizing (When the price is increasing the display with the world price, but when it is deep low they keep it as it is/keep it to themselves) is actually is still thinking about the cost. Business entity are smart, they push the ball to government’s court.

• mustafa on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:06 am

Like Brazil laaa…poor leadership…this is Malaysia (Boleh ker?)…betul ker Mr. PM….

• Richard Chu on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:44 am

“What the government is doing now is to balance the interests of the auto industry and the interests of the oil companies”- Mustapa said.
    It is very glaring to note that the interests of Malaysians are not in the equation! The boss of Malaysia is the rakyat. The rakyat’s interest over-rides all else.
    “The Truth about Oil Companies” + “Joko” + “D_LCS” express a lot of truth. We are exporting high grade fuel from Port Dickson using our sweet crude but Malaysians are denied the use of cleaner fuel, until now in JB.
    We export our sweet crude at premium prices and import sour crude at relatively lower price. Are our fuel really subsidised?
    Who are the parties that are appointed to handle these exports and imports? These are powerful parties that can influence government decisions making! If the move is to refine our sweet crude and sell it to Malaysians, some one will be crying foul all the way to heaven!
    The smart move the government has to take is to leap frog to Euro 6. This will save time and resources if we are to progress to Euro 4, then Euro 5 and then Euro 6 fuel. This will satisfy the oil companies, saving them the pain of upgrading to Euro 6 in stages.

• wow another circus!

• ap and this euro 4 issues, pusing2 for 5 years and in the end nothing happens.

• So every time oil company minta delay..gov should impose new rule like this, ” ok u want to delay until 2017?” so gov should answer ” if 2017..make sure your petrol and diesel comply at least with Euro 6 spec..and on” so imagine if the oil company minta delay for 2017..maybe by that time euro 4 is like euro 2 during that year…. the logic behind that is that every time oli company minta delay..the specification of the oil become higher and higher…so the oil company dont dare to make excuse evertime

• Sort like the Oil companies blackmailing the govt!!! Please stop it… Betul-betul gerammm..

• jimmy on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:36 pm

wow, petronas is world class oil company, and supply to f1 for so many years, and not prepare for euro4 petrol ?? what a big joke…..

• Fei Yau on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Which Johor BHP station has Euro 5 Diesel already ? Already Aug 1.