2015 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution unveiled for the US

mitsubishi-lancer-evolution-2015-us-a

Goodness gracious, this thing’s still alive. The Evo X may be nearing seven years of age now, and while it’s “been discontinued in many of the other markets around the world” (Mitsu’s own words), the high-performance sedan will enjoy another model year in the States.

Wanna know what’s new? All variants now get heated wing mirrors with indicators and – get this – a drop cupholder with lid. The GSR variant gets a new Premium package that includes the Sight and Sound package plus leather upholstery, heated front seats, a sunroof and extra sound dampening.

The range-topping MR variant now comes with a nine-speaker, 710-watt Rockford Fosgate premium sound system, keyless entry, auto headlamps and wipers, plus an auto-dimming rear-view mirror. The heat extractor vents are colour-keyed, and you’ll find additional chrome trim on the front grille and belt line.

Same 291 hp/406 Nm 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine, five-speed manual/six-speed twin-clutch SST, Super-All Wheel Control with full-time AWD, Active Yaw Control and Active Centre Differential. Want more power? Head to Blighty…

Meanwhile, in the blue corner, Scooby Doo is very much alive and kickin‘.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Mitsubishi isn’t considering a revival ATM, theres no word of a new Lancer!. This in any terms is not only a final shout to the rally-crazy 2.0l Japanese Yokai that is the Mistubishi Lancer Evolution, This is the Final Hurrah for Mitsubishi itself for car lovers around, after this is the road to dullness.

Goodbye Mitsubishi, thanks for all the 80s/90s insanity that you have given to us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
    • New lancer is gonna be a Renault

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • kudajawi on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Proton should sell Inspira at USA market as the first step to become jaguh global.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Proton Also Same! on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:46 pm

No need to look so far about how long they keeping this model going.

Look at our Wira. It was sold for about 100 years in Malaysia. Every year, Proton will come out with new variants and nonsense and kept the model going for 100 years.

Well, they are still doing it with the Gen2. Still cheating the rakyat with old trash, old technology, old and unsafe cars with virtually zero safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 51
      • policeman on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Wira was sold for around 14 years not a 100 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 19
      • Toyota is cheating the rakyat with the worst price to spec ratio!!!go figure out la man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:00 pm

I think this is purely an effort by Mitsubishi Motors USA to keep the model for one more year rather than as a final shoutout and hurrah since the move went against what seems to be the dominant direction of Mitsubishi Motors worldwide.

Also, old news says that they’re in talks with Nissan-Renault to rebadge the Renault Fluence as a replacement for the Lancer. Not sure how that talk went.

On the upside, I am of the opinion that they won’t stay out of performance road vehicles forever. Motorsports is in their blood and it’s their heritage. It just might not be a roaring, fuel guzzling machine in the future since they don’t currently seem to have advanced engines. On another note, for those who are interested in offroading and 4×4’s, their SUV side of things is actually looking pretty good. I see quite a bunch of ASX’s, Pajero Sports and Tritons around.

Anyway, it’s just that now they do have to differentiate themselves from other auto companies to stay alive. I think they looked at their own strengths and saw that they couldn’t possibly compete with the likes of Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Volkswagen, etc. directly, so they decided to focus on their SUVs and PHEVs, instead. My 2 cents.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:03 pm

so what will our helang lebuhraya polis drive next?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • This is just like the last generation 2002 supra. Prob the last “true” evo from mitsu

• Maseratits on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Brace yourselves, Inspiralutions incoming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • policeman on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:12 pm

I’m here.

This is good news. It means Proton is rebadging a current Mitsubishi model, not an old model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Sayonara Evo!

• frenzy on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:49 pm

That’s why I love my 1st-gen Impreza.

• theanswer on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:02 pm

nissan already have gtr…toyota with 86…what happen to mitsu? currently no news regarding their performance or sports car.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Not surprised that this is still alive, remember, the Mk2 Lancer lived to 2007, only in a new name called the Proton Saga!

• Tomen Motorsport on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Send this car to me, i will remap it with new knocking map for only RM230.

Go to hell with on road tuning. Copy paste map rulezzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • policeman on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Wah you sabotage Ultramen Motorsport…

• Azzmi Noor 009 on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Woi tomen, kalau nak bagi komen bodoh pon, pakai la account Mamat Muar. Kekekeke

Kantoi dgn budak tuners karang
      Btw, go to hell evo x sst. inspira 2.4 manual rulezzz

• Inspira nub on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Wow… Tomen can I pls have your Stage 5 Ultra Platinum Plasma Nuclear map that will knock until I need to replace my engine.. just like you did! =)

Cause you are my hero!!!

• Azzmi Noor 009 on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:23 am

Tomen, ko guna la nick Mamat Muar kalau nak komen camni. Kekekekeke
      Btw, evo x mr, evo x sst are useless. Better convert inspira using 2.4 manual engine.
      Long live inspira tuners. Long live tomen jugak

• Atok Hang on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Ehem ehem…..
        Jgn tunjuk kebodohan kita kt tempat orang. Wlaupun kita bodoh, xpe. Yg penting ramai pengikut

#proudinspiraowners
        #theinspiratuners

• ToMeN Motorsports on Oct 30, 2014 at 2:28 am

i lap you so much la azzmi noor [gagak]

• Kenny Potato 9001 on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:53 am

Tomen, please insaf
      This is real evo…..not like your stupid copycat lancer

• ben yap on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:13 pm

our inspira still lives on!

• EnergyAnalyst on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:14 pm

I think many has underestimated the staying power of Mitsubishi automotives . Take a good look at all the Mitsubishi products and their histories

We need not look that far back.

Look at ASX or outlander sport that was sold still in USA. It was a product of 2008. 6 years old.it was even adopted and with exterior redesign by PSA Peugeot Citroen into 2 models : Peugeot 4008 and C4 Aircross. That happened in 2012 when it is already 4 year old.

Even Peugeot despite the new CEO stated he wanted to cut down Peugeot models from 26 to 13, guess which one still stays among others? Report said the ASX based 4008 made from Mitsubishi plant in Japan gets to stay.

http://europe.autonews.com/article/20140626/ANE/140629929?template=mobile02

This ASX and Outlander or Pajero here (another product of year 2006) still gets the coveted top safety pick + awards by IIHS in 2013

Only 3 out of a total of 14 vehicles tested in the Small SUV segment received the “plus” distinction, and 2 of those 3 are Mitsubishi Motors vehicles; the all-new 7-passenger 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander joins the 5-passenger Mitsubishi Outlander Sport, which earned the TSP+ award in June 2013

http://media.mitsubishicars.com/releases/da39da16-19a3-42ee-b6e8-11d91b32c010

Even Attrage get a new lease of life with it going to be rebadged by Chrysler in Mexico and China…

And also, anyone bothering to find out that

—-

In October 2011, the President of Mitsubishi Motors, Osamu Masuko, confirmed to AutoCar that work on the next Evo will start in 2012 and will go on sale within the following three years. (By 2015). It is said that the car will feature electric power from a hybrid drivetrain, maintaining performance of 0-62 mph time under five seconds while cutting CO2 emissions.[35]

The next generation of Mitsubishi Evo will be notably smaller than the last version according to company president Osamu Masuko.

In late March 2014, Mitsubishi spokeswoman Namie Koketsu issued a press release stating “Mitsubishi Motors does not have any plans to design a successor with the current concept, as a high-performance four-wheel drive gasoline-powered sedan. Mitsubishi Motors will explore the possibilities of high-performance models that incorporate electric vehicle technology.”, marking Mitsubishi’s exit from the manufacturer of performance vehicles.

• policeman on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Dei, copypasta!

TLDR!

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Good information gathering and observations. Did not know that they scored so well in the IIHS crash tests (which is really saying something!). It’s just a bit sad that the Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia isn’t as safety minded as Nissan has been recently as most of Mitsubishi’s models, bar the Pajero and some Euro variants of their Pajero Sports and ASX’s lack airbags for side impacts and their version of stability control is not totally a standard offering even in their vehicles which breach the RM100k mark (look up the Lancer).

However, I’d like to point out that the Outlander and Pajero are not the same vehicle with different names. The Outlander is a model not sold in Malaysia unlike the Outlander Sport, which is known locally as the ASX. The Outlander is actually more related to the AirTrek than the Pajero. The Pajero sits on a different, tougher platform from the Outlander while the ASX and the Outlander share the same platform, which is a crossover kind of platform. In some countries, the Pajero is named Montero as Pajero is an offensive word for people who speak Spanish.

Thing is that plans can change. I have doubt that Mitsubishi will stay out of performance vehicles altogether forever. Performance vehicles are in their blood and are their heritage but the future doesn’t support the way performance vehicles are in the past. Sure, petrolheads will lament this as some sort of passing but I think Mitsubishi is making the right choice to embrace this change in their own way.

• Abah Ko on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:25 pm

ok la. Mitsubishi is copying Proton’s style. good for Mitsu lorr..

• RIP Mitsubishi on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Galant has been discontinue, no replacement for Lancer is planned. Their new Mirage is a big disappointment compare to previous generation.

And now Mitsubishi only offer 4 lineup in US and 3 in China.

• Over Malaysia they R highly rated.
    In US,
    Just another cold fish model on the rack.
    American would rather spent $$$$ on their muscle car like Dodge & Saturn compare to Evo..How many r there on US roads?? Not more than your 2 hand palms on populated county especially East coast.

Sorry to all the Evo fans…Its reality over there compare to here.

• Inspira !!!hahahaha

• Denaihati on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:01 am

i thought evo xi. by the way at least our police patrol have a little spirit from this 2015 Mitsubishi Lancer.

• Bataman on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:27 am

I want to buy Inspira EVOX!!!!

• trololol on Jul 11, 2014 at 2:27 pm

that engine should be inside inspira, only that “the real inspiration”.

• Enthu on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:26 pm

What a boring car. No new model, no new engine, no new tech, nothing.

• AbsolutKev86 on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:56 pm

too bz making aircons?

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:01 am

All protong pariah fans always give stupid comments& low mentality.who do thnk u r.u r not our mitsu families so dont be jealous. Suck u inspirated.people will knowlh bodoh.RIP U PROTONG SOTONG all tong kosong.hehehe

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:12 am

All comments from protong fan r rubbish.they lie2much.u all r not qualify to judge in this forum.only pariah get inspirated(want to copy lancer but unfortunately look different) kahkahkah

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:18 am

Please hear what I said 2 pariah protong fans…OFTEN COPIED NEVER EQUALLED

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:31 am

Surely original lancer anti clone cars 4ever.to proTong fans if u all cannot afford 2buy the real lancer better zip your mouth and jump in the fire or be like sotong.hehehe