All-electronic transactions at PLUS Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plazas from Sept 1 – no more cash

kuang-toll1

Looks like it will be soon before all PLUS toll plazas refuse cash. If you’re thinking free toll, no, it’s out with the cash and in with the cards, and the first step is already in place. PLUS has announced that all toll transactions at Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plazas will be conducted electronically via PLUSMiles cards, Touch n Go cards or SmartTAGs, starting from September 1.

It is said to be part of an initiative to facilitate smoother passage. “This is part of our efforts to promote electronic toll collection system which is easier and more comfortable,” said Datuk Noorizah Hj Abd Hamid, MD of PLUS. An all-electronic toll system is already in place at Perling on the Secondlink Highway and Kempas on the NSE since January 2014.

As such, PLUS is urging cash paying motorists passing through both Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plazas on Federal Highway Route 2 (Subang-Klang) to migrate to cards ASAP.

TnG SmartTag

To facilitate easier purchase and reload of PLUSMiles and Touch n Go cards, PLUS will open up drive through counters at the two toll plazas beginning July 19. There will also be preloaded RM5 PLUSMiles Touch n Go cards on sale at a promotional rate of RM5 from August 18 till November 31.

And as sweetener, PLUS will be offering 30% toll rebate for Class 1 users who pay electronically at off peak hours (that’s from 10am to 4pm and 10pm to 6am) at both toll plazas September 1 till December 31, 2014.

This writer isn’t against the move, but has one question: what about those who pay cash because they need receipts? Will PLUS introduce a system for issuance of receipts for TnG payment at the all-electronic toll plazas? What do you think of this move?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• you can always print the receipts online.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:10 pm

It is all about money. You know how much a smart tag lane would cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
      • Same L0r-you out of topic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Semua Boleh Untung! on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Yes agree with you. Dig deeper and you will see, the main beneficiary from this project will be some politician or Datuk Norrizah.

That is how things work in Malaysia. Nothing is done without ulterior motive. All good ideas come out because the big boss or some politician has some relative or family member benefiting.

In this case it could be the Smart Tag maker, the Touch and Go maker, the maker of the chips inside the Smart Tag or Touch and Go etc etc.

Maybe the contract to make more Smart Tag scanners.

Go, dig deeper. You will see who benefits the most. It is not the consumer I assure you.

This the the same drama for us to change IC, Driving Licence etc etc. Malaysia is the only country in the world where Driving Licence have to change every few years.

Yes, you can see, the contract to make the new driving licence will be given to some big boss of JPJ or some minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 39
        • Read properly on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:32 pm

There will also be PRE-LOADED RM5 PLUSMiles Touch n Go cards on sale at a promotional rate of RM5 from August 18 till November 31. What untung they get here ??
          –>Lesser Jam too
          –> They only testing now in 2 toll booths not all…if this project success everywhere also change one.
          –> Your type guys always blame the government and politics for everything no other work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 18
          • Raizzen on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:15 am

You pow their money and you dictate in what form the money should be. Wow. Your type of guys bagi apa pun semua thankful. The kind of citizens these little tyrants wants and live for. And you got the leaders that you deserve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • This is because they refused to pay MBSA tax for each toll booth that implemented last year. Each toll booth need to pay a licences to MBSA as collecting payment counter and they want to reduce workers and toll booth to maximize profit. Why only at shah alam?

• perodua myvi on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Touch n Go card is free.

so what tokok u.

• Abah Ko on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:31 pm

of coz la money is involve.. mesti mau utung juga.. this is big biz maaa.. u go n ask the top 10 billionaires in our country lorr.. u know or not who r they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • squall_shinoda on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:43 am

Previously every single concessionaire companies used to have their own ETC but all of them failed because there was no integration; you cannot use Plus ETC on non-Plus expressways. That is why the entire expressway industry came up with the idea of adopting a single ETC mode for all expressways.

• Smart tag on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Normal lane 60k, Smart tag lane 120k

• Plus user on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Touch and go statement needs improvement. Not all transactions are on the statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • kanazai2001 on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:38 pm

my company does not accept “print your own” receipt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Print touch n go transaction history for claim.tedious but time saved from queuing at toll plaza is more precious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • I prefer printing rather than keeping bunch of receipt which might get lost if not kept properly.

Luckily, my company encourage using online facility as well for claim submission (ie PDF or prinscreen)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Jackson Oh on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Users who need receipts can print the statement online right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Kevin Ng on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Wait… What if I need a receipt for claim purpose? I mean business trip etc?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • oh please on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:54 pm

e-services.touchngo.com.my/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • if i not mistaken..we can print our touch n go transaction as receipt

• youtiup on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:06 pm

haiyo settle with your company lah what the fuck. even TnG and SmartTag are considered stone-age booshit befitting only the Flintstones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • fatchicken on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Can login to the user electronic card account online to view and print the toll payment deduction history/statement. No problem at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • I have nothing against PLUS but is this rally a solution or another initiative to put motorist as ransom? Don’t we have a better proposal to ease the rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 48
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:47 pm

What are you talking about???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Anti CO2 on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:15 pm

soon every car might be forced to have at least a TnG card. every card say will have an average reserve of RM5… every year half a million new passenger vehicles on the road… 5×0.5mil …WOW! a whopping RM2.5mil reserve coming your way UEM! still government contract is the best business… what about the smart tag biz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
      • just your ic its free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • squall_shinoda on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:45 am

If you’re too cheapskate to buy even a RM10 Touch ‘n Go, then just use your IC laa. It’s free what.

• Hanif on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:05 am

The money is not under touch n go account. They got something like account amanah with a bank under bank negara monitoring. This money can only be withdraw with proper document.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:34 pm

I thought one the reasons they did not abolish tolls was due to the welfare of toll operators? So what is going to happen to toll operators when they go fully electronic nationwide?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • maxref on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Honestly in this day and age, people need to learn new skills and equip themselves with better education and skills rather than be dependant on jobs like toll operation n etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Don’t be too worry.
      Last time we have some operators at petrol station to help us fuel in the petrol and clean the windscreen, check battery and etc.
      Now already DIY and those operators still able to survive on other field.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • utopia on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Trying very hard to get rid of 3rd world mentality??

Maybe next week some smart NGO protests and PLUS kecut bola revert back old cash payment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • abikhsan on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Bila nak beli Smart Tag…. mesti stok habis… pastu promote utk guna smart tag bagai nak rak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Totally agree!!!
      Those who were going to buy smart tag, they will know it. Everywhere also have no stock. When asking when the new stock coming, the answer is “I don’t know, maybe 1 week, 1 month or more..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • DrCooper on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:35 pm

you can use you IC instead

• darrez on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:42 am

KL sentral touch n go hub always got stock for smart tag..

• Pergi beli kat Touch n Go Hub la, kau nak beli kat tepi toll plaza memang la cepat abis, bengong!

• arulthas on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:41 pm

how about for those taxi, bus and lorry as their chargers different from class 1 users? how plus plan to segregate this? special lane for other than class 1 drivers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • AVH (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:47 pm

With the exception of Korea and Singapore, I havn’t been to many so called ‘first world countries’ yet. But hearing from one expectriates, he says that expending Malaysian youths or young adults working in tool booth are a major waste of talents and of their time. I do agree to a certain extands that replacing automated coin-collection(like those use in Japan, seeing from videos), something like those ticket machine use in shopping complex, but for tolls could make better use, possibly faster and as an alternative to the TnG and SMARTTAG we now use.

Personally, I think its much more efficient to change all roads to TnG/SmartTag system. As for the receipt problems I do recall tolls in europe do despense receipt as an option for TnG cards, so I guess its high time we overhaul the system at a small scale first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • kazama on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:48 pm

to claim , company can based on the card transaction..so no receipt needed..

• OMG…Make sure all ur system are ready for it and ur staff must always be in every lane to solve those problem on site. If not, will jam like hell. sigh….

• oh please on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Dear Writer,

Are you an existing user of Touch & Go Card? If yes, you may register your touch & go card at e-services.touchngo.com.my/

You can actually print your monthly usage in statement form (with date, time and charges).

With this you can submit for your claims, but of course your company must accept this new arrangement lah!

• OMG…PLUS should get the same system from Spore, so that we can pay toll without hassle and jam…u also save more staff…

• venven81 on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:09 pm

the barrier-less system has long been available. i worked in a company providing such system 10 years ago but too bad for god-knows-what reason, such system wasn’t accepted by the gov here and now only they are thinking of going cashless. a little too late but late is better than none.

• Hanif on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:09 am

Then need to force every car in Malaysia to have some sort of smart tag linked to an account. You see here how many comment refuse to buy rm10 touch n go card or even free with their mykad.

• maxref on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:11 pm

agreed! Scrape this TnG or smart tag system and use the ERP gantry system used in Singapore. Can travel at 80kmph and it still works until the one we have… have to crawl to a near standstill

• OMG…No ERP never mind, but make sure ur current system is ready for that and ur staff must be always there to solve the problem on site…if not will jam like hell during peak time. sigh…

• joe average on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:09 am

Cannot agree with you more.Dubai also used this system.very efficient

• CheeChongFan on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:26 pm

If they do implement the gantry system like Singapore, the rakyat is going to suffer as more as the G is gonna rip our money off our pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • ifiniti on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:18 pm

To do erp gantry like spore you must have balance with some amount of money in the card. If dont they will give you warning letter and high penalty.

• SeAngi on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Agree with your system. But I do not think it is right to force user to prepay for the TouchnGo. Please provide postpaid card!

• I think this is a move in the right direction. Claims can be made via the electronic statements of each card. If they want to claim, they must print the statements. Neater.
    I do hope rental companies be aware of this, so that rented cars will come with at least a T&G card.
    Foreign cars driving into Malaysia will also need to be alerted at the two borders.
    But perhaps, a coin deposit system like those in the US should be made available – just one lane – for emergencies?

• Redline on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Ughh…the people that is going to suffer is the existing touch n go and smarttag users. For sure there will be many people (from out of town or people who just dont read the news) who dont know about this, and they go in the touch n go or smart tag lag, and got stuck there. We touch n go / smart tag users will be stuck behind them while the tol operator “sort this out”. I am not looking forward to this.

• Amanda on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Why can’t they implement discount like they do at Penang Bridge? We the Penangites get 20% discount every time we use touch n go card.

It would be stupid not to use it.
    You can always register for eStatement at touch n go website.

• a4paper on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Dude! We do have all these rebates and discounts put in place. Be good and read some!

• Chaos on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Pg bridge rebate is daily and for cards purchased at the Pg Bridge office. not applicable to other cards purchased elsewhere. KL & NSE rebates is only during festive season.

• Go Cashless on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:11 pm

I so agree with OMG’s remark that its better to go cashless and make it effortless as it is in Singapore… in fact we should make all road user have the in vehicle unit system like Singapore…

Even we can use smart tag as first stage… but at least it would be an improvement IMO.

Maybe the car vendors should think about giving free smart tags with purchase of cars from now on :)

• Nazimah Jamal on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:14 pm

A bit out of topic, how about those not paying toll, I mean those scums who use dirty tricks to pass the gate free without waving the smartag or touching the card? I like the scanner system used in Singkapoh and Turkey (and many other I believe), whereby you can pass the toll at a pretty high speed but if you pass without the scanner in your car, your car photo will be sent to police and you get saman the next few days. Really efficient and hassle free.

• longjaafar on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:19 pm

The question is, why have a toll booth at all? The Federal Highway was built even before many of the Plus senior managers were born. Plus merely took over the highway and did some improvement, and has been charging toll for God knows how many years.
    If it was a totally new road like the DUKE, or NPE, one will understand, but taking an existing road for free, and charging toll is daylight robbery of us poor motorists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • abuyai123 on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:15 pm

It is business bro. It doesnt care the collection is already cover cost or not. Poor motorist? So use motorcycle la…. No tolls except to enter states of Guan Eng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Well its a good action by Plus. I totally agree with that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • the problem with TnG is, there is no way to check for available balance before you use it. this creates problem if people use it then only they realize they have insufficient balance. and i don’t think you can reload on every toll both, which is another problem

• Shaekey on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:43 pm

I’ve been a smart tag user since early on and has been a user for years. While I totally support the effort to go cashless, I don’t have enough confidence in smart tag. It’s way too often that I see smart tag lane with long queue due to smart tag not detected.

They better put a touch & go sensor in the smart tag lane and this sensor must be put close to the gantry. So when the smart tag failed, you can just use the touch & go sensor. Currently, some of them do also have touch & go sensor but you have to reverse a bit because by the time you realise smart tag didn’t work, you’ve passed the touch & go sensor already.

• Denaihati on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:49 pm

many time encountered new smart tag no function/not detected, hope this will solve ASAP.

• Some people do not topup RM20 for Touch n Go just for the sake of RM1.00 per toll of Sungai Rasau. They prefer by cash.

• Azizah Hamid on Aug 11, 2014 at 7:30 am

For those people who do not really travel/drive a lot passing the 2 tolls, the system introduced force these people to pay in advance of somewhat RM20.00 instead of cash of RM2.10 (1 way) The extra money actually can be used to top up their petrol instead …….

• Nasir Chin on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:59 pm

What if PLUS make this option ?

if (receipts) {
    TNG: Press receipts button
    } else {
    SMART TAG
    }

Heee…

• its a good idea, but how sure your system wont have any problems.once awhile the smart tag system doesnt work, so its problematic for driver as the need to remove the card n tag it at the touch n go panel. this seems a simple thing to do, but by this it is capable to cause a long que.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Good… agree. . No more cash at all toll please. .

Buy expensive cars can.. but still can’t afford Smart tags? Or at least T&G?

So pathetic. .

Hahaha. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • lanjan on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:45 pm

People will always need the basic stuff. We still use cash even though we have Amex, visa or mastercard.
      There is always need to use cash, same as toll booth.
      For instance, why would tourist by smartag ot T/g if to drive for short while.
      This is just an excuse to gain more profit. There is nothing more to it. Reduce manpower cost and gain advance pay from million of consumers.More money to the rich, opress the poor.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Oppress what? Yeah I use cash buy sayur.. ikan & stuffs. .

Use T&G.. smart tags.. oppress people? Dude ever heard of REBATE? Ada belajarkah? U use cash ade rebate kah? Smartlah u.

I can’t stop you using cash.. but people like you clog the highways.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Its fine for us KV users. Most of us already have Smart tags. No problem for claims for me or my staff, we just ask them to register and submit the e-statement.

But it would be odd for someone outstation to be prepared for this. Buy a smart tag? No. Keep a reloaded TnG just for this 2 toll booth? No.

So he/she shows up at the toll booth with no smart tag or TnG then what, get stuck?

They should keep at least one lane open for cash.

And on this subject, why are we smart tag users not have any discount on use since we are pre-paying for the use? We actually pay more if we use the smart tag for parking.

And yes, they need to improve the Smart Tag readers. its annoying like hell when the system don’t read your transponder. And to make it worst, the backup TnG don’t always work. Had some problem with DUKE, there the transponder doesn’t read and the TnG don’t work either..causing a big tail back. I don’t fully trust the system either, so I still keep a loaded backup TnG card just in case.

• hafiz on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:20 pm

The practice in JB is initially is they will accept cash at cash lane. But only for the purchase of tng. If they run out of stock, they will reload it on your mykad.

• honest on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:53 pm

What about those fr outstation goes to klang valley who doesnt use all these touch & go.are they gonna stuck there

• honest on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Some more smart tag out of stock nowadays.have to go to hq to buy

• You can always register you touch n go card online. With that, you will be able to download your passage history in pdf form.

Instead of collecting lengthy receipt and glue it on A4 sheet, I actually find it easier to download online and just highlights the claimable toll paid.

• InitialCity on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:06 pm

PLUS please improve your online system. Its only allow single name and single email address for each card! why cant you allow single username with multiple card, also introduce auto monthly statement (e-statement. You are require to log in frequently, if you forgot to log in within 3 mths, the system will block your account and you require to call to service center. My experience, no one pick up the call.

• I support this as it will make things faster. No more queuing up and wasting petrol during peak hours. It is always better to be automated. However, there will always be a flaw which is how out station ppl can use it. What about busses and lorries?

• fthis on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:36 pm

The problem with touch and go is the 50sen charge for reloading through ATMs and certain kiosks.

I’ve seen many reloading small amounts and this is an indirect tax which they must bear quite frequently.

• kanazai2001 on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:37 pm

i seldom use PLUS, may be once in a blue moon. so, i’ve been forced to purchase TnG now?

if i incidentally bump into the toll? can i U-turn?

• harunhalim on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Make a u-turn place for those who accidentally enter the road. Dats it.. Its a stupid idea actually. U think everybody is from kl/selangor.. What if outsiders.. Its just a stupid decision.. And for those who dont have auto-reload enabled, its a hassle..

• Tan Boon on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:05 pm

you can always top up the card at the Tambah Nilai toll booth at the plaza itself. I saw this at one of the hiway to Spore, Linkedua i think.

• West end boys on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:59 pm

So ketingalan zaman lah malaysia,dubai already use sticker based smart tags

• A good move!!!
    You will understand it if you get stuck in the long queue of this XxYyXx#$@% RM1.10 toll.

• sotong88 on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Can we please go for gantry system? and please charge additional for those who choose to pay cash rather than using a smart tag.

with our current system we will still always get idiots who drive into smart tag lanes and want to tap the touch and go card. End up the whole lane jam again

• Gantry system is not something that can be implemented in Malaysia.. Especially with Malaysian mindset. Few reason i can think of :
      1) Every car owner need to have a fixed-tag in their vehicle, and that tag need to be linked with a bank account or credit card.
      2) Else, need to link up your plate number with an online account, so that the operator can charge your account every time u pass through the gantry.
      3) So many vehicle with fake plate number, wrong people will get charged for the usage or offence

• orang tua kolot on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Nothing boils my blood like the jam caused by cash paying people at the federal highway. When I cruise on the right lane, approaching the toll booth, there will always be people tailgating me as if in a hurry. When I give way, they cut diagonally all the way to the cash booth.

No sense SAVING on advanced payment on tngo or smart tag when you have to line up 20 minutes pergi and 20 minutes balik during rush hour. 40 minutes idling per day hurts the car, the environment, the wallet and wastes your time and other people’s time!

• What a bunch of stupid comments la guys. Its nothing to do with government earning profits or whats not. Apparently both tolls (Batu Tiga & Sg Rasau) are heavily congested during peak hour and the move to use electronic pay is a good move, at least to reduce the jam.

• Sheldon wee on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:02 am

Totally agree with you! We need this efficient system. Cash lanes always clogs up the entire highway. We should stop complaining about technological advancement. Automated is the way to go!

• Right Hand Drive on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:37 pm

I don’t agree that PLUS only accept prepaid cards. These 2 tolls on the federal highway should have been abolished long ago. They have over collected what they have invested. They did not build the highway, they just widen it. Our Selangor government please abolish these 2 tolls since it is in Selangor.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 12, 2014 at 1:35 am

Abolishing toll collection is not as easy as what you think. Firstly, of course the expressway concessionaire company must make sure that their bank loan has already been fully paid up. Secondly, they have to pay compensation to every single staff, as they’ll become jobless once the toll has been abolished. At the same time, the proposal of the closure of the toll collection must be issued out in the Parliament and must be gazetted before the closure can take place.

See how tedious the abolishment of toll can be…?

Another thing that you need to take note… Selangor itself has some share in Grand Saga and Kesas, so do you think they can simply abolish the toll collection as they please just like that…? I don’t think so.

• Carson on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Shall start to use the Open Road Tolling (ORT) like Singapore, Taiwan, etc. Those SmartTag and TouchnGo are old technology!

• squall_shinoda on Jul 12, 2014 at 1:44 am

There is one major disadvantage of open-road tolling like the Singaporean ERP – the risk of non-paying cars, or in another word, leakage. Such leakage can happen especially during high traffic condition at high speeds. Things can get worse if the gantry sensors or the transponders are broken.

Another common open road tolling technology is by scanning the plate number. However, plate numbers can forged easily, causing some innocent drivers not having any idea of using a typical toll road with open road tolling to be slammed with expensive toll bills.

Please take note that refusing to pay toll or cheating to escape toll is an offence under the Federal Roads Act (Private Management) 1984; where offenders can be slammed with RM2,000 – RM5,000 fine and up to a year of imprisonment.

That is why even though you may consider the Touch ‘n

• AhWin on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:57 pm

It’s about time la. I drive a lorry as well and it gets really frustrating queuing up in the cash lane when you know you have the option of using tng or smartag. Feels lame paying cash when you know there is technology. Ada motive ka, somebody get rich ka, whatever la. But this will hopefully help reduce jam and the entire hustle and fight you go through before and after paying the toll. From 7 to 8 lanes, all vehicles will fight their way through to a 3 or 4 lane. That itself takes almost 15-20 minutes. Look at places like the Bukit Jelutong-NKVE tol that is always jammed because of the cash lane and lane switching. It would be better if the tolls are like Singapore (ERP). But it would be way better if the tolls are abolished or reduced (wasn’t that the promise we heard?). From Ampang to Damansarsa via Duke-Penchala, it costs almost RM8 for a car and RM16 for a lorry (2 ways). Ini baru toll. So many other daily commitments wo….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 2:21 am

how am i going to launder my money now

• Sheldon wee on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:59 am

There is an e statement you can get. All my stuff in my company have to submit this monthly and it’s more efficient than submitting heaps of small receipts that we can’t really trace whether it’s genuinely theirs or their family members. I totally agree with this system and it’s really only a 5 minute job to get it instead of spending an hour sticking all the small receipts on recycle paper for submission in a claim. Secondly, this is the real answer to reduce the massive traffic on these roads. I live in Bukit Jelutong Shah Alam and we really need this fast movement as the cash lines can really clog up the roads, especially with the Malaysian style of driving. I’m for this efficient system!!

• “This is part of our efforts to promote electronic toll collection system which is easier and more comfortable,” said Datuk Noorizah Hj Abd Hamid, MD of PLUS.

Wonder if this “easier and more comfortable” reason is for the road user or the toll operator.

If you really want to promote cashless toll collection, just setup 1 or 2 cash lanes. It’ll b just a matter of time b4 regular road users after queuing n wasting petrol + time realize which is ‘easier and more comfortable’ for them, NOT abolish all cash lanes.

• PLUS should think about building more reload stations along the Highway. Also at the left most toll booth. And open it 24 hour per day because there are people who work late shift.

• heybadigol on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:14 am

TnG/Smart Tag queues are faster than cash ones in Klang Valley. Have you seen the Batu Tiga toll plaza during rush hour? Its like a temporary carpark. But outside KL, yeah, maybe the cash lane is not so bad. Also, that TnG card can be used for bus & LRT/monorail in Kl, as well as some carparks. Having said that, a person who rarely uses bus/LRT/highways, for example who lives outside KL, and rarely comes to KL are forced to buy the TnG card if they were to drive in KL. So, it is a bit wasteful.

Another downside is, the TnG card has an expiry date (10 years I think). Then, you will need to buy a new card, and apply for a new online account. The balance in the expired card will only be returned to the cardowner by cheque (they wont give cash & wont transfer the balance to a new card that you have purchased), and the process requires card owner to go to a TnG counter to fill up forms and waiting for the cheque does take some time. This is quite a hassle as I have just found out. TnG needs to find a solution for this to make it easier for the card holder please.

• PCTan on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:27 am

Yes. What about those who need to produce receipts to claim reimbursement from company? Plus need to consider this and by using TnG cards, plus is indirectly having free surplus cash in advance without paying any interest. If 10million cards were to be issued with each card having RM30 credit, plus will be having RM300million free cash. No interest paid!

• Melvin Lai on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:28 am

There are issues with SmartTag lanes that has been consistently malfunctioning at AKLEH, NPE, Kerinchi Link, it is not always the driver’s fault that they need to reverse their cars or tap their Touch N Go (it’s a manual failback mechanism should SmartTag fails) I have experience with 3 fully loaded Touch N Go cards and as Murphy’s Law being activated, all my 3 cards were unable to be detected by SmartTag at a particular toll plaza. Other toll plaza is fine.

• ah Boon on Aug 18, 2014 at 12:31 pm

none the above expressway belongs to PLUS. so far plus ETC lanes are ok

• joule on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:02 am

what happen if i lost my card during at the highway?cannot pay cash..where to buy?

• hafiz on Jul 11, 2014 at 2:26 pm

It’s 2014 and still there are companies requesting receipt and statements? Even government agencies doesn’t do that. EVERYONE uses highway and claim department can always check the toll rate online and check the route via google map.

• Si Ai Em Bi on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Touch N Go is owned by CIMB Group.
    End of discussion..Haha

• Well, I hope that there won’t be any more hold up at those TnG or Smart Tag lanes as it is still common for someone’s device to not working properly that cause the suppose ‘express’ lane to choke up. For those device users, make sure you know how to use it.

• uwotm8 on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:50 pm

batu tiga is iloominati c0nf1rmed1!!!!1@!

• kalau orang dari kampung macam mana? bukan setiap hari guna tol?

• Kogi S on Jul 12, 2014 at 7:45 am

I thought they will remove the federal highway tolls ! When that will happen?

• K W Tay on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Is it legal not to accept cash payment?
    Cash currency is legal tender and seller can not reject payment in legal tender.
    They should at least keep one cash lane to avoid possible legal problem.

• Tanaba on Jul 27, 2014 at 12:07 am

Pay toll and get caught in the traffic jam!

• tnguser on Aug 31, 2014 at 4:39 pm

easy. who dont want to use tng. use alternative road.

• This is Malaysia policy makers attitude…never think about those peoples who seldom use the tolls and yet still need to keep a Touch n Go card loaded with unused money. Besides that, imagine, what if you/I/someone who is nearly broke and only able to pay RM 1.10 to drive-thru Subang and Shah Alam toll. Will he/she needs to put a camp or wait for someone to buy him/her a Touch n Go card?

• 531102-xx-xxxx on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Pengalaman Di Tol Plaza Batu Tiga, Shah Alam – 21 Nov 2014

Saya seorang warga emas yang tiada punca pendapatan, mengalami pengalaman yang menyukarkan di Plaza Tol Batu Tiga, Shah Alam. Peristiwa ini berlaku pada 21 Nov 2014, lebih kurang jam 9 pagi. Dari arah Petaling Jaya, saya melalui tol berkenaan untuk ke Shah Alam. Sudah sekian lama saya tidak menggunakan laluan ini. Malah sebagai warga emas saya jarang menggunakan lebuhraya. Amat memeranjatkan saya bila wang tunai sudah tidak diterima lagi. Adakah Ringgit Malaysia tidak bernilai lagi? Adakah pelaksanaan ini mesra pelanggan? Apa jadi kepada orang seperti saya yg hanya sekali-sekala menggunakan jalan bertol? Setelah membeli kad tol bernilai RM5.00 apa jadi pada baki yang tidak mungkin digunakan lagi? Ini seperti pengambilan deposit. Tidakkah melanggar akta perbankan berhubung pengambilan deposit? Dimanakah “Corporate Responsibility” pengendali tol? Siapakah yang sebijak ini yang mengajukan sistem yang langsung tidak perihatin? Saya harap pengendali tol dapat berfikir dengan waras dan menyemak semula perlaksanaan sistem tanpa tunai. Kita belum sampai ketahap negara maju. Masih ramai yang miskin. RM5.00 itu besar bagi kami yang miskin.

MyKad: 531102-xx-xxxx

• Had a bad experience in batu tiga toll, I was heading back to kl from Shah Alam unfortunately I forget to took my tngo card which I ald had one , so I decided to pay with cash , I was surprise the staff wasn’t willing let me pass by jus paying the toll fee but wanted me to buy the card with rm 5 . I understand they are changing the system ,but why do I had to buy a new card jus to get pass the toll .