Ford EcoSport 1.5 listed on oto.my – RM96,888?

Click to enlarge screenshots

A Sime Darby Auto Connexion sales advisor has listed a Ford EcoSport Titanium 1.5 on our car classifieds website oto.my for RM96,888. This comes after we noticed the opening of registration of interest for the EcoSport on the Ford Malaysia website.

When the EcoSport was first previewed in Malaysia at KLIMS13, an indicative price of between RM98k to RM108k was given. If this RM96,888 pricetag is accurate, the Fiesta-based SUV will be coming in at slightly below the lower end point of the indicative pricing.

The oto.my ad does list some of the equipment that the EcoSport will be coming with – points that stand out include keyless entry, a sunroof and seven airbags.

ecosport-teaser

The Ford EcoSport will come in with a 1.5 litre Ti-VCT four-cylinder engine mated to a six-speed dual clutch transmission – the same mechanical bits found in the Fiesta 1.5. The engine does 110 PS at 6,300 rpm and 142 Nm at 4,400 rpm in the EcoSport. There is also a variant with the 1.0 litre EcoBoost three-cylinder turbo, but that will only be coming later.

The EcoSport has one competitor in Malaysia so far – the Peugeot 2008, which is priced at RM120k. Looks like the EcoSport’s RM97k pricing undercuts the 2008 by quite a bit then.

Interested? Sign up for updates at the Ford EcoSport registration of interest page.

GALLERY: Ford EcoSport test driven in Thailand

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• For a moment i thought it was the Renault Captur. Look pretty similar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Wisdom on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:54 am

Not bad..
      Rather than the normal City-Vios-Almera, pay slightly more and be different..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:42 am

Good to see, good to drive…

When you are about to change car, you will see how bad the RV is.

And dual clutch? hahaha…

Tested and proven Toyota auto gear is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
    • kudajawi on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:40 am

Better buy Great Wall M4 price only RM4x,xxx.xx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • OMG... on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:46 pm

OMG…yucks…toyota rush looks better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Are you sure on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:29 pm

You do know that toyota rush is basically a glorified avanza with 2wd only and much more expensive than the avanza it’s based on?

• joejambul on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:06 am

nahhh..nexttt!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Beware Dual Clutch on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:32 am

Stay away from dual clutch. I had a Ford Focus dual clutch and the car always breakdown. Do you research before you buy dual clutch. They claim smooth gear change but as seen in VW and Ford, there is always juddering and breakdowns.

Anyway, for most people driving, single clutch is good enough. And single clutch rarely give you problems and breakdowns. Up to you really. If you like waiting for tow trucks and your car always in the service centre but you got bragging rights that you are at the forefront of new technology, then go ahead.

Better to have no bragging rights of new technology but your car hardly breaksdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • lonelyobserve (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:15 am

If you say single clutch gearbox, mostly it will be referred to the 3-pedal conventional manual transmission although there is 2-pedal sequential manual transmission (mostly avaialble on Citroën cars in this country).

Automatic transmission relies on torque converter to transfer engine power to the wheels.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:59 am

If you really want to be technical about it, there are a few clutches in the make up of a standard automatic gearbox as well. It’s just that the primary way engine torque is transferred to the transmission is through a torque converter while in a DCT, it’s by the direct connection of twin clutches.

• Agree!
      I own the 1st batch 1.4 manual Fiesta.
      Each time back to workshop for regular maintenance service, the customer service lady always commented, good decision made in buying the 1.4 manual instead of the 1.6 Dual-Clutch.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 11:52 am

Correct. Personally I do feel the 5-speed manual transmission is a bit dated. However it has two OD gear ratios in 4th and 5th gear(less than 1:1), fuel consumption will be a good promising besides low maintenance fee.

Extra info, in developed countries where 1.0L Ecoboost engine equipped Ford vehicles will have manual transmission as standard or standalone equipment rather than the 6-speed Powershift or conventional auto due to the efficiency the engine and transmission combination.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:35 am

Considering this is the 1.5 model, I feel that it is a bit too overpriced. Yes it has the full safety suite, but thing is, the Fiesta EcoBoost is about 94k, and that comes with a more advanced engine. Plus, being turbo charged, you won’t end up revving it more to get the heavy car moving. Based on the ads on the radio, Ford is giving up to 25k off a new Focus, which means you could get a Focus base model at about the same price as this, or step up to the top end variant for just 10k more than this. It’s a steal!

Somehow, after my experience of sitting in the EcoSport in the down under, then coming back and sitting in the 2008, the 2008 feels so much more premium than the EcoSport. In fact, if only Peugeot gave it a 6 speed auto and the newer 1.2 THP instead, it would be perfect.

• koochai on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:29 am

sudonano…couldn’t find anything abt 25k discount for new focus…guide me please…tq

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:59 am

Whoops, my bad, 25k is on the Everest. it was 5.5k on a Focus, but 15k (a very large sum) on the newer Kuga.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:02 pm

However, a quick check on oto.my (http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/120086/new-2014-ford-focus-titanium-2.0-kuala-lumpur) shows that you could get a base focus for slightly over 100k, some are even going as low as 102k with special dealer discounts.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:19 pm

An urban SUV has its own appeal compared to a hatchback or sedan, however and pricing it at 97k does give it an edge over the Peugeot 2008. The only other contender for an urban SUV at this price point would be the absurdly cheap (if they actually get approval for it) Great Wall SUV set to debut soon. The EcoBoost version won’t be too far off the 97k price point, I reckon.

Did you manage to compare the driving feel of the two cars?

Side note: You do love your french cars.

• zeek (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:24 pm

I really hope they do put that engine. So its kinda like the new 308 in a 2008 body.

• Sorchai (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:37 am

Wah…mahalnya

• joesatriani on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:48 am

…..next!

• zeek (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:50 am

This may be cheaper than the 2008 but it does come with more standard equipment like park assist, sat-nav, 5 star euro NCAP etc. Not to mention better looking. If I was in the market for a compact suv I’d probably wait for the 1.0 EcoBoost model

• Henry on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:13 am

Better buy now while your 100k is still worth 100k. Who knows, come next year it may be worth only 95k.

• slk3879 on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:15 am

Ford, u have the price almost right, just almost.

Peugeot, u c how others price their car?

Honda, better take note of this when u bring in ur Vezel/HR-V later.

• Josh Ling on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:41 am

after driving a fiesta 1.5 myself, i really worried about the performance of this car. fiesta 1.5 is not a very responsive car already, and now they put the same drive train on a bigger, heavier car? oh dear…..

• Hakim on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:46 pm

same drive train? I think you better learn how to read first. :)

• Kavitha sunder on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:48 am

its a nice car. small but cutey. I want to ask my father to buy me for my birthday. I think red is cute. can drive to klang to kl and save fuel. I love it. I can show off to my friends

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Jason liow on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:50 am

wow leal taiko chilly liao. I wan to buy liao. liang loi sure mali one. I got no money liao. must ask dadi lo

• Does toyota rush falls under the same segment?

• Denaihati on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:15 pm

the big front grille looks weird. but looks very spacious inside. not bad price.

• seancorr on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Good price but this could be the price before insurance and road tax?

Nice car to drive especially when going through KL floods haha but the rear boot opens sideways so it will give problems when you park in tight spots and wanted to open the boot.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Price from planet Mars.. or Jupiter. ..

Good.. good luck sales.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:33 pm

50k can get Greatwall 100k a Ford, 120k either a Peugeot 2008 or Mitsubishi ASX . Malaysian is spoilt with choices

• Car-Fans on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Ford Malaysia – To sell this car – Need below RM90K lor ! Pls check your Fiesta Sales Chart ! Is going no where – Stuck! Stuck! Stuck! U want another model to STUCK ?

• Car-Fans on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Ford Malaysia – To sell this car – Need to be under RM90K price lor ! Pls check your Fiesta Sales Chart ! Is going no where – Stuck! Stuck! Stuck! U want another model to STUCK ?

• khinzirhalal on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:08 pm

For this price still consider a bargain compare to Peugeot 2008. But I rather wait for Suzuki S-Cross to come in probably next year.

• nanimamamia on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:10 pm

For this price I can buy two Haval M4, same got 1.5 liter engine. One break down, still got another one…..if 2 break down, still got some balance for me to take taxi…