Infiniti Q50 2.0T and Hybrid coming to Malaysia soon!

infiniti-q50-hybrid-malaysia

The Infiniti Q50 was first previewed in Malaysia at the KLIMS13 show last year. It was later showcased at Aloft KL Sentral in April. Word at that point was that the Q50 was set to be launched sometime this year. We now have news that bookings are now open for the Q50, with an official launch slated for sometime towards late August or early September.

Three variants will be available here – an Infiniti Q50 2.0 Turbo with an estimated price of under RM250k, a Q50 2.0 Turbo Premium with added equipment, as well as range topping Q50 Hybrid Sport which will go for under RM400k. No official estimated price for the Q50 2.0 Turbo Premium for now.

Most will go for the 2.0 Turbo, which is powered by Mercedes-Benz. The Q50’s engine is derived from the unit currently in the W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class facelift. It even uses the same seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus gearbox as the Merc. In Infiniti’s tune, the 1,991 cc four-pot does 214 PS at 5,500 rpm and 320 Nm of torque from just 1,250 rpm to 3,500 rpm.

That power output is somewhere in between the F30’s 320i (184 hp, 270 Nm) and 328i (245 hp, 340 Nm) levels, but around the price of a 320i. We don’t know what kind of kit the Premium variant will have, but it shouldn’t push the price over RM300k. From what we understand, the Malaysian 2.0T won’t get the steer-by-wire system the Q50 is famous for, but the hybrid model will.

The top of the range hybrid’s 3.5 litre V6 does 302 hp and 350 Nm of torque, and is assisted by an electric motor that has 67 hp/270 Nm. We’ve tried the hybrid model in Malaysia and Anthony will be giving you his first impressions in the next few weeks. Meanwhile, you can read Jonathan’s take on the car from his short drive in the US.

Here are my own brief first impressions of the Malaysian spec car. The Q50 feels larger than its rivals, with a noticeably wider interior, and there seems to be more legroom as well. You won’t be getting Lexus ES levels of space, but compared to the traditional rear-wheel drive premium compact sedan in the RM200k to RM300k range, it will be less of an interior space sacrifice for a Nissan Teana buyer who’s upgrading.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Is the 250k Q50 a CKD model?
    The price kind of indicate so.

• Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Bravo, well done Japanese car. Good spec and good RV.

Let’s see the legendary Proton hybrid launch first or the Infiniti launch first.

I won’t be surprised the Proton hybrid will only launch after Infiniti launch their SECOND generation hybrid in Malaysia. You can mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:42 pm

no need to launch hybrid..p1 hybrid no quality..

• Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Good quality or not, can sell or not, do Proton really care?

It is not about making profit, it is all about the EGO or PRIDE that “Malaysia can design and make their own car”.

Because of this stupid EGO/PRIDE, all Malaysians have to suffer 32 years on either high Proton maintenance cost or high foreign car price because of the almighty “Perlindungan”. And some smart Proton fanboys even link it with patriotism. You don’t buy Proton you don’t love your own country. What a laugh!

For a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

For a few to keep on feel syok sendiri, all Malaysians have to suffer with their hard earned money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • No EEV kah? on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:30 pm

But Mahathir said Proton quality going up. He just said it. I think their quality will be better than Mercedes or Porsche.

Proton will come out with the best Hybrid in Malaysia.

But any of Mahathir’s sons and daughters using Proton? I don’t see. Marina also always in Bangsar don’t use Proton.

• No EEV kah? on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:27 pm

What a total rip off. The Q50 Hybrid Sport should qualitfy for EEV. Why is it being sold for RM400k plus? Its tax free kan?

Is Infinity Malaysia trying to cheat Malaysians? Looks like it. No wonder why nobody buys Infinity in Malaysia. Hardly see the car on the roads.

Please Infinity Malaysia, how does the Hybrid not qualify for EEV? You should ask MITI to give you tax exemption. Or have you already? And want to screw the rakyat of Malaysia for more money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • tikus on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Fully import mah….only CKD will granted free tax. Like Merc S class hybrid.

• doink on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:32 am

why lah, in our country, lived people who never really study something thoroughly before vomiting shit out of their mouth?

• kzm (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:40 pm

CKD no quality..better CBU japan

• heybadigol on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:17 pm

How sure are we the pricing the base model will be around the same as the 320i? Seems like good value if true. If yes, then this may sell like hot lemang during Hari Raya.

I would buy the 2.0T Q50 over the Lexus IS250. Although the IS’ 2.5 V6 is creamy smooth and sounds great, its a bit lacking in horsepower & torque. Which the Q50 addresses with turbo. Hope to see a comparo in the future of the F30, IS, new C Class and Q50.

• rifle on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Agree..and by the exterior design, I also prefer Q50 over C-class, 3er, or IS.

• I find the Q50 kinda similar to Teana. I mean the curvy line and no hard angle (or whatever you call it). So one look, it is hard to tell Nissan and Infiniti apart whereas Lexus design is always distinct from Toyota.

Just my opinion.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:42 pm

If the Infiniti hot shots are smart, they will try to price it around the price of the 320i with which the Q50 is intended to compete against. BMW is by far the more trusted luxury brand when compared to Infiniti in Malaysia (and maybe elsewhere in the world) so if they price it above the 320i, people might think “why should I get this expensive car of questionable quality and luxury if I can get a 320i from a more well-known and trusted brand for less money?”

If anything, I think they will try to price it below the 320i.

The Q50 is a really handsome vehicle. I hope to see it on the roads of the city where I live. Getting quite sick and tired of seeing all these BMWs…

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Finally, it would actually make sense to consider an Infiniti now that it has a more tax friendly engine. Instead of the IS250 which comes with a larger 2.5L engine, the fuel economy benefits and the lower road tax would make this a better Japanese alternative.

And imo, this Q50 actually looks nicer than the IS, especially in that red!

• heybadigol on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Lexus also has a similar shade of red if you check out motor trend’s comparo of both cars. Not sure if that colour is available here though for both Q50 & IS.

Im quite excited by the new Q50. Finally, one can buy a (supposedly) reliable Japanese luxury car without having to fork up exorbitant road tax (though someone who can afford such a car wouldn’t find the extra road tax burdensome). And its got the latest downsized turbo 4 cylinder. Something which all the German premium brands (and even Cadillac) already has. If only Lexus would bring in the NX’s 2.0 turbo into the local IS. Then the IS would be VERY interesting. Most reviews already say the IS handles better than the Q50, and even the new C Class. So, a turbo 2.0 IS would just be icing on the cake.

• Josh Ling on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:54 pm

i really like the idea of owning an infiniti car with MB engine and gearbox! wow…..this is a rather strong selling point by itself!

• Proton better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Ainon on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:39 pm

If the Q50T price is kept below RM250k then it’s quite good value considering that in the UK its starting price is GBP32k.
    I hope its not premature to say bravo to Tan Chong & Auto Dunia JV.

• gaviny on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:50 pm

hmm good buy but then the volvo v40 suddenly jumps in also at 190k but with 214 hp on tap also , possibly 245 with new drive-e engine expected sometime next year

• qwerty on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:28 am

Volvo has lost its charm over the years, under poor management and poor product planning.

It’s no longer on par with the Germans and Japanese luxury trio in terms of brand image. What a shame.

• john connor on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:13 pm

lòoks like mazda 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Abah Ko on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:27 pm

i just wanna say that this car is ugly.. the exterior design is just plain ugly.. Mazda 6 is 1000 times nicer than this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Wong san on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Why don u bring in earlier when Hybrid, (even) CBU enjoys import duty and excise duty exemption since it is below 2000cc???!!!