Proton needs at least a year to turn around – Dr M

proton-suprima-s-tun-dr-mahathir-9

Proton Holdings Bhd needs at least a year to turn around, chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has said, according to a New Straits Times report. In the quest to improve the quality of its products, the former PM said the national carmaker will need to provide more training for its staff and get capital injection.

“There is public perception that Proton manufactures low-quality cars. To convince people that Proton has improved the quality of its products is not easy. But God willing, we will be able to turn around.

“It should take not less than a year. Even one year is not sufficient for Proton to recover completely. There will still be problems but we will improve as we go along,” NST quoted Mahathir as saying.

Mahathir also spoke of plans to move operations and facilities at Shah Alam to the site of the newer Tanjung Malim plant, in a bid to help boost production capacity and centralise group operations.

IMG_4972

“We hope to move to the Tanjung Malim plant in less than five years,” he said, adding that the national carmaker has spent around RM1.8 billion on the high-tech facility and plans to invest several hundred million more to expand the plant as well as build staff residences.

In another NST report, Mahathir said Proton is producing more global cars with nearly zero defects, which are poised to give Japanese and Korean competition a run for their money.

“I believe Proton can produce quality cars better than those produced by the Japanese and Koreans. Our upcoming new products will prove that. We have engaged with all Proton staff to implement our new strategy and direction to ensure the success of our turn-around plan,” he said yesterday.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kudajawi on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:38 am

One year = 30 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 24
    • Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Forever “one year” to turn around
      Forever “more capital injection”
      Forever “improving quality”

Typical Proton lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok

The TRUTH and FACT are: Proton is nothing much than junk.

For a company to keep surviving, all Malaysians have to survive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 22
      • Protonsucks on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Ah_Beng_Support_Proton, where are you? Come join the discussion of your pondan Proton 1-year turn around ambition.

Proton take 32 years yet fail to turn around (Saturn only take 29.66 years to turn around the Sun). I am sure your own pondan turn around would be much faster. LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 13
        • PROTON did not get “Turn Around”

Only get “U-Turn” by using other japs model and rebadging, same goes to perodua though

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

I don’t mind it U turn by rebadging car. At least it make money. I don’t mind to buy rebadged accord perdana, at least I knew it is good.

The most important thing for a company is PROFIT!

Can design and make own car, really doesn’t matter!!

Our problem is the leaders have this EGO and PRIDE issue with self design car, then end up all Malaysian suffer in order to protect that EGO and PRIDE.

Their EGO/PRIDE more important, or your hard earned money more important?

Their EGO/PRIDE more important, or Proton’s profit more important?

You tell me.

End of the day, are you proud of Proton now? You tell me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
          • Ada Pakai Proton Tun? on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Any of Mahathir’s sons and daughters using Proton? I don’t see. Marina also always in Bangsar don’t use Proton. Sons also use Porsche.

Is Tun using a Proton? Or just talk big?

You should drive a Proton and ask your kids also to support you by driving Protons

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 4
          • Car-Fans on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Tun’s sister also don’t use Proton – come to A/S Kedah – Check it out yourself :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • The Truth about Proton on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:19 pm

It is solely because of Mahathir that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top sepc Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from the princap in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of protecting Proton and keeping Mahathir’s Proton dream alive, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton.

Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

If they don’t comply, these brands like Honda and Toyota will get their punishment which is they will get lesser APs to bring their models down or difficulty in bringing their CKD parts down to assemble the CKD models here.

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

In the meantime, we Malaysians will suffer another 30 years with very high cars prices and very high car loans. The government also makes sure their GLC and government banks also get a free ride from the rakyat. Because cars are so expensive, every single Malaysian is forced to take 9 year loans from the banks to buy a car. And most banks are GLC or GOvernment owned. All get a free ride. Ever wondered why only Proton gets high interest rates compared to other car brands? Isn’t Proton conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat?

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Few months ago, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Because of Mahathir and Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost.

Ask anyone in the car industry, Malaysia in the 80s was on its way to become the Detroit of Asia. All car companies wanted to set up their plants to CKD in Malaysia.

If Malaysia was the Detroit of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions to be exact.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Multiply that with say 20 car companies CKDing in Malaysia for the world market……Trillions lost!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 15
          • the only thing i can do is boikot proton.
            i swear wont buy any proton in the future.
            i believed if everybody can do that, proton either become better or bankcrupt.
            both also good for the Malaysian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
          • Antar on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Work harder and be smarter , don’t blame others for your hard living and your own incompetence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 45
        • Aniq_Affandi on Jul 31, 2014 at 12:41 am

Your name itsef Proton Sucks, So i wouldn’t expect anything more than a typical bashing from a guy like you. Do you use a Proton? Well, I do. A wira for the past 8 years and I am still using it. What is the matter for you people. Do something wrong. Don’t do something also wrong. What is the point of all these? Want some real change UBAH LA ! Make a proper paper or news report or a proper petition based on facts. You wanna sit here barking on your keyboard. No point bro.

• Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Forever “one year” to turn around
      Forever “more capital injection”
      Forever “improving quality”

Typical Proton lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok

The TRUTH and FACT are: Proton is nothing much than junk.

For a company to keep surviving, all Malaysians have to suffer*.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • fast5 on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Build better quality?
      First change the management then Will provide better quality.

Losing millions?
      1 year turn around losing more millions.

Proton got hope can be better, but not under a Doctor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
    • sutrak on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:00 pm

he himself cannot turn around in 30 yrs but he expect proton to turn around in 1 yr. what a load of crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 11
    • OMG….haha…”P1 needs at least 1 year to play around”….LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • kington on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:55 pm

How many years and how much money have WE wasted on Proton?

Close it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • rifle on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:58 pm

I have wira n blm..and I dare say blm is much better than wira..never have major issue within this 5 years..and it also drives better..it proved that proton is improving eventhough slower than the koreans..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 42
      • Low Budget on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:26 pm

To do business is with profit in mind, if can’t even make money in ‘protective’ home market, then what is the point if the present product have better quality than the previous ones?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Bung Moktar on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:27 pm

have you driven other cars bro? If one has never tasted better things, of course you can’t draw proper comparisons. Long live Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:10 pm

p1 need to export more thats the oni way to turn around..sell in boleh only does not cut anymore. they need to enter china n india where market are big..n spam other market with their cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Jaguh Kangkung on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Use Brunei tax free price car market as benchmark. If Proton No.1 in Brunei, it should be No.1 elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • kzm (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Since when brunei car is tax free? brunei has car excise duties ranging from 15-35% based on engine capacity…

• Aniq_Affandi on Jul 31, 2014 at 12:49 am

i would suggest that too. considering the fact that we do not have much support from Malaysians, we should push out the stocks to other countries. It’s better to lose some than to lose all. Fair enough I guess.

• OMG…Dr.M, should i sing a song for you called “Turn Around” ….LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Nissan on Jul 12, 2014 at 5:04 pm

he say AT LEAST 1 year, so it could be more than a century.

• TheDuh on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:45 am

Capital injection, I wonder from where eh. No prizes for guessing correctly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
  • All these sounds too good to be true. In previous stories, Proton has been committed for years, and still there’s no turn around. I believe that Proton can improve, its just that this kind of business should not involve in politics. This is giving our car national company a bad mojo. If this company is privatized (no government support, DRB is owned by the govt, even though they claim Proton is a privatized company) like any other car brands, this will literally solve all these hiccups.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • If this was a private enterprise:

1. It wouldn’t even have gotten off the ground because the whole business model isn’t one bit feasible. No investors will bite.

2. Even if it did managed to get off, it would have wind down 10 years ago because of massive losses.

This kind of venture can last as long as it did is simply because of government intervention.

• I can say you are part wrong. Why? Because private companies has freedom to do what they want. Unlike government, they don’t support creativity and innovation. All they want is cheap cost with high profitability.

Second of all, they have the saying “support buatan Malaysia” in supermarkets, and they work because it is set on a reasonable price. Why proton wouldn’t want to do that. They maybe cheap, but the quality is horrific I must say.

3rd of all, private company can get private investors to invest more on the company, which is a open share market. This helps people develop skills and freedom to think and do on how they want to market their products. Government can just inject money from the rakyats funds and collect note debts from us. Just like Tesla. They started few years ago, and where are they now? They are selling globally.

Gm, ford, Mercedes, or any other companies are private because of these few reasons stated.

• Elon Musk is already a billionaire when he started Tesla, no prize for guessing where the major funds came from. His niche is EV.

Ford, Mercs, GM were all pioneers in the industry.

You can certainly do any business you want. But like what my ex-boss would say:

‘Can you take on the Goliaths? Of course you can! But you will bleed, bruised and be battered…hard.’

Exactly what is happening to Proton.

• salambangi on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:51 am

I believe you can do it. All the best Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 58
    • kudajawi on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Year 2014 = “Proton needs at least a year to turn around”

Year 2044 = “Proton needs at least a year to turn around”

Year 2074 = “Proton needs at least a year to turn around”

Year 2104 = “Proton needs at least a year to turn around”

repeat that every 30 years ok!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 29
      • God have mercy on us the rakyat! dont let it have another 30 years….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Spirior on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:51 am

So what’s the plan? New engine? New market? New product segment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • OK, we will see… maybe another 10 years, they will be still the same if Proton management staffs didn’t change. If nothing change internally, don’t expect to have big changes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • One good thing since he became new chairman is that they admit,officially,that they have quality issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Didn’t they blame on it the consumers? Even Tun M doesn’t drive a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • AVH (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:58 am

“It should take not less than a year. Even one year is not sufficient for Proton to recover completely. There will still be problems but we will improve as we go along,”

Well at least this statement is a damn sight more realistic than “penetrate the international market on par with South Korean and Japanese car manufacturers”. It will be fairly interesting to see if The Doctor’s words can match the companies results. As for Proton beating the East Asian for quality, its not an impossible expectation(unless of course we bring in stuff like Genesis or Lexus/Infinity), the results speaks for themselves and having driven the Suprima S recently, they’ve have some work to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • pondan on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Proton had 30 years and still screwed. What do you think 1 year can do?

When DRB took over, promised that will turn around but yet empty talk.

Can’t deny the fact that this is another empty talk just as Proton did in the past 30 years. But one thing that Proton deliver consistently is sucking malaysian dry.

All the best and not wishes from me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
  • Malaysia Boleh. We have the know how to make the plane disappear, sure we can make proton be on top of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
    • Proton also know how to make our tax money disappear what..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Have you compared healthcare costs in Malaysia vs Europe or worse yet America? (and there are plenty of very poor Americans… they can go die when they are sick, cause they can’t afford any treatment)

Some of the tax income goes back to the people, besides tax rates in many areas are rather low compared to other countries. In turn Malaysia gets their money through car taxes. Lower one area, raise another. I have seen that many times with my government, and health care costs are going up while benefits are going down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • kudajawi on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Lu cakap banyak lah, how about tell us Bolehland korupsi benefits going up or down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Key words he gave: “It should take not less than a year. Even one year is not sufficient for Proton to recover completely.”

At least he acknowledged the difficulty of the undertaking. Still, Proton has yet to truly acknowledge what had led the rakyat to spurn their cars. He doesn’t seem to want to acknowledge that there was a time when Proton car quality was terrible and that is where the “public perception that Proton manufactures low-quality cars” came from. Once bitten, twice shy.
    But let us see then, where they will be within a year’s time. July 10, 2015.

They’re asking for yet another capital injection which they might or might not receive but seeing as how he is very influential, I think it is very likely they will get…something, at least. He had better not waste it if he gets it. With Malaysia’s economy the way it is now, the country cannot afford to fund another fail project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Ridiculously on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:25 pm

After PKFZ, Lembu, Bakun dam, MAS, Perwaja etc…yes Bolehland cannot afford to fund another fail project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • AVH (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:30 pm

So far, the only Proton car I’ve been in with respectable amount of quality…….is the Proton Inspira.

The Suprima S has really good paper spec, something we armchair generals like to argue with. But the interior, but its still tacky(buttons and everything) when compared to the East Asian and I find that as a recent trend, visibility out isn’t really good, and I thought Honda’s thick A pillar was bad. It has however respectable NVH(better than Honda’s I’ve got to say) and ride quality I’ll give it that. But engine noise(and what I think Turbo whine, could be CVT) is still strong.

All in all, is the refinement, how its all package together and all interacts together that Proton hasn’t got it yet and I do hope that is the ‘quality’ The Doctor is talking about. I know I’am going to be showered by dislike-missiles for this but look at Toyota, VW and Nissan. Engine, Chassis, ride comfort and maintenance(FC and engine parts), I believe they got one of the best balance of all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Alahai on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:22 pm

“…respectable NVH….But engine noise is still strong.”

You know what NVH means or not? Self contradict yourself there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:04 pm

When the engine isn’t revved up, the NVH was pretty decent but once the throttle is stabbed, the engine overwhelms what insulation there is and fills the cabin with a really loud growl. After you take your foot off the throttle, the engine sound just fades away just as if didn’t happen.

TL;DR: Engine is very loud at higher revs. Cabin quite well insulated from road and wind noise.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:01 pm

NVH is Noise Vibration Harshness…..there’s a collective group of factors that influence this group. Road noise, wind noise, engine noise, transmission noise, car viibration, dash vibration….etc, etc.

So what I am trying to say is that all of these factors but one, engine noise, is respectable.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Usually the Inspira is left out of discussions about Proton’s cars, no? :P

I tried out both the Preve and Suprima S on separate occasions and actually found them to be quite good (if you’re wondering why, prior to that I was driving around a Saga Iswara and a 1989 Mitsu Pajero before that. I don’t know what you found to be tacky but the buttons and controls felt quite ok to me. The softness of the Surpima S leather did make me have a few doubts about the durability, though. I found the rolling NVH is pretty good at the speeds we were limited to on such road conditions (about 70 max) but the engine growl was deafening and unpleasant to listen to when gunning it for junction exit and overtaking. The main thing that threw me off was the FC people were getting on the Preve CFE and I needed a more frugal car (the Pajero was real thirsty and the Saga was better but not frugal enough for my taste). And also the dubious quality checking Proton is infamous for. I really want to give them the benefit of the doubt but other factors like budget and NVH conspired to point me the other way.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Tacky….in the sense that it is very loose. Since you’re driving the Saga Iswara, the quality on the switches are rather good, solid and 80s chunky. Not sure on the Pajero. If you say, hop into a Alza or Myvi(last gen) The switches feels loose and the penals looks like its just stamp together, thou the Suprima dash has a much more solid feel than the Alza.

• Lemer on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:11 pm

We support you Proton. Your car is better equipped, better safety package and fun to drive than Sushinor kimchi brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 58
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:12 pm

We have given them 25 years to turn around, come on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • “I believe Proton can produce quality cars better than those produced by the Japanese and Koreans” Yes you will after you are being sold to the Japanese car company. 30 years and you are still relying on nation support and producing thirsty cars. Today’s quality cars also means fuel efficiency and Proton are way way behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Ridiculously on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:28 pm

If failed again, go to Japan find new partner…Again!

Proton in talks with Japanese carmakers to help improve fortunes
      By Marina Emmanuel, New Straits Times, 23 May 2014

TOKYO: Proton Holdings Bhd is in talks with several Japanese carmakers to help the national carmaker improve its fortunes.

Proton Holdings chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today however said that any strategic collaboration was unlikely to involve Mitsubishi Motors, its first partner for technology and parts.

“We are looking at other Japanese automotive makers and right now we are cooperating with Honda,” he told reporters here after speaking at a seminar on investment and trade opportunities in Kedah at Hotel New Otani.

Dr Mahathir was responding to Japanese pressmen on whether Proton would continue its former tie-up with Mitsubishi.

“We want to find the right technology partner and are currently speaking with some Japanese parties,” he added, saying that Proton’s performance can be improved.

“We must focus on exports and would like to invite Japanese automotive companies to come to Malaysia,” Dr Mahathir said.

The day-long event which was organised by Kedah Investment Centre (a subsidiary of the Kedah State Chief Minister Inc) was also attended by Dr Mahathir’s wife Tun Dr Siti Hasmah Mohd Ali, Malaysian Ambassador to Japan Datuk Shahabuddin Mohd Som, Kedah state executive councillor Datuk Dr Ku Abdul Rahman Ku Ismail, Kedah State Economic Planning Unit director Datuk Abu Bakar Said and Northern Corridor Implementation Authority chief executive Datuk Redza Abdul Rafiq.

• Low Budget on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Don’t forget they also went China to talk with the manufacturer there, next destination could be India.

• Lemer on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:42 pm

You wrong, you weee getting conned by Sushi and kimchi cheating by using thin body metal to get lower body weight. Ever wonder you drive sushi and kimchi like riding on boat? Proton way better producing better car driving 180 km/h still solid and stable. Good job Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
      • You are wrong on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Sushi & Kimchi using thin body to get lower body weight?Sounds like you just got out of the jungle, without knowing anything about automotive technologies and the way to reduce weight. If you buy a car just for the ride quality and nothing else, maybe you should ask proton to sell you only the chasis and suspension, without the body and other stuff. Can save you a lot of money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:15 pm

If you knock on the side of the door to judge whether the metal is thin or not, you might be mistaken because good sound insulation can also produce a solid knocking sound. Thickness is also no indicator of solidness now since there are metallurgy techniques to improve metal rigidity and toughness without the thickness.

• You must be the type that goes to car show rooms and bang the doors of cars to feel the “solidness” and also push on the sheet metals on doors and bonnets. Sheet metal bends and say “Wah so Thin One!!”
        Come on, improvement in metallurgy techniques ensure higher rigidity and strength for lesser amount of metal used. You don’t want to be riding a tank right?
        Compare NCAP or EUROCAP results and see the ratings for sushi cars vs proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Lemer on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Nasi lemak Preve & Suprima are having score higher than many sushi models on same segment.

• Afraid on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Prove it bro and i really hope you don’t mean Asean NCAP.
            Amen has commented below and proven your nasi lemak Preve & Suprima is actually inferior to sushi under Australia NCAP.
            I guess Proton ain’t doing such a good job after all. Kudos to sushi!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:24 pm

What are you talking about? If I can push in the door that’s not high strength steel that is thick enough. Have you missed that the Preve uses high strength steel, unlike competitors? And in crash tests Proton does well, not just in the useless ASEAN NCAP that was designed to make Toyota and Honda look good (2 airbag car can pass because the side impact results are ignored! They tested the cars, realized the results are awful and then quickly changed the rules to make sure results aren’t bad).

• Ok lets compare Australia NCAP ratings for the cars.
            Why did i take Australia NCAP ratings is due to Proton cars are included and they have ratings for side impact test and pole impact test as part of its ratings. Another note is they all come with 6 airbags as standard, ABS, ESP as standard so its a fair game unlike our Asean NCAP.
            All cars listed are C-segment cars.

Mazda 3 2014: 36.4 (6 airbags)
            Golf 2013: 35.92 (7 airbags)
            Civic 2012: 35.91 (6 airbags)
            Hyundai i30: 35.69 (7 airbags)
            Cerato 2013: 35.51 (6 airbags)
            Altis 2014: 34.88 (7 airbags)
            Preve 2013: 34.25 (6 airbags)
            Suprima S 2013: 34.25 (6 airbags)
            Focus 2011-2014: 34.11(6 airbags)
            Lancer 2010: 33.56 (7 airbags)
            Elantra 2011: 33.21 (6 airbags)
            Sylphy 2013: 32.67 (6 airbags)

I think the scores here speaks for itself especially those that complain sushi cars are milo tins and Preve has high strength steel. Still its commendable that Proton has an average score among the C segment cars listed here but it still lose to Toyota, Honda, Mazda, VW, Kia, Hyundai makes.

• Low Budget on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Are u a qualified car reviewer? How come Koreans marques are world fifth in term of volume sales and Proton can only smells their fart?

• torque on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:18 pm

A year, 10 years…naaahhh, even 30 years chances have been given but ok…if this time Proton can’t turn around, macam mana Tun? No need a year lah, Malaysian gives you 2 years…if still can’t sustain itself how? Ada berani ker Tun together with DRB to close down Proton, once and for all end Malaysian’s tax payer money bailouts? Don’t get me wrong, I used to owned and support Proton but even me had to one point draw the line and say ENOUGH! Would you dare to do the same Tun? Why I think Proton can’t make it? Even in this protected market, Proton can’t stand on its two feet so how laa…plus get rid of Lotus, cronies, crappy vendor and focus on engine/transmission building rather than brag “Handling by Lotus”, only then Proton MIGHT see some light at the end of the tunnel.

• roxas on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:19 pm

nearly zero defect?? i think the best car manufacturer still have defects too = = talk too big

• Low Budget on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Lets give him benefit of doubt and start queing up at Proton sales counter.

• I think it is easier for them to achieve 0 profit..since now they only earn 500 for selling one unit..

• 5 years later this 93 year old fart will tell that he & his cronies are still not tired of suckling rakyat’s blood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • shinigami on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:35 pm

I dont think he will live to see it though.

• Close ASAP on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:00 pm

I like this idea. When the living stops, so will the suffering….

• Absolute Rider on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Please make sure.

• Ray (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Uhh they already had so many years, why can’t i see progress?

• Charles on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Give life time warranty power window is a big progress. Not even Mercedes or Rolls Royce can do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Ray (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:30 pm

I’ll take that as sarcasm :D

• sham-xturbo on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Give lifetime warranty for power windows.
        But power windows still fail.
        Go service centre proton change for u.
        But did the so called first tier proton vendor give lifetime guarantee to proton?
        Does proton still pay the crony vendor for each new power window?
        So how to make money and who makes the money?
        Any wonder why “we only make rm500 for each car sold”?

• Tun M,you may just save Proton.

In fact, if Proton is willing to turn around again and gain back people’s trust,you don’t need a timeline,just 1 product. Your next product. The GSC. Forget Preve or Suprima S. Make the GSC as a turning point. Make it a new start.Rectify all the shits and problems from Preve and Suprima,increase the built quality,at least on par with Perodua’s cars.Good quality cars leads to less visit to SC. Less visit to SC means less facing shitty service. And everyone is happy.

Use that as a proving ground. But you have to make sure the GSC is ready. In everything. In terms of performance,safety and built quality. It doesn’t have to take much time. If the GSC is good enough, the masses will tell the story. Words spread like fire. You do good,the fire creates trust. You do bad,it burns you. Then,no need 1 year,just close shop.

If you can make this happen,the GSC might be the sole savior of people’s trust to Proton. After that,if you maintain the momentum,future products of Proton maybe the best affordable choice for Proton.

All hopes on GSC.

Good luck Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Absolute Rider on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Training has to be given from time to time to upgrade staff. Same thing goes to Proton vendors. It doesn’t mean after graduate from university we know everything. We still need to read and upgrade ourselves.

This is not perception about Proton manufactures low quality cars. It’s the truth. Sorry to say.

• albag on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:59 pm

At least a year or more to songlap

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Two years also can.. janji dapat duit..

Hahaha. .

So pathetic Protong samph..

Hahaha. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • without the correct product i dont think so, campro engines are wayy obselete, preve/suprima not accepted well, new savy replacement still gonna b whacked by myvi. so what else do they have?

• shawal on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:05 pm

There was a time when the alfa-inspired perdana v6 facelift was thrown into a shoot out by autocar asean against kia optima and another left field d segment…

And it came out on top….

Its best that proton look back into that car for some guidance on how it did produced a quality car..

My friend had one…and it was 1 of protons best products…partly due to its japanese sources vendors

• Look at where Kia Optima or K5 is now. A totally improved car even the US motorist journalist are giving good review. Where is PV6 now? Discontinued because of old technology and high maintenance costs.

This shows Korean learnt from their mistakes whereas Proton capitalised on their mistakes and simply produce the same car without any improvement.

Since Optima was introduced with that ugly grille it is now at 3rd generation car. PV6 was introduced in 1990 and had only one face lift putting the alfa inspired grill and some minor changes..

PV6 was a good car but Proton failed to improve and release new model.

• MoreThanOneYear on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:10 pm

“It should take not less than a year.”

So technically “100 years” is also not less than a year. Read between the lines, so u can’t complaint one year later.

• hohaho on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:20 pm

“I believe Proton can produce quality cars better than those produced by the Japanese and Koreans.”

This day will come when it snows in Bolehland.

• longjaafar on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:23 pm

In a year?? I don’t believe it.
    Unless somehow the government pumps in a few billions, which I think will be the case, here.
    Based on the existing capital structure, even ten years is not enough.

• This one say 1 year. After 1 year resign, then new CEO say 2 years. After 2 years resign and so on.
    Life is good, every year asking the public to renew trust on them while them continue to screw the people.

• i only trust promise from DSZ

• Do it on your own time!

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Hahaha. .

Hahaha. ..

Don’t comment.. some beruk will say you are not productive, waste time bla bla…

So funny. .

Hahaha. ..

• Denaihati on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:03 pm

“producing more global cars with nearly zero defects”, hope the zero defect not just at factory but leakages to customer is more important.

• abdullah on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:04 pm

After a year he will say it need another 25 years.
    Malay way of doing business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • kenix tim mun chong on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:10 pm

1 years to make turn around?? tanya proton dulu..

1) berapa banyak facelift product selama ini. Itu Wira pun masih mau kasi production lepas 8-10 tahun.

2) berapa banyak model ciptaan sendiri? selama ini hanya Waja dgn Gen 2 saje.. the rest is copy and paste or buy other car manufacturing model (no need me to code la)

3) harga sebuah kereta. Proton punya harga sangat mahal pakai.. tak berpatutan compare ngan kereta Kimchi.. kreta Kimchi mahal sikit tapi specs baik dan high end.. Proton patut murah dan high end ma klu untuk local.. susah la klu semua mau makan kat sini.

4) research dan development cost tinggi tapi hasilnya talak..

masalah paling besar, semua mau cari makan kat dalam Proton.. check balik kebanyakan proton vendor adalah org sendiri.. kasi buang semua vendor tu, cari vendor luar.. sure boleh kasi murah punye.. itu staff kasi upgrade sikit knowledge la..
    baru cakap lagi ma..

lagi satu, proton sudah diswastakan.. apsal nak mintak perlindungan ngan duit dr kerajaan..
    kasi perjelaskan sikit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Andas on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:13 pm

aku jawab yg last tue jek.. they are going to move from SA to TM.. the land price at SA is around 7billion.. they could sell it and use it as a capital for new model..

• kangkong on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Proton is the best! No other car can beat. Not even H, T, 4-circle, lion, horse, BMW, benz etc can win. I love it too much! Proton you are the best! Dr. M you are the best!!

…..Oh shit, I just scared by my nightmare….

• BETTER CLOSE DOWN-LAH!!!!

WASTING PPL MONEY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • TheCharger on Jul 10, 2014 at 2:47 pm

I think Proton should employ a CEO from other successful car maker and let the CEO run the show.

• amnesia on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Perodua is a successful company, that’s why Proton took Perodua CEO as its boss last time.Correct me if I’m wrong.

• leoRNado on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:44 pm

yes yo are damn correct. But after DRB took place, they want to put their people instead of Datuk Seri Syed Zainal.. so proton already make a turn around before Mahathir appointed as Chairman.. another turn around which will lead to U-Turn..

• Close ASAP on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:19 pm

what? and deprive the mad doc from sucking all the money for himself

• wkaka on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Obviously they won’t allow that, National (Dr.M..) Pride at stake. They would rather let an incompetent person run it than let a real CEO take over.

• superman on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:56 am

they tried that by hiring several ex BMW directors but they were all sent back by drb which could not afford to pay them. they think they can do better than them

• Carlover on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Please la…How many years you all talking another one year more… Rakyat is tire waiting and waste of Rakyat money to support this kind of lousy company. 30 millions rakyat are suffering while 10k unproductive staff getting high pay salary… Close it down and setup some policy to catch back car FDI that Malaysia is very very way behind than Thailand and Indonesia…

• Low Budget on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:56 pm

By tomorrow morning, Proton has 364 days to show to the world their world quality product has arrived.

• lololol on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Cant even do better than some china brands…and now want to challenge japanese n korean cars? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Henry on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:58 pm

After 29 years you still need another year? That would make it a nice round figure, doesn’t it?

• angangan on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:40 am

potong will celebrate potong 30 years anniversaly, and will burn a jumbo fire cracker 1000m height 12 hours long at stadium merdeka start at 12pm mid noon 30/2, dun m:cos want to make it so different from others make it at night, we hv to change the world to make the world change their mind and follow us, not us to follow the world, all poor drivers are welcome and bonanza angpao duit raya $1 will be given to evry people

• truely malaysian on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:42 pm

TM, we are gonna mark this day (10th July, 2014) as the deadline for Proton to turn around.
    There has been a grace period of more than 1 month plus since you became chairman officially (20th May, 2014), your chair is warm already.
    Now, time is ticking, better get to work TM, we are watching you…he he he

• Bataman on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:06 pm

I dont hate Proton. I have a very good Proton car which is an Inspira, because it doesnt have Campro Inside!!!
    Now the arrogant Dictator is back, I will not buy anymore Proton cars!!!!

• Too much excuse

They have taken 3 decades, still keep on acting like a crying baby, though they already at the age of an “Adult”.

Look at the similar age maker, Hyundai (which used to be crying baby too, long time ago), how well are they are doing now…

How well it were to be, if Proton were never existed, and those money wasted on them were used on Public Transports implementation.
    Oh no! Wait, wait, wait, if that were the case, I think those money would still get wasted. The silly LRT system in KL already proven it.

• raja rimba on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:27 pm

you all should see and xperience proton upcoming model…believe me it totally different and a lot of feature…i already see it with my own eye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • dude u high or something?

• Close ASAP on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:34 am

you should see the models and the specs we can afford if Gomen were to close plotong 10 years ago and open up the market to a level and fair playing field

• Sawi Kangkong on Jul 11, 2014 at 11:41 am

I heard the same thing when Proton Savvy was launched last time. Full of hype, hope, excitement and German dude voice TUV. Masih juga sampah.

• Hahaha on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Pathetic

• DSG sucks on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Over a hundred comments. Shows Malaysians still love and care for Proton’s future.

• Samad Jain on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:08 pm

With such piss-poor mentality in Proton, tak-apa mentality, and their easy-way-out attitude, even with another 30 years wont turn Proton around. 1 year simply not gonna work.

Tun M, it is sad enuf that you cheated on the rakyat. It is even more sad that you even cheat your own, and denying the fact of poor management of Proton within.

Sorry to say, but this is the fact.

• Lightning on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Tun M, within 1 year to turn around a 3 decade year old company will be wishful thinking. Stop this nonsense and retire. You already had your fun. Let the new generation to do the change and clean up your mess.

• protonsucks on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:55 pm

u c my head from my hair, from the day i was born , until now my head getting botak and also having grandchildren already..and yet proton still asking for time, boycott proton so they die fast, the Tun M is next to die

• oh my baby is 30 years old and he still cant make money to self sustain… no worries, daddy will support you my dear son. Daddy believes in you and i am sure sure can outdo your competitors (Korean & Japanese) friends in coming years. Everybody please have faith in my son…

• Tua Pao on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:59 am

1. The fact that Proton appoints Mahathir (yes, I deliberately refuse to address him as Tun, he don’t deserve that title) as Chairman as part of turnaround plan is a sign Proton never put any serious thoughts into the plan, if any.

2. Every persons that govt choose to lead turnaround (MAS, Proton) of GLC all says the same thing that a form 5 student will say….the obvious thing. Proton: needs to improve quality, increase export……MAS: Cut cost, increase profitability….Do you really need someone to tell you the time on the watch you are wearing? Please do the obvious thing right…hire a businessman to run a business, not a politician. Only then will you get real business strategy for turn around….not those motherhood statement.

3. Business should always be managed as business…if not viable, exit it. You had 30 yrs to make it viable, and it’s NOT. The fault is the greed and cronyism culture long embedded in Mahathir’s leadership (or lack of it). Don’t drag your ego and pride into it and cause Malaysians to suffer for paying overpriced cars.

• kereta kompak on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:26 am

Guys, sit back and relax. Now he is the chairman of PROTON. His power is expanded. That’s why he can talk about the now direction/planning of future PROTON. Back then he only the advisor. I believe in him…

• joe wee on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:37 am

The proton only takes care of the spare part vendors. The most profitable entity is the vendor. Every general election, these vendors will contribute to UMNO back. You buy proton means you contribute to UMNO.

• besi buruk on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:56 am

no need 1 year lah, just need 1 day to tutup kedai,rakyat samua happy belaka

• isuzuki on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:44 am

I think he meant 100 years. LOL

• isuzuki on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:45 am

I think he meant 100 years. LOL

• Proton tried 30 years and now they are in dump. DRB was talking about Proton turn around plan for three years and they are in dump with billion RM Losses. problem with proton is cronyism, poor mentality and God like Ego from its managers and directors. they think they are in same level like BMW or Merc. they are now even lower that Chinese cars or even Iran made cars. shame on them. proton could be a successful company, just see how Kia turned around in less than three years from one of the worst to one of the best only by hiring a professional design expert. Allah knows where they get the Acordana cars styled now. proton must change all the existing none productive red necks and hire professionals to run the company. I have faith in Tun M but he will not be able to fix Proton problems. I bet all the reports given to him are 100% lie. he does not know the real picture.

• pondan on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:29 am

Gov has given birth to babies that are useless, cry babies, asking for milk all the time and never grow up. with only exception of Petronas.

Look at where we are now, proton, mas, perwaja, mec, drb, pkfz, nfc, ap, crony highway concessions and some much more.

This old fark still think he can play the same old cards on malaysian. May be, 20 30 years ago, people are still too naive to buy into his selfish intention but now, people are more intelligent and smarter.

Please go to hell.

• bbtree on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:36 am

Berapa banyak turn around da..

• old dog on Jul 12, 2014 at 4:10 pm

means they still want G money for another year…
    then next year will say, we see the lights, we need 2 more years….

• Poor Executive on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:50 pm

just wait G to pump in more ppl money only, as they always do