SPYSHOT: Toyota Camry Hybrid spotted on the road

Toyota-Camry-Hybrid-Malaysia-Spyshots-0003

Reader Erh Pin has sent us a picture of the Toyota Camry Hybrid on the open road, the same unit that was spotted at JPJ Putrajaya last month. It looks like the car is being tested for type approval, which possibly means that it will make its local market introduction pretty soon.

The Camry Hybrid is expected to be locally assembled to take advantage of the duty exemptions for hybrid cars provided by the 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP), which is set to last until end-2015. Pricing was last rumoured to be slightly higher than the RM181k range-topping Camry 2.5V.

This particular unit is wearing a bodykit – possibly the same one shown at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS) last year – on top of the standard Hybrid-specific aerodynamic addenda, which includes “aero corners” on the front and rear corners and vortex generators on the door mirror mounts.

CAMRY-HYBRID-JPJ-3

The hybrid powertrain is derived from the Lexus ES 300h and features a 2.5 litre 2AR-FXE VVT-i Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder engine that develops 160 PS and 213 Nm, mated to a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor and an eCVT system that sends power to the front wheels. Total power output is 205 PS, enabling a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 8.6 seconds (1.1 seconds faster than the 2.5V), while fuel consumption is 19.6 km per litre.

We will share launch dates and details of the Malaysian-market Camry Hybrid as soon as it becomes available. In the meantime, what do you think of a 205 PS hybrid D-segment Toyota sedan that’s priced somewhere between RM180k-RM200k region? Share us your thoughts in the comments section.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Quite curious to see how UMW is going to price this. The Camry brand has gone through a lot of beating in the last few years for good reason, all thanks to the incompetence of UMW. Can UMW actually regain all the lost marketshare remains to be seen. It’s high time they come with the hybrid variant, and should have done it in the XV40 days itself.

Though I just hope they won’t do some funny “Additional Safety Pack” again, or else they really deserve a knock with a coconut.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Tax-exempted still want to sell it as a tin kosong at RM180K.
      Top up a bit to get a proper luxury brand, better deal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
      • tax exemption applicable to vehicles less than 2000cc engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
        • shame_Loo on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Sam Loo’s car for Ah Beng.

• UMW Crony Pencuri on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:52 pm

One must be very stupid to get cheated by crony company UMW. Mercedes S350 was nearly RM900k before.

Now Mercedes give a more expensive S400 Hybrid but price drops to RM588k

UMW is opposite. The Hybrid go up in price pulak when tax benefit comes into play.

This shows us one thing. UMW is a greedy and unetchical company. A company that cheats and cheats and cheats.

The is the same when they were taking out the VSC. Just to untung lebih, they throw shit on your safety and life. They did that to the Camry initially, charged a bomb but took out VSC just to make a bigger profit.

The same with the Altis and VIOS. No VSC. All over the world the Altis and Vios comes with VSC as standard. Only Malaysia VSC is taken out.

Do you still want to buy from a company like that? No ethics, so greedy. Only think about making profit profit profit.

Potential Toyota buyers, no matter what model they buy, think carefully. Give your money to a company that cares for your life and the life of your kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Toyota never ask for Perlindungan.

Toyota car can run for more than 10 years no problem (see the 2003 Vios).

Toyota waiting period is long, no need sell 2 years old NEW car.

Toyota service centre attitude good, you no need wait for a month.

Toyota some basic models don’t have VSC, most of them have VSC.

Mercedes of course better, but you want a cheaper mercedes, Toyota it is.

No need shout here shout there before other car maker can make better car than Toyota.

Everything fact based. Vios no VSC selling hot, Preve got VSC no one even bother. Can explain why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • xiper (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:13 pm

That was history dude, starting on 2014 CKD hybrid tax exemption not based on cc

Didn’t you saw the S400L CKD with a huge price cut?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • fast5 on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:43 pm

If really RM180k-RM200k UMW can fire all the last marketing team…
        Or the BOD’s think so mighty toyota is for rich man car (so sorry toyota are not Benz/BMW/Bentley)…
        Lousy UMW… Japan Toyota should terminate yr dealership.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Price is yet to be finalized. Don’t worry everyone. So don’t be unhappy.

If you want:
        1. Luxury
        2. Fuel Economy
        3. Comfort
        4. Status
        5. Space
        6. Good build quality
        7. Good RV
        8. Safety
        9. Power
        10. Cheap Maintenance
        11. Environmental Friendly

This is your perfect car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 111
        • Maseratits on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:34 pm

You forgot to mention these points too

12. Fancy coffin on wheels
          13. Get injured in style when you encounter a serious accident

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0r on Jul 11, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Don’t be naive lar. All crash test are tested at 60km/h. You think your junk class Preve/Suprima S can withstand impact at 100km/h?

5 star? Try get a 5 star at IIHS first lar.

Getting a 5 star ASEANCAP is like Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. I can give Preve a 2000 stars in SelangorNCAP.

Toyota Camry Top Safety Pick car 2014 in IIHS crash test : http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/vehicle/v/toyota/camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • Toyota Fraud on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Same L0r the scum Toyota salesman. Nobody wants to hear your trash. Toyota cars are now known as Coffin on Wheels.

Younger generation all read PT. We all know that Toyota has been cheating people the past 20 years.

• rchoo on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:05 am

For mainly city use will have advantage in fuel consumption. For mainly outstation travel, there is not much advantage, bearing in mind the battery will cost u a limb to replace.

• Same L0r on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:06 pm

You only need to change batter after 300,000 km. It is not like your samsung battery. But i can free power bank for your Samsung phone.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:25 am

I thought your perfect car + ultimate car + dream car is Hailat?

• Same L0r on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Different need, different model. I am professional one.

Sometimes Honda is good also, so does Nissan, Hyundai(bad RV), Kia(bad RV).

But better avoid the junk sendiri cakap sendiri syok cars lar. They are asking the teen to design the car, who knows current models are designed by mamak stall waiters actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Toyota Fraud on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:32 pm

You are wrong. Toyota RV now stinks. 2013 August Camry 2.4 now selling for RM130k, down from RM180k.

Just 11 months, the car can drop RM50,000. That is a record!

2013 Camry 2.0 also now selling for RM105,000. My relative just bought one. No accident at all.
            So who says Toyota has good RV?

Maybe last time lah Same Lor. No more. Public already aware how UMW have been cheating the consumers in Malaysia

• Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:59 pm

apple to apple.
            Compare a 2013 Vios, 2013 Preve, 2013 Fiesta and see…

If Toyota RV drop, others brand will be even more worse.

How much Toyota RV drop, doesn’t matter. Give me a solid case other brand are doing better.

Need to use ur brain a little bit when doing comparison lar.

• who is sam? harry the greatest! on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:21 pm

@Toyota Fraud.. again and again and again I keep on saying that majority of M’sians are sohai spending so much money onto new cars. I kept on emphasizing to buy only 2nds especially in Msia where price of cars are skyhigh! Why buy new when you can buy 2nds? Sohai only will buy new unless you are making a lot of money lah! I have been buying really good 2nds and even if I were to sell my 2nds Toyota now I still make money lar!!! I am the wisest consumer where I will spend time searching for the best 2nds at the best price. Again and again I am just wasting my time educating these sohai who believes in spending all their hard earned money onto a new car just for syiok sendiri and face and forever will be owing to the bank…..

• Apple on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:40 pm

If this car is priced about the RM150K range, then no doubt people will go for it.. And toyota’s hybrid technology is quite advanced actually, just hope that UMW don’t put in a 4speed AT or anything stupid in this car anymore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Toyota Hybrid Synergy Drive will only pair with the advance eCVT transmission.

No belt, no chain, no gear ratio and super reliable since it is planetary gear. Check out the PDU (Power Split Device) online.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
        • Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:35 pm

I meant PSD*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:10 am

I agree. eCVT is impressive tech, and nearly indestructible. I think Toyota might have the best hybrid tech out there, it makes the most sense and is proven already. Didn’t Honda more or less copied HSD in their latest hybrids? They only added an override gear where the engine is directly connected to the wheels.

(And yes, I’m totally honest here, there’s no irony. I like Toyota’s hybrid system).

• Same L0r on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Thanks for your independent and objective comment.

That’s why Toyota Hybrids are so popular. They are advanced and reliable.

Yet they don’t do good enough on certain areas, like the VSC. Yes i admit that.

There is no perfect car anyway. It is your freedom to choose anyway.

We don’t force you to buy with some magical thing called “perlindungan”.

• rchoo on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:07 am

For mainly city use will have advantage in fuel consumption. For mainly outstation travel, there is not much advantage, bearing in mind the battery will cost u a limb to replace.

• Consider the Sales is On Par with Accord, better than Teana, Mazda 6, Sonata, Kia K5.

Camry Accord always the same boss in RM150k D-segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • sutrak on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:11 am

*yawn*…. boriiiinnnggg….

• Will UMW Cheat us again? on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:04 pm

This car is about US$25,000. That is the price sold in the US. That is the price that includes it being very high spec model with 9 airbags and its CBU.

At that price, the US dealership also makes a profit and margin. This price also includes the US Government collecting its taxes from Toyota already.

Toyota USA won’t be selling at that price if it was making a loss. So for sure it is making a margin of each car sold.

UMW Malaysia will get this car far cheaper directly from its Principal in Japan. Most likely UMW will get this car well below US$20,000.

To CKD this car, the price is even cheaper. The cost to UMW will be maybe US$15,000 per unit.

Now this car is tax free. Lets see how much UMW will cut your throat. So roughly the cost to UMW is less than RM50,000 per unit.

Will they charge Malaysians RM200,000 and yet reduce the airbags and other safety features??

This what happens when car companies are GLC and part of the Government. No one to protect the rakyat!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 10
    • Same Lor, All Honda Hyundai Kia Mazda VW also cheat us.

Dr M say we cannot pay low price for good car.
      Thats why we got RM44k and RM54k expensive Saga and Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:12 am

The Audi A6 hybrid was sold for pretty much the price it should cost, with a bit of profit. Probably the same with the S400L hybrid. There is no need for UMW Toyota to charge so much, except for they want to continue selling the 2.0 and 2.5. Toyota should cancel those cars and just sell this one at a good price. Otherwise one of the other brands will do it.

• Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:08 pm

It is all about politics and profit. Toyota can sell Vios same as Persona price, you believe or not?

Key is: Does MITI allow or not? Dr M is asking for more protection, Durex should join marketing with Proton – Protection always better.

• razak on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Could anyone tell me why the price for this hybrid is around RM180-200K?
    Should not hybrid duty free pricing for locally assembled cars should sell for less than petrol Camry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Government Lies on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:17 pm

How can a tax free car cost more than non tax free cars in Malaysia?

Looks like our Malaysian government has again conned the people. They first mooted the idea of EEV and all that bull in the NAP. Now, this is a EEV. Where is my savings from buying an EEV?

So, the whole drama by MAI about EEV, slide after slide was given to the media is all pack of lies. Why confuse the public with EEV when the EEV is going to be more expensive than the local model? In this case a Camry.

Please Government of Malaysia. Enough of lies. Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices? Najib promised this before the elections. He swore to God that he would honour his promise of reducing car prices by up to 30%.

Then when people asked him to honour his promise, he send the pariahs at MAI to confuse the public. MAI said the new NAP with emphasis on EEV would result in lower car prices.

Do you see lower car prices? All I see is an EEV that will cost an arm and a leg.

Enough lah Government of Malaysia. Jangan tipu rakyat lagi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 6
    • cendol (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Never trust a politician, especially a local one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Anti-Establishment on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Government doesn’t need to lie – the rakyat is dumb enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • drMpower on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Prepare to cut your legs and arms

A mitsubishi is reduced by 15% of its price
      Then a honda is reduced by nearly 20% of its price.

To call a spade a spade, he did deliver on his promises to reduce 30% of car prices. And to consider the fact he did that just in after a year, its astonishing very good

U can argue it isnt him, but car companies reduce the price. But u are wrong. He gave the car companies a deal – do CKD operation and they get to sell their cars cheaper – and they all took his offer well. And ah if u keep arguing he has nothing to do with the reduced prices, then surely u cant link him with this nearly 200k tax free (perhaps) camry! Blame UMW for this!

i am not his cyber running dog. I am asking people to train our sight well. Fire the guns at the right people. Its UMW this time.

Get that right, kid. And now u can cut off ur legs. And arms

Ps- paultan, u should start banging about the fuel prices now that price per barrel is costing less than before. U can build your argument on the announced (subsidised) floating fuel mechanism!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:14 am

The savings from EEV are with UMW, if this is the price they’ll sell it for. The Great Wall Haval M4 (?) is so cheap because it’s an EEV. The A6 hybrid was sold so cheap (for what it is) because it’s an EEV. Same with the S400L hybrid. Other brands can give the savings to their customers. UMW is greedy.

• fast5 on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:59 am

Thanks to “Father of AP” Rakyat die poor so he can monopolies automotive industry.
      Those who praise him… Thank you too more and more suffer to Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • GUTIERREZ on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:20 pm

UMW please price it accordingly with supreme specs! please surprise me! i want UMW to repent and shed its arrogant attitude in pricing its cars!

• Vader (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Almost RM200k?
    For me is definitely NO..
    Will prefer Accord at RM150k, another RM50k use for fuel in the free petrol.. let say using a car for 5 years, then will get almost RM400 free petrol per month already.
    But for rich and green, still can consider it lo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Or Teana RM140k with full safety pack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • dexter on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:45 am

its not only the fuel savings part, it comes with 200+ bhp isn’t it? however, one can also turbocharge an accord and it will still be cheaper.

• Rm180k is Too expensive . Is a type of discouragement and let petronas continue subsidy on our fuel tank.

• seancorr on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Close to 200k better get a BMW 316i or save some cash and go for the top spec Accord, Teana and Mazda 6 which are all better cars than the Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Even without taxes they want to charge 180k for it?! Take an example from Mercedes. Drop the other Camry’s and make this the only one offered for 140k. Instant hit, and still plenty of profits.

• Ray (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Toyota’s hybrid tech is better developed than Honda IMO (with reference to the Prius, Civic Hybrids and Insights I’ve been into) but I’m not too sure of later models like the Accord Hybrid. Looking forward to an interesting competition, provided that UMW retains most of the safety features and additional kit though.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:48 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/07/02/2014-honda-accord-hybrid-makes-thai-debut/

Just an idea on the tech behind the latest Accord hybrid, mind you this is not the IMA system of Honda’s past.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:44 pm

You can afford you buy it, if you can’t afford, buy local car.
    And thank God we are better than Zimbabwe already, what more you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
  • If Honda Malaysia launches the Accord hybrid 2.0L here next year, then I think we can just overlook this Camry hybrid because UMW will surely overprice it for an outdated hybrid technology. The Accord hybrid are definitely much more advanced & with cheaper road tax !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:16 am

Honda was behind Toyota for many, many years. The Accord hybrid is basically copying the Toyota hybrid system and putting a Honda badge on it. There is one small improvement, but how much that will help remains to be seen.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:53 pm

If UMW is given tax exemption, then this car is bloody super expensive. It’s time to rethink how much those directors at UMW earn.

• Kenny on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Vader is absolutely right. How stupid to buy this so call Hybrid car at RM200k while u can buy same class of non Hybrid car at RM150k and save the RM50k for fuel of at least 8 years..(RM500*12*8)..Not to mentioned the higher depreciation of the 200k car after 8 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Guys…guys…be patient. Mercedes Benz coming out with CKD class Hybrid at RM170k only. Now thats what you call class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:09 pm

That’s what I asked Najib to do, to free the competition.
      Mazda 3 EEV fully packed at RM81K.
      C-class EEV at RM170K.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Goodness Gracious! No no NO
        Think about Proton for goodness sake.

Sarcasm aside, I belive Mercedes will proceed with that move thou most likely at RM190-RM200k. Mazda I’am not sure, the reason why most hybrid cars were priced that high during the now dead Hybrid-tax-exception-thingy was because Companies could’t lower down the price of their normal A-B normal-powered car and therefore its going to cause some serious product cannabalism. RM91-100k is the lowest expectation from the 3 EEV and even than I believe could be a very optimistic expectation.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:26 am

I think they will have to. Every manufacturer basically has EEV cars, they don’t have to be hybrid. So a manufacturer that doesn’t have good market share, say Renault or Peugeot/Citroen, could decide to CKD a B segment car. Clio TCE 120 perhaps? Then suddenly it becomes a 40-50k B segment car that is good looking and every bit as good as it’s competitors. Sales will explode. So far every EEV car where the manufacturer gave the savings on to their customers did extremely well and sold out for the entire production run (until incentives stop) in a matter of weeks. They can then proceed to offer their other offerings at EEV reduced prices too.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:29 am

EEV could actually be a smart move by the government, that will actually lead to cheaper cars and the abolishment of high car taxes (just offer low FC cars). Performance cars will stay expensive, and to be honest… so what? You don’t need a gas guzzler in Malaysia. It’s a luxury.

• rchoo on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:12 am

Really, Launched already?

• shawal on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Price it below 150k or just shelve the model…

• Don’t buy this car.. not worth it..

• I do not see a reason why I do not go for Toyota’s luxury brother (Lexus CT200h) if i were to consider this Camry for RM200k

• Jack Maverick on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:30 pm

You know.. I’m gonna go ahead and say something unthinkable:

I heard in the news recently that TNB is apparently generating TOO MUCH power from their power plants, excess power for the rakyat, really. Now, what to do with this power? Hrmm..

Our ever-reliable government is giving tax exemptions on EEV cars.. Hrmm..

Now, If I were smart, which I am, and rich and powerful, which I’m not, I would merge this two special situations to transform our shitty motor industry and drastically push full electric vehicles.

I’d hire companies to install car charging stations all over KL because I have so much excess power. I’d bring in small, cheap full electric cars, like the Renaults, i3s and shit, give massive tax exemptions and earn back by selling electricity.

I’d single-handedly make the cities cleaner, quieter, less expensive, less polluted, happier rakyat because their petrol bills are almost negligible, and all that shiz..

Now, vote for me in the next election ya? Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:20 am

If you want to make cities cleaner, make emission tests compulsory, and base car taxes on them, with dirty vehicles being taxed really bad. Long time owners of cars that did badly (and not because the owner removed the catalytic converter) will get some sort of help to buy a new car, i.e. RM 20k that will be deducted from the loan.

• Car-Fans on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:44 pm

What? RM180K not yet give what spect they going throw in ? Got all those safety features boh ?

• jinggo on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:51 pm

apa ni umw? RM200k?! tabuli ni machiem…

• silentsunami on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Taiwan selling Camry Hybrid for 1400000TWD for their highest spec and after exchange rate conversion should be around RM150K.

If UMW selling for RM178K is like day light robbery for Malaysia consumer. Check below for Taiwan Camry Hybrid price

http://www.toyota.com.tw/showroom_CAMRY%20HYBRID/spec.aspx

• Kangkung on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:38 am

Correct RM 150K, somemore, taiwan camry hybrid is CBU Full Full Spec.

• tishaban on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:11 pm

The hybrid Mercedes is the cheapest in its S-Class stable, and the hybrid Audi was the cheapest A6 you could buy back when it was still available.

The hybrid Camry will be the most expensive Camry they sell. Somehow it just tells us a lot about UMW and how they’re fleecing the car buying public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Car_fan on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Still ugly and expensive, being hybrid doesn’t make it any more attractive.

• The most Powerful D-segment below RM200k.

Total power output is 205 PS, enabling a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 8.6 seconds (1.1 seconds faster than the 2.5V), while fuel consumption is 19.6 km per litre.

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:15 pm

I doubt UMW can simply decides what price to sell. It is guided by Toyota stand. I am sure Toyota won’t simply make their cars uncompetitive.

• Prius on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Quite lucky to owned a cbu toyota prius as i got it for rm131k. Sadly, there were no more tax exemption for the cbu hybrid. If umw malaysia sells their camry hybrid at rm180k, it will be overpriced. A base line camry in Los Angeles is about usd 30,000 + sales tax (state tax) 9% still cheaper than the one they quote here in Malaysia. While the prius 4 or the standard spec prius is 28,500 exclude tax. Simliar pricing with the one here in malaysia. Dont forget ap is rm10k and sales tax is 10%. Customs declared the car at rm80k + 10% tax: rm 92k + rm10k (ap) + sales and support = rm131k. I have been to the LA and most people drives prius rather than camry hybrid.

I hope that the toyota camry hybrid priced somewhere around rm150k. Else, it will be overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Kangkung on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:44 am

I dont think UMW price camry hybrid on RM150K. If so, 2.0G, 2.5V no need to sell anymore..

I guess.
      1. UMW price the hybrid above 2.5 price tag. RM180-190K

2. UMW discon the 2.5 petrol. Sell hybrid only.

In order to CKD camry hybrid, maintain the production line capacity. High possible discon 2.5 petrol. Full swing to CKD hybird. coz less tax, higher profit, selling at high price!

Lets wait n see how UMW crony doing.

• Denaihati on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:29 pm

fuel consumption is only 19.6 km per litre. i expect more for hybrid varian, more over the higher price, this not considering the battery maintenance/change yet. overall looks like not the best choice in this price range.

• HI RIYADH. KAU HENSEM

• Prius 1.8 RM131k low specs, high spec RM142k.
    Inferior Civic hybrid is RM120k, 1.5, less power and less fuel saving.

this is Camry 2.5 hybrid more powerful, D-segment.
    RM180k is justifying.

• Jimmy on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:09 pm

We are too used to be conned. Since when the Prius and Civic hybrid are not overpriced?

• UMW must take care their other lines of automobile, if camry hybrid sells at RM140K or below under tax exemption, Altis, petrol camry , all no need sell liao.. UMW boh aneh stupid err

• Jimmy on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Najib should take back the EEV status with tax-exemption if a company refuses to pass the benefit to rakyat.

• Camry on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:17 am

Is it too late to launch in Malaysia? I had been saw many Toyota Camry in Thailand on last year

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:22 am

Why buy lexus when u can get similar and cheaper in toyota.

This is the main issue with lexus. It makes the lexus just don’t worth the extra bit.

• gaviny on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:44 am

honestly with traffic these days, i would be so amused to end the week with a full tank of gas still

• james on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:50 am

Camry 2.5V tax-exempted price is about RM120k. you could refer to Langkawi price. Hybrid motor will cost you another RM 60k-80k if there sell it @ RM180k-200k.
    Wow!!! Unbelievable price tag !!!

• karipap on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:01 am

hahaha…depan is my car. this was in shah alam, depan volvo building. i recognise the lori

• samlok on Jul 11, 2014 at 11:00 am

So EXPENSIVE! cari hantu beli meh?

• Marieta on Jul 11, 2014 at 2:27 pm

button on center console looks like cheap radio I can buy at Mydin or Warta

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 14, 2014 at 8:49 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Ordering on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Come n take a look at any toyota showroom next week..
    Take a test drive first then drop ur comment.. Feel like a mafia when u drive in black n chrome camry hybrid..
    Keep calm n save earth!

• Ketiak on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:08 pm

Kondem lebehhh..
    Tryy dlu laa. Bpeluh ketiakk staf2 toyota buat keta ni. Korg tau nk blame sane sini je.. Bangangg abadi!