Ford achieves best ever first half sales in Malaysia

ranger-3.2-main

Here’s another brand that has achieved a record first half. June 2014 saw Ford record its highest ever monthly sales in Malaysia, which capped the brand’s best-ever first-half performance.

Last month, Ford sales jumped 58% year-on-year to 1,307 vehicles. For the period of January to June, sales increased nearly 25% to 6,520 units.

The Ranger was once again Ford’s best-selling nameplate in Malaysia. Sales of the class-leading pick-up truck rose 43% from a year ago to 3,667 units. Ford recently made the move to include Electronic Stability Program (ESP), five (as opposed to four) three-point seatbelts, plus a centre headrest and two ISOFIX anchors for the rear bench seats for all Ranger variants, a commendable move.

Ford Fiesta ST KLIMS 21
The Fiesta ST hot hatch, with 182 PS/240 Nm and a six-speed manual, will be launched this year

The best-selling passenger car was the Fiesta facelift, now with the 1.0 Ecoboost version on board. Ford sold 1,778 units of the B-segment car in H1, significantly more than the Kuga SUV (478) and Focus C-segment sedan and hatch (575).

There’s more to come from the Blue Oval in 2014. The Ford EcoSport compact SUV is the next to be launched, with the Fiesta ST hot hatch and two additional variants of the Kuga also on the cards.

“This really is an exciting time for Ford in Malaysia, and we remain absolutely committed to further growing our business and providing each and every one of our current and future customers with an unmatched ownership experience,” said David Westerman, MD of Malaysia and Asia Pacific Emerging Markets at FoMoCo.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0r on Jul 11, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Good car, nice specs. But build quality sometimes not consistent and RV low.

Toyota always better RV. Worth consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
    • Toyota Fraud on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:42 pm

You sure about RV? Now 2013 August Toyota Camry 2.4 selling for RM130k. Down from RM180k. RM50k loss in 11 months.

2013 Camry 2.0 accident free Camry my cousin just bough RM105k.

You sure about RV bro? Are are you trying to lie here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:53 pm

If Toyota RV turns bad, others will be even worse. Go find up 2013 Vios and 2013 Preve (you can add in 2013 Fiesta), which one has more depreciation?

Apple to apple plz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Mythbuster on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Since most of Toyota cars can’t match the competitors in terms of power, handling, looks, equipment or even safety, that’s the main selling point Toyota salesmen can spout out.
        Oh, and comparing their cars to local makes instead of other Japanese makes. Only that way their cars will be half interesting.

• Focus ST on Jul 11, 2014 at 11:15 pm

want RV don’t buy car, buy property

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…last time toyota RV high, now no more lah….u dont dreaming lah…If ur old toyota with shitty spec selling high price now, who wanna buy it since now new car with better spec selling quite cheap now…If me, i buy new car loh….puihhh..

• Great sale comes with great aftersale
    responsibility..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Ford Bad Service on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Ford service is so bad. The service centres are so incompetent and slow. Waiting for parts 3 months is a normal thing. My Ford Fiesta numper kena langgar also, I have to wait a good 3 months for the part to come.

And for 3 months, they will hold your car. The car sits in the workshop for a whole 90 days waiting for the parts to come.

This is even so for common parts. Common parts like door panels, side mirror, bumper front and back, front and back lights and so on.

Don’t even ask if its internal parts of the car. I think they will take 6 months!

I ask them why they take so long to bring the parts, they tell me, it has to come from Singapore! I nearly fainted.

Dei, Singapore is just 4 hours away. I thought it was coming from Europe. I nearly fainted.

That is how bad Ford service is. If your Ford happens to be your only car, what you gonna do the next 3 months without a car? They don’t give loan cars or anything like that.

So for 3 months be prepared to wait for the bus or cough out blood paying for taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
    • hi, maybe different sc got different leadtime.Based on my experience with klang sc and pj sc…steering rack 1week, windscreen 2days and side mirror cover 1day

I am driving a fiesta by the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • I’ve read the similar comments from you a least more than 4 times for the last couple of months.
      Well, my suggestion to u is to send your car to another service centre.
      So far my 25 months old Mondeo is problem free, likewise my brothers 23 months old Fiesta. Still happy dwelling with the cars.

• Ford Ranger on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:25 am

Dear 90 days carless fren,

You could still consider taking the LRT, cheaper likewise blood coughing taxi.

• michael on Oct 01, 2014 at 8:09 am

Go and eat shit. The Ford does provide courtesy cars. It is subject to availability but for serious cases they will provide. Heck even when my car is just in the SC for 2 days they have provided a courtesy car for me.

Do go spewing some rubbish there son.

• If other brands like ford, merz, honda and others vehicle sales are increasing so which brand is dropping huh? Toyota have not been mentioning anything. Hope this teaches them a lesson to realize that consumers these days aren’t stupid anymore where they just buy their ancient old technology without much safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • I dont know. I thought our Malaysian always complaint about cost of living etc.

But Ford make records, BMW make records, Merc make records…

We are actually richer than we thought .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • hooooo on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:13 pm

see which FORD service center u go if SDAC sure slow …. and tidak apa attitude

• EnergyAnalyst on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Good results from a series of good promos and that Garang looking pick up is really getting in all the great numbers.

Now let me see Fushion coming in soon, that outdated Mondeo is really an eyesore on the road, makes me feel like travelled back in time each time I happened to caught a glimpse.

No more eye pollution for us with Mondeo please, I beg you.

• “No more eye pollution for us with Mondeo please, I beg you.”

Your comment is very rude to the existing Mondeo’s owners. U ARE TOO MUCH..

• EnergyAnalyst on Jul 13, 2014 at 7:44 am

Aiyoh

Let’s count the numbers

1h2014 recorded 6520

Ranger 3667
        Fiesta 1778
        Kuga 478
        focus 575

What is Mondeo number? 22 in 6 months. Less than 1 in a week, are you telling me its dated look has nothing to do with its poor sales?

I am not trying to be rude and offend the current Mondeo owners (they are small in numbers anyway), I am merely being forefront about addressing the weakest link in Ford’ current product line up here. The new Mondeo which will no longer use Mondeo name plate and will use Fusion instead is a much much improved looker and it needs to be sold here . If we however end up dumping grounds for the old and Mondeo still . Then I will say Good luck coz Malaysian are smart and will surely resent and even retaliate!

• Albert lee on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Merc benz sold 4500 cars in 6 months.
    Sime Darby sold 6500 Ford cars .
    Toyota,Nissan,Honda each selling 60-80K cars annually.
    Sime Darby,annually sold 13000units of Ford and they have been around for more than 15 years.
    Is this a success story or failure?In terms of units,Sime Darby is slightly better than Merc but Benz selling price per unit average more than rm200k .
    Sime Darby’s sales should exceed 50,000 units by now.It is a massive failure,PNB.

• tawil on Jul 11, 2014 at 8:47 pm

I hope ford better sales does not reflect of increasing its car prices.

• any one here using fiesta facing intermediate shaft problem ? If yes,please share your experience to solve the problem,my fiesta had changed 4 times of intermediate shaft,and each time after changed only drive about 1000 km,the part spoil,why ford provide such lousy quality product ?

• shawal on Jul 13, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Kuga 2.0 titanium?
    New Mondeo..?

• Ford Focus ++ on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:17 am

i drove focus ++ since 2013. Cornering & braking at high speed very stable. Good performace car but bit compact. So far so good.. Mileage 28K. Focus gearbox using Dual Cluth (Dry Cluth), how many KM it can last????

• for cars actually good to drive,but for fiesta,after 30k face intermediate shaft problem,even changed few times the spare part also facing the same problem,they said it was due to design problem,n i think so,so when u drive fiesta at low speed u will enjoy special music contribute from Ford special design intermediate shaft,so friends if u wish to enjoy this kind of special sound than please buy ford car,but for me,i will never never buy ford car again.