Honda recalls 175,000 hybrids in Japan, ECU glitch

am_vz1312152H

Honda is recalling over 175,000 hybrid versions of the Fit/Jazz and Vezel/HR-V sold in Japan since last year, over an engine control unit software glitch that could cause unintended acceleration.

Bloomberg cited Honda spokesperson Akemi Ando as saying there have been 11 reports of accidents between December 2013 and April 2014 relating to this, with no injuries or deaths.

She said the computer programme will be rewritten to fix the ECU defect, and the repair process will take about 90 minutes.

honda-jazz-hybrid-yorii 009

This is the fourth time Honda has called back the Fit/Jazz Hybrid – the first three times (October 2013, December 2013, February 2014) were due to an “incorrect software programme” for the seven-speed twin-clutch gearbox’s control computer.

The aforementioned gearbox is only used on hybrid versions of the Fit/Jazz and Vezel/HR-V, as part of Honda’s Sport Hybrid Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive (i-DCD) one-motor hybrid system.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Is the Malaysia’s units affected? How about the Insight and CR-Z hybrids? Are they affected ?

• Same L0r on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Toyota Hybrid still better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 57
      • Toyota Fraud on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Cannot be. Toyota sales are so bad. Hardly can see any new Camry’s on the road. People know about how overpriced the car is.

Hardly can see any Altis on the road. 1 year already launched, I hardly can see any. Not like the old Altis.

The same with the Vios. So few Vios on the Road.

Btw, I live in KL and I drive about 120KM within Klang Valley alone.

Anyone here feel the same? Hardly see any new Toyotas around. Old Toyotas memang berlambak, but new Altis, Camry and Vios….where are they?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
        • Anonymous on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Yep I feel the same too. I have see a few of the new Vios, but not very many. And the Altis is even more rare. I think I’ve only seen 1 in the last few weeks.

90KM back and forth to KL every day here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • frezco on Jul 11, 2014 at 5:19 pm

well, definitely not on the roads you are on mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • Forget the overpriced altis, camry and vios. Better buy Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • economy is bad..brand new car is not priority

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 12, 2014 at 7:10 pm

He said Toyota hybrid is better. And that is true. It is efficient and extremely long lasting. It is a stroke of genius, with all gears connected to each other at all times. The eCVT gearbox is only a CVT in function, it is very simple actually.

And if I understood it correctly the Accord hybrid is using a very similar system, with one small change. That you can directly connect the petrol engine to the wheels. They say that is sometimes more efficient.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 12, 2014 at 7:14 pm

By reliable I mean hardware defects. The software seems to be a bit buggy.

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Same Lor mulot longkang..Say something..Honda been recalling two times within almost a month!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:45 pm

It show Honda is responsible for its product quality and always willing to spend extra to service the customer.

What about your Proton? One more year to turn around? Saturn already finished turning around the sun (29 years) yet Proton still turning.

If a car company can’t even take care of itself, do you expect they can take care of their customer.

Never make recall doesn’t mean no problem. You never do body scan never means you won’t get cancer.

Stop swimming in longkang, time to wake up and look at the fact!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 16
          • samlorsark on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Same lor you live in longkang? Never about proton recalls? Oh before you start saying that the recalls were because quality was worse not because of responsibility, big T had recall after sued by public not because they are responsible.

• Heng Lee on Jul 12, 2014 at 5:13 am

‘Bloomberg cited Honda spokesperson Akemi Ando as saying there have been 11 reports of accidents between December 2013 and April 2014 relating to this’

As the cars are not only unsafe, but potentionally dangerous, they were FORCED to recall.

• Captain Meow on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:08 pm

you should read more lah.. Honda got recalls, toyota got recalls, mazda got recalls.. all also got recalls.. normal lah in automotive world.. you try google for a change. If your car company send you letter inviting you to urgrade you car ECU lah what not.. all that soft recall lah..Toyota recall millions last year.. why never complain?? I think you’re paid to bash lah..

Why you so angry all the time? hungry or what?

• abuya and kzm where are you? on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:58 pm

I am waiting for abuya and kzm to say that the software on the Honda was written by Yahudi and that is why it has been recalled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Waze is a pure Yahudi developed application and I dare you not to use it at all.

Yahudi this and that? Pui… Remember what is the world cup slogan?

SAY NO TO RACISM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Peenor on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Waze is owned by google now.

• Same Lorr Pondan (Member) on Jul 12, 2014 at 1:47 am

Same Lorr is the one who racism here! Same Lorr just a pathetic RBA who just know how to say; SAY NO TO PROTON! SAY NO TO PETRONAS! SAY NO TO GARDENIA! Go back home la suck your mom titties..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Same l0rr on Jul 12, 2014 at 3:15 pm

See a typical brain dead proton fanboys. When they have no meaningful fact to say, they create stories, rba, petronas, gardenia, mum titties. I can’t stop laughing.

Just like snatcher or the car window breaking robbers, when they are too lazy to earn money themselves, they just go and rob.

• Samelor are you high? Proton basher created stories of kongkek awek kilang, etc. Nothing is worth to say already kah? LOL

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:44 pm

“Honda is recalling over 175,000 hybrid versions of the Fit/Jazz and Vezel/HR-V sold in Japan since last year…”

No. It only affects the systems using Honda’s new hybrid system.

This is Honda’s leading edge hybrid technology and it seems to be experiencing what all new technology experiences during the first few years of operation: teething problems requiring debugs and fixes.

That’s the risk you have to accept when buying and trying out new tech. Toyota’s hybrid system has been proven and refined over the years. It’s stable because there’s nothing new in the current generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • OH REALLY? on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:43 pm

YOU MUST BE KIDDING ME… DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY TIMES HAVE TOYOTA ANNOUNCED RECALLS FOR PRIUS?

• Heng Lee on Jul 12, 2014 at 5:15 am

‘Toyota’s hybrid system has been proven’

Yes, it’s proven that the brakes doesn’t work, that it will overroll in curves and that it will unintendently accelerate as well.

• Honda vs Proton - A Comparison on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Alamak! I am so scared. If Honda themselves, with so much of Japanese discipline can have so many recalls and errors, what about our Proton Hybrid, made by Proton, a company run by lazy tongkat individuals?

Like this, I think the Proton Hybrid might explode. If Japanese themselves can have so much of defects, I don’t know how our Jaguh kampung with lazy workers expecting the tongkat to help them all the time.

We all know the difference between Japanese workers and Malaysian workers.

Honda Japan Plant workers :
    “We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done”

Proton Malaysia workers:
    “Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 25
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Hey Pondan. This blog talking about Honda recall..PROTON already long time no recall..Honda vs Proton – A Comparison pondan, no idea to talk..Honda recall, PROTON pulak kena! Damn fool..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 6:51 pm

You are so proud of Proton and you can’t even allow people to mention it? It is truly Sendiri Saja Boleh Cakap.

You know what pondan like to do? They like to look at the mirror themselves and keep on amazed by how “pretty” they are.

It is very similar to the Proton lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

Please show your Proton aka pondan turn around to prove you are patriotic.

Updated version:
        Sendiri Saja Boleh Cakap, Sendiri Syok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • hinge on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Bad delusional proton basher. Better go to psychiatrist before it’s too late.

• Same Lorr Pondan (Member) on Jul 12, 2014 at 1:50 am

“Honda vs Proton – A Comparison” is the same guy “Same Lorr”..Just read his comments in other Paultan blogs..Same Lorr just a pathetic RBA who just know how to say; SAY NO TO PROTON! SAY NO TO PETRONAS! SAY NO TO GARDENIA! Go back home la suck your mom titties..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Same l0rr on Jul 12, 2014 at 3:09 pm

See the brain dead proton fanboys! When they have nothing meaningful fact to say, they create stories. RBA lar, longkang lar no one have any idea about it.

But I can suggest you that when you are running out of money to fix your Proton, you consider selling your m** *******. You can start selling now since proton need money to turn around.

• zeta01 on Jul 14, 2014 at 12:33 pm

are you the same guy who trolls on toyota/honda articles at Autoblog.com and downvotes any comments that are negative about honda/toyota cars at that site? Because i think you are the same person after looking at your writing style and your bashes towards US brands (FORD,GM,CHRYSLER)and proton

• power of admitting fault on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:19 pm

at least they have the balls to admit fault.. way to go honda!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Gabriel Marquez on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Normal lah recall.. no issue..

• HOnda, rectify and fix the issue and sell the hybrid line to other parts of the world already! Hurry up

• heybadigol on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Honda (in fact almost all the usually reliable Japanese companies) seem to have lost their way a bit in ensuring their products have bulletproof reliability like their cars were in the 90s and 80s. Perhaps cars now are far more complex as illusrated by this recall, which is a programming error or oversight, rather than a physical problem.

I wonder if the glitch is an erroneous coding or lack of a certain control designed into the throttle feedback software? Whatever it is, hope they learn from this and apply into all future applications.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 11, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Recall is like updates for gadgets. Bug fixing, security update and stuff like that. Modern cars are too complicated as it runs on not really stable software instead of good-ol Intergrated Circuit.
      It’s better to see the manufacture recalls instead of keeping quiet and ignore the problem.

• proton guy on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Very lucky i use proton ..no software glitch problem ..ha..ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Come on la Same Lor say something like you used to condemn PROTON..Same Lor kan mulot longkang..puihh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:16 pm

I have no personal opinion towards Honda and korean brands. They are good but a little worse than Toyota in terms of build quality and RV.

But I am allergy to junk car. Especially that who need perlindungan. You can’t survive the market then close shop lar. Don’t beg money and protection.

Proton car should free Durex condoms during this raya promotion — Protection always good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • You just insulted ANCAP Safety body which has awarded 5 star to preve. You called it junk?

Eat your own words

• Same l0rr on Jul 12, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Preve Australia has better safety specs and parts than Preve Malaysia. You think you can get Australia Preve here? Keep on dreaming.

Typical problem with Proton is: they always sell better made car with cheaper price to oversea.

Tell me who is the real cheating conman company compared to umw Toyota?

• youbodok on Jul 12, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Preve now is same like those in Australia lor, 6 airbags, all variants. Proton is also heavily taxed here but still cheap, unlike CKD Toyota etc.

Get out from cave.

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Booo Same Lor..
    Pondan Same Lor
    Pondan = Lor..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Toyota selling hot, waiting period long, reliable, Semua Cakap Semua Syok. Whole UMW syok because of good sales and good bonus. No perlindungan condom shit needed.

Proton can’t even sell, sales figure not disclosed, complain a lot, 100 years to turn around. Yet the fanboy think Proton the best. Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Isn’t it pondan style?

Man you just give us the best word to describe yourself – pondan!

Pondan always think they are the prettiest, yet others all puii… Isn’t it similar to the Proton?

Time to change your name “Pondan Beng support Proton”. And you not even a chinese, racist chicken.

Remember world cup’s slogan “Say No to Racism!”

And Say No to Junk Car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Vader (Member) on Jul 12, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Change another user name ya the shame loo, after masukroti, shameshowmejialat, delajunk? Whatever la, same question, where is the one year old Kia sportage sell at RM50k at your yard? I want to buy..

• nighttrain on Jul 11, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Unintended acceleration = unintended orgasm

• Matzukerbeg on Jul 11, 2014 at 5:20 pm

“Bloomberg cited Honda spokesperson Akemi Ando as saying there have been 11 reports of accidents between December 2013 and April 2014 relating to this…”
    …The Power of Dream

• Feel Proud when you did a good job; Say Sorry if you didn’t something wrong. Admitting fault is a good practice. But well, new technology means new fault there maybe. Think twice if you are a stable person.

Unlike some old junk was talking about the defects was cause by their vendors and not the car manufacturing fault. Does that even make sense? he must be sensing too much of the “earth” smell.

• yunnt on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:04 pm

You mean Toyota? After sued then recall, no action no recall, LOL

• Mr TruthFact on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Well..it is not weird if car manufacturer recalls or usually they call it as Product Enhancement. Yes sometimes it will good and bad. Good means the manufacturer show their responsibility for the car, the safety of customers..Bad means how poor the quality of the car which then will create people perception too..

Honda, Toyota or Proton itself, if they calling back their car means they just to make sure their car is fit to be in the road. It just normal and no big deal my fren…don’t create a false statement here !!

• RicoT on Jul 12, 2014 at 2:41 am

It is good news they found more faults sooner, I am eyeing on the on City Hybrid with booking fee ready. Any news of when it will be launch, very appreciative of post it up at soonest possible moment. :)

• torque on Jul 12, 2014 at 9:15 am

Woooww…a forum that posted Honda recalling issue and here we have, mom’s titties, mulut longkang, pondan, kongkek awek kilang…adoii, hahaha…last time Toyota has floor mat issue which made unnecessary accelerate but Honda’s effect is worst! :p

• Denaihati on Jul 13, 2014 at 12:39 am

“Bloomberg cited Honda spokesperson Akemi Ando as saying there have been 11 reports of accidents between December 2013 and April 2014 relating to this, with no injuries or deaths”
    if the accident happen here how to prove and make report, i think not so easy. It mean honda done very good study/investigation in this safety issue, honda make full proof counter measure.
    Congratulation Honda.

• Nikola tesla on Jul 14, 2014 at 6:17 am

As I have said earlier: why must everything be related to proton?
    Give it a rest. Please. Please. Please.

• Malaysia’s CBU Jazz Hybrid affected?