Subaru XV STI Performance Edition debuts – RM144k

Subaru_XV_STI_Performance_Malaysia_ 008

The Subaru XV STI Performance Edition has just made its regional debut here in Malaysia – specifically at exclusive distributor Motor Image’s brand new Subaru 3S Centre in Petaling Jaya. The crossover, now done up with look-faster STI parts, retails for RM143,800 before insurance.

It’s essentially a bodykit package for the Subaru XV, but don’t anyone dare call it a mere dress-up job in front of STI officials. The hallowed tuning firm insists that the STI Performance package isn’t just a simple aerokit, but finely honed add-ons that bring about both aesthetic and dynamic enhancements over the base vehicle.

The original Subaru Tecnica International (STI) parts boast proper functionality, which have been developed and checked by the wind tunnel and STI test engineers. There’s substance behind the style, apparently.

An all-around bodykit and a rear spoiler mark out the XV STI Performance – each with prominent STI branding, of course. The aero bits are said to reduce front and rear lift by 50%, with enhanced aerodynamic balance, no less. The STI Performance badges are not quite as functional, but you’d want them anyway.

Hidden under the hood is STI’s Flexible Tower Brace. More than a conventional rigid brace, this one has ball joints in the middle for added body control, improving handling response time by as much as 30%.

Also part of the package are LED daytime running lights, and a few new touches to the interior, such as chrome climate control dials and matte silver steering wheel inserts and side panels.

Subaru_XV_STI_Performance_Malaysia_ 049

Other than that, there are no mechanical changes. The Segambut-assembled Subaru XV is powered by a FB-series 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated boxer engine with 150 PS at 6,200 rpm and 196 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. Drive goes to all wheels through an Active Torque Split AWD system and a Lineartronic CVT with six virtual ratios.

The XV’s equipment list includes Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC), cruise control, reverse sensor, steering wheel shift paddles, dual front and driver’s knee airbags (enough for a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating), automatic air-con and a two-DIN touch-screen AV system with remote that brings together DVD, USB, iPod, Bluetooth and GPS, among other things.

Even without the STI Performance package, the Subaru XV is quite a capable crossover, as we found out last year. Do read our review of the standard model for more info.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hukaka on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:07 pm

STi aero package only,not engine are STi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • OMG…Sweet sweet…i meant the models not the car.lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
  • Sigh, misusing the STI badge without any performance upgrade? Great!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Looks kills on Jul 12, 2014 at 2:01 am

M has M Performance. STI has STI Performance. Sounds familiar? Both serves to increase their companies’ profit margins, if you know what I mean.

• Awesomecar.awesome spec. Not so awesome rv due to malaysiamentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • BLUR SOTONG on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Master piece from Tan Chong Msia =) Sarcasm
    Put a rear spoiler and front engine brace and call it STi .
    Handling improve – lesser understeer or oversteer ???
    Performace improve – 0 to 100kph is faster due to lower Coefficient Drag ????
    We are not Stupid OK =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • I like this care and very tempted to get it. But the only things that’s stopping me is the lack of airbags. Many other options at that OTR, well may be not in the same segment !

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Sadly, it only lacked side and curtain airbags to be on par with recent offerings. The long waiting list for the V-Spec City shows that Malaysians are warming up to better safety instead of mere accessories. Hopefully more potential buyers feedback demanding for full safety spec for at least high end models.

• Tan Beng Hooi on Jul 13, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Without curtain airbags, these reviewers are still saying it qualified for Asean Ncap 5stars safety rating??? We should strive for Euro Ncap. If Proton, Kia, Honda City can provide 6 airbags why this 145k car can’t. They have got their priorities wrong. Pity those children in the rear seats.

• At first, i thought wow RM140k++ for STI performance, Im goin too see this. But later found it, its just a crappy spoiler with STI ! Damn, how i wish ~ thanks Tan Chong for being innovative in cheap marketing sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • frenzy on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:46 pm

This is why I love my 1st-gen Impreza.

• Thunderdog on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:55 pm

I can see Saga BLM speedometer…

• Absolutkev86 on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:02 pm

not amazed…

• Fkng Stupid….STI it seems….!!!

• fast5 on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:15 pm

I going to BOOKING the “girls model” and not that car (expensive body kits with not so much improve car performance)

• Addon STI sticker +10HP!

• Matchy on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Erm… how much is the non-STI version?

• mmaker on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Around RM137k OTR price with 5 years free service

• Matchy on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Thanks… because I saw the price on their website, it is RM145K, which is more expensive!

• Henry on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:29 pm

The wheel design is the deal breaker for me.

• Put in a manual gearbox, it will be a more “real” STI. Don’t give me STI crap with a CVT auto.

• Actually that car is fun to drive. Have test driven it. The CVT has a “Virtual” manual override. There is power and balance, but pls dont compare it with WRX or Evo or such.

But, the biggest let down is the lack of airbags for that price. Otherwise i would have got this car.

• not a sti on Jul 11, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Marketing gimmick. Gv me a break, not even a pure “STI” but so called “sti performance”. MI you cant cheat pure-fan scooby. Degrading the STI brand. Shame on you.

• Anything on the hybrid variant?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 2:02 pm

why does subaru still let tan chong handle subaru

• Y it doesn’t come with 7 airbags in that price tag?

• The 4 ladies are more attractive than the car, LOL

• torque on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Cut the bloody crap la TC, slap a damn STI bodykit n stickers doesn’t mean most of us is so gullible at getting it! Can all cars dealership in Malaysia not taking us like a fool?

• macromedia on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Bad: Slap STi logo but not an STi
    Good: Can et steep discounts for non-STi versions. ANd I mean a lot. WOrth it for what the car does

PS: airbag or no airbag, if u don’t put on seatbelts, 100 airbag also will die.

PPS: Damn the chinese chick in white is so tall!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • truely malaysian on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:17 pm

I smell something fishy here. Not a bad suv but after launching the car with the stupid “ABC” song commercial which ended with poor sales now want to blur consumer eye with new body kit gimmick. The models will go faster than the car, thumbs up if you agree with me…

• Gilbert on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:30 pm

why no Day Time Running Light ??? why no push start and smart entry ?????? even KIA picanto is come with standard …..shame on you ……

• cendol (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Mazda CX5 is anytime better option than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Wow really nice….the models :P

• Enthu on Jul 11, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Subaru XV TRD?

• justwaitnsee on Jul 11, 2014 at 9:03 pm

subaru got to be kidding me..what attract me just only the models…its not even match the model standing there…they should get a nanny to stand besides the car..with that price tag better get other car la…

• Tan Chong Motors? on Jul 12, 2014 at 8:00 am

Why Tan Chong? It’s Motor Image that distributed Subaru cars in M’sia..

• man_4777 on Jul 12, 2014 at 10:08 am

mengapa marah Subaru? many JAPAN car companies in Malaysia doing the same thing…..example like TRD, NISMO (Vios Almera etc)

Personally I like Subaru XV STI (whatever)…looks cool!!

• Automagic on Jul 12, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Confusing, is this version cheaper than the normal version? What is the selling price of the normal XV?

• spock1976 on Jul 13, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Front girl #258008 is damn nice leh

• mmaker on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:54 am

other name for this car is Segambut XV not Subaru XV

• Am interested to own one but i was told that its tough on getting/finding subaru spare parts. Whats your say?

• well, not surprise malaysians to buy VX STi because I’ve seen alot drivers buying Nismo almera on the street! haha!

• Debashis Roy on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:44 am

XV model without any technology is a big negative. In other countries it is selling with EyeSight technology and also original AV equiptment. Malaysian XV is a strip down , bare bone XV with higher price. What are they thinking. With this money I can buy New Accord with tons of tech.