1Malaysia Frequent User Toll Rebate programme to end tomorrow, claims can be made up to January 14

kuang-toll1

The Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) has announced that the government’s 1Malaysia Frequent User Toll Rebate programme will be terminated from Tuesday, according to a Bernama report.

However, rebate claims can be made by eligible users up to January 14, 2015, based on the existing conditions, LLM said in a statement, adding that claims can be made at all Touch ‘n Go (TnG) counters on highways, TnG hubs and TnG Spot counters at all selected petrol stations.

The rebate programme was introduced in September 2009 as an initiative, on the occasion of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 100th day in office.

To qualify for rebates, motorists have to use the TnG card a minimum of 80 times for toll payment on any highway in Malaysia within a calendar month. The 20% rebate is given based on the total transaction amount, and can be redeemed via card reload at TnG sales counters.

TnG SmartTag

Sinar Harian reported last December that an estimated RM49 million worth of rebates had not been collected because of a lack of awareness of the rebate policy, cited as due to insufficient advertising.

Among those who were aware, some felt the redeeming process was too complicated while others did not bother. Sources told the Malay daily at the time that around 100,000 people had claimed rebates, but only 70,000 had done so consistently.

The termination of the rebate programme does not involve Frequent Travellers Programmes of the Lebuhraya Damansara-Puchong and Plusmiles managed by PLUS Expressway Bhd, said LLM.

“Plusmiles operated by Expressway Berhad involves the North-South Expressway (except for the Bangunan Sultan Iskandar and Bukit Kayu Hitam toll plazas), North-South Expressway Central Link (ELITE), Butterworth-Kulim Highway, Seremban-Port Dickson Highway (SPDH) and the Malaysia-Singapore Second Link (except the Anjung Kupang toll plaza) are not involved,” the statement said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• why 15 Jul why not 1 Aug, make it complete month of July.

• Pinky on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Because they start counting from the 15th of the previous month to the 14th of the next month.. That’s why you cannot claim any rebates from the 10th to 16th every month cause the system will be down.. :)

• Najib on Jul 14, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Another janji dicapati by our DEAREST PM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • john error on Jul 14, 2014 at 12:42 pm

bye2 my rm20++/month….
    demmm!!

• Silent Reader on Jul 14, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Sigh…I’ve been enjoying this rebate every month for the past few years or so and now it’s gone…so sad…furthermore, petrol price is only going up from now onwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • fercab on Jul 14, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Insufficient advertising in order to cover up the 49mil. nuff said.

• tishaban on Jul 14, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Is there any clarity on what the RM49m will be used for if not collected? PLUS and other highway concessionaires telan?

• They should hav made it auto redemption when u reload or something similar… Y make it so difficult.. But being msia… It has always been the case… Masa ambil duit.. Make it as easy as possible.. Masa nak kasi balik duit.. Make it as complicated as possible..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Gadoh on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:19 pm

can i know does the plusmiles card also terminate the claim service?

• MrPoppyplants on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:40 pm

ONLY? ONLY 70% of users CONSISTENTLY claim their rebates? This is MAJORITY of TnG users you moronic government.

Where does this RM 49 million go now then?

If you want to give an excuse to terminate benefits, at least use a few brain cells to think up one!

• pleasecontinuethisprogramme on Jul 14, 2014 at 8:39 pm

In the first place, the rebate claiming mechanism is not practical. Why dont they just reload it automatically on the first tap after the cycle date. That way, all that eligible for the rebate would have got it and 100% claim is achievable.

I am a frequent traveller in Klang Valley and most of the time my rebate can go up to RM300 per cycle. Im really dissapointed that this programme will not be continued. With the price hikes all around, this rebate programme could at least be my sanctuary

• wah..at 20% rebate your tolls up to RM1500 per cycle/month. you’re really make the highway concessionaire rich. btw how much your petrol per month, mileage?

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:46 pm

So much for “erection” promises

• Janji ditarik rakyat dicekik on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:13 am

Toll rebate – gone
    Toll price – go up anytime
    Cheaper car – silent
    Electricity – simply increased
    Gst – coming soon
    Hybrid incentives – gone
    Food prices – only kangkung went down just for 1week
    Fuel price – go up by sept (my predict- gov will deny, then delay to oct)
    Fuel quality – euro 2 (lowest in the world)
    Inflation – unavoidable
    Corruptions – no action
    Gov action – none (busy holiday oversea,no time)
    Bn mp + minister – openly rob our billions money every year
    Our action – 2018 ubah to 2/3 majority pr
    2018 n beyond – systematic,prosperous MALAYSIA n it’s rakyat
    More news of hikes to comes in future.This is just a beginning.
    The generous gov will come back few months before GE2018 to throw promises,cheap handouts n freebies.Wake up!!