GALLERY: Proton Saga FLX Executive and Proton Persona Executive now in showrooms

SONY DSC

We visited the Proton Edar showroom in Glenmarie over the weekend to provide you with an in-depth view of the result of Proton’s latest trim level reshuffling – the Proton Saga FLX Executive and the Proton Persona Executive, both open for booking. The former replaces the previous Executive model and adds more kit as standard, while the latter slots above the SV and marks the return of a higher-end Persona trim level.

Both the Saga and Persona Executive models get bodykits that we have seen before – in the Persona’s case, it’s the same kit that was on higher-end models before they were discontinued, whereas the Saga shares the same kit with the 1.6 SE. Front fog lights come standard for both, with the Saga also getting a “metallic warm grey” finish for the fog light surrounds.

The Persona also gets new 15-inch seven-spoke alloy wheels in a new turbine design, finished in a darker “Kaizer Silver” as opposed to the brighter finish used on the SV. The Saga soldiers on with the same 14-inch six-spoke items used before.

Around the back, the Saga gets the smoked clear LED combination tail lights from the SE, while the Persona gets an exhaust pipe finisher that was taken out of the SV model. Door visors have also been reinstated on both models, though they’re not seen on these display units.

Inside, both models get leather upholstery and audio controls on the steering wheel. Strangely, the Persona lacks electric side mirror adjustment that the cheaper Saga gets, but they both get a Yes 4G Huddle mobile hotspot with a one-year free subscription (buyers will be billed for subsequent usage). The Saga’s Clarion single-DIN radio also gets Bluetooth connectivity.

Engines and transmissions have been carried over, but just to recap, the Saga Executive is powered by the same 1.3 litre Campro IAFM+ four-cylinder as before, producing 94 hp and 120 Nm, while the Persona is powered by the 110 hp/148 Nm 1.6 litre Campro IAFM four. Both come standard with a five-speed manual – the Saga gets a CVT as an option, while the Persona is also available with a four-speed automatic.

Safety-wise, both models come with dual airbags and ABS with EBD as standard. The Saga punches further above its weight with the inclusion of three-point seat belts for all five occupants, whereas in the Persona the rear middle passenger has to make do with a lap belt. The larger car does get four-wheel disc brakes, though, so there’s that.

As previously reported, the new Proton Saga FLX Executive retails at RM41,924 (RM42,374 metallic) for the manual and RM44,524 (RM44,924 metallic) for the CVT, while the bigger Proton Persona Executive is priced at RM49,938 (metallic RM50,388) for the manual and RM52,938 (metallic RM53,388) for the auto. The Saga comes with a three-year, 60,000-km warranty; the Persona gets a two-year, 50,000-km warranty.

Proton Saga FLX Executive

Proton Persona Executive

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• MrPoppyplants on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Please, just stop.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 259 Thumb down 30
    • Ah Beng Hate Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:17 am

This is what they call minor change, do some touch up and improve the current part to boost up the sales. Anyway Ah Beng like the rim a lot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Yea, Proton is smart on that.

1 year later, they will do it again, minor change, touch up here and there to boost up the sales.

This will occur again and again from 2016 till 2026. Ah Beng can start making his Proton rims collection now. lol

One day they will make the Saga steering wheel in triangle, to boost up the sales.

Or they can free condom along with the car, to boost up sales also. Condom + Proton = you have a lot of PROTECTION! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • samelorsark on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Why you are so desperate to make others hating proton? Maybe you have big loss in your sales to proton due to your own ego/pride not to mention your stupid comments here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
          • onceaprotonsupporter on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:50 am

I once trusted Proton might be a better car today and so I bought a Persona Elegance. Over 3 years I have been using this car, it never stop gave me problems.

Some may said I expect too much from cheap car offered by the kind Proton. But how can I tolerate when they cannot even get the basic of a car right?

Things like windscreen leaking water and flooded my dashboard on the first day is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. Have a list of about 20 items that are not working the very first day I get the car. Sent back to center overnight for too many times that you can imagine, and I did it patiently.

With this price, Perodua can definitely gave me a more reliable, comfort and better performance car. At lease I do not have to feel worry all the time I am on the road.

I have heard I am not the only one or ten or hundreds of Proton users that face these problems. But still some people here trying to condemn disappointed ex-proton users like me saying I expect too much of a cheap car?? Even Proton CEO said we cannot blame them as they need to produce a car every 92 seconds?

Think again. People won’t hate Proton for no reason. Proton’s problem lies from the top of the management.

My family and relatives have totally gave up hope on Proton.. I guess for our lifetime from now on..

• F*cked on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Executive? How dare they call this Executive? All of this add-ons can be done at some car accessories shop, with a budget of RM1000, and it looks better than this “Executive”. Shit lah Proton, the longer you continue making the same car with minor upgrades and putting fancy names such as “executive”, “racing”, “S”, you will make Proton look worse than it is right now. Zero creativity. Privatize this shitty company la, then we can see how Proton can transform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Persona executive’s side mirror control is MANUAL!!
      T.I.U. lor….
      Whoever made the decision to keep the manual control really don’t deserve his job.
      TNS Proton…
      Proton really dunno how to malu…

• creck on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Still can flip, so what

• nandakumar on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Creck..
          stay away from automotive.u are disgrace.
          executive means should be able to at least auto flip not manual flip like your grandpapa Datsun sunny.when ppl stop buying proton that’s the day automotive industry going to improve in Malaysia.

• Flip=folding.Some car should use hand to pull and push.If electric folding means you just press a button and can flip already.Some car gets auto folding mirror.So you just lock the car,the side mirror automatic folding.But such as persona,is lack of electric folding mirror.If you want electric folding,should be install aftermarket separately.

• ericmaxman on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Hmm, I’m pretty sure that the Saga has the IAFM+ while the Persona has the older IAFM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Hmm, it appears you are right. The article has been amended. Thanks for pointing it out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • The interior was so badly design, should be given a facelift also, my eyes so sick looking;

1) The middle aircond vent.
    2) The steering wheel.
    3) Radio and and switches.

How to go international market like this….. i dunno what the problem, was it cut cost is main priority to gain lot profit, or proton designer never even bother (syok sendiri design). The design is not balanced and out of proportion. Proton should look into VW polo interior and compare….i dun want them to copy but instead learn what good design is.

Apart from that, the new rim looking very good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 17
    • twwwwwww on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:49 pm

proton designers has no aestheticism AT ALL….
      this is so embarrassing!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 9
      • they dun provide touch screen player wat for they giv u Yes 4G Huddle mobile hotspot with a one-year free subscription? or they encourage u to play Tab/Pad when driving n being summon?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Ah Beng Hate Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:21 am

This is what they call minor change, do some touch up and improve the current part to boost up the sales. Anyway Ah Beng like the rim a lot..

• Ah Beng Hate Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:25 am

PROTON engineers now equipped with high levels of engineering skills to the extent that PROTON is able to design, build and manufacture cars from the ground up. Don’t judge this minor change as new product as it is just to boost up the current model sale. Wait for new model to comment at which level we are now. Ah Beng very proud with what PROTON achieve for new model now..Thumbs up PROTON!

• Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Yea, Proton engineers have high level of engineering skill that they are continuing the Gen2 and Saga chassis till 2026.

They are so smart that they think the sales can be boosted by such minor changes. lol

I really enjoy your Pondan lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok. Keep it up! Don’t stop! lol

• vee-uh on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:29 pm

You must be so naive not to know the GCC launching is on Sept

• Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:02 pm

GSC or GCC, naive one?

Proton said it will launch a lot of models, always Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok. End up only touch up here and there.

Come back to bark on me when it is launched then.

• policeman on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:03 pm

how about that adjuster knob for the side mirrors on the Persona.

But the sage is well equipped, compared to my 2008 BLM.

• mim (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 6:03 pm

The Gen2 design language itself is already 10 years old. Why are you complaining lol, wait for GSC la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • sleepy head on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:03 am

True…i see pics, then i want to go nap ready..

• creck on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Dun bother to give comment then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • sleepy head on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:14 am

Thanks for reply, you draw lots more attention to my post….but dun get mad and CRECK ur balls..

• dewaSemut on Jul 15, 2014 at 1:00 pm

VW Polo’s interior is not good looking either.. acres of hard plastics all over the dashboard… with unrefined sharp edges on certain area.

But I do agree it is slightly more presentable than these two.

• Persona rim is quite good!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
  • Jaguh Kriss on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:41 pm

No free motorbike from Modenas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Poor Executive on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:47 pm

deserved for poor executive only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 68
  • kvsual on Jul 14, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Just plain ugly….oh my the steering

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • that plastic at the center of persona steering feels very horrible. why cant they use a better plastic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Alamak on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:34 am

My kids LEGO toys plastic are far better than this “executive” model. The side-window joystick are really stone-age! Stunned!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:16 am

Agree with you. The steering wheel plus what ever that is mounted on the dashboard got the cheapo look.

• You all complaint about their design? Later they will tell you the Wira dashboard story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Hmm. I would have gladly traded the plastic bits on the Saga for ESC. After all the Australian units get it.

And as for the Persona, it is intriguing why Proton has not killed it yet, okay the SV is fine, but the top end variant seems a bit odd, as now Proton has 3 C segment cars at the same time, the Persona, Preve and Inspira.

Proton should have instead done a Preve SV, cause it is so much nicer than the Persona. The Persona has aged already and is time to go.

A Preve SV, below the Executive, would be possible, if they just do say 6 airbags, ESP, then fabric seats, no auto lights and wipers, standard keyed start, Simpler audio head unit, no GPS, no YES 4G and maybe smaller wheels, or even hubcaps instead. Paired to a CVT or a manual, it would be pretty worth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
    • ruffstuff on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:34 pm

because the vendor that supplied that hideous plastic for saga and persona still want proton to sell this old model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • mim (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:44 am

Last hurrah before production ends due to contract breach (quality not up to par) lol.

• are you sure persona is c-segment?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • mim (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 8:38 pm

It’s really a C-segment in terms of size. It’s much larger than my 2005 Ford Lynx RS (also a C-segment). Overall it leans more towards B-segment, maybe because new C-segmenters nowadays are much larger in comparison.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:49 pm

During launch in 2007 the Persona and Gen2 were billed as C segment, while the Saga was a B segment. However as mim says, the size of newer C segments have increased making the Persona look tiny now.

• Najib on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:10 pm

This saga totally look like brother-ed version, please lah proton I go brother do some “make up” no need extra 10k!

• jaguhkpg on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Am I reading a review that was writen 8 years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Boring looking car , perodua interior and exterior is better thn old looking proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
  • ayam drunk on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Back then, Proton used to chop the back part of the wira, make it shorter and called it Satria, make it longer and called it Perdana.

Now =/ Pfft! “Interior upgrade” and call it executive~You gotta be kidding Proton! Am I drunk or what? -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • zanm (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Proton during early days got their car from Mitsubishi. Wira was from Lancer, Satria was from Colt, and Perdana was from Eterna. Thus the chopping and extending came from Mitsubishi not Proton. Proton merely sold rebadged Mitsubishi cars at that time until Waja came along.

To differentiate the cars from original Proton put new front end and tweak the dashboard a bit. That is why you can see so many people bought Wira/SAtria/Perdana and changed to Mitsubishi looks..I even seen one Wira being fitted with V6! Don’t ask how the owner get passed JPJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • policeman on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:25 pm

you’re not drunk but just an uninformed moron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • my sv is 100k km warranty. 3 years.

• Executive? How let we feel it really executive when we was inside?
    Only make me feel i still poor guy…
    sorry im not attacking proton owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • Steve Jobs on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:45 pm

ayoyoyoyo Proton.even my Persona already finished the loan,still sell this car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 5:47 pm

The return of Dr.M and the return of vampire in blood sucking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:21 am

You got the choice of not being ‘sucked’, they can’t suck if you opt for public transport, motor cycles or bicycles.

• The rims looks good oso..

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:54 pm

This is probably one of the few good things we can say about these 2 variants.

• I just cannot wait for Proton to ditch the Persona and Saga. The quality is so bad and the interior design is hideous. The steering wheel makes me cringe! Proton designers-are you kidding me?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:24 am

According to their chairman, the completely new look and design Proton Saga will be out in year 2015, so just wait and see.

• bijan on Jul 14, 2014 at 6:05 pm

no saga SE 2014 pic? heard updated with new rims design?

• LatukBandar on Jul 14, 2014 at 6:06 pm

those cheap plastic… damn. come on lah, use better grade plastic, it is not that expensive.

for goodness sake, up the quality! these directors and owners will never know because they drive japanese/western cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Cheap and sick!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • What a joke, in what era we are in already? Paying for a almost 50k car but you get a manual mirror adjustment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:29 am

Manual adjust is actually better than electric in this country, side mirrors are item that need replacement once in a while due to our inconsiderate motor cyclists and small lorry drivers who scrap by you car and along pulling out your car side mirrors!

The electric side mirrors are not cheap to replace, especially those that also comes with LED light signals attached.

• Hail Dr M. His brainy ideas ?? WOW … he started working !! lol

• Albert Lee on Jul 14, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Your Excellency,Mr.Sean,you don’t need great qualifications like doctorates and master degrees to do what protong is doing now.
      Even a Form 5 dropout can come out with variants,facelifts,’syiok sendiri(di bawah ultra perlindungan) concepts.
      Protong,is entering the “Panic ” phase of management.They have lost focus and just doing damage control on an adhoc basis.
      There will come a day,when the directors will say”enough of bleeding”,we close shop,and become a Giant AP holder,bringing in more exotic cars than NAZA and Westar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Ivan Ng on Jul 14, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Kudos to Proton for adding value to it’s current line up at the same price but this will mean that previous Executive variant will lose it’s value even further.

I bought a Saga FLX Executive 7 months back for the same price, and now it comes with more features added to it. I understand that companies try to offer more but this will affect the used car price for people who are looking to upgrade especially those with 7 to 9 year loans.

Government initiative or car company margin adjustments, we will see who claims the pat on the back and who crops the negativity. All in all it’s not such a bad car and it does offer value for money for those looking for an affordable sedan.

• john labu on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Proton is just killing its own brand.
      Especially those who already own Saga Exec or Persona Elegance who bought the cars at a much higher price. Now they will be stuck with the car forever. Proton themselves, depreciate 2nd hand value to its own models. Simply rename to Persona Executive and sell at a lower price.

• Sad looking audio players

• Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:35 am

The whole center piece looks like the face of a robot. The audio player is the mouth, the button is the nose and the two aircon vent are the eyes.

• Guan Yin Maa on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Dr M : ” proton failed because our own people dont support proton. ” Well. Proton failed because they continue to develop shit out of their factory. I just dont know why they made such ugly car at RM 40k. 30 years of experience. WHAT A SHAME.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • This car was derived from Gen2 and Saga. And that was launched years ago. Still better than your ugly car. lOl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • proton quality on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:05 am

when you said shit came out of the factory, you’re blaming the whole vendor supply chain of PROTON (few that I know off, HICOM Teck See, HICOM Diecasting, Oriental Summit Industries, PHN Industries(metal stamping parts), EXEDY (clutches), Proreka (bodykits), Continental, SIEMENS(ECU), Delphi (wire harness), Denso, Autoliv, Philips, Blaupunkt, Automotive Lighting Malaysia (ALMA), TRW (Driveshaft, steering), Sapura (rear torsion beam), Punch Powertrain, Aichi Kikai (transmission), BOSCH, and I don’t know what else.) and all the PROTON people inside.

Take a tour inside and out of the factory, the vendor itself, the painstaking design-prototype-manufacture-supply process, then you’ll realise the magnitude of the whole problem, I dare you won’t say the same thing if you were in charge to build it better with 30 years experience as you said they should.

• Head Hunter on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:57 am

Does it mean when you say that thewhole vendor supply chain were to be blame, it means that it can’t be improved? At the end of the day, the team of designers and engineers are responsible for the outcome of this car. The vendors are there to manufacture according to Proton’s requirement. The buck stops with Proton, 30 years of automotive experience, they should take the initiative to create better design, improve quality of their products(no cost cutting measure here) and have the guts to learn from other automakers, even a JV if possible. The cars are decent, but with poor service and niggling quality issues, the Rakyat have a hard time deciding whether to buy or not. Even some Banks are rejecting 2nd hand Protons due to the fact that it breaks down a lot and will affect the risk grade of the customer. That says a lot and until Proton can come up with better design, improved quality and better performance with their cars, I still see the Persona and Saga be sold until 2025.

• Norman J on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Proton should just do a stock clearance sale for older models. Sell it cheaper like what Perodua did with Viva.Give massive discount. People will definitely buy. Then focus on the new GSC. Also give Preve “a mega” facelift (not just some minor cheap facelift work) at no extra cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • adding the ugly bodykit and call it EXECUTIVE?
    plotong with useless bodykit should be name as AhBeng, RaceBoy, and Wannabe

The word “Executive” here is totally abused

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Vincent Cheng on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Proton do not know what is market segmentation. In Malaysia eye, it is a cheap brand with low quality standard. Hence, pls stop putting those additional items and declare executive, premium and etc! Just focus to bring coat down and make all model equite with basic safety items! Pls go back to basoc and stop listen to Tun Dr M to prevent P1 close shop or need to buy back with our EPF money! Pls! TQ!

• fast5 on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Return of Tun DrM(adness) bring another protong Madness version.
    Greed is all over his head. Too old to bring new ideas beside money money money.
    Proton still got hope under his management?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • bisakeris (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:54 pm

that persona’s rim looks good. my family owned a saga fl.. almost 4 yrs, almost 80k km, excellent car i must say.. good job proton for my family’s saga fl.. but for proton as a company, still left behind the koreans, japs.. if nothing is done drastically, china brand will sure potong u proton.. hope the GSC will b the ‘car’ for u proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • subaru on Jul 14, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Pls stop la poton….it does not change 10 years ago come on..make new different. …how to go global market…

• pondan on Jul 14, 2014 at 8:14 pm

dunno what is still interesting to see. waste of time

• iluvproton on Jul 14, 2014 at 8:20 pm

just shut up and take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Albert Lee on Jul 14, 2014 at 8:46 pm

I got a brochure from a Protong salesperson today.
    She told me that the RM8K discount is for Suprima 2013 production.For 2014 model,the discount is rm3K.
    Now is July 2014 and there are still uncleared 2013 stocks for the Suprima,imagine how bad is the sales.
    Saga SV is cheaper by Rm 1K.
    Based on the last quarterly loss of RM 120 million,
    I estimate each month Protong is losing RM40million.For each car sold,(say 11,000units monthly),Protong is losing approx. Rm3700.
    Now 2013 stocks are still available.And Discounts some more.Tell me,when will the bleeding stop?
    I think Protong will reach a stage when the bosses say,its time to fold up.The vacuum in sales will be filled up by Perodua,Naza,Honda,Toyota,Nissan and even tiny Great Wall.
    The era of “syiok sendiri,kami akan memantau,perlindungan” has entered the “Age of Extinction”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Sounds like British-Leyland in the 1970s and the 1980s.

• YOu can find any other cars selling 2013 old stock, not only proton. You are still living in cave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Ford and chevy several times loss much more in millions, still dun close shop

• Samad Jain on Jul 14, 2014 at 8:59 pm

I just lost my appetite after seeing these seriously dated and hideous Proton Saga….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • You dun need such appetite after heavy break fast. Non-muslim aren’t you? Shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Samad Jain on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:57 pm

I lost my appetite (again) after reading your comment. Having my breakfast or not is NOT your business.

Are you blind supporter of Proton? or makan gaji at Proton? Shame.

• randall on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:29 pm

If Saga is hideous then Vios catfish and Dugung must be beautiful.

*Vomit*

• GREY GREY GREY everywhere!!

• I can’t help but think about the similarity between British-Leyland and Proton. The only difference is that Proton has nowhere the production scale of British-Leyland. However, both produces mediocre cars and has reliability issues, not to mention confusing product segments. So I wouldn’t be surprised if Proton went the way of British-Leyland.
    P/S British-Leyland, like Proton is backed by the nation government, but the plug is pulled in the case of British-Leyland.

• Redline on Jul 14, 2014 at 11:13 pm

The interior is SO bad, it is not even funny. Proton really need to find a more capable interior design head with HIGHER STANDARDS, because the interior of both cars look really really cheap. Proton need to find a way to make the interior cheap WITHOUT making it look cheap. Proton apparently still not able to do this yet. Pity.

• vwowner on Jul 14, 2014 at 11:22 pm

40k for a Saga. No way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • samlok on Jul 14, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Believe me proton, the only way to save u is to rebadge.

• Ohhh we are still living in the 90’s….thanks to the education system of Malaysia we are so weak in technology and design….you can see the design itself its so easy to model it out in 3d.. that’s why it sucks ..proton really need more technical expertise and professional people to work for them… not those who just have passing grade in their degree LOL

• qhalqhal on Jul 15, 2014 at 12:00 am

the gen 2/pesona design should be taken out long time alrdi…its been too long for the market and seems not relevant anymore… proton should came out with new c – seg design…

• sick&tired on Jul 15, 2014 at 12:04 am

Damn mercedes la! why must they use the same red stitching in their Mercedes AMG sports model as the Proton Saga! No other color ah Merceles? Why la white men must always kacau us!

• JogaBonito on Jul 15, 2014 at 1:21 am

Lousy car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • leoRNado on Jul 15, 2014 at 2:16 am

people already close shop.. u still selling persona.. haiyaa.. I am the guarantor of my sister’s persona. the 9 years loan almost completed.. yet persona still no phase out?? it may ended like Saga 86′ where only phase out 20 years later… :(

• Savoc_Smyh on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:01 am

I don’t like the colour of the dashboard…looks kinda “lusuh”.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:58 am

If they wanna clear stock they should include reverse cam plus lcd dvd integrated gps system too beside 16inch rims for Persona and 15inch rims for Saga..Quite dissapointed with them

• common sensor on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:23 am

model2 ni dah basi lar … please move it out of the market ..

• rocky balboa on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:19 am

wasted my 5 mind reading this junk article. just close shop, proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • wahh, apa ni proton,evergreen edition ke?..or clear my junk raya offer?

• Diesel_Is_Better!! on Jul 15, 2014 at 2:56 pm

I really cant see y proton still wanna come out with these!! If u have nothing to shout about, simple, just keep it low…

Please come out something that ppl wants, eg. SUV with 7 seater using the Exora platform which u’ve proudly presents during the kl motorshow many years ago.. Fyi, there is no competitor for below RM60K suv yet…i think proton shld seriously consider it, instead of following others…

• Jebonr on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:07 pm

I see that Dr. M project has started. Let’s see what’s going to happen next. I hope it’s positive.

• WorldClassProtong on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:23 pm

WOW… proton provide World Class edition… Thanks Proton better than Volvo V40!

• with this type of”EDISI” that’s why Proton still need 5 years..My dear Dr.M “old fart” RIP lah…

• botol on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:46 pm

This is the end for proton. New car not selling, have to makeover old cars.

• Albert lee on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:10 pm

I gather from this proton forum that 80percent are critical of Proton’s performance.Only 20 percent or less will be diehard,hardcore supporters of proton,no matter rain or shine,or even when Proton calls it a day.
    I can only forecast the following scenario for Proton.
    1.They finally call it a day,with a massive retrenchment exercise.
    2.They sell Proton to another company.
    3.They continue to do national service,even with half a billion Rm losses annually.
    4.They ask for bailout grants(disguised as R n D grants)
    5.They continue the SYIOK SENDIRI,JANGAN KACAU SAYA,ULTRA PERLINDUNGAN lifestyle.
    When you question them,they will say”Kami Akan Memantau,SABAR LAH.

• songkl on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:40 pm

We have bunch of story writers here. Congrats!

• Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Please sit tight and watch Albert Lee’s prediction. I bring along the popcorn.

• Albert Lee on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Your excellency,Same Lorr
          I don’t understand why some diehard fans of protong just refuse to accept facts that Protong is sliding into insolvency very soon if MMC refuse to pump in massive funds to sustain the dying company.
          If you lose half a billion RM a year,don’t you get panicky?Maybe,like you said countless times,these people prefer ” perlindungan sampai muflis dan syiok sendiri” and “jangan takut,kami akan memantau” lifestyle.
          My prediction will be facts one day,if nothing concrete is done. You bring popcorn and let the countdown begin.

• You said that, but someone else had done more or less the same thing before. Read up on British-Leyland.

• All the dislikes is from proton fanboys owners. So so funny :D The car still looks the same

• Krasher on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:19 am

Don’t worry! This 2 models still have more variant to launch until your kids go to college.

• mamat on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:51 am

BASI.. tukar la model baru.. muak ler..

• kumar on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:36 pm

i feel so sad for those who have to put up with the persona. i had it for 3yrs and its a nightmare i do not want to go thru again. CLOSE SHOP PLEASE!

• Albert Lee on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Mr.Kumar, Tony Fernandez just sold off the Formula One racing “toy”.
      You think the Arab mamak is sleeping?He has Mega projects like Double tracking,MRT,Rice,DRB and so many cash cows.I think he is not closing shop yet for protong.He is required to do national service alto he hates to lose so much money since acquiring Protong.

• Tiger on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Cis, tada iniatiatif langsung, always special edition lah, bodykit la, i once tried both Saga and Prsona shocked at the poor ergonomics, mau bukak pintu pun kena peha, tangan susah mau reach buka pontu, lengan asyik tertekan power window kalau letak kat doorrest, they dont even bother to chg the interiro alway kip ripping rakyat

• bootupjoe on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:12 am

This is Dr M so call rescue Proton mission…more and more coming…..

• junrdb on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:27 am

ohhh no..dear proton design tolong lah belajar,fahami & berupaya untuk mrealissikan FACELIFT KERETA PROTON setiap 2tahun, lakukan penanmbaikan dengan lebih baik. dan terbukti PROTON Amat terdesak dan memerlukan perekabentuk luar seperti Peter Schreyer , dan proton boleh mengahantar semua staff rekabentuk untuk bekerja di firma prekabentuk di luar negara.

• Penang Mali on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:47 am

What are those tiny knobs on the Saga steering? I cant see it without my reading glasses

• May be Proton supporters should take a step back and rethink why Perodua only spent 14 years to over take its market leader position in Malaysia automotive?
    I do not know whether all Perodua owners are either richer or stupider or both to buy a hatchback that costs more than a sedan with same engine capacity (1,300cc).
    Of course Proton supporters would disagree the comparison but try to imagine if without Perodua today, would Proton still be number one in Malaysia?
    May be, may be not, who knows, right?
    But one thing for sure, if Proton still continues to do what it is doing right now, it’s only a matter of time before it becomes a lost cause.

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:40 am

It could be run out models. Remember when they relaunched the Proton Putra back in 2004-2005 with normal seats and steering just to clear out old stocks at Tanjung Malim? Maybe because since the Preve is there, Proton releases this and the SV variant to clear-up stocks for new models. Even Dr. M said that a third gen saga is due next year.