Driven Web Series 2014 #2: The one with Megan Tan – F56 MINI Cooper vs Citroen DS3 vs Volkswagen Beetle

We’re bringing sexy back in this week’s episode of Driven Web Series, powered by the new Petronas Primax95 with Advanced Energy Formula. And we’re not just talking about the cars here, guys.

As much as he wanted to, we really couldn’t afford to have a repeat performance of Harve as the lady in a white dress last season. So, we called in someone that looks really good in white – the lovely Megan Tan!

The Driven boys Hafriz Shah and Jonathan James Tan (literally) take the back seat in this episode, as guest host Megan tests out the new F56 MINI Cooper, Citroen DS3 and Volkswagen Beetle 1.4 TSI to find out which is the best small hatch for the fashion-conscious.

Wondering why Harvinder is not here? Well, watch the video above to find out why :)

Do enjoy this episode of Driven Web Series, and don’t forget to tune in again next week. Harve will be around again, but let’s just say that he won’t be only one making a comeback…

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:15 am

For the fuel consumption wise, I though the Mini > Beetle > DS3 but the result is the other way..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:12 pm

That’s exactly how it panned out:
      MINI Cooper 16.5 km/L
      VW Beetle 1.4 TSI 13.8 km/L
      Citroen DS3 12.6 km/L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Vader meant that he thought the Mini would be the thirstiest rather than the thriftiest and the DS3 to be the more fuel efficient rather than the least fuel efficient.

• Bob_B78 on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:28 am

You have to credit to Beetle for it produces 160ps with 240Nm torque, whose performance close to a 2.5l car and weights 1.3 tonnes.
        As for the DS3, which weights about 1.1 tonnes and less horsepower than VW, rather disappointing figues for its FC
        An applause to Mini for being the most frugal in the comparison

• Theophilus Chin on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:34 am

Too bad the Audi A1 isn’t included in this group test. I just found out too that the Alfa Romeo MiTo and Fiat 500 are not available in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Steve Jobs on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:40 am

someone got friendzoned.LEL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:46 am

You guys keep getting better in this. Congrats!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • JeremyNg on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:53 am

I think Megan Tan did so well in the video ……. and she’s pretty too! hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • fast5 on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Yes and I just forcusing on Megan Tan the whole episode and forget the driving preview part lol.
      Who’s next?? Aerilynn aka Miss Red please!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Gertrude on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:48 am

This was probably the worst episode ever! and I have been watching them from the start so that’s saying something. The show is too young to bring in diversity. Stick with original recipe for now, you guys are getting better every episode so don’t flake out. If you really need to bring eye candy have a small segment at the end for her, for a few minutes like when top gear brings in guest for coffee talk. Also what is up with the Petronas ad? Keep it to a minimum guys,man that left a bad taste in my mouth! Looking for to the next proper car review from driven with original format.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Azfar on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:14 pm

I must say this is the most enjoyable episode. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying this because of Megan Tan, but as a whole, it’s really a good one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:20 pm

siapa megan tan….cute juga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • BMW Owner on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:32 pm

megan tan is my gf tbh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Hmm…I hope the next episode is the one about hot hatches. Gotta wash out that girly perspective and get some adrenaline pumpin’. I mean, Megan is nice and all but I think you guys overdid it a little with the slowmo and filters. That said, she does look good in a dress. Unlike a certain Harv.

Production quality is still going strong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • dugongx on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Eh what are you mumbling about? The slow mo part was too short!!!

• Prefer harv than this Megan Bimbo….worse episode so far, but the rest of the series are top notch, just stick with ur normal cast to review the cars instead of taking some bimbo just for the eye candy. Stick to the proven recipe please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 36
  • NamaAkuSamaDenganDLI on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Poor Johnathan thought he was gonna get laid XD
    Is Sam Loo in the next episode?

• James on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:07 pm

peugeot 208 gti?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:19 pm

you mean the lady who should “Pay me two thousand now!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:46 pm

May be Peugeot 208 is designed for the metally unstable people?

• policeman on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Is that really Megan or is that Harve dressed as a woman? You can’t fool me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Nice for a change, but pls stick to the guy squad. This episode lacked much of the technical aspects. Its good to have the ladies view though, keep it to the looks only, dont get her too technical pls.

Anyways, keep going. cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • VWfanboi on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:43 pm

please back to normal format for next episode… just please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • prott on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Guys, can you focus more on the car?

Seems that you guys didnt mention anything about the huge price differences?

The reliability?
    The power?
    Cost of ownership?

Is it a car review series? or a comedy with some car elements?

Megan is fresh. but the jokes are way too slapstick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • holofanboi on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:54 pm

LOL JONATHAN DAT FACE! DAT FACEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE xD

Congrats on not shoving your butts on the headlights anymore :D (Yeah I just watched ep1 :X) Very natural from all of you!

This season is truly, truly entertaining! Keep it up! xD

• holofanboi on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:56 pm

But…the agar-agar test..where? >_<.

• Denaihati on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:57 pm

fuh…ada bunga cantik kali ni..
    i like that blue beetle too.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Probably the best season so far, and it’s good that you guys brought a non petrol/diesel head into the show, many of us ranting here could overlook the bumpy Mini…

• ss427 on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Well if you guys can invite that super pretty Joyce Chu (that youtube sensation JB charbor) as a guest test driver, I will die a happy man…LOL… why sillypore don’t have such pure, natural beauty de?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Norman J on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Harve is always the “victim”. And he is good at being the “victim”… Hehehe!!!

• Harry on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Excellent. Keep it up boys!

• Boon Leong on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Too many sex appeal. That lady is soo annoying i dont like her. They should script it rather than the girl blabbing about cars she doesnt even know anything about. These guys treat this Megan Tan like a star and i dont even know her! She’s not pretty i think she doesnt realise there’s a face on her makeup. Worst episode everh! These boys didnt even point out how TERRIBLE the DS3 behave in driving department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
  • Matthew on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Megan is driving the Mini with her hands off the steering…scary…

• skyjuice on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Worst episode ever… Very monotous and lack of informations… More like a coffee-talk.. Remake please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • joseph poovan on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Agree with skyjuice on this, bad episode.
      And the excessive promo about Petronas.
      Understand that they are the segment sponsor, but please, go easy on the ‘apple polishing’!!

• Ya, the advertising of Petronas, is a way too much, we all knew about it.. Do you have to emphasize on it?

• dugongx on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:33 pm

chill la….once a while some changes n entertainment is good variety la…top gear does it too.

• Leonon on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Different la…Top Gear you get a whole lot more viewing time, whereby each episode has different segments, from the news, to proper car reviews, celebrity guest and so on. You get a good mix. IMHO, stick to the usual recipe as the last season and that’s good enough to keep me interested in watching.

• Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Nice one, funny! And a lot of promotion for Petronas! lol

• mango on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:31 pm

very entertaining.. fresh new idea to bring cute female and she did very well too. is good to hear comments from female point of view tho.. :)

• TOP GEAR DRIVEN Malaysia Edition on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Great episode with Megan and it keeps getting better and better. Well done folks :) but a couple of constructive feedback for the taking ….

While this time around the emphasis is on women choosing a nice car out of those 3 cars reviewed, I think there should be more technical data reviewed and explained, a couple of century sprints with all 3 cars would have been nice to see as well. Perhaps like Najib, you guys should setup a SOP for reviewing cars in which it covers any car reviewed moving forward which sets the precedence for audience watching knowing what will be covered when a car is reviewed by you guys.

Talking about safety, the part Megan lifted both her hands of the steering wheel was a big NO..NO, should not happen at any point of time as it shows a lack of safety aspect and just strengthens the concept that women are bad drivers this showing it, as when Megan got excited commenting on the car with you guys, she forgot the important part which is driving with both hands on the wheel :p

Wardrobe design, folks go get some really good sponsors, Hafriz shirts are getting tighter and more body hugging, when in the mini, he was bouncing all over like a boss if you get wat I mean :p Bigger shirts and darker colors bro should work our well.

Harv gave the best scene at the last part but would be nice to beef up the music, get some good soundtracks which kicks ass music to get that racing blood pumping for the audience would be nice.

Just my 2 cen by the way, Keep up the great work and hope to see many more existing episodes this session.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Gertrude on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:53 am

Exactly! You’ve nailed it

• BNR32 on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Now that you mentioned it, yeah, they seemed to have lost some of their fashion sense as well, haha. I can totally agree on the body hugging shirt (being a plump and podgy guy myself, I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing that knowing that I’m going on YouTube). And that Megan character has enough bad make up to give Ronald McDonald a serious challenge. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I can see a bright reddish glow on her cheeks in every scene.

• old dog on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:19 pm

get her a Vios, and she will pick it…lol…

• Nice, few suggestions for your next review
    1. E-Class vs. 5Series vs. A6
    2. XC60 Drive-E, X3, Q5

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:52 pm

So boring when I am not in the picture

• Yuksin on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Very refreshing review …. When review hot hatch bring a race driver

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Megan is a typical how por in action

• BNR32 on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:05 am

This is the only episode of Driven that I find really hard to watch. It was around the 3rd minute that I started to cringe until the end. If you’re going to bring in a guest star next time, I would suggest scouting for someone who doesn’t look like she’s trying way too hard, babble incessantly like a clueless bimbo(the Petronas contributions bla-bla-bla-yada-yada followed by the eye rolls by Hafriz and Jon is a prefect example, should have trimmed that part off) and doesn’t speak with much conviction.

Seriously, I love this program and I was very much looking forward to the new season as much as everyone else. But it’s only this episode that’s a bit of a fiasco IMHO. I don’t know if casting this Megan character was an attempt to draw a wider female audience (and that’s not a bad thing honestly) or to inject eye candy just for the sake of it. Either way, it didn’t sink well with some of us judging from the comments. If it ain’t broke (like the fantastic Season 1), don’t fix it bros. Cheers.

P.S: Might be a bit off-topic, but Top Gear has been running well for years and is proof that you can make a terrific TV show with just 3 funny guys who know what they’re saying, and no element of exploitation.

• Very poor car review show. It doesn’t provide any valuable information on the cars to the audience.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:54 am

Suppose if the target segment for these 3 models are women, the review served its purpose

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:58 am

I guess megan is working with renault. Her name sound similar like megane

• BNR32 on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:00 pm

My suggestion for future guest hosts: Karamjit Singh. Seriously, what ever happened to our national rally champ? I remember he did a media coverage once for the Peugeot 408 Turbo some time back and that was the last I heard of him. You guys should honor his talent by bringing him in at least once to share his experience.

And if female presence is sorely needed, there’s always Leona Chin. An actual competition drifter, and certainly a lot more easy on the eyes. A LOT.

P.S: While we’re on the topic of future episodes, pls consider starting a segment for motorcycles. Seeing how 2-wheelers are getting a wider audience these days, it would be wise to give some love (both written and in video media) to a genre with lots of potential.

• BNR32 on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:49 pm

UPDATE: Sorry ppl, I wish to correct myself on the part where I mentioned the 408 Turbo coverage by Karamjit. Seems like I mistook some of his comments I read in the official Peugeot FB page that he did a test drive for them. Apologies.

• well done, guys! :) enjoyed the video

• sidewaysgrey on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Loving Season2 ! You guys hit it off with a bang with EP 1 and I was so exited for EP 2, but that was a let down. This is a Vehicle Review video series, you need people who can review and give us the good, the bad and the ugly like in EP 1. Call a spade for a spade and not suck up / carry ba**s of any manufacturer. Thats what I saw in S2E1. Megan was simply eye candy and a typical female consumer with comments (sorry to say) fit for a non car person who simply buys a car for how it looks and not what it offers Thats not what DRIVEN is all about. If you want eye candy who knows cars, bring in Leona Chin or Jane Abdullah

• Ninja boy on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:59 am

Need to lose the girl la guys…

• Annoynimouse on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:06 am

Good stuff from Megan and the boys. Enjoyed it.
    Megan needs to improve her basic steering technique though… any driving school will tell you that’s not the correct way to steer into a corner…
    But, damn she’s hot!

• Drummerboy on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Honestly, this is the worst driven episode i have watched so far. I am a big fan of paul tan and Driven, please stick to proper car review. Megan Tan is nice eye candy, but still, i think she has no place on this show. Show us more of the car, what it can do, century sprints…etc. if i want to see beautiful girls, I can always go to some other websites. and lastly, please don’t overdo the Petronas Primax shoe polishing act. It’s very annoying.

• Bataman on Jul 20, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Who cares about the car. Next episode we want Megan Tan in Bikinis!!!!! And a very small one at that!!!

• dragon on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:48 am

This second Episode is a Let Down.
    Annoying by Megan Tan, Reckless Script Writing,
    Poor Technical Information.
    Sex Appeared would make unfocused on the Cars .
    Please …make back the Original..I rather choose Sam Loo over the agar agar girl. ><

• Proof that this Megan Tan was not needed for the program, most of the comments above have voiced it out. I found her so annoyingly bad, it made this episode one to forget.

• NamaAkuSamaDenganDLI on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:30 am

Hold it. I’ve been noticing this way too long:
    Megan TAN
    Paul TAN
    Danny TAN
    Jonathan James TAN

All TAN meh = relatives ah?